About Handy Heater

Using its thermo-ceramic design to reduce size, while still providing “incredible” whole-room heat, Handy Heater plugs into any outlet and provides warmth for pennies a day. The process is so easy that it works over three steps:

  1. Plug Handy Heater into any outlet.
  2. Use the digital control to set your ideal temperature.
  3. Handy Heater’s two-speed fan will circulate air and keep the room warm until it shuts off using an automatic timer.

This way, you can quickly heat just about any room in your home (up to 250 square feet), including bathrooms, offices, dens, basements, and more, and still save money on your heating bill. Handy Heater’s compact design even means that you can take it with you when you travel!

Spring might be nipping at Old Man Winter’s heels, but there are still enough cold days ahead to think about low-cost heating options. In your quest for effective and inexpensive warmth, is Handy Heater worthy of being on your radar? Or, are there other options you should consider first? We’ll help you make the decision.

To start, let’s find out if Handy Heater is revolutionary, or just a slightly redesigned version of products already available.

What Does Handy Heater’s Competition Look Like?

First, we should unpack the term “thermo-ceramic design.” Although it sounds high-tech, it just means that Handy Heater “generates heat using a heating element of PTC (Positive Temperature Coefficient) ceramic.” Ceramic heaters are extraordinarily commonplace, and you’ll find them in all shapes and sizes at most stores with a housewares section.

In fact, ceramic heaters are so common that you can see how many options you have by typing the phrase “personal ceramic heater” into any search engine. Granted, they might not all be designed exactly like Handy Heater, but they could provide more value for the money. Add to this that many of these other options feature long cords—in contrast to Handy Heater, which has to be plugged directly into an outlet—that could provide more adjustability when you’re trying to get the ideal amount of heat.

Speaking of which, how much heat will you get from Handy Heater? Will it be economical?

How Much Heat Can You Expect Handy Heater To Provide?

If you searched online for personal ceramic heaters when reading the previous section, you probably noticed that they come in a wide range of wattages; anywhere from 200 to 1,200+. Handy Heater falls at the lower end of this range with 350 watts.

According to this wattage to BTU calculator, this means that Handy Heater puts out 1,193.5 BTU. And since every square foot of a room requires about 10 watts to heat, this means that in order for Handy Heater to warm a 250 square foot room (as the website claims), it would need to put out 2,500 watts, or 8,525 BTU per hour.

So, while Handy Heater might be a solid option for temporarily warming a small area, such as a cozy bathroom or a personal workspace, it might not be your go-to for heating anything much larger than 100 square feet (or so) of your home. And even if Handy Heater can warm up 250 square feet of space, it’s easy to imagine that it won’t be quick.

Pro tip: Also, consider that the layout of the area you’re trying to heat can make a huge difference as well. For example, if you’re heating a small bedroom but have furniture in the way, this could greatly impact Handy Heater’s performance. Or, if you’re attempting to heat a small corner of a large room (such as a den), a lot of your heat can be lost to the rest of the room.

How much will the warmth provided by Handy Heater cost you?

Our First-Hand Handy Heater Test & Review

We thoroughly tested the Handy Heater to see if it delivers on its claims. To find out everything we experienced, watch the video below:

For more product tests and shopping tips: Click here to subscribe to HighYa’s YouTube channel.

Is Handy Heater’s Price Snuggle-Worthy?

One plug-in Handy Heater will cost you $29.99 plus $8.99 S&H. Like many ASOTV products, you’ll be able to purchase a second unit at checkout for an additional $8.99 S&H.

Note: All Handy Heater orders are subject to a $1 web service fee.

Handy Heater comes with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H charges. Did you take advantage of the BOGO offer? If so, this means that by the time you ship them back to the company, you could lose almost as much in S&H charges as you’ll get as a refund.

Nonetheless, you can request a refund by calling OnTel Products customer service department at 844-463-1125.

Given all of this, what’s the bottom line about Handy Heater?

Is Handy Heater a Convenient, Affordable Way To Heat Your Home?

OnTel has brought us a lot of popular As Seen On TV products in the past, including Veggetti, Big Vision Eyewear, Foot Angel, and many more. In general, they seem to come with rather low customer reviews here on HighYa, based on a lot of complaints surrounding poor quality and failure to work as advertised. Now, we’re not saying this is what to expect with Handy Heater; only that it’s something worth keeping in mind.

On top of this, Handy Heater is up against some pretty stiff competition from more mainstream manufacturers, many of which are priced about the same, while offering a lot more wattage (read: heating power) for the money, along with longer cords for more customizable heating solutions.

Finally, Handy Heater doesn’t appear to be UL Classified, so this definitely raises questions about safety and long-term reliability.

Taking all of this together, if you’re willing to roll the dice on S&H to give Handy Heater a try, we think it might be ideal for a small enclosed area with no airflow blockages, such as a small bathroom or bedroom (as long as no furniture is in front of Handy Heater’s fan), as well as a personal office space. Like you would with any other electronic device, just be sure to unplug it whenever you leave the room!

As long as you keep these things in mind, you just might be satisfied by its performance.

