• 84 Customer Reviews
  • 8% Recommend This Service
1.4 out of 5
5 star: 7% 4 star: 0% 3 star: 2% 2 star: 3% 1 star: 86%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Scammers

    • By Jeff C.,
    • Colorado,
    • Sep 17, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    Worst program in the world, charges you for leads that are sent to you when you're paused. Refused to refund my $400.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Dreamstyle Remodeling walk-in shower

    • By Lucille W.,
    • Sun City West, AZ,
    • Sep 16, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    We had Dreamstyle Remodeling upgrade our master shower to a walk-in shower. Robert K and Jonathan P arrived on time, worked steadily, and completed the job in one day. They were conscientious, respectful, worked diligently, and cleaned up all traces of their work. We would recommend Dreamstyle Remodeling and the team of Robert and Jonathan. We are very happy.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Conscientious and respectful of our home
    • Arrived on time and worked diligently all day
    • Cleaned all trash and remnants before leaving
    • No “cons” were specified in this review

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible HomeAdvisor! Contractors beware!

    • By Stantonn S.,
    • La Jolla, CA,
    • Sep 11, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    I am a very repeatable custom home designer and builder in La Jolla, CA who they convinced to sign up with them. Several things happened within this transaction. The first problem is the sales agent David K and I spent 2+ hours on the phone setting up a very specific situation for specific categories. It was very time-consuming.

    The service started very slow after they completed a background check on myself and the business. Once approved the services came in very slow. One lead a day, if that, for a total of three. The problem was the three leads that came in where all for the wrong category. I was still charged for these leads! I called and emailed David ASAP to correct the problem. He told me he was on top of it. A solid week came by with nothing done! I get a call from a different HomeAdvisor rep to tell me we need to restart everything over. I was very frustrated and canceled. They did not try to save the business, which was odd!

    Still no refund two weeks into after several calls and emails.

    I receive a call from a very nice lady who tells me she is shocked that this happened and asked me to retry it! I agreed as she said she would do everything on her own and call me back. Long story short, this did happen only to find out there was some type of system problem and they could not figure out how to get me back into the system. No problem, I really did not want to do it the first time!

    Months have gone by to find out no credit has been issued! I find out that David most likely waited to submit the credit/cancellation so he could rep his commissions.

    Very frustrated with HomeAdvisor, communication was very poor! Not recommended. For anyone who is looking for quality leads, stay away! Go to StickyLeads instead. This company is amazing.

    Pros and Cons:

    • No “pros” were specified in this review
    • Terrible customer service
    • Liars
    • Smoke and mirrors
    • Poor communication

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam artist. Do not use this service please.

    • By Chantell P.,
    • Savannah, GA,
    • Sep 1, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 6–12 months
    Overall Experience:

    I thought this was a very smart move for our business, but it was not. I was informed I had a HomeAdvisor account in collection for $700.00 after terminating my service with them. I ask them for a printout or email for the $700.00 in leads because I never received them. I was told they could not provide me with that information after the account was closed. I would like to know what I'm paying for. This is a big rip-off. I also told them I can email them my phone bill because I NEVER received any lead on the dates they provided saying I received leads. I was also told you can not call in and terminate service, you have to write in. I'm PISSED. You want me to pay $700.00 for leads, and I don't know a name OF A CLIENT or anything? Do not sign up for this service! Save yourself a headache.

    Pros and Cons:

    • No “pros” were specified in this review
    • Dishonesty

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Run, don’t walk

    • By Kat L.,
    • Lakewood, NJ,
    • Aug 17, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 3–6 months
    Overall Experience:

    When you run a business you should communicate, and don’t say you will match up with contractors and three weeks later no one has contacted us.

    Pros and Cons:

    • No “pros” were specified in this review
    • No calls back; not from contractors, not from HomeAdvisor

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Excellent job performance

    • By Mike T.,
    • Florence, KY,
    • Aug 12, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    We are very happy that we selected TIP TOP ROOFING of Greater Cincinnati to install our new roofing and gutters. The Tip Top Team performed in precision and finished the job with extreme professionalism. We are very happy with Tip Top Roofing and would certainly recommend the company at the highest level!

