What Is HD Mirror Cam?

By HighYa Staff
Published on: Jan 26, 2016

Editorial disclosure: We get a commission from InvenTel when you make a purchase through the links located on this post. Learn More

Featuring a built-in 2.5" LCD, HD Mirror Cam installs in seconds and acts as a temporary replacement for your factory issued rearview mirror, while providing the ability to capture video, photos, and audio.

Using this LCD (with screen shut off mode for safety while driving), the device allows you to immediately view your footage and other media, or download it directly to a computer with the included SD memory card reader.

Like many other models, HD Mirror Cam’s motion detection allows you to record even when you’re not in the car, while the automatic ignition start will begin recording when you turn your car on, and then stop when the ignition is turned off.

Unlike the competition, though, the company claims it comes with exclusive night vision that automatically adjusts for different levels of light.

It certainly seems like HD Mirror Cam includes a lot of must-have features. But will it deliver meaningfully better value in the long run? Let’s kick off our conversation by taking a closer look at the device’s features.

How Does HD Mirror Cam Work?

Perhaps the easiest way to think of HD Mirror Cam is as a standard rearview mirror, but without an arm that attaches to a windshield. Instead, it uses two flexible rubber straps that attach to the top and bottom of the device, which then wrap around the back of your existing mirror.

Directly underneath is the device’s rotating camera, which features a central lens and one infrared LED on each side. These emit a specific wavelength of light that allows the camera to see clearly at night, which is a very common technology found in these types of cameras.

Offer: Click here to Buy the HD Mirror Cam

Everything the camera records is displayed on the built-in 2.5" LCD, which can also be switched off to maximize mirror space and avoid distractions while driving.

HD Mirror CamIn the left image, we can see how HD Mirror Cam attaches using flexible rubber bands, while the right image shows the 2.5" display. Image credit: Taken from www.hdmirrorcam.com June 2017

How Much Does HD Mirror Cam Cost?

One HD Mirror Cam is priced at $49.99 plus $9.99 S&H, although the site indicates you’ll earn free S&H if you order two or more.

Each camera comes with a car charger/adaptor, two soft bands, a USB SD card reader, an instruction manual, and mounting wire clips.

Note: The commercial indicates you’ll be able to upgrade your kit to include a micro SD memory card for as little as $7.99, although this offer wasn't presented when we attempted to check out. However, third-party options could be found elsewhere online for between $15 and $60+, depending on storage size.

All HD Mirror Cams come with a 60-day money back guarantee, less S&H. You can request one by contacting customer support at 323-375-1042 or customerservice@inventel.tv.

Which Features Should You Look For In a Rearview Mirror Camera?

Even if you recently started researching dashboard cameras, you probably already recognize that there are thousands of different options available, in all sizes, designs, and price points. How can you choose the best model for your needs?

Offer: Click here to Buy the HD Mirror Cam

While they admit there are many more, CarCamCentral lists three key features they always look for when purchasing a dashboard camera:

1. Messaging – They recommend looking for “persistent and highly visible written messages,” and even audible warnings. Why?

Because these cameras (and the SD cards they contain) are repeatedly exposed to big temperature fluctuations and humidity, so failure is inevitable. And you want to know about any potential problems before you get into an accident.

2. Video Quality – The higher the video quality, the more protection you ultimately have (and that’s probably why you’re thinking about purchasing one in the first place, right?), since you’ll have a better chance of catching details like a license plate number or a person’s face after a hit and run.

3. Battery – If no battery is present, then the camera can’t record once your car is turned off.

From these perspectives, HD Mirror Cam seems to check most of the boxes, although some of the customers above reported that its video quality left something to be desired. Are there any other noteworthy points?

Important Points to Consider About HD Mirror Cam

While we didn’t test the device ourselves, we think there are some other important considerations to keep in mind before deciding on any dashcam option:

How visible do you want the camera to be? While HD Mirror Cam attaches to your rearview mirror and won’t impede your line of sight, it seems like it could add a meaningful amount of bulk (aesthetically or otherwise). Also, you’ll need to be comfortable with the added wires running along your windshield and dashboard.

Next, while HD Mirror Cam claims to record up to 14 hours (on an endless loop, if you choose), remember that this wholly depends on the size of your SD card. Which, again, isn’t included with your order.

