Read 42 Hims Hair Kit Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 3)

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 2.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 11 4 star: 2 3 star: 0 2 star: 1 1 star:  28
Bottom Line: 33% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 23-33 of 42
Sort reviews by:

  • 4 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Scam, zero stars

    • Marietta, GA,
    • Jan 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered the so-called sample for $5.00 for my husband. They never sent me the sample and they told me that the $5.00 is a doctor’s fee and it is not refundable. They are crooks. Do not deal with this horrible company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Awful customer service

    • New York, NY,
    • Jan 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've had numerous terrible customer service experiences with this company. They act like they're not in competition with a bunch of similar businesses. I will take my business to their competitors instead.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Rip off

    • California,
    • Feb 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Rip off. The process to order is not easy but the real problem was being charged monthly hidden fees after my order was complete for several months. This isn't explained in checkout. They don't email you or provide terms of service on their website. There is no receipt emailed to you and no way to review your order on their website. Customer service was unhelpful.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • They have shady business practices

    • Georgia,
    • Jul 1, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    They do not let you cancel your subscription in the app. You must speak to them directly. You can pause your subscription, but be warned that they will process your order two days before your subscription is supposed to resume, and then they will refuse to give you a refund or cancel the order (even if it hasn't shipped yet).

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Slickly produced pick-pockets: "Membership fees" cost me $120 without warning over 8 months.

    • Seattle, WA,
    • Jul 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    So, you're looking to get some hair-loss, ED, or anxiety medication online. Cool. Take care of yourself.

    So you sign up with Hims - they have good articles written about them, their website is super slick, you get a prescription, they deliver genuine product. Over three months you get three months worth of your prescription of medication. You're happy, but you don't need any more medication. So you let your prescription lapse. If you need more, you figure, you'll renew it and continue the monthly refills at $35 a month. Fair.

    Then, 8 months later, long after you've gotten your last batch of medication and Hims is just a distant memory you finally notice a monthly charge of $15 on your credit card statement from "HIMS & HERS HEALTH FORHIMS.COM CA". Strange. You quickly search Mint and realize that you've been charged $15 eight times, totaling $120, for each month you haven't used their services.

    Did you miss some email notifications? Were you asleep at the wheel when you could've put a stop to this back in November 2018, the first month it happened? You search through all your emails, because you use Gmail, you never delete your emails, so you expect receipts, right?

    Well. Not for these charges. You search and all you find are 17 promotional emails from them between November 2018 and June 2019. You email customer service looking to get your money back. Customer service explains that "this membership fee was previously bundled and included in the price of the products you were receiving each month". You look at you email receipts and on your website profile - no such "bundle" is indicated. If it said "$20 - medication, $15 - membership fee", fair. But no, it's just $35 for the medication.

    When you weren't getting medication, they still charged you $15. For the privilege of sending a single email to a doctor who'd rubber-stamp your prescription renewal for the next three months.

    Imagine if Amazon Prime was free if you buy something every month - but as soon as you don't, you're charged $15. Not participating is when they pick your pocket. Hims is a company that punishes you for not ordering.

    $15 a month for a membership that took you mere minutes of effort to join.

    The "best they can do" is refund 3 months. Hims, a company with a potential valuation of over $1 billion, apparently can only afford to refund $45, and pocket the remaining $75 of your money.

    Use some other service and pay attention to their business model. Cancel accounts and memberships when no longer needed, restart them quickly when you need to start again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Shady company that should be investigated

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Jul 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    After being on finasteride for 18 months, I developed serious side effects such as gynecomastia and testicle pain. After trying to talk to the “doctor” that prescribed my medication I was repeatedly ignored. This is a serious violation of all medical laws and if a real doctor says that I’ve done irreversible damage I will undoubtedly look into filing a malpractice claim. For the sake of your health, please avoid this company at all costs.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 30 out 41 people found this review helpful

    Better off finding another product

    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Feb 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've only been using hims for three months, but that seems to be enough to realize it's time to look elsewhere.

    The customer service, if ever needed, is spotty at best. My second month, they were out of product and didn't inform me for another month. And getting a response takes a few days everytime for me.

    As far as the product, the shampoo is missing a lot of key ingredients known to be useful for hair regrowth, like saw palmetto, beta-sitosterol or ketoconazole. And I've noticed a surprisingly high amount of hair in the shower.

