What Is HD Mirror Cam?

By HighYa Staff
Published on: Jan 26, 2016

Editorial disclosure: We get a commission from InvenTel when you make a purchase through the links located on this post. Learn More

Featuring a built-in 2.5" LCD, HD Mirror Cam installs in seconds and acts as a temporary replacement for your factory issued rearview mirror, while providing the ability to capture video, photos, and audio.

Using this LCD (with screen shut off mode for safety while driving), the device allows you to immediately view your footage and other media, or download it directly to a computer with the included SD memory card reader.

Like many other models, HD Mirror Cam’s motion detection allows you to record even when you’re not in the car, while the automatic ignition start will begin recording when you turn your car on, and then stop when the ignition is turned off.

Unlike the competition, though, the company claims it comes with exclusive night vision that automatically adjusts for different levels of light.

It certainly seems like HD Mirror Cam includes a lot of must-have features. But will it deliver meaningfully better value in the long run? Let’s kick off our conversation by taking a closer look at the device’s features.

How Does HD Mirror Cam Work?

Perhaps the easiest way to think of HD Mirror Cam is as a standard rearview mirror, but without an arm that attaches to a windshield. Instead, it uses two flexible rubber straps that attach to the top and bottom of the device, which then wrap around the back of your existing mirror.

Directly underneath is the device’s rotating camera, which features a central lens and one infrared LED on each side. These emit a specific wavelength of light that allows the camera to see clearly at night, which is a very common technology found in these types of cameras.

Offer: Click here to Buy the HD Mirror Cam

Everything the camera records is displayed on the built-in 2.5" LCD, which can also be switched off to maximize mirror space and avoid distractions while driving.

HD Mirror CamIn the left image, we can see how HD Mirror Cam attaches using flexible rubber bands, while the right image shows the 2.5" display. Image credit: Taken from www.hdmirrorcam.com June 2017

How Much Does HD Mirror Cam Cost?

One HD Mirror Cam is priced at $49.99 plus $9.99 S&H, although the site indicates you’ll earn free S&H if you order two or more.

Each camera comes with a car charger/adaptor, two soft bands, a USB SD card reader, an instruction manual, and mounting wire clips.

Note: The commercial indicates you’ll be able to upgrade your kit to include a micro SD memory card for as little as $7.99, although this offer wasn't presented when we attempted to check out. However, third-party options could be found elsewhere online for between $15 and $60+, depending on storage size.

All HD Mirror Cams come with a 60-day money back guarantee, less S&H. You can request one by contacting customer support at 323-375-1042 or customerservice@inventel.tv.

Which Features Should You Look For In a Rearview Mirror Camera?

Even if you recently started researching dashboard cameras, you probably already recognize that there are thousands of different options available, in all sizes, designs, and price points. How can you choose the best model for your needs?

Offer: Click here to Buy the HD Mirror Cam

While they admit there are many more, CarCamCentral lists three key features they always look for when purchasing a dashboard camera:

1. Messaging – They recommend looking for “persistent and highly visible written messages,” and even audible warnings. Why?

Because these cameras (and the SD cards they contain) are repeatedly exposed to big temperature fluctuations and humidity, so failure is inevitable. And you want to know about any potential problems before you get into an accident.

2. Video Quality – The higher the video quality, the more protection you ultimately have (and that’s probably why you’re thinking about purchasing one in the first place, right?), since you’ll have a better chance of catching details like a license plate number or a person’s face after a hit and run.

3. Battery – If no battery is present, then the camera can’t record once your car is turned off.

From these perspectives, HD Mirror Cam seems to check most of the boxes, although some of the customers above reported that its video quality left something to be desired. Are there any other noteworthy points?

Important Points to Consider About HD Mirror Cam

While we didn’t test the device ourselves, we think there are some other important considerations to keep in mind before deciding on any dashcam option:

How visible do you want the camera to be? While HD Mirror Cam attaches to your rearview mirror and won’t impede your line of sight, it seems like it could add a meaningful amount of bulk (aesthetically or otherwise). Also, you’ll need to be comfortable with the added wires running along your windshield and dashboard.

Next, while HD Mirror Cam claims to record up to 14 hours (on an endless loop, if you choose), remember that this wholly depends on the size of your SD card. Which, again, isn’t included with your order.

