About HomeAdvisor

Used by 30+ million homeowners, HomeAdvisor can help you find and connect with home improvement professionals across dozens of categories; everything from appliances and siding, to carpentry and lawncare.

But HomeAdvisor understands that choosing a contractor is never an easy task, so they’ve implemented one of the industry's most comprehensive screening processes in order to help give you peace of mind. And when combined with more than 5 million submitted reviews on HomeAdvisor.com, they can help you find a professional you can trust.

On top of this, HomeAdvisor’s Resource Center features articles and advice, project guides, design and video galleries, and more, and their iDevice and Android apps make finding the right professional in the go a breeze.

Remember the old days of searching through the Yellow Pages, blindly calling around to find your next contractor? Modern technology sure has changed the process for the better, but does this mean that HomeAdvisor is your best choice? We’ll explore several different angles in this review, starting with HomeAdvisor’s features.

How Can HomeAdvisor Help You?

Overall, HomeAdvisor provides those looking for professional contractors with three core services.

HomeAdvisor’s ProFinder

This is the name for HomeAdvisor’s search engine, which “makes it easy to find local pros who specialize in exactly the type of work you need done.”

To do this, just type or select the service your need from the category list on HomeAdvisor.com’s home page (such as carpentry), choose the project type (e.g. cabinets and countertops), and indicate what you need done (installation, refacing, refinishing, etc.).

Next, you’ll enter your zip code and based on your choices, you may be asked for additional information (e.g. cabinet material, any problems you’re having, etc.).

Then, you’ll need to indicate if you’re actively hiring or just looking for quotes, approximately when you need the work completed, as well as a short description of the project. Finally, to see HomeAdvisor’s list of professionals, you’ll need to enter your name, address, and contact information.

After doing all of this, you’ll “receive information for up to four pre-screened, local home improvement pros” who are available right now and who will contact you to discuss your project.

HomeAdvisor.com’s LiveDirectory

Not quite ready to use ProFinder and hand over your information? If so, you can manually search HomeAdvisor’s database; just enter the type of service you’re interested in and your zip code.

From there, you’ll receive a list of professionals that match your criteria, which can be sorted by best match, ratings, those offering a deal, and more. On the list, you’ll see each business’s name, their rating and number of verified reviews, contact information, and brief details. If you click on the name, you’ll be able to view the business’s achievement, services, service areas, credentials, website, photos, customer ratings, and more.

HomeAdvisor True Cost Guides

By taking information from over 1 million home projects across the country (members shared who they hired, how long it took, and exactly how much it cost) and compiling it into one database, HomeAdvisor’s True Cost Guides can provide local and national cost data for 500+ types of jobs—from routine maintenance to major remodels. In fact, the company calls it the nation’s largest database of real project cost information.

What for? This way, you’ll be able to find out what other people in your area paid for their projects, which can help give you an idea what you should pay for yours.

Given all these features, how much will you pay to use HomeAdvisor?

Is HomeAdvisor’s Guidance Expensive?

As a homeowner, HomeAdvisor’s basic services are completely free to use. The company also offers HomeAdvisor Premium, which assigns you a dedicated home expert who will manage all the details of your project. This includes finding a professional, fielding bids, negotiating price, scheduling appointments, and more. Unfortunately, no costs were listed at the time of our research.

On the other hand, if you’re a contractor, each lead you receive from HomeAdvisor can vary in cost, based on the type and the location of the request. However, we did find one Google Play review that mentioned each lead costs $30, although we weren’t able to verify the accuracy of this statement.

Considering the fact that it’s free (for the most part), what’s everyone saying about HomeAdvisor?

HomeAdvisor’s Client Feedback

Overall, it seems that HomeAdvisor comes with mostly positive online customer feedback.

Based on nearly 3,000 individual reviews, HomeAdvisor had an average rating of 4.7 stars on Consumer Affairs. Most seemed to appreciate the fact that it’s free (unlike some of the competition—more in a second), easy to use, and puts you in contact with quality professionals.

