About HD Mirror Cam

By HighYa Staff
Updated on: Jun 9, 2017

Featuring a built-in 2.5" LCD, HD Mirror Cam installs in seconds and acts as a temporary replacement for your factory issued rearview mirror, while providing the ability to capture video, photos, and audio.

Using this LCD (with screen shut off mode for safety while driving), the device allows you to immediately view your footage and other media, or download it directly to a computer with the included SD memory card reader.

Like many other models, HD Mirror Cam’s motion detection allows you to record even when you’re not in the car, while the automatic ignition start will begin recording when you turn your car on, and then stop when the ignition is turned off.

Unlike the competition, though, the company claims it comes with exclusive night vision that automatically adjusts for different levels of light.

It certainly seems like HD Mirror Cam includes a lot of must-have features. But will it deliver meaningfully better value in the long run? Let’s kick off our conversation by taking a closer look at the device’s features.

How Does HD Mirror Cam Work?

Perhaps the easiest way to think of HD Mirror Cam is as a standard rearview mirror, but without an arm that attaches to a windshield. Instead, it uses two flexible rubber straps that attach to the top and bottom of the device, which then wrap around the back of your existing mirror.

Directly underneath is the device’s rotating camera, which features a central lens and one infrared LED on each side. These emit a specific wavelength of light that allows the camera to see clearly at night, which is a very common technology found in these types of cameras.

Everything the camera records is displayed on the built-in 2.5" LCD, which can also be switched off to maximize mirror space and avoid distractions while driving.

HD Mirror CamIn the left image, we can see how HD Mirror Cam attaches using flexible rubber bands, while the right image shows the 2.5" display. Image credit: Taken from www.hdmirrorcam.com June 2017

Now, let’s discuss price.

How Much Does HD Mirror Cam Cost?

One HD Mirror Cam is priced at $49.99 plus $9.99 S&H, although the site indicates you’ll earn free S&H if you order two or more.

Each camera comes with a car charger/adaptor, two soft bands, a USB SD card reader, an instruction manual, and mounting wire clips.

Note: The commercial indicates you’ll be able to upgrade your kit to include a micro SD memory card for as little as $7.99, although this offer wasn't presented when we attempted to check out. However, third-party options could be found elsewhere online for between $15 and $60+, depending on storage size.

All HD Mirror Cams come with a 60-day money back guarantee, less S&H. You can request one by contacting customer support at 323-375-1042 or customerservice@inventel.tv.

Based on these prices, are customers reporting a solid level of value?

What Can We Learn From HD Mirror Cam Reviews?

Since writing our original article, 18 HighYa readers provided feedback about their experiences with HD Mirror Cam, giving the device an average rating of 2.7 stars.

Here, common compliments referenced ease of use and solid value, while complaints seemed related to lower quality than expected, difficult customer service experiences, and ordering concerns (primarily higher charges than expected and a drawn-out automated ordering process).

We also encountered more than 100 customer reviews on HSN.com, where HD Mirror Cam had a slightly higher average rating of 3.2 stars. Except for ordering concerns, many expressed the same compliments and complaints as those found on HighYa.

From a company perspective, HD Mirror Cam is manufactured by Inventel Products, a popular ASOTV company who’s responsible for other hits over the years like Gripeez, DashCam Pro, and HD Free TV Antenna, to name just a few.

The manufacturer had a B+ rating with the Better Business Bureau and 288 closed complaints as of 5/22/17. Most of these seemed to revolve around customer service-related issues, which appear to have been resolved.

Granted, our goal isn’t to insinuate that you’ll experience any of the same—only to make sure you have everything you need to make a fully empowered buying decision.

With all of these details in mind, how does HD Mirror Cam compare to other dashboard cameras?

Which Features Should You Look For In a Rearview Mirror Camera?

Even if you recently started researching dashboard cameras, you probably already recognize that there are thousands of different options available, in all sizes, designs, and price points. How can you choose the best model for your needs?

While they admit there are many more, CarCamCentral lists three key features they always look for when purchasing a dashboard camera:

1. Messaging – They recommend looking for “persistent and highly visible written messages,” and even audible warnings. Why?

Because these cameras (and the SD cards they contain) are repeatedly exposed to big temperature fluctuations and humidity, so failure is inevitable. And you want to know about any potential problems before you get into an accident.

2. Video Quality – The higher the video quality, the more protection you ultimately have (and that’s probably why you’re thinking about purchasing one in the first place, right?), since you’ll have a better chance of catching details like a license plate number or a person’s face after a hit and run.

3. Battery – If no battery is present, then the camera can’t record once your car is turned off.

From these perspectives, HD Mirror Cam seems to check most of the boxes, although some of the customers above reported that its video quality left something to be desired. Are there any other noteworthy points?

