Jump To:
Our Editorial Review
Customer Reviews

Handy Heater Reviews

Handy Heater

Overall Rating

1.6

47 Customer Reviews

Summary

Handy Heater is a plug-in personal space heater that allegedly heats up to 250 square feet worth of space. View our personal testing results of this device as customers' reviews.

Write a Review

Our Personal Experience

Customer Reviews

1.6 Stars out of 47 Reviews
5 Star:8% 4 Star:4% 3 Star:4% 2 Star:4% 1 Star:78%
19% Recommend This Product
Start your review of Handy Heater:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Dec 7, 2016

Handy Heater

By Paul Swansen, Putnam Valley, NY, Verified Reviewer

This is the best little heater I ever bought. The electricians say it's a fire hazard, but I told them to prove it. I have 2 and am going to buy 2 more.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 29 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 19, 2016

Handy Heater for boats

By Francis Black, Baltimore, MD, Verified Reviewer

My wife and I live on a boat and there always has been a dampness in the bedroom and main bathroom. We installed one in each room and they worked perfectly. They draw very little electricity and most of the time we have them on the low setting. Perfect product that works amazingly well. Highly recommend this product.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 17 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 20, 2018

Common sense

By Mike Ferraro, North Haven, CT, Verified Reviewer

You need common sense to believe any of the "As Seen On TV Items" are going to perform as they advertise. I purchased this Handy Heater in a grocery store on clearance for $7.50. I bought it to use in the basement to speed up paint drying time on my model car projects, and it works just fine. The timer setting helps out for my use. Great deal and I would never expect this tiny little heater to heat up a room!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 25 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 20, 2019

I love mine!

By Selena S., Montana, Verified Reviewer

I don't know what product you all purchased, but I love my Handy Heater. I was giving it as a gift and it gets so hot I have to shut off! I have it plugged in where I work from my desk in an addition added to my home that has no insulation, and my feet are like popsicles, but this little heater keeps me thawed and heats me up. I have to shut it off after working to keep it from heating the room due to with the heater running the room gets TOO hot for both! I love, love, love mine and have recommended them to friends!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 14 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 8, 2019

Works great in a small RV bathroom

By Wolfgang C., Midwest, USA, Verified Reviewer

Although it cannot be expected that a 350w heater could successfully heat a room to a comfortable temperature, we have found that Handy Heater is the perfect heater for providing a comfortable temperature in the bathroom in our RV. Due to the heater's size, it can be placed to be unobtrusive. We have recommended the heater to other RVers.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 10 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 26, 2019

Works great

By Melissa E., Minnesota, Verified Reviewer

Tried it in a somewhat larger room and it heated up the room effortlessly. And with the adjustable thermostat, you can set it for your needs. I think it's a lot safer than a space heater.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 19, 2016

Would help...

By Anita, Montevallo, Alabama , Verified Reviewer

It would help and saved me money to know ahead of time that you can't use it on the bathroom plug that has a "reset/test" button. I purchased mine for the bathroom and can't use it. Even in everything I read about it not one single word was said about this. It works great but you need to tell people this little problem.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 24 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 13, 2018

It's ok, but not much

By Steve D., New Freedom, PA, Verified Reviewer

The Handy Heater is good for your bedroom but not for basement living room or rec room. Put one in your bedroom before you go to bed and it works. But not for the whole house. I bought this at Walmart for $29.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 9 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 10, 2017

Very noisy

By Pamela Embury, Cheshire, United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

I bought two of these heaters as I thought they would come in handy to give a boost to the conservatory when the heating just comes on. I noticed they are very, very noisy. I thought at first it was just one, but when I plugged the other one in, that was just as noisy as the fan being so loud. If I have one on in the lounge downstairs, I can hear it upstairs in the bedroom, even with the TV on. You could not sit and watch TV in the same room with it on, unless you wanted to have the television on really loud. Pretty disappointed with this item. I bought from JML after seeing the TV advert.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 91 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 9, 2018

Not sure

By Ervin H Hagy, Virginia, Verified Reviewer

I ordered three paid, plus three free, but didn't receive what I thought I was getting. I wanted the one with the thermostat because the one they displayed on TV had a thermostat, but I got six without a thermostat because I didn't say "yes" when they ask me if I wanted to "upgrade?" I didn't know I needed to "upgrade" or I would have.

By the time "I" paid the shipping to send them back, I may have gotten back a few dollars overall per heater. I sent them back because I may have missed something that told me I needed to upgrade to get the "upgrade." I never saw one without a thermostat until I got mine in the mail.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 44 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 2, 2016

False Advertising. Heater is a piece of crap. No star rating for junk.

By Pamela Adams, Oak Park, Michigan, Verified Reviewer

Purchased Handy Heater 11-15-16 from local hardware store. It does not live up to claims made by company, unable to heat a 9x9 room.

11/21/16 talked to Danny B., a Las Vegas customer service supervisor, refused to have me mail product back to them and get a refund. The product is not broken or malfunctioning, it just doesn't live up to the advertisement. They want me to take it to the store it was purchased from, that would be fine if there was a defect in the product.

It's a piece of crap please don't purchase this product since it was falsely advertised. I want Ontel to refund my money. If you see this product in any store just keep walking, these people are hustling the customers. I will be notifying the Better Business Bureau.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 159 People Have Voted
Showing 1-11 of 47

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.