About Gwynnie Bee

By Autumn Yates
HighYa Staff Updated on: Jun 7, 2018

Gwynnie Bee is a monthly subscription service that allows members to rent articles of clothing for a flat fee. Users can make unlimited swaps, and shipping is free. Further, the number of items you can have out at any one time is determined by what subscription level you choose.

Gwynnie Bee’s clothing is gently used but kept in pristine condition and laundered before shipping out to the next member. There’s even a “buy it if you love it” option for those who can’t part with certain pieces.

Together, they claim it’s like having a whole department store as your closet. But, are they necessarily right for you? Let’s dive into the details to help you find out.

How Gwynnie Bee Works

Would-be members of Gwynnie Bee can create a guest account to browse their clothing selection by entering their email address and creating a password. The browsing experience is intended to emulate online shopping, and users can search within article categories and then filter based on size (sizes 0-32 available), color, and brand.

User’s “Closet” specific items that they’d like to have in their personal rotation. Gwynnie Bee recommends that you Closet a minimum of six items for every one item allotted in your subscription (or, at least 25 items); that way if something becomes unavailable, there are enough choices to avoid an interruption in your service. You’ll be able to prioritize any items in your Closet.

Additionally, users are invited to “Attic” items they would like to favorite for later Closeting, perhaps for a change of season or for special occasions.

Your first Gwynnie Bee box is shipped within 2-3 days of signing up, and you can keep items for as long as you’d like. There’s also no limit to how many times a month you swap items. Shipping is always free, and when you’re ready to return the clothing, you’ll find prepaid bags included in each box of clothing. Also, laundering items before returning isn’t necessary.

An additional nice touch is that you can notify Gwynnie Bee when you’re popping items back in the mail, and they’ll prepare your next box in advance in an effort to limit turnaround time.

But is wearing shared items sanitary? Gwynnie Bee's FAQ addresses this concern by promising that each piece is meticulously inspected three times before sending.

Another concern is the possibility of damaging rented clothing. This is also addressed in the site’s FAQs with a relaxed attitude. “Such is life!” says Gwynnie Bee, and does not mention any charges for damaged articles. They do ask that you email or call their customer service to give them a heads up that the item will need repair or replacement.

All items in Gwynnie Bee’s stock are available for purchase at a discount. However, you aren’t allowed to buy pieces before trying them. The site also claims that items are retired once light wear and tear begins to show, and then donated to a local charity.

How Much Does Gwynnie Bee Cost?

After a 30-day free trial, Gwynnie Bee’s rates are based on the number of items you can have in rotation at any given time and are charged monthly to your credit card on file. These rates are as follows:

  • One item for $49
  • Two items for $69
  • Three items for $95
  • Five items for $139
  • Seven items for $179
  • Ten items for $199

Gwynnie Bee also has a referral program, through which you can earn a free garment for a month each time you refer a friend who also subscribes.

Subscriptions can be canceled at any time, but all items must be returned within seven days to avoid being charged the full price. Support can be reached at 855-499-6643 or gwynnie@gwynniebee.com.

What People Think of Gwynnie Bee

Since writing our original article, more than 30 HighYa readers have provided feedback about their experiences with Gwynnie Bee, giving them an average rating of 2.2 stars. Compliments frequently referenced great selection of clothing and ease of use, while complaints often revolved around high prices, as well as clothing that didn’t meet taste or quality preferences.

Gwynnie Bee had a similar average rating of 2.7 stars among nearly 180 customer reviews on SiteJabber, with many of the same compliments and complaints.

We also encountered a variety of independent bloggers who wrote about their experiences with the company, many of whom remarked that they loved the service and appreciated what it had done for their fashion options.

Many seemed to appreciate that Gwynnie Bee also allows users to familiarize themselves with the sizes of different brands and find what works best for them before committing to an investment, although most were from several years ago when Gwynnie Bee specialized in plus size women’s clothing.

Related: 6 Top Tips to Buying Pre-Owned Designer Clothing Online (That You’ll Actually Love)

As a company, Gwynnie Bee Inc. is based out of Long Island City, NY and has been in business since 2011. They held an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on 12 customer reviews and more than 50 closed complaints, as of 5/23/18. Most of these appeared to reference billing and/or service concerns, although a company representative responded in each instance with a resolution.

