What Is HD Mirror Cam?

By HighYa Staff
Published on: Jan 26, 2016

Editorial disclosure: We get a commission from InvenTel when you make a purchase through the links located on this post. Learn More

Featuring a built-in 2.5" LCD, HD Mirror Cam installs in seconds and acts as a temporary replacement for your factory issued rearview mirror, while providing the ability to capture video, photos, and audio.

Using this LCD (with screen shut off mode for safety while driving), the device allows you to immediately view your footage and other media, or download it directly to a computer with the included SD memory card reader.

Like many other models, HD Mirror Cam’s motion detection allows you to record even when you’re not in the car, while the automatic ignition start will begin recording when you turn your car on, and then stop when the ignition is turned off.

Unlike the competition, though, the company claims it comes with exclusive night vision that automatically adjusts for different levels of light.

It certainly seems like HD Mirror Cam includes a lot of must-have features. But will it deliver meaningfully better value in the long run? Let’s kick off our conversation by taking a closer look at the device’s features.

How Does HD Mirror Cam Work?

Perhaps the easiest way to think of HD Mirror Cam is as a standard rearview mirror, but without an arm that attaches to a windshield. Instead, it uses two flexible rubber straps that attach to the top and bottom of the device, which then wrap around the back of your existing mirror.

Directly underneath is the device’s rotating camera, which features a central lens and one infrared LED on each side. These emit a specific wavelength of light that allows the camera to see clearly at night, which is a very common technology found in these types of cameras.

Offer: Click here to Buy the HD Mirror Cam

Everything the camera records is displayed on the built-in 2.5" LCD, which can also be switched off to maximize mirror space and avoid distractions while driving.

HD Mirror CamIn the left image, we can see how HD Mirror Cam attaches using flexible rubber bands, while the right image shows the 2.5" display. Image credit: Taken from www.hdmirrorcam.com June 2017

How Much Does HD Mirror Cam Cost?

One HD Mirror Cam is priced at $49.99 plus $9.99 S&H, although the site indicates you’ll earn free S&H if you order two or more.

Each camera comes with a car charger/adaptor, two soft bands, a USB SD card reader, an instruction manual, and mounting wire clips.

Note: The commercial indicates you’ll be able to upgrade your kit to include a micro SD memory card for as little as $7.99, although this offer wasn't presented when we attempted to check out. However, third-party options could be found elsewhere online for between $15 and $60+, depending on storage size.

All HD Mirror Cams come with a 60-day money back guarantee, less S&H. You can request one by contacting customer support at 323-375-1042 or customerservice@inventel.tv.

Which Features Should You Look For In a Rearview Mirror Camera?

Even if you recently started researching dashboard cameras, you probably already recognize that there are thousands of different options available, in all sizes, designs, and price points. How can you choose the best model for your needs?

Offer: Click here to Buy the HD Mirror Cam

While they admit there are many more, CarCamCentral lists three key features they always look for when purchasing a dashboard camera:

1. Messaging – They recommend looking for “persistent and highly visible written messages,” and even audible warnings. Why?

Because these cameras (and the SD cards they contain) are repeatedly exposed to big temperature fluctuations and humidity, so failure is inevitable. And you want to know about any potential problems before you get into an accident.

2. Video Quality – The higher the video quality, the more protection you ultimately have (and that’s probably why you’re thinking about purchasing one in the first place, right?), since you’ll have a better chance of catching details like a license plate number or a person’s face after a hit and run.

3. Battery – If no battery is present, then the camera can’t record once your car is turned off.

From these perspectives, HD Mirror Cam seems to check most of the boxes, although some of the customers above reported that its video quality left something to be desired. Are there any other noteworthy points?

Important Points to Consider About HD Mirror Cam

While we didn’t test the device ourselves, we think there are some other important considerations to keep in mind before deciding on any dashcam option:

How visible do you want the camera to be? While HD Mirror Cam attaches to your rearview mirror and won’t impede your line of sight, it seems like it could add a meaningful amount of bulk (aesthetically or otherwise). Also, you’ll need to be comfortable with the added wires running along your windshield and dashboard.

Next, while HD Mirror Cam claims to record up to 14 hours (on an endless loop, if you choose), remember that this wholly depends on the size of your SD card. Which, again, isn’t included with your order.

