HomeAdvisor Reviews

HomeAdvisor

Overall Rating

1.3

93 Customer Reviews

Summary

HomeAdvisor is a service that helps you find and connect with home improvement professionals across dozens of categories; everything from appliances and siding, to carpentry and lawn care. Learn what customers are saying

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

1.3 Stars out of 93 Reviews
5 Star:6% 4 Star:0% 3 Star:2% 2 Star:3% 1 Star:88%
8% Recommend This Service
Start your review of HomeAdvisor:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Jan 7, 2021

Con artists!

By Jon B., Amarillo, TX, Verified Reviewer

The salesman that convinced me to use them was very convincing. More leads, basically free money from all the new jobs. What's not to like?

But the leads were all trash. Lots would never even answer the phone.

I had signed up for a trial and I could not cancel it!

Then they keep attempting to bill me for things after the fact. Stay away, HomeAdvisor is dishonest and they are not to be trusted.

Length of Use: 6–12 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Leads were not precisely targeted to my customer base

They will charge you for every lead even if customer is window shopping or won't answer phone

They will bill you mercilessly for things and services they don't provide

They are dishonest through and through

Posted on Dec 19, 2020

For a contractor

By Donald M., Memphis, TN, Verified Reviewer

When HomeAdvisor called me they told me that each lead would be $16 and a little more for bigger jobs. Also charged an upfront fee. Never received a $16 charge, it was almost $50. They never stated that every lead was a charge even if you don't get the job. So better investigate better than I did, just thought they were a reputable company, have to rethink that.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Did get 1 job

Cost me about $250 for just 1 job

They misrepresented things to get me to join not true

I know they have to make money but seems like a scam to me

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 8, 2020

Do not deal with HomeAdvisor, it’s a bait and switch game!

By Kathleen P., Gulfport, MS, Verified Reviewer

Once you agree to the quote HomeAdvisor debits your debit/charge card before the work has begun and before a repairman, contractor, etc. arrives! Upon arrival, you are quoted another fee by the person chosen and sent by HomeAdvisor! The fee charged by HomeAdvisor is not refundable, I had to pay twice!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

The bait and switch tactics, not being honest about the repair cost

Debiting my account before the work has started

Terrible customer service, no refunds for their lies

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 4, 2020

Do you have a new CEO? So disappointed!

By Diane H., Chesapeake, VA, Verified Reviewer

I have used HomeAdvisor (HA) for the last several years. I’ve had to sell and move in for parents and my family. This was the easiest way to find good help. To my dismay, things have changed. This time I got a bait and switch. I signed up for 17 windows to be cleaned inside and out. I had to pay in advance almost $300. At the end of three hours, I was told I would need to buy more time? HomeAdviser insisted I signed up for three hours! I did not! How can I know what 17 windows will take, time-wise? The pro had not been signed up with HA for long and showed me that he only made $90 for the three hours. He had done well and that was a terrible rate for two people! I called HA and was given the runaround. The last person was going to be a 2-hour wait time. I will not be paying in advance again or using HomeAdvisor...something is way off in a negative way. I only paid in advance because I had had such good past experiences...never again. Fool me once...

Note: I tried several times to rate this on my HomeAdvisor app after the calls trying to work this out and it wouldn’t let me. Now the job and number information has been removed. Mmmm...

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

The past experiences

Bait and switch

Paid in advance and only got half the agreed upon job done

Very poor, even ugly customer service

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 24, 2020

Scam company!

By Jenna B., Virginia, Verified Reviewer

I created a reoccurring project with HomeAdvisor for lawn care. The company never showed for the first project back in September. I called and wanted everything CANCELED!

I get charged in October for reoccurring projects, and had to call again to cancel and get my money back.

Now it is November and I’m getting charged again and having to call AGAIN to cancel.

It is hard to locate contact information, and impossible to remove a mode of payment from your account. I wonder how much money they have made from people not realizing they have been charged.

This company is the worst, and I am reporting them for fraud. I would not even give them one star!

