About HiSmile

By HighYa Staff
Updated on: Mar 28, 2018

You want a whiter smile, but your teeth and gums are too sensitive for hydrogen peroxide.

The good news is that HiSmile manufactures a line of peroxide-free teeth whitening products that use sodium bicarbonate instead, which can provide a pain-free alternative. No more irritation to your gums or mouth.

Despite its gentleness, the company claims their teeth whitening systems can deliver noticeable results in as little as 10 minutes by removing extrinsic (i.e., surface) stains, and can make your teeth up to eight shades whiter within six applications.

Add to this HiSmile’s 100 percent clinically proven results and patented mouth guard, and you’ve got a safe, easy, and effective way to whiten your teeth in the comfort of your own home.

But before you hand over any money, there are some things you need to know. First, we’ll talk about the price of their different products.

HiSmile Products, Pricing, & Refund Policy

Overall, HiSmile currently offers five different natural, vegan products, which come with a 30-day money back guarantee (from the date of purchase), if customers don’t achieve teeth that are at least two shades whiter. According to the company, here’s what you’ll have to do to request one:

  1. Take a clear photo of your teeth before using.
  2. Use exactly as instructed.
  3. Take a clear photo after you've completed all whitening applications.
  4. Send your before and after photos to the company, along with a photo of the used products.
  5. Once approved, your refund will be processed.

Peroxide Free Teeth Whitening Kit

HiSmile’s kit includes 3 x Teeth Whitening Gel syringes, 1 x Mouth Tray and LED Light, a Teeth Whitening Shade Guide, and a step-by-step Instruction Manual. Here’s how it works:

  1. Apply 1/4 of the gel to the face of the top of the mouth guard, and 1/4 of the gel to the face of the bottom of the mouth guard.
  2. Then, place the guard in your mouth and turn the LED light on. After 10 minutes, the light will turn itself off and beep.
  3. Afterward, rinse your mouth and mouth guard.

The kit will give you six applications (two applications per syringe). The company recommends using the gel every day (consecutively) for the first six applications, followed by one weekly application to maintain results.

HiSmile’s Whitening Kit is priced at $79.99 AUD, $59.99 USD, £49.99, €54.99.

If you’ve ordered HiSmile’s Whitening Kit previously and only need individual pieces, these are available for purchase as well:

Day & Night Toothpaste

The Day formula contains something called a Micro-Shield wax that promises to prevent stains from occurring, while the night toothpaste is said to use “charcoal and other natural ingredients to remove stains and detoxify the mouth.” Features a pleasant peppermint flavor.

Pricing: $19.99 AUD, $15.99 USD, £11.99, €13.99 (available on subscription for 30 percent off).

Teeth Whitening Gel Syringes

These use a blend of sodium bicarbonate and sodium chlorite to provide whitening, along with light activators like pomegranate, aloe vera, and chamomile, to help whiten up to eight shades in 10 minutes, without sensitivity. For use with HiSmile’s LED Light & Mouth Tray.

Three gel pens are priced at $29.99 AUD, $23.99 USD, £18.99, €21.99 (available on subscription for 30 percent off).

Peroxide Free Teeth Whitening Pen

HiSmile’s Teeth Whitening Pen can be used for touch-ups when you’re on the go, and is also great for hard-to-reach areas. Contains the same peroxide-free formula found in the syringes.

Priced at $29.99 AUD, $23.99 USD, £18.99, €21.99 (available on subscription for 30 percent off).

Coconut Whitening Mouthwash

Features sodium bicarbonate as its key whitening ingredient, along with coconut to extract toxins from your teeth and gums. Application only takes about two minutes.

Five coconut tubes and an instruction manual will cost you $29.99 AUD, $23.99 USD, £18.99, €21.99 (available on subscription for 30 percent off).

How Do HiSmile’s Prices Compare To Other At-Home Whitening Kits?

Compared to some of the other teeth whitening products we’ve reviewed here at HighYa, including Whitening Coach, Action Pro White, and many others, HiSmile’s kit is about half the price.

However, the ASOTV whitening kit Dial-a-Smile comes in less than HiSmile, while other tray-based bleaching systems can be purchased locally for as little as $11.

Granted, all of these use hydrogen peroxide, while HiSmile uses sodium bicarbonate. But whether we’re talking about tooth sensitivity or whitening results, is there any difference between these two ingredients?

