About Gundry MD Total Restore

By HighYa Staff
Published on: Jan 3, 2018

Using a blend of 16 dynamically effective all-natural ingredients, the Gundry MD Total Restore dietary supplement promises to help promote a healthy gut lining, protect your body from endotoxin overload, and promote full-body wellness.

As a result, the website reports you can expect reduced gas, bloating, diarrhea, and constipation caused by "leaky gut"; boosted energy, relief from achy muscles and joints, and help to combat food cravings. Just take three easy-to-swallow capsules once per day, with your biggest meal. Or, one capsule three times a day, if you prefer.

When used as directed, the Gundry MD site tells us that many Total Restore users report “a distinct improvement in digestion, energy, and overall health within just a few days,” with the most dramatic results evident after two to three weeks.

If you’re experiencing these symptoms on a regular basis, it might seem like a no-brainer to place an order. But can you realistically expect Total Restore to deliver on Gundry MD’s promises? Let’s kick things off by taking a closer look at the condition it’s supposed to address.

What Do Medical Professionals Say About Leaky Gut Syndrome?

The Mayo Clinic explains that a single layer of cells in the intestines, connected by something called ‘tight junctions,' is all that separates its contents from the rest of the body. And while these cells were once thought to be static, the medical community has since observed that they’re “dynamic gatekeepers, opening and closing in response to dietary factors, neuronal signals, and pathogens.”

In some instances, though, WebMD reports that these tight junctions don’t work properly and can leak substances (such as the endotoxins mentioned on the Total Restore website) into the bloodstream, leading to symptoms like bloating, gas, cramps, food sensitivities, and aches and pains—a condition informally known as “leaky gut.” This is especially common among those with celiac disease and Crohn’s disease.

However, many individuals without these diseases report symptoms consistent with leaky gut, although Donald Kirby, MD, director of the Center for Human Nutrition at the Cleveland Clinic, emphasizes, “from an MD’s standpoint, it’s a very gray area.”

Basically, "leaky gut really means you’ve got a diagnosis that still needs to be made,” he says. “You hope that your doctor is a good-enough Sherlock Holmes, but sometimes it is very hard to make a diagnosis.”

Linda A. Lee, MD, a gastroenterologist and director of the Johns Hopkins Integrative Medicine and Digestive Center, adds: “In the absence of evidence, we don’t know what it means or what therapies can directly address it.” In other words, “with leaky gut, the evidence – about what causes it and how to treat it – has yet to fully accumulate.”

With these important details in mind, how does Total Restore advertise that it can help address leaky gut symptoms?

Taking a Closer Look at Total Restore’s Ingredients

According to the supplement facts label listed on the Gundry MD website, Total Restore contains the following ingredients:

  • Magnesium 7 mg
  • Zinc 2 mg
  • L-Glutamine 213 mg
  • N-Acetyl D-Glucosamine 142 mg
  • Magnesium Beta-Hydroxybutyrate 86 mg
  • Grape Seed Extract 58 mg
  • Licorice Roots Powder 54 mg
  • Wormwood Powder 50 mg
  • Cinnamon Bark Powder 50 mg
  • Maitake Mushroom Extract 34 mg
  • Organic Strawberry, Raspberry, Blueberry, Tart Cherry, Elderberry, and Cranberry (VitaBerry) 22 mg
  • Cloves Buds Powder 17 mg
  • Black Pepper Seeds Powder 17 mg
  • Grapefruit Seeds Extract 17 mg
  • Marshmallow Roots Powder 10 mg
  • Zinc L-Carnosine (Pepsin Gl) 10 mg
  • Berberine Bark Powder 3 mg

As we learned in the previous section, there aren’t any formal treatments used to address leaky gut. But can any of this supplement’s ingredients address symptoms commonly reported by the condition’s sufferers?

Based on what we learned from the summaries of the available clinical evidence provided by sites like WebMD, Examine.com, and the Natural Medicines Database, oral magnesium (no dosages listed) may help reduce symptoms of gastroesophageal reflux disease, or GERD, which might be experienced by some leaky gut sufferers.

Similarly, licorice may help ease indigestion (again, no dosages listed), although in clinical studies, it was used alongside other ingredients like milk thistle, peppermint leaf, German chamomile, caraway, celandine, angelica, lemon balm either, and clown's mustard plant.

Outside of magnesium and licorice, though, these same sites indicate that Total Restore’s remaining ingredients have insufficient clinical evidence supporting claims that they can address side effects caused by leaky gut.

Could Total Restore’s Ingredients Cause Side Effects?

According to the Gundry MD website, Total Restore should be effective and safe for daily use for the vast majority of people, although they recommend speaking with your doctor before taking any new dietary supplement.

