What Is HD Mirror Cam?

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Jan 26, 2016

Featuring a built-in 2.5" LCD, HD Mirror Cam installs in seconds and acts as a temporary replacement for your factory issued rearview mirror, while providing the ability to capture video, photos, and audio.

Using this LCD (with screen shut off mode for safety while driving), the device allows you to immediately view your footage and other media, or download it directly to a computer with the included SD memory card reader.

Like many other models, HD Mirror Cam’s motion detection allows you to record even when you’re not in the car, while the automatic ignition start will begin recording when you turn your car on, and then stop when the ignition is turned off.

Unlike the competition, though, the company claims it comes with exclusive night vision that automatically adjusts for different levels of light.

It certainly seems like HD Mirror Cam includes a lot of must-have features. But will it deliver meaningfully better value in the long run? Let’s kick off our conversation by taking a closer look at the device’s features.

How Does HD Mirror Cam Work?

Perhaps the easiest way to think of HD Mirror Cam is as a standard rearview mirror, but without an arm that attaches to a windshield. Instead, it uses two flexible rubber straps that attach to the top and bottom of the device, which then wrap around the back of your existing mirror.

Directly underneath is the device’s rotating camera, which features a central lens and one infrared LED on each side. These emit a specific wavelength of light that allows the camera to see clearly at night, which is a very common technology found in these types of cameras.

Everything the camera records is displayed on the built-in 2.5" LCD, which can also be switched off to maximize mirror space and avoid distractions while driving.

HD Mirror CamIn the left image, we can see how HD Mirror Cam attaches using flexible rubber bands, while the right image shows the 2.5" display. Image credit: Taken from www.hdmirrorcam.com June 2017

How Much Does HD Mirror Cam Cost?

One HD Mirror Cam is priced at $49.99 plus $9.99 S&H, although the site indicates you’ll earn free S&H if you order two or more.

Each camera comes with a car charger/adaptor, two soft bands, a USB SD card reader, an instruction manual, and mounting wire clips.

Note: The commercial indicates you’ll be able to upgrade your kit to include a micro SD memory card for as little as $7.99, although this offer wasn't presented when we attempted to check out. However, third-party options could be found elsewhere online for between $15 and $60+, depending on storage size.

All HD Mirror Cams come with a 60-day money back guarantee, less S&H. You can request one by contacting customer support at 323-375-1042 or customerservice@inventel.tv.

Which Features Should You Look For In a Rearview Mirror Camera?

Even if you recently started researching dashboard cameras, you probably already recognize that there are thousands of different options available, in all sizes, designs, and price points. How can you choose the best model for your needs?

While they admit there are many more, CarCamCentral lists three key features they always look for when purchasing a dashboard camera:

1. Messaging – They recommend looking for “persistent and highly visible written messages,” and even audible warnings. Why?

Because these cameras (and the SD cards they contain) are repeatedly exposed to big temperature fluctuations and humidity, so failure is inevitable. And you want to know about any potential problems before you get into an accident.

2. Video Quality – The higher the video quality, the more protection you ultimately have (and that’s probably why you’re thinking about purchasing one in the first place, right?), since you’ll have a better chance of catching details like a license plate number or a person’s face after a hit and run.

3. Battery – If no battery is present, then the camera can’t record once your car is turned off.

From these perspectives, HD Mirror Cam seems to check most of the boxes, although some of the customers above reported that its video quality left something to be desired. Are there any other noteworthy points?

Important Points to Consider About HD Mirror Cam

While we didn’t test the device ourselves, we think there are some other important considerations to keep in mind before deciding on any dashcam option:

How visible do you want the camera to be? While HD Mirror Cam attaches to your rearview mirror and won’t impede your line of sight, it seems like it could add a meaningful amount of bulk (aesthetically or otherwise). Also, you’ll need to be comfortable with the added wires running along your windshield and dashboard.

Next, while HD Mirror Cam claims to record up to 14 hours (on an endless loop, if you choose), remember that this wholly depends on the size of your SD card. Which, again, isn’t included with your order.

We’ve mentioned this aspect in some of our other dashboard camera articles, but keep in mind that HD Mirror Cam can only record in one direction at a time. So, if your vehicle is parked while motion detection is activated, and the camera is pointed forward (for example), it likely wouldn’t do much good if someone broke in through your driver’s side door.

If a situation like this is your primary concern, some companies manufacture dual-lens (or two-channel) dash cams that simultaneously record front and back (or any other two directions you’d like), usually with a picture-in-picture real-time display.

Lastly, it’s certainly positive that HD Mirror Cam features night vision, which uses two infrared LEDs to emit a wavelength of light not visible by the human eye, although it can be detected by the device’s camera.

This way, these LEDs provide illumination for the camera, without causing a glare off the windshield, which could lead to distorted video quality and impeded vision for the driver.

While useful, this type of night vision is a common feature found on dashboard and rearview mirror cameras at most price points.

What Can We Learn From HD Mirror Cam Reviews?

Since writing our original article, 29 HighYa readers provided feedback about their experiences with HD Mirror Cam, giving the device an average rating of 1.8 stars.