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Canceled many times and I’m still being charged

Fraudulent scheduling

Can’t remove my credit card

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 24, 2020

Rude people

By Chris H., New England, Verified Reviewer

They didn't like my name and sent me for verification. Roberta was just plain rude. I would not recommend HomeAdvisor at all. There are too many other great sites that are willing to help you with kind and caring people. Avoid HomeAdvisor!

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Rude people

Look elsewhere, not this site

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 16, 2020

Worst experience ever for contracting!

By Shirleyann D., Watertown, CT, Verified Reviewer

I bought into HomeAdvisor's program and set up a request for a repair of a refrigerator. The first person never called to go over the job and just showed up unprepared. I then order the part I was told I needed, $285.00. HomeAdvisor charged me automatically even though the guy never did anything. I had to request a refund. I set up another date and get another guy who looked like he was homeless and carried in his tools with store bags, which took him a half hour. He then spent 15 minutes taking pictures of my refrigerator. He then states he needs more parts, so he goes and doesn't come back until after the 3 hours we paid for. (Another automatic charge, which had to be refunded.) The guy then promises to show up Tuesday, but doesn't.

I set up another date, after complaining for the second time to HomeAdvisor, and tell them to make sure this guy doesn't come back here. I check my appointment, only to see that the same guy is on it. I call and complain and they said they will get another. I texted the second guy and told him to remove himself. He then calls my cell to want to come and we say no. A couple of days prior to the 4th attempt of a repair and he still shows as my Pro. HomeAdvisor called me and removed him and put another on who doesn't show up that day.

HomeAdvisor automatically charges without confirming that the person shows up or does the job! I had to argue for 3 refunds because of this. They wanted to reschedule and I said I had enough! 4 times, 3 different people, and the parts sit on my floor and the repair never done. I canceled my account and am waiting for a 4th call to get my membership charge refunded being it has been such a horrible experience. Mind you, this went on for weeks! Never again!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Automatic charging without confirming if job was done

Unprofessional contractors who are not properly vetted

Hassle of not being charged for no shows

Hassle of getting refunded

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 21, 2020

I hired the twice-convicted federal drug trafficker and guess what?

By Mae N., Mobile, AL, Verified Reviewer

Homeowners - must read to the bottom.

Contractors - stay for the payoff, if you don't mind the length.

Wow. I am one of the few consumers who hired a contractor based on HomeAdvisor's unverified "verified" positive reviews. The only accurate one was negative and not "verified" so I disregarded that cranky old lady and her kitchen disappointment.

What I should have done is my own legwork. The same few contractors were listed as the best and closest to the job site. I checked the BBB, and they (let's call them Co. "J") were listed but not yet rated. No big deal, I thought, plus I had two other quotes in hand.

Sidenote: A cranky lady posted her review of my NATIONALLY NEWSWORTHY general contractor the day after it was opened with the BBB. Doubt it was a coincidence.

Basking in the satisfaction of a not so solid due diligence completed and impressed with the very humble and polite (yes ma'am, and Ms. before my name every time) enormous Santa-like GC, I hired him.

Let the games begin.

Seasoned contractors will be familiar with the timeline.

Got a really spectacularly bad "estimate" for the work. (Through an equally questionable e-estimate service called Joist.) I chalked it up to a language barrier and wonky Joist UX. No biggie. I got a little more specific quote after I requested it be more, or at all, specific, and I got basically the reply text I sent him as a Joist file. That was...um...okay. I don't need to hassle this huge sweet man who's just trying to make a living, right? Or penalize his crew for a lack of contract writing skills, right? I mean, HomeAdvisor wouldn't risk its national profile for any old HispanoSanta, surely.

After a blistering and impressive first two days, they were gone. About 5 days later a really excellent sub of theirs showed up and I was alright again.

Then, the exodus, then a brief return. Enough to make it seem a good idea to get the job done asap. So, a mid-job payment of $1500 and a definite promise of...

