What Is HD Mirror Cam?

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Jan 26, 2016

Featuring a built-in 2.5" LCD, HD Mirror Cam installs in seconds and acts as a temporary replacement for your factory issued rearview mirror, while providing the ability to capture video, photos, and audio.

Using this LCD (with screen shut off mode for safety while driving), the device allows you to immediately view your footage and other media, or download it directly to a computer with the included SD memory card reader.

Like many other models, HD Mirror Cam’s motion detection allows you to record even when you’re not in the car, while the automatic ignition start will begin recording when you turn your car on, and then stop when the ignition is turned off.

Unlike the competition, though, the company claims it comes with exclusive night vision that automatically adjusts for different levels of light.

It certainly seems like HD Mirror Cam includes a lot of must-have features. But will it deliver meaningfully better value in the long run? Let’s kick off our conversation by taking a closer look at the device’s features.

How Does HD Mirror Cam Work?

Perhaps the easiest way to think of HD Mirror Cam is as a standard rearview mirror, but without an arm that attaches to a windshield. Instead, it uses two flexible rubber straps that attach to the top and bottom of the device, which then wrap around the back of your existing mirror.

Directly underneath is the device’s rotating camera, which features a central lens and one infrared LED on each side. These emit a specific wavelength of light that allows the camera to see clearly at night, which is a very common technology found in these types of cameras.

Everything the camera records is displayed on the built-in 2.5" LCD, which can also be switched off to maximize mirror space and avoid distractions while driving.

HD Mirror CamIn the left image, we can see how HD Mirror Cam attaches using flexible rubber bands, while the right image shows the 2.5" display. Image credit: Taken from www.hdmirrorcam.com June 2017

How Much Does HD Mirror Cam Cost?

One HD Mirror Cam is priced at $49.99 plus $9.99 S&H, although the site indicates you’ll earn free S&H if you order two or more.

Each camera comes with a car charger/adaptor, two soft bands, a USB SD card reader, an instruction manual, and mounting wire clips.

Note: The commercial indicates you’ll be able to upgrade your kit to include a micro SD memory card for as little as $7.99, although this offer wasn't presented when we attempted to check out. However, third-party options could be found elsewhere online for between $15 and $60+, depending on storage size.

All HD Mirror Cams come with a 60-day money back guarantee, less S&H. You can request one by contacting customer support at 323-375-1042 or customerservice@inventel.tv.

Which Features Should You Look For In a Rearview Mirror Camera?

Even if you recently started researching dashboard cameras, you probably already recognize that there are thousands of different options available, in all sizes, designs, and price points. How can you choose the best model for your needs?

While they admit there are many more, CarCamCentral lists three key features they always look for when purchasing a dashboard camera:

1. Messaging – They recommend looking for “persistent and highly visible written messages,” and even audible warnings. Why?

Because these cameras (and the SD cards they contain) are repeatedly exposed to big temperature fluctuations and humidity, so failure is inevitable. And you want to know about any potential problems before you get into an accident.

2. Video Quality – The higher the video quality, the more protection you ultimately have (and that’s probably why you’re thinking about purchasing one in the first place, right?), since you’ll have a better chance of catching details like a license plate number or a person’s face after a hit and run.

3. Battery – If no battery is present, then the camera can’t record once your car is turned off.

From these perspectives, HD Mirror Cam seems to check most of the boxes, although some of the customers above reported that its video quality left something to be desired. Are there any other noteworthy points?

Important Points to Consider About HD Mirror Cam

While we didn’t test the device ourselves, we think there are some other important considerations to keep in mind before deciding on any dashcam option:

How visible do you want the camera to be? While HD Mirror Cam attaches to your rearview mirror and won’t impede your line of sight, it seems like it could add a meaningful amount of bulk (aesthetically or otherwise). Also, you’ll need to be comfortable with the added wires running along your windshield and dashboard.

Next, while HD Mirror Cam claims to record up to 14 hours (on an endless loop, if you choose), remember that this wholly depends on the size of your SD card. Which, again, isn’t included with your order.

We’ve mentioned this aspect in some of our other dashboard camera articles, but keep in mind that HD Mirror Cam can only record in one direction at a time. So, if your vehicle is parked while motion detection is activated, and the camera is pointed forward (for example), it likely wouldn’t do much good if someone broke in through your driver’s side door.

If a situation like this is your primary concern, some companies manufacture dual-lens (or two-channel) dash cams that simultaneously record front and back (or any other two directions you’d like), usually with a picture-in-picture real-time display.

Lastly, it’s certainly positive that HD Mirror Cam features night vision, which uses two infrared LEDs to emit a wavelength of light not visible by the human eye, although it can be detected by the device’s camera.

This way, these LEDs provide illumination for the camera, without causing a glare off the windshield, which could lead to distorted video quality and impeded vision for the driver.

While useful, this type of night vision is a common feature found on dashboard and rearview mirror cameras at most price points.