We’ve mentioned this aspect in some of our other dashboard camera articles, but keep in mind that HD Mirror Cam can only record in one direction at a time. So, if your vehicle is parked while motion detection is activated, and the camera is pointed forward (for example), it likely wouldn’t do much good if someone broke in through your driver’s side door.

Offer: Click here to Buy the HD Mirror Cam

If a situation like this is your primary concern, some companies manufacture dual-lens (or two-channel) dash cams that simultaneously record front and back (or any other two directions you’d like), usually with a picture-in-picture real-time display.

Lastly, it’s certainly positive that HD Mirror Cam features night vision, which uses two infrared LEDs to emit a wavelength of light not visible by the human eye, although it can be detected by the device’s camera.

This way, these LEDs provide illumination for the camera, without causing a glare off the windshield, which could lead to distorted video quality and impeded vision for the driver.

While useful, this type of night vision is a common feature found on dashboard and rearview mirror cameras at most price points.

What Can We Learn From HD Mirror Cam Reviews?

Since writing our original article, 29 HighYa readers provided feedback about their experiences with HD Mirror Cam, giving the device an average rating of 1.8 stars.

Here, common compliments referenced ease of use and solid value, while complaints seemed related to lower quality than expected, difficult customer service experiences, and ordering concerns (primarily higher charges than expected and a drawn-out automated ordering process).

We also encountered more than 29 customer reviews on HSN.com, where HD Mirror Cam had a slightly higher average rating of 3.7 star rating. Except for ordering concerns, many expressed the same compliments and complaints as those found on HighYa.

From a company perspective, HD Mirror Cam is manufactured by Inventel Products, a popular ASOTV company who’s responsible for other hits over the years like Gripeez, DashCam Pro, and HD Free TV Antenna, to name just a few.

Granted, our goal isn’t to insinuate that you’ll experience any of the same—only to make sure you have everything you need to make a fully empowered buying decision.

Our Bottom Line About the HD Mirror Cam

Obviously a final—and perhaps the biggest—factor to consider is price. And at $60 including shipping, HD Mirror Cam seems very reasonable priced compared to the competition, some of which could exceed $200 at the time of our research.

If you watched the full 15-minute video from CarCamCentral above, they outlined that purchasing a new dashcam largely comes down to a mixture of 1) cheap, 2) reliable, and 3) high performance.

In other words, you might find an option that leans heavily toward high performance, although it might not be very inexpensive. Or, if you focus on the lowest possible price, you could sacrifice performance and reliability.

And with some of HD Mirror Cam’s essential features like HD 720p video, a 350° rotating camera, and one-touch photo snap, it might be the case that this option provides an even balance between these factors.

And if you find that it doesn’t, Inventel seems to stand behind the device with a two-month return policy. Just keep in mind you’ll lose your initial S&H, plus whatever it’ll cost to ship back.

Before clicking away, be sure to talk about your HD Mirror Cam experience by writing a review below!

Article Last Updated on June 9, 2017

Offer: Click here to Buy the HD Mirror Cam

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

52 Consumer Reviews for HD Mirror Cam

Average Consumer Rating: 1.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 4 4 star: 1 3 star: 3 2 star: 7 1 star:  37
Bottom Line: 12% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 52
Sort reviews by:

  • Bad product

    • Portland, OR,
    • May 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This mirror cam is hard to figure out, a rocket scientist would have a problem. The picture is way too dark, it is way too complicated for the average person. It has a hum in it when you plug in the cord.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • May 24, 2018

      Customer Service, Marketing & Media Coordinator

      Dear Valued Customer,

      We apologize for the inconvenience, we would request you to please call us at 888-596-2538 or email us at customerservice@inventel.tv, so that we can help you resolve this issue.

      Thanks & Regards,

      Customer Service

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Can't get it to come on, even after reading the their manual

    • California,
    • May 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Day two and it still won't come on, the screen stays white. I tried everything the manual says. I drove the car, no luck. I try another brand, plug in again today, and got just a white screen. I tried the reset button and the screen went out but came back on white or blank. I text for help yesterday from these guys, no response or call. Why don't you guys put your number on the paperwork? We give you all of our information and why don't you guys email out free return labels? It would help in cases like mine. Day three and I am still waiting for a response from you guys.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • May 23, 2018

      Sheila B.

