About HomeAdvisor

Used by 30+ million homeowners, HomeAdvisor can help you find and connect with home improvement professionals across dozens of categories; everything from appliances and siding, to carpentry and lawncare.

But HomeAdvisor understands that choosing a contractor is never an easy task, so they’ve implemented one of the industry's most comprehensive screening processes in order to help give you peace of mind. And when combined with more than 5 million submitted reviews on HomeAdvisor.com, they can help you find a professional you can trust.

On top of this, HomeAdvisor’s Resource Center features articles and advice, project guides, design and video galleries, and more, and their iDevice and Android apps make finding the right professional in the go a breeze.

Remember the old days of searching through the Yellow Pages, blindly calling around to find your next contractor? Modern technology sure has changed the process for the better, but does this mean that HomeAdvisor is your best choice? We’ll explore several different angles in this review, starting with HomeAdvisor’s features.

How Can HomeAdvisor Help You?

Overall, HomeAdvisor provides those looking for professional contractors with three core services.

HomeAdvisor’s ProFinder

This is the name for HomeAdvisor’s search engine, which “makes it easy to find local pros who specialize in exactly the type of work you need done.”

To do this, just type or select the service your need from the category list on HomeAdvisor.com’s home page (such as carpentry), choose the project type (e.g. cabinets and countertops), and indicate what you need done (installation, refacing, refinishing, etc.).

Next, you’ll enter your zip code and based on your choices, you may be asked for additional information (e.g. cabinet material, any problems you’re having, etc.).

Then, you’ll need to indicate if you’re actively hiring or just looking for quotes, approximately when you need the work completed, as well as a short description of the project. Finally, to see HomeAdvisor’s list of professionals, you’ll need to enter your name, address, and contact information.

After doing all of this, you’ll “receive information for up to four pre-screened, local home improvement pros” who are available right now and who will contact you to discuss your project.

HomeAdvisor.com’s LiveDirectory

Not quite ready to use ProFinder and hand over your information? If so, you can manually search HomeAdvisor’s database; just enter the type of service you’re interested in and your zip code.

From there, you’ll receive a list of professionals that match your criteria, which can be sorted by best match, ratings, those offering a deal, and more. On the list, you’ll see each business’s name, their rating and number of verified reviews, contact information, and brief details. If you click on the name, you’ll be able to view the business’s achievement, services, service areas, credentials, website, photos, customer ratings, and more.

HomeAdvisor True Cost Guides

By taking information from over 1 million home projects across the country (members shared who they hired, how long it took, and exactly how much it cost) and compiling it into one database, HomeAdvisor’s True Cost Guides can provide local and national cost data for 500+ types of jobs—from routine maintenance to major remodels. In fact, the company calls it the nation’s largest database of real project cost information.

What for? This way, you’ll be able to find out what other people in your area paid for their projects, which can help give you an idea what you should pay for yours.

Given all these features, how much will you pay to use HomeAdvisor?

Is HomeAdvisor’s Guidance Expensive?

As a homeowner, HomeAdvisor’s basic services are completely free to use. The company also offers HomeAdvisor Premium, which assigns you a dedicated home expert who will manage all the details of your project. This includes finding a professional, fielding bids, negotiating price, scheduling appointments, and more. Unfortunately, no costs were listed at the time of our research.

On the other hand, if you’re a contractor, each lead you receive from HomeAdvisor can vary in cost, based on the type and the location of the request. However, we did find one Google Play review that mentioned each lead costs $30, although we weren’t able to verify the accuracy of this statement.

Considering the fact that it’s free (for the most part), what’s everyone saying about HomeAdvisor?

HomeAdvisor’s Client Feedback

Overall, it seems that HomeAdvisor comes with mostly positive online customer feedback.

Based on nearly 3,000 individual reviews, HomeAdvisor had an average rating of 4.7 stars on Consumer Affairs. Most seemed to appreciate the fact that it’s free (unlike some of the competition—more in a second), easy to use, and puts you in contact with quality professionals.