    Pros and Cons:

    • Their distinct professionalism
    • Their precise teamwork
    • A very professional presentation showing us what they would do and how, and the follow-up was excellent as well
    • The follow-up with us to be sure there was customer satisfaction and any questions, etc.
    • No “cons” were specified in this review

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Run away! HomeAdvisor is a ripoff!

    • By Gary A.,
    • Utah,
    • Jun 27, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 2+ years
    Overall Experience:

    I have been a contractor listed with HomeAdvisor for 3 years. During that time their service and communication quality have declined dramatically. I would not recommend them to contractors or homeowners. Their policies are geared to relieve people of their money! They do not care at all about unhappy customers! I will not be renewing my membership.

    Pros and Cons:

    • No “pros” were specified in this review
    • They do not refund for bad leads
    • They charge every contractor for responding to a lead, but should only charge the winning contractor
    • They do not respond promptly or responsibly to billing errors

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Worst experience during a crisis

    • By Mike W.,
    • Virginia Beach, VA,
    • Apr 22, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I called HomeAdvisor after a 75-foot tree fell on my deck, pool, and fence. I was given a fixed price to do the job without someone coming out to access the job. I was skeptical and thought this could be a scam so I called several different numbers and was satisfied this was legitimate. I paid in advance and I was told it would be done in four days. On that day I received an email rescheduling for 2 days later, then again for another 2 days and today canceling totally. DON’T USE THESE PEOPLE!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Dryer knob

    • By Anton T.,
    • Queens, NY,
    • Mar 16, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I used A1 Repair company, our dryer was not working. Dino the owner came, diagnosed the problem, I paid him for the service call and replacement part. He had made arrangements to bring part on 3/12 in the 8am range. I never got it and calls to company at (718) 440-4673 I get a message, and no service now due to the virus afflicting the country. Please follow up.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Home Mis-Advisor is a rip off for both homeowners and vendors

    • By Robert W.,
    • Pelion, SC,
    • Mar 1, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Unfortunately, HomeAdvisor is currently receiving 4.5 stars by 1,886 reviewers at www.consumeraffairs.com/homeowners/homeadvisor.html.

    Every one of the reviews that I read on Consumer Affairs was submitted by satisfied homeowners that were pleased with the services they received from venders and NOT necessarily from their experience with HomeAdvisor. It seems that home owners are largely unaware that Home Advisor is scamming vendors at their expense.

    Upon looking over the HomeAdvisor website to see if their service would benefit my home inspection company, I received very little information and was required to provide all my contact information in order to learn more. I was contacted with a sales pitch that promised to provide leads that were represented as guaranteed prospects. I was required to pay over $500 to join. Through the registration process, I provided detailed information about the services that I provide. These details were to be shared by HomeAdvisor with homeowners inquiring about my services when they were referred to my business.

    I understood that I would be charged between $12 to $20 per referral. I was required to provide my checking account information so that all fees could be drafted from my account. These fees were considered payment for leads that would generate opportunities for my business. In the first week, I received 11 empty leads and $215 in drafts from my checking account. The leads turned out to be nothing more than general inquiries about my services, information that homeowners should have already received from HomeAdvisor prior to their referral to my company.

    I requested that my relationship with HomeAdvisor be terminated immediately. I had to jump through many hoops to cancel. For weeks fees continued to draft from my account to HomeAdvisor, even after I believed my membership was canceled. Two years later I still receive sales calls from HomeAdvisor urging my return at a "discounted rate."

    During one of these calls when I explained my dissatisfaction with the fees that are charged for less than promising leads the representative replied, "well, all you have to do is charge off the fees you paid for the empty leads to the next lead that contracts your services." I explained to him that I don't do business that way and I am not going to charge my clients for HomeAdvisor's empty promises. I was no longer interested, and I did not want to receive any further calls.

    The calls continue. Most recently I answered a call from yet another representative and tried to explain that, "now is not a good time for me I am in the middle of an inspection." To which he replied, "well what about the other 16 times that I have tried to call you?"

    Homeowners are encouraged to trust HomeAdvisor to look out for their best interests, yet they are encouraging the vendors to charge homeowners for their empty leads. Based on my experience HomeAdvisor is not representing vendors as promised and are not operating in the best interest of homeowners.

