About Gundry MD Total Restore

By HighYa Research Team
Updated on: Jun 3, 2019

Using a blend of 16 dynamically effective all-natural ingredients, the Gundry MD Total Restore dietary supplement promises to help promote a healthy gut lining, protect your body from endotoxin overload, and promote full-body wellness.

As a result, the website reports you can expect reduced gas, bloating, diarrhea, and constipation caused by "leaky gut"; boosted energy, relief from achy muscles and joints, and help to combat food cravings. Just take three easy-to-swallow capsules once per day, with your biggest meal. Or, one capsule three times a day, if you prefer.

When used as directed, the Gundry MD site tells us that many Total Restore users report “a distinct improvement in digestion, energy, and overall health within just a few days,” with the most dramatic results evident after two to three weeks.

If you’re experiencing these symptoms on a regular basis, it might seem like a no-brainer to place an order. But can you realistically expect Total Restore to deliver on Gundry MD’s promises? Let’s kick things off by taking a closer look at the condition it’s supposed to address.

What Do Medical Professionals Say About Leaky Gut Syndrome?

The Mayo Clinic explains that a single layer of cells in the intestines, connected by something called ‘tight junctions,' is all that separates its contents from the rest of the body. And while these cells were once thought to be static, the medical community has since observed that they’re “dynamic gatekeepers, opening and closing in response to dietary factors, neuronal signals, and pathogens.”

In some instances, though, WebMD reports that these tight junctions don’t work properly and can leak substances (such as the endotoxins mentioned on the Total Restore website) into the bloodstream, leading to symptoms like bloating, gas, cramps, food sensitivities, and aches and pains—a condition informally known as “leaky gut.” This is especially common among those with celiac disease and Crohn’s disease.

However, many individuals without these diseases report symptoms consistent with leaky gut, although Donald Kirby, MD, director of the Center for Human Nutrition at the Cleveland Clinic, emphasizes, “from an MD’s standpoint, it’s a very gray area.”

Basically, "leaky gut really means you’ve got a diagnosis that still needs to be made,” he says. “You hope that your doctor is a good-enough Sherlock Holmes, but sometimes it is very hard to make a diagnosis.”

Linda A. Lee, MD, a gastroenterologist and director of the Johns Hopkins Integrative Medicine and Digestive Center, adds: “In the absence of evidence, we don’t know what it means or what therapies can directly address it.” In other words, “with leaky gut, the evidence – about what causes it and how to treat it – has yet to fully accumulate.”

With these important details in mind, how does Total Restore advertise that it can help address leaky gut symptoms?

Taking a Closer Look at Total Restore’s Ingredients

According to the supplement facts label listed on the Gundry MD website, Total Restore contains the following ingredients:

  • Magnesium 7 mg
  • Zinc 2 mg
  • L-Glutamine 213 mg
  • N-Acetyl D-Glucosamine 142 mg
  • Magnesium Beta-Hydroxybutyrate 86 mg
  • Grape Seed Extract 58 mg
  • Licorice Roots Powder 54 mg
  • Wormwood Powder 50 mg
  • Cinnamon Bark Powder 50 mg
  • Maitake Mushroom Extract 34 mg
  • Organic Strawberry, Raspberry, Blueberry, Tart Cherry, Elderberry, and Cranberry (VitaBerry) 22 mg
  • Cloves Buds Powder 17 mg
  • Black Pepper Seeds Powder 17 mg
  • Grapefruit Seeds Extract 17 mg
  • Marshmallow Roots Powder 10 mg
  • Zinc L-Carnosine (Pepsin Gl) 10 mg
  • Berberine Bark Powder 3 mg

As we learned in the previous section, there aren’t any formal treatments used to address leaky gut. But can any of this supplement’s ingredients address symptoms commonly reported by the condition’s sufferers?

Based on what we learned from the summaries of the available clinical evidence provided by sites like WebMD, Examine.com, and the Natural Medicines Database, oral magnesium (no dosages listed) may help reduce symptoms of gastroesophageal reflux disease, or GERD, which might be experienced by some leaky gut sufferers.

Similarly, licorice may help ease indigestion (again, no dosages listed), although in clinical studies, it was used alongside other ingredients like milk thistle, peppermint leaf, German chamomile, caraway, celandine, angelica, lemon balm either, and clown's mustard plant.

Outside of magnesium and licorice, though, these same sites indicate that Total Restore’s remaining ingredients have insufficient clinical evidence supporting claims that they can address side effects caused by leaky gut.

Could Total Restore’s Ingredients Cause Side Effects?

