HearTech CIC Review: Does It Really Work or Is It Just Hype?

By HighYa Editorial Team
Published on: Jul 1, 2020

HearTech CIC sound amplifiers are claimed to work 85% to 90% as well as hearing aids that cost thousands of dollars.

HearTech Labs, claims that what makes their sound amplifiers unique is that they have a discreet design and “no-hassle” volume control that allows you to adjust the volume without taking the amplifiers out.

With your purchase, you’ll get two devices along with a variety of earbud sizes to fit your ear. Each sound amplifier contains premium zinc batteries.

The “CIC” in HearTech CIC refers to the fact that these sound amplifiers fit “completely in canal.” You can place them into your ear canal and keep them hidden, unlike many amplifiers that hook around the back of your ear.

In this review, we take a detailed look at this device to help you decide if it is right for you.

Sound Amplifiers vs. Hearing Aids

While HearTech compares their CIC amplifiers to hearing aids and even refers to their product as hearing aid, you need to keep in mind that this product is a sound amplifier.

This, Wisconsin-based audiologist Deirdre Worrell told us, is a key distinction because it affects the quality of your hearing experience.

“The difference is that hearing aids are set up for your specific hearing loss while amplifiers lift all sound at an equal amount,” she told us. “This can sound funny to someone who has good low frequencies and are getting amplification in those frequencies.”

To put it another way, sound amplifiers raise the volume of everything you hear whereas hearing aids are devices that an audiologist tunes specifically to your hearing loss.

Because hearing aids are a tailored product, they tend to cost far more than sound amplifiers. That being said, it's common to use “sound amplifiers” and “hearing aids” interchangeably.

Jason Power, the owner of Ontario-based The Hearing Clinic, said another drawback of amplifiers is that they don’t do a good job of separating sounds in a loud room. If you’re trying to hear a conversation at a loud party, all the sounds may get jumbled together.

“On a one on one conversation in a quiet room, there might not be that big of a difference, but once outside or when the noise starts to fill the room, a cheaper sound amplifier might not make a difference," he told us.

Based on these insights, you should expect HearTech’s CIC amplifiers to raise all sounds and not focus on specific frequencies. This isn’t all that bad, though, if you’re looking for an amplifier and not a bespoke hearing solution, Worrell said.

“There is some research to suggest that people are just as happy with lower-end technology of hearing aids vs higher-end hearing aids,” she said.

“The research suggests that consumers are willing to trade off small benefits gained through improved technology for substantial reductions in price.”

Pricing and Return Policy

A pair of HearTech CIC sound amplifiers sells for $249. Standard shipping is free.

Your purchase comes with a 45-day, money-back guarantee through which you can return your amplifiers if you aren’t satisfied with them.

The Bottom Line

When you are looking to buy a device like the HearTech CIC, it’s important to understand that these devices are amplifiers instead of hearing aids, which means they will raise the volume of all sounds and not single out specific sounds like human voices.

You also don’t get the benefit of getting audiologist support to fix or fine-tune your amplifiers.

Lastly, the price tag on HearTech CIC hearing aids is high for what they offer. A simple search on Amazon reveals dozens of amplifiers that are cheaper while having many of the same features.

In summary, we believe that even though amplifiers don’t provide a tailored solution to hearing loss, they can be helpful to those who are looking for a low-cost alternative to expensive hearing aids. However, it may benefit you to shop around to find a highly-rated product at a lower price.


Customer Reviews

Start your review of HearTech CIC:
  • 24 Customer Reviews
  • 0% Recommend This Product
1.1 out of 5
5 star: 0% 4 star: 0% 3 star: 0% 2 star: 8% 1 star: 91%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • No way to contact

    • By Veronica C.,
    • Newington, CT,
    • Sep 10, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 6–12 months
    Overall Experience:

    I have tried several ways to contact customer service. All were unsuccessful.

    Phone: Customer support kept hanging up on me. Sales sent me to a FULL voicemail no messages accepted.

    Email: sales@heartech.com received delivery failures.

    Then I used the internal messaging option. No response.

    I have an issue that requires assistance and now I’m feeling like I’m part of a scam.