Important Points to Consider About HD Mirror Cam

While we didn’t test the device ourselves, we think there are some other important considerations to keep in mind before deciding on any dashcam option:

How visible do you want the camera to be? While HD Mirror Cam attaches to your rearview mirror and won’t impede your line of sight, it seems like it could add a meaningful amount of bulk (aesthetically or otherwise). Also, you’ll need to be comfortable with the added wires running along your windshield and dashboard.

Next, while HD Mirror Cam claims to record up to 14 hours (on an endless loop, if you choose), remember that this wholly depends on the size of your SD card. Which, again, isn’t included with your order.

We’ve mentioned this aspect in some of our other dashboard camera articles, but keep in mind that HD Mirror Cam can only record in one direction at a time. So, if your vehicle is parked while motion detection is activated, and the camera is pointed forward (for example), it likely wouldn’t do much good if someone broke in through your driver’s side door.

If a situation like this is your primary concern, some companies manufacture dual-lens (or two-channel) dash cams that simultaneously record front and back (or any other two directions you’d like), usually with a picture-in-picture real-time display.

Lastly, it’s certainly positive that HD Mirror Cam features night vision, which uses two infrared LEDs to emit a wavelength of light not visible by the human eye, although it can be detected by the device’s camera.

This way, these LEDs provide illumination for the camera, without causing a glare off the windshield, which could lead to distorted video quality and impeded vision for the driver.

While useful, this type of night vision is a common feature found on dashboard and rearview mirror cameras at most price points.

Our Bottom Line About the HD Mirror Cam

Obviously a final—and perhaps the biggest—factor to consider is price. And at $60 including shipping, HD Mirror Cam seems very reasonable priced compared to the competition, some of which could exceed $200 at the time of our research.

If you watched the full 15-minute video from CarCamCentral above, they outlined that purchasing a new dashcam largely comes down to a mixture of 1) cheap, 2) reliable, and 3) high performance.

In other words, you might find an option that leans heavily toward high performance, although it might not be very inexpensive. Or, if you focus on the lowest possible price, you could sacrifice performance and reliability.

And with some of HD Mirror Cam’s essential features like HD 720p video, a 350° rotating camera, and one-touch photo snap, it might be the case that this option provides an even balance between these factors.

And if you find that it doesn’t, Inventel seems to stand behind the device with a two-month return policy. Just keep in mind you’ll lose your initial S&H, plus whatever it’ll cost to ship back.

Before clicking away, be sure to talk about your HD Mirror Cam experience by writing a review below!

What to Learn How to Shop Smarter for TV Products?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

26 Consumer Reviews for HD Mirror Cam

Average Consumer Rating: 1.8
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 3 4 star: 1 3 star: 2 2 star: 3 1 star:  17
Bottom Line: 15% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 26
Sort reviews by:

  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Dishonest company stole my money, never sent Cam, and then would not refund

    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • Nov 9, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I called and ordered two cameras but was charged for three at $211.93.

    I called back and got Ilse who said she had to wait a day to view the order and she would go in and correct it. I told her to cancel the whole thing. I was still charged $211.93, and one camera was wrapped for shipment. I called back and got Carlos, who stated that he processed a refund for $150 but nothing was showing up on my card as being refunded. I asked for his supervisor, but he stated he did not have one. Apparently, Carlos is a god in his own mind. He sent an email to detail the refund, which looks like he charged me all over again for the camera and hung up on me while I was talking.

    Do NOT order this from the ad on the TV. I should have received the camera now, it has been over seven days, but there is not even a tracking number showing up.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Quit working with "No Card" message

    • California,
    • Nov 6, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    My purchase of two HD Mirror Cams with the two 32 GB Micro SD cards worked for about a week. The first unit failed when the message "No Card" came on indicating a failure in the Cam unit to recognize the new Micro SD card. I was traveling in our RV and intended this unit to document any mishaps that might occur while driving or parked.

    I called and was advised to try the second unit, that was not possible since that was left at home for use in another vehicle. We arrived home after three weeks and no return label has arrived to return this defective product. Our call to customer service was about the last week in September and now November 3, 2017, no replacement unit has been sent, and no address label for returns has ever been sent as promised.

    Do I try the unused SD card in the failed unit and end up with two compromised SD cards? Failure came too quickly and if HD Cams are reliable, why so many similar reviews?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Thieves took my order, doubled the price, and refused to process a refund at their CSR site

    • Tempe, AZ,
    • Nov 5, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I responded to an advertisement on TV for this product and ordered two at $49.99 each with free ship and handle. My credit card was immediately charged $211.93. I called and got a customer service supervisor named Isla on the phone who promised that she would correct the error in 24 hours as it took that long to post on their system. She never made the correction, and never called me back.

