About Gundry MD Total Restore

By HighYa Staff
Published on: Jan 3, 2018

Using a blend of 16 dynamically effective all-natural ingredients, the Gundry MD Total Restore dietary supplement promises to help promote a healthy gut lining, protect your body from endotoxin overload, and promote full-body wellness.

As a result, the website reports you can expect reduced gas, bloating, diarrhea, and constipation caused by "leaky gut"; boosted energy, relief from achy muscles and joints, and help to combat food cravings. Just take three easy-to-swallow capsules once per day, with your biggest meal. Or, one capsule three times a day, if you prefer.

When used as directed, the Gundry MD site tells us that many Total Restore users report “a distinct improvement in digestion, energy, and overall health within just a few days,” with the most dramatic results evident after two to three weeks.

If you’re experiencing these symptoms on a regular basis, it might seem like a no-brainer to place an order. But can you realistically expect Total Restore to deliver on Gundry MD’s promises? Let’s kick things off by taking a closer look at the condition it’s supposed to address.

What Do Medical Professionals Say About Leaky Gut Syndrome?

The Mayo Clinic explains that a single layer of cells in the intestines, connected by something called ‘tight junctions,' is all that separates its contents from the rest of the body. And while these cells were once thought to be static, the medical community has since observed that they’re “dynamic gatekeepers, opening and closing in response to dietary factors, neuronal signals, and pathogens.”

In some instances, though, WebMD reports that these tight junctions don’t work properly and can leak substances (such as the endotoxins mentioned on the Total Restore website) into the bloodstream, leading to symptoms like bloating, gas, cramps, food sensitivities, and aches and pains—a condition informally known as “leaky gut.” This is especially common among those with celiac disease and Crohn’s disease.

However, many individuals without these diseases report symptoms consistent with leaky gut, although Donald Kirby, MD, director of the Center for Human Nutrition at the Cleveland Clinic, emphasizes, “from an MD’s standpoint, it’s a very gray area.”

Basically, "leaky gut really means you’ve got a diagnosis that still needs to be made,” he says. “You hope that your doctor is a good-enough Sherlock Holmes, but sometimes it is very hard to make a diagnosis.”

Linda A. Lee, MD, a gastroenterologist and director of the Johns Hopkins Integrative Medicine and Digestive Center, adds: “In the absence of evidence, we don’t know what it means or what therapies can directly address it.” In other words, “with leaky gut, the evidence – about what causes it and how to treat it – has yet to fully accumulate.”

With these important details in mind, how does Total Restore advertise that it can help address leaky gut symptoms?

Taking a Closer Look at Total Restore’s Ingredients

According to the supplement facts label listed on the Gundry MD website, Total Restore contains the following ingredients:

  • Magnesium 7 mg
  • Zinc 2 mg
  • L-Glutamine 213 mg
  • N-Acetyl D-Glucosamine 142 mg
  • Magnesium Beta-Hydroxybutyrate 86 mg
  • Grape Seed Extract 58 mg
  • Licorice Roots Powder 54 mg
  • Wormwood Powder 50 mg
  • Cinnamon Bark Powder 50 mg
  • Maitake Mushroom Extract 34 mg
  • Organic Strawberry, Raspberry, Blueberry, Tart Cherry, Elderberry, and Cranberry (VitaBerry) 22 mg
  • Cloves Buds Powder 17 mg
  • Black Pepper Seeds Powder 17 mg
  • Grapefruit Seeds Extract 17 mg
  • Marshmallow Roots Powder 10 mg
  • Zinc L-Carnosine (Pepsin Gl) 10 mg
  • Berberine Bark Powder 3 mg

As we learned in the previous section, there aren’t any formal treatments used to address leaky gut. But can any of this supplement’s ingredients address symptoms commonly reported by the condition’s sufferers?

Based on what we learned from the summaries of the available clinical evidence provided by sites like WebMD, Examine.com, and the Natural Medicines Database, oral magnesium (no dosages listed) may help reduce symptoms of gastroesophageal reflux disease, or GERD, which might be experienced by some leaky gut sufferers.

