About Hear.com

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Sep 22, 2015

Hear.com is a hearing aid specialist that offers competitive pricing and a wide selection from leading manufacturers, including Oticon, Phonak, Siemens, and more.

Hear.com also offers free phone consultations with audiologists, local hearing tests and hearing aid fittings, as well as a 100% satisfaction guarantee on every hearing aid they sell.  Why? Because Hear.com wants to address your hearing loss and improve your quality of life.

According to the company, the process works over 3 steps:

  1. A free phone consultation with one of Hear.com’s audiologists.
  2. Afterward, you’ll attend a fitting at one of Hear.com’s local partner providers. There, you’ll also be able to receive a hearing test based on “strict medical criteria.”
  3. Once you’ve received your hearing aids, Hear.com will adjust them to meet your needs until you’re 100% satisfied.

Have you ever heard of Hear.com? Probably not. But their prices seem great, so you’re here to find out if Hear.com is the real deal, or just another scam.

First, let’s take a look at exactly what kinds of prices you can expect.

Hear.com’s Hearing Aid Pricing, Quality, & Guarantee

Hear.com offers 3 different levels of hearing aids, depending on your needs and budget:

Basic: $700 - $1,600

Ideal for optimal speech comprehension in a home environment, and for those with mild to moderate hearing loss. Includes digital sound processing, feedback cancellation, and up to 4 hearing programs.

Mid-Range - $1,600 - $2,200

In contrast, mid-range hearing can be used for helping you hear in a variety of daily living situations, and might be better for individuals with moderate hearing loss. This includes wireless TV and phone connections, adjustable speech recognition, speech enhancement, directional hearing, and enhanced acoustic orientation.

Premium - $2,200 - $3,000

Regardless of your level of hearing loss, premium hearing aids will provide you with the best hearing in the highest number of situations. These will also come with the widest range of styles and colors, 360-degree hearing, automatic adjustments, and more.

Depending on the price category you choose, Hear.com offers up to 3 years of warranty coverage, along with up to 5 free service appointments.

You’ll also have 45 days to get your deposit back if you change your mind.

In order to request a refund on your deposit, speak with an audiologist, or find a local partner, you can call Hear.com’s customer service at 786-574-5820

Reading through the differences between hearing aids might have caused your eyes to glaze over. But in real-world terms, what’s the difference between these levels?

Differences Between Hearing Aid Levels

You probably noticed that Hear.com calls modern hearing aids “small, high-performance computers with intuitive controls,” instead of the bulky models of yesteryear. And like any other electronic device, the more you pay for your hearing aid, the more features it will come with and the smaller it’ll be.

Whether you pick a behind-the-ear (BTE) or in-the-ear (ITE) hearing aid (the Mayo Clinic website provides an excellent article on how to decide which is right for you), the goal is to help you hear your best.

However, you have to remember that your ears are complex structures, which pull in a variety of different sounds, including voices, background noises, intermediate sounds, and more.

Then, these sound signals are quickly processed by your brain to provide real-time feedback. Among other things, this whole process provides spatial awareness. Without it, we wouldn’t be able to know where different sounds are coming from or how close they are to us.

To provide this spatial awareness, hearing aids have to do a lot of different things at the same time, including:

  • Processing all incoming sound
  • Differentiating between voices and background sounds (while reducing feedback/reverberation and wind noise)
  • Immediately recognizing different voices to “tune in” better
  • Automatically adjusting when moving from one environment to another (e.g. a noisy restaurant to a quiet cab). Some lower end hearing aids include settings, but you must manually change them when going from one environment to another.
  • Recognizing sharp, sudden sounds and reducing their level (known as impulse sound reduction)
  • Many modern premium hearing aids also feature smartphone connectivity to make discreet adjustments, save settings, and even connect to other electronic devices!

And in general, the more features a hearing aid has, the more expensive it’ll be. Can you get by with a basic hearing aid? Sure, but you’ll also have to deal with its limitations.

Regardless of your budget, the best thing to do before ordering a hearing aid is discuss your hearing loss with your physician. Sure, Hear.com’s consultation might help, but you’ll always want to get your medical provider’s opinion first.

A Note about Your Brain & Hearing

As we mentioned above, your ears collect sound, but it’s your brain that processes them into something you can recognize. So in a very real way, we actually hear with our brains.

