What Is HD Mirror Cam?

By HighYa Staff
Published on: Jan 26, 2016

Featuring a built-in 2.5" LCD, HD Mirror Cam installs in seconds and acts as a temporary replacement for your factory issued rearview mirror, while providing the ability to capture video, photos, and audio.

Using this LCD (with screen shut off mode for safety while driving), the device allows you to immediately view your footage and other media, or download it directly to a computer with the included SD memory card reader.

Like many other models, HD Mirror Cam’s motion detection allows you to record even when you’re not in the car, while the automatic ignition start will begin recording when you turn your car on, and then stop when the ignition is turned off.

Unlike the competition, though, the company claims it comes with exclusive night vision that automatically adjusts for different levels of light.

It certainly seems like HD Mirror Cam includes a lot of must-have features. But will it deliver meaningfully better value in the long run? Let’s kick off our conversation by taking a closer look at the device’s features.

How Does HD Mirror Cam Work?

Perhaps the easiest way to think of HD Mirror Cam is as a standard rearview mirror, but without an arm that attaches to a windshield. Instead, it uses two flexible rubber straps that attach to the top and bottom of the device, which then wrap around the back of your existing mirror.

Directly underneath is the device’s rotating camera, which features a central lens and one infrared LED on each side. These emit a specific wavelength of light that allows the camera to see clearly at night, which is a very common technology found in these types of cameras.

Everything the camera records is displayed on the built-in 2.5" LCD, which can also be switched off to maximize mirror space and avoid distractions while driving.

HD Mirror CamIn the left image, we can see how HD Mirror Cam attaches using flexible rubber bands, while the right image shows the 2.5" display. Image credit: Taken from www.hdmirrorcam.com June 2017

How Much Does HD Mirror Cam Cost?

One HD Mirror Cam is priced at $49.99 plus $9.99 S&H, although the site indicates you’ll earn free S&H if you order two or more.

Each camera comes with a car charger/adaptor, two soft bands, a USB SD card reader, an instruction manual, and mounting wire clips.

Note: The commercial indicates you’ll be able to upgrade your kit to include a micro SD memory card for as little as $7.99, although this offer wasn't presented when we attempted to check out. However, third-party options could be found elsewhere online for between $15 and $60+, depending on storage size.

All HD Mirror Cams come with a 60-day money back guarantee, less S&H. You can request one by contacting customer support at 323-375-1042 or customerservice@inventel.tv.

Which Features Should You Look For In a Rearview Mirror Camera?

Even if you recently started researching dashboard cameras, you probably already recognize that there are thousands of different options available, in all sizes, designs, and price points. How can you choose the best model for your needs?

While they admit there are many more, CarCamCentral lists three key features they always look for when purchasing a dashboard camera:

1. Messaging – They recommend looking for “persistent and highly visible written messages,” and even audible warnings. Why?

Because these cameras (and the SD cards they contain) are repeatedly exposed to big temperature fluctuations and humidity, so failure is inevitable. And you want to know about any potential problems before you get into an accident.

2. Video Quality – The higher the video quality, the more protection you ultimately have (and that’s probably why you’re thinking about purchasing one in the first place, right?), since you’ll have a better chance of catching details like a license plate number or a person’s face after a hit and run.

3. Battery – If no battery is present, then the camera can’t record once your car is turned off.

From these perspectives, HD Mirror Cam seems to check most of the boxes, although some of the customers above reported that its video quality left something to be desired. Are there any other noteworthy points?

Important Points to Consider About HD Mirror Cam

While we didn’t test the device ourselves, we think there are some other important considerations to keep in mind before deciding on any dashcam option:

How visible do you want the camera to be? While HD Mirror Cam attaches to your rearview mirror and won’t impede your line of sight, it seems like it could add a meaningful amount of bulk (aesthetically or otherwise). Also, you’ll need to be comfortable with the added wires running along your windshield and dashboard.

Next, while HD Mirror Cam claims to record up to 14 hours (on an endless loop, if you choose), remember that this wholly depends on the size of your SD card. Which, again, isn’t included with your order.