No workers on site for over a week. Then, a predictable family crisis.

Then I go back to the sites where he was so highly reviewed.

A very quick comparison with his FB feed and the confluence of his main sub having the same name as a 5-star review, and his best friend from high school, 5 stars. And I'm pretty sure his sister, 5 stars...all matching the VERIFIED reviewer's first name and last initial?

HomeAdvisor, please!

Wait, maybe there's an old docket file of him getting sued, under another company name, likely.

Enter Google, who's all:

"Why didn't you ASK, baby? Have I got a STORY, for you!"

Truth is, it was many stories, many MANY and money money millions. About $50 million in cocaine transported from a town in your coffee-growing Capitol to a major Texas city, and then on to the gulf and beyond.

What I'm saying is this: I assumed that HomeAdvisor would at LEAST do a search for repeated federal convictions? If it is the third swipe on the first page to learn that this guy at least TWICE rolled over on very organized, very Latin crime "syndicates," and AngiesList has a background check policy, why was I encouraged to hire a proven felon, liar, and adept scam artist? Because there is no interest in the outcome, only clicks and margins.

Homeowners beware.

And contractors, google your associates...because they won't.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Verified means nothing

My financial and personal safety are at risk

No quality control

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 30, 2020

This is scam company

By Antonio B., Los Angeles, CA, Verified Reviewer

Well, this is my experience with this company. I am a small cleaning company and they only found for me ONE job, and at this point put me on a collection for $600.00 for nothing. It is a completely a scam company, no questions.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 17, 2020

Scammers

By Jeff C., Colorado, Verified Reviewer

Worst program in the world, charges you for leads that are sent to you when you're paused. Refused to refund my $400.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 16, 2020

Dreamstyle Remodeling walk-in shower

By Lucille W., Sun City West, AZ, Verified Reviewer

We had Dreamstyle Remodeling upgrade our master shower to a walk-in shower. Robert K and Jonathan P arrived on time, worked steadily, and completed the job in one day. They were conscientious, respectful, worked diligently, and cleaned up all traces of their work. We would recommend Dreamstyle Remodeling and the team of Robert and Jonathan. We are very happy.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Conscientious and respectful of our home

Arrived on time and worked diligently all day

Cleaned all trash and remnants before leaving

No “cons” were specified in this review

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 11, 2020

Horrible HomeAdvisor! Contractors beware!

By Stantonn S., La Jolla, CA, Verified Reviewer

I am a very repeatable custom home designer and builder in La Jolla, CA who they convinced to sign up with them. Several things happened within this transaction. The first problem is the sales agent David K and I spent 2+ hours on the phone setting up a very specific situation for specific categories. It was very time-consuming.

The service started very slow after they completed a background check on myself and the business. Once approved the services came in very slow. One lead a day, if that, for a total of three. The problem was the three leads that came in where all for the wrong category. I was still charged for these leads! I called and emailed David ASAP to correct the problem. He told me he was on top of it. A solid week came by with nothing done! I get a call from a different HomeAdvisor rep to tell me we need to restart everything over. I was very frustrated and canceled. They did not try to save the business, which was odd!

Still no refund two weeks into after several calls and emails.

I receive a call from a very nice lady who tells me she is shocked that this happened and asked me to retry it! I agreed as she said she would do everything on her own and call me back. Long story short, this did happen only to find out there was some type of system problem and they could not figure out how to get me back into the system. No problem, I really did not want to do it the first time!

Months have gone by to find out no credit has been issued! I find out that David most likely waited to submit the credit/cancellation so he could rep his commissions.

Very frustrated with HomeAdvisor, communication was very poor! Not recommended. For anyone who is looking for quality leads, stay away! Go to StickyLeads instead. This company is amazing.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Terrible customer service

Liars

Smoke and mirrors

Poor communication

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 1, 2020

Scam artist. Do not use this service please.