Similarly, licorice may help ease indigestion (again, no dosages listed), although in clinical studies, it was used alongside other ingredients like milk thistle, peppermint leaf, German chamomile, caraway, celandine, angelica, lemon balm either, and clown's mustard plant.

Outside of magnesium and licorice, though, these same sites indicate that Total Restore’s remaining ingredients have insufficient clinical evidence supporting claims that they can address side effects caused by leaky gut.

Could Total Restore’s Ingredients Cause Side Effects?

According to the Gundry MD website, Total Restore should be effective and safe for daily use for the vast majority of people, although they recommend speaking with your doctor before taking any new dietary supplement.

With this said, WebMD and the Natural Medicines Database indicate that licorice (no dosages or other specifics provided) is possibly unsafe “when used orally in large amounts for several weeks or smaller amounts for longer periods of time.” Similarly, while no specifics were provided, marshmallow can sometimes lead to low blood pressure.

They also emphasize that grapefruit, whether added to your diet or taken as medicine, can interact with many different medications, so you’ll doubly want to speak with your doctor beforehand.

Finally, we’re told that there isn’t enough known about potential side effects or safety of taking Maitake mushroom or medicinal amounts of cloves.

How Much Does Total Restore Cost?

Gundry MD has priced Total Restore as follows:

  • 1 Jar: $49.95
  • 3 Jars: $134.85 ($44.95 per jar)
  • 6 Jars: $254.70 ($42.45 per jar)

Regardless of which option you choose, your order will come with free shipping. All Gundry MD supplements also come with a 90-day refund policy, which you can request by reaching out to customer service at 800-852-0477

What Do We Know About Dr. Steven Gundry & Gundry MD?

Dr. Steven Gundry is a cardiovascular disease specialist and thoracic surgeon who graduated from the Medical College of Georgia School of Medicine and has been practicing since the late 1970s. In that time, his bio reports that he’s patented nine cardiac surgery devices.

Currently, Dr. Gundry focuses on nutrition and has authored several books on the topic, including recent titles like “The Plant Paradox” and “Dr. Gundry’s Diet Revolution.”

From a company perspective, Gundry MD has been in business since 2016 and manufactures other popular dietary supplements like Vital Reds, Primal Plants, Prebiothrive, and Glucose Defense.

They held an A rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on 12 customer reviews and 27 closed complaints, as of 1/3/18. Most of these appeared to revolve around refund concerns. In each instance, a company representative responded.

Are There Other Leaky Gut Supplements Competing with Total Restore?

Searching online marketplaces like Google Shopping and Amazon.com for variations of terms like ‘leaky gut supplement’ and ‘intestinal permeability supplement’ returned several dozen options competing with the product in question, with most ranging between $20 and $40.

None contained the exact same formulation, though, so if you’re interested in these same ingredients in the same dosages, Gundry MD’s Total Restore is currently your only option. Does that necessarily mean it’s your best option, though?

Not to sound like a broken record, but it’s important to reemphasize Donald Kirby, MD’s quote from earlier: “From an MD’s standpoint, [leaky gut] is a very gray area.” In other words, even with a medical degree, your doctor might have to put on their Sherlock Holmes hat to help you find meaningful relief from your symptoms.

With this in mind, your first step toward finding a solution should be speaking with your primary care physician. If they recommend a dietary supplement as a valuable use of your money, after years of research into the topic, we recommend only doing business with companies who:

  • Support their advertising claims with peer-reviewed clinical research
  • Provide a complete list of ingredients, including dosages
  • Price their products competitively
  • Offer at least 30-day refund policies on open bottles, with no restocking fees
  • Come with mostly positive online customer feedback

In the light of these criteria, how does Total Restore look?

Our Final Thoughts About Gundry MD Total Restore

Total Restore comes from a company with a few years in business and almost wholly positive online customer reviews, while all of their supplements come with a 90-day satisfaction guarantee. As such, if you decide to give it a try and find yourself dissatisfied, you might not be out much more than a few dollars in return shipping.

Furthermore, their website offers visitors a complete supplement facts label, including dosages and no proprietary blends, and the product comes with a price that’s in line with much of the competition.

