About HomeAdvisor

Used by 30+ million homeowners, HomeAdvisor can help you find and connect with home improvement professionals across dozens of categories; everything from appliances and siding, to carpentry and lawncare.

But HomeAdvisor understands that choosing a contractor is never an easy task, so they’ve implemented one of the industry's most comprehensive screening processes in order to help give you peace of mind. And when combined with more than 5 million submitted reviews on HomeAdvisor.com, they can help you find a professional you can trust.

On top of this, HomeAdvisor’s Resource Center features articles and advice, project guides, design and video galleries, and more, and their iDevice and Android apps make finding the right professional in the go a breeze.

Remember the old days of searching through the Yellow Pages, blindly calling around to find your next contractor? Modern technology sure has changed the process for the better, but does this mean that HomeAdvisor is your best choice? We’ll explore several different angles in this review, starting with HomeAdvisor’s features.

How Can HomeAdvisor Help You?

Overall, HomeAdvisor provides those looking for professional contractors with three core services.

HomeAdvisor’s ProFinder

This is the name for HomeAdvisor’s search engine, which “makes it easy to find local pros who specialize in exactly the type of work you need done.”

To do this, just type or select the service your need from the category list on HomeAdvisor.com’s home page (such as carpentry), choose the project type (e.g. cabinets and countertops), and indicate what you need done (installation, refacing, refinishing, etc.).

Next, you’ll enter your zip code and based on your choices, you may be asked for additional information (e.g. cabinet material, any problems you’re having, etc.).

Then, you’ll need to indicate if you’re actively hiring or just looking for quotes, approximately when you need the work completed, as well as a short description of the project. Finally, to see HomeAdvisor’s list of professionals, you’ll need to enter your name, address, and contact information.

After doing all of this, you’ll “receive information for up to four pre-screened, local home improvement pros” who are available right now and who will contact you to discuss your project.

HomeAdvisor.com’s LiveDirectory

Not quite ready to use ProFinder and hand over your information? If so, you can manually search HomeAdvisor’s database; just enter the type of service you’re interested in and your zip code.

From there, you’ll receive a list of professionals that match your criteria, which can be sorted by best match, ratings, those offering a deal, and more. On the list, you’ll see each business’s name, their rating and number of verified reviews, contact information, and brief details. If you click on the name, you’ll be able to view the business’s achievement, services, service areas, credentials, website, photos, customer ratings, and more.

HomeAdvisor True Cost Guides

By taking information from over 1 million home projects across the country (members shared who they hired, how long it took, and exactly how much it cost) and compiling it into one database, HomeAdvisor’s True Cost Guides can provide local and national cost data for 500+ types of jobs—from routine maintenance to major remodels. In fact, the company calls it the nation’s largest database of real project cost information.

What for? This way, you’ll be able to find out what other people in your area paid for their projects, which can help give you an idea what you should pay for yours.

Given all these features, how much will you pay to use HomeAdvisor?

Is HomeAdvisor’s Guidance Expensive?

As a homeowner, HomeAdvisor’s basic services are completely free to use. The company also offers HomeAdvisor Premium, which assigns you a dedicated home expert who will manage all the details of your project. This includes finding a professional, fielding bids, negotiating price, scheduling appointments, and more. Unfortunately, no costs were listed at the time of our research.

On the other hand, if you’re a contractor, each lead you receive from HomeAdvisor can vary in cost, based on the type and the location of the request. However, we did find one Google Play review that mentioned each lead costs $30, although we weren’t able to verify the accuracy of this statement.

Considering the fact that it’s free (for the most part), what’s everyone saying about HomeAdvisor?

HomeAdvisor’s Client Feedback

Overall, it seems that HomeAdvisor comes with mostly positive online customer feedback.

Based on nearly 3,000 individual reviews, HomeAdvisor had an average rating of 4.7 stars on Consumer Affairs. Most seemed to appreciate the fact that it’s free (unlike some of the competition—more in a second), easy to use, and puts you in contact with quality professionals.

Although HomeAdvisor’s reviews weren’t nearly as positive on ComplaintsList.com (by its very nature), the company did try to reach out to some of those who complained in order to find a resolution. It’s also important to note that many of the complaints there referenced contractors hired through HomeAdvisor, and not the company itself.

HomeAdvisor’s mobile apps seem to fare equally well with customers. iTunes users gave it 4 stars based on 443 reviews, and nearly 900 Google Play reviewers gave it a similar 4.1-star rating. Most claimed it’s simple to use and that it gives you access to quality contractors (many claimed they found one within minutes).

From a company perspective, HomeAdvisor is based out of Lakewood, CO and has been in business since 1999. They had an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on nearly 800 closed complaints (as of 3/15/16). These appeared to reference a wide range of concerns, from billing problems and poor quality work performed by professionals listed on the site.