By Chantell P., Savannah, GA, Verified Reviewer

I thought this was a very smart move for our business, but it was not. I was informed I had a HomeAdvisor account in collection for $700.00 after terminating my service with them. I ask them for a printout or email for the $700.00 in leads because I never received them. I was told they could not provide me with that information after the account was closed. I would like to know what I'm paying for. This is a big rip-off. I also told them I can email them my phone bill because I NEVER received any lead on the dates they provided saying I received leads. I was also told you can not call in and terminate service, you have to write in. I'm PISSED. You want me to pay $700.00 for leads, and I don't know a name OF A CLIENT or anything? Do not sign up for this service! Save yourself a headache.

Length of Use: 6–12 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Dishonesty

Helpful Review? 9 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 17, 2020

Run, don’t walk

By Kat L., Lakewood, NJ, Verified Reviewer

When you run a business you should communicate, and don’t say you will match up with contractors and three weeks later no one has contacted us.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

No calls back; not from contractors, not from HomeAdvisor

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 12, 2020

Excellent job performance

By Mike T., Florence, KY, Verified Reviewer

We are very happy that we selected TIP TOP ROOFING of Greater Cincinnati to install our new roofing and gutters. The Tip Top Team performed in precision and finished the job with extreme professionalism. We are very happy with Tip Top Roofing and would certainly recommend the company at the highest level!

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Their distinct professionalism

Their precise teamwork

A very professional presentation showing us what they would do and how, and the follow-up was excellent as well

The follow-up with us to be sure there was customer satisfaction and any questions, etc.

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on Jun 27, 2020

Run away! HomeAdvisor is a ripoff!

By Gary A., Utah, Verified Reviewer

I have been a contractor listed with HomeAdvisor for 3 years. During that time their service and communication quality have declined dramatically. I would not recommend them to contractors or homeowners. Their policies are geared to relieve people of their money! They do not care at all about unhappy customers! I will not be renewing my membership.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

They do not refund for bad leads

They charge every contractor for responding to a lead, but should only charge the winning contractor

They do not respond promptly or responsibly to billing errors

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 22, 2020

Worst experience during a crisis

By Mike W., Virginia Beach, VA, Verified Reviewer

I called HomeAdvisor after a 75-foot tree fell on my deck, pool, and fence. I was given a fixed price to do the job without someone coming out to access the job. I was skeptical and thought this could be a scam so I called several different numbers and was satisfied this was legitimate. I paid in advance and I was told it would be done in four days. On that day I received an email rescheduling for 2 days later, then again for another 2 days and today canceling totally. DON’T USE THESE PEOPLE!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 8 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 16, 2020

Dryer knob

By Anton T., Queens, NY, Verified Reviewer

I used A1 Repair company, our dryer was not working. Dino the owner came, diagnosed the problem, I paid him for the service call and replacement part. He had made arrangements to bring part on 3/12 in the 8am range. I never got it and calls to company at (718) 440-4673 I get a message, and no service now due to the virus afflicting the country. Please follow up.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 1, 2020

Home Mis-Advisor is a rip off for both homeowners and vendors

By Robert W., Pelion, SC, Verified Reviewer

Unfortunately, HomeAdvisor is currently receiving 4.5 stars by 1,886 reviewers at www.consumeraffairs.com/homeowners/homeadvisor.html.

Every one of the reviews that I read on Consumer Affairs was submitted by satisfied homeowners that were pleased with the services they received from venders and NOT necessarily from their experience with HomeAdvisor. It seems that home owners are largely unaware that Home Advisor is scamming vendors at their expense.

Upon looking over the HomeAdvisor website to see if their service would benefit my home inspection company, I received very little information and was required to provide all my contact information in order to learn more. I was contacted with a sales pitch that promised to provide leads that were represented as guaranteed prospects. I was required to pay over $500 to join. Through the registration process, I provided detailed information about the services that I provide. These details were to be shared by HomeAdvisor with homeowners inquiring about my services when they were referred to my business.