We’ve mentioned this aspect in some of our other dashboard camera articles, but keep in mind that HD Mirror Cam can only record in one direction at a time. So, if your vehicle is parked while motion detection is activated, and the camera is pointed forward (for example), it likely wouldn’t do much good if someone broke in through your driver’s side door.

Offer: Click here to Buy the HD Mirror Cam

If a situation like this is your primary concern, some companies manufacture dual-lens (or two-channel) dash cams that simultaneously record front and back (or any other two directions you’d like), usually with a picture-in-picture real-time display.

Lastly, it’s certainly positive that HD Mirror Cam features night vision, which uses two infrared LEDs to emit a wavelength of light not visible by the human eye, although it can be detected by the device’s camera.

This way, these LEDs provide illumination for the camera, without causing a glare off the windshield, which could lead to distorted video quality and impeded vision for the driver.

While useful, this type of night vision is a common feature found on dashboard and rearview mirror cameras at most price points.

What Can We Learn From HD Mirror Cam Reviews?

Since writing our original article, 29 HighYa readers provided feedback about their experiences with HD Mirror Cam, giving the device an average rating of 1.8 stars.

Here, common compliments referenced ease of use and solid value, while complaints seemed related to lower quality than expected, difficult customer service experiences, and ordering concerns (primarily higher charges than expected and a drawn-out automated ordering process).

We also encountered more than 29 customer reviews on HSN.com, where HD Mirror Cam had a slightly higher average rating of 3.7 star rating. Except for ordering concerns, many expressed the same compliments and complaints as those found on HighYa.

From a company perspective, HD Mirror Cam is manufactured by Inventel Products, a popular ASOTV company who’s responsible for other hits over the years like Gripeez, DashCam Pro, and HD Free TV Antenna, to name just a few.

Granted, our goal isn’t to insinuate that you’ll experience any of the same—only to make sure you have everything you need to make a fully empowered buying decision.

Our Bottom Line About the HD Mirror Cam

Obviously a final—and perhaps the biggest—factor to consider is price. And at $60 including shipping, HD Mirror Cam seems very reasonable priced compared to the competition, some of which could exceed $200 at the time of our research.

If you watched the full 15-minute video from CarCamCentral above, they outlined that purchasing a new dashcam largely comes down to a mixture of 1) cheap, 2) reliable, and 3) high performance.

In other words, you might find an option that leans heavily toward high performance, although it might not be very inexpensive. Or, if you focus on the lowest possible price, you could sacrifice performance and reliability.

And with some of HD Mirror Cam’s essential features like HD 720p video, a 350° rotating camera, and one-touch photo snap, it might be the case that this option provides an even balance between these factors.

And if you find that it doesn’t, Inventel seems to stand behind the device with a two-month return policy. Just keep in mind you’ll lose your initial S&H, plus whatever it’ll cost to ship back.

Before clicking away, be sure to talk about your HD Mirror Cam experience by writing a review below!

Article Last Updated on June 9, 2017

Offer: Click here to Buy the HD Mirror Cam

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

63 Consumer Reviews for HD Mirror Cam

Average Consumer Rating: 1.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 4 4 star: 1 3 star: 3 2 star: 8 1 star:  47
Bottom Line: 10% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 63
Sort reviews by:

  • Do not waste your money

    • Greenville, SC,
    • Aug 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Wasted money. Do not buy this; mine worked off and on for about a month. I emailed the company and got a response "Sorry for your trouble. Try the reset button." The reset button worked a few times, but not anymore. After maybe three hours of active use, the unit now shows no image at all. The reset button doesn't work anymore. It makes a nice mirror, that's all I can say. The camera is junk.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 17, 2018

      Customer Service, Marketing & Media Coordinator

      Dear Customer,

      Please call us at 888-596-2538 so that we can help in setting it up, or please send us an email on customerservice@inventel.tv, so that we can help you with your issue.