We’ve mentioned this aspect in some of our other dashboard camera articles, but keep in mind that HD Mirror Cam can only record in one direction at a time. So, if your vehicle is parked while motion detection is activated, and the camera is pointed forward (for example), it likely wouldn’t do much good if someone broke in through your driver’s side door.

Offer: Click here to Buy the HD Mirror Cam

If a situation like this is your primary concern, some companies manufacture dual-lens (or two-channel) dash cams that simultaneously record front and back (or any other two directions you’d like), usually with a picture-in-picture real-time display.

Lastly, it’s certainly positive that HD Mirror Cam features night vision, which uses two infrared LEDs to emit a wavelength of light not visible by the human eye, although it can be detected by the device’s camera.

This way, these LEDs provide illumination for the camera, without causing a glare off the windshield, which could lead to distorted video quality and impeded vision for the driver.

While useful, this type of night vision is a common feature found on dashboard and rearview mirror cameras at most price points.

What Can We Learn From HD Mirror Cam Reviews?

Since writing our original article, 29 HighYa readers provided feedback about their experiences with HD Mirror Cam, giving the device an average rating of 1.8 stars.

Here, common compliments referenced ease of use and solid value, while complaints seemed related to lower quality than expected, difficult customer service experiences, and ordering concerns (primarily higher charges than expected and a drawn-out automated ordering process).

We also encountered more than 29 customer reviews on HSN.com, where HD Mirror Cam had a slightly higher average rating of 3.7 star rating. Except for ordering concerns, many expressed the same compliments and complaints as those found on HighYa.

From a company perspective, HD Mirror Cam is manufactured by Inventel Products, a popular ASOTV company who’s responsible for other hits over the years like Gripeez, DashCam Pro, and HD Free TV Antenna, to name just a few.

Granted, our goal isn’t to insinuate that you’ll experience any of the same—only to make sure you have everything you need to make a fully empowered buying decision.

Our Bottom Line About the HD Mirror Cam

Obviously a final—and perhaps the biggest—factor to consider is price. And at $60 including shipping, HD Mirror Cam seems very reasonable priced compared to the competition, some of which could exceed $200 at the time of our research.

If you watched the full 15-minute video from CarCamCentral above, they outlined that purchasing a new dashcam largely comes down to a mixture of 1) cheap, 2) reliable, and 3) high performance.

In other words, you might find an option that leans heavily toward high performance, although it might not be very inexpensive. Or, if you focus on the lowest possible price, you could sacrifice performance and reliability.

And with some of HD Mirror Cam’s essential features like HD 720p video, a 350° rotating camera, and one-touch photo snap, it might be the case that this option provides an even balance between these factors.

And if you find that it doesn’t, Inventel seems to stand behind the device with a two-month return policy. Just keep in mind you’ll lose your initial S&H, plus whatever it’ll cost to ship back.

Before clicking away, be sure to talk about your HD Mirror Cam experience by writing a review below!

Article Last Updated on June 9, 2017

Offer: Click here to Buy the HD Mirror Cam

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

77 Consumer Reviews for HD Mirror Cam

Average Consumer Rating: 1.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 6 4 star: 1 3 star: 3 2 star: 8 1 star:  59
Bottom Line: 10% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 77
Sort reviews by:

  • 34 out 50 people found this review helpful

    Love this product!

    • New Brunswick, NJ,
    • Jun 3, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've had my HD Mirror Cam for about a month and absolutely love it. I've already used it to get the license plate number of a dangerous driver and reported them to the police! I also love the ability to swivel the camera around and record myself and my friends in the car. I would definitely recommend this product to a friend!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 26, 2017

      Customer S., Marketing & Media Coordinator

      Dear Customer,

      We appreciate your feedback, we would request you to please visit our website on www.inventel.tv for more products. For any future questions, you can call us at 323-375-1042 or email us at customerservice@inventel.tv.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 27 out 42 people found this review helpful

    Great product

    • Trenton, NJ,
    • Jun 6, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Well worth the purchase for the price. HD Mirror Cam is the best option for a dash cam as it does not obstruct your view. It is a quality product, and I would recommend it to anyone in the market for a great dash cam.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 26, 2017

      Customer S., Marketing & Media Coordinator

      Dear Customer,

      We appreciate your feedback, we would request you to please visit our website on www.inventel.tv for more products. For any future questions, you can call us on 323-375-1042 or email us on customerservice@inventel.tv.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 24 out 36 people found this review helpful