    HomeAdvisor is a rip off for both homeowners and vendors.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Reality about HomeAdvisor.com

    • By Mike S.,
    • California,
    • Feb 28, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    HomeAdviser.com is a scam. They charge for each lead over $100.00, also they send it to four contractors, that means they make over $400.00 in each lead. I guarantee most of the contractors have NO license and NO insurance. Most of the leads are third-party leads and unreliable. They get the leads from other sources, most of them are junk contact numbers.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • An unworkable arrangement

    • By Raymond B.,
    • Springfield, OR,
    • Feb 18, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I signed up with HomeAdvisor for solid leads that would make sense financially. For small jobs, I found that they wanted 39% of my profit. Not acceptable.

    Contacting them on the phone usually requires a hold time in excess of 30 minutes.

    I canceled my membership (>$200) and was told that a refund will take from 15 to 30 days to process.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Harassment and actual lies to get you paying

    • By Sean K.,
    • Florida,
    • Jan 27, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    A simple inquiry into their services turned out to be a nightmare. After speaking to a consultant a couple of months ago, I was informed that you get billed per "lead" that they not only send out to you but also multiple other contractors. So we all have to pay them for the same "lead" - whether successful or not.

    I politely refused and asked them to remove me from the database. I have been harassed ever since.

    This afternoon at 12:40 pm, the 24th of November 2020 I was contacted by "Sol" who inquired whether we still work as contractors. Apparently getting my number from a friend. Only the 2nd time I asked him whether he was from a firm (HomeAdvisor) did he reply before just simply disconnecting the call.

    My 3 follow-up phone calls to address the blatant lies with a manager were answered and dropped - before the number going straight to voicemail as we speak.

    The Corporate number to contact them has proven very unsuccessful as well.

    Interesting approach to built "ethical" business relationships.

    Would not recommend to a friend, or even a foe...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • HomeAdvisor doesn't care about the home owner.

    • By Rick S.,
    • York, PA,
    • Jan 23, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I used HomeAdvisor to locate what I thought was a reputable company to do a paving project. A poor job was done on the project to the point that weeds were growing through the pavement 7 months later. HomeAdvisor said there was nothing they could do about it in providing assistance in resolving the issue. I suggest you stay away from HomeAdvisor and Sutherland in the York, PA area.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Service providers beware

    • By Cristina D.,
    • Corning, NY,
    • Jan 17, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    HomeAdvisor will charge you $50-$100 (or more depending on your location) for the name and "phone number" of a potential lead even if you contact the lead on several occasions and they never return your phone call. In the beginning, you are led to believe you can request a credit for these leads, however, you later find out that unreturned calls/messages and/or a homeowner deciding that they don't want to do the project are not reasons for a refund. This is a major scam and I would highly advise any designers, engineers, architects, contractors, etc. avoid using this service. If you are looking for a good service to use I would highly recommend Houzz.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Crappy work

    • By Tamara J.,
    • Stone Mountain, GA,
    • Dec 31, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Hired a "5-star reviewed" contractor to patch and seal asphalt driveway. He did a crap poor job and then ghosted on me...refuses to return phone calls or texts. It is not worth it to use a "free" service like this when you end up having to pay again to fix problems caused by bad contractors.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • HomeAdvisor does not verify their contractors

    • By William D.,
    • New York City, NY,
    • Dec 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Currently seeking litigation against HomeAdvisor. The company they sent to us was unverified, had Multiple Judgements against them, as well as the owner. Was informed owner had Arrest Warrant, for failing to pay judgments. All reviews posted on HomeAdvisor were by the owner. HomeAdvisor never checked, no less verified as the claim, any of the reviews. Multiple calls to the HomeAdvisor Solutions team resulted only in the Solutions Manager breaking down in tears, stating the fraud was not committed "At her Desk." Multiple follow-ups are ignored as the turnover at the firm is extensive.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not for pros

    • By Bruce H.,
    • Illinois,
    • Dec 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    As a pro member for several years I can tell you they are not of much use to the pro. Their business model is designed to make money and not help the pro.