      Thanks & Regards,

      Customer Service

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Awful

    • Malibu, CA,
    • Aug 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've had an engineer neighbor try to figure it out. It doesn't do much of anything it shows on TV. I wanted to reach a REAL PERSON when I called the 800 number...NOTHING. You can't reach anyone by phone, can't reach anyone by internet! Too much time went by for me to cancel on the credit card, but I tell everyone DON'T BUY. I've seen better ones that are easy to operate from regular stores that my friends showed me. If you can't reach Customer Service, stop shopping TV/online! Every time we purchased something that way, all of it was returned. A waste of time/money and misleading at times.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 17, 2018

      Customer Service, Marketing & Media Coordinator

      Dear Customer,

      Please call us at 888-596-2538, so that we can help in setting it up, or please send us an email on customerservice@inventel.tv, so that we can help you with your issue.

      Thanks & Regards,

      Customer Service

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    No SD card

    • Bay City, TX,
    • Jul 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have had it for three weeks. Now it gives a message saying "No SD Card." I have tried different cards. I have tried resetting it and nothing works, including the phone number for tech support (888-596-2538), there is just a recording on the phone that it's disconnected. Great tech support.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (4)
    View all 4 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 31, 2018

      Customer Service, Marketing & Media Coordinator

      Dear Valued Customer,

      We apologize for the inconvenience caused, in this case, our tech team will call you today itself and get the thing resolved for you.

      Thanks & Regards,

      Customer Service

    • Aug 4, 2018

      Kenneth C.

      I just bought the cam and it’s not working correctly, it's the square box that’s supposed to show you what the camera is seeing, but it’s just solid white. When I first plugged it up, it was working. Now nothing, can someone help?

    • Aug 6, 2018

      Anna C.

      I purchased the Mirror Cam five weeks ago, and the video doesn't activate on the videocam. It lights up but the police car picture doesn't change. I cannot access the menu to change anything. I removed the memory card and inserted into the card reader and even into my computer to see if anything was recording. The card reader is acknowledged as a storage but won't open. I sent three emails asking for help, there is no response, and they don't answer their phone. There's no support. Don't waste your money. No recommendation from me.

    • Aug 7, 2018

      Customer Service, Marketing & Media Coordinator

      Dear Customer,

      Please call us at 888-596-2538, so that we can help in setting it up.

      Thanks & Regards,

      Customer Service

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Piece of crapola!

    • Jul 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased two of these cams and they are both a piece of crap. They stopped working just a few days after installing them, and you cannot get in touch with the company for the refund in the 60-day period. NO WAY. They DO NOT answer the phones or emails, so the warranty is no good! I am going through PayPal to try to get a refund.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 26, 2018

      Customer Service, Marketing & Media Coordinator

      Dear Valued Customer,

      Thank you for your business, please try to reset the camera, if it still dose not work you can call our tech team on 888-596-2538 and we will be happy to help you. Also, if you have the 60-day money back warranty, we will do replacement or refund at no cost to you.

      Thanks & Regards,

      Customer Service

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Poor quality

    • California,
    • Jul 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Mirror Cam worked for several months, ie, past the two month return period, the Mirror Cam would not stay powered on and the rechargeable battery is not replaceable. Now it is just any expensive rear view mirror. Customer support says I should have bought the extended warranty. I say poor quality device.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 17, 2018

      Customer Service, Marketing & Media Coordinator

      Dear Valued Customer,

      Thank you for your business. In this case, you can try to use another charger or you can order a new charger from us for $5.95.

      Thanks & Regards,

      Customer Service

    • Jul 19, 2018

      Don H.

      I purchased two HD Dash Cams and one of them stopped working within three days of operation. I cannot get in touch with anyone to remedy my problem. I have tried to call and email to no avail. I would suggest not buying these products since they are not dependable and you cannot get in touch with any technical support for help, or get a replacement!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Cam stop working just before crash

    • Rochester Hills, MI,
    • Jun 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We went out for ice cream on Saturday night (6/16/18) and the cam was working. On our way home the cam was working. Our accident happened at 10:13 pm. The HD Mirror Cam stopped recording video at 10:11 pm. Only audio was recorded at our crash. Right after the crash, the cam came back on. A car ran a red light in front of us. Our car was severely damaged. I have tried to contact HD Mirror Cam. No luck. The number on my HD Mirror Cam is BMCH100413226345.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 28, 2018

      Customer Service, Marketing & Media Coordinator

      Dear Valued Customer,

      Thank you for your business, we apologize for the inconvenience caused to you. In this case, you can reset the camera once, and if it still not work, call our customer service at 888-596-2538, and we will replace the product for you if you are in 60-day warranty.