Gwynnie Bee vs. Rent the Runway, Stitch Fix, and Other Clothing Memberships

While we didn’t encounter any other companies with the exact same business model as Gwynnie Bee during our research, they are up against some stiff competition from other popular options like Rent the Runway, Stitch Fix, Le Tote, and Dia & Co.

Most of these companies (Gwynnie Bee, Rent the Runway, and Le Tote) allow their customers to receive clothing, add items to ‘Closets’ that are sent out on a regular basis, return clothing using pre-paid labels, provide coverage for light damage, and the ability to purchase clothing at a less-than-retail discount.

On the other hand, clothing memberships like Dia and Stitch Fix involve personal stylists sending you articles of clothing of the stylist's choice (you do not 'closet' items or get to choose what they send you). You also cannot wear, damage, and then return these items—you either keep them and wear them, or don't try them at all and simply send them back.

Company Price Notes
Gwynnie Bee $49 - $199, depending on the number of items Can have between 1 and 10 items out at any time, sizes 0-32 available, unlimited swaps per month
Rent the Runway $30 per rental - $159/mo Unlimited pieces. Fit guarantee. Also offers formal wear (including bridal wear), maternity.
Stitch Fix Items range in price between $20 and $600 (average $55 each). $20 per-box styling fee. Offers clothing for men (28-42W) and women (0-24W). Sends five pieces of clothing to your door, keep and pay for the ones you want (no rentals available). No subscription required. Includes maternity.
Le Tote $59 - $79/mo Unlimited totes per month. Thousands of brands and styles, including maternity.
Dia & Co. $20 per-box styling fee, which is credited toward any items you decide to keep Dedicated personal stylist, 25% off when you buy everything in your Style Box

How can you choose which of these is right for you? Like most other consumer buying decisions, it might largely come down to your specific needs and preferences.

For example, if you’re looking for maternity clothing, Le Tote and Stitch Fix might be solid options, while only Gwynnie Bee, Rent the Runway, and Le Tote were the only companies offering rentals, with an option to buy. Outside of this, you'll want to carefully investigate each company's online feedback, which could be a good indication of what you can expect after becoming a customer.

How does all of this stack up for Gwynnie Bee?

The Bottom Line on Gwynnie Bee

Whether or not it's actually a rotating closet, or simply the opportunity to try new brands, the worthiness of Gwynnie Bee's cost is wholly based on individual preference.

Based on extensive customer feedback, the company seems to deliver on their promise of variety, and there aren’t any hidden fees. So, if you feel like trying before you buy, or just sticking to trying and swapping, Gwynnie Bee’s service seems to keep most of their customers satisfied.

Originally Published on December 2, 2014, Revised by Derek Lakin on June 7, 2018

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

81 Consumer Reviews for Gwynnie Bee

Average Consumer Rating: 3.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 38 4 star: 8 3 star: 4 2 star: 6 1 star:  25
Bottom Line: 60% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 81
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Billing

    • Houston, TX,
    • Oct 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've stated on more than one occasion that this company has been taking $75 out of my account for the last three years and I've only had one outfit delivered to me due to the point that during the Hurricane Harvey incident, I was unable to locate those items and the company still continued to bill me. I have found those items, and I do not want the service anymore. I have asked for a box be sent to me so I can return the two items that I received almost 4 years ago, and I would never say that this company has a compassionate heart because they don't. They have again taken $75 out for almost 48 months and I've only received one outfit.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    So far, so good

    • California,
    • Oct 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've been on a weight loss journey for nearly three years, two of them with Gwynnie Bee "lending" me clothing along the way. It's been a good relationship with only minor hiccups along the way.

    Pros: A constantly changing supply of (mostly) new clothing to enjoy along the way with (mostly) accurate sizing charts.

    Cons: When the sizing charts are off, they are waaaaay off. But that purple bag is right there to receive the "toss backs." And when the pieces have been "previously enjoyed," they can be somewhat thread-worn. But that's only happened twice in my two years of experience and, again, the purple bag is right there.