Although HomeAdvisor’s reviews weren’t nearly as positive on ComplaintsList.com (by its very nature), the company did try to reach out to some of those who complained in order to find a resolution. It’s also important to note that many of the complaints there referenced contractors hired through HomeAdvisor, and not the company itself.

HomeAdvisor’s mobile apps seem to fare equally well with customers. iTunes users gave it 4 stars based on 443 reviews, and nearly 900 Google Play reviewers gave it a similar 4.1-star rating. Most claimed it’s simple to use and that it gives you access to quality contractors (many claimed they found one within minutes).

From a company perspective, HomeAdvisor is based out of Lakewood, CO and has been in business since 1999. They had an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on nearly 800 closed complaints (as of 3/15/16). These appeared to reference a wide range of concerns, from billing problems and poor quality work performed by professionals listed on the site.

Speaking of the company, exactly how does HomeAdvisor screen their contractors, and how much protection will they provide if something goes wrong?

How HomeAdvisor Protects Customers

What exactly does HomeAdvisor mean when claiming to utilize “one of the industry's most comprehensive screening processes”? According to their Terms & Conditions, their professional screening process involves verifying licensing and checking state business filings, criminal records, sex offender registrations, searching for civil judgments, and verifying their identity (social security number).

There’s are two important caveats, though:

First, after their original application, these professionals aren’t screened again, regardless of how long they’re listed on HomeAdvisor.com. What’s this mean? Outside of the negative feedback poor business practices like these would generate, if something occurs after the professional is accepted as a member (such as a civil judgment), it won’t be reflected on their profile.

Second, although the company seems to have a mostly positive online reputation, after HomeAdvisor connects you with a contractor, they basically wash their hands of the transaction. In other words, if something goes wrong in your project, it’s between you and the contractor. Should this situation occur, HomeAdvisor claims that they might offer dispute resolution services, although there’s zero obligation on their part.

Taking both of these into consideration, there’s been some criticism of HomeAdvisor in the past, based on loopholes that could allow unscrupulous contractors to sneak through the screening process:

“For example, one case in Austin involved a HomeAdvisor trusted contractor that left unfinished home improvement work after taking a deposit in 2014. It was later found the contractor had been sued 17 times since 2002. A company spokesperson said the website only screens for lawsuits from the day contractors sign up for its service. The screening only goes back one year for civil judgments and it never re-screens contractors again.”

So, should you use HomeAdvisor?

What’s the Advice for HomeAdvisor?

While there’s a ton of great information out there that can help you learn how to choose a contractor, the pickings are slim if you’re looking to locate one in the first place. In fact, the big (or only) three in this space are HomeAdvisor, Angie’s List, and Houzz.

Like any other business, each of these comes with their own unique specializations, as well as their own pros and cons. For example, Angie’s List seems to focus more on protecting clients with their Complaint Resolution Team, although you’ll have to pay a membership fee. Like HomeAdvisor, Houzz is completely free (and you can gather design ideas and purchase items, too), but they don’t seem to place a lot of emphasis (at least on their website) about the vetting process.

Which of these is right for you? Ultimately, that’s a decision only you can make. But when it comes to HomeAdvisor, it’s hard to beat free, so you might as well try signing up for an account, browsing contractors in your area, and using their ProFinder when you’re ready. Then, after you’re finished, be sure to come back here and tell us about your HomeAdvisor experience!