With this said, WebMD and the Natural Medicines Database indicate that licorice (no dosages or other specifics provided) is possibly unsafe “when used orally in large amounts for several weeks or smaller amounts for longer periods of time.” Similarly, while no specifics were provided, marshmallow can sometimes lead to low blood pressure.

They also emphasize that grapefruit, whether added to your diet or taken as medicine, can interact with many different medications, so you’ll doubly want to speak with your doctor beforehand.

Finally, we’re told that there isn’t enough known about potential side effects or safety of taking Maitake mushroom or medicinal amounts of cloves.

How Much Does Total Restore Cost?

Gundry MD has priced Total Restore as follows:

  • 1 Jar: $49.95
  • 3 Jars: $134.85 ($44.95 per jar)
  • 6 Jars: $254.70 ($42.45 per jar)

Regardless of which option you choose, your order will come with free shipping. All Gundry MD supplements also come with a 90-day refund policy, which you can request by reaching out to customer service at 800-852-0477

What Do We Know About Dr. Steven Gundry & Gundry MD?

Dr. Steven Gundry is a cardiovascular disease specialist and thoracic surgeon who graduated from the Medical College of Georgia School of Medicine and has been practicing since the late 1970s. In that time, his bio reports that he’s patented nine cardiac surgery devices.

Currently, Dr. Gundry focuses on nutrition and has authored several books on the topic, including recent titles like “The Plant Paradox” and “Dr. Gundry’s Diet Revolution.”

From a company perspective, Gundry MD has been in business since 2016 and manufactures other popular dietary supplements like Vital Reds, Primal Plants, Prebiothrive, and Glucose Defense.

They held an A rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on 12 customer reviews and 27 closed complaints, as of 1/3/18. Most of these appeared to revolve around refund concerns. In each instance, a company representative responded.

Are There Other Leaky Gut Supplements Competing with Total Restore?

Searching online marketplaces like Google Shopping and Amazon.com for variations of terms like ‘leaky gut supplement’ and ‘intestinal permeability supplement’ returned several dozen options competing with the product in question, with most ranging between $20 and $40.

None contained the exact same formulation, though, so if you’re interested in these same ingredients in the same dosages, Gundry MD’s Total Restore is currently your only option. Does that necessarily mean it’s your best option, though?

Not to sound like a broken record, but it’s important to reemphasize Donald Kirby, MD’s quote from earlier: “From an MD’s standpoint, [leaky gut] is a very gray area.” In other words, even with a medical degree, your doctor might have to put on their Sherlock Holmes hat to help you find meaningful relief from your symptoms.

With this in mind, your first step toward finding a solution should be speaking with your primary care physician. If they recommend a dietary supplement as a valuable use of your money, after years of research into the topic, we recommend only doing business with companies who:

  • Support their advertising claims with peer-reviewed clinical research
  • Provide a complete list of ingredients, including dosages
  • Price their products competitively
  • Offer at least 30-day refund policies on open bottles, with no restocking fees
  • Come with mostly positive online customer feedback

In the light of these criteria, how does Total Restore look?

Our Final Thoughts About Gundry MD Total Restore

Total Restore comes from a company with a few years in business and almost wholly positive online customer reviews, while all of their supplements come with a 90-day satisfaction guarantee. As such, if you decide to give it a try and find yourself dissatisfied, you might not be out much more than a few dollars in return shipping.

Furthermore, their website offers visitors a complete supplement facts label, including dosages and no proprietary blends, and the product comes with a price that’s in line with much of the competition.

With this said, your doctor can almost certainly help point you in the right direction as far as a) whether or not your intestines have a permeability problem to begin with, and b) whether or not a supplement like Total Restore will deliver meaningful value for the money. So, be sure to discuss the situation with them prior to placing an order.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

337 Consumer Reviews for Gundry MD Total Restore

Average Consumer Rating: 4.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 215 4 star: 90 3 star: 14 2 star: 8 1 star:  10
Bottom Line: 93% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 337
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • 6 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Total Restore problems

    • Perth, Western Australia,
    • Feb 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Hi, I bought three bottles of Total Restore for my husband and self and we both had adverse reactions. I wrote an email weeks ago to Gundry MD to Ariana and have had no reply. But I do keep getting regular promotional emails from Gundry MD to buy other products.

    Could I please be contacted re a refund.

    Thank you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 20, 2019

      Gundry MD Customer Support ., Customer Advocate, Gundry MD

      Hi Mary, I'm sorry to hear that this was your experience. I want to confirm that I received your email so please give us 1-2 business days to receive confirmation of your refund from our support team. Thank you! If you have any outstanding issues, please email me at aria@gundrymd.com.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Insatiable appetite, anyone else?