We’ve mentioned this aspect in some of our other dashboard camera articles, but keep in mind that HD Mirror Cam can only record in one direction at a time. So, if your vehicle is parked while motion detection is activated, and the camera is pointed forward (for example), it likely wouldn’t do much good if someone broke in through your driver’s side door.

If a situation like this is your primary concern, some companies manufacture dual-lens (or two-channel) dash cams that simultaneously record front and back (or any other two directions you’d like), usually with a picture-in-picture real-time display.

Lastly, it’s certainly positive that HD Mirror Cam features night vision, which uses two infrared LEDs to emit a wavelength of light not visible by the human eye, although it can be detected by the device’s camera.

This way, these LEDs provide illumination for the camera, without causing a glare off the windshield, which could lead to distorted video quality and impeded vision for the driver.

While useful, this type of night vision is a common feature found on dashboard and rearview mirror cameras at most price points.

What Can We Learn From HD Mirror Cam Reviews?

Since writing our original article, 29 HighYa readers provided feedback about their experiences with HD Mirror Cam, giving the device an average rating of 1.8 stars.

Here, common compliments referenced ease of use and solid value, while complaints seemed related to lower quality than expected, difficult customer service experiences, and ordering concerns (primarily higher charges than expected and a drawn-out automated ordering process).

We also encountered more than 29 customer reviews on HSN.com, where HD Mirror Cam had a slightly higher average rating of 3.7 star rating. Except for ordering concerns, many expressed the same compliments and complaints as those found on HighYa.

From a company perspective, HD Mirror Cam is manufactured by Inventel Products, a popular ASOTV company who’s responsible for other hits over the years like Gripeez, DashCam Pro, and HD Free TV Antenna, to name just a few.

Granted, our goal isn’t to insinuate that you’ll experience any of the same—only to make sure you have everything you need to make a fully empowered buying decision.

Our Bottom Line About the HD Mirror Cam

Obviously a final—and perhaps the biggest—factor to consider is price. And at $60 including shipping, HD Mirror Cam seems very reasonable priced compared to the competition, some of which could exceed $200 at the time of our research.

If you watched the full 15-minute video from CarCamCentral above, they outlined that purchasing a new dashcam largely comes down to a mixture of 1) cheap, 2) reliable, and 3) high performance.

In other words, you might find an option that leans heavily toward high performance, although it might not be very inexpensive. Or, if you focus on the lowest possible price, you could sacrifice performance and reliability.

And with some of HD Mirror Cam’s essential features like HD 720p video, a 350° rotating camera, and one-touch photo snap, it might be the case that this option provides an even balance between these factors.

And if you find that it doesn’t, Inventel seems to stand behind the device with a two-month return policy. Just keep in mind you’ll lose your initial S&H, plus whatever it’ll cost to ship back.

Before clicking away, be sure to talk about your HD Mirror Cam experience by writing a review below!

Article Last Updated on June 9, 2017

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

33 Consumer Reviews for HD Mirror Cam

Average Consumer Rating: 1.7
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 3 4 star: 1 3 star: 2 2 star: 3 1 star:  24
Bottom Line: 12% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 33
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Disappointed with the whole experience

    I tried to order three of these with 2-day rush shipping on December 15th for Christmas gifts. I tried to call a week later, and the phone number would not work. It just kept hanging up saying "goodbye!" So I emailed them asking when I will receive the package since it has been past the 2 business day shipping. I received an email stating that my money was refunded. So I email back thinking what the heck? They email saying they could not do rush shipping, so they refunded me the money for shipping.

    So I waited a couple more weeks and finally responded asking for a tracking number because I still had not received my package. So they just emailed a tracking number, no company or website or any link to take me to where I can use this tracking number. So I respond with thanking them for the number but where can I use it at? I let them know that it has been almost a month since I ordered these (three days off) and am very disappointed. They email me back finally saying my address is wrong! But it was the address that their website changed my address to!

    So I finally call and they say, "tell me your address and I will resend you your order, but it may take a few weeks." So I just canceled it.