Although HomeAdvisor’s reviews weren’t nearly as positive on ComplaintsList.com (by its very nature), the company did try to reach out to some of those who complained in order to find a resolution. It’s also important to note that many of the complaints there referenced contractors hired through HomeAdvisor, and not the company itself.

HomeAdvisor’s mobile apps seem to fare equally well with customers. iTunes users gave it 4 stars based on 443 reviews, and nearly 900 Google Play reviewers gave it a similar 4.1-star rating. Most claimed it’s simple to use and that it gives you access to quality contractors (many claimed they found one within minutes).

From a company perspective, HomeAdvisor is based out of Lakewood, CO and has been in business since 1999. They had an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on nearly 800 closed complaints (as of 3/15/16). These appeared to reference a wide range of concerns, from billing problems and poor quality work performed by professionals listed on the site.

Speaking of the company, exactly how does HomeAdvisor screen their contractors, and how much protection will they provide if something goes wrong?

How HomeAdvisor Protects Customers

What exactly does HomeAdvisor mean when claiming to utilize “one of the industry's most comprehensive screening processes”? According to their Terms & Conditions, their professional screening process involves verifying licensing and checking state business filings, criminal records, sex offender registrations, searching for civil judgments, and verifying their identity (social security number).

There’s are two important caveats, though:

First, after their original application, these professionals aren’t screened again, regardless of how long they’re listed on HomeAdvisor.com. What’s this mean? Outside of the negative feedback poor business practices like these would generate, if something occurs after the professional is accepted as a member (such as a civil judgment), it won’t be reflected on their profile.

Second, although the company seems to have a mostly positive online reputation, after HomeAdvisor connects you with a contractor, they basically wash their hands of the transaction. In other words, if something goes wrong in your project, it’s between you and the contractor. Should this situation occur, HomeAdvisor claims that they might offer dispute resolution services, although there’s zero obligation on their part.

Taking both of these into consideration, there’s been some criticism of HomeAdvisor in the past, based on loopholes that could allow unscrupulous contractors to sneak through the screening process:

“For example, one case in Austin involved a HomeAdvisor trusted contractor that left unfinished home improvement work after taking a deposit in 2014. It was later found the contractor had been sued 17 times since 2002. A company spokesperson said the website only screens for lawsuits from the day contractors sign up for its service. The screening only goes back one year for civil judgments and it never re-screens contractors again.”

So, should you use HomeAdvisor?

What’s the Advice for HomeAdvisor?

While there’s a ton of great information out there that can help you learn how to choose a contractor, the pickings are slim if you’re looking to locate one in the first place. In fact, the big (or only) three in this space are HomeAdvisor, Angie’s List, and Houzz.

Like any other business, each of these comes with their own unique specializations, as well as their own pros and cons. For example, Angie’s List seems to focus more on protecting clients with their Complaint Resolution Team, although you’ll have to pay a membership fee. Like HomeAdvisor, Houzz is completely free (and you can gather design ideas and purchase items, too), but they don’t seem to place a lot of emphasis (at least on their website) about the vetting process.

Which of these is right for you? Ultimately, that’s a decision only you can make. But when it comes to HomeAdvisor, it’s hard to beat free, so you might as well try signing up for an account, browsing contractors in your area, and using their ProFinder when you’re ready. Then, after you’re finished, be sure to come back here and tell us about your HomeAdvisor experience!


