About HomeAdvisor

Used by 30+ million homeowners, HomeAdvisor can help you find and connect with home improvement professionals across dozens of categories; everything from appliances and siding, to carpentry and lawncare.

But HomeAdvisor understands that choosing a contractor is never an easy task, so they’ve implemented one of the industry's most comprehensive screening processes in order to help give you peace of mind. And when combined with more than 5 million submitted reviews on HomeAdvisor.com, they can help you find a professional you can trust.

On top of this, HomeAdvisor’s Resource Center features articles and advice, project guides, design and video galleries, and more, and their iDevice and Android apps make finding the right professional in the go a breeze.

Remember the old days of searching through the Yellow Pages, blindly calling around to find your next contractor? Modern technology sure has changed the process for the better, but does this mean that HomeAdvisor is your best choice? We’ll explore several different angles in this review, starting with HomeAdvisor’s features.

How Can HomeAdvisor Help You?

Overall, HomeAdvisor provides those looking for professional contractors with three core services.

HomeAdvisor’s ProFinder

This is the name for HomeAdvisor’s search engine, which “makes it easy to find local pros who specialize in exactly the type of work you need done.”

To do this, just type or select the service your need from the category list on HomeAdvisor.com’s home page (such as carpentry), choose the project type (e.g. cabinets and countertops), and indicate what you need done (installation, refacing, refinishing, etc.).

Next, you’ll enter your zip code and based on your choices, you may be asked for additional information (e.g. cabinet material, any problems you’re having, etc.).

Then, you’ll need to indicate if you’re actively hiring or just looking for quotes, approximately when you need the work completed, as well as a short description of the project. Finally, to see HomeAdvisor’s list of professionals, you’ll need to enter your name, address, and contact information.

After doing all of this, you’ll “receive information for up to four pre-screened, local home improvement pros” who are available right now and who will contact you to discuss your project.

HomeAdvisor.com’s LiveDirectory

Not quite ready to use ProFinder and hand over your information? If so, you can manually search HomeAdvisor’s database; just enter the type of service you’re interested in and your zip code.

From there, you’ll receive a list of professionals that match your criteria, which can be sorted by best match, ratings, those offering a deal, and more. On the list, you’ll see each business’s name, their rating and number of verified reviews, contact information, and brief details. If you click on the name, you’ll be able to view the business’s achievement, services, service areas, credentials, website, photos, customer ratings, and more.

HomeAdvisor True Cost Guides

By taking information from over 1 million home projects across the country (members shared who they hired, how long it took, and exactly how much it cost) and compiling it into one database, HomeAdvisor’s True Cost Guides can provide local and national cost data for 500+ types of jobs—from routine maintenance to major remodels. In fact, the company calls it the nation’s largest database of real project cost information.

What for? This way, you’ll be able to find out what other people in your area paid for their projects, which can help give you an idea what you should pay for yours.

Given all these features, how much will you pay to use HomeAdvisor?

Is HomeAdvisor’s Guidance Expensive?

As a homeowner, HomeAdvisor’s basic services are completely free to use. The company also offers HomeAdvisor Premium, which assigns you a dedicated home expert who will manage all the details of your project. This includes finding a professional, fielding bids, negotiating price, scheduling appointments, and more. Unfortunately, no costs were listed at the time of our research.

On the other hand, if you’re a contractor, each lead you receive from HomeAdvisor can vary in cost, based on the type and the location of the request. However, we did find one Google Play review that mentioned each lead costs $30, although we weren’t able to verify the accuracy of this statement.

Considering the fact that it’s free (for the most part), what’s everyone saying about HomeAdvisor?

HomeAdvisor’s Client Feedback

Overall, it seems that HomeAdvisor comes with mostly positive online customer feedback.

Based on nearly 3,000 individual reviews, HomeAdvisor had an average rating of 4.7 stars on Consumer Affairs. Most seemed to appreciate the fact that it’s free (unlike some of the competition—more in a second), easy to use, and puts you in contact with quality professionals.

Although HomeAdvisor’s reviews weren’t nearly as positive on ComplaintsList.com (by its very nature), the company did try to reach out to some of those who complained in order to find a resolution. It’s also important to note that many of the complaints there referenced contractors hired through HomeAdvisor, and not the company itself.

HomeAdvisor’s mobile apps seem to fare equally well with customers. iTunes users gave it 4 stars based on 443 reviews, and nearly 900 Google Play reviewers gave it a similar 4.1-star rating. Most claimed it’s simple to use and that it gives you access to quality contractors (many claimed they found one within minutes).

