About HomeAdvisor

By HighYa Staff

Used by 30+ million homeowners, HomeAdvisor can help you find and connect with home improvement professionals across dozens of categories; everything from appliances and siding, to carpentry and lawncare.

But HomeAdvisor understands that choosing a contractor is never an easy task, so they’ve implemented one of the industry's most comprehensive screening processes in order to help give you peace of mind. And when combined with more than 5 million submitted reviews on HomeAdvisor.com, they can help you find a professional you can trust.

On top of this, HomeAdvisor’s Resource Center features articles and advice, project guides, design and video galleries, and more, and their iDevice and Android apps make finding the right professional in the go a breeze.

Remember the old days of searching through the Yellow Pages, blindly calling around to find your next contractor? Modern technology sure has changed the process for the better, but does this mean that HomeAdvisor is your best choice? We’ll explore several different angles in this review, starting with HomeAdvisor’s features.

How Can HomeAdvisor Help You?

Overall, HomeAdvisor provides those looking for professional contractors with three core services.

HomeAdvisor’s ProFinder

This is the name for HomeAdvisor’s search engine, which “makes it easy to find local pros who specialize in exactly the type of work you need done.”

To do this, just type or select the service your need from the category list on HomeAdvisor.com’s home page (such as carpentry), choose the project type (e.g. cabinets and countertops), and indicate what you need done (installation, refacing, refinishing, etc.).

Next, you’ll enter your zip code and based on your choices, you may be asked for additional information (e.g. cabinet material, any problems you’re having, etc.).

Then, you’ll need to indicate if you’re actively hiring or just looking for quotes, approximately when you need the work completed, as well as a short description of the project. Finally, to see HomeAdvisor’s list of professionals, you’ll need to enter your name, address, and contact information.

After doing all of this, you’ll “receive information for up to four pre-screened, local home improvement pros” who are available right now and who will contact you to discuss your project.

HomeAdvisor.com’s LiveDirectory

Not quite ready to use ProFinder and hand over your information? If so, you can manually search HomeAdvisor’s database; just enter the type of service you’re interested in and your zip code.

From there, you’ll receive a list of professionals that match your criteria, which can be sorted by best match, ratings, those offering a deal, and more. On the list, you’ll see each business’s name, their rating and number of verified reviews, contact information, and brief details. If you click on the name, you’ll be able to view the business’s achievement, services, service areas, credentials, website, photos, customer ratings, and more.

HomeAdvisor True Cost Guides

By taking information from over 1 million home projects across the country (members shared who they hired, how long it took, and exactly how much it cost) and compiling it into one database, HomeAdvisor’s True Cost Guides can provide local and national cost data for 500+ types of jobs—from routine maintenance to major remodels. In fact, the company calls it the nation’s largest database of real project cost information.

What for? This way, you’ll be able to find out what other people in your area paid for their projects, which can help give you an idea what you should pay for yours.

Given all these features, how much will you pay to use HomeAdvisor?

Is HomeAdvisor’s Guidance Expensive?

As a homeowner, HomeAdvisor’s basic services are completely free to use. The company also offers HomeAdvisor Premium, which assigns you a dedicated home expert who will manage all the details of your project. This includes finding a professional, fielding bids, negotiating price, scheduling appointments, and more. Unfortunately, no costs were listed at the time of our research.

On the other hand, if you’re a contractor, each lead you receive from HomeAdvisor can vary in cost, based on the type and the location of the request. However, we did find one Google Play review that mentioned each lead costs $30, although we weren’t able to verify the accuracy of this statement.

Considering the fact that it’s free (for the most part), what’s everyone saying about HomeAdvisor?

HomeAdvisor’s Client Feedback

Overall, it seems that HomeAdvisor comes with mostly positive online customer feedback.

Based on nearly 3,000 individual reviews, HomeAdvisor had an average rating of 4.7 stars on Consumer Affairs. Most seemed to appreciate the fact that it’s free (unlike some of the competition—more in a second), easy to use, and puts you in contact with quality professionals.

Although HomeAdvisor’s reviews weren’t nearly as positive on ComplaintsList.com (by its very nature), the company did try to reach out to some of those who complained in order to find a resolution. It’s also important to note that many of the complaints there referenced contractors hired through HomeAdvisor, and not the company itself.

HomeAdvisor’s mobile apps seem to fare equally well with customers. iTunes users gave it 4 stars based on 443 reviews, and nearly 900 Google Play reviewers gave it a similar 4.1-star rating. Most claimed it’s simple to use and that it gives you access to quality contractors (many claimed they found one within minutes).

From a company perspective, HomeAdvisor is based out of Lakewood, CO and has been in business since 1999. They had an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on nearly 800 closed complaints (as of 3/15/16). These appeared to reference a wide range of concerns, from billing problems and poor quality work performed by professionals listed on the site.

Speaking of the company, exactly how does HomeAdvisor screen their contractors, and how much protection will they provide if something goes wrong?

