About HiSmile

By HighYa Research Team
Updated on: Mar 28, 2018

You want a whiter smile, but your teeth and gums are too sensitive for hydrogen peroxide.

The good news is that HiSmile manufactures a line of peroxide-free teeth whitening products that use sodium bicarbonate instead, which can provide a pain-free alternative. No more irritation to your gums or mouth.

Despite its gentleness, the company claims their teeth whitening systems can deliver noticeable results in as little as 10 minutes by removing extrinsic (i.e., surface) stains, and can make your teeth up to eight shades whiter within six applications.

Add to this HiSmile’s 100 percent clinically proven results and patented mouth guard, and you’ve got a safe, easy, and effective way to whiten your teeth in the comfort of your own home.

But before you hand over any money, there are some things you need to know. First, we’ll talk about the price of their different products.

HiSmile Products, Pricing, & Refund Policy

Overall, HiSmile currently offers five different natural, vegan products, which come with a 30-day money back guarantee (from the date of purchase), if customers don’t achieve teeth that are at least two shades whiter. According to the company, here’s what you’ll have to do to request one:

  1. Take a clear photo of your teeth before using.
  2. Use exactly as instructed.
  3. Take a clear photo after you've completed all whitening applications.
  4. Send your before and after photos to the company, along with a photo of the used products.
  5. Once approved, your refund will be processed.

Peroxide Free Teeth Whitening Kit

HiSmile’s kit includes 3 x Teeth Whitening Gel syringes, 1 x Mouth Tray and LED Light, a Teeth Whitening Shade Guide, and a step-by-step Instruction Manual. Here’s how it works:

  1. Apply 1/4 of the gel to the face of the top of the mouth guard, and 1/4 of the gel to the face of the bottom of the mouth guard.
  2. Then, place the guard in your mouth and turn the LED light on. After 10 minutes, the light will turn itself off and beep.
  3. Afterward, rinse your mouth and mouth guard.

The kit will give you six applications (two applications per syringe). The company recommends using the gel every day (consecutively) for the first six applications, followed by one weekly application to maintain results.

HiSmile’s Whitening Kit is priced at $79.99 AUD, $59.99 USD, £49.99, €54.99.

If you’ve ordered HiSmile’s Whitening Kit previously and only need individual pieces, these are available for purchase as well:

Day & Night Toothpaste

The Day formula contains something called a Micro-Shield wax that promises to prevent stains from occurring, while the night toothpaste is said to use “charcoal and other natural ingredients to remove stains and detoxify the mouth.” Features a pleasant peppermint flavor.

Pricing: $19.99 AUD, $15.99 USD, £11.99, €13.99 (available on subscription for 30 percent off).

Teeth Whitening Gel Syringes

These use a blend of sodium bicarbonate and sodium chlorite to provide whitening, along with light activators like pomegranate, aloe vera, and chamomile, to help whiten up to eight shades in 10 minutes, without sensitivity. For use with HiSmile’s LED Light & Mouth Tray.

Three gel pens are priced at $29.99 AUD, $23.99 USD, £18.99, €21.99 (available on subscription for 30 percent off).

Peroxide Free Teeth Whitening Pen

HiSmile’s Teeth Whitening Pen can be used for touch-ups when you’re on the go, and is also great for hard-to-reach areas. Contains the same peroxide-free formula found in the syringes.

Priced at $29.99 AUD, $23.99 USD, £18.99, €21.99 (available on subscription for 30 percent off).

Coconut Whitening Mouthwash

Features sodium bicarbonate as its key whitening ingredient, along with coconut to extract toxins from your teeth and gums. Application only takes about two minutes.

Five coconut tubes and an instruction manual will cost you $29.99 AUD, $23.99 USD, £18.99, €21.99 (available on subscription for 30 percent off).

How Do HiSmile’s Prices Compare to Other At-Home Whitening Kits?

Compared to some of the other teeth whitening products we’ve reviewed here at HighYa, including Whitening Coach, Action Pro White, and many others, HiSmile’s kit is about half the price.

