What Is HD Mirror Cam?

By HighYa Staff
Published on: Jan 26, 2016

Featuring a built-in 2.5" LCD, HD Mirror Cam installs in seconds and acts as a temporary replacement for your factory issued rearview mirror, while providing the ability to capture video, photos, and audio.

Using this LCD (with screen shut off mode for safety while driving), the device allows you to immediately view your footage and other media, or download it directly to a computer with the included SD memory card reader.

Like many other models, HD Mirror Cam’s motion detection allows you to record even when you’re not in the car, while the automatic ignition start will begin recording when you turn your car on, and then stop when the ignition is turned off.

Unlike the competition, though, the company claims it comes with exclusive night vision that automatically adjusts for different levels of light.

It certainly seems like HD Mirror Cam includes a lot of must-have features. But will it deliver meaningfully better value in the long run? Let’s kick off our conversation by taking a closer look at the device’s features.

How Does HD Mirror Cam Work?

Perhaps the easiest way to think of HD Mirror Cam is as a standard rearview mirror, but without an arm that attaches to a windshield. Instead, it uses two flexible rubber straps that attach to the top and bottom of the device, which then wrap around the back of your existing mirror.

Directly underneath is the device’s rotating camera, which features a central lens and one infrared LED on each side. These emit a specific wavelength of light that allows the camera to see clearly at night, which is a very common technology found in these types of cameras.

Everything the camera records is displayed on the built-in 2.5" LCD, which can also be switched off to maximize mirror space and avoid distractions while driving.

HD Mirror CamIn the left image, we can see how HD Mirror Cam attaches using flexible rubber bands, while the right image shows the 2.5" display. Image credit: Taken from www.hdmirrorcam.com June 2017

How Much Does HD Mirror Cam Cost?

One HD Mirror Cam is priced at $49.99 plus $9.99 S&H, although the site indicates you’ll earn free S&H if you order two or more.

Each camera comes with a car charger/adaptor, two soft bands, a USB SD card reader, an instruction manual, and mounting wire clips.

Note: The commercial indicates you’ll be able to upgrade your kit to include a micro SD memory card for as little as $7.99, although this offer wasn't presented when we attempted to check out. However, third-party options could be found elsewhere online for between $15 and $60+, depending on storage size.

All HD Mirror Cams come with a 60-day money back guarantee, less S&H. You can request one by contacting customer support at 323-375-1042 or customerservice@inventel.tv.

Which Features Should You Look For In a Rearview Mirror Camera?

Even if you recently started researching dashboard cameras, you probably already recognize that there are thousands of different options available, in all sizes, designs, and price points. How can you choose the best model for your needs?

While they admit there are many more, CarCamCentral lists three key features they always look for when purchasing a dashboard camera:

1. Messaging – They recommend looking for “persistent and highly visible written messages,” and even audible warnings. Why?

Because these cameras (and the SD cards they contain) are repeatedly exposed to big temperature fluctuations and humidity, so failure is inevitable. And you want to know about any potential problems before you get into an accident.

2. Video Quality – The higher the video quality, the more protection you ultimately have (and that’s probably why you’re thinking about purchasing one in the first place, right?), since you’ll have a better chance of catching details like a license plate number or a person’s face after a hit and run.

3. Battery – If no battery is present, then the camera can’t record once your car is turned off.

From these perspectives, HD Mirror Cam seems to check most of the boxes, although some of the customers above reported that its video quality left something to be desired. Are there any other noteworthy points?

Important Points to Consider About HD Mirror Cam

While we didn’t test the device ourselves, we think there are some other important considerations to keep in mind before deciding on any dashcam option:

How visible do you want the camera to be? While HD Mirror Cam attaches to your rearview mirror and won’t impede your line of sight, it seems like it could add a meaningful amount of bulk (aesthetically or otherwise). Also, you’ll need to be comfortable with the added wires running along your windshield and dashboard.

Next, while HD Mirror Cam claims to record up to 14 hours (on an endless loop, if you choose), remember that this wholly depends on the size of your SD card. Which, again, isn’t included with your order.

We’ve mentioned this aspect in some of our other dashboard camera articles, but keep in mind that HD Mirror Cam can only record in one direction at a time. So, if your vehicle is parked while motion detection is activated, and the camera is pointed forward (for example), it likely wouldn’t do much good if someone broke in through your driver’s side door.

If a situation like this is your primary concern, some companies manufacture dual-lens (or two-channel) dash cams that simultaneously record front and back (or any other two directions you’d like), usually with a picture-in-picture real-time display.

Lastly, it’s certainly positive that HD Mirror Cam features night vision, which uses two infrared LEDs to emit a wavelength of light not visible by the human eye, although it can be detected by the device’s camera.

This way, these LEDs provide illumination for the camera, without causing a glare off the windshield, which could lead to distorted video quality and impeded vision for the driver.

While useful, this type of night vision is a common feature found on dashboard and rearview mirror cameras at most price points.

What Can We Learn From HD Mirror Cam Reviews?