How HomeAdvisor Protects Customers

What exactly does HomeAdvisor mean when claiming to utilize “one of the industry's most comprehensive screening processes”? According to their Terms & Conditions, their professional screening process involves verifying licensing and checking state business filings, criminal records, sex offender registrations, searching for civil judgments, and verifying their identity (social security number).

There’s are two important caveats, though:

First, after their original application, these professionals aren’t screened again, regardless of how long they’re listed on HomeAdvisor.com. What’s this mean? Outside of the negative feedback poor business practices like these would generate, if something occurs after the professional is accepted as a member (such as a civil judgment), it won’t be reflected on their profile.

Second, although the company seems to have a mostly positive online reputation, after HomeAdvisor connects you with a contractor, they basically wash their hands of the transaction. In other words, if something goes wrong in your project, it’s between you and the contractor. Should this situation occur, HomeAdvisor claims that they might offer dispute resolution services, although there’s zero obligation on their part.

Taking both of these into consideration, there’s been some criticism of HomeAdvisor in the past, based on loopholes that could allow unscrupulous contractors to sneak through the screening process:

“For example, one case in Austin involved a HomeAdvisor trusted contractor that left unfinished home improvement work after taking a deposit in 2014. It was later found the contractor had been sued 17 times since 2002. A company spokesperson said the website only screens for lawsuits from the day contractors sign up for its service. The screening only goes back one year for civil judgments and it never re-screens contractors again.”

So, should you use HomeAdvisor?

What’s the Advice for HomeAdvisor?

While there’s a ton of great information out there that can help you learn how to choose a contractor, the pickings are slim if you’re looking to locate one in the first place. In fact, the big (or only) three in this space are HomeAdvisor, Angie’s List, and Houzz.

Like any other business, each of these comes with their own unique specializations, as well as their own pros and cons. For example, Angie’s List seems to focus more on protecting clients with their Complaint Resolution Team, although you’ll have to pay a membership fee. Like HomeAdvisor, Houzz is completely free (and you can gather design ideas and purchase items, too), but they don’t seem to place a lot of emphasis (at least on their website) about the vetting process.

Which of these is right for you? Ultimately, that’s a decision only you can make. But when it comes to HomeAdvisor, it’s hard to beat free, so you might as well try signing up for an account, browsing contractors in your area, and using their ProFinder when you’re ready. Then, after you’re finished, be sure to come back here and tell us about your HomeAdvisor experience!

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 40 HomeAdvisor Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 1 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 1 1 star:  38
Bottom Line: 5% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 40
Sort reviews by:

  • Complete rip off

    • North Carolina,
    • Mar 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had a plumber come out to attach a clothes dryer vent to an outlet. They quoted $531.00. Said it had to be metal to metal and I needed an entirely new system. All I needed was a vent to be connected that had fallen off. Another plumber did the job for $30 and I purchased $12.00 worth if vent material. The HomeAdvisor plumber offered to come out on his day off and do the job for $50.00. He told me that HomeAdvisor charged so much for each lead they had to up their prices to make money I now asked if they are associated with HomeAdvisor as most companies hide that fact. If they say yes, I tell them I am not interested. Just for knowledge they sent 5 plumbers to quote on the same job and charged each one a finders fee. Nothing but a SCAM.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Scammers

    • Florida,
    • Feb 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Someone has to put a stop to this website. HomeAdvisor is nothing but thieves. How can they send contractors to people's houses, taking money they worked for to make a better home, and they never do a background check on the contractor. Even one star is a lot to give them. Nothing but scammers. They should be stopped right now. Where is the consumer protection? And if the BBB is supposed to be a source for consumer protection, why is HomeAdvisor still in business with all these extremely poor reviews?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    HomeAdvisor is scamming contractors!

    • New York,
    • Feb 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    HomeAdvisor will take advantage of your small business. They overcharge you for leads and will not work with you when you dispute charges. You will not get to talk to supervisors, you will get sent to collections. Homeowners do not understand that when they click buttons to get information about jobs, contractors get charged outrageous amounts for the "lead." Save your money, save your time, stay away from this awful company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • California,
    • Jan 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is a scam. They do not tell me how they bill and after four days I was in the hole almost $600. Their goal seems to be to screw people out of their money before they realize what is happening.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    The contractors are unprofessional and do not honor there work.

    I had them put a mount for a TV and it’s not leveled and too low, and they refuse to fix it. They claim to call me back and no response in over a month. And they refuse to send my receipt. And I paid two different people and still can’t get them to fix it, and I offered to help along with my son.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    More fees than actual useful leads!

    • Philadelphia, PA,
    • Nov 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We signed our company up and started getting leads. The leads almost all of the time were not accurate and we ended up asking for our fees credited back almost 100% of the time. I think in one year the actual leads provided us one client, not even covering the annual fee. As a business owner, this was more of an inconvenience than a business opportunity. I am still currently fighting with them to get credited for fees and to have fees removed after asking them to cancel our account numerous times and them not doing so.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Frustrating experience

    • Columbus, OH,
    • Nov 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My message would be for contractors who are planning to do business with HomeAdvisor.com. Think twice before you sign a contract with these guys. They will cheat on you and rob your banking account the way they treated me. After three weeks of being with them, I checked my account and was in complete shock to see that I was charged $500. During this period of time, I didn't receive a single call from the customer, which means I never performed a single job. Still, they charged me for every lead they sent to my account, and those were not cheap, several of them were $85.