However, the ASOTV whitening kit Dial-a-Smile comes in less than HiSmile, while other tray-based bleaching systems can be purchased locally for as little as $11.

Granted, all of these use hydrogen peroxide, while HiSmile uses sodium bicarbonate. But whether we’re talking about tooth sensitivity or whitening results, is there any difference between these two ingredients?

Hydrogen Peroxide vs. Sodium Bicarbonate

Most at-home teeth whitening kits use carbamide peroxide, which breaks down into hydrogen peroxide. In turn, this creates an oxidation reaction that dissolves stains and lifts them away.

The sodium bicarbonate (more commonly known as baking soda) in products like HiSmile, on the other hand, basically acts as a mild abrasive to scrub away stains from the surface of your teeth.

Comparing their effectiveness, carbamide/hydrogen peroxide is generally more effective at removing stains, especially those that may be older and located deeper within your teeth. However, it can cause some tooth and gum sensitivity, although this usually subsides quickly after treatment.

Overall, after undergoing exhaustive clinical testing, peroxide is considered very safe by the ADA for use in at-home whitening products.

Interestingly, since it’s an abrasive (however mild), extended use of sodium bicarbonate can lead to irreparable enamel damage. Sure, you might not experience any immediate tooth or gum sensitivity, but over the long term, using a baking soda-based whitening system can be much more harmful to your teeth than a peroxide-based one.

In all, this means that peroxide-based whitening systems will likely provide you with better, safer whitening results than ones like HiSmile—if you don’t suffer from tooth or gum sensitivity.

What are HiSmile’s customers saying about their results?

Are Customers Speaking Out About HiSmile?

Since writing our original article, more than 80 HighYa readers provided their feedback about HiSmile, giving the company an average rating of 3.3 stars. Common compliments referenced ease of use, effective results, and solid customer support, while complaints often related to no results. In most instances, a company representative responded directly to this feedback.

TheBlondePerfectionist.com noted that HiSmile was "incredibly easy" to use and that they experienced results by the second application. Ultimately, they were "blown away" by how effective it was.

Similarly, InsincerelyHer.com noted that HiSmile worked fast and gave them “super white” teeth in weeks.

PetiteAnchors didn't see much of a difference with HiSmile, and claimed that "it made no actual difference to my teeth colouring." Granted, the author noted that she had undergone a couple of professional whitening treatments in the past, as well as numerous at-home treatments, and concluded that her teeth simply couldn't get any whiter.

Now, let’s wrap everything up as neatly as the box HiSmile comes in.

Is HiSmile a Pain-Free Way to Whiten Your Teeth?

Can HiSmile provide you with a whiter smile, without sensitivity? With its baking soda-based whitening gel, it’s certainly possible.

Will it provide you with similar (or better) results than other peroxide-based at-home whitening kits? Again, it’s possible, although hydrogen peroxide is generally more effective at removing stains underneath your enamel, which could provide more shades of whitening.

Will HiSmile’s LED light provide any better or faster whitening results? Almost certainly not.

Given all of this, will HiSmile provide a solid value for the money? If tooth and gum sensitivity is your number one concern (and you’ve already tried a peroxide-based kit), then baking soda-based products might be your only option.

The catch here is that you could potentially achieve similar results using a DIY baking soda paste, which can be made for just a couple dollars. Or, you can purchase a tube of baking soda toothpaste from several different national companies for not much more.

Despite these concerns, the before and after pictures features on HiSmile’s Instagram page indicate that the company has hundreds of satisfied customers. Although due to the abrasive nature of the baking soda in HiSmile’s gel, we’re hoping they don’t continue using the product for too long, or they might permanently damage their enamel.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 151 HiSmile Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 3.7
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 94 4 star: 9 3 star: 2 2 star: 8 1 star:  38
Bottom Line: 66% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 151
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • Total waste of money

    • New Jersey,
    • May 28, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    It is not working at all! Stay away, it is a scam. No sensitivity - yes, but it's is not whitening your teeth. Total waste of money and time!

    Stay away, stay away, stay away.

