Jump To:
Our Editorial Review
Customer Reviews

Handy Heater Reviews

Handy Heater

Overall Rating

1.6

47 Customer Reviews

Summary

Handy Heater is a plug-in personal space heater that allegedly heats up to 250 square feet worth of space. View our personal testing results of this device as customers' reviews.

Write a Review

Our Personal Experience

Customer Reviews

1.6 Stars out of 47 Reviews
5 Star:8% 4 Star:4% 3 Star:4% 2 Star:4% 1 Star:78%
19% Recommend This Product
Start your review of Handy Heater:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Dec 2, 2016

False Advertising. Heater is a piece of crap. No star rating for junk.

By Pamela Adams, Oak Park, Michigan, Verified Reviewer

Purchased Handy Heater 11-15-16 from local hardware store. It does not live up to claims made by company, unable to heat a 9x9 room.

11/21/16 talked to Danny B., a Las Vegas customer service supervisor, refused to have me mail product back to them and get a refund. The product is not broken or malfunctioning, it just doesn't live up to the advertisement. They want me to take it to the store it was purchased from, that would be fine if there was a defect in the product.

It's a piece of crap please don't purchase this product since it was falsely advertised. I want Ontel to refund my money. If you see this product in any store just keep walking, these people are hustling the customers. I will be notifying the Better Business Bureau.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 159 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 19, 2016

Don't buy it!

By Denise, Bellflower, CA, Verified Reviewer

Handy Heater is a hunk of junk. I purchased the product on a Monday morning to plug in my office that's very cold. I took the heater back to the store on my way home for a refund. It never warmed the office. The fan was noisy and I turned it to 90 degrees and the office remained cold.

I'm in a very small office and thought it would get comfortably warm like the commercial lies that the product will do. I'm glad I had an extra sweater to wear. It's horrible. But what should I have expected from a product that has "As Seen On TV" marked clearly across the box.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 60 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 19, 2016

Crap

By Bill Hunt, Roswell, NM, Verified Reviewer

Handy Heater is easy to use but not worth 10 dollars. It does not even heat up my closet. Instead, it only throws heat out about 1 foot. We've had this unit running for two days now, and nothing.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 68 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 19, 2016

Absolutely Horrible

By Lolo, Cottonwood, CA, Verified Reviewer

The Handy Heater says up it can heat up to 250 square feet. Well that's a load of bull because it heats up like a foot in front of it, but that's it. if I would have known that, I would have never bought that dang thing.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 69 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 27, 2016

Please Don't Waste Your Hard Earned Money

By Dona, Denver, CO, Verified Reviewer

Must have a 3 prong outlet to use. Cannot use an adapter per enclosed instructions for safety reasons. Produces absolutely NO HEAT. Will not warm even a super small room. Returned the two I had ordered from the Handy Heater website and did receive a credit to my credit card in a timely manner. I have a Pelonis small fan forced space heater that I have been using for 2 years. That little Pelonis really heats a room, is safe and I only paid $10 at Walmart.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 73 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 2, 2017

Handy Heater

By Mike Hutchinson, Detroit, Verified Reviewer

I get more heat out of my toaster. The fan won't blow out a birthday candle. The 250 square feet -- that's a joke, it couldn't heat my oven. Also no mention of no bathroom or laundry room use, that is in instructions. Go try to get a refund -- out of 47.00 you get 29.95 back. What a piece of work.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 60 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 16, 2017

Disappointed in Handy Heater

By Stewart, Atlanta, GA, Verified Reviewer

We purchased Handy Heater to warm a small eating area in our kitchen. We thought it would be preferable to the heater we previously used because it is wall mounted and doesn't take up floor space. Unfortunately, it put out so little heat that we couldn't even tell it was on. We purchased two and never opened the second one. They are going back.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 33 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 19, 2017

Returns

By Curtis Kroetsching, Auroa, Colorado, Verified Reviewer

The user information enclosed with the product when received says, "Do not use in bathrooms and kitchens," but all of the other ads to get the sale do not mention this? They have no return policy and offer cash ($10) as a refund, which I accepted.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 27 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 19, 2017

Handy Heater as seen on TV

By Kathy Hussell, Verified Reviewer

I bought one of these heaters to use in my bathroom. I was so excited to finally find one that I could use in the bathroom. Luckily, my husband read the instructions first.

On the outside of the box, it says that it can be used in the bathroom, complete with pictures of one in the bathroom. BUT in the instructions INSIDE the box, it says "do not use in a bathroom or any room that has GFI outlets." So what is this, a fire looking for a place to happen?!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 32 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 21, 2017

Buyer beware!

By Albert Jones, San Antonio, TX, Verified Reviewer

These heaters were advertised on their website as "Buy one for $29.95 and get a second one for free!" I was supposed to pay an extra $8.95 for shipping. Then, as I was closing the order, it came up that I could upgrade both heaters for $10 each. When I said no, it came up that I could upgrade them for $5 each. I agreed to this, and when I hit the "Order Now" button, the order came to over $115.

Seeing that I had been tricked, I called immediately to cancel the order. An automated answer said that no one was available and that I could send an email or call back during their 9am-5pm hours. I sent the email, and I called back, and the response I got was that the order was being processed to be shipped out and they could not stop it.

I was told I could send it back when I get it for a full refund. But why send it to me when you have it there, and I ask you to cancel it? Makes NO SENSE, but if that's how this company has to make its money, I won't be surprised when more customers find out the real truth about these false claims!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 42 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 21, 2017

Not what they promise!

By Cheryl Bishop, Oakville, WA, Verified Reviewer

I ordered the "buy one get one free for $29.99" plus a separate shipping and handling fee of $8.99 for each, yet my card was charged over $95.

When I called, I was told to call the next day, and I could get it fixed. I called early the next day, only to be told it had already been charged to the card and the only thing I could do was refuse the package when it arrived for a full refund!

Rest assured I will, and we shall see if that happens. What a scam, do NOT order! The sad part is that I wanted to try the heaters.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 46 People Have Voted
Showing 1-11 of 47

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.