    Pros and Cons:

    • No “pros” were specified in this review
    • Left aid stopped working
    • No ability to reach customer support

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Deceiving junk

    • By Norman W.,
    • Springfield, VA,
    • Jun 27, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 6–12 months
    Overall Experience:

    They call them hearing aids but they are nothing but sound amplifiers. Don't waste your money.

    Stay away. They call them hearing aids but they are not.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don't buy

    • By Earl B.,
    • New York,
    • Jun 17, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 3–6 months
    Overall Experience:

    I purchased a set in December 2019, they lasted only a few weeks. They were replaced 2 more times when finally in June 2020 the last set failed. I called customer service and even though I had purchased an unlimited warranty, they wouldn't replace them.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Nice idea in ear hearing aides
    • Product is defective
    • Poor customer service

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Chinese junk

    • By Jonathan J.,
    • Anaheim, CA,
    • Jun 2, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered this CIC as a backup to my other hearing aids and $250 is a good price. After it arrived, I opened the package and fired up the devices. Immediately rejected it because of the unbearable loud feedback. Whistling cannot be stopped even with the volume turned down. Guess I will have to throw it in the trash because I see that by reading the other reviews getting a refund is a no-go. Classic case of getting what you paid for.

    Pros and Cons:

    • No “pros” were specified in this review
    • Dishonesty

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • They do not work and I would like to return them and have my money refunded

    • By Billie B.,
    • Goodyear, AZ,
    • May 26, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Couldn't adjust the volume because the screwdriver wasn't with the order. I used my eyeglasses screwdriver but even then all I could get was a lot of noise screaming.

    I don't want to write a short story, I just want to return these hearing aids and have my money returned.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Returning does not work for me

    • By Shirley D.,
    • Menahga, MN,
    • May 6, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Terrible squealing, unable to wear both at the same time, background noise unbearable, will not stay in the ear, keeps popping out, cannot use with telephone, painful to wear because they are so hard. Left hearing aid no longer works, had one month, returning.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Be warned - 100% customer satisfaction excludes returns!

    • By Kath Y.,
    • Northeast, PA,
    • Apr 21, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered my HearTech hearing aids with the understanding I had 45 days to try them and could return based on their 100% customer satisfaction. After one week, I determined they did not work well for my hearing loss. The company refuses to take them back stating correcting hearing is not guaranteed and is an exclusion for return. What are they for then? How can this be right?

    If you are looking for just sound amplifiers to watch TV, etc., I guess these will work - but if you are looking to HEAR things...do not throw away $200!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • No customer support

    • By Harry B.,
    • Florence, SC,
    • Mar 19, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered a set of hearing aids from HearTech. Found I could not use them. Sent in a complaint. Asked for an RMA to return. Was offered a $100.00 upgrade to be paid by me.

    Asked a third time for RMA. Now they won't contact me. Been three weeks. I will be sending them back without an RMA. This is junk.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • NO RETURNS

    • By Rick M.,
    • Honolulu, HI,
    • Mar 2, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Company does not give refunds for any reason. You buy them and you're out the cost whether you like them or not. The CIC are too big to fit properly in your ear. Also, the volume control is extremely difficult to use even with the little screwdriver they supply.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Stay clear of this company

    • By Thomas M.,
    • Seeley Lake, MT,
    • Feb 24, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered a pair of these hearing aids, received them, and very quickly discovered they did nothing to help in my hearing. I requested a return authorization number and refund, after three weeks of declining offers of upgrades received the following message: "Please understand that we don't accept returns due to satisfaction issues. All product details are posted on the website: product description, usage, and purchase inclusion."

    So their web page guarantee total satisfaction or refund is simply deceptive advertising, if you order these you're stuck with them. I have filed a complaint with the BBB as of this morning.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Fraud

    • By Marshall W.,
    • Georgia,
    • Feb 15, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I returned the hearing aids to them by certified mail on 1/24/20. One month later no refund of my $250.

    Stay away from this company. HearTech (no lab) is a different company, have not tried them.

    Stay away from these crooks.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-11 of 24

Write a Review for HearTech CIC!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
HearTech CIC Hearing Device Review