From a company perspective, HomeAdvisor is based out of Lakewood, CO and has been in business since 1999. They had an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on nearly 800 closed complaints (as of 3/15/16). These appeared to reference a wide range of concerns, from billing problems and poor quality work performed by professionals listed on the site.

Speaking of the company, exactly how does HomeAdvisor screen their contractors, and how much protection will they provide if something goes wrong?

How HomeAdvisor Protects Customers

What exactly does HomeAdvisor mean when claiming to utilize “one of the industry's most comprehensive screening processes”? According to their Terms & Conditions, their professional screening process involves verifying licensing and checking state business filings, criminal records, sex offender registrations, searching for civil judgments, and verifying their identity (social security number).

There’s are two important caveats, though:

First, after their original application, these professionals aren’t screened again, regardless of how long they’re listed on HomeAdvisor.com. What’s this mean? Outside of the negative feedback poor business practices like these would generate, if something occurs after the professional is accepted as a member (such as a civil judgment), it won’t be reflected on their profile.

Second, although the company seems to have a mostly positive online reputation, after HomeAdvisor connects you with a contractor, they basically wash their hands of the transaction. In other words, if something goes wrong in your project, it’s between you and the contractor. Should this situation occur, HomeAdvisor claims that they might offer dispute resolution services, although there’s zero obligation on their part.

Taking both of these into consideration, there’s been some criticism of HomeAdvisor in the past, based on loopholes that could allow unscrupulous contractors to sneak through the screening process:

“For example, one case in Austin involved a HomeAdvisor trusted contractor that left unfinished home improvement work after taking a deposit in 2014. It was later found the contractor had been sued 17 times since 2002. A company spokesperson said the website only screens for lawsuits from the day contractors sign up for its service. The screening only goes back one year for civil judgments and it never re-screens contractors again.”

So, should you use HomeAdvisor?

What’s the Advice for HomeAdvisor?

While there’s a ton of great information out there that can help you learn how to choose a contractor, the pickings are slim if you’re looking to locate one in the first place. In fact, the big (or only) three in this space are HomeAdvisor, Angie’s List, and Houzz.

Like any other business, each of these comes with their own unique specializations, as well as their own pros and cons. For example, Angie’s List seems to focus more on protecting clients with their Complaint Resolution Team, although you’ll have to pay a membership fee. Like HomeAdvisor, Houzz is completely free (and you can gather design ideas and purchase items, too), but they don’t seem to place a lot of emphasis (at least on their website) about the vetting process.

Which of these is right for you? Ultimately, that’s a decision only you can make. But when it comes to HomeAdvisor, it’s hard to beat free, so you might as well try signing up for an account, browsing contractors in your area, and using their ProFinder when you’re ready. Then, after you’re finished, be sure to come back here and tell us about your HomeAdvisor experience!


Read 76 HomeAdvisor Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 4 4 star: 0 3 star: 2 2 star: 3 1 star:  67
Bottom Line: 7% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 76
Sort reviews by:

  • Dryer knob

    • By Anton T.,
    • Queens, NY,
    • Mar 16, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    I used A1 Repair company, our dryer was not working. Dino the owner came, diagnosed the problem, I paid him for the service call and replacement part. He had made arrangements to bring part on 3/12 in the 8am range. I never got it and calls to company at (718) 440-4673 I get a message, and no service now due to the virus afflicting the country. Please follow up.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Home Mis-Advisor is a rip off for both homeowners and vendors

    • By Robert W.,
    • Pelion, SC,
    • Mar 1, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    Unfortunately, HomeAdvisor is currently receiving 4.5 stars by 1,886 reviewers at www.consumeraffairs.com/homeowners/homeadvisor.html.

    Every one of the reviews that I read on Consumer Affairs was submitted by satisfied homeowners that were pleased with the services they received from venders and NOT necessarily from their experience with HomeAdvisor. It seems that home owners are largely unaware that Home Advisor is scamming vendors at their expense.

    Upon looking over the HomeAdvisor website to see if their service would benefit my home inspection company, I received very little information and was required to provide all my contact information in order to learn more. I was contacted with a sales pitch that promised to provide leads that were represented as guaranteed prospects. I was required to pay over $500 to join. Through the registration process, I provided detailed information about the services that I provide. These details were to be shared by HomeAdvisor with homeowners inquiring about my services when they were referred to my business.