Hydrogen Peroxide vs. Sodium Bicarbonate

Most at-home teeth whitening kits use carbamide peroxide, which breaks down into hydrogen peroxide. In turn, this creates an oxidation reaction that dissolves stains and lifts them away.

The sodium bicarbonate (more commonly known as baking soda) in products like HiSmile, on the other hand, basically acts as a mild abrasive to scrub away stains from the surface of your teeth.

Comparing their effectiveness, carbamide/hydrogen peroxide is generally more effective at removing stains, especially those that may be older and located deeper within your teeth. However, it can cause some tooth and gum sensitivity, although this usually subsides quickly after treatment.

Overall, after undergoing exhaustive clinical testing, peroxide is considered very safe by the ADA for use in at-home whitening products.

Interestingly, since it’s an abrasive (however mild), extended use of sodium bicarbonate can lead to irreparable enamel damage. Sure, you might not experience any immediate tooth or gum sensitivity, but over the long term, using a baking soda-based whitening system can be much more harmful to your teeth than a peroxide-based one.

In all, this means that peroxide-based whitening systems will likely provide you with better, safer whitening results than ones like HiSmile—if you don’t suffer from tooth or gum sensitivity.

What are HiSmile’s customers saying about their results?

Are Customers Speaking Out About HiSmile?

Since writing our original article, more than 80 HighYa readers provided their feedback about HiSmile, giving the company an average rating of 3.3 stars. Common compliments referenced ease of use, effective results, and solid customer support, while complaints often related to no results. In most instances, a company representative responded directly to this feedback.

TheBlondePerfectionist.com noted that HiSmile was "incredibly easy" to use and that they experienced results by the second application. Ultimately, they were "blown away" by how effective it was.

Similarly, InsincerelyHer.com noted that HiSmile worked fast and gave them “super white” teeth in weeks.

PetiteAnchors didn't see much of a difference with HiSmile, and claimed that "it made no actual difference to my teeth colouring." Granted, the author noted that she had undergone a couple of professional whitening treatments in the past, as well as numerous at-home treatments, and concluded that her teeth simply couldn't get any whiter.

Now, let’s wrap everything up as neatly as the box HiSmile comes in.

Is HiSmile a Pain-Free Way To Whiten Your Teeth?

Can HiSmile provide you with a whiter smile, without sensitivity? With its baking soda-based whitening gel, it’s certainly possible.

Will it provide you with similar (or better) results than other peroxide-based at-home whitening kits? Again, it’s possible, although hydrogen peroxide is generally more effective at removing stains underneath your enamel, which could provide more shades of whitening.

Will HiSmile’s LED light provide any better or faster whitening results? Almost certainly not.

Given all of this, will HiSmile provide a solid value for the money? If tooth and gum sensitivity is your number one concern (and you’ve already tried a peroxide-based kit), then baking soda-based products might be your only option.

The catch here is that you could potentially achieve similar results using a DIY baking soda paste, which can be made for just a couple dollars. Or, you can purchase a tube of baking soda toothpaste from several different national companies for not much more.

Despite these concerns, the before and after pictures features on HiSmile’s Instagram page indicate that the company has hundreds of satisfied customers. Although due to the abrasive nature of the baking soda in HiSmile’s gel, we’re hoping they don’t continue using the product for too long, or they might permanently damage their enamel.

What kind of whitening results did you achieve using HiSmile? Tell us about it by leaving a review below!

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

143 Consumer Reviews for HiSmile

Average Consumer Rating: 3.8
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 92 4 star: 8 3 star: 1 2 star: 7 1 star:  35
Bottom Line: 68% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 143
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    It's affordable, only 10 minutes a night, 100% works

    • Kahnawake, Quebec, Canada,
    • Oct 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This whitened better than my dentist could. I had no problems with HiSmile. I saw major improvements after the first use. I just finished my 6th day, and WOW, it really works, thanks HiSmile.