Since writing our original article, 29 HighYa readers provided feedback about their experiences with HD Mirror Cam, giving the device an average rating of 1.8 stars.

Here, common compliments referenced ease of use and solid value, while complaints seemed related to lower quality than expected, difficult customer service experiences, and ordering concerns (primarily higher charges than expected and a drawn-out automated ordering process).

We also encountered more than 29 customer reviews on HSN.com, where HD Mirror Cam had a slightly higher average rating of 3.7 star rating. Except for ordering concerns, many expressed the same compliments and complaints as those found on HighYa.

From a company perspective, HD Mirror Cam is manufactured by Inventel Products, a popular ASOTV company who’s responsible for other hits over the years like Gripeez, DashCam Pro, and HD Free TV Antenna, to name just a few.

Granted, our goal isn’t to insinuate that you’ll experience any of the same—only to make sure you have everything you need to make a fully empowered buying decision.

Our Bottom Line About the HD Mirror Cam

Obviously a final—and perhaps the biggest—factor to consider is price. And at $60 including shipping, HD Mirror Cam seems very reasonable priced compared to the competition, some of which could exceed $200 at the time of our research.

If you watched the full 15-minute video from CarCamCentral above, they outlined that purchasing a new dashcam largely comes down to a mixture of 1) cheap, 2) reliable, and 3) high performance.

In other words, you might find an option that leans heavily toward high performance, although it might not be very inexpensive. Or, if you focus on the lowest possible price, you could sacrifice performance and reliability.

And with some of HD Mirror Cam’s essential features like HD 720p video, a 350° rotating camera, and one-touch photo snap, it might be the case that this option provides an even balance between these factors.

And if you find that it doesn’t, Inventel seems to stand behind the device with a two-month return policy. Just keep in mind you’ll lose your initial S&H, plus whatever it’ll cost to ship back.

Before clicking away, be sure to talk about your HD Mirror Cam experience by writing a review below!

Article Last Updated on June 9, 2017

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 82 HD Mirror Cam Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 6 4 star: 1 3 star: 3 2 star: 10 1 star:  62
Bottom Line: 10% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 82
Sort reviews by:

  • Needs work and better

    • New Castle, DE,
    • May 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Putting the camera on the rear view is ok, but when the camera's memory card is out in its slot, for a long time, the screen goes upside down and the screen picture is upside down instead of right side up. And to get a camera close up of the license plate as I do on another and try to change the language on the screen, the HD Mirror Cam upside down needs more work on viewing signs and clear objects on the road. Trying to reset the camera back to factory mode, camera stays upside down.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    White screen

    • Washington,
    • Mar 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I loved our Mirror Cam at first, worked great, now if I turn it on - white screen. They do not give troubleshooting instructions. Now I need help...Now I will not recommend. Still white screen.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Mar 26, 2019

      Company Response from InvenTel, LLC

      Dear Valued Customer,

      We apologize for the inconvenience caused to you, in this case, we would suggest you to please call us on 888-596-2538 or email us at customerservice@inventel.tv so that we can ship you the replacement.

      Thanks & Regards,

      www.inventel.tv


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Defective Mirror Cams

    • Michigan,
    • Mar 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought two Mirror Cams. One worked for one week, the other three months. Sent one back, got full refund, no problem. Second bad cam had the same problems and I was told out of warranty, after only 90 days? No refund, "tough luck" I was told by someone in India. This is BS. The ads for these things run 24/7 on three channels on TV but even for $50 these cams are garbage. Very poor customer service from somewhere in India that barely speaks English. Typical foreign ripoff from a company that is ripping off people for millions of dollars and not giving any satisfaction or service. Bad product from a shady Indian company. Buyers beware! Do not buy this product or you will be sorry!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Mar 20, 2019

      Company Response from InvenTel, LLC

      Dear Valued Customer,

      We apologize for the inconvenience caused to you, in this case, we would suggest you to please call us on 888-596-2538 or email us at customerservice@inventel.tv so that we can ship you the replacement.

      Thanks & Regards,

      www.inventel.tv


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    it doesn't work

    • New York,
    • Mar 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought the HD Mirror Cam. After hooking everything up correctly, I turned on the Mirror. It was working! I was really impressed. It worked for a full day and then all I got was a white screen. How do I get a replacement Mirror or my money back?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Mar 18, 2019

      Company Response from InvenTel, LLC

      Dear Valued Customer,

      We apologize for the inconvenience caused to you, in this case, we would suggest you to please call us on 888-596-2538 or email us at customerservice@inventel.tv so that we can ship you the replacement.

      Thanks & Regards,

      www.inventel.tv


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    HD Mirror Cam junk.

    • Penticton, British Columbia, Canada,
    • Mar 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    HD Mirror Cam didn't work right out the box. I picked up a new SIM card and put it in, but it would not stay down. It showed that it didn't have a card in. No help from the company, this is junk.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Mar 12, 2019

      Company Response from InvenTel, LLC

      Dear Valued Customer,

      We apologize for the inconvenience caused, in this case we would suggest you to please insert the micro SD card correctly, if it still does not work, please call us on 888-596-2538 & we will be glad to assist you.

