About Hims Hair Kit

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff Published on: Dec 19, 2017

By connecting men with credible doctors to obtain preventative care prescriptions, but without appointments, waiting rooms, or awkward conversations, Hims Hair Kits and sexual health products promise to help make achieving personal wellness easy and affordable.

In fact, the website reports theirs are available at up to 80 percent less than over-the-counter products and prescription options found at your local pharmacy.

But, when it comes to hair loss and sexual wellness, is the lowest priced option necessarily your best? Regardless, can you expect Hims kits to help you keep that beautiful hair, as claimed on the website?

Stick with us over the next few minutes, and we’ll help you decide whether or not you should go with them, or one of the competitors.

The Basics of Hair Loss

In our hair loss product buying guide, we explain that hair loss can be caused by a wide variety of issues, including poor nutrition, some medications, trauma, and poor grooming habits.

However, among men and women, the most common cause is androgenetic alopecia, or male and female pattern baldness. While the process isn’t fully understood by the medical community, it’s thought that a hormone named dihydrotestosterone attacks hair follicles and causes them to produce increasingly thin hair. Eventually, they stop producing hair altogether.

While there’s no known cure for hair loss, how do Hims’ kits claim to help?

Which Products and Ingredients Will You Find in Hims Hair Kits?

With thee details in mind, Hims offers three different kits, as well as each of their products a la carte:

  • Edible Hair Kit – Finasteride (30 x 1 mg pills) and The Vitamin (30 edible biotin gummies)
  • OTC Hair Kit – DHT Shampoo (8 oz bottle) and The Vitamin
  • Complete Hair Kit – Everything found in the above kits, in addition to a 2 oz bottle of minoxidil drops

Keep in mind that to place an order for a kit containing finasteride, you’ll need to obtain a prescription through one of the doctors in the company’s network.

To accomplish this, the site’s FAQ indicates you’ll need to complete a digital assessment on their website, which they indicate will take less than five minutes. Beforehand, though, you’ll need to enter your DOB, shipping and credit card information, and upload a government-issued ID.

Afterward, customers can ask the doctor questions anytime using the company’s secure, HIPAA-compliant messaging platform.

Important note: All of Hims’ doctors are licensed, board certified, and located in the United States, although they’re not licensed in every state. Before placing your order, make sure you take a look at their licensed states, which could vary depending on the product you’re considering.

Except for prescription medications, all of the products found in Hims Hair Kits are manufactured in the US. These include:

5% Minoxidil Treatment

Ingredients: 5% Minoxidil w/v, Alcohol, Propylene Glycol, Purified Water

Without going into unnecessary detail, minoxidil (the active ingredient popularized by brands like Rogaine, although it’s also found in hundreds of OTC products, whether from Hims or otherwise) is a vasodilator, which means it’s a substance that widens blood vessels and improves circulation, leading to improvements in male and female pattern baldness.

However, WebMD, reports that it’s not understood exactly how minoxidil accomplishes this, and that “it is not used for baldness at the front of the scalp or receding hairline in men.” In other words, if you’re suffering from hair loss anywhere other than the crown, it might not be a valid option.

Of course, this is something that Hims can help you determine through their five-minute digital assessment.

DHT Shampoo

Beauty expert Paula Begoun emphasizes that only the first five or six ingredients in any shampoo are present in high enough concentrations to make a meaningful difference. However, since some ingredients further down DHT Shampoo’s list have some clinical support for their efficacy related to hair loss, we’ve presented the complete lineup here:

Purified Water, Sodium Xylenesulfonate, Cocamide Betaine, Trideceth Sulfate, Cocamide MEA, Glycerin, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Sodium Chloride, Sodium Benzoate, Salicylic Acid, Lavender Oil, Peppermint Oil, Tea Tree Oil, Methylparaben, Polyquaternium 7, Phenoxyethanol, Cysteine-Bis-PG-Propyl Silanetriol, Lecithin, Nettle Leaf Extract, Hops Flower Extract, Grapefruit Peel Extract, Biotin, Folic Acid, Cyanocobalamin, Niacinamide, Pantothenic Acid, Pyridoxine, Riboflavin, Thiamine, Yeast Peptides, Yeast Extract, Blue 1