Read 62 HomeAdvisor Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 4 4 star: 0 3 star: 1 2 star: 3 1 star:  54
Bottom Line: 8% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 62
Sort reviews by:

  • No show

    • Stuart, FL,
    • Nov 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Bad enough that the "pro" never showed but then to subsequently have to deal with an obsequious agent located somewhere in the Philippines was the straw the camel's back! Let's see if they truly refund my money as their "service" requires pre-payment. Never again!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • HomeAdvisor scammed me out of my money

    • Mississippi,
    • Nov 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Hi. I'm a contractor and I recently purchased a membership through HomeAdvisor. They told me $300 to get started and I won't be charged if I don't connect with the customer. Well, they have been charging me for people who l don't know and for people that just called for an estimate, and when I called HomeAdvisor they said that even though you don't respond to a lead that we send, you will be charged for people that I don't know or haven't talked too. HomeAdvisor took over $700 from my account and I didn't even know it. And a few days ago they sent me a scammer that got my info and sent a bogus check in the mail, charged me $3.50 to receive it, and I call HomeAdvisor and they didn't do anything about it and still charged me for it. I need a lawyer to get my money back because HomeAdvisor is a scheme people, please don't use HomeAdvisor, they steal your money, so please beware, don't trust HomeAdvisor, please.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • HomeAdvisor reviews are FAKE

    • Lindenhurst, IL,
    • Nov 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I hired a contractor who had an A+ rating with HomeAdvisor. This guy does faulty work and took $2,000 of my money that he would not return when I fired him. I’m fighting him in court to get it back. I’m a single mom working 2 jobs 7 days a week taking care of a disabled daughter. HomeAdvisor recommends this idiot who has no idea how to hang a cabinet without putting 18 screws in the wall to hold it up and it still fell down.

    Don’t use HomeAdvisor.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Horrible experience and poor customer service

    • Cincinnati, OH,
    • Nov 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am highly disappointed in the lack of service I have received from HomeAdvisor. I was supposed to have leaves removed from my front and back yard last Monday, 11/4. It is now Friday, 11/8, and the job that was supposed to take 2 hours is still not complete. HomeAdvisor has sent 3 different contractors who have failed to complete the job. Today the 4th contractor was supposed to come to finish the job and didn't show up. I have wasted hours on the phone this week being transferred, put on hold, told I would receive calls back that never were, and been given assurances that the job would be complete. I have asked numerous times for their corporate office's direct line and email but was refused. All I am asking is for the job to be completed, but for some unknown reason, this still hasn't happened. Does anyone at HomeAdvisor care about customer service? Obviously not.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Wallscapes - Ted Barber (Painter)

    • Michigan,
    • Nov 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Ted Barber from Wallscapes is very charming and neat in his work habits. We found him on HomeAdvisor and interviewed several painters before selecting him. I checked his references that he gave me privately and most were happy with his work. I contacted him to remove wainscoting and paint the walls in the Historic Community Center in Clinton, MI in Lenawee County. We began with two rooms for him to complete. We had additional rooms to do but I had to wait for the other Board of Directors to review and then approve payment for additional work. We were satisfied with the touch-ups and paid him for the work completed. We wrote an additional deposit for the next phase of work. Again very efficient and reliable. The payment for his completion of Phase 2 was written.

    Within a couple of months we began to see some "shadowing" on the walls. Since the wainscoting was adhered to the wall with glue, we realized that this may be the problem. After several attempts with Ted both in e-mail and phone calls for him to return to see what the problem is we contacted another highly recommended painter in our area. He stated immediately that it looked as if something was affixed to the wall with an adhesive and it was not completely removed. We had not shared our thoughts with the new painter on this matter. Ted never returned our calls or e-mails after stating that he would get back in touch with me in a week or so. After paying $10,000 for about 1500 square feet of space to be painted we feel disappointed in the integrity of this contractor. Please be cautious should you use him and his services. I don't know what else we could have done to verify his work. Perhaps withholding the check for several months may have been appropriate.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    BEWARE - DON'T SIGN UP

    • Chicago, IL,
    • Oct 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    HomeAdvisor is a total scam. They send you non-qualified and bogus leads that you have to pay for and if you don't, they send you to collections within 10 days.

    Worst customer service and legal department I have ever experienced.