      I agree, I had one and it stopped charging after just a few weeks, so I got a different one. After a couple weeks now, all I get is the white screen. I would not recommend this piece of crap to anyone.

    • May 24, 2018

      Customer Service, Marketing & Media Coordinator

      Dear Valued Customer,

      As per your request, we have issued a full refund to your order, as per the returns policy.

      Thanks & Regards,

      Customer Service

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    HD Mirror Cam purchase

    Our daughter purchased this camera for our car. It arrived a week ago and I have been in use every time we started our car. It worked all day on 5/11/18, but when I went out at 9:00 pm EST to pick up our daughter from work it would not come on at all. You could see a tiny blue light at the top of the camera, but nothing else would work. I am not happy with this product at all. Also, the commercial needs to be watched and listened to very closely as there are discrepancies in some of the info that you are told of what comes with the purchase. Never ever will I buy anything that is an As Seen On TV product again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • May 23, 2018

      Customer Service, Marketing & Media Coordinator

      Dear Valued Customer,

      We apologize for the inconvenience caused, in this case, we can suggest you do a reset and it should work. If it still doesn't work, please feel free to call us at 888-596-2538 or email us at customerservice@inventel.tv.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Product stopped working minutes after using

    I attached the mirror cam and plugged it in. It was working fine. It worked for about three minutes. Then I turned the car off and about 30 minutes later when I started the car again the camera started working but all I could see was a snowy screen with lines through it. I tried to reset with no change.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 30, 2018

      Customer Service, Marketing & Media Coordinator

      Dear Valued Customer,

      Thank you for your business, we apologize for the inconvenience that we may have caused to you, in this case, our technical support team will call you to get the issue resolved.

      In case of any further questions, you can call us at 888-596-2538 or email us at customerservice@inventel.tv.

      Thanks & Regards,

      Customer Service

    • May 11, 2018

      ronald moran

      The power connector on the motherboard broke off and unable to be fixed. I need a new motherboard. I'm unable to charge the battery, and the unit shuts down.

      Motherboard #yz-d168-v2.1

      b2817 date 2017.04.18 ser#bmch100413206348

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    This thing is junk

    • Amesbury, MA,
    • Apr 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    It would not come on when plugged in. You wiggle it a little bit and it comes on but goes back out. Unplugged it, plug it back in, and the port fell inside the mirror. This thing is junk.

    This thing had problems before I even opened it. I will be sending it back. I am pretty upset seeing I waited almost a month for it. I hope they do the right thing and refund my money or replace it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 30, 2018

      Customer Service, Marketing & Media Coordinator

      Dear Valued Customer,

      Thank you for your business, we have already issued you a return label to send the item back, and once we receive the item, we will ship you the replacement.

      In case of any further questions, you can call us at 888-596-2538 or email us at customerservice@inventel.tv.

      Thanks & Regards,

      Customer Service

    • May 17, 2018

      Scott James

      I got a camera for Christmas, it was working fine, but now it comes on then goes off. It won't stay on.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Do not buy this

    • West Fargo, ND,
    • Apr 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought this HD camera and did not use it right away, because I did not want to run the power cord until nicer weather. I booked a trip to Colorado and decided since I will be up in the mountains now would be a great time to use this mirror cam. I got it all charged up and put it in my back pack and flew to Colorado with it. I went to the car rental and picked up a car and hooked up the camera all excited to get some good mountain views to show my kids when I got home. I turned it on and started driving, the little window came up, and I was loving it.

    Well, the next day I turned it on and noticed it would not stay on. So then, of course, I started to troubleshoot. I plugged the power cord into my phone, and it started charging so I knew the power supply was good. Next, I plugged it into the camera and moved the cord around a bit and in position, it would work, but if I let go of it, it would lose power again.

    All faith in this camera just crashed. I was driving through these beautiful mountains and the piece of crap camera would not work.

    I got home and called the company, and they explained to me that it was out of warranty. I told them this was the first time I used it. They would do nothing about it.

    This was a waste of my time and money to buy one of these cheap pieces of crap, and now all I can do is warn anyone else out there looking for a camera to stay away from this one.

    Regards.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 26, 2018

      Customer Service, Marketing & Media Coordinator

      Dear Valued Customer,

      We have a 60-day money back guarantee, if you would have called us within the 30-days time, we would have replaced or refunded to you in full. In this case, you can call us at our toll-free number 888-596-2538 or email us at customerservice@inventel.tv, and we can help you troubleshoot the product.

