Jump To:
Our Editorial Review
Customer Reviews

Handy Heater Reviews

Handy Heater

Overall Rating

1.6

47 Customer Reviews

Summary

Handy Heater is a plug-in personal space heater that allegedly heats up to 250 square feet worth of space. View our personal testing results of this device as customers' reviews.

Write a Review

Our Personal Experience

Customer Reviews

1.6 Stars out of 47 Reviews
5 Star:8% 4 Star:4% 3 Star:4% 2 Star:4% 1 Star:78%
19% Recommend This Product
Start your review of Handy Heater:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Dec 2, 2016

False Advertising. Heater is a piece of crap. No star rating for junk.

By Pamela Adams, Oak Park, Michigan, Verified Reviewer

Purchased Handy Heater 11-15-16 from local hardware store. It does not live up to claims made by company, unable to heat a 9x9 room.

11/21/16 talked to Danny B., a Las Vegas customer service supervisor, refused to have me mail product back to them and get a refund. The product is not broken or malfunctioning, it just doesn't live up to the advertisement. They want me to take it to the store it was purchased from, that would be fine if there was a defect in the product.

It's a piece of crap please don't purchase this product since it was falsely advertised. I want Ontel to refund my money. If you see this product in any store just keep walking, these people are hustling the customers. I will be notifying the Better Business Bureau.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 159 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 14, 2017

It deserves a negative 5 rating

By Darlene Mills, New Jersey, Verified Reviewer

This piece of garbage started a fire in my bedroom and the fire department had to come to put it out. If you value your home do not buy this piece of garbage! Run as far as you can from this junk!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 127 People Have Voted

Posted on May 9, 2017

Thieves

By Tammie House, Missouri, Verified Reviewer

I ordered my heaters in December of 2016, and here it is May of 2017 and after four phone calls, still nothing. They kept saying they were sending a check and that was a lie. I am looking for a lawyer to take action. This company is crooked thieves. Time to shut them down.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 116 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 13, 2017

Where is my refund?

By Monica, North Carolina, Verified Reviewer

I ordered this product and then read reviews saying that it gets so hot that it could burn a house down. So I call the company back and spoke to someone and told them that I didn't want the product, and I made sure they didn't take money off of my card. Because I made sure that I canceled the order, I used the money off my card on something else, and didn't think anything else about it.

Ok, so my check comes on my card for the next month, and because I keep up with what I spend, I called to see what had come off my card, and one amount was $94.00 and some change. So I called my bank and I let them run down how much my purchases were and where I spent them, and come to find out, this amount of $94.00 came from Handy Heater.

So I "flew hot" and called them back, telling them that I had canceled this order so they need to put my money back on my card, and they said they could not apply it back to my card because it was a gift card. I told them that they had no problem taking it off my card, so they need to put it back on my card. I also let her know that it is not a gift card, it is a RushCard (a prepaid Visa debit card), but she said it's coming across her screen as a gift card. She said what she can do is send me a check and I will receive it in six to eight business weeks (not days, WEEKS). When I "fly hot" again, she tells me to send the merchandise back because it was shipped. I say, "ok now, on the day it was delivered my cousin received and opened the box, and we tested the merchandise but it does not work like they say, you have to get right in front of it to feel it, and it elevated my light bill enormously.

So don't let them tell you that it will cost you pennies a day because that's a lie. Don't give them your card info because they are going to take the money whether you want them to or not. They took my money the beginning of December, and I haven't received this so-called check yet. What the heck? I called again today they said that they sent the check out on December 28th. Where is my refund? I am signing off angry.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 106 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 10, 2017

Handy Heater is a scam!

By Gail, Ohio, Verified Reviewer

I ordered two Handy Heaters in December of 2016. After two weeks when I did not receive them, I called the company. I was told that FedEx did not pick them up yet. I called FedEx, and they said a shipping label was prepared and to check with the company.

I waited another week and still had no heaters. I then called Handy Heater again, and they said to be patient. I then called my credit card and told them of the situation. They credited my account and are looking into this scam company.

Do NOT order from this company. It is a ripoff!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 96 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 15, 2017

Handy Heater failed two times

By Rose Kiziah, North Carolina, Verified Reviewer

I purchased two Handy Heaters this year. Both have been complete failures and neither one heated 250 square feet; they didn't even heat 250 cm away from the unit. I don't make a habit of wasting money. However, this was a complete waste. Whomever came up with these heaters was just out to make a fool out of us and get rich.

I will be contacting the BBB about this product, and if the idealist who came up with this or the manufacturer offers any other product, I'll be the first not to buy them.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 95 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 10, 2017

Very noisy

By Pamela Embury, Cheshire, United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

I bought two of these heaters as I thought they would come in handy to give a boost to the conservatory when the heating just comes on. I noticed they are very, very noisy. I thought at first it was just one, but when I plugged the other one in, that was just as noisy as the fan being so loud. If I have one on in the lounge downstairs, I can hear it upstairs in the bedroom, even with the TV on. You could not sit and watch TV in the same room with it on, unless you wanted to have the television on really loud. Pretty disappointed with this item. I bought from JML after seeing the TV advert.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 91 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 13, 2017

They lie

By Jackie Barnes, Medford, OR, Verified Reviewer

I have been waiting since January 5th for my refund. They lie about why I don't have my money back. They have given me five lies so far. They are a criminal enterprise. Who do you contact to report their fraud? The sad thing is, it's New Jersey, so no hope there. Imagine how much money they've taken since Christmas.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 90 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 21, 2017

Scam alert

By Ursula Elgers, Georgia, Verified Reviewer

I ordered two heaters about a month ago and paid extra for a speedy delivery. I have not received my heaters and last week when I called they said I have to give it another week and then they can take action. I have called back just to automatically get music with no answer. I went to the main website and received the number for new orders but now it's saying it's for an LED light and nobody seems to know what I am talking about. I am going to contact BBB but that really doesn't help the money I am out of. Please save your money because it is a fraud.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 86 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 7, 2017

They are not worth anything

By Steven Stewart, Mississippi, Verified Reviewer

They are crap. I ordered the "buy one, get one free" and was charged for shipping twice. And when I received them, they were in one box. I have one in the bathroom, and it doesn't even get the room warm, it's like it's not even on. So please take my advice and keep your money in your pockets.

Lesson learned!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 85 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 5, 2017

A rip off!

By Daniel, North Carolina, Verified Reviewer

I ordered Handy Heater for a poor family at Christmas. I am totally embarrassed. Although my account has an entry for $48.00 for Handy Heater and there is a FedEx tracking shipping label "prepared" by Handy Heater, they never followed through. On the coldest, iciest day of the year, the heater was never shipped to the family. FedEx shipping states Handy Heater "Prepared" a label without any further action. I am complaining to my State Attorney General.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 82 People Have Voted
Showing 1-11 of 47

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.