Speaking of the company, exactly how does HomeAdvisor screen their contractors, and how much protection will they provide if something goes wrong?

How HomeAdvisor Protects Customers

What exactly does HomeAdvisor mean when claiming to utilize “one of the industry's most comprehensive screening processes”? According to their Terms & Conditions, their professional screening process involves verifying licensing and checking state business filings, criminal records, sex offender registrations, searching for civil judgments, and verifying their identity (social security number).

There’s are two important caveats, though:

First, after their original application, these professionals aren’t screened again, regardless of how long they’re listed on HomeAdvisor.com. What’s this mean? Outside of the negative feedback poor business practices like these would generate, if something occurs after the professional is accepted as a member (such as a civil judgment), it won’t be reflected on their profile.

Second, although the company seems to have a mostly positive online reputation, after HomeAdvisor connects you with a contractor, they basically wash their hands of the transaction. In other words, if something goes wrong in your project, it’s between you and the contractor. Should this situation occur, HomeAdvisor claims that they might offer dispute resolution services, although there’s zero obligation on their part.

Taking both of these into consideration, there’s been some criticism of HomeAdvisor in the past, based on loopholes that could allow unscrupulous contractors to sneak through the screening process:

“For example, one case in Austin involved a HomeAdvisor trusted contractor that left unfinished home improvement work after taking a deposit in 2014. It was later found the contractor had been sued 17 times since 2002. A company spokesperson said the website only screens for lawsuits from the day contractors sign up for its service. The screening only goes back one year for civil judgments and it never re-screens contractors again.”

So, should you use HomeAdvisor?

What’s the Advice for HomeAdvisor?

While there’s a ton of great information out there that can help you learn how to choose a contractor, the pickings are slim if you’re looking to locate one in the first place. In fact, the big (or only) three in this space are HomeAdvisor, Angie’s List, and Houzz.

Like any other business, each of these comes with their own unique specializations, as well as their own pros and cons. For example, Angie’s List seems to focus more on protecting clients with their Complaint Resolution Team, although you’ll have to pay a membership fee. Like HomeAdvisor, Houzz is completely free (and you can gather design ideas and purchase items, too), but they don’t seem to place a lot of emphasis (at least on their website) about the vetting process.

Which of these is right for you? Ultimately, that’s a decision only you can make. But when it comes to HomeAdvisor, it’s hard to beat free, so you might as well try signing up for an account, browsing contractors in your area, and using their ProFinder when you’re ready. Then, after you’re finished, be sure to come back here and tell us about your HomeAdvisor experience!

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

19 Consumer Reviews for HomeAdvisor

Average Consumer Rating: 1.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 0 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  19
Bottom Line: 5% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 19
Sort reviews by:

  • False leads

    • Stamford, CT,
    • Jun 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been in the constructions business for over 20 years. I signed up as a pro on home advisors. Unfortunately, 85% of the leads are false or just inquiries. Customers are not interested in doing the construction of renovation. Most of the customers don't even pick up the phone or return your call or email. Why am I being charged for a lead I didn't even talk to? I feel home advisor creates fake prospects. They not only charged me a fee for the false lead, but charged multiple contractors for the same false lead.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Highway robbery

    • Brooklyn, NY,
    • Jun 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am a contractor and joined them in 2017. They were ok in 2017, but not like they were charging me the leads.

    In 2018 I spent a lot of money because they increased the leads cast but didn’t get any job because of the monopoly.

    They try to offer me a couple of time like asking more money on a monthly base, but I refuse them and stick with leads based. But then they start sending me the fake leads where the customer never answers the calls, or if they answer, they said we never requested it and we were just searching online to get some idea, but we never requested to hire the contractor.

    So my suggestion is for users, please stay away from scammers.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Bad for contractors

    • Creston, IA,
    • Jun 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    As a contractor, HomeAdvisor's sales person told us they had 20-30 leads in our area and in our line of work, but no contractors to send the leads to. Not true. We received 0-1 leads per month and usually had to apply for a credit because the leads were not applicable to our business. Regardless of the number of leads, HomeAdvisor also charges a yearly subscription of $287 (non-refundable). We cut our losses and canceled the subscription at the end of the term.

    The latest irritant (and what prompted me to write this review) is that they will not stop calling to try and get our business back. They call our landlines and cell phones. I have repeatedly requested to be removed from their Call List.

    Bottom line: I would not recommend them to anyone. They are pushing a bad service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Bad business (crooks)

    • Borden, IN,
    • Jun 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    All I am going to say that as a business owner that HomeAdvisor is not worth the time of day, the energy, or the money. I would never recommend HomeAdvisor to anyone. I am a member of the BBB and I also know that HomeAdvisor is as well, but they should not be able to retain their membership, and I will never recommend them to one. I have also found a lot of videos about HomeAdvisor online of people that aren't happy with them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Omg, what the heck!