    Lingering issue: They say there's a pair of pants that I know I returned which they have never received. It's been sitting there for quite some time marked "return notified" but receipt never acknowledged. They've continued to send me all of the items to which I'm entitled, but at some point, they should give up on that pair of pants, don't you think?

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Endless possibilities!

    • Holt, MI,
    • Oct 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I began a new job which requires me to dress professionally 5 days a week. Looking at my current clothing inventory, I found it lacking. One of my new work friends always looked great and wore amazing up to date styles, and when I asked her where she shopped, she shared with me the Gwynnie Bee secret. I really like the selection, and it is as easy to use as possible. It saves on shopping time, laundry and dry cleaning. You go online, select your styles and size, they send you available items, you wear them, place them in a pre-posted bag and return. As soon as you indicate you are returning the items you have, they are preparing the next box. I LOVE IT!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Materials and patterns

    • Fort Collins, CO,
    • Oct 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been a loyal customer for quite some time now. I am finding that less and less of the items I rent are quality items. The material and patterns are dated. They look good in photos, but when they arrive, it’s nothing I would have touched in a store. I’m debating leaving. But I have enjoyed a large selection they've provided over the years. Thank you.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Life in the work lane

    • Georgia,
    • Oct 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I signed up for going to be in 2014 around the same time I got a promotion that required a more corporate professional wardrobe, but I refuse to just wear a pantsuit and be boring. Gwynnie Bee gave me the opportunity to explore and find my new style transitioning from my early twenties into my professional wardrobe while still maintaining my love of fashion and quirkiness. I can try new pieces for work and always have the availability for fun date night outfits or special nights out and even family vacations. And now that they've gone fully size inclusive I can recommend it to all of my friends, no matter your body type. Keep it up Gwynnie Bee.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Hard to find items to closet

    I have been a member for two years and in the beginning, I was very pleased with the service and selection. Currently, I struggle to find enough items to fill my virtual closet and keep shipments coming regularly. It seems that if I put something in the closet that I don’t really love, that’s always the item I get first. Maybe supply is not keeping up with demand? I’ve had items in the closet for over a year and never received them, even if prioritized. If the item is no longer available, why let it sit in my closet?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Love it!

    • San Diego, CA,
    • Oct 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I thoroughly enjoy my Gwynnie Bee subscription. My only concern would be when I receive the same color scheme or similar patterned in one shipment. I would always like to receive a variety.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Save time, save money

    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Oct 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Gwynnie Bee has been so extremely helpful and has removed any worry I felt about what to wear to work in the mornings or what to wear to church on Sunday. I used to sit in front of my closet trying to find something every day and it just wasn’t easy. Now my worry is gone, and I have something to wear all the time, and I look and feel great! I get so many compliments on what I’m wearing. I save lots of time and money not having to buy clothes constantly. I highly recommend this service to everyone.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Complete wardrobe

    • Houston, TX,
    • Oct 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Great clothes, great service, incredible brands, new items every few days.

    The price is paid for with what I saved in cleaning bills.

    The delivery of new items is very expeditious...that’s what I’m most pleased with.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Pretty good

    • Nebraska,
    • Oct 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    For the most part, I've been happy with the service for the past 5 and 1/2 years. I signed up when they were very new, so there have been some bumps and growing pains as they have grown as a company. For instance, sometimes the packages never arrive, many times the items have been missing belts, etc., other times the clothes have smelled horrible. For the most part, when I have voiced a complaint, it is has been taken care of to my satisfaction. I enjoy the selection and getting new items to try. I enjoy the option to purchase things that I love. Overall, I'm pretty happy with the service and would recommend it to friends to try out.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    It's made my life so much easier

    • Michigan,
    • Oct 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have the five items at a time subscription, and it's wonderful. I wear almost exclusively Gwynnie Bee clothes to work. I rarely wear the same thing twice, and it's really nice to have less laundry to do. There are definitely some fails (it's all stuff you pick for yourself, and sometimes I'm not sure what I was thinking, lol), but such is life. Overall, I think it's an excellent value for the money, and it's made my life easier. It's also made me more adventurous - easy to try a style once if you don't have to buy it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 81

Write a Review for Gwynnie Bee!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review