    They charge the pro money every time they send you a referral and if that referral is fake it is up to you to ask for a credit. They do nothing proactive to ensure they are legit beforehand. If someone is just looking and does not want to be contacted and they give false info so they can get a look at the pro members we get charged and have to fall into certain categories that they consider legitimate excuses for credit. If they give a false email that does not work but made up a phone number that could be anyone's, we are still expected to pay. I was even told once that they contacted the customer when I said it could not be done and they denied my credit, after which I found out from another employee that they really didn’t reach the customer. The majority of my leads are people who I believe do not want to be contacted and just want to look. Of course, I only want to pay for serious customers. I was once told by a rep that since they could not contact the customer, my request for a credit was denied, yet if I cannot contact them, then that is not a legitimate reason to not have to pay. Double standard?

    They are not open on the weekend. They use their business hours for their part of the country for determining what normal business hours are for all their customers. If I close at 5 pm and my hours are off a few hours from theirs, they use theirs in determining if I should get leads sent to me. They offer the ability to turn off the lead flow if we are closed but I was told by a rep that it can take 48 hours once you turn them back on before they start to work again. Getting a lead way off normal bus hours such as 11 pm makes me wonder what to do because the customers usually take the first pro who calls them. Do I wait until 8 am? Whenever I do, I am told they already found someone and I get charged. Turning off leads to avoid this means waiting 48 hours for any more leads.

    They added another type of lead called an opportunity for work outside of your normal coverage area in addition to the normal lead flow and if you select one it is not always processed. I just did a few days ago because they state you do not have to pay unless the customer agrees to be contacted by me. I never heard anything from anyone.

    My fees are the same regardless of which town I quote a price for, yet their fees vary because they claim they are based on what I can get for my service in that area. So if I am competitively priced (something we should all want) less than others that is a bad thing in their mind because I should charge more and get charged more by them.

    My business is real-estate related and the people shopping for service only have 5 days to obtain my service and complete it. I do not have the luxury of being able to wait even several hours to contact the customer like when they are shopping for a floor.

    As a customer do not go there just to look around, it costs people money. If you are serious don’t just take the first call because it will also prevent you from seeing if you really are getting a deal. As a pro, if you are time-sensitive they will drive you nuts. I only keep my account with my leads turned off because I would hate to throw away all those 5-star reviews. I have customers who come to me stating they saw my reviews but never hired me through them which shows that people like to go there just to look. People will go and look at a lot of sites for info and it should not cost the pros money when they do.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not a single legitimate lead.

    • By Robert L.,
    • Waverly, OH,
    • Dec 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I've been with HomeAdvisor for several months and I have not had one legitimate lead. As a contractor, I try my best to serve my customers well. Most all of my personal leads that I have had "not trough HomeAdvisor" have resulted in successful jobs. But with HomeAdvisor, I didn't have any success. Mostly people wanting jobs done for free or very little money. Most did not have any money budgeted for the job. One client just wanted my estimate to have a basis for a lawsuit against another contractor. Even after I quit using their service they charged me. Then when I called them on this they wain there was no refund that they could only reimburse me with more leads. Well, that would only lead to more illegitimate leads and keep my account open so they could charge me more! No thank you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not one lead was legitimate!

    • By Anthony R.,
    • California,
    • Dec 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I am a Fire Sprinkler System Contractor and signed up for HomeAdvisor Pro...$400 later after I went through a slew of questions and complicated back and forth requirements to qualify I finally started to receive leads. Not one of the leads was related to my business, this was of no use to me or the person requesting service, however, I was still charged the lead fee of $18 for each lead. I asked for the fees to be waved and was denied each time so I canceled my account, losing my $400 sign up fee and every lead fee. HomeAdvisor Pro does not work, at least for my company, and as far as I am concerned is a SCAM. The salespeople downright lie just to get you to sign up. I highly suggest you think twice, even thrice, before signing up. Nothing with HomeAdvisor Pro is refundable! I have 10 times more legitimate leads with Yelp...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • SCAM

    • By Jeffrey C.,
    • Canyon Lake, TX,
    • Dec 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The only contractors located on HomeAdvisor are the contractors who pay HomeAdvisor to be a member. Their commercials depict that they market/show only the best contractors in your specific area...but that is BS, they market/show only the contractors that pay them to be a member....Angie's List allows reviews for all contractors.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Never work with this company