What Can We Learn From HD Mirror Cam Reviews?

Since writing our original article, 29 HighYa readers provided feedback about their experiences with HD Mirror Cam, giving the device an average rating of 1.8 stars.

Here, common compliments referenced ease of use and solid value, while complaints seemed related to lower quality than expected, difficult customer service experiences, and ordering concerns (primarily higher charges than expected and a drawn-out automated ordering process).

We also encountered more than 29 customer reviews on HSN.com, where HD Mirror Cam had a slightly higher average rating of 3.7 star rating. Except for ordering concerns, many expressed the same compliments and complaints as those found on HighYa.

From a company perspective, HD Mirror Cam is manufactured by Inventel Products, a popular ASOTV company who’s responsible for other hits over the years like Gripeez, DashCam Pro, and HD Free TV Antenna, to name just a few.

Granted, our goal isn’t to insinuate that you’ll experience any of the same—only to make sure you have everything you need to make a fully empowered buying decision.

Our Bottom Line About the HD Mirror Cam

Obviously a final—and perhaps the biggest—factor to consider is price. And at $60 including shipping, HD Mirror Cam seems very reasonable priced compared to the competition, some of which could exceed $200 at the time of our research.

If you watched the full 15-minute video from CarCamCentral above, they outlined that purchasing a new dashcam largely comes down to a mixture of 1) cheap, 2) reliable, and 3) high performance.

In other words, you might find an option that leans heavily toward high performance, although it might not be very inexpensive. Or, if you focus on the lowest possible price, you could sacrifice performance and reliability.

And with some of HD Mirror Cam’s essential features like HD 720p video, a 350° rotating camera, and one-touch photo snap, it might be the case that this option provides an even balance between these factors.

And if you find that it doesn’t, Inventel seems to stand behind the device with a two-month return policy. Just keep in mind you’ll lose your initial S&H, plus whatever it’ll cost to ship back.

Before clicking away, be sure to talk about your HD Mirror Cam experience by writing a review below!

Article Last Updated on June 9, 2017

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 93 HD Mirror Cam Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 7 4 star: 1 3 star: 5 2 star: 12 1 star:  68
Bottom Line: 11% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 93
Sort reviews by:

  • Mirror Cam screen is frozen

    • Ontario, Canada,
    • Sep 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Mirror Cam screen is frozen...So I bought the HD mirror cam and installed it in my car today. It worked great on the way to work, it worked great on the way home. I turned it back on shortly after I got home so that I could review the videos I had made and guess what I’m sitting on a white screen With the HD mirror cam logo and an SK in the corner. Like what the heck? I wish I had read the reviews before I bought it because I honestly thought this was a cool idea and now I’m thinking I just wasted a shit ton of money on a piece of crap device. I will be sure to tell people not to purchase this.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Disappointed

    • Henderson,
    • Sep 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    They failed to send what I purchased. I am sending it back, hopefully, I'll get a full refund. Disappointed.

    Misleading, misleading, misleading.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Product

    • New Westminster, British Columbia, Canada,
    • Aug 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Yes, the product is great, but don't get the image in the mirror off it.

    Nowhere does it say that if you lose the image due to a problem that the "reset" feature gets the original image back just a "white" blank screen making the Cam information feature useless. Yes, you can use the Mirror Cam without it, but aligning the cam correctly is almost impossible. Also, the booklet says that you can set the endless loop recording to 1,3,5, or 10 minutes, no, so 5 minutes is the only setting found on my Mirror Cam. I was able to get another one from the distributor. Having made the same mistake on the new one I am having to use it without the Mirror Cam screen in it. The Mirror Cam image on the screen is the best part of the CAM, it gives you a wealth of information, not to mention setting it up to use the way you wish...GOOD LUCK. I still am without my Mirror Cam working the way I would like.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 30, 2019

      Company Response from InvenTel, LLC

      Dear Valued Customer,

      Thank you for your business & we apologize for the inconvenience we may have caused to you. In this case, we would kindly request you to call us on 888-596-2538, or email us on customerservice@inventel.tv to assist you better on it.

      Thanks & Regards,

      Customer Service


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Never once came on.

    • Georgia,
    • Aug 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I followed the directions verbatim and nothing. Not one time did this thing turn on. Piece of crap. The email for customer service is invalid. I watched videos and read other reviews. Should have read the reviews first. DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 30, 2019

      Company Response from InvenTel, LLC

      Dear Valued Customer,

      Thank you for your business & we apologize for the inconvenience we may have caused to you. In this case, we would kindly request you to call us on 888-596-2538, or email us on customerservice@inventel.tv to assist you better on it.

      Thanks & Regards,

      Customer Service


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Terrible

    • Ontario, Canada,
    • Aug 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We received the cam and charged it, then turned it on and it was fine but then the screen went white. We put in the SD card and it is still white, heard this from others.