    Living with depression, I let myself go, gained weight, got yellow teeth, and quit exercising, but this just gave me a boost of morale to change things around.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 1, 2018

      Mollie, Customer Experience Specialist

      Hi Eddie,

      Thanks for taking the time to leave your review of our products. I am pleased to hear you are loving your HiSmile experience, and we have been able to help get your feet back on the ground! Having inner and outer confidence is the best feeling, and we are sure you are beaming, thank you for the kind words! Stay strong Eddie, we're so happy to have you apart of the HiSmile fam!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Not enough information provided - left very unsure

    • Sep 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have just received my HiSmile, and I am very unsure what to do. Although syringes are provided, the only information is a small cardboard paper with very little instructions. It says to apply 1/4 syringe to the top and also the bottom. Unsure whether this is an additional 1/4 or the same? The instructions don’t state anywhere how many uses the syringes will provide or how many days they should be used for. I also received a little card with progression images of teeth, however, they are labeled from day 1 (whitest images) to day 13 (darkest yellow image), so I am also confused with this?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 16, 2018

      Mollie, Customer Experience Specialist

      Hi Ally,

      We're so happy to hear you have received your Kit and are ready to start your HiSmile journey.

      When it comes to using the Kit, simply apply 1/4 of the gel syringe to the top the mouth tray and a 1/4 of the gel syringe to the bottom of the mouth tray. Using a total of half a gel syringe.

      With this information in mind, the kit provides you with six days worth of applications that are best if used consecutively. You can record your progress from day one and day six, which is printed on our shade guide.

      When it comes to our handy shade guide, the numbered one through to thirteen teeth shades is just to it make it a little easier to see what shade you start on and finish on, as this isn't a 13-day process.

      If you are ever unsure on anything to do with our Kit or product, please feel free to reach out to us on LiveChat or via our email help@hismileteeth.com

      Welcome to the HiSmile family Ally, we can't wait to see your results!

    • Sep 24, 2018

      Mon L.

      I was really happy at the beginning to see some results in my teeth. However, after a month of usage, my teeth started to hurt and feel weak when I would eat, especially products such as meat, and apples. I went to the dentist and he said that my teeth are very damaged since I am using some abrasive method for cleaning them and I should stop it completely. So yeah, a scam.

    • Oct 1, 2018

      Mollie, Customer Experience Specialist

      Hi Mon,

      Thanks for taking the time to leave your honest feedback. I am disappointed to hear you have experienced this, as I can assure you our formula has been carefully crafted to include only the finest ingredients, ensuring that your teeth are not harmed in the process.

      However, I recommend reaching out to our customer experience team at help@hismileteeth.com so we are able to assist further! We look forward to hearing from you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Amazing!

    • New York,
    • Sep 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Overall, this was the quickest and easiest teeth whitening tool I’ve used so far. I’ve tried whitening strips and toothpaste from other companies, and they didn’t help my teeth. HiSmile was painless and inexpensive compared to other items I’ve tried. Not to mention it came in a really nice package.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 4, 2018

      Mollie, Customer Experience Specialist

      Hi Vanessa,

      I am so pleased you have loved your HiSmile experience! We aim to provide a product that our customers can achieve amazing results, sensitivity free and with no discomfort. The price point is an added bonus! We love our sleek and stylish packaging and the fact you love it too, makes it all worthwhile.

      Happy HiSmiling.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Amazing product! I won't buy anything else!

    • Rupert, ID,
    • Aug 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have never purchased a better product! I have tried multiple teeth whitening products that leave my teeth feeling sensitive, even to the point of pain after a session for a good solid week. Each session was about 30 minutes. HiSmile has seriously been a life saver for me, and it only takes 10 minutes. I purchased the entire kit and was surprised at how quickly I noticed a difference in shades. There is no pain, no sensitivity, and no wasted time! I won't buy anything else. Plus it's affordable! If I could, I would give this product a 10!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 2, 2018

      Mollie, Customer Experience Specialist

      Hi Morgan,

      Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you have experienced such great results with our Teeth Whitening Kit. We aim to provide an at-home whitening solution with no sensitivity, and the fact you can notice the difference is amazing. If you would like to share your results with us please email help@hismileteeth.com Welcome to the HiSmile family.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Nobody responds to email

    • Woodland Hills, CA,
    • Aug 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Very disturbing when you place an order and it never arrives. You contact the website and nobody responds to your request. You respond to the initial email of someone who is supposedly your contact, and they never respond. I want my money back. Worst customer service ever.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 2, 2018

      Mollie, Customer Experience Specialist

      Hi Cheri,

      This is very unusual as we respond to every email within 48 hours. I can see there is an email matching your name with a response on the 23rd of August, that states the initial email was blank. We would be more than happy to assist you if you would like continue the chain or please send us a new email. We aim to go above and beyond for all of our customers and assist to the best of our ability. We look forward to speaking with you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Not just a hype machine!