With this said, your doctor can almost certainly help point you in the right direction as far as a) whether or not your intestines have a permeability problem to begin with, and b) whether or not a supplement like Total Restore will deliver meaningful value for the money. So, be sure to discuss the situation with them prior to placing an order.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

301 Consumer Reviews for Gundry MD Total Restore

Average Consumer Rating: 4.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 191 4 star: 86 3 star: 11 2 star: 6 1 star:  7
Bottom Line: 95% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 301
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • Quality product

    • Montreal, Canada,
    • Dec 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Dr. Gundry, I am very trusting of your product and feel it is helping me with one of my health problems - leaky gut. I think you and your staff are wonderful. I live in Montreal, Quebec, Canada. I am sorry to have canceled future orders, but the exchange and duties fees are a bit too expensive. But I hope in the future I can make another order. Thank you.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • A miracle supplement

    • Eagan, MN,
    • Dec 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My husband linked me to their website to watch the video because of the symptoms I have been experiencing for decades. He felt they applied to me. My symptoms included daily nausea in the morning, bloating after every meal, chronic mild pain throughout the body, general ill feeling, terrible fatigue, loose stools, and brain fog. After watching their video, I was convinced this was a gut issue. Reluctantly, I decided to order this product. I hesitated because I normally don't believe natural supplements work.

    I received my product (nicely packaged) and began taking them as directed. After one week I felt I wasted my money on this product. But I kept taking them because my husband "give it a chance." After the second week, I started waking up with no nausea. My brain fog was clearing up, less bloating, less pain. I'm now in my 6th week and I have never felt better! This product is truly amazing, and I'm symptom-free now! I feel like a whole new person thanks to Dr. Grundy!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • So far, so good

    • Alberta, Canada,
    • Dec 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was reluctant to try it at first. I mean, I am taking so many vitamins per day and the fulvic humic minerals. But then, I was battling stomach aches for a while and so I decided to try. It took a few days for the stomach aches to disappear, but now, I feel great. Much more regular and much less bloating. Great to notice the bloating going down.

    So, I'm going to continue with three a day, hoping the bloating will disappear altogether.

    Thank you, Dr. Gundry.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Wonderful product

    • Millville, NJ,
    • Dec 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The pills worked just as promised - it restored my intestinal lining to perfect operation and relieved me of any irritative as well as pain discomforts. In my opinion, the doctor is a genius!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Still waiting

    • Florida,
    • Dec 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Dr. Gundy,

    I am still waiting to see some kind of results from your product, Total Restore. One thing I do have to mention is the regular visit to the bathroom. I have been experiencing some headaches also. I truly hope this will go away soon. I hope also to start to feel some improvements in my health.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • My aches and pains became diminished in about a week! I even forget I had them.

    • Cabo Rojo, Puerto Rico,
    • Dec 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have arthritis in my feet, ankles, knees, and hips. I was beginning to have that old lady limp. Total Restore has done what no other therapy has even come close to doing!

    I have more flexibility and less pain. This has helped me increase and intensify my exercise regime.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Stomach pain after taking Total Restore but continuing to use

    • Sydney, Australia,
    • Dec 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I just started using Total Restore two days ago as a first time user. I decided to spread out dosage and take one capsule with a meal three times per day instead of consuming three capsules in one go as recommended on the bottle.

    I noticed stomach cramps after taking the product each and every time. Is it normal, and do other people experience stomach pain after consuming this product?

    Anyhow, I am persevering with the stomach pain side effect in hoping it will ease off. I so want this product to work and eliminate leaky gut, IBS problem, and years of gut Candida problem.

    Any word of advice would be greatly appreciated.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 3, 2018

      Gundry MD Customer Support ., Customer Advocate, Gundry MD

      Hello Joanne, Aria here with Gundry MD. Thank you for your valuable feedback. As with most supplements, it can take one to two months to see the desired effects. If you are having severe stomach cramps or any other symptoms out of the ordinary, please discontinue use and speak to your physician to ensure you don't have a sensitivity to any of the ingredients. While we hope that we can develop products that help people suffering from digestive issues, I do want to remind you that no supplement is intended to cure or eliminate any type of medically diagnosed issue. If you have any questions or concerns please feel free to send me an email at aria@gundrymd.com Thank you!