    I understood that I would be charged between $12 to $20 per referral. I was required to provide my checking account information so that all fees could be drafted from my account. These fees were considered payment for leads that would generate opportunities for my business. In the first week, I received 11 empty leads and $215 in drafts from my checking account. The leads turned out to be nothing more than general inquiries about my services, information that homeowners should have already received from HomeAdvisor prior to their referral to my company.

    I requested that my relationship with HomeAdvisor be terminated immediately. I had to jump through many hoops to cancel. For weeks fees continued to draft from my account to HomeAdvisor, even after I believed my membership was canceled. Two years later I still receive sales calls from HomeAdvisor urging my return at a "discounted rate."

    During one of these calls when I explained my dissatisfaction with the fees that are charged for less than promising leads the representative replied, "well, all you have to do is charge off the fees you paid for the empty leads to the next lead that contracts your services." I explained to him that I don't do business that way and I am not going to charge my clients for HomeAdvisor's empty promises. I was no longer interested, and I did not want to receive any further calls.

    The calls continue. Most recently I answered a call from yet another representative and tried to explain that, "now is not a good time for me I am in the middle of an inspection." To which he replied, "well what about the other 16 times that I have tried to call you?"

    Homeowners are encouraged to trust HomeAdvisor to look out for their best interests, yet they are encouraging the vendors to charge homeowners for their empty leads. Based on my experience HomeAdvisor is not representing vendors as promised and are not operating in the best interest of homeowners.

    HomeAdvisor is a rip off for both homeowners and vendors.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Reality about HomeAdvisor.com

    • By Mike S.,
    • California,
    • Feb 28, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    HomeAdviser.com is a scam. They charge for each lead over $100.00, also they send it to four contractors, that means they make over $400.00 in each lead. I guarantee most of the contractors have NO license and NO insurance. Most of the leads are third-party leads and unreliable. They get the leads from other sources, most of them are junk contact numbers.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • An unworkable arrangement

    • By Raymond B.,
    • Springfield, OR,
    • Feb 18, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    I signed up with HomeAdvisor for solid leads that would make sense financially. For small jobs, I found that they wanted 39% of my profit. Not acceptable.

    Contacting them on the phone usually requires a hold time in excess of 30 minutes.

    I canceled my membership (>$200) and was told that a refund will take from 15 to 30 days to process.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Harassment and actual lies to get you paying

    • By Sean K.,
    • Florida,
    • Jan 27, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    A simple inquiry into their services turned out to be a nightmare. After speaking to a consultant a couple of months ago, I was informed that you get billed per "lead" that they not only send out to you but also multiple other contractors. So we all have to pay them for the same "lead" - whether successful or not.

    I politely refused and asked them to remove me from the database. I have been harassed ever since.

    This afternoon at 12:40 pm, the 24th of November 2020 I was contacted by "Sol" who inquired whether we still work as contractors. Apparently getting my number from a friend. Only the 2nd time I asked him whether he was from a firm (HomeAdvisor) did he reply before just simply disconnecting the call.

    My 3 follow-up phone calls to address the blatant lies with a manager were answered and dropped - before the number going straight to voicemail as we speak.

    The Corporate number to contact them has proven very unsuccessful as well.

    Interesting approach to built "ethical" business relationships.

    Would not recommend to a friend, or even a foe...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • HomeAdvisor doesn't care about the home owner.

    • By Rick S.,
    • York, PA,
    • Jan 23, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    I used HomeAdvisor to locate what I thought was a reputable company to do a paving project. A poor job was done on the project to the point that weeds were growing through the pavement 7 months later. HomeAdvisor said there was nothing they could do about it in providing assistance in resolving the issue. I suggest you stay away from HomeAdvisor and Sutherland in the York, PA area.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Service providers beware

    • By Cristina D.,
    • Corning, NY,
    • Jan 17, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    HomeAdvisor will charge you $50-$100 (or more depending on your location) for the name and "phone number" of a potential lead even if you contact the lead on several occasions and they never return your phone call. In the beginning, you are led to believe you can request a credit for these leads, however, you later find out that unreturned calls/messages and/or a homeowner deciding that they don't want to do the project are not reasons for a refund. This is a major scam and I would highly advise any designers, engineers, architects, contractors, etc. avoid using this service. If you are looking for a good service to use I would highly recommend Houzz.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Crappy work