      Thanks & Regards,

      Inventel Products


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    My Mirror Cam

    • Middleburg, FL,
    • Jan 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have owned this device for two years and have had no problem with the operation. It is heavy and drags the mirror down, but I fixed that by using tape to hold it up properly in the driving position. My only complaint is the Quick Start Guide is very hard to read.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jan 24, 2019

      Company Response from InvenTel, LLC

      Dear Valued Customer,

      Thank you for your feedback, we will forward your request to management and try to work on it to make the manual more user-friendly.

      In case of any further questions, you can call us on 888-596-2538 or email us on customerservice@inventel.tv

      Thanks & Regards,

      Inventel Products


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Poor quality

    • Randallstown, MD,
    • Jan 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I got the HD Mirror Cam as a gift. It was easy to set up. The downside is that it must stay charged in your auxiliary power slot or cigarette lighter slot at all times. My camera only lasted for about two weeks. I turned it on and all I see is a blank, white screen. I'm returning it ASAP.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jan 15, 2019

      Company Response from InvenTel, LLC

      Dear Valued Customer,

      We apologize for the inconvenience caused to you, in this case, we would suggest you to please call us on 888-596-2538 or email us at customerservice@inventel.tv so that we can ship you the replacement.

      Thanks & Regards,

      www.inventel.tv


  • 10 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Camera doesn't work

    • Lithonia, GA,
    • Jan 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I installed the mirror and turned on my vehicle and only the blue light in the middle works, no camera ever came on. I contacted the company and they were not able to help me fix the problem. The company also have not considered replacing item because it was not insured. This is not fair and more people might buy this product and not beware of it possibly not working. I feel that I have been ripped off and I don't want this to happen to anyone else. This review will be overturned by me if the company satisfies me with a replacement that works.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jan 7, 2019

      Company Response from InvenTel, LLC

      Dear Valued Customer,

      Thank you for the response. You had called us for the issue that you were facing with the resetting of the camera, we had guided you with the same, you had called us for the issue on December 31, 2018, which is above a warranty period of 60 days and more than a year.

      This time if you wish, you can place another order with us and we can offer you a discount of 20%.

      Thanks & Regards,

      Customer Service


  • 6 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Sucks, bad customer service

    • Seattle, WA,
    • Dec 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought 1 for $49 and by the time I got it in my hand, it was $68 plus (had to purchase an SD card for $20). I had it for two months and it would not work again, no power on the unit. I called and they told me I could buy another for $68 and they would give me a free two-year warranty. I am not taking any more chances, I should have put my hard-earned money for a GoPro. Now I am out $68.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jan 7, 2019

      Company Response from InvenTel, LLC

      Dear Valued Customer,

      Thank you for your business, we apologize for the inconvenience we may have caused to you. In this case, we would suggest for you to call us on 888-596-2538 so that we can assist you better on this. Also, we had given you an offer of a 2-year warranty.

      Thanks & Regards,

      Customer Service


  • 7 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Rip off

    • Mississippi,
    • Dec 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This the second Mirror Cam I have had. The first one never worked, only temporarily. There is nothing but a white screen. This product reviews are one. Don't buy and get ripped off like I did. I called customer service and they hung up on me three times, couldn't understand them anyway. More TV crap for sale. They should not be able to advertise and sell junk like this.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Dec 21, 2018

      Company Response from InvenTel, LLC

      Dear Valued Customer,

      Thank you for your business, we apologize for the inconvenience we may have caused to you. We had called and left a message to call us back on our customer service number at 888-596-2538 so that we can send you the replacement also we would like to know what is the exact problem with the mirror.

      Thanks & Regards,

      Customer Service


  • 9 out 11 people found this review helpful

    HD Mirror Cam is junk

    • Peoria, AZ,
    • Nov 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I got the product, carefully and properly installed it according to the directions, started my car, it turned on, I saw an image on the screen. I turned off the car. Last time I ever got anything to show up on the screen.

    I thought it was dead after just one20 second use. It turns out the thing is recording every time I drive, but the screen comes on and remains blank. I can tell from sounds it makes when various buttons are pushed, that everything is working, but always just a blank screen. So, it's impossible to know what menu item you are selecting, or how to configure the unit with a dead screen.

    I called the number for help and they told me to press the reset button on the back of the unit, then charge it fully, and put the micro SD card back in, and turn it on. Still no display.

    The user manual is very poorly written and leaves much to question.

    Don't buy it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Dec 3, 2018

      Company Response from InvenTel, LLC

      Dear Valued Customer,

      Thank you for your feedback, we apologize for the inconvenience we may have caused to you. In this case, we would suggest you call us on 888-596-2538 or email us on customerservice@inventel.tv so that we can assist you better on it.

      Thanks & Regards,

      Customer Service


Showing 1-11 of 82

Write a Review for HD Mirror Cam!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review