What Is HD Mirror Cam?

By HighYa Staff
Published on: Jan 26, 2016

Editorial disclosure: We get a commission from InvenTel when you make a purchase through the links located on this post. Learn More

Featuring a built-in 2.5" LCD, HD Mirror Cam installs in seconds and acts as a temporary replacement for your factory issued rearview mirror, while providing the ability to capture video, photos, and audio.

Using this LCD (with screen shut off mode for safety while driving), the device allows you to immediately view your footage and other media, or download it directly to a computer with the included SD memory card reader.

Like many other models, HD Mirror Cam’s motion detection allows you to record even when you’re not in the car, while the automatic ignition start will begin recording when you turn your car on, and then stop when the ignition is turned off.

Unlike the competition, though, the company claims it comes with exclusive night vision that automatically adjusts for different levels of light.

It certainly seems like HD Mirror Cam includes a lot of must-have features. But will it deliver meaningfully better value in the long run? Let’s kick off our conversation by taking a closer look at the device’s features.

How Does HD Mirror Cam Work?

Perhaps the easiest way to think of HD Mirror Cam is as a standard rearview mirror, but without an arm that attaches to a windshield. Instead, it uses two flexible rubber straps that attach to the top and bottom of the device, which then wrap around the back of your existing mirror.

Directly underneath is the device’s rotating camera, which features a central lens and one infrared LED on each side. These emit a specific wavelength of light that allows the camera to see clearly at night, which is a very common technology found in these types of cameras.

Offer: Click here to Buy the HD Mirror Cam

Everything the camera records is displayed on the built-in 2.5" LCD, which can also be switched off to maximize mirror space and avoid distractions while driving.

HD Mirror CamIn the left image, we can see how HD Mirror Cam attaches using flexible rubber bands, while the right image shows the 2.5" display. Image credit: Taken from www.hdmirrorcam.com June 2017

How Much Does HD Mirror Cam Cost?

One HD Mirror Cam is priced at $49.99 plus $9.99 S&H, although the site indicates you’ll earn free S&H if you order two or more.

Each camera comes with a car charger/adaptor, two soft bands, a USB SD card reader, an instruction manual, and mounting wire clips.

Note: The commercial indicates you’ll be able to upgrade your kit to include a micro SD memory card for as little as $7.99, although this offer wasn't presented when we attempted to check out. However, third-party options could be found elsewhere online for between $15 and $60+, depending on storage size.

All HD Mirror Cams come with a 60-day money back guarantee, less S&H. You can request one by contacting customer support at 323-375-1042 or customerservice@inventel.tv.

Which Features Should You Look For In a Rearview Mirror Camera?

Even if you recently started researching dashboard cameras, you probably already recognize that there are thousands of different options available, in all sizes, designs, and price points. How can you choose the best model for your needs?

Offer: Click here to Buy the HD Mirror Cam

While they admit there are many more, CarCamCentral lists three key features they always look for when purchasing a dashboard camera:

1. Messaging – They recommend looking for “persistent and highly visible written messages,” and even audible warnings. Why?

Because these cameras (and the SD cards they contain) are repeatedly exposed to big temperature fluctuations and humidity, so failure is inevitable. And you want to know about any potential problems before you get into an accident.

2. Video Quality – The higher the video quality, the more protection you ultimately have (and that’s probably why you’re thinking about purchasing one in the first place, right?), since you’ll have a better chance of catching details like a license plate number or a person’s face after a hit and run.

3. Battery – If no battery is present, then the camera can’t record once your car is turned off.

From these perspectives, HD Mirror Cam seems to check most of the boxes, although some of the customers above reported that its video quality left something to be desired. Are there any other noteworthy points?

Important Points to Consider About HD Mirror Cam

While we didn’t test the device ourselves, we think there are some other important considerations to keep in mind before deciding on any dashcam option:

How visible do you want the camera to be? While HD Mirror Cam attaches to your rearview mirror and won’t impede your line of sight, it seems like it could add a meaningful amount of bulk (aesthetically or otherwise). Also, you’ll need to be comfortable with the added wires running along your windshield and dashboard.