Here, common compliments referenced ease of use and solid value, while complaints seemed related to lower quality than expected, difficult customer service experiences, and ordering concerns (primarily higher charges than expected and a drawn-out automated ordering process).

We also encountered more than 29 customer reviews on HSN.com, where HD Mirror Cam had a slightly higher average rating of 3.7 star rating. Except for ordering concerns, many expressed the same compliments and complaints as those found on HighYa.

From a company perspective, HD Mirror Cam is manufactured by Inventel Products, a popular ASOTV company who’s responsible for other hits over the years like Gripeez, DashCam Pro, and HD Free TV Antenna, to name just a few.

Granted, our goal isn’t to insinuate that you’ll experience any of the same—only to make sure you have everything you need to make a fully empowered buying decision.

Our Bottom Line About the HD Mirror Cam

Obviously a final—and perhaps the biggest—factor to consider is price. And at $60 including shipping, HD Mirror Cam seems very reasonable priced compared to the competition, some of which could exceed $200 at the time of our research.

If you watched the full 15-minute video from CarCamCentral above, they outlined that purchasing a new dashcam largely comes down to a mixture of 1) cheap, 2) reliable, and 3) high performance.

In other words, you might find an option that leans heavily toward high performance, although it might not be very inexpensive. Or, if you focus on the lowest possible price, you could sacrifice performance and reliability.

And with some of HD Mirror Cam’s essential features like HD 720p video, a 350° rotating camera, and one-touch photo snap, it might be the case that this option provides an even balance between these factors.

And if you find that it doesn’t, Inventel seems to stand behind the device with a two-month return policy. Just keep in mind you’ll lose your initial S&H, plus whatever it’ll cost to ship back.

Before clicking away, be sure to talk about your HD Mirror Cam experience by writing a review below!

Article Last Updated on June 9, 2017


Read 99 HD Mirror Cam Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 7 4 star: 1 3 star: 5 2 star: 12 1 star:  74
Bottom Line: 10% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 99
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Purchased one camera only, they tried to send me more, along with a bunch of other stuff

    • British Columbia, Canada,
    • Nov 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This camera only worked for half an hour and now only has a white screen with the InvenTel logo on it. As I read these reviews and see the many difficulties getting your money back, I can't help but think this product is a scam and should be banned. What do you folks think?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Display went white

    • Ontario, Canada,
    • Oct 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Got it as a gift. After hooking it up and hiding wires, the display screen went white. So I could not program it. So had to remove it again. The screen had worked, while I had the vehicle in the afternoon sun. Then died before I got back to program it. So maybe it cannot take the heat in vehicle?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Oct 22, 2019

      Company Response from InvenTel, LLC

      Dear Valued Customer,

      Thank you for your feedback, in this case we would suggest you to reset the cam once and try, if it does not work, call us back on 888-596-2538 with the invoice details and we would be more than happy to replace it if you are in warranty.

      Thanks & Regards,

      Customer Service


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    HD Mirror Cam

    • Canada,
    • Oct 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Please, everyone, don't get suckered into this product, it's crap. Just got the thing, hooked it up, turned it on, and nothing...piece of garbage. Now I have to go throu the hassle of sending it back in the hopes I get my money back!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Oct 14, 2019

      Company Response from InvenTel, LLC

      Dear Valued Customer,

      We apologize for the inconvenience caused, in this case, we would suggest you call us back, and we would be more than happy to replace or refund you in full if you are in the warranty period.

      Thanks & Regards,

      Customer Service


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    Update

    • Ontario, Canada,
    • Oct 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The instruction booklet doesn’t tell you this but there is a tiny little reset hole where if you put a pin in it and press reset it reset the whole camera and it works good as new again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Oct 14, 2019

      Company Response from InvenTel, LLC

      Dear Valued Customer,

      Thank you for your business, we apologize for the inconvenience, we will forward the issue to the management & try to make changes to it.

      Thanks & Regards,

      www,invnetel.tv

    • Previous review
    • Sep 21, 2019

    Mirror Cam screen is frozen

    Mirror Cam screen is frozen...So I bought the HD mirror cam and installed it in my car today. It worked great on the way to work, it worked great on the way home. I turned it back on shortly after I got home so that I could review the videos I had made and guess what I’m sitting on a white screen With the HD mirror cam logo and an SK in the corner. Like what the heck? I wish I had read the reviews before I bought it because I honestly thought this was a cool idea and now I’m thinking I just wasted a shit ton of money on a piece of crap device. I will be sure to tell people not to purchase this.

    • Oct 2, 2019

      Company Response from InvenTel, LLC

      Dear Valued Customer,

      We apologize for the inconvenience caused, in this case, we would suggest you call us back, and we would be more than happy to replace or refund you in full if you are in the warranty period.

      Thanks & Regards,

      Customer Service

    (read moreread less...)