      Thanks and Regards,

      Customer Service

    • Jul 5, 2018

      Carold B.

      The camera does not work.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Doesn't work

    • Missouri,
    • Jun 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have not been able to get this to work. I have a 32GB SD Card in it and it refuses to recognize it. I don't know what else to do with it. There is no phone number to call. I really have nothing else to say. It was a good idea in theory, but not in practice.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 27, 2018

      Customer Service, Marketing & Media Coordinator

      Dear Valued Customer,

      Thank you for your business. We apologize for the inconvenience that we have caused you, in this case, we suggest you reset the camera once and if it still does not work, please call us on 888-596-2538, so that we can help you with the further action.

      If your order is with in 60 days money back warranty we will replace the product for you.

      Thanks & Regards,

      Customer Service

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Won't power up

    • Texas,
    • Jun 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I just got my dash cam about a month ago. I am having trouble! It won't turn on, the black screen doesn't power up at all, I removed the chip and unplugged! I turned on my truck, and it still doesn't work. It doesn't smell burnt! I called customer service and all they told me was to remove the chip and push the reset button for two minutes! It still doesn't work! Help!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 25, 2018

      Customer Service, Marketing & Media Coordinator

      Dear Valued Customer,

      Thank you for your business, we apologize for the inconvenience caused to you, in this case, you can call our customer service #888-596-2538 and we will replace the product for you if you are in 60 days warranty.

      Thanks and regards,

      Customer Service

    • Jul 22, 2018

      Ron B.

      I am having the same trouble as above. No card! Help! I have tried the two-minute reset, and it still does not work.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Scam! Don't buy! You have been warned!

    • New York,
    • Jun 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Stay away from this piece of junk. The mirror isn't even good. Objects are further than they appear. Now on to the Cam, the motion detection setting keeps resetting to off on its own. The Cam doesn't record on movement even though the setting is on. It is supposed to be a continuous loop, but it stopped recording once the SD card was full (using 32GB).

    After five months of this dealing with these flaws, it no longer works. It doesn't hold a charge nor does it work while it's plugged in. Live Chat claims it's a 60-day warranty and I did not buy a two-year warranty. This is a lie, I didn't receive any option at the time of purchase to buy a two-year warranty. A toaster at least comes with the one-year warranty. Nonsense. Oh well, I got rooked, but you don't have to. Don't buy this junk; you have been warned.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 20, 2018

      Customer Service, Marketing & Media Coordinator

      Dear Valued Customer,

      Thank you for your feedback. The hassle-free money back guarantee is for 60 days, and your order is well above it. You can call us on 888-596-2538 for technical assistance.

      Thanks & Regards,

      Customer Service

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Do no buy this product, zero stars

    • Utah,
    • Jun 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My husband bought this HD Mirror Cam for me for Christmas. It worked for about 4-5 months and then failed. I phoned their customer service for help. There is NO WARRANTY for the item, you have 60 days to return it, or you are out of luck.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 6, 2018

      Customer Service, Marketing & Media Coordinator

      Dear Valued Customer,

      We apologize for the inconvenience that was caused. We have a 60-day money back guarantee since your order is more than that we cannot do a replacement or a refund.

      Thanks & Regards,

      Customer Service

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 21 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Extremely disappointed

    • Denver, CO,
    • May 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased five of these mirrors for Christmas gifts.

    Two of the five (only five months later), no longer work. I tried everything. Including the reset button.

    Another one doesn’t turn on when the car is turned on. This has to be done manually each time.

    Customer service was horrible...another country. I could barely understand. Then I transferred to Alex a "supervisor” who said, “well, you should have bought the extended warranty.” If I would have known the longevity of this product was five months, I never would have bought them. Not a good way to keep your customers coming back.

    I do not recommend this. Horrible customer service and cheap product.

    If you’re one of the fortunate ones that purchased one that works after five months, consider yourself lucky.

    Do NOT buy!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 5, 2018

      Customer Service, Marketing & Media Coordinator

      Dear Valued Customer,

      We have a 60 days money days guarantee, and you are well above the warranty. We do refunds and replacement if the problem is within 60 days and if a customer has purchased a 2-year warranty.

      Thanks & Regards,

      Customer Service

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 63

Write a Review for HD Mirror Cam!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review