According to sites like Truth In Aging, EWG.org, and WebMD, the majority of DHT Shampoo’s ingredients act as surfactants and cleansing agents (sodium xylenesulfonate, cocamide betaine, trideceth sulfate), emulsifiers (cocamidopropyl betaine), conditioners (glycerin, cysteine-bis-PG-propyl silanetriol), preservatives (sodium benzoate, methylparaben, phenoxyethanol), and film formers and antistatic agents (polyquaternium 7).

They indicate that salicylic acid is especially effective for increasing cell turnover, which can help promote scalp health, although there's little-reported evidence that this can directly impact genetic hair loss.

On the other hand, WebMD tells us that lavender is possibly effective for improving “hair growth by as much as 44% after 7 months of treatment,” when combined with a topical solution of thyme, rosemary, and cedarwood oils.

However, none of these sites reported that these ingredients have been specifically shown to address DHT’s negative impact on hair follicles.

Multivitamin Supplement

The only ingredients listed on the Hims website for their Multivitamin Supplement were: Corn Syrup (From Corn, Sugar (From Beets), Water, Gelatin, Natural Flavor, Citric Acid, Pectin (Derived from Fruits), Colors (from fruits and vegetables), Lactic Acid.

We called the customer support line below during normal business hours looking for additional information, although the only option was to leave a voicemail. As such, we sent an email but hadn't received a response at the time of publishing.

Hims Finasteride

Each film-coated pill contains 1 mg of Finasteride.

Note: Per the Hims FAQ, “It is not known if Finasteride works for a receding hairline on either side of and above your forehead (temporal area).”

Could Any of the Ingredients in Hims Hair Kits Cause Side Effects?

The Hims FAQ emphasizes that their “hair loss products are only recommended for patients age 18 – 65,” and their sexual health products “for patients aged 25 – 65.” Furthermore, that Finasteride “is for use by men only and should not be used by women or children.”

Outside of this, WebMD indicates that common side effects associated with minoxidil include burning, stinging, or redness at the application site (no specifics provided). In some instances, however, (again, no specifics) it can cause serious side effects such as dizziness, fast or irregular heartbeat, chest pain, and hand or foot swelling.

RxList indicates that finasteride can cause side effects such as impotence, abnormal ejaculation or trouble having an orgasm, dizziness, weakness, runny nose, and skin rash.

Finally, WebMD reports that in rare instances, tea tree oil can cause skin irritation and swelling.

How Much Do Hims Hair Loss Kits Cost?

Hims’ hair kits will cost you:

  • Edible Kit: $28/mo
  • OTC Hair Kit: $30/mo
  • Complete Hair Kit: $44/mo

Individual hair loss and sexual wellness products are priced at:

  • Vitamins: $16
  • Minoxidil: $13
  • DHT Shampoo: $11
  • Finasteride: $28.50
  • Sildenafil: $20

When purchasing your first hair kit, Hims provides free shipping via first class mail. For all subsequent orders, they charge a flat $5 rate, while orders over $50 automatically include free shipping.

Can you pay through insurance, health savings, or flexible spending account? The FAQ reports that their services might be covered under insurance, depending on the prescription and plan, although this is something you’ll need to verify independently.

However, they emphasize that they’re “available at 50-80% off retail cost, making them more affordable and accessible to consumers.”

If you opt for a subscription plan, it can be changed, paused, or canceled at any time.

All Hims orders come with a satisfaction guarantee that they contain what you ordered and arrive undamaged. However, “in order to keep these products safe and secure, we cannot accept any returns.”

Customer service can be reached at 800-368-0038 or support@forhims.com.

What Do We Know About the Company Behind Hims Hair Kits?