  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Three and out

    • Washington DC,
    • Sep 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have had three Mirror Cams in the last 3 years. The first one I bought it came by itself as a unit, it worked for about 3 months and then the camera wouldn't take a charge. I called the company, they told my warranty had run out and there wasn't anything they can do. After my car was involved in a hit-and-run accident I decided to buy another one but they offered me a good price for two. I went for the okey-doke and bought two of them at a price. One worked for a time until the warranty ran out, the view strain became all white, nothing I could do with that. The one I have on my vehicle now has its problems. I'm trying to seek a refund but on all three my guarantee and warranty ran out, they claim they are not responsible for anything after 60 days. My advice to anyone who is buying this product, buyer beware, they do not last long.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Oct 2, 2019

      Company Response from InvenTel, LLC

      Dear Valued Customer,

      We apologize for the inconvenience caused, in this case since you ran out of warranty we would suggest you, next time when you buy a product with us please buy the additional 2-3 year warranty.

      Thanks & Regards,

      Customer Service


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Never worked

    • Quebec, Canada,
    • Sep 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I received the Mirror Cam last week and it doesn't work at all! I tried to reset 3 times, and it is still not working. I tried the cam in the cam and the only image I see is the white image with the logo. When I push the buttons, it doesn't respond at all, whatever button I try.

    When I push the reset, it turns off the image but doesn't start at any time.

    I just want my money back!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Oct 2, 2019

      Company Response from InvenTel, LLC

      Dear Valued Customer,

      We apologize for the inconvenience caused, in this case, we would suggest you call us back, and we would be more than happy to replace or refund you in full if you are in the warranty period.

      Thanks & Regards,

      Customer Service


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    White blank screen

    • Toronto, Ontario, Canada,
    • Sep 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Bought 2. First one didn't work. White blank screen. Tried everything. Sent back. Plugged 2nd one in. Worked fine for a couple of days until I set dates, blank screen again. Piece of crap. Don't but. Cost me $15 to return the first one. Forget them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Oct 2, 2019

      Company Response from InvenTel, LLC

      Dear Valued Customer,

      We apologize for the inconvenience caused, in this case, we would suggest you call us back, and we would be more than happy to replace or refund you in full if you are in the warranty period.

      Thanks & Regards,

      Customer Service


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Disappointed

    • Henderson,
    • Sep 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    They failed to send what I purchased. I am sending it back, hopefully, I'll get a full refund. Disappointed.

    Misleading, misleading, misleading.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Oct 2, 2019

      Company Response from InvenTel, LLC

      Dear Valued Customer,

      We apologize for the inconvenience caused, can you please let us know what you ordered and what you got, so that we can take care of it for you.

      You can call us to resolve the issue on 888-596-2538 or email us on customerservice@inventel.tv.

      Thanks & Regards,

      Customer Service


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Product

    • New Westminster, British Columbia, Canada,
    • Aug 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Yes, the product is great, but don't get the image in the mirror off it.

    Nowhere does it say that if you lose the image due to a problem that the "reset" feature gets the original image back just a "white" blank screen making the Cam information feature useless. Yes, you can use the Mirror Cam without it, but aligning the cam correctly is almost impossible. Also, the booklet says that you can set the endless loop recording to 1,3,5, or 10 minutes, no, so 5 minutes is the only setting found on my Mirror Cam. I was able to get another one from the distributor. Having made the same mistake on the new one I am having to use it without the Mirror Cam screen in it. The Mirror Cam image on the screen is the best part of the CAM, it gives you a wealth of information, not to mention setting it up to use the way you wish...GOOD LUCK. I still am without my Mirror Cam working the way I would like.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 30, 2019

      Company Response from InvenTel, LLC

      Dear Valued Customer,

      Thank you for your business & we apologize for the inconvenience we may have caused to you. In this case, we would kindly request you to call us on 888-596-2538, or email us on customerservice@inventel.tv to assist you better on it.

      Thanks & Regards,

      Customer Service


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Never once came on.

    • Georgia,
    • Aug 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I followed the directions verbatim and nothing. Not one time did this thing turn on. Piece of crap. The email for customer service is invalid. I watched videos and read other reviews. Should have read the reviews first. DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 30, 2019

      Company Response from InvenTel, LLC

      Dear Valued Customer,

      Thank you for your business & we apologize for the inconvenience we may have caused to you. In this case, we would kindly request you to call us on 888-596-2538, or email us on customerservice@inventel.tv to assist you better on it.

      Thanks & Regards,

      Customer Service


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Terrible

    • Ontario, Canada,
    • Aug 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We received the cam and charged it, then turned it on and it was fine but then the screen went white. We put in the SD card and it is still white, heard this from others.

    We WANT to return it, it's junk, save your money, now just need to know how to return it.

    Would not recommend to ever buy one, IT'S JUNK. Please tell us how to get our money back!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 30, 2019

      Company Response from InvenTel, LLC

      Dear Valued Customer,

      Thank you for your business & we apologize for the inconvenience we may have caused to you. In this case we would kindly request you to call us on 888-596-2538, or email us on customerservice@inventel.tv to assist you better on it.

      Thanks & Regards,

      Customer Service


Showing 1-11 of 99

Write a Review for HD Mirror Cam!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review