    • Vancouver Island, British Columbia, Canada,
    • Feb 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've been on taking Total Restore for about three weeks now and am wondering if anyone else has noticed an increase in their appetite? I take three in the morning with breakfast and then I can't stop snacking which is not usual for me. Other than that I'm not noticing any changes other than maybe a bit of stomach discomfort. I've done my research over the years on the product ingredients and this is what made me so keen on finding an all-in-one capsule. I'll finish my month and see if my appetite stabilizes, but I am tempted to return the other two bottles. And yes with currency exchange and customs, it is a very pricey supplement to be on.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 19, 2019

      Gundry MD Customer Support ., Customer Advocate, Gundry MD

      Hi F L, thank you for taking the time to leave a review! I'm sorry to hear that you haven't seen the changes you had hoped for. An increase in appetite is not a normal side effect of Total Restore. As always, we ask that you consult your physician prior to beginning any new supplement. If you are unable to continue taking Total Restore, please email me at aria@gundrymd.com and I'd be happy to refund you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Order not received

    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Feb 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am completely disappointed. I was waiting for the delivery and when I called they are not processed yet. I waited for 9 days already, what the heck. I already paid, it has deducted to my account, before you end up you keep on pushing other items to buy. I only need the first three bottles. I don’t know, you make me already disappointed with your process. I don’t know how am I going to be impressed with your product!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 19, 2019

      Gundry MD Customer Support ., Customer Advocate, Gundry MD

      Hi Carol, I'm very sorry to hear that this happened! I'd be more than happy to personally look into your account and order to provide some more insight into what may have happened. Please email me at aria@gundrymd.com and we can get that process started immediately.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Misleading free shipping and hidden cost for Canadian’s order plus late arrival

    • Alberta, Canada,
    • Feb 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered on January 5, 2019 and received the package at January 31st after I called several times to follow the reason for the delay (26 days!). Surprisingly, I was charged another $19 at Canada Post for pickup by myself!

    Really surprised that these hidden costs were not clarified during the ordering process. The total price we paid was significantly higher than we expected for such a late arrival of the product. It would be useful if they clarified this at the time of purchase and made their order process more transparent and realistic, because it could definitely affect my decision. I hope to be compensated for the inconvenience it caused.

    Anyway, it is too early to tell if the supplement works or not.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 7, 2019

      Gundry MD Customer Support ., Customer Advocate, Gundry MD

      Hi Garshsb, I'm sorry about the confusion and inconvenience during your experience. Unfortunately, we have no control over a countries custom charges as only about 10% of incoming packages are selected for customs. Typically, Gundry MD is not responsible for customs charges as we have no idea when or how much will be charged. I’ll go ahead and refund your customs charges because of the miscommunication we caused. Please keep in mind that in the future we are unable to refund customs charges if an order acquires them. Please email me at aria@gundrymd.com and we can get this process started for you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 20 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Can’t sleep and stomach ache in the morning

    • Philadelphia, PA,
    • Jan 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am more alert and active, however, I can’t sleep, and I get a stomach ache every morning. I took the pills as directed. I tried three pills with the biggest meal, then I changed one each meal and then I change one each meal breakfast and lunch only. I made sure I drank lots of water. I am hoping this changes or I'll be returning the product soon. I was expecting more.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 22, 2019

      Gundry MD Customer Support ., Customer Advocate, Gundry MD

      Hi Cara, my name is Aria with Gundry MD. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! I'm happy to hear that you have seen some positive changes. It sounds like you might be experiencing “Die Off” symptoms. This often occurs when probiotics are introduced to the gut and begin killing off the bad bacteria. As always, we ask that you consult your primary care physician prior to trying a new product to ensure that you do not experience any interactions while taking them. Because everybody is different, we do understand that our products may work well for some and not others. Please don't hesitate to reach out at aria@gundrymd.com with any questions or concerns or if you would like to get the refund process started.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 28 out 35 people found this review helpful

    Misleading free shipping and hidden cost for Canadian’s order

    • Calgary, Alberta, Canada,
    • Jan 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have ordered the promotional basic pack of three bottles on December 9, 2018 and received the package around December 28th. To my surprise, I was charged for GST at Canadian $9.07 and another Handling fee at Canadian $9.95. I thought that the handling fee/shipping is already paid for when I paid the product online as what the emailed detailed order receipt shows. I am really surprised that these hidden costs were not clarified during the ordering process. I hope GundryMD can clarify this and make their order process more transparent. I hope to be compensated as well for the inconvenience it caused. My wife was mad when she shelved unexpected Canadian $19.02 to pay Canada Post during delivery/pickup. Anyway, it is too early to tell if the supplement works. I’ll keep you updated on my next post.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (6)
    View all 6 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 11, 2019

      Gundry MD Customer Support ., Customer Advocate, Gundry MD

      Hello Czarjeff, Aria here with Gundry MD. Thank you for your review. I can definitely understand how frustrating it can be when customs charges are incurred on an order. Unfortunately, as these charges come straight from your countries post office, we have no way of controlling how much or if they get incurred on your order. You pay these charges directly to your government's post office and not to Gundry MD. Please keep in mind that customs charges are incurred on about 20% of orders at random. If you would like a full refund for your original purchase price directly from our website, please email me at Aria@gundrymd.com with your order number. Thank you.