    Works as stated

    • Queen Creek, AZ,
    • Jul 14, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    The first thing I did was to hard wire it into my vehicle so I wouldn't have to worry about battery life. It works flawlessly in 720 and VGA mode. I'm having trouble finding the HD Mode, but it works great. Clear, crisp video. It even picks up my singing (not so good, LOL). Works as advertised, great value too. I really like it. I do trail runs in my Jeep, and the video works well.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (6)
    View all 6 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 14, 2017

      Customer S., Marketing & Media Coordinator

      Hi Greg,

      Thank you for taking your time to review. Our customer satisfaction is our number one priority. If you ever have any doubts, questions, suggestions, or positive feedback please do not hesitate to give our customer service a call at (323)-375-1042. We hope you continue to enjoy our product!

      Thank you.

    • Aug 1, 2017

      Lisa Thiselton

      Looking forward to it!

    • Aug 3, 2017

      candy unger

      I'm stuck on start up. I don't know which way to insert the SD card, the writing toward the mirror, or the other way around. I can't find an image or a video on Youtube.

    • Aug 5, 2017

      Blain Wharton

      Please explain how you can use all your remotes that come on your rear view mirrors, that are on all new cars when they are covered by your item?

    • Aug 5, 2017

      Christopher Okoli

      I have a client in Africa that would love to be your representative in few countries.

    • Sep 26, 2017

      Customer S., Marketing & Media Coordinator

      Dear Customer,

      We appreciate your feedback, we would request you to please visit our website on www.inventel.tv for more products. For any future questions, you can call us at 323-375-1042 or email us at customerservice@inventel.tv.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Great product

    • Boston, MA,
    • Mar 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Very good for the price you pay and it is convenient by not obstructing your view at the windshield. I purchased 2 units and both are working fine so far (~ 3 months). I had some issues with the cams and had to return them. It turned out that my car charger was having the problem. The customer service was super with no hassle to return.

    I do recommend you buy the extended warranty, you never know what can happen since they are constantly under sun, snow, etc. The unit needs to adjust manually from day to night vision and the night vision is a little bit noisy. Overall, I am very satisfied with this product.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    The best HD Mirror Cam.

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Nov 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm a Lyft driver, it's one of the things that first amazes my passengers when they get into my car. It's very easy to use, I've been using this mirror since December 2017, and it's the best Dash cam I've come across. I like the fact that I can rotate it towards any direction that I want, the fact I can take photos even while recording a video with just one press of a button, and the fact that I can make it invisible even while recording a video. I just love it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 26, 2018

      Customer S., Marketing & Media Coordinator

      Dear Valued Customer,

      Thank you for your feedback. Your feedback is valuable for us. In case of any issues, you can call us on 888-596-2538.

      Thanks & Regards,

      Customer Service

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    My Mirror Cam

    • Middleburg, FL,
    • Jan 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have owned this device for two years and have had no problem with the operation. It is heavy and drags the mirror down, but I fixed that by using tape to hold it up properly in the driving position. My only complaint is the Quick Start Guide is very hard to read.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 24, 2019

      Customer S., Marketing & Media Coordinator

      Dear Valued Customer,

      Thank you for your feedback, we will forward your request to management and try to work on it to make the manual more user-friendly.

      In case of any further questions, you can call us on 888-596-2538 or email us on customerservice@inventel.tv

      Thanks & Regards,

      Inventel Products

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 25 out 35 people found this review helpful

    It works

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Aug 7, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I got the camera a while ago. Only bothered to install it recently as drivers keep cutting me off and only just avoided an accident where I was in the car pool lane, and I was cut off by someone crossing into it illegally.

    The camera works as stated. I got a 32gb 400X transcend memory card for it. Plugged that it BEFORE I turned the unit on, and it worked fine. The menus can be confusing initially, but a quick glance at the manual and I was able to figure out the rest in a few seconds.

    The screen isn't very bright in broad day light. Which makes quickly glancing an issue.

    Video quality during the day is good. At night though, it degrades to the point of being poor. And this is including the night mode with IR. Overall. Night footage would be usable, but it's nowhere near as good as day time. Understandable that a cheap camera will have sensitivity limitations in terms of ISO etc., but this still has to be mentioned as bad at night. At least the anti glare function works well.