According to the Gundry MD website, Total Restore should be effective and safe for daily use for the vast majority of people, although they recommend speaking with your doctor before taking any new dietary supplement.

With this said, WebMD and the Natural Medicines Database indicate that licorice (no dosages or other specifics provided) is possibly unsafe “when used orally in large amounts for several weeks or smaller amounts for longer periods of time.” Similarly, while no specifics were provided, marshmallow can sometimes lead to low blood pressure.

They also emphasize that grapefruit, whether added to your diet or taken as medicine, can interact with many different medications, so you’ll doubly want to speak with your doctor beforehand.

Finally, we’re told that there isn’t enough known about potential side effects or safety of taking Maitake mushroom or medicinal amounts of cloves.

How Much Does Total Restore Cost?

Gundry MD has priced Total Restore as follows:

  • 1 Jar: $69.95
  • 3 Jars: $191.85 ($63.95 per jar)
  • 6 Jars: $317.70 ($52.95 per jar)

Regardless of which option you choose, your order will come with free shipping. All Gundry MD supplements also come with a 90-day refund policy, which you can request by reaching out to customer service at 800-852-0477

What Do We Know About Dr. Steven Gundry & Gundry MD?

Dr. Steven Gundry is a cardiovascular disease specialist and thoracic surgeon who graduated from the Medical College of Georgia School of Medicine and has been practicing since the late 1970s. In that time, his bio reports that he’s patented nine cardiac surgery devices.

Currently, Dr. Gundry focuses on nutrition and has authored several books on the topic, including recent titles like “The Plant Paradox” and “Dr. Gundry’s Diet Revolution.”

From a company perspective, Gundry MD has been in business since 2016 and manufactures other popular dietary supplements like Vital Reds, Primal Plants, Prebiothrive, and Glucose Defense.

They held an A rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on 12 customer reviews and 27 closed complaints, as of 1/3/18. Most of these appeared to revolve around refund concerns. In each instance, a company representative responded.

Are There Other Leaky Gut Supplements Competing with Total Restore?

Searching online marketplaces like Google Shopping and Amazon.com for variations of terms like ‘leaky gut supplement’ and ‘intestinal permeability supplement’ returned several dozen options competing with the product in question, with most ranging between $20 and $40.

None contained the exact same formulation, though, so if you’re interested in these same ingredients in the same dosages, Gundry MD’s Total Restore is currently your only option. Does that necessarily mean it’s your best option, though?

Not to sound like a broken record, but it’s important to reemphasize Donald Kirby, MD’s quote from earlier: “From an MD’s standpoint, [leaky gut] is a very gray area.” In other words, even with a medical degree, your doctor might have to put on their Sherlock Holmes hat to help you find meaningful relief from your symptoms.

With this in mind, your first step toward finding a solution should be speaking with your primary care physician. If they recommend a dietary supplement as a valuable use of your money, after years of research into the topic, we recommend only doing business with companies who:

  • Support their advertising claims with peer-reviewed clinical research
  • Provide a complete list of ingredients, including dosages
  • Price their products competitively
  • Offer at least 30-day refund policies on open bottles, with no restocking fees
  • Come with mostly positive online customer feedback

In the light of these criteria, how does Total Restore look?

Our Final Thoughts About Gundry MD Total Restore

Total Restore comes from a company with a few years in business and almost wholly positive online customer reviews, while all of their supplements come with a 90-day satisfaction guarantee. As such, if you decide to give it a try and find yourself dissatisfied, you might not be out much more than a few dollars in return shipping.

Furthermore, their website offers visitors a complete supplement facts label, including dosages and no proprietary blends, and the product comes with a price that’s in line with much of the competition.

With this said, your doctor can almost certainly help point you in the right direction as far as a) whether or not your intestines have a permeability problem to begin with, and b) whether or not a supplement like Total Restore will deliver meaningful value for the money. So, be sure to discuss the situation with them prior to placing an order.

» Recommended Reading: Best Grains, Fruits, and Vegetables That Improve Digestion

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 351 Gundry MD Total Restore Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 4.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 223 4 star: 90 3 star: 15 2 star: 10 1 star:  13
Bottom Line: 92% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 351
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • Fair

    • California,
    • Jun 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Sir, my name is Manohar Singh, I bought your product Total Restore on 3/22/2019. Sir, I am underweight and I have trouble in constipation, gas, and my brain is also in heaviness. Because of this, I had asked for your product and ate it, but after finishing two bottles of it I still did not get any relief. Rather my brain fog had also started to grow, so I have given up food after 2 bottles. I think this is not working on me, so please give me my money according to the Three Month Money Back Guarantee. So I want you to please give me my money. I am thankful to you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jun 21, 2019

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Manohar, thank you for giving Total Restore a try. I'm very sorry to read that this was not the right fit for you. Please email me at aria@gundrymd.com and I'd be more than happy to issue you a full refund.