    Scam!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jun 16, 2019

      Company Response from HiSmile

      Hey Vladimir,

      I'm sorry to hear our Kit fell short from giving you the results you’d been hoping for. We would love to assist you further if you can email help@hismileteeth.com with your order number and reference this review.

      We look forward to assisting you further!


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Doesn't work. Bad customer service.

    • Dublin, Ireland,
    • Apr 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought this with good expectations but after a full use of its six days, my teeth looked exactly the same. After each use, I did not notice even a slight change, which was disappointing.

    I emailed customer service dept about two weeks ago explaining my dissatisfaction and I never heard back from them even though there is supposed to be money back guaranteed.

    A certain scam and please don't be fooled. It doesnt work.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jun 16, 2019

      Company Response from HiSmile

      Hey David,

      We're sorry to hear our Kit fell short from giving you the results you’d been hoping for. We can assure you we respond to every email we receive. Can you confirm you emailed help@hismileteeth.com as we'd like to help you with your money back guarantee as soon as possible.

      We look forward to assisting you further!


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    No result

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Feb 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The videos and reviews show that it makes your teeth shade lighter, and after multiple uses as directed, with the day and night toothpaste, I did not notice any difference at all.

    Crest white strips did way more for me than this.

    Do not recommend - advertisements seem skewed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jun 16, 2019

      Company Response from HiSmile

      Hey Lisa,

      We're sorry to hear our Kit and Day & Night Toothpaste fell short from giving you the results you’d been hoping for. We would love to assist you further if you can email help@hismileteeth.com with your order number and reference this review.

      We look forward to assisting you further!


  • 26 out 31 people found this review helpful

    Not impressed

    • Brisbane, Australia,
    • Nov 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered this after seeing all the ads that made it seem that HiSmile seriously whitened your teeth. When I ordered a while back, they claimed it would whiten my teeth by 8 shades. Today, I went back and their claim has gone down to 2 shades. I’ve ordered twice in hopes that my teeth would reach the maximum white they could. However, after two purchases (12 sessions) my teeth are maybe 1 shade lighter (if I’m really pushing it). Not impressed. I am going to head to the dentist from now on. I blew 120 bucks on the stupid thing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Dec 12, 2018

      Company Response from HiSmile

      Hey Lily,

      Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. We understand that not achieving desired results may be disappointing however as each individual's teeth respond differently to the whitening process, due to this we implemented our 30-day money back guarantee!

      If you do not achieve results of at least two shades whiter you can apply for your money back via the FAQ page on our website by clicking "email us" and selecting money back guarantee.

      Each individuals lifestyle choices may inhibit the overall outcome of the whitening process, and we recommend limiting the intake of staining food and drinks to assist in optimal results. This is why we state you can achieve up to eight shades with our Kit, however, are confident you will achieve at least two shades whiter! We would love to chat and assist you further. I am unable to find you in our system, please email us at help@hismileteeth.com

      We look forward to speaking soon.


  • 2 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Amazing!

    • Israel,
    • Nov 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    An amazing experience! My teeth got whiter in just six days! I loved it and the results are really fast and safe. I really recommend this product to everyone that wants whiter teeth fast. The product is so simple to use, and the directions are very clear. You can really see a difference from the first use! I loved it!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Nov 19, 2018

      Company Response from HiSmile

      Hey Juliana! We appreciate your feedback, and we are so happy you have had such a positive experience with our products. Our main aim is to create a product this quick and easy, so we are happy you experienced this and saw results within just six days! Welcome to our family!


  • 2 out 7 people found this review helpful

    A clear difference

    I have very sensitive teeth so using Crest Whitestrips never went well for me, but after using HiSmile, I realize I never need those strips again. My teeth were clearly brighter just after two applications, and I started receiving compliments from everyone and many people asking what product I am using. I will be purchasing more syringes soon!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Nov 19, 2018

      Company Response from HiSmile

      Hey Shyanne! Thanks for leaving your review, we really appreciate your feedback. Here at HiSmile, we want all our customers to experience amazing results without any pain or sensitivity, so we are so pleased to hear you received this! Welcome to the HiSmile fam!