    • By Konstantin E.,
    • Jacksonville, FL,
    • Dec 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Never deal with this company. They will withdraw all the money from your card, and it will not matter which leads they sent to you, for example, for which you will never get through, but the money will still be withdrawn. Talking with them is useless. They do not want a long-term business relationship, they want fast money. You will only have one option left, ask your bank to return this money. Do not make this mistake.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • No show

    • By Francis T.,
    • Stuart, FL,
    • Nov 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Bad enough that the "pro" never showed but then to subsequently have to deal with an obsequious agent located somewhere in the Philippines was the straw the camel's back! Let's see if they truly refund my money as their "service" requires pre-payment. Never again!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • HomeAdvisor scammed me out of my money

    • By Jeramie H.,
    • Mississippi,
    • Nov 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Hi. I'm a contractor and I recently purchased a membership through HomeAdvisor. They told me $300 to get started and I won't be charged if I don't connect with the customer. Well, they have been charging me for people who l don't know and for people that just called for an estimate, and when I called HomeAdvisor they said that even though you don't respond to a lead that we send, you will be charged for people that I don't know or haven't talked too. HomeAdvisor took over $700 from my account and I didn't even know it. And a few days ago they sent me a scammer that got my info and sent a bogus check in the mail, charged me $3.50 to receive it, and I call HomeAdvisor and they didn't do anything about it and still charged me for it. I need a lawyer to get my money back because HomeAdvisor is a scheme people, please don't use HomeAdvisor, they steal your money, so please beware, don't trust HomeAdvisor, please.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • HomeAdvisor reviews are FAKE

    • By Liz W.,
    • Lindenhurst, IL,
    • Nov 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I hired a contractor who had an A+ rating with HomeAdvisor. This guy does faulty work and took $2,000 of my money that he would not return when I fired him. I’m fighting him in court to get it back. I’m a single mom working 2 jobs 7 days a week taking care of a disabled daughter. HomeAdvisor recommends this idiot who has no idea how to hang a cabinet without putting 18 screws in the wall to hold it up and it still fell down.

    Don’t use HomeAdvisor.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible experience and poor customer service

    • By Brian V.,
    • Cincinnati, OH,
    • Nov 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I am highly disappointed in the lack of service I have received from HomeAdvisor. I was supposed to have leaves removed from my front and back yard last Monday, 11/4. It is now Friday, 11/8, and the job that was supposed to take 2 hours is still not complete. HomeAdvisor has sent 3 different contractors who have failed to complete the job. Today the 4th contractor was supposed to come to finish the job and didn't show up. I have wasted hours on the phone this week being transferred, put on hold, told I would receive calls back that never were, and been given assurances that the job would be complete. I have asked numerous times for their corporate office's direct line and email but was refused. All I am asking is for the job to be completed, but for some unknown reason, this still hasn't happened. Does anyone at HomeAdvisor care about customer service? Obviously not.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Wallscapes - Ted Barber (Painter)

    • By Sally D.,
    • Michigan,
    • Nov 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Ted Barber from Wallscapes is very charming and neat in his work habits. We found him on HomeAdvisor and interviewed several painters before selecting him. I checked his references that he gave me privately and most were happy with his work. I contacted him to remove wainscoting and paint the walls in the Historic Community Center in Clinton, MI in Lenawee County. We began with two rooms for him to complete. We had additional rooms to do but I had to wait for the other Board of Directors to review and then approve payment for additional work. We were satisfied with the touch-ups and paid him for the work completed. We wrote an additional deposit for the next phase of work. Again very efficient and reliable. The payment for his completion of Phase 2 was written.

    Within a couple of months we began to see some "shadowing" on the walls. Since the wainscoting was adhered to the wall with glue, we realized that this may be the problem. After several attempts with Ted both in e-mail and phone calls for him to return to see what the problem is we contacted another highly recommended painter in our area. He stated immediately that it looked as if something was affixed to the wall with an adhesive and it was not completely removed. We had not shared our thoughts with the new painter on this matter. Ted never returned our calls or e-mails after stating that he would get back in touch with me in a week or so. After paying $10,000 for about 1500 square feet of space to be painted we feel disappointed in the integrity of this contractor. Please be cautious should you use him and his services. I don't know what else we could have done to verify his work. Perhaps withholding the check for several months may have been appropriate.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-27 of 84

Write a Review for HomeAdvisor!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
HomeAdvisor