    I am canceling the order and have lodged a complaint with the BBB, the TV station that broadcasted the product, and the regulator for my credit card. Do not buy from these people; they are dishonest.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Works great when it works

    • Kennewick, WA,
    • Nov 4, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    The power receptacle is defective and will not hold the power cord, and it goes on and off with every bump. I have tried several cords, and they all do the same. It works great when it works. How do I get this problem resolved?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Terrible customer service!

    • Reno, NV,
    • Oct 21, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    My HG Mirror Cam stopped working, and I'd attempted numerous times to contact the company (phone message, emails) with no response. When I finally got ahold of the company, they wanted me to dismantle my unit and bring it into my house and hook it up to my phone charger! Really? Not worth the time and headache, or money.

    I paid for a 2-year warranty. Total out on this item was almost a hundred bucks. Not happy with the lack of customer service. Especially when you can go down to the local store and get a great dash cam, and people will assist you with what you need. They said they will mail me another one, let's see how this goes.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 23, 2017

      Customer Service, Marketing & Media Coordinator

      Dear Customer,

      We apologize for the inconvenience caused, we have shipped the replacement for your HDMC on 10/23/2017, once the tracking number is active it will be emailed to you.

      You can call us for any questions on 888-596-2538 or email us on customerservice@inventel.tv.

    • Oct 24, 2017

      Monua Cary

      Thank you. By the way, after my initial response that Im not happy about which I apologize. I did dismantle it and took it inside. The phone charger did not work. I would like more information on it to make it easier to use. The book that came with my first one was for a different model, and the instructions were not correct. I'm a dummy when it comes to tech dumb. A step by step instruction manual with the correct model would be great. Not everyone is a young savvy tech person.

      Again, thank you. Monua

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 16 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Fraud

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Oct 6, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have just received my order today, 10/4/17. I ordered one cam and got two, so already have to call tomorrow. The TV commercial stated it came with an SD card, but while looking through the instruction booklet, I found where it stated "no SD card" while in other places it said "includes an SD memory card." So what is the real story?

    When placing the order by phone, they try to upgrade you to a larger card. I have yet to look in the box for an SD card as it is 11 pm. If I'm not satisfied with tomorrow's phone call, I will file a complaint with PA Consumer Protection. Also, there is no invoice in neither box.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 9, 2017

      Customer Service, Marketing & Media Coordinator

      The product that you have ordered does not come with the SD card. The commercial says that it comes with an SD card reader. We would appreciate if you give us your call back number so that we can get this resolved, or you can call us on 973-531-4421 or email us at customerservice@inventel.tv.

    • Oct 10, 2017

      Al Schrenkel

      First, I ordered one dash cam but I got two. Second, you are lead to believe it comes with SD card, they even try to upgrade you to a larger card. Third, on page two of user manual states in large black letters "ready to use" implying that it includes micro SD card while in other spots it says "no SD card" Confusing. Fourth, when I called the next day, I asked how much the order cost, I was told $127. I was also charged for a two year extended warranty which I did not order. Right now I am waiting for a shipping label to send back one cam back. This is far from over, to be a continued SCAM.

    • Nov 3, 2017

      Bob

      I am also waiting for a replacement unit and the address label to return the defective unit, which lasted about a week before the "no card" message displayed. My call was placed the last week of September and no follow-up or replacement of the HD Cam has arrived.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Only 3 stars at this point for I just ordered

    I just ordered and already I'm so heated. It's on a Saturday, so of course, you can't talk to anyone. I called within the 10 minutes, went through the whole recording (not liking that it was a recorder), and then my phone texted me to show me a charge of $147.97 from HD Cam and my order #. Of course, I only got one Cam at $49.95, 32 GB SD card at $19.99 and insurance/priority shipping at $78. And now I'm tied up on money issues.

    I don't like at all that they took that $147.97 charge, which is a $70 overcharge! I'm not happy about making the phone call and trusting this on TV, so I thought I was safe, and now I am here reading all these bad things about the HD Cam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 3, 2017

      Customer Service, Marketing & Media Coordinator

      Dear Customer,

      You have ordered for 2 units of HD MIrror cam $49.99/pc x 2=$99.98, 2 units of 32GB/19.99 x 2=$39.98 and priority processing $5.99. Which gives you a total of $99.98+$39.98+$5.99+$1.99 insured shipping = $147.90.

      Please let us know how you wish to proceed.