Next, while HD Mirror Cam claims to record up to 14 hours (on an endless loop, if you choose), remember that this wholly depends on the size of your SD card. Which, again, isn’t included with your order.

We’ve mentioned this aspect in some of our other dashboard camera articles, but keep in mind that HD Mirror Cam can only record in one direction at a time. So, if your vehicle is parked while motion detection is activated, and the camera is pointed forward (for example), it likely wouldn’t do much good if someone broke in through your driver’s side door.

Offer: Click here to Buy the HD Mirror Cam

If a situation like this is your primary concern, some companies manufacture dual-lens (or two-channel) dash cams that simultaneously record front and back (or any other two directions you’d like), usually with a picture-in-picture real-time display.

Lastly, it’s certainly positive that HD Mirror Cam features night vision, which uses two infrared LEDs to emit a wavelength of light not visible by the human eye, although it can be detected by the device’s camera.

This way, these LEDs provide illumination for the camera, without causing a glare off the windshield, which could lead to distorted video quality and impeded vision for the driver.

While useful, this type of night vision is a common feature found on dashboard and rearview mirror cameras at most price points.

What Can We Learn From HD Mirror Cam Reviews?

Since writing our original article, 29 HighYa readers provided feedback about their experiences with HD Mirror Cam, giving the device an average rating of 1.8 stars.

Here, common compliments referenced ease of use and solid value, while complaints seemed related to lower quality than expected, difficult customer service experiences, and ordering concerns (primarily higher charges than expected and a drawn-out automated ordering process).

We also encountered more than 29 customer reviews on HSN.com, where HD Mirror Cam had a slightly higher average rating of 3.7 star rating. Except for ordering concerns, many expressed the same compliments and complaints as those found on HighYa.

From a company perspective, HD Mirror Cam is manufactured by Inventel Products, a popular ASOTV company who’s responsible for other hits over the years like Gripeez, DashCam Pro, and HD Free TV Antenna, to name just a few.

Granted, our goal isn’t to insinuate that you’ll experience any of the same—only to make sure you have everything you need to make a fully empowered buying decision.

Our Bottom Line About the HD Mirror Cam

Obviously a final—and perhaps the biggest—factor to consider is price. And at $60 including shipping, HD Mirror Cam seems very reasonable priced compared to the competition, some of which could exceed $200 at the time of our research.

If you watched the full 15-minute video from CarCamCentral above, they outlined that purchasing a new dashcam largely comes down to a mixture of 1) cheap, 2) reliable, and 3) high performance.

In other words, you might find an option that leans heavily toward high performance, although it might not be very inexpensive. Or, if you focus on the lowest possible price, you could sacrifice performance and reliability.

And with some of HD Mirror Cam’s essential features like HD 720p video, a 350° rotating camera, and one-touch photo snap, it might be the case that this option provides an even balance between these factors.

And if you find that it doesn’t, Inventel seems to stand behind the device with a two-month return policy. Just keep in mind you’ll lose your initial S&H, plus whatever it’ll cost to ship back.

Before clicking away, be sure to talk about your HD Mirror Cam experience by writing a review below!

Article Last Updated on June 9, 2017

Offer: Click here to Buy the HD Mirror Cam

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

69 Consumer Reviews for HD Mirror Cam

Average Consumer Rating: 1.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 4 4 star: 1 3 star: 3 2 star: 8 1 star:  53
Bottom Line: 9% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 69
Sort reviews by:

  • Don't buy. Doesn't work like they claim.

    • Boynton Beach, FL,
    • Oct 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My camera took two weeks to arrive. It lasted less than 10 minutes. LCD screen that you use to change settings went blank.

    I had to email and call to get a return shipping label. Almost a month later still no replacement, despite three emails promising the replacement will be shipped immediately. DO NOT buy this product!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Camera lense defective. Also, screen does not stay on.