    We WANT to return it, it's junk, save your money, now just need to know how to return it.

    Would not recommend to ever buy one, IT'S JUNK. Please tell us how to get our money back!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 30, 2019

      Company Response from InvenTel, LLC

      Dear Valued Customer,

      Thank you for your business & we apologize for the inconvenience we may have caused to you. In this case we would kindly request you to call us on 888-596-2538, or email us on customerservice@inventel.tv to assist you better on it.

      Thanks & Regards,

      Customer Service


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Stopped working

    • Florida,
    • Aug 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Just about 8 months ago I bought two of the Dash Cams, had one in my truck working great until a few days ago, it just stopped working, no camera on the screen. Tried several things to see if it might be the wire or something easy, nope, nothing worked, still no camera. Now, I do live in Florida where it was 102 degrees outside several days in a row. Stopped working after that, keep in mind it can reach 120 degrees inside a vehicle here. Could that be what happened, it got too hot? I hooked up the second one tonight, it's working right now, time will tell if this one keeps working. If you have any answers please respond.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 20, 2019

      Company Response from InvenTel, LLC

      Dear Valued Customer,

      Thank you for your business & we apologize for the inconvenience we may have caused to you. In this case we would kindly request you to call us on 888-596-2538, or email us on customerservice@inventel.tv to assist you better on it.

      Thanks & Regards,

      Customer Service


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Not exactly great...

    • Lawndale, CA,
    • Jul 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Worked great at first.

    Turned it off to route the wiring out of site. Spent quite a while hiding the wire.

    Turned it back on and...blank white screen. Click the photo button, makes the camera sound and...blank white screen.

    Unplug the power and leave it alone until I feel the battery was drained, turn it back on and...blank white screen. Unburied my great job of concealing the wires, hooked it up and...blank white screen.

    If I wanted a blank white screen I would be very happy. But I really want a functioning camera system.

    Help.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 6, 2019

      Company Response from InvenTel, LLC

      Dear Valued Customer,

      Thank you for your business & we apologize for the inconvenience caused to you, in this case, we would request you to kindly call us on 888-596-2538 or email us on customerservice@inventel.tv.

      Thanks & Regards,

      Customer Service


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Piece of crap!

    • Sacramento, CA,
    • Jul 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This will not operate in your auto if you don't use a dc charger! The first time I used it the red charger light went out! Very difficult to play back video. Piece of crap! I threw in the garbage where it belongs.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jul 29, 2019

      Company Response from InvenTel, LLC

      Dear Valued Customer,

      We apologize for the inconvenience we may have caused to you, in this case, we would suggest you to call us on 888-596-2538, so that we can assist you better on this. Also, we suggest all the customers to have the charger plugged in while driving.

      Thanks & Regards,

      Customer Service.


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Don't buy unless you want the runaround

    • California,
    • Jul 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We bought the camera a little over a year ago and we really liked it at first. We got beautiful pics and the video was really good except for the fact it was very noisy to the point you really can't hear any talking. Then we recently went on our 1-year anniversary and plugged it into my vehicle and my husband went to plug the charger into the port into the camera and noticed that it was a little well, he pushed it in a little harder and that's when it broke. So I called them and the guy lied to me and said I could take it to Walmart and that would fix, I went to Walmart and they don't fix anything, which I already knew that, anyway, so I called them back and pointed this out to them and he said you can go to any electronic store and get it fixed so I asked for a list of stores and big surprise, they don't have a list. So now we have a broken cam so I wouldn't buy from them ever again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jul 11, 2019

      Company Response from InvenTel, LLC

      Dear Valued Customer,

      We apologize for the inconvenience caused, in this case, we tried calling you today on your number but were unable to get through. We are sending you a charger today.

      If you have any further questions, you can call us on 888-596-2538 or email us on customerservice@inventel.tv

      Thanks & Regards.


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    No problems

    • New York,
    • Jun 24, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have owned my HD Dash Cam for 3 years with no problem. In fact, I bought 3 more for my other vehicles. I bought them to document potential future accidents after my 17-year-old was involved in an accident with an 18 wheeler. When I replay the video on my computer, the quality is fine.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jul 11, 2019

      Company Response from InvenTel, LLC

      Dear Valued Customer,

      Thank you for your valuable feedback.

      Thanks & Regards


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    The small screen distracts me

    • New Jersey,
    • Jun 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    How do I remove the small screen without stopping the recording? So far it is good, but if I don't have help with this issue I would return it to the store.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jul 11, 2019

      Company Response from InvenTel, LLC

      Dear Valued Customer,

      You can go to Menu Button twice - you will get an option of sleep mode just keep it on 1 minute, you will be able to see the screen for one minute & then it will go off.

      If you have any further questions, you can call us on 888-596-2538 or email us on customerservice@inventel.tv

      Thanks & Regards.


Showing 1-11 of 93

Write a Review for HD Mirror Cam!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review