    • North Carolina,
    • Jun 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    After I watched the young men in this video "https://youtu.be/sPeh42cfqcc" I realized too late that I had lost $1,000.00 as fast as you could say "crappy lead." There are so many good contractors and so many great customers that it should be easy to connect right? Well, when you place a dysfunctional algorithm hidden behind the potentiality to be the greatest thing since sliced bread, with no one answerable person, it's no wonder so many people get hurt. We need customers and leads to grow our business all over the east coast but it just looks like one customer at a time will be the way it is. BuildZoom for all its imperfections are way better than HomeAdvisor. Do partake of this fantasy, watch the Video! It might just save your cash!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Do NOT sign up an account with HomeAdvisor

    • St. Augustine, FL,
    • May 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I signed up for HomeAdvisor to find a subcontractor to do some projects in our home. Little did I know that signing up with HomeAdvisor would cause an unbelievable amount of junk emails.

    WARNING...HomeAdvisor gives away your email address as soon as you sign up. The next morning after signing up, I was bombarded with a shocking amount of junk emails from many companies. I have unsubscribed to over 100 emails and counting. This is the worst I have ever experienced. HomeAdvisor should give the common courtesy to their customers by giving them the option to opt in or opt out of receiving email offers. But they don’t.

    If you don’t want your inbox to flood with junk emails, then DO NOT sign up for an account with HomeAdvisor.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Yep, a big time scam!

    All the other reviews here pretty much explain what happened to me with this service. Do NOT use this if you are a service provider of any kind as they are a complete scam and need to be shut down. I am going to do everything I can to expose them for what they are!

    I had to cancel my debit card and get a new one to stop the charges. This was a major inconvenience as all my auto pay accounts had to be set up again. They wouldn't refund my money from this misleading service, so I have filed a dispute with my bank for fraud.

    I work on computers and provide other tech services for a living and see tech support scams ALL THE TIME! This company reeks of the same thing and is no different from these leaches.

    Simply avoid these scammers!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Don't

    • California,
    • May 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We used them because of their misleading commercials three times. Every time some fast-talking know-it-all showed up and proclaimed they could do the job for a certain fee which we agreed to pay. Every time the three different men did not complete the work correctly and charged MORE than they estimated. We did a lot of online research after being burned and are convinced the site is owned and operated by the workers who have every incentive to lie and claim that they are honest and perform to expectations. NO! Do not believe the BS. Thrice burned, now we've learned.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Bad leads

    • Tennessee,
    • May 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I started using HomeAdvisor at the end of February 2018. It became obvious really fast that it was extremely hard to make contact with the leads. Overall, I haven't been able to reach most leads. I always call the leads back the same day, if not within the 10 minutes. There have been 2-3 leads in one day before, and I wasn't able to contact any of them. Despite leaving messages and emails, you never hear back from them.

    All in all, it is a small percentage of the leads that I am able to reach. They simply are not reachable at all, which means they weren't really a lead. Guess what? It doesn't stop there. Three different times when I got through to a lead, they told me they had never been on HomeAdvisor, they were on Angie's List. HomeAdvisor had placed my business on Angie's List, and I didn't know it. To add to it, they got my company info wrong on Angie's List. I want to believe this might work but I'm paying for so many bad leads I haven't broken even as far a HomeAdvisor goes. Almost every lead is a bad lead.

    Once, I went on HomeAdvisor as a customer just to see what the public sees. HomeAdvisor sent me myself as a lead even though I did not request anything. So I think that's it. People go on the website just to be playing around, and HomeAdvisor sends them to multiple businesses as a lead. Regrettably, I will probably stop using them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Complete fraud

    I set up an account and got two leads and both were close to 50 each and a total waste of time and gas. I went out of town on an emergency. I called and told them to stop leads. They did not but kept charging $800+ on my credit card. I tried to get refunds but only got another $900+charges. I am joining a class action suit on this American Greed candidate.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Unqualified and non verified leads - fraud alert

    I signed up for annual membership for only $347.98, I was charged an additional $904.52 without authorization. The account was closed due to fraud, and my membership was closed after discovering charges within one month. The scam involves setting up a profile and turning on "leads" (leads are unqualified and not verified, and you are charged regardless), and you are supposed to know how the systems and apps work from day one while they are charging you for the software where they have set up "spend targets." No transparency, and when you request help, "the system is down." The live helpline cannot see your account to help you understand how the scam/system works.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 19

Write a Review for HomeAdvisor!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review