  • I never signed up for automatic shipment but you did anyway

    • Oakland, CA,
    • Jun 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I’m was so excited after watching the video that I never took time to read reviews before purchasing. Big mistake. But when I did purchase I was sure to only try this out once to see if it’ll work in any way. After getting the confirmation email, it went on to say, "I made a great choice and by signing up for continuous monthly supply," WHICH I DID NOT DO! That disappointed me alone. I got the peels and felt no effect but sleepless nights and empty upset stomach. Please do not send me more because I never clicked that option to begin with. Going to finish my bottle to see if I feel different as time progresses.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jun 18, 2019

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Ashley, I'm sorry for the confusion we have caused! Please email me at aria@gundrymd.com and I can look into your account to cancel your subscription. As always, we ask our customers to consult their physician to ensure that our products are the right fit. If you continue to have these side effects, please let me know and I can issue you a full refund.


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Thank the Swami I did not return this product!

    • Santa Rosa Beach, FL,
    • May 29, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I recently experienced a gall bladder/liver "blow" internally, with no "heart attack symptoms" which where I reside is a requirement for gall bladder removal. Mine has been FULL of stones since 2004. On April 13th, it blew. I vomited shiny green circular stones by the handfuls. This was followed by extreme salts released and a major discharge from bile. I passed these stones for more than four weeks, fasting 21 days of it with water only.

    I tried other homeopathic measures, nothing was working.

    I discovered this product, decided I couldn’t afford it/didn’t want to chance it and asked for a return label. When the product came I was four more days into my hell here so I decided to keep it. As I was extremely leery by now, I tried just one capsule the first. Low and behold, the very next day the discharge had almost completely DISAPPEARED.

    And the odor was completely GONE. I have not taken this more than one week at this point, just now increased the dosage to two capsules and I cannot tell you what a complete turn around I have had.

    This product is a MIRACLE. I don’t believe anything would have helped with these "leaky gut" issues nor with the healing process of my GI track as all the organs needed attention after such a violent month.

    Would I recommend this? ABSOLUTELY, and I won’t ever be without it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Product was expired

    When I got my products they were expired...clearly on the bottle says 2017. I tried calling to get a refund, was basically told I was out of luck. How can you send out expired products that cost a fortune!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 14, 2019

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hi Cassandra, thank you for reaching out! I want to note that the date on our products is our manufactured date, not the expiration date. Total Restore is good to take for 2 years after the manufactured date. I hope this provides some clarification but if you have any other questions, please email me at aria@gundrymd.com and I'd be happy to help!


  • 30 out 36 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    Update

    • Alberta, Canada,
    • May 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    No difference!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Previous review
    • Mar 26, 2019

    Update

    After one and half months, with the same diet as I had before and no exercise, I can say that I am experiencing a very slow gradual weight loss.

    (read moreread less...)
    • Previous review
    • Feb 6, 2019

    Misleading free shipping and hidden cost for Canadian’s order plus late arrival

    I ordered on January 5, 2019 and received the package at January 31st after I called several times to follow the reason for the delay (26 days!). Surprisingly, I was charged another $19 at Canada Post for pickup by myself!

    Really surprised that these hidden costs were not clarified during the ordering process. The total price we paid was significantly higher than we expected for such a late arrival of the product. It would be useful if they clarified this at the time of purchase and made their order process more transparent and realistic, because it could definitely affect my decision. I hope to be compensated for the inconvenience it caused.

    Anyway, it is too early to tell if the supplement works or not.

    • Feb 7, 2019

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hi Garshsb, I'm sorry about the confusion and inconvenience during your experience. Unfortunately, we have no control over a countries custom charges as only about 10% of incoming packages are selected for customs. Typically, Gundry MD is not responsible for customs charges as we have no idea when or how much will be charged. I’ll go ahead and refund your customs charges because of the miscommunication we caused. Please keep in mind that in the future we are unable to refund customs charges if an order acquires them. Please email me at aria@gundrymd.com and we can get this process started for you.

    (read moreread less...)

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Hives

    • Chicago, IL,
    • Apr 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The product worked great on my digestive system. Took 2 days to kick in.