    I am done with them. If you can't contact me earlier after me trying to find out what is going on and let me know there are issues, then you obviously don't need my business. Especially when you have had my money from day one and I have had nothing but trouble. Not worth the time. They need better customer service, need to provide better details on their emails and let the customer know what is going on exactly. I was so looking forward to using one of these as well, so yes, I am very disappointed!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Short life span

    I bought the camera back in September and yesterday it just stopped working. Customer service said I didn't buy the 2-year warranty, so I have to buy a new one. The two-year warranty was extra I guess since I never seen it (LOL). Sadly I bought two of these and now I will wait for the other one to conk out.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Caught on fire wire!

    • Brisbane, Queensland, Australia,
    • Jan 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought the HD Mirror Cam, and smoke came from the "Eye" of the cam and it is now in the backseat doing nothing. I am very disappointed. Also, it does not record for ages, just one hour if it is charged. And it only just has a front view, not the sides of where you put it. I am not happy at all!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Scam alert

    This is a complete scam. They say $49.99 but that does not include the extras that make this thing work.

    When I received this product, it was not what I expected. There were items missing, and additionally, it did not fit over my rear view mirror.

    So I called customer service and got a story that I simply need to go to the post office and give them the boxes, and they will return it back. I hopped in my car and went to my local USPS office and stood in line to return the items. I was told be the USPS representative that they had no way of returning this item without a return label, etc. So I said "what shall I do?" They said I have to call the company back.

    I called the company back, and their story suddenly changed that now I'm responsible for the cost of the return. I told the customer service representative that I feel that this is a scam. The customer service representative told me that I should've looked on the website for the return policy. I again told him that I feel that the company is a scam. Not only was it missing parts, but it's poor quality and I want a refund.

    So I finally filed a dispute with my credit card company to look into possible fraud with HD Mirror Cam's parent company. Because after sending the product back, I was suddenly told after providing the shipping tracking number, that it will now take ten days or more to get my money back.

    Buyer beware, this is a scam. The infomercial lies. I hope this operation gets closed down by either the State Attorney General's office or another institution to protect the customer from this predator.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 8, 2018

      Customer Service, Marketing & Media Coordinator

      Dear Valued Customer,

      We apologize for the confusion, we have already issued you a full refund on 01/04/2018. We will also be sending you the pre-paid label to send the item back.

      Once again, we apologize for the inconvenience caused.

      Thanks & Regards,

      Customer Service

    • Jan 10, 2018

      Robert Sheffy

      I bought the camera back in September, and yesterday it just stopped working. Customer service told me that I didn't buy the 2-year warranty, so I have to buy a new one. LOL. Sadly, I bought two of these and now I will wait for the other one to come out.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 43 out 44 people found this review helpful

    So disappointment

    I thought this would be the perfect Christmas gift for my husband. I called to place the order on 12-6-2017. I hate talking to recorders, so I said nothing and I was put through to Dillion. I ordered two HD cameras, extra insurance, and paid a little extra for faster shipping. I was supposed to receive it in 2 to 3 business days.

    I had not received anything by 12-13-2017, so I call customer service and they told me that "they could not find my order." I asked to speak to a manager. I kept on hold for more than 4 minutes. I called back and I finally got a manager. He told me that the only way for me to get my money back was to take a picture of my bank statement to prove I ordered it "if I really did order it." I was so upset.

    I called the number for ordering again and was surprised to be greeted by Dillion again. I told him the issue and he informed me there was no order. I ask he him "How do I have an order number (of which you only receive after your payment has gone through) if I have never ordered?" He could not explain.

    So now I have no money and no gift for my husband for Christmas. I will do everything I can to expose this fraud!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 15, 2017

      Customer Service, Marketing & Media Coordinator

      Dear Valued Customer,

      We apologize for the inconvenience caused. In this case, we would like to know your email address and your shipping address so that we do the investigation and get back to you on it.

      If you have any questions you can call 888-596-2538 or email us at customeservice@inventel.tv.

    • Jan 4, 2018

      Daniel Phelps

      I ordered the 3 Mirror HD video with the SD 32GB card and I did not receive the card. I would not recommend buying this product.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 34 out 35 people found this review helpful

    Waste of money

    The front panel buttons quit working within the first week, ended up running down my battery. I have to unplug it to shut it off. I talked to customer service about a return/replacement, and they said there was only a 60-day warranty. For me, a waste of time and money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 7, 2017

      Customer Service, Marketing & Media Coordinator

      Dear Valued Customer,

      We apologize for the inconvenience that was caused, our money back guarantee is for up to 60 days, if you call us before that time we do a replacement for the product. If you need any technical assistance please call us at 888-596-2538 or email us on customerservice@inventel.tv.