    Mounting the cam can be a pain. I hated trying to run wires. I eventually settled on the wires running on the top and sides of my windshield. My car has a 12v port underneath the cubby hole, so everything looks very neat and hidden with a bit of cable management

    Overall, a decent product.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (9)
    View all 9 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 8, 2017

      Customer S., Marketing & Media Coordinator

      Hi John,

      Thank you for the time that you have taken to review our product. Please give our customer service a call at 323-375-1042, as we are constantly working on ways to improve our products to keep our customers happy.

      Thank you,

      InvenTel Products

    • Aug 25, 2017

      Carol

      I can't agree or disagree with the reviews because I'm still waiting for my camera, it's going on four weeks now. The tracking number I received attached to an emailed receipt does not exist in the UPS system. I've been trying for days now to get someone to send me the correct tracking number, but all I get is another number that also does not exist.

      Now I'm fed up and want a refund and now no one is responding. Everything starts with customer service, if the service sucks I wouldn't recommend the company to anyone. I would not recommend ordering the HD camera. It takes too long to get answers.

    • Sep 12, 2017

      Marius B. Lakeman

      I bought two cameras about a month ago. I thought the memory cards were included, so I got two cards at Staples. One works fine but the other one does not I tried everything possible to get it started. What can I do? Thanks.

    • Sep 15, 2017

      Splotchie

      I am pleased that I visited this HighYa website. It was very informative and has helped me decide NOT to purchase the HD Mirror Cam. I had already pulled out my wallet and was about to order when I came upon this website. Thank you so MUCH! It appears that I have been saved a lot of grief. Thanks again. I will be coming back here many times over.

    • Sep 15, 2017

      Deford valentine

      Why is the mirror on this unit so dark? The advertisement on TV shows a well-defined standard mirror. I sent mine back.

    • Sep 16, 2017

      Brian Christensen

      Horrible picture quality. I can't even read the license plate number of a vehicle directly in front of me. The picture is nothing like the ones I see on YouTube. I'll be sending it back and looking for something better, other than that it is easy to install. Although, it is wider than my regular rearview mirror and gets in the way of the sun visor.

    • Sep 22, 2017

      Rick Soucie

      I ordered three units with SD cards and couldn't get the units to function properly because the SD cards were faulty. After purchasing an SD card from Walgreens, all units worked beautifully and I was able to download it to my PC without a problem. I would recommend these units but DO NOT use their SD cards, buy your own high-end SD cards.

      Rich S.

    • Sep 23, 2017

      Bob

      I ordered two of the HD Mirror Cam during the first week in August with the 32GB SD cards, I used one of the two in a few local shopping trips then I tried it for a 200 mile trip on 9/21/17 and the screen says "no card" even though this an expensive card, it was working and installed as per instructions. How do we make it work or is the lifespan of this HD Mirror Cam only less than a week of actual use? Perhaps, someone from HD Mirror Cam can call me and explain. Inventel please contact me or refund the entire price.

    • Sep 26, 2017

      Customer S., Marketing & Media Coordinator

      Dear Customer,

      We appreciate your feedback. We would request you to please visit our website on www.inventel.tv for more products. For any future questions, you can call us at 323-375-1042 or email us at customerservice@inventel.tv.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 30 out 31 people found this review helpful

    Honest review

    I experienced that same trouble that many buyers are complaining about. The HD Mirror Cam will not read the SD card. It's very important that I record my daily drive since I drive close to 4500 miles per month for work.

    As a last ditch effort, I stopped at a local Walmart and picked up a quality SD card, and all of my troubles have vanished. Even though the cam works perfectly now, I feel that I was overcharged for a product that failed within 30 days. The SD card I purchased had twice the capacity and cost half the price.

    The only way you make me feel whole is to send me another HD Cam, and I will purchase my on SD card.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 3, 2017

      Customer S., Marketing & Media Coordinator

      Dear Customer,

      We apologize for the inconvenience we would have been more than happy to help you, please get in touch with us for any issues on 973-531-4421 or customerservice@inventel.tv so that we can help you resolve the issue.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 37 out 37 people found this review helpful

    Only 3 stars at this point for I just ordered

    I just ordered and already I'm so heated. It's on a Saturday, so of course, you can't talk to anyone. I called within the 10 minutes, went through the whole recording (not liking that it was a recorder), and then my phone texted me to show me a charge of $147.97 from HD Cam and my order #. Of course, I only got one Cam at $49.95, 32 GB SD card at $19.99 and insurance/priority shipping at $78. And now I'm tied up on money issues.

