Start your review of HomeAdvisor:
  • 77 Customer Reviews
  • 6% Recommend This Product
1.3 out of 5
5 star: 5% 4 star: 0% 3 star: 2% 2 star: 3% 1 star: 88%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Not a single legitimate lead.

    • By Robert L.,
    • Waverly, OH,
    • Dec 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've been with HomeAdvisor for several months and I have not had one legitimate lead. As a contractor, I try my best to serve my customers well. Most all of my personal leads that I have had "not trough HomeAdvisor" have resulted in successful jobs. But with HomeAdvisor, I didn't have any success. Mostly people wanting jobs done for free or very little money. Most did not have any money budgeted for the job. One client just wanted my estimate to have a basis for a lawsuit against another contractor. Even after I quit using their service they charged me. Then when I called them on this they wain there was no refund that they could only reimburse me with more leads. Well, that would only lead to more illegitimate leads and keep my account open so they could charge me more! No thank you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not one lead was legitimate!

    • By Anthony R.,
    • California,
    • Dec 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am a Fire Sprinkler System Contractor and signed up for HomeAdvisor Pro...$400 later after I went through a slew of questions and complicated back and forth requirements to qualify I finally started to receive leads. Not one of the leads was related to my business, this was of no use to me or the person requesting service, however, I was still charged the lead fee of $18 for each lead. I asked for the fees to be waved and was denied each time so I canceled my account, losing my $400 sign up fee and every lead fee. HomeAdvisor Pro does not work, at least for my company, and as far as I am concerned is a SCAM. The salespeople downright lie just to get you to sign up. I highly suggest you think twice, even thrice, before signing up. Nothing with HomeAdvisor Pro is refundable! I have 10 times more legitimate leads with Yelp...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • SCAM

    • By Jeffrey C.,
    • Canyon Lake, TX,
    • Dec 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The only contractors located on HomeAdvisor are the contractors who pay HomeAdvisor to be a member. Their commercials depict that they market/show only the best contractors in your specific area...but that is BS, they market/show only the contractors that pay them to be a member....Angie's List allows reviews for all contractors.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Never work with this company

    • By Konstantin E.,
    • Jacksonville, FL,
    • Dec 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Never deal with this company. They will withdraw all the money from your card, and it will not matter which leads they sent to you, for example, for which you will never get through, but the money will still be withdrawn. Talking with them is useless. They do not want a long-term business relationship, they want fast money. You will only have one option left, ask your bank to return this money. Do not make this mistake.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • No show

    • By Francis T.,
    • Stuart, FL,
    • Nov 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Bad enough that the "pro" never showed but then to subsequently have to deal with an obsequious agent located somewhere in the Philippines was the straw the camel's back! Let's see if they truly refund my money as their "service" requires pre-payment. Never again!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • HomeAdvisor scammed me out of my money

    • By Jeramie H.,
    • Mississippi,
    • Nov 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Hi. I'm a contractor and I recently purchased a membership through HomeAdvisor. They told me $300 to get started and I won't be charged if I don't connect with the customer. Well, they have been charging me for people who l don't know and for people that just called for an estimate, and when I called HomeAdvisor they said that even though you don't respond to a lead that we send, you will be charged for people that I don't know or haven't talked too. HomeAdvisor took over $700 from my account and I didn't even know it. And a few days ago they sent me a scammer that got my info and sent a bogus check in the mail, charged me $3.50 to receive it, and I call HomeAdvisor and they didn't do anything about it and still charged me for it. I need a lawyer to get my money back because HomeAdvisor is a scheme people, please don't use HomeAdvisor, they steal your money, so please beware, don't trust HomeAdvisor, please.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • HomeAdvisor reviews are FAKE

    • By Liz W.,
    • Lindenhurst, IL,
    • Nov 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I hired a contractor who had an A+ rating with HomeAdvisor. This guy does faulty work and took $2,000 of my money that he would not return when I fired him. I’m fighting him in court to get it back. I’m a single mom working 2 jobs 7 days a week taking care of a disabled daughter. HomeAdvisor recommends this idiot who has no idea how to hang a cabinet without putting 18 screws in the wall to hold it up and it still fell down.

    Don’t use HomeAdvisor.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible experience and poor customer service

    • By Brian V.,
    • Cincinnati, OH,
    • Nov 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am highly disappointed in the lack of service I have received from HomeAdvisor. I was supposed to have leaves removed from my front and back yard last Monday, 11/4. It is now Friday, 11/8, and the job that was supposed to take 2 hours is still not complete. HomeAdvisor has sent 3 different contractors who have failed to complete the job. Today the 4th contractor was supposed to come to finish the job and didn't show up. I have wasted hours on the phone this week being transferred, put on hold, told I would receive calls back that never were, and been given assurances that the job would be complete. I have asked numerous times for their corporate office's direct line and email but was refused. All I am asking is for the job to be completed, but for some unknown reason, this still hasn't happened. Does anyone at HomeAdvisor care about customer service? Obviously not.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Wallscapes - Ted Barber (Painter)

    • By Sally D.,
    • Michigan,
    • Nov 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Ted Barber from Wallscapes is very charming and neat in his work habits. We found him on HomeAdvisor and interviewed several painters before selecting him. I checked his references that he gave me privately and most were happy with his work. I contacted him to remove wainscoting and paint the walls in the Historic Community Center in Clinton, MI in Lenawee County. We began with two rooms for him to complete. We had additional rooms to do but I had to wait for the other Board of Directors to review and then approve payment for additional work. We were satisfied with the touch-ups and paid him for the work completed. We wrote an additional deposit for the next phase of work. Again very efficient and reliable. The payment for his completion of Phase 2 was written.

    Within a couple of months we began to see some "shadowing" on the walls. Since the wainscoting was adhered to the wall with glue, we realized that this may be the problem. After several attempts with Ted both in e-mail and phone calls for him to return to see what the problem is we contacted another highly recommended painter in our area. He stated immediately that it looked as if something was affixed to the wall with an adhesive and it was not completely removed. We had not shared our thoughts with the new painter on this matter. Ted never returned our calls or e-mails after stating that he would get back in touch with me in a week or so. After paying $10,000 for about 1500 square feet of space to be painted we feel disappointed in the integrity of this contractor. Please be cautious should you use him and his services. I don't know what else we could have done to verify his work. Perhaps withholding the check for several months may have been appropriate.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • BEWARE - DON'T SIGN UP

    • By Catherine E.,
    • Chicago, IL,
    • Oct 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    HomeAdvisor is a total scam. They send you non-qualified and bogus leads that you have to pay for and if you don't, they send you to collections within 10 days.

    Worst customer service and legal department I have ever experienced.

    STAY AWAY!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Huge ripoff

    • By Fred I.,
    • Florida,
    • Oct 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Being new to the Tampa area my girlfriend insisted on using HomeAdvisor for a water heater repair. Their contractors are vultures. Absolutely none would give any type of an estimate over the phone, all insisting on coming to the home. I made appoints with two. The first one, Haske Plumbing, canceled. The second, Cass Plumbing, arrived late. I authorized the repair at their price before I realized what a HUGE RIPOFF THEIR PRICE WAS! $264 to replace two $10 parts in less than an hour. I will NEVER EVER contact HomeAdvisor again!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 12-22 of 77

Write a Review for HomeAdvisor!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
HomeAdvisor