    • Oct 10, 2017

      Suzanne

      I planned to order one Mirror Cam but I fell for the special price of two. Then I learned that they charged me for three, so I contacted customer service and they promptly refunded the charge. They still shipped three items. I called customer service again to get information on returning one of them. I never received the return label that they promised me.

      I placed another call to customer service and they ended up shipping out ANOTHER three mirrors. Now I have six but I haven’t been charged for any of them. I would love to give a review on how it works but I haven’t even had time to install it because I’ve spent all my spare time talking to their customer service department.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Honest review

    I experienced that same trouble that many buyers are complaining about. The HD Mirror Cam will not read the SD card. It's very important that I record my daily drive since I drive close to 4500 miles per month for work.

    As a last ditch effort, I stopped at a local Walmart and picked up a quality SD card, and all of my troubles have vanished. Even though the cam works perfectly now, I feel that I was overcharged for a product that failed within 30 days. The SD card I purchased had twice the capacity and cost half the price.

    The only way you make me feel whole is to send me another HD Cam, and I will purchase my on SD card.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 3, 2017

      Customer Service, Marketing & Media Coordinator

      Dear Customer,

      We apologize for the inconvenience we would have been more than happy to help you, please get in touch with us for any issues on 973-531-4421 or customerservice@inventel.tv so that we can help you resolve the issue.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 59 out 64 people found this review helpful

    Avoid this product

    First of all, when you order the mirror, it is through a machine, not a living person. Second, while ordering, the company is constantly attempting to sell you other items. This goes on for several minutes. Third, I clearly only ordered a single mirror. The company sent me two mirrors without my permission and added it to my charge card.

    Fourth, the company does not tell the purchaser the camera only records in one direction. If it is pointed forward and you get rear ended, it will not record the accident. Fifth, the instructions are not clearly stated. I still have not learned how to use the playback.

    Bottom line, I will not buy anything like this off the tube in the future. Big mistake on my part. Will not repeat it in the future!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 26, 2017

      Customer Service, Marketing & Media Coordinator

      Dear Customer,

      We apologize for the inconvenience. We would have been more than happy to help you, please get in touch with us for any issues at 323-375-1042 or customerservice@inventel.tv.

    • Oct 1, 2017

      Tamara Bozman

      Wow, review above is so correct. I usually trust the TV, you would think. Every time I charge on my credit card it comes right to my phone. I ordered one HD Cam $49.95, and 32GB SD card that is an extra 19.99, and with priority shipping should be $80 dollars all together. I was charged $147.99 just now. I cannot do anything about this until Monday morning. If they don't feed me a line of crap. I'm very upset. This makes me not want to order from TV ever again.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 58 out 59 people found this review helpful

    Very poor item

    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Sep 7, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have used it on and off a few times. Tonight I was giving it a final test before I sent the two that I had purchased back. It was working okay then I looked at the screen and it says no card. I powered it off, checked card, removed and reinstalled, and still the same thing. Tomorrow they both will go back.

    The other one I never used and don't want to try.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 26, 2017

      Customer Service, Marketing & Media Coordinator

      Dear Customer,

      We apologize for the inconvenience. We would have been more than happy to help you, please get in touch with us for any issues on 323-375-1042 or customerservice@inventel.tv.

    • Nov 3, 2017

      Bob

      I had the same experience the first week out in my RV when the "no card" message displayed. A replacement unit was never sent to me neither was a return address label for the defective unit. Too many similar stories make me feel this product is not reliable and there is no customer service credibility.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 58 out 58 people found this review helpful

    Wanted to believe!

    I purchased three Mirror Cam units, one for each car. I drive extensively and saw a huge value in the product since I had two previous accidents I could not prove were not my fault. Unfortunately, a huge disappointment! The Mirror Cam does not fasten tightly on the mirrors of any of my cars, so it constantly jiggles as you drive. It's very distracting when using the mirror as everything behind you jiggles.

    I contacted customer service. They suggested getting rubber bands to fasten the mirror tighter. Rubber bands?

    Second issue: after a few days, the 32 gig SD card I purchased WITH the system could not be read. I tried to reformat and the card was no good.

    I contacted customer service again, and this time got no response. Two days later, I contacted them again. They responded and wanted to know what size was the card, which I gave them card size and order number in the first email. I responded with the card size. it has now been more than ten days and no response!

    The idea is great, but this product falls short of a quality item by most standards. Wait for better versions and save your money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 26, 2017

      Customer Service, Marketing & Media Coordinator

      Dear Customer,

      Please let us know what do you need refund/replacement.

      We apologize for the inconvenience. We would have been more than happy to help you, please get in touch with us for any future issues at 323-375-1042 or customerservice@inventel.tv.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 26

Write a Review for HD Mirror Cam!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review