Hims, Inc. is based out of Austin, TX and was founded in November 2017 by Andrew Dudum. He’s a serial founder and is also behind companies such as Atomic, Ever Co, Terminal, TalkIQ, Cherubic Ventures, and Mira Technologies (to name just a few).

Hims held an A+ Better Business Bureau rating, with no customer reviews or closed complaints, as of 12/18/17. According to their website, they “will continue to develop and evolve new and existing science-backed products focusing on a variety of men's health needs and concerns,” including upcoming skincare products.

Do Hims’ Hair Kits Have Any Competition?

According to IBISWorld, the hair loss treatment manufacturing industry rakes in more than $4 billion annually, so Hims’ hair kits are clearly up against a lot of competitors. In this sea of options, how can you make a more empowered decision that what you’re purchasing will deliver value?

It all starts with what’s causing your hair loss. For example, as we discussed above, sites like WebMD report that minoxidil and finasteride have clinical evidence indicating they could address aspects of androgenetic alopecia.

However, if you’re experiencing a receding hairline or hair loss anywhere other than on your crown, or if your hair loss is advanced, you might not experience these same benefits.

It’s also important to keep in mind that these aren’t your only hair restoration options, which include surgical transplants, toupees, wigs, and weaves, light treatments, and even topical fibers that can be applied during your morning routine.

Even if we’re only narrowing our options down to hair kits that contain some form of minoxidil, Hims is still up against some fairly deep competition, including Rogaine, Nioxin, Keranique, Vanarex, Foligain Trioxidil, and Bosley, to name just a few. Price-wise, most ranged between $20 and $50, with some reaching as high as $100.

How can you decide whether or not a Hims Hair Kit is more worthy of your money?

Our Final Thoughts About Hims Hair Kits

The bottom line is that, while you understand there isn’t a cure or a one-size-fits-all solution to genetic hair loss, you want to at least put up a fight. And based on what we learned from sites like WebMD, Truth In Aging, and RxList, it seems like many of the ingredients in Hims’ kits could provide some measure of help.

However, you’ll need to obtain a prescription for finasteride (or sildenafil, if sexual wellness is your concern), which will involve talking with a doctor. And if you don’t want to make an appointment with yours, Hims is currently the only company offering an all-in-one solution that includes assessment, prescription fulfillment, and different hair loss kits.

On top of this, Hims seems to have a mostly positive—if not somewhat limited—online reputation. But keep in mind that none of their products come with refunds, so you’ll want to make 100 percent certain you’re ready to spend the money before placing your order for one of their hair loss kits, or for their standalone products.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

23 Consumer Reviews for Hims Hair Kit

Average Consumer Rating: 2.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 6 4 star: 2 3 star: 0 2 star: 1 1 star:  14
Bottom Line: 39% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 23
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 6 people found this review helpful

    2 weeks late

    • USA,
    • Jul 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    No, I do not recommend this company.

    I ordered a subscription from them and I have been waiting two weeks for it and they haven’t shipped it yet. And after two weeks of waiting for it and emailing back and forth, nobody can help me. It’s been exhausting trying to get customer service to help me. They just blame it on the medical team.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 29 out 29 people found this review helpful

    Very disappointing service

    • New Jersey,
    • Jun 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Ok, it's not Amazon. But if you're providing a service, there needs to be a modicum of responsibility and promptness, which was not met.

    I have no complaints against their products. I did not see any improvement after five months on my sightly thinning patch on my crown, but I was willing to give it a long-term shot. I also have no problems against their questionnaire. In fact, I find that commendable, as the whole thing can be done at my leisure instead of going to a doctor.

    My complaint is against customer service. Someone said that they're a startup that's struggling with increasing volume of customers. Time to restructure. This cannot be an excuse in a competitive market where customers can't wait for days for a response. If you can't handle it, either improve or give up, instead of displeasing customers.

    The doctors are weird. They either don't look at your case or don't read your emails properly. I get advice that I didn't ask for, and don't get the advice I asked. They also got my two subscription plans mixed up.