    • Dec 4, 2018

      Larry H.

      I started talking three capsules of Total Restore, as recommended, about ten days ago. No stomach issues at all, but I have noticed intestines rumbling about five or six hours after taking. I do have a little gas but not bad. My bowel movement has been more consistent and about the right firmness. I always take capsules with the evening meal which is around 4:00 pm. What I have noticed is increased energy and feeling better overall. I will comment again in about a month to see if anything changes. By the way, I’m 76 years old.

    • Dec 7, 2018

      Joan G.

      I have taken for a week. My stool is way more consistent. It seems to cause nausea when I try to eat. I take Benefiber regularly, but I haven’t been since I started Total Restore. I also take MRM Digest Enzyme before each meal. I am going to continue all of these for a while and see if my body adjusts. I seem to need the fiber to stay regular. I have had gastric bypass surgery ten years ago, and quite a bit of digestive problems since. I lost from 250 to 112 lbs. There is a sour taste in the mouth.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Bad taste

    • Sicklerville, NJ,
    • Dec 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been on it a week and stopped it because by day 5 I would wake up in the morning with a horrible taste in my mouth (like vomit), it was terrible, and the stomach pains were unbearable, and I have GI issues. So thank god I only bought the 30-day bottle that I will send back and they will hopefully issue a free refund.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 3, 2018

      Gundry MD Customer Support ., Customer Advocate, Gundry MD

      Hello Sherrie, thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that Total Restore did not work out for you. Please keep in mind that it can often take one to two months to see the desired results, as with any supplement. If you are having any side effects that are out of the ordinary, we highly suggest you discontinue use and contact your physician. I am more than happy to issue you a full refund. Please send me your order details at Aria@gundrymd.com Thank you!

    • Dec 12, 2018

      Joanne C.

      In the interview, Dr. Grundy talked about weight loss, and now I am reading all these posts on leaky gut, I don't understand it at all. Confused.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Flatter tummy with a smell side effect

    • New Orleans, LA,
    • Nov 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Very skeptical but started with the 30-day.

    I immediately felt better and as I told my bestie, "I did not know how much my stomach was hurting until it stopped."

    I had no prior diagnosis of anything. I was a person who has tried multiple diets and workouts with no results in my pot tummy.

    My bestie bought the knockoff from Amazon and has positive results but will try Gundry’s Total Restore next order.

    I reordered 5 bottles (due to the ordering process.) The site WILL OFFER you a deal for more bottles while already having charged you for the bottles in your cart. So, order however many you want at the start. I wanted three bottles - now I have 5 and two charges. I kept them because I liked it.

    Now, I think I can smell metal. Maybe it’s the magnesium? Or zinc? I came on here to see if anyone else can smell metal all the time from their pores/sweat/etc.?

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Bad experience

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Nov 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've been using it for almost a month and all I've gotten is constipation. I will stop using the product. I would like to return the unused portion. How do I go about doing so? Not satisfied.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 21, 2018

      Gundry MD Customer Support ., Customer Advocate, Gundry MD

      Hi Sylvia, my name is Aria with Gundry MD. Thank you for sharing your feedback. I'm very sorry to hear that this was your experience with Total Restore. We understand that everybody is different so our products may work well for some but not others. Please email me at aria@gundrymd.com, and I will be more than happy to get that refund process started for you right away.

    • Dec 1, 2018

      Peggy D.

      I bought this because my knees were really othering me. I have taken it for six weeks and I am running up and down the stairs. I will not stop taking it because it is working for me.

    • Dec 3, 2018

      Miranda W.

      So I have been using this for three days now and no issues, thankfully, but I was just wondering if anyone has lost weight or can this even make you lose weight?

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Works very, very well! Amazed at results!

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Nov 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was very skeptical, however, after two months, no more IBS/Colitis symptoms and my nightly use of Zantac for GERD is no longer needed! Who knew? This product has given me extra energy, and I am now exercising again along with the Total Restore. I am feeling much better. Of course, as a clinician, I am aware of Placebo effects and emperical evidence, so I am convinced and will keep using! Thank you Dr. Gundry! I will also try other products because his worked so well!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 301

Write a Review for Gundry MD Total Restore!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review