    After two days of fighting with their so-called customer service, when they kept on either hanging up on me or transferring to different representatives, I canceled the membership with $900 taken from my account (including $347 fee for membership). Now, it's up to you to decide if you want to deal with these thieves or not. I am very disappointed with their customer service and professional attitude.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    HomeAdvisor is the worst

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Nov 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    You know what? They are the absolute worst. I do not exaggerate this one bit.

    The guy who opened my account (for $250 or whatever) was just released from prison for “Bilking elderly couples out of retirement funds”! Link available!

    You're charged for a customer if they're serious or clueless

    You're charged a very random amount per lead. I understand how advertising works, but they are really all over the map.

    We are a small foundation contractor. I was billed $95 for a customer that wants some kind of window work in her attic. OK, no big deal I thought. They should refund $95 because well, we never intended to do any work in attics or above ground windows.

    I spent more time disputing the charge than any reasonable person would over the course of a couple weeks. Anyway, they wouldn't budge and so I asked my credit card company to dispute a transaction.

    These fools have so many disputes they clearly are taking advantage of people. Fast forward a run-on-paragraph and 6 months, I've got a collections agency harassing me and treating me like I'm criminal scum.

    I had a total of 60-200 leads and of those, I was able to convert about half of what I normally can, even with cheaper ad generations like Craigslist. It cost me around $1400

    Overall it's a system that CAN work, and honestly, I don't even dislike Steve (the bilker). He was very personable and funny, a great salesman. The situation was a pretty well published event and it shows a lot about the management to target someone like him for employment.

    Management is the problem here. It's a boys-club with lead generation algorithms that cherry pick the best customers for the contractors that have been with them the longest. In my opinion, that is fine, both morally and business wise; but it is what you are up against.

    I wouldn't recommend Home Adviser to a contractor unless it's a unique situation with favorable results.

    I wouldn't recommend HomeAdviser to a homeowner because the fees the company has to pay to meet you are too high. This has to translate to more expensive work. Ask friends, use Google, maybe even YellowPages.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    HomeAdvisor is a scam for contractors

    • New York,
    • Nov 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    HomeAdvisor bought Angie's List and is a scam for honest contractors. They use to be called ServiceMagic but there were so many complaints and lawsuits they changed to HomeAdvisor. This company could put contractors out of business. Let me repeat: This company could put contractors out of business. This company could put contractors out of business.

    HomeAdvisor works on a SECRET CREDIT RATING! They keep this to themselves and don't tell you. They over billed my company - continuously. They do not give credit for unreachable potential clients and give sales tax service charges not disclosed during sign up. They charged our company for 95% for wrong information or wrong phone numbers. Stay away from HomeAdvisor. 55 calls in 3 months and only 13 were real people who needed service, and only 3 books. Meaning, I paid an average of $30 for 55 leads, $1650, with only 3 jobs that we grossed $420. They charge every single contractor who lists with HomeAdvisor more than the job and regardless of contact or getting the work.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Unbelievable harassment. Unethical company.

    • Boise, ID,
    • Oct 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Well I'm pissed. I've used HomeAdvisor in the past and have had the consistent experience that they just crap out results that almost never match the project you are using. I've never been able to use any of their recommendations, so I've gladly stopped using their service.

    Today I was looking for sprinkler blowouts and clicked on one of my Google results. It happened to be HomeAdvisor. And they were recommending plumbers. I instantly hit the back button, after about 4 seconds on their site. I instantly get several emails from them, thanking me for using them in my plumbing search. I unsubscribe AGAIN, hoping it will finally be the end of my contact with this horrible company. INSTANTLY I get an email from homeyou saying,

    "Hi (removed), Thank you for your request for Plumbing Work in (removed). Our trusted partner HomeAdvisor will match you with top local pros for your project. By using this service, you are bound to HomeAdvisor T&C's and Privacy Policy. Thank you for using our service,

    The homeyou team."

    How does unsubscribing from a company give them permission to start harassing you from their "trusted partner" site? Then I start getting phone calls and messages from HomeAdvisor. I call them back and tell them if they contact me again, I'm going to report them for fraud. I block the number. Then I start receiving all these calls and emails from local plumbers that I DID NOT give permission to have my contact information and NEVER REQUESTED requested! What on Earth happened to privacy of information and ethical conduct?

    Someone, please get this company, and all of its subsidiaries, to stop harassing me!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Flooring installation

    Lexi Flooring LLC installed flooring throughout our entire house and it is beautiful. Our home is a ranch (3 bedrooms/2 baths). We explained our needs (pet issues) and they addressed each and everyone and answered all our questions, but took care to fix them. They are efficient, professional, knowledgeable and very nice. We absolutely love our new floors! Highly recommended!

    Each and every time I called, the phone was answered right away or I got a callback within a few minutes.

    It took less than a day to complete.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 40

Write a Review for HomeAdvisor!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review