    • Jan 16, 2019

      Charmaine B.

      I have requested a return slip to return my Total Restore several times over the last three weeks with no response. I have been sent return slips for a product I have not yet received.

    • Jan 17, 2019

      Gundry MD Customer Support ., Customer Advocate, Gundry MD

      Hi Charmaine, I'm sorry to hear that you have yet to hear a response from our customer service team. Please email me at aria@gundrymd.com and I would be happy to assist you with your return.

    • Jan 20, 2019

      vicki d.

      I purchased one bottle of Total Restore. My tummy was in a terrible state. After two weeks of taking the tablets, my tummy has started to repair. But I need to purchase a few more bottles. I only wish it was sold in Australia as I found it to be too expensive with the dollar exchange and the postage. Regards, Vicki.

    • Jan 26, 2019

      Laura D.

      It's a scam; it will prompt you to order more than you wish too. It charged my credit about $900. I immediately emailed them and stated "YOU DO NOT HAVE MY PERMISSION TO CHARGE MY CREDIT THAT AMOUNT." What do they do? They ship the product. Now I have a bill for $900. IT'S A SCAM!

    • Jan 26, 2019

      Hollie T.

      The Gundry team is amazing! I purchased ProPlant and received an email that Total Restore had been shipped in error. However, I was allowed to keep all six bottles total over $250 in product for FREE! I am so glad to have come across this product! I definitely feel the energy boost when I take the three capsules in the morning!

      I had breast implants that had to be removed because they caused a plethora of problems, including leaky gut. I’ve been healing for the past two and a half years, but the digestive issues seem to linger...such as bloating, weight gain, constipation, irregular bowel movements. I have noticed more regularity with Total Restore. I also took the opportunity of changing my diet a little bit and removing carbs and junk food over the past few weeks. I feel better, less bloating, less aches and pains, and a lot more energy.

      I’m so happy for having this gift of free product that was accidentally shipped. For me, it was a huge blessing. Can’t wait to see what six months of using the product will do for my body. Thank you Dr. Gundry and team!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 36 out 41 people found this review helpful

    Excellent

    • Saint John, Canada,
    • Dec 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    An excellent approach to look first to the immune system. In my opinion, this is the key for a healthy body. Only a strong immune system can prevent any imbalance in the body. Your product is doing that.

    Besides that, it is very important to take care about what you are eating.

    I like this product, and I recommend to have it for everyone.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 52 out 54 people found this review helpful

    Total Restore - amazing!

    • San Diego, CA,
    • Dec 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am now on my second bottle of Total Restore and wanted to wait before I made a recommendation.

    This product is amazing...I have suffered from Diverticulitis/Leaky Gut, and Calcium Stones that my body has manufactured from high oxalates in my diet.

    Total Restore has exceeded my expectations - I am experiencing normal bowel elimination, no pain, and my abdomen seems to "feel stronger," not distended.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 38 out 38 people found this review helpful

    Total Restore

    • Bellevue, WA,
    • Dec 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have seen a marked improvement in my digestive system. No more pain in my midsection at all! Also, my bloated stomach is reduced as well. Great product to use every morning. I would highly recommend this product to anyone suffering with stomach issues.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 38 out 41 people found this review helpful

    Total Restore

    • Boston, MA,
    • Dec 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had a lot of the "leaky gut" symptoms and decided to give Total Restore a try. As of today, it has been exactly three weeks since I started the Total Restore. I cut out gluten and limited my dairy two weeks before starting Total Restore. I went down two holes in my belt in about five weeks. I’ve lost about 12 pounds. I’m definitely not belching as much. Less gas overall. I noticed I’m not as tired in the early afternoon hours.

    I’m not sure if I had a "leaky gut" or if I became gluten intolerant before making these changes. I do know that I feel better than I did and will continue to take Total Restore for a while. I did have an endoscopy and colonoscopy a few days ago, and everything was good. The enterologist said, "keep doing what you're doing." That’s my plan!

    Thanks.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 28 out 28 people found this review helpful

    Surprised me, but I like it!

    • Connecticut,
    • Dec 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    As age and weight crept up, I experienced more digestive disorder. I'm not sure if it was the diet or the Total Restore, but I don't have the bloating anymore or the pain associated with it. I'll be seeing my own doctor in a couple of months, and I think he will ask why I'm not so gassy. Thank you Dr. Gundry!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 337

Write a Review for Gundry MD Total Restore!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review