As our hearing deteriorates, our brain makes up for this deficiency as well as it can. And the longer you suffer from hearing loss, the more your brain compensates.

But when you get a hearing aid (whether from Hear.com or elsewhere) and are able to hear appropriately again, your brain might have difficulty adjusting. In many instances, readjusting your brain might take therapy sessions through an audiologist (not one through Hear.com, obviously), which can involve patience on your part.

The short story? A hearing aid might help you hear better, but until your brain becomes reaccustomed to hearing well, you might not hear very comfortably.

What about Hear.com’s reputation? Are they a good company to do business with?

How Long Has Hear.com Been in Business?

According to a September 10, 2015 press release, Hear.com was recently founded by a company named Sivantos, who has been in business for more than 100 years and is one of the world’s top manufacturers of hearing aids. In fact, Sivantos claims to “develop and manufacture one out of every four hearing aids being used worldwide.”

Before launching Hear.com, Sivantos strategically purchased audibene.de, who is currently the number one hearing aid retailer in Europe. Now, Sivantos plans to create this same success in the US with Hear.com, by targeting a younger, first-time hearing aid user.

What’s the Bottom Line with Hear.com?

Hear.com is a very new company, so there wasn’t a lot of information available about them at the time of our research. They are backed by the merger of two very successful companies though, who is trying to recreate their European success here in the US.

When it comes down to it, Hear.com almost certainly can help you find a brand name hearing aid that provides all the features you need, within your budget. They also seem to stand behind their services with free, local consultations, and behind their products with a 45-day refund window on deposits.

Only time will tell if Hear.com is as successful as its European sister company, but they seem to be starting out on the right foot.

Have you purchased a hearing aid through Hear.com? Tell us about your experience by writing a review below!


Read 34 Hear.com Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 3.9
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 23 4 star: 2 3 star: 1 2 star: 0 1 star:  8
Bottom Line: 74% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 34
Sort reviews by:

  • Great service

    • Boynton Beach, FL,
    • Dec 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I found the service to be very professional and also courteous. I would strongly recommend them to everyone. I rarely give reviews for anyone but am happy to make an exception for Hear.com. I believe you will be pleased with such good service.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Good service

    • Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada,
    • Dec 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am very pleased with the service I received from Hear.com. The local office they sent me to provided me with a lot of information and with different options. They gave me 30 days to try my hearing aids and called me a couple of times to see if I was having problems. I would not hesitate to deal with them again next time I need a new pair of hearing aids.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Check hearing to know if I need a hearing aid.

    • Ontario, Canada,
    • Dec 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    First the ears were cleaned out and then he had me take a hearing test and with the results of the test we agreed that for now I did not need a hearing aid.

    He also told me my hearing will improve more over time because my brain will recognize the difference after the cleaning. Keep in mind my ears had a major wax buildup. And in closing, he was absolutely right, so I will make another appointment when due.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Wonderful results

    • Ottawa, Ontario, Canada,
    • Dec 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Where to begin...I have had hearing appliances since 2014. My first pair was in the ear and I thought that they were really good but over time my ability to hear declined further. I saw an ad about Hear.com and decided to follow up. They answered all my questions, put me in touch with a local audiologist, set the initial appointment and followed up to ensure my satisfaction. I recommend them heartily! A wonderful organization and staff to deal with. And my new hearing aids are amazing.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Satisfied customer

    • Miami, FL,
    • Nov 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    From my initial conversation with Tony Messa regarding the various hearing aids options available, to my meeting with Noelia, the individual at your Coral Gables office that tested my hearing and fitted me with the unit, all I have to say is that I am very pleased with the service I have received from these individuals. Additionally, every time I have had a question, Tony has been promptly available and have resolved my concerns with the same expediency. These individuals are a credit to your organization. I am very happy with my hearing aids!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Nov 26, 2019

      Company Response from Hear.com, LLC

      Hi Alberto. Thank you for taking the time to share your story. I'll forward your message to Tony. I'm sure he'll be happy to hear your kind words. We are glad to hear that all your questions were answered, and concerns addressed. Happy hearing! - hear.com team.


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Jim’s Review

    • Amarillo, TX,
    • Nov 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The hearing aids have been very good, a generation or to better than my previous aids.