    I don't like at all that they took that $147.97 charge, which is a $70 overcharge! I'm not happy about making the phone call and trusting this on TV, so I thought I was safe, and now I am here reading all these bad things about the HD Cam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 3, 2017

      Customer S., Marketing & Media Coordinator

      Dear Customer,

      You have ordered for 2 units of HD MIrror cam $49.99/pc x 2=$99.98, 2 units of 32GB/19.99 x 2=$39.98 and priority processing $5.99. Which gives you a total of $99.98+$39.98+$5.99+$1.99 insured shipping = $147.90.

      Please let us know how you wish to proceed.

    • Oct 10, 2017

      Suzanne

      I planned to order one Mirror Cam but I fell for the special price of two. Then I learned that they charged me for three, so I contacted customer service and they promptly refunded the charge. They still shipped three items. I called customer service again to get information on returning one of them. I never received the return label that they promised me.

      I placed another call to customer service and they ended up shipping out ANOTHER three mirrors. Now I have six but I haven’t been charged for any of them. I would love to give a review on how it works but I haven’t even had time to install it because I’ve spent all my spare time talking to their customer service department.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Card reader doesn't work

    • Athens, AL,
    • Mar 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    First of all, every time I turn on my vehicle, it says "No Card," so I have to keep pushing the tiny little card down, and after 3-5 times it stops the error.

    So, I thought I was recording, but not sure. I took out the SD Card, placed it in the thumb drive reader and nothing, no video.

    Also, I have a question I can't find the answer to in the manual and don't want to call after all the negative comments about customer service. But, does this unit record and video and audio together? The choices are video, audio, still shot, but nothing about video and audio. What am I missing?

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 29, 2018

      Customer S., Marketing & Media Coordinator

      Dear Valued Customer,

      Thank you for your business, the HD Mirror Cam has the ability to record audio/video together. In this case, just reset the camera once and it should work, the rest button is behind the camera you just need to insert a pin.

      In case of any further questions, you can call us at 888-596-2538 or email us on customerservice@inventel.tv, and refer to your order number.

      Thanks & Regards,

      Inventel Products

    • Apr 21, 2018

      Allen Miller

      I was going to order two of these, and thank goodness I read the reviews because I definitely WILL NOT order! So sad, it is a great concept.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 53 out 56 people found this review helpful

    Design

    Very poor design. The battery should last more than 60 minutes, so you do not have to see the USB cable hanging in the middle of the windshield. In daylight, you cannot see the little screen. USB and SD card should be either on the side or bottom of the mirror.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (5)
    View all 5 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 3, 2017

      Customer S., Marketing & Media Coordinator

      Hi Hugo,

      Thank you for your input on the HD Mirror Cam. We care about the satisfaction of our customers so please give our Customer Service a call at (323)-374-1042. We are open to any suggestions and look carefully into each of them.

      Thank you,

      InvenTel Products

    • Jul 3, 2017

      Jimmy Stone

      It seems to have a light scratchy sound. Also, there is nothing mentioned about the red flashing dot on the top of the screen.

    • Jul 7, 2017

      Customer S., Marketing & Media Coordinator

      Hi Jimmy,

      We apologize for this. Please do not hesitate to give us a call at (323)-375-1042 and we will gladly help you find a solution for your problem such as replacing your HD Mirror Cam.

      Thank you,

      InvenTel Products

    • Jul 11, 2017

      Archie smith

      Can you clarify the resolution for me? VGA 1.3m, 2m, 3m, I don't know what it means if I record on 2m. Do I have less space on the SD? Having 1.3m, you can't make out license plate numbers in front of you but you can on VGA. However, it has less space on SD with 1.3m.

    • Sep 26, 2017

      Customer S., Marketing & Media Coordinator

      Dear Customer,

      The battery lasts for a maximum of one hour. Also, to update you on the cable, we are already working on how can we avoid it from distracting or hanging in the car. Meanwhile, if you have any issues you can call us at 323-375-1042 or email us at customerservice@inventel.tv.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 77

Write a Review for HD Mirror Cam!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review