Read 70 HomeAdvisor Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 4 4 star: 0 3 star: 1 2 star: 3 1 star:  62
Bottom Line: 7% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 70
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Service providers beware

    • By Cristina D.,
    • Corning, NY,
    • Jan 17, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    HomeAdvisor will charge you $50-$100 (or more depending on your location) for the name and "phone number" of a potential lead even if you contact the lead on several occasions and they never return your phone call. In the beginning, you are led to believe you can request a credit for these leads, however, you later find out that unreturned calls/messages and/or a homeowner deciding that they don't want to do the project are not reasons for a refund. This is a major scam and I would highly advise any designers, engineers, architects, contractors, etc. avoid using this service. If you are looking for a good service to use I would highly recommend Houzz.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Crappy work

    • By Tamara J.,
    • Stone Mountain, GA,
    • Dec 31, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Hired a "5-star reviewed" contractor to patch and seal asphalt driveway. He did a crap poor job and then ghosted on me...refuses to return phone calls or texts. It is not worth it to use a "free" service like this when you end up having to pay again to fix problems caused by bad contractors.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    HomeAdvisor does not verify their contractors

    • By William D.,
    • New York City, NY,
    • Dec 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Currently seeking litigation against HomeAdvisor. The company they sent to us was unverified, had Multiple Judgements against them, as well as the owner. Was informed owner had Arrest Warrant, for failing to pay judgments. All reviews posted on HomeAdvisor were by the owner. HomeAdvisor never checked, no less verified as the claim, any of the reviews. Multiple calls to the HomeAdvisor Solutions team resulted only in the Solutions Manager breaking down in tears, stating the fraud was not committed "At her Desk." Multiple follow-ups are ignored as the turnover at the firm is extensive.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Not for pros

    • By Bruce H.,
    • Illinois,
    • Dec 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    As a pro member for several years I can tell you they are not of much use to the pro. Their business model is designed to make money and not help the pro.

    They charge the pro money every time they send you a referral and if that referral is fake it is up to you to ask for a credit. They do nothing proactive to ensure they are legit beforehand. If someone is just looking and does not want to be contacted and they give false info so they can get a look at the pro members we get charged and have to fall into certain categories that they consider legitimate excuses for credit. If they give a false email that does not work but made up a phone number that could be anyone's, we are still expected to pay. I was even told once that they contacted the customer when I said it could not be done and they denied my credit, after which I found out from another employee that they really didn’t reach the customer. The majority of my leads are people who I believe do not want to be contacted and just want to look. Of course, I only want to pay for serious customers. I was once told by a rep that since they could not contact the customer, my request for a credit was denied, yet if I cannot contact them, then that is not a legitimate reason to not have to pay. Double standard?

    They are not open on the weekend. They use their business hours for their part of the country for determining what normal business hours are for all their customers. If I close at 5 pm and my hours are off a few hours from theirs, they use theirs in determining if I should get leads sent to me. They offer the ability to turn off the lead flow if we are closed but I was told by a rep that it can take 48 hours once you turn them back on before they start to work again. Getting a lead way off normal bus hours such as 11 pm makes me wonder what to do because the customers usually take the first pro who calls them. Do I wait until 8 am? Whenever I do, I am told they already found someone and I get charged. Turning off leads to avoid this means waiting 48 hours for any more leads.

    They added another type of lead called an opportunity for work outside of your normal coverage area in addition to the normal lead flow and if you select one it is not always processed. I just did a few days ago because they state you do not have to pay unless the customer agrees to be contacted by me. I never heard anything from anyone.

    My fees are the same regardless of which town I quote a price for, yet their fees vary because they claim they are based on what I can get for my service in that area. So if I am competitively priced (something we should all want) less than others that is a bad thing in their mind because I should charge more and get charged more by them.

    My business is real-estate related and the people shopping for service only have 5 days to obtain my service and complete it. I do not have the luxury of being able to wait even several hours to contact the customer like when they are shopping for a floor.

    As a customer do not go there just to look around, it costs people money. If you are serious don’t just take the first call because it will also prevent you from seeing if you really are getting a deal. As a pro, if you are time-sensitive they will drive you nuts. I only keep my account with my leads turned off because I would hate to throw away all those 5-star reviews. I have customers who come to me stating they saw my reviews but never hired me through them which shows that people like to go there just to look. People will go and look at a lot of sites for info and it should not cost the pros money when they do.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Not a single legitimate lead.