What to Learn How to Shop Smarter for TV Products?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

27 Consumer Reviews for Handy Heater

Average Consumer Rating: 1.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 2 4 star: 0 3 star: 1 2 star: 1 1 star:  23
Bottom Line: 15% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 27
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Scam alert

    I ordered two heaters about a month ago and paid extra for a speedy delivery. I have not received my heaters and last week when I called they said I have to give it another week and then they can take action. I have called back just to automatically get music with no answer. I went to the main website and received the number for new orders but now it's saying it's for an LED light and nobody seems to know what I am talking about. I am going to contact BBB but that really doesn't help the money I am out of. Please save your money because it is a fraud.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Handy Heater failed two times

    • North Carolina,
    • Nov 15, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased two Handy Heaters this year. Both have been complete failures and neither one heated 250 square feet; they didn't even heat 250 cm away from the unit. I don't make a habit of wasting money. However, this was a complete waste. Whomever came up with these heaters was just out to make a fool out of us and get rich.

    I will be contacting the BBB about this product, and if the idealist who came up with this or the manufacturer offers any other product, I'll be the first not to buy them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 21 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Very noisy

    • Cheshire, United Kingdom,
    • Nov 10, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought two of these heaters as I thought they would come in handy to give a boost to the conservatory when the heating just comes on. I noticed they are very, very noisy. I thought at first it was just one, but when I plugged the other one in, that was just as noisy as the fan being so loud. If I have one on in the lounge downstairs, I can hear it upstairs in the bedroom, even with the TV on. You could not sit and watch TV in the same room with it on, unless you wanted to have the television on really loud. Pretty disappointed with this item. I bought from JML after seeing the TV advert.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 51 out 51 people found this review helpful

    It deserves a negative 5 rating

    This piece of garbage started a fire in my bedroom and the fire department had to come to put it out. If you value your home do not buy this piece of garbage! Run as far as you can from this junk!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 57 out 57 people found this review helpful

    Thieves

    I ordered my heaters in December of 2016, and here it is May of 2017 and after four phone calls, still nothing. They kept saying they were sending a check and that was a lie. I am looking for a lawyer to take action. This company is crooked thieves. Time to shut them down.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 19, 2017

      Bob

      Yes, I agree, I bought my heater back in December as well, and here it is July and I have still not received any money from them. I have called them a lot more than four times. If you find a lawyer, keep me in mind and you'll probably find a lot more people out there as well.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 43 out 44 people found this review helpful

    They lie

    I have been waiting since January 5th for my refund. They lie about why I don't have my money back. They have given me five lies so far. They are a criminal enterprise. Who do you contact to report their fraud? The sad thing is, it's New Jersey, so no hope there. Imagine how much money they've taken since Christmas.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 57 out 58 people found this review helpful

    Where is my refund?

    • North Carolina,
    • Feb 13, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered this product and then read reviews saying that it gets so hot that it could burn a house down. So I call the company back and spoke to someone and told them that I didn't want the product, and I made sure they didn't take money off of my card. Because I made sure that I canceled the order, I used the money off my card on something else, and didn't think anything else about it.

    Ok, so my check comes on my card for the next month, and because I keep up with what I spend, I called to see what had come off my card, and one amount was $94.00 and some change. So I called my bank and I let them run down how much my purchases were and where I spent them, and come to find out, this amount of $94.00 came from Handy Heater.

    So I "flew hot" and called them back, telling them that I had canceled this order so they need to put my money back on my card, and they said they could not apply it back to my card because it was a gift card. I told them that they had no problem taking it off my card, so they need to put it back on my card. I also let her know that it is not a gift card, it is a RushCard (a prepaid Visa debit card), but she said it's coming across her screen as a gift card. She said what she can do is send me a check and I will receive it in six to eight business weeks (not days, WEEKS). When I "fly hot" again, she tells me to send the merchandise back because it was shipped. I say, "ok now, on the day it was delivered my cousin received and opened the box, and we tested the merchandise but it does not work like they say, you have to get right in front of it to feel it, and it elevated my light bill enormously.

    So don't let them tell you that it will cost you pennies a day because that's a lie. Don't give them your card info because they are going to take the money whether you want them to or not. They took my money the beginning of December, and I haven't received this so-called check yet. What the heck? I called again today they said that they sent the check out on December 28th. Where is my refund? I am signing off angry.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 52 out 53 people found this review helpful

    Handy Heater is a scam!

    • Ohio,
    • Feb 10, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered two Handy Heaters in December of 2016. After two weeks when I did not receive them, I called the company. I was told that FedEx did not pick them up yet. I called FedEx, and they said a shipping label was prepared and to check with the company.

    I waited another week and still had no heaters. I then called Handy Heater again, and they said to be patient. I then called my credit card and told them of the situation. They credited my account and are looking into this scam company.

    Do NOT order from this company. It is a ripoff!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 42 out 42 people found this review helpful

    A rip off!

    • North Carolina,
    • Feb 5, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered Handy Heater for a poor family at Christmas. I am totally embarrassed. Although my account has an entry for $48.00 for Handy Heater and there is a FedEx tracking shipping label "prepared" by Handy Heater, they never followed through. On the coldest, iciest day of the year, the heater was never shipped to the family. FedEx shipping states Handy Heater "Prepared" a label without any further action. I am complaining to my State Attorney General.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 9, 2017

      Monica

      This is a false advertisement.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 38 out 38 people found this review helpful

    Awful!

    • Colorado Springs, CO,
    • Feb 3, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered two heaters in November but never received them. And now it is five days until February. Be aware!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 39 out 39 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    I ordered one and received three. I then sent the two back and received a $29.98 refund, only I was charged $48.97 twice. What a scam. I have not been able to get the proper refunds yet. There is no customer email site. Do not buy!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 27

Write a Review for Handy Heater!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review