    The moment they took away the option to pause or cancel orders from the website, I smelled a rat. They took away control from the customer in order to manipulate them into dependence on their customer service, which apparently didn't exist. Two of my emails from three months ago went unanswered, even after follow up. When I asked to pause my subscription, no answer for days. Now they're notifying me that my order will ship soon. So their decision about the website was to basically stall until your credit card was charged, then frustrate you by emails up until you give up.

    I'm not giving up - the cancellation, I mean. I've emailed them for that. If that goes ignored, I'm disputing the case with the help of my credit card. Discover is great that way. If forhims.com is inept enough to ignore Discover's investigation, is a foregone conclusion. If they do respond, I have evidence of their lack of service and response. I'm pretty sure it'll be the former.

    No, I'm not paid by a competitor, although now I'm going to find one. Save your money, and yourself from frustration.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 4, 2018

      Vanessa C.

      I would totally report this to the CFPB, upload all your emails, and whatever they have sent to you. Nothing will ever get fixed if no one reports them to the CFPB. So make a complaint to them.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Great results, simple, and well-priced

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Jun 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Seems many are frustrated with their customer service. I’ve not interacted with them more than once, and that time I got help within a couple of hours. My experience has been very smooth. Took some pics, answered a few questions, paid $5 and got my first shipment in the mail within a week or so. I have now been using it for three months and have visible results. Hair loss has stopped, and there is budding regrowth. I do the whole package, with finasteride, multivitamins, shampoo, and minoxidil, and it really has been very successful. The pricing is amazing, the service of not having to think about these products being refilled is great, and with the results I’ve seen so far, I can’t see myself not continuing to be a customer.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 10 people found this review helpful

    It really does work!

    • South Orange County, CA,
    • Jun 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I’ve been seeing Hims products on social media for at least a few months before trying it myself earlier this month. I didn’t use the $5 hair kit that they are offering, but I just bought the shampoo. After a few days of trying it, I see some hopeful results. As a 33-year-old guy, my hair has started to lose rapidly since 2014. Being a single guy, I started to worry. I’ve tried over the counter hair growing shampoos here and there for the past four years, but neither of them worked. I’d say that Hims shampoo is the only hair growing shampoo product that has worked for me. I’d definitely buy this shampoo again once it runs out.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Hims scam

    • Wisconsin,
    • Jun 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    So first off, let start off saying that I was recommended by a friend to use Hims, so I said why not. They ask questions about ED, so I told them my experience, and from what doctors told me, this is how I answered their questions. So I was denied by them. Their response was to see my primary doctor, which I did. This is why I came to their website, because my doctor wouldn't help me.

    So I wait a while and try again. Now this time they tell me there's something wrong with my photos, I have to upload it, which I did FIVE TIMES! I get a few more emails, so today, 6/11/2018, I decided to call. Now mind you, I check my account and it says my order is being packaged, but once I get on the phone with customer service, they tell me the doctor denied me and I should check my messages again. Another doctor denied me for the fourth time.

    Now let me say this, my brother is in his late twenties, and I'm in my early forties, and he has been approved. LOL. I don't feel like I should have to lie to receive their products, but I'm very disappointed with how things went.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 20 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Never got anything

    • San Francisco, CA,
    • Jun 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I paid the five bucks and two weeks later still never got anything. I go on the web page and emailed them to both emails they have up and never got a real response. I don’t even see a phone number so I can call them or else I would call and see why I haven’t got anything. Don’t buy it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 17 people found this review helpful

    It’s not Amazon, fellas.

    • Cincinnati, OH,
    • Jun 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I’m not a review writing kind of guy. I don’t even participate in social media. I do rely on others that write reviews for all of my online purchases. This has to be posted/read. I’m not sure if this will help me just yet, but it could help YOU with your hair. If you’re serious about doing something for hair or lack thereof, don’t listen to folks that are impatient. I use Amazon Prime and am used to getting stuff in two days with quick answers.

    I prefer to buy stuff online unless it’s something that is probably best to buy in person or local, like shoes or vegetables.