I understood that I would be charged between $12 to $20 per referral. I was required to provide my checking account information so that all fees could be drafted from my account. These fees were considered payment for leads that would generate opportunities for my business. In the first week, I received 11 empty leads and $215 in drafts from my checking account. The leads turned out to be nothing more than general inquiries about my services, information that homeowners should have already received from HomeAdvisor prior to their referral to my company.

I requested that my relationship with HomeAdvisor be terminated immediately. I had to jump through many hoops to cancel. For weeks fees continued to draft from my account to HomeAdvisor, even after I believed my membership was canceled. Two years later I still receive sales calls from HomeAdvisor urging my return at a "discounted rate."

During one of these calls when I explained my dissatisfaction with the fees that are charged for less than promising leads the representative replied, "well, all you have to do is charge off the fees you paid for the empty leads to the next lead that contracts your services." I explained to him that I don't do business that way and I am not going to charge my clients for HomeAdvisor's empty promises. I was no longer interested, and I did not want to receive any further calls.

The calls continue. Most recently I answered a call from yet another representative and tried to explain that, "now is not a good time for me I am in the middle of an inspection." To which he replied, "well what about the other 16 times that I have tried to call you?"

Homeowners are encouraged to trust HomeAdvisor to look out for their best interests, yet they are encouraging the vendors to charge homeowners for their empty leads. Based on my experience HomeAdvisor is not representing vendors as promised and are not operating in the best interest of homeowners.

HomeAdvisor is a rip off for both homeowners and vendors.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 10 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 28, 2020

Reality about HomeAdvisor.com

By Mike S., California, Verified Reviewer

HomeAdviser.com is a scam. They charge for each lead over $100.00, also they send it to four contractors, that means they make over $400.00 in each lead. I guarantee most of the contractors have NO license and NO insurance. Most of the leads are third-party leads and unreliable. They get the leads from other sources, most of them are junk contact numbers.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 10 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 18, 2020

An unworkable arrangement

By Raymond B., Springfield, OR, Verified Reviewer

I signed up with HomeAdvisor for solid leads that would make sense financially. For small jobs, I found that they wanted 39% of my profit. Not acceptable.

Contacting them on the phone usually requires a hold time in excess of 30 minutes.

I canceled my membership (>$200) and was told that a refund will take from 15 to 30 days to process.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 27, 2020

Harassment and actual lies to get you paying

By Sean K., Florida, Verified Reviewer

A simple inquiry into their services turned out to be a nightmare. After speaking to a consultant a couple of months ago, I was informed that you get billed per "lead" that they not only send out to you but also multiple other contractors. So we all have to pay them for the same "lead" - whether successful or not.

I politely refused and asked them to remove me from the database. I have been harassed ever since.

This afternoon at 12:40 pm, the 24th of November 2020 I was contacted by "Sol" who inquired whether we still work as contractors. Apparently getting my number from a friend. Only the 2nd time I asked him whether he was from a firm (HomeAdvisor) did he reply before just simply disconnecting the call.

My 3 follow-up phone calls to address the blatant lies with a manager were answered and dropped - before the number going straight to voicemail as we speak.

The Corporate number to contact them has proven very unsuccessful as well.

Interesting approach to built "ethical" business relationships.

Would not recommend to a friend, or even a foe...

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 8 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 23, 2020

HomeAdvisor doesn't care about the home owner.

By Rick S., York, PA, Verified Reviewer

I used HomeAdvisor to locate what I thought was a reputable company to do a paving project. A poor job was done on the project to the point that weeds were growing through the pavement 7 months later. HomeAdvisor said there was nothing they could do about it in providing assistance in resolving the issue. I suggest you stay away from HomeAdvisor and Sutherland in the York, PA area.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 8 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 17, 2020

Service providers beware

By Cristina D., Corning, NY, Verified Reviewer

HomeAdvisor will charge you $50-$100 (or more depending on your location) for the name and "phone number" of a potential lead even if you contact the lead on several occasions and they never return your phone call. In the beginning, you are led to believe you can request a credit for these leads, however, you later find out that unreturned calls/messages and/or a homeowner deciding that they don't want to do the project are not reasons for a refund. This is a major scam and I would highly advise any designers, engineers, architects, contractors, etc. avoid using this service. If you are looking for a good service to use I would highly recommend Houzz.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 12 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 31, 2019