    Because of that, it only makes me wonder the purity of their other products. That's only my personal three-month experience, and I've switched over to other products now.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 12 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Hims is pretty ok

    • Brooklyn, NY,
    • May 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Hims is not a two-star company to be sure. All their products are fine, and the kits are nicely packaged, and I at least feel as though my hair looks thicker.

    The main flaw is that sometimes a hold will get placed on your account because you need to get the prescription renewed. This process seems straightforward but ends up hitting snags for whatever reason, so they put a hold on shipping, but I have not been charged during these hold times. The real issue is you have to hope the CX team doesn't lose track of you while resolving the issue.

    P.S. I write this only because of most reviews on HighYa seem as if they are purchased by competitors. That being said (and hopefully passing through), I wanted to say something in Hims defense.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 22 out 43 people found this review helpful

    Pretty good so far

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • May 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I enjoy the service so far. A lot of people are complaining about customer service and giving it 1 star, and below I'll talk about that.

    But for now, their products are pretty great for the pricing honestly. You get a free appointment, there's no "schedule" like someone down there said. You simply join the site, apply for what you need, they'll ask for some pictures of your problems, and they'll get back to you about how they think you could go about fixing it. This is honestly the best method to get a prescription to these meds; you don't pay over $100 for a consultation, plus other fees upon visiting and returning.

    Next, the pricing is really great for what you're getting, since these things go from $30-50 and their supplements are worth at least $20 on other sites like Amazon for similar ingredients, for anyone complaining about that.

    Overall, it's a pretty great service with one real rough patch that they're clearly working on.

    As for the people asking about the support:

    1. Understand that these are PEOPLE working here, not robots. I usually receive replies within two days through EMAIL (this usually takes much longer for other sites, unless clearly a BIG cooperation).

    2. There ARE more options than just email! Some people here are crying about how they suck because you can only call and email them. Clearly they were just salty and didn't care to look around to find their contact us page before posting a review, lol.

    3. They even warn you, stating they are delayed because of the amount of messages they're getting, and they're sorry! It's called patience; if you're looking into these services, this is the first thing you're going to need! These pills aren't magic fix it pills, they take plenty of time. If you can't wait 2-3 days for an email from a newer company starting up and getting thousands of new members every day so they're pretty backed up, then chances are you don't want to use these pills as they take 3+ months to work at times!

    Support verdict: Yes, their support isn't the best at the moment, but again, it's a newer company trying to catch up to their demand, and they're clearly improving on it. These are genuine people trying to assist you.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Hims is legit - used for 3 months and love it

    • San Francisco, CA,
    • Feb 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Not sure why the title suggests hims is a scam. These dudes are legit. I've received all my shipments on time and have used the complete hair/gummy kit for three months. They’re straight up about the side effects, and personally, I’ve experienced none of them. I’ve actually taken Finasteride for 5 years but switched to hims because it was 50% cheaper. Hard to argue with that. Super happy with the product.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 35 people found this review helpful

    Great products and service

    • New York, NY,
    • Feb 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I don't write reviews often but feel compelled to write one for hims because my experience with them and their products have been incredible.

    Sign up: Super seamless. You answer an intelligent and thorough questionnaire through a very sleek interface. Someone mentioned that it was lengthy; of course, it is, you want to make sure you're getting the right treatment!

    Doctor follow up: An hour and 45 minutes (just checked the time stamp on my emails) after I finished the signing up, I received an email from one of their doctors confirming the assessment and products that would be sent. The message was thorough, professional, and clearly personalized.

    Shipping Confirmation: Two days after I signed up, I received an email confirming that my order had shipped. Simple.

    Delivery: Three days after the shipping confirmation email, I received the goods.

    Box: Clearly the packaging doesn't matter to the effectiveness of the product, but it's stylish and adds to the entire experience.

    Price: I can't speak to price comparisons because I'm new to the hair loss game (not a game I want to be playing), but it feels relatively cheap, especially considering the heavily discounted first-month price.

    Subscription model: Frankly as a millennial, I don't need another "thing" I have to remember to buy. The subscription model is great because you set it up once and boom, you never run out.

    Most importantly, effectiveness: The products have been super effective, and I'm continuing to use hims products. At the end of the day, you'll never know if the product works unless you try it, and frankly, with their effectively free first month, it's pretty irrational not to try it.

    Service: I just tried getting in touch with them and got a response immediately.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 23-33 of 42

Write a Review for Hims Hair Kit!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review