    • Dec 24, 2017

      Christine Montgomery

      I emailed twice regarding this, no reply. I called but it's closed. The lady says press 1 but it's a scam.

      I ordered one HD mirror. Ad states it comes with SD card capable of recording 14 hours but when you order it they ask if you want to include the SD card for $19.99 more! Fine.

      I got the box nearly three weeks later and they didn't include the SD card! Furthermore, they don't include a manifest, which is very shady! I know this is for IRS purposes but also to avoid returns.

      WELL, it's going right back insured, and I better get ALL my money back.

      Thieves!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 32 out 32 people found this review helpful

    Stopped working after 3 power on cycles!

    I purchased the unit, powered it up to verify that it works, and it was ok on the first try. Unfortunately, my vehicle broke down. It took me 3 months to save to repair it and I did not use the camera at all during the 3 months. I connected the unit to another car and worked 2 times and then went dead. I called HD Mirror Cam customer support and they said the camera has stopped working. AND since the 90-day warranty had expired and I did not purchase the extended warranty, I was out of luck! All I have now is an oversized mirror for 50 bucks.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 29, 2017

      Customer Service, Marketing & Media Coordinator

      Dear Customer,

      Since the order has been more than 60-days, we cannot replace the product but if you want to buy anything else we can offer you a discount.

      You can send us an email to customerservice@inventel.tv or call us on 888-596-2538.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 48 out 49 people found this review helpful

    Dishonest company stole my money, never sent Cam, and then would not refund

    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • Nov 9, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I called and ordered two cameras but was charged for three at $211.93.

    I called back and got Ilse who said she had to wait a day to view the order and she would go in and correct it. I told her to cancel the whole thing. I was still charged $211.93, and one camera was wrapped for shipment. I called back and got Carlos, who stated that he processed a refund for $150 but nothing was showing up on my card as being refunded. I asked for his supervisor, but he stated he did not have one. Apparently, Carlos is a god in his own mind. He sent an email to detail the refund, which looks like he charged me all over again for the camera and hung up on me while I was talking.

    Do NOT order this from the ad on the TV. I should have received the camera now, it has been over seven days, but there is not even a tracking number showing up.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 50 out 51 people found this review helpful

    Quit working with "No Card" message

    • California,
    • Nov 6, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    My purchase of two HD Mirror Cams with the two 32 GB Micro SD cards worked for about a week. The first unit failed when the message "No Card" came on indicating a failure in the Cam unit to recognize the new Micro SD card. I was traveling in our RV and intended this unit to document any mishaps that might occur while driving or parked.

    I called and was advised to try the second unit, that was not possible since that was left at home for use in another vehicle. We arrived home after three weeks and no return label has arrived to return this defective product. Our call to customer service was about the last week in September and now November 3, 2017, no replacement unit has been sent, and no address label for returns has ever been sent as promised.

    Do I try the unused SD card in the failed unit and end up with two compromised SD cards? Failure came too quickly and if HD Cams are reliable, why so many similar reviews?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 44 out 44 people found this review helpful

    Thieves took my order, doubled the price, and refused to process a refund at their CSR site

    • Tempe, AZ,
    • Nov 5, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I responded to an advertisement on TV for this product and ordered two at $49.99 each with free ship and handle. My credit card was immediately charged $211.93. I called and got a customer service supervisor named Isla on the phone who promised that she would correct the error in 24 hours as it took that long to post on their system. She never made the correction, and never called me back.

    I am canceling the order and have lodged a complaint with the BBB, the TV station that broadcasted the product, and the regulator for my credit card. Do not buy from these people; they are dishonest.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 37 out 37 people found this review helpful

    Works great when it works

    • Kennewick, WA,
    • Nov 4, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    The power receptacle is defective and will not hold the power cord, and it goes on and off with every bump. I have tried several cords, and they all do the same. It works great when it works. How do I get this problem resolved?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 33

Write a Review for HD Mirror Cam!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review