    • Buena Park, CA,
    • Oct 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Useless as it is. The camera lens is defective. You cannot make out what it is seeing. LCD screen does not stay on more than 1 second. Power cord has become faulty. Now I lay me down to sleep.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • This Mirror Cam is not worth the money, it's not dependable

    • Alabama,
    • Oct 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This Mirror Cam is not dependable. It changes settings on its own. When you select the setting you want, click on ok to accept your option, then it changes back to off in seconds, it changes on its on like it doesn't save your choice. Calling the As Seen On TV company is a waste of time - they don't answer the phone and when they do, you might understand what they are saying, you might not, but either way, they don't care about any issue you have with the product after the sale. I will be reporting this product to the consumer service commission ASAP.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Customer service is the worst

    • Kissimmee, FL,
    • Sep 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I reverse on the camera stopped working. All green. My husband has called several times. The first call we will send out a return label. Nothing showed up. The second time, they can't find our order. This is crap. I will not recommend. My husband got the extended warranty for nothing. Their customer service is the worse. We will NOT recommend this product. I did provide the order number below, but I know it will not do us any good. They have an excuse for everything and don't follow through with anything they say.

    Do not buy this product!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 19, 2018

      Customer Service, Marketing & Media Coordinator

      Dear Valued Customer,

      Thank you for your business. Please provide us with your order number and call us at 888-596-2538, or email us with your order number to customerservice@inventel.tv.

      Thanks & Regards,

      Customer Service

      www.inventel.tv

    • Sep 23, 2018

      Arthur M.

      The camera worked for ten hours before it just stopped working. Now I have a $50 mirror. Junk!

    • Oct 3, 2018

      ian c.

      My cam mirror is not staying on.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Do not buy this product!

    • Pawtucket, RI,
    • Sep 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The power cord worked for about two days. I bought two - one for a 2016 Mercedes Benz and another for a 2005 Dodge Ram. One worked for about a day and the other worked for about a week. They told me it's my responsibility to buy new cords! You cannot buy those anywhere. Almost $200 down the drain (you need to buy extra memory chips). My advice is, please DO NOT waste your money like I did!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 19, 2018

      Customer Service, Marketing & Media Coordinator

      Dear Valued Customer,

      Thank you for your business, in the commercial and on the website, it clearly mentions that you need to buy the SD card separately. If you any issues with the power cord, please call us at 888-596-2538 or email us with your order number to customerservice@inventel.tv.

      Thanks & Regards,

      Customer Service

      www.inventel.tv

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Buy elsewere

    • Ontario, Canada,
    • Aug 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased two cameras, but they sent to a shipping company in Michigan. I asked them to send to Ontario, Canada. It was sent by mail and of course, the Canadian Customs would not allow it to be forwarded to me, so it was returned to the USA. It took me a while to get to the US on a trip. Well, guess what, they do NOT work. I tried to work with the seller and got nowhere, they just state that it was over 30 days. Too bad, so why take a chance and purchase here? Buy from a store, so you can return it and don't get told to take it to a radio repair shop. I have a new camera repaired that should have been repaired on their dime. It cost me about 20 clams and got ripped off.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 24, 2018

      Customer Service, Marketing & Media Coordinator

      Dear Valued Customer,

      Thank you for your business, we apologize for the inconvenience, in this case, we would suggest that you call us on our toll-free 1-888-596-2538 so that we can assist you better on this topic.

      Thanks & Regards,

      Customer Service

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Do not waste your money

    • Greenville, SC,
    • Aug 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Wasted money. Do not buy this; mine worked off and on for about a month. I emailed the company and got a response "Sorry for your trouble. Try the reset button." The reset button worked a few times, but not anymore. After maybe three hours of active use, the unit now shows no image at all. The reset button doesn't work anymore. It makes a nice mirror, that's all I can say. The camera is junk.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 17, 2018

      Customer Service, Marketing & Media Coordinator

      Dear Customer,

      Please call us at 888-596-2538 so that we can help in setting it up, or please send us an email on customerservice@inventel.tv, so that we can help you with your issue.