Crappy work

By Tamara J., Stone Mountain, GA, Verified Reviewer

Hired a "5-star reviewed" contractor to patch and seal asphalt driveway. He did a crap poor job and then ghosted on me...refuses to return phone calls or texts. It is not worth it to use a "free" service like this when you end up having to pay again to fix problems caused by bad contractors.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 12 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 27, 2019

HomeAdvisor does not verify their contractors

By William D., New York City, NY, Verified Reviewer

Currently seeking litigation against HomeAdvisor. The company they sent to us was unverified, had Multiple Judgements against them, as well as the owner. Was informed owner had Arrest Warrant, for failing to pay judgments. All reviews posted on HomeAdvisor were by the owner. HomeAdvisor never checked, no less verified as the claim, any of the reviews. Multiple calls to the HomeAdvisor Solutions team resulted only in the Solutions Manager breaking down in tears, stating the fraud was not committed "At her Desk." Multiple follow-ups are ignored as the turnover at the firm is extensive.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 10 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 27, 2019

Not for pros

By Bruce H., Illinois, Verified Reviewer

As a pro member for several years I can tell you they are not of much use to the pro. Their business model is designed to make money and not help the pro.

They charge the pro money every time they send you a referral and if that referral is fake it is up to you to ask for a credit. They do nothing proactive to ensure they are legit beforehand. If someone is just looking and does not want to be contacted and they give false info so they can get a look at the pro members we get charged and have to fall into certain categories that they consider legitimate excuses for credit. If they give a false email that does not work but made up a phone number that could be anyone's, we are still expected to pay. I was even told once that they contacted the customer when I said it could not be done and they denied my credit, after which I found out from another employee that they really didn’t reach the customer. The majority of my leads are people who I believe do not want to be contacted and just want to look. Of course, I only want to pay for serious customers. I was once told by a rep that since they could not contact the customer, my request for a credit was denied, yet if I cannot contact them, then that is not a legitimate reason to not have to pay. Double standard?

They are not open on the weekend. They use their business hours for their part of the country for determining what normal business hours are for all their customers. If I close at 5 pm and my hours are off a few hours from theirs, they use theirs in determining if I should get leads sent to me. They offer the ability to turn off the lead flow if we are closed but I was told by a rep that it can take 48 hours once you turn them back on before they start to work again. Getting a lead way off normal bus hours such as 11 pm makes me wonder what to do because the customers usually take the first pro who calls them. Do I wait until 8 am? Whenever I do, I am told they already found someone and I get charged. Turning off leads to avoid this means waiting 48 hours for any more leads.

They added another type of lead called an opportunity for work outside of your normal coverage area in addition to the normal lead flow and if you select one it is not always processed. I just did a few days ago because they state you do not have to pay unless the customer agrees to be contacted by me. I never heard anything from anyone.

My fees are the same regardless of which town I quote a price for, yet their fees vary because they claim they are based on what I can get for my service in that area. So if I am competitively priced (something we should all want) less than others that is a bad thing in their mind because I should charge more and get charged more by them.

My business is real-estate related and the people shopping for service only have 5 days to obtain my service and complete it. I do not have the luxury of being able to wait even several hours to contact the customer like when they are shopping for a floor.

As a customer do not go there just to look around, it costs people money. If you are serious don’t just take the first call because it will also prevent you from seeing if you really are getting a deal. As a pro, if you are time-sensitive they will drive you nuts. I only keep my account with my leads turned off because I would hate to throw away all those 5-star reviews. I have customers who come to me stating they saw my reviews but never hired me through them which shows that people like to go there just to look. People will go and look at a lot of sites for info and it should not cost the pros money when they do.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 11 People Have Voted
Showing 1-27 of 93

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.