      Thanks & Regards,

      Customer Service

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 12 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    Update, 90-day replacement.

    Update and final resolution from customer service on April 14th, 2018.

    After three solid months of back and forth emails, I returned the product, and finally, they sent me a brand new one in the box. This entire process started in February 2018 when my HD Mirror Cam failed to boot up. After an RMA and 90 days, I got my cam back. I plan on giving this as a gift to a friend of mine. Once he gives me some input about the cam, I'll update this again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (8)
    View all 8 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 7, 2018

      Customer Service, Marketing & Media Coordinator

      Dear Valued Customer,

      We apologize for the inconvenience, we have already shipped you the replacement, and the tracking number will be sent to you once it gets active. In case you have any other further questions, you can email us at customerservice@inventel.tv

      Thanks & Regards,

      Inventel Products

      Customer Service

    • Mar 14, 2018

      Ron Hendrick

      Thank you for the response. It's a week later now, and I've not received any instructions on returning the defective cam, nor have I received any other communications from HDMirrorCam.

    • Mar 20, 2018

      Ron Hendrick

      Update! March 20th, 2017. After several times going back and forth with HDMirrorCam, they agreed to ship me a new unit. They even sent me a prepaid return for the broken unit. It arrived back to their NJ location yesterday. So, now I'm waiting on a shipping notice from them that the new unit has shipped. Thanks, HDMirrorCam! You've been most helpful.

    • Apr 6, 2018

      maria i carias

      I am still waiting for the product and there is nothing. They refused to give me the trucking number from the post office to see when it may arrive but they told me that they don't have any. I canceled the order but they said that I cannot do it until the post office delivers the product. Their customer service is so terrible.

    • Apr 8, 2018

      Ron Hendrick

      Update: April 8th, 2018. I believe that this is a scam. I was told back in March that a New HD Mirror Cam would be shipped to my address. It would be here in 8 to 10 business days. I'm still waiting. The worst part of this is that they already have the one I shipped back to them. I kept the receipt to prove it. If I don't get a replacement soon, I'm going to hand this over to an attorney.

    • Apr 9, 2018

      maria i carias

      I called when they took the money from the bank but the office was closed the next day. Again I called, and they told me that they could not cancel the order because it had already been sent by mail, but they couldn't give me the tracking number of the package. Since then, there have been lawsuits and lawsuits against them. They can not cancel my order, today I went to their website one more time, put a tracking number in from FedEx, and it said they had already delivered it, however, I called FedEx and they tell me that is not the case, that they barely submitted my order one and a half months later, to be delivered by them in the next few days. This is a complete fraud. We should all join together and put a counter-claim for theft and fraud because they are not giving good customer service and their products. I see that they do not work.

    • Apr 13, 2018

      George

      The unit I purchased is not right. The picture is upside down and the wording on the screen.

    • Apr 24, 2018

      Customer Service, Marketing & Media Coordinator

      Dear Customer,

      We apologize for the delay, due to the overwhelming demand for the product we were out of stock for it.

      We once again apologize for the inconvenience caused to you, in case of any further issues you can call us on 888-596-2538 or email us at customerservice@inventel.tv, and we will be happy to help you.

      Thanks & Regards,

      Customer Service

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)

    • Previous review
    • Mar 30, 2018

    Update

    Update March 27th, 2018:

    After two months of back and forth with these people, I still don't have a working cam. They did respond, they did send me an RMA, and I returned the broken unit, but as of this date, I've still not received the new one. I have the receipt from USPS, and they did receive the old broken unit, but that was over a week ago. No new since. This isn't looking good.

    (read moreread less...)
    • Previous review
    • Mar 6, 2018

    Great product but broke within a month

    I bought two of these devices. One of them I gave my brother for Christmas, which he has not had any problems at all, and then I ordered one for myself about a month later. Well, it took mine a month before it wouldn't turn on. This morning I went out to the truck, and it would boot up and then instantly shut down. No matter what I tried, I could not get the device to boot up properly.

    After a bit of troubleshooting, I've isolated the problem and found there is an issue with the USB/DC connection on the device. You can actually feel it wiggling around inside the frame. It's not allowing the power cable to make good contact and has drained the battery, so there is no way to charge it or make the device run properly. It's basically useless right now.