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Comfortable, easy, convenient

    • Calgary, Alberta, Canada,
    • Oct 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I love how quick, easy, and convenient this product is. Compact and hassle-free, and I saw great improvements and a difference after just 4 applications. I love my new smile.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Oct 23, 2018

      Company Response from HiSmile

      Hey Shaun,

      That's so great to hear! Our aim is to create a product that is easy and quick so I am glad you experienced this when using our Teeth Whitening Kit.

      Welcome to the HiSmile fam and happy HiSmiling!


  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Does not work

    • Victoria, Australia,
    • Oct 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been using HiSmile for 5 and 1/2 days now. I have compared my teeth from the chart (5) until now and there is absolutely no difference. I feel as though this has been somewhat of a scam and it’s rather upsetting.

    HiSmile has done literally nothing. ,I’m on day 6 today and there has actually been no difference whatsoever.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Oct 21, 2018

      Company Response from HiSmile

      Hey Ashlyn,

      Thank you for leaving your review. We would love to help you out as we know it must be disappointing to have not achieved the results you were hoping too. Please do not hesitate in contacting our results team via our email help@hismileteeth.com. We look forward to assisting you further!


  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    It's affordable, only 10 minutes a night, 100% works

    • Kahnawake, Quebec, Canada,
    • Oct 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This whitened better than my dentist could. I had no problems with HiSmile. I saw major improvements after the first use. I just finished my 6th day, and WOW, it really works, thanks HiSmile.

    Living with depression, I let myself go, gained weight, got yellow teeth, and quit exercising, but this just gave me a boost of morale to change things around.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Oct 1, 2018

      Company Response from HiSmile

      Hi Eddie,

      Thanks for taking the time to leave your review of our products. I am pleased to hear you are loving your HiSmile experience, and we have been able to help get your feet back on the ground! Having inner and outer confidence is the best feeling, and we are sure you are beaming, thank you for the kind words! Stay strong Eddie, we're so happy to have you apart of the HiSmile fam!


  • 4 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Not enough information provided - left very unsure

    • Sep 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have just received my HiSmile, and I am very unsure what to do. Although syringes are provided, the only information is a small cardboard paper with very little instructions. It says to apply 1/4 syringe to the top and also the bottom. Unsure whether this is an additional 1/4 or the same? The instructions don’t state anywhere how many uses the syringes will provide or how many days they should be used for. I also received a little card with progression images of teeth, however, they are labeled from day 1 (whitest images) to day 13 (darkest yellow image), so I am also confused with this?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 16, 2018

      Company Response from HiSmile

      Hi Ally,

      We're so happy to hear you have received your Kit and are ready to start your HiSmile journey.

      When it comes to using the Kit, simply apply 1/4 of the gel syringe to the top the mouth tray and a 1/4 of the gel syringe to the bottom of the mouth tray. Using a total of half a gel syringe.

      With this information in mind, the kit provides you with six days worth of applications that are best if used consecutively. You can record your progress from day one and day six, which is printed on our shade guide.

      When it comes to our handy shade guide, the numbered one through to thirteen teeth shades is just to it make it a little easier to see what shade you start on and finish on, as this isn't a 13-day process.

      If you are ever unsure on anything to do with our Kit or product, please feel free to reach out to us on LiveChat or via our email help@hismileteeth.com

      Welcome to the HiSmile family Ally, we can't wait to see your results!


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Amazing!

    • New York,
    • Sep 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Overall, this was the quickest and easiest teeth whitening tool I’ve used so far. I’ve tried whitening strips and toothpaste from other companies, and they didn’t help my teeth. HiSmile was painless and inexpensive compared to other items I’ve tried. Not to mention it came in a really nice package.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 4, 2018

      Company Response from HiSmile

      Hi Vanessa,

      I am so pleased you have loved your HiSmile experience! We aim to provide a product that our customers can achieve amazing results, sensitivity free and with no discomfort. The price point is an added bonus! We love our sleek and stylish packaging and the fact you love it too, makes it all worthwhile.

      Happy HiSmiling.


Showing 1-11 of 151

Write a Review for HiSmile!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review