    • Adelaide, South Australia,
    • Aug 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    After just my second refill I am stoked that my teeth are already several shades whiter. I used the starter kit for six days straight and then after a few days began using just twice a week! Great company, great vibe, and great product.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 13, 2018

      Mollie, Customer Experience Specialist

      Hey Chris! I appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts on our products. I am so happy to hear your experience with HiSmile was nothing short of amazing. Nothing is better than a white smile! Happy HiSmiling!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    The whitest and the quickest

    • London, England,
    • Aug 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I recently purchased the whole kit and some extra syringes as I am soon to get married and have what I would class as disgustingly stained teeth. I didn’t feel comfortable or confident in myself whenever I smiled, but now after using this, my teeth look 1,000,000 times better! I honestly couldn’t be happier!

    Now I feel happy enough to be walking around and smiling all day, every day to show off my new teeth!

    Also, to add, I didn’t really need the extra syringes after, but as I drink tea a lot I’ve made sure I get them as I know my teeth will stain otherwise. But to help this, I also bought the day and night toothpaste, which is AWESOME.

    I love it all!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 5, 2018

      Mollie, Customer Experience Specialist

      Hi Josh!

      We are so pleased to hear you were able to achieve such amazing results for your special day! Having inner and outer confidence is the best feeling, and we are sure you are beaming, thank you for the kind words!

      If you need any additional assistance don't hesitate to reach out to our customer experience team, help@hismileteeth.com Congratulations on your wedding, we are sure it will be an AMAZING day!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Great product

    • Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada,
    • Jul 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This was my first time using this product for the first six days and my results where great. I had gone a few shades lighter than before. I will definitely rebuy the refills in the future. I highly recommend this product. It only takes ten minutes out of your day for a brighter smile to share with the world.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 29, 2018

      Mollie, Customer Experience Specialist

      Hi Dustin!

      Thank you for leaving this amazing review. We are so pleased you have achieved great results with your Kit. Welcome to the family, don't forget to share your before and after photos via the #hismileresults.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Amazing product

    • Oahu, HI,
    • Jul 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Everyone is a little skeptical when they first try a product. But I can say after the first week or so, you immediately see great results. The second package was already on the way and still haven't finished my first package.

    Mahalo HISmile!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 25, 2018

      Mollie, Customer Experience Specialist

      Hi Josh,

      Thank you for leaving this review! We are happy to hear you have achieved great results, enjoy your second parcel and welcome to the HiSmile family!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Amazing!

    • Anchorage, AK,
    • Jul 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    When I first heard of this product, I was a bit hesitant on buying it because it seemed too good to be true, but after buying the kit, I do not regret it one bit! The kit was so easy to use, the instructions were easy to follow, and I saw whiter teeth within the first two days! After using it for the six days, I do not regret this purchase at all!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 25, 2018

      Mollie, Customer Experience Specialist

      Hi Anton,

      Thank you for your review! We are so pleased you have loved your HiSmile experience, with the ability to achieve up to eight shades whiter in six days, it does seem to good to be true! Reality is, we pride ourselves on designing a product that uses natural ingredients that achieve great results! Happy HiSmiling Anton!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    This product did not work for me

    • Sydney, Australia,
    • Jul 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I tried this product for six days straight as recommended for best results. Unfortunately, my teeth are not six shades lighter or anything, they are exactly the same. I took before and after photos and there isn’t much difference at all. I have brought more gel but I feel like maybe it’s just a waste of money and time! It is not the outcome I was hoping to see!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 11, 2018

      Mollie, Customer Experience Specialist

      Hi Ardon,

      Thank you for leaving this review. I understand how disappointing not seeing results may be, and we do understand that individual results may vary as teeth respond differently to the whitening process.

      Due to this, we have implemented our 30-day money back guarantee to assist in customers who do not see results of at least two shades whiter after their six consecutive applications. We would love to assist you and by taking these before and after photos will assist us greatly.

      Please email help@hismileteeth.com, we look forward to speaking soon!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 143

Write a Review for HiSmile!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review