    Unfortunately, I had to cancel further orders due to I broke out with very itchy hives on my arms, legs, back, and neck. I went to my doctor and she thought maybe eczema or bug bites. I then went to my dermatologist and she thought the same. I was prescribed expensive cream through Walgreens pharmacy. I'm battling this but it all started after I started Total Restore.

    I decided to cancel further orders for now. I will be taking an allergy scratch test soon.

    I thought this might help if someone else develops hives. I would recommend the product, but with a warning.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Apr 25, 2019

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hello Thomas. I am Aria Goodman with Gundry MD. We are glad that you consulted your physician, and we always recommend that our customers seek medical advice prior to starting a new supplement. This is not a common side-effect of Total Restore. We take these things very seriously and want to make sure we know everything about your negative reaction. Please e-mail me at aria@gundrymd.com so I can issue you a full refund and receive more information.


  • 9 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Great product - can't wait to get more!

    • Nova Scotia, Canada,
    • Apr 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I think it is really important to realize and be aware of the fact that this product will most likely have the best effect when combined with a fully lectin-free diet.

    I am celiac and now for many months have been on a lectin free diet as well. Total Restore works great while I stay true to my diet. It also takes time to rebuild the gut. If you are on a lectin-free diet and also supplement with Total Restore - it may take a number of months, but you should see some great results. I really like the product and can't wait to get more. However, shipping to Canada is challenging. I expect that some of the issues have to do with the current political climate in the US where we know that shipments of anything (especially through the mail) going to Canada can and are delayed when crossing the border. The extra customs/duty costs are disappointing, but not surprising and not uncommon. We are used to it here in Canada.

    The product is still great and I am ordering again today. I am hoping to receive it in less than 30 days this time. Most of the snow is gone now so they will retire the dog sleds for a quicker mode of travel to deliver the mail.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Apr 12, 2019

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hello Andy. I’m Aria with Gundry MD. I’m happy to read that Total Restore has found a place in your lifestyle change. We always encourage customers to consult their physicians regarding our supplements and how they will fit on their journey to great health. I am sorry to hear that your order acquired custom charges and has taken longer than expected to reach you. Our timeline for international shipping is 14-21 business days. Unfortunately, we have no control over a countries customs charges, as only about 10% of incoming packages are selected for customs. Please reach out to me at aria@gundrymd.com if you have any more questions.


  • 12 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Total Restore

    • Kentucky,
    • Apr 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been taking Total Restore for not quite a week, as is someone else in the house. I have noticed my energy level is up and I am not feeling tired all the time. The other person has a chronic illness and he too has more energy. I have stopped taking all other supplements so I will know for sure it is Total Restore that is working.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Very surprised!

    • Illinois,
    • Apr 1, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I received my Dr. Grundy shake about a week ago, up until now I've made myself my own concoction of fruit, kale, flaxseed, hemp, almonds, and acai juice, I add agave to tolerate. All when my new shake mix arrived, I had great doubt about the first claim that it tasted good! I had purchased four different shake mixes, one taste worse than the next. So with my dread, I mixed up a chocolate shake!

    Wow, what a surprise, the taste was doable and I didn't dread it. Maybe I should say it was the best I've had after all! So if you are considering trying these shakes, don't be afraid, it will not be drinkable, the taste is good!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Customs

    • Oldham, United Kingdom,
    • Mar 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Was so looking forward to trying this new and inspiring treatment, but unfortunately, the Customs charge was almost a much as the cost of the 6 bottles I had already paid for. They wanted me to pay £80 before I could collect the parcel. All too much for me I'm afraid, so no choice but to let it be returned to sender, and hope that I get my money refunded. So disappointed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Apr 1, 2019

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Dorothy, I'm very sorry to hear that you weren't able to give Total Restore a try. Unfortunately, we have no control over a country's customs charges as only about 10% of incoming packages are selected for customs. Gundry MD is not responsible for customs charges as we have no idea when or how much you will be charged. We'll be sure to refund your order when we receive the products. If you have any questions or concerns, please email me at aria@gundrymd.com.


  • 15 out 16 people found this review helpful

    No cravings

    • Fitchburg, WI,
    • Mar 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    When I purchased Restore, it seemed like it would be something that could help me curb my sugar habit. I was totally surprised when I started to feel different within a week or so of taking Restore. I actually can stay away from sweet treats (anything from a bag of candy to pie to...you name it. I have THE hardest time keeping an arm's length away from sweets and have for a VERY long time. My grocery list changed. I now purchase celery, grapes, tuna, white chunk chicken, etc.

    Seems odd but without even keeping track, my body went that way on its own while using Restore.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 351

Write a Review for Gundry MD Total Restore!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review