    • By Tamara J.,
    • Stone Mountain, GA,
    • Dec 31, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Hired a "5-star reviewed" contractor to patch and seal asphalt driveway. He did a crap poor job and then ghosted on me...refuses to return phone calls or texts. It is not worth it to use a "free" service like this when you end up having to pay again to fix problems caused by bad contractors.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • HomeAdvisor does not verify their contractors

    • By William D.,
    • New York City, NY,
    • Dec 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Currently seeking litigation against HomeAdvisor. The company they sent to us was unverified, had Multiple Judgements against them, as well as the owner. Was informed owner had Arrest Warrant, for failing to pay judgments. All reviews posted on HomeAdvisor were by the owner. HomeAdvisor never checked, no less verified as the claim, any of the reviews. Multiple calls to the HomeAdvisor Solutions team resulted only in the Solutions Manager breaking down in tears, stating the fraud was not committed "At her Desk." Multiple follow-ups are ignored as the turnover at the firm is extensive.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not for pros

    • By Bruce H.,
    • Illinois,
    • Dec 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    As a pro member for several years I can tell you they are not of much use to the pro. Their business model is designed to make money and not help the pro.

    They charge the pro money every time they send you a referral and if that referral is fake it is up to you to ask for a credit. They do nothing proactive to ensure they are legit beforehand. If someone is just looking and does not want to be contacted and they give false info so they can get a look at the pro members we get charged and have to fall into certain categories that they consider legitimate excuses for credit. If they give a false email that does not work but made up a phone number that could be anyone's, we are still expected to pay. I was even told once that they contacted the customer when I said it could not be done and they denied my credit, after which I found out from another employee that they really didn’t reach the customer. The majority of my leads are people who I believe do not want to be contacted and just want to look. Of course, I only want to pay for serious customers. I was once told by a rep that since they could not contact the customer, my request for a credit was denied, yet if I cannot contact them, then that is not a legitimate reason to not have to pay. Double standard?

    They are not open on the weekend. They use their business hours for their part of the country for determining what normal business hours are for all their customers. If I close at 5 pm and my hours are off a few hours from theirs, they use theirs in determining if I should get leads sent to me. They offer the ability to turn off the lead flow if we are closed but I was told by a rep that it can take 48 hours once you turn them back on before they start to work again. Getting a lead way off normal bus hours such as 11 pm makes me wonder what to do because the customers usually take the first pro who calls them. Do I wait until 8 am? Whenever I do, I am told they already found someone and I get charged. Turning off leads to avoid this means waiting 48 hours for any more leads.

    They added another type of lead called an opportunity for work outside of your normal coverage area in addition to the normal lead flow and if you select one it is not always processed. I just did a few days ago because they state you do not have to pay unless the customer agrees to be contacted by me. I never heard anything from anyone.

    My fees are the same regardless of which town I quote a price for, yet their fees vary because they claim they are based on what I can get for my service in that area. So if I am competitively priced (something we should all want) less than others that is a bad thing in their mind because I should charge more and get charged more by them.

    My business is real-estate related and the people shopping for service only have 5 days to obtain my service and complete it. I do not have the luxury of being able to wait even several hours to contact the customer like when they are shopping for a floor.

    As a customer do not go there just to look around, it costs people money. If you are serious don’t just take the first call because it will also prevent you from seeing if you really are getting a deal. As a pro, if you are time-sensitive they will drive you nuts. I only keep my account with my leads turned off because I would hate to throw away all those 5-star reviews. I have customers who come to me stating they saw my reviews but never hired me through them which shows that people like to go there just to look. People will go and look at a lot of sites for info and it should not cost the pros money when they do.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not a single legitimate lead.

    • By Robert L.,
    • Waverly, OH,
    • Dec 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've been with HomeAdvisor for several months and I have not had one legitimate lead. As a contractor, I try my best to serve my customers well. Most all of my personal leads that I have had "not trough HomeAdvisor" have resulted in successful jobs. But with HomeAdvisor, I didn't have any success. Mostly people wanting jobs done for free or very little money. Most did not have any money budgeted for the job. One client just wanted my estimate to have a basis for a lawsuit against another contractor. Even after I quit using their service they charged me. Then when I called them on this they wain there was no refund that they could only reimburse me with more leads. Well, that would only lead to more illegitimate leads and keep my account open so they could charge me more! No thank you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-11 of 76

Write a Review for HomeAdvisor!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review
HomeAdvisor