    STAY AWAY!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Huge ripoff

    • Florida,
    • Oct 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Being new to the Tampa area my girlfriend insisted on using HomeAdvisor for a water heater repair. Their contractors are vultures. Absolutely none would give any type of an estimate over the phone, all insisting on coming to the home. I made appoints with two. The first one, Haske Plumbing, canceled. The second, Cass Plumbing, arrived late. I authorized the repair at their price before I realized what a HUGE RIPOFF THEIR PRICE WAS! $264 to replace two $10 parts in less than an hour. I will NEVER EVER contact HomeAdvisor again!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful

    HomeAdvisor the worst experience, dangerous, and costly.

    • Florida,
    • Sep 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I called HomeAdvisor for a referral, we wanted to remodel the bathrooms and the kitchen. They referred Elite Construction and we were told the contractors are verified by them to be licensed professionals insured and had extensive criminal background checks..."HomeAdvisors does the research so you don't have to." LIES.

    Long story short, the so-called "contractor" sent had no license, no insurance, has a criminal record, destroyed my home, major electrical and plumbing problems the city is finding us for everyday we don't solve issues. The man, who told me was the owner of Elite Construction, after my research I found out he is not the owner, that man, referred by HomeAdvisor has a criminal record. He brought into my home undocumented immigrants and did not pay them, I believe these people may be going after him, I don't care, I care about the danger he put us in and the damage done to my home, the fact that my granddaughter a toddler and I were home alone with criminals. My house is destroyed and my husband and I have no recourse to take on the damage and incoming fines by the city. I need legal assistance, I was asked to get three estimates, by "supervivisor" Jenn Reifman who was supposed to help us. This woman is condescending, has horrible customer service skills and her response was, we dont have to do anything to help you, we are doing you a favor.

    HomeAdvisor is a scam, they put people in danger and do not stand by anything they say. Stay away from this company and if you're going through what I am going through reach out to an attorney and the media. This company should be shut down for misleading the consumers, I have documentation and photos of the damage done to my home.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Eagle Plumbing scam!

    • Baton Rouge, LA,
    • Sep 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Eagle Plumbing of Kenner, Louisiana overcharged $3000 for a job. For snaking a drain, use of a camera for 10 minutes and replacing 10 feet of outside pipe I was charged $4415.00. I gave them my credit card for the deposit but I never authorized them to charge the balance. They left my house without contacting me and charged my card. I contacted 3 other plumbers and all told me the maximum charge should be $1000-$2000. I tried to contact the company with no results. I was led to believe before the job that there would be extensive outside pipe replaced. I asked the plumber before I agreed to look me in the eye and tell we this was a fair price. He said" Yes"!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    HomeAdvisor doesn't credit for fake leads

    • Everett, MA,
    • Aug 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    HomeAdvisor sends leads and even after 12 calls and customer doesn't answer, HomeAdvisor charges you.

    When I call them for credit they said we do not credit for every credit that doesn't answer the phone, so this means even for fake leads you have to pay.

    HomeAdvisor is a really big scam, they are fake and a rip-off.

    Stay away from HomeAdvisor, they are lost time and many.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Not very impressed with HomeAdvisor.

    • Long Beach Island, NJ,
    • Aug 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Not very impressed with HomeAdvisor. Had a deck problem where the fiberglass fascia was corroding and needed replacing and would consider additionally re-gel coating the whole deck.

    If memory serves, I only received 2 contacts. One didn't return my email when I asked if he was experienced in that kind of fiberglass deck repair. The other quoted a price that was way too high.

    I had a similar experience when I tried HomeAdvisor for a small kitchen grout repair/replace job.

    Re: the deck job, I got a call from a HomeAdvisor customer service person who wanted to know how my project was going and I told her what I'm saying in this review. She then sent me a bunch of names to contact, but many were over a hundred miles away and, anyway, isn't it the contractors who should be contacting me? Not complaining about the customer service call but I had already found a contractor for the job by getting recommendations from my Long Beach Island painter pro, Bob LeFevre.

    I'm writing this because I've been seeing a lot of tv ads for HomeAdvisor and it's my opinion that the ads are misleading in terms of HomeAdvisors' value to folks needing contractors.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 62

Write a Review for HomeAdvisor!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review