    I have contacted HD Mirror Cam to see if they will replace the device. But as of this review, I've not heard back from them.

    I'm reserving judgment on the device to see if they will stand behind their product. I love this cam, but this could very well be a design issue. I hope I'm allowed to update this review in the future. This is a 100% honest review of the device I kept for myself. The unit I ordered for my brother was a different order number which I can provide if needed. He has had zero problems with his device, and he uses it every day and loves it.

    (read moreread less...)

  • 16 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Junk

    Unfortunately, I bought two cameras for Christmas presents. One going to a 76-year-old who was so excited to get it. That is until it didn't work, nor did the other one. Both people thought it was an operator error, so when they finally told me, I was so embarrassed, to say the least.

    My husband asked a tech geek to figure out one and his surmise was/is, IT'S JUNK. My husband called their HORRIBLE JOKE customer non-service, and she cited the 60-day so-called "warranty." That is NOT A warranty; it's an admission of debunking people with a JUNK product. Then when I called, I could hear others in her background saying the same thing as her, "your warranty is out, it's 60 days." Hmmm! I'm/we, are expected to say "oh well" and go away. NOT me, nor should you.

    This very moment, I am waiting on a call back from our lawyer to start the process to demand my money back. It's the principle as well as the money I WORKED for, NOT scammed for. They can have their JUNK back, but I'm NOT paying return costs. Also, I bought two high-quality 32g cards. This JUNK doesn't come with one. I will post this on EVERY review I can. NEGATIVE 10 stars.

    Do NOT buy this junk! Do NOT buy HD Mirror Cam! Do NOT, I repeat, do NOT buy this junk!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Great product

    • Boston, MA,
    • Mar 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Very good for the price you pay and it is convenient by not obstructing your view at the windshield. I purchased 2 units and both are working fine so far (~ 3 months). I had some issues with the cams and had to return them. It turned out that my car charger was having the problem. The customer service was super with no hassle to return.

    I do recommend you buy the extended warranty, you never know what can happen since they are constantly under sun, snow, etc. The unit needs to adjust manually from day to night vision and the night vision is a little bit noisy. Overall, I am very satisfied with this product.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Extremely disappointed

    I bought four of these at the same time. What a mistake that was. One of them you can't shut off. One froze up and now won't work. The third camera just stopped recording. My daughter has the fourth one, but she hasn't taken the time to set her's up. I spend $200 on them. Plus I believe I bought my own SD cards.

    The 60-day warranty is too short; it doesn't give you enough time to test the camera features. The instructional video is a joke. It doesn't go over everything like programming the date and time.

    Because my problems appeared after the 60 days guaranteed, I didn't contact anyone. This could have been so much better.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 29, 2018

      Customer Service, Marketing & Media Coordinator

      Dear Valued Customer,

      Thank you for your business. In this case, you can call us on our toll-free number 888-596-2538 or email us the issue that you are facing in brief, so that can help you reset the camera or any other information that you need about the functions.

      You can also email us on customerservice@inventel.tv.

      Thanks & regards,

      Inventel Products

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Card reader doesn't work

    • Athens, AL,
    • Mar 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    First of all, every time I turn on my vehicle, it says "No Card," so I have to keep pushing the tiny little card down, and after 3-5 times it stops the error.

    So, I thought I was recording, but not sure. I took out the SD Card, placed it in the thumb drive reader and nothing, no video.

    Also, I have a question I can't find the answer to in the manual and don't want to call after all the negative comments about customer service. But, does this unit record and video and audio together? The choices are video, audio, still shot, but nothing about video and audio. What am I missing?

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 29, 2018

      Customer Service, Marketing & Media Coordinator

      Dear Valued Customer,

      Thank you for your business, the HD Mirror Cam has the ability to record audio/video together. In this case, just reset the camera once and it should work, the rest button is behind the camera you just need to insert a pin.

      In case of any further questions, you can call us at 888-596-2538 or email us on customerservice@inventel.tv, and refer to your order number.

      Thanks & Regards,

      Inventel Products

    • Apr 21, 2018

      Allen Miller

      I was going to order two of these, and thank goodness I read the reviews because I definitely WILL NOT order! So sad, it is a great concept.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 52

Write a Review for HD Mirror Cam!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review