    • By Robert L.,
    • Waverly, OH,
    • Dec 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've been with HomeAdvisor for several months and I have not had one legitimate lead. As a contractor, I try my best to serve my customers well. Most all of my personal leads that I have had "not trough HomeAdvisor" have resulted in successful jobs. But with HomeAdvisor, I didn't have any success. Mostly people wanting jobs done for free or very little money. Most did not have any money budgeted for the job. One client just wanted my estimate to have a basis for a lawsuit against another contractor. Even after I quit using their service they charged me. Then when I called them on this they wain there was no refund that they could only reimburse me with more leads. Well, that would only lead to more illegitimate leads and keep my account open so they could charge me more! No thank you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Not one lead was legitimate!

    • By Anthony R.,
    • California,
    • Dec 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am a Fire Sprinkler System Contractor and signed up for HomeAdvisor Pro...$400 later after I went through a slew of questions and complicated back and forth requirements to qualify I finally started to receive leads. Not one of the leads was related to my business, this was of no use to me or the person requesting service, however, I was still charged the lead fee of $18 for each lead. I asked for the fees to be waved and was denied each time so I canceled my account, losing my $400 sign up fee and every lead fee. HomeAdvisor Pro does not work, at least for my company, and as far as I am concerned is a SCAM. The salespeople downright lie just to get you to sign up. I highly suggest you think twice, even thrice, before signing up. Nothing with HomeAdvisor Pro is refundable! I have 10 times more legitimate leads with Yelp...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    SCAM

    • By Jeffrey C.,
    • Canyon Lake, TX,
    • Dec 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The only contractors located on HomeAdvisor are the contractors who pay HomeAdvisor to be a member. Their commercials depict that they market/show only the best contractors in your specific area...but that is BS, they market/show only the contractors that pay them to be a member....Angie's List allows reviews for all contractors.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Never work with this company

    • By Konstantin E.,
    • Jacksonville, FL,
    • Dec 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Never deal with this company. They will withdraw all the money from your card, and it will not matter which leads they sent to you, for example, for which you will never get through, but the money will still be withdrawn. Talking with them is useless. They do not want a long-term business relationship, they want fast money. You will only have one option left, ask your bank to return this money. Do not make this mistake.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    No show

    • By Francis T.,
    • Stuart, FL,
    • Nov 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Bad enough that the "pro" never showed but then to subsequently have to deal with an obsequious agent located somewhere in the Philippines was the straw the camel's back! Let's see if they truly refund my money as their "service" requires pre-payment. Never again!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    HomeAdvisor scammed me out of my money

    • By Jeramie H.,
    • Mississippi,
    • Nov 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Hi. I'm a contractor and I recently purchased a membership through HomeAdvisor. They told me $300 to get started and I won't be charged if I don't connect with the customer. Well, they have been charging me for people who l don't know and for people that just called for an estimate, and when I called HomeAdvisor they said that even though you don't respond to a lead that we send, you will be charged for people that I don't know or haven't talked too. HomeAdvisor took over $700 from my account and I didn't even know it. And a few days ago they sent me a scammer that got my info and sent a bogus check in the mail, charged me $3.50 to receive it, and I call HomeAdvisor and they didn't do anything about it and still charged me for it. I need a lawyer to get my money back because HomeAdvisor is a scheme people, please don't use HomeAdvisor, they steal your money, so please beware, don't trust HomeAdvisor, please.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    HomeAdvisor reviews are FAKE

    • By Liz W.,
    • Lindenhurst, IL,
    • Nov 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I hired a contractor who had an A+ rating with HomeAdvisor. This guy does faulty work and took $2,000 of my money that he would not return when I fired him. I’m fighting him in court to get it back. I’m a single mom working 2 jobs 7 days a week taking care of a disabled daughter. HomeAdvisor recommends this idiot who has no idea how to hang a cabinet without putting 18 screws in the wall to hold it up and it still fell down.

    Don’t use HomeAdvisor.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 70

Write a Review for HomeAdvisor!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review