    The app (resound Smart 3D) has not been good or reliable at times. I have deleted the app and re-installed the app at least weekly because the app would lose one or both hearing aids almost daily. The aids continued to work, but the app indicated that one or both aids were not connected. At times, it would be two or once, the afternoon before the aids were showing connected. Then I could change programs or use the Sound Enhancer.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Nov 26, 2019

      Company Response from Hear.com, LLC

      Hi James! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with your devices. I'm sorry to hear that the app for your hearing aids isn't working. I would encourage you to reach out to the partner provider for assistance. They can help you get that set up. If you have any questions, please feel free to call us at 786-574-6794.


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Excellent

    • Brooklyn, NY,
    • Nov 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I received hearing aids through Hear.com. My experience was excellent. The assessment was done very professionally. I received the aids timely. The auditory doctor showed me how to use them. Very good place to purchase hearing aids.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Nov 26, 2019

      Company Response from Hear.com, LLC

      Hi Chaim. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are happy that we were able to deliver an excellent experience to you. Happy hearing! - hear.com team.


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Very satisfied with my experience

    • Sachse, TX,
    • Nov 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am very satisfied with my device and particularly liked the application and halving a personal representative to communicate with to guide me through the process and insure my satisfaction. Reasonable interest free payments made the device affordable for me.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Nov 26, 2019

      Company Response from Hear.com, LLC

      Hi Michael! Thank you for sharing your experience with us. So happy you were able to download the hear.com application, it truly does keep you communicated with your hearing expert at all times. I hope you are enjoying your new hearing aids. Happy hearing! - hear.com team.


  • 5 out 7 people found this review helpful

    SIGNA HEARING AIDS

    • Mary, TN,
    • Aug 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I got my hearing aids about six months ago from Sidney Hicks at Madisonville Hearing Aid Center in Tennessee.

    It took a few weeks to get used to my hearing aids and some fine adjustments and I was in so happy I could hear again.

    I had a problem about a month ago first my left hearing aid stopped working, then my right hearing aid stopped working. I had to take them to the hearing aid center and they gave me brand new hearing aids. I love these hearing aids, I can hear the phone ring through the them and hear what people are saying on the other end of the conversation. I had them program med through my I phone and I can listen to my music as well.

    I am so happy I made myself get my hearing tested. I didn`t want to be around people because I could not hear what they were saying to me.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Nov 15, 2019

      Company Response from Hear.com, LLC

      Hi Terry. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are happy that you are loving your new hearing aids, and that you had a good experience with our company. If you have any other issues, please feel free to reach out to us. We will make sure we get it fixed for you. Have a great day!


  • 6 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Hearing aids

    • Bushkill, PA,
    • Aug 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The last 2-3 years I noticed I had difficulty hearing some words, especially lower frequencies, like male voices, speaking low. Being 81 and still working, that was a problem. I sent for a mail-order hearing aid. That was so uncomfortable, I could not wear it. I went to a doctor to find out just how bad my hearing was. It was bad. One ear was shot, due to an infection long ago, which left me with one good ear, and it was not very good. This could get serious. The doctor sent me to a Hear.com office. They were very helpful and very thorough, I ended up with a very small hearing aid, almost invisible when in place, important, since I am still vain. And I can hear, not only words spoken, but documentaries on the computer, without blasting. Great!

    One day, rushing to go to work, I forgot the hearing aid at home. I was half deaf that day. Agony. I love the Hear.com hearing aid.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Nov 15, 2019

      Company Response from Hear.com, LLC

      Hi Gerd, thank you for taking the time to share your story. We are happy that we were able to help you find the right solution for you. Enjoy the gift of hearing! - hear.com team


  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Do not go without being able to hear any longer.

    • Waco, TX,
    • Aug 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am 73 years old and I look at something like it is what it is. I didn’t know how bad my hearing really was. I'm not going to tell you that it is as good as perfect hearing you once had. But, I will tell you it is the next best thing. You don’t realize how much you are missing, it gives you a quality of life that you have missed by not being able to hear. I'm so glad that I have my hearing back, I wanted to hug my doctor.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Nov 15, 2019

      Company Response from Hear.com, LLC

      Hi Ed! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. We also believe that hearing aids provide a higher quality of life. To hear well is to live well. Happy Hearing! - hear.com team


Showing 1-11 of 34

Write a Review for Hear.com!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review