      Thanks & Regards,

      Customer Service

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Awful

    • Malibu, CA,
    • Aug 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've had an engineer neighbor try to figure it out. It doesn't do much of anything it shows on TV. I wanted to reach a REAL PERSON when I called the 800 number...NOTHING. You can't reach anyone by phone, can't reach anyone by internet! Too much time went by for me to cancel on the credit card, but I tell everyone DON'T BUY. I've seen better ones that are easy to operate from regular stores that my friends showed me. If you can't reach Customer Service, stop shopping TV/online! Every time we purchased something that way, all of it was returned. A waste of time/money and misleading at times.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 17, 2018

      Customer Service, Marketing & Media Coordinator

      Dear Customer,

      Please call us at 888-596-2538, so that we can help in setting it up, or please send us an email on customerservice@inventel.tv, so that we can help you with your issue.

      Thanks & Regards,

      Customer Service

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    No SD card

    • Bay City, TX,
    • Jul 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have had it for three weeks. Now it gives a message saying "No SD Card." I have tried different cards. I have tried resetting it and nothing works, including the phone number for tech support (888-596-2538), there is just a recording on the phone that it's disconnected. Great tech support.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (4)
    View all 4 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 31, 2018

      Customer Service, Marketing & Media Coordinator

      Dear Valued Customer,

      We apologize for the inconvenience caused, in this case, our tech team will call you today itself and get the thing resolved for you.

      Thanks & Regards,

      Customer Service

    • Aug 4, 2018

      Kenneth C.

      I just bought the cam and it’s not working correctly, it's the square box that’s supposed to show you what the camera is seeing, but it’s just solid white. When I first plugged it up, it was working. Now nothing, can someone help?

    • Aug 6, 2018

      Anna C.

      I purchased the Mirror Cam five weeks ago, and the video doesn't activate on the videocam. It lights up but the police car picture doesn't change. I cannot access the menu to change anything. I removed the memory card and inserted into the card reader and even into my computer to see if anything was recording. The card reader is acknowledged as a storage but won't open. I sent three emails asking for help, there is no response, and they don't answer their phone. There's no support. Don't waste your money. No recommendation from me.

    • Aug 7, 2018

      Customer Service, Marketing & Media Coordinator

      Dear Customer,

      Please call us at 888-596-2538, so that we can help in setting it up.

      Thanks & Regards,

      Customer Service

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Piece of crapola!

    • Jul 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased two of these cams and they are both a piece of crap. They stopped working just a few days after installing them, and you cannot get in touch with the company for the refund in the 60-day period. NO WAY. They DO NOT answer the phones or emails, so the warranty is no good! I am going through PayPal to try to get a refund.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 26, 2018

      Customer Service, Marketing & Media Coordinator

      Dear Valued Customer,

      Thank you for your business, please try to reset the camera, if it still dose not work you can call our tech team on 888-596-2538 and we will be happy to help you. Also, if you have the 60-day money back warranty, we will do replacement or refund at no cost to you.

      Thanks & Regards,

      Customer Service

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Poor quality

    • California,
    • Jul 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Mirror Cam worked for several months, ie, past the two month return period, the Mirror Cam would not stay powered on and the rechargeable battery is not replaceable. Now it is just any expensive rear view mirror. Customer support says I should have bought the extended warranty. I say poor quality device.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 17, 2018

      Customer Service, Marketing & Media Coordinator

      Dear Valued Customer,

      Thank you for your business. In this case, you can try to use another charger or you can order a new charger from us for $5.95.

      Thanks & Regards,

      Customer Service

    • Jul 19, 2018

      Don H.

      I purchased two HD Dash Cams and one of them stopped working within three days of operation. I cannot get in touch with anyone to remedy my problem. I have tried to call and email to no avail. I would suggest not buying these products since they are not dependable and you cannot get in touch with any technical support for help, or get a replacement!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 69

Write a Review for HD Mirror Cam!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review