    I’m 36 and my hairline has been, umm, high since at least my 21st birthday. However, over the past two years, my crown has been thinning too fast.

    I’ve been taking nutritional supplements supposed to affect the DHT and some biotin for three months. I’ve seen some small improvements.

    I didn’t try Rogain because of the price and the mixed results from others. What brought me to Hims was the ease of getting finasteride because I don’t have health insurance. I also like Hims openness of "this is what offer, this is what it does, this is how much it costs."

    From the start of my process to the product in hand was just under two weeks, 8-9 business days with a holiday weekend in there.

    Yes, you have to answer questions.

    Yes, you send pictures.

    Yes, there are doctor emails and maybe follow up questions.

    Yes, the process takes time.

    No, it’s not a scam.

    Minoxidil and finasteride are not proprietary, and you don’t have to buy their other stuff.

    I paid $5 for the complete hair kit, what’s to lose?

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 23 out 39 people found this review helpful

    Bad

    • New York City, NY,
    • May 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    You have to pay $5 just to get "diagnosed" on the website, as to what basis they do this I don't know. They can then just turn you down without so much as a word. Just go see a doctor in person and save yourself some trouble.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 36 people found this review helpful

    Pretty good so far

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • May 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I enjoy the service so far. A lot of people are complaining about customer service and giving it 1 star, and below I'll talk about that.

    But for now, their products are pretty great for the pricing honestly. You get a free appointment, there's no "schedule" like someone down there said. You simply join the site, apply for what you need, they'll ask for some pictures of your problems, and they'll get back to you about how they think you could go about fixing it. This is honestly the best method to get a prescription to these meds; you don't pay over $100 for a consultation, plus other fees upon visiting and returning.

    Next, the pricing is really great for what you're getting, since these things go from $30-50 and their supplements are worth at least $20 on other sites like Amazon for similar ingredients, for anyone complaining about that.

    Overall, it's a pretty great service with one real rough patch that they're clearly working on.

    As for the people asking about the support:

    1. Understand that these are PEOPLE working here, not robots. I usually receive replies within two days through EMAIL (this usually takes much longer for other sites, unless clearly a BIG cooperation).

    2. There ARE more options than just email! Some people here are crying about how they suck because you can only call and email them. Clearly they were just salty and didn't care to look around to find their contact us page before posting a review, lol.

    3. They even warn you, stating they are delayed because of the amount of messages they're getting, and they're sorry! It's called patience; if you're looking into these services, this is the first thing you're going to need! These pills aren't magic fix it pills, they take plenty of time. If you can't wait 2-3 days for an email from a newer company starting up and getting thousands of new members every day so they're pretty backed up, then chances are you don't want to use these pills as they take 3+ months to work at times!

    Support verdict: Yes, their support isn't the best at the moment, but again, it's a newer company trying to catch up to their demand, and they're clearly improving on it. These are genuine people trying to assist you.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Hims is pretty ok

    • Brooklyn, NY,
    • May 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Hims is not a two-star company to be sure. All their products are fine, and the kits are nicely packaged, and I at least feel as though my hair looks thicker.

    The main flaw is that sometimes a hold will get placed on your account because you need to get the prescription renewed. This process seems straightforward but ends up hitting snags for whatever reason, so they put a hold on shipping, but I have not been charged during these hold times. The real issue is you have to hope the CX team doesn't lose track of you while resolving the issue.

    P.S. I write this only because of most reviews on HighYa seem as if they are purchased by competitors. That being said (and hopefully passing through), I wanted to say something in Hims defense.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 21 out 30 people found this review helpful

    Your order will not ship

    I paid for my order about three weeks ago, there is always a problem, and my order still has not shipped. No customer service to call, only email, and you will get a generic response. I am wondering if this is a scam. I paid for my order and want my order shipped or I want my money back. I cannot tell you if the product works for I never received my order, and I tried to express my concerns with no answers to when my order will ship. STAY AWAY from this company!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 23

Write a Review for Hims Hair Kit!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review