Read 57 HomeAdvisor Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 2)

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 4 4 star: 0 3 star: 1 2 star: 2 1 star:  50
Bottom Line: 9% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 12-22 of 57
Sort reviews by:

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    HomeAdvisor is a scam

    • California,
    • Jun 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Total scam. Charges a $400 sign-up fee, and in addition charges over $20 per lead! To add insult to injury, they charge for the leads even if you just open up your e-mail, regardless of whether you click on any link or contact the lead. To add insult to that, they send the leads to more than one person, even though only one person can get the job, and charge everyone for the same lead. To add insult to that, some leads are actually false, or are from customers who say they never asked to be contacted. In short, you lose more money than you can make with them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Dakota Red Cloud, Certified Arborist and Progression Tree Care

    • Redmond, WA,
    • May 31, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    During the windstorm (no rain) early in the evening of December 14, 2018, three 30-foot sections of a large cedar tree broke off with two of the large branches (8-10 inch diameter) landing on my dining room roof and the third landing nearly horizontally across my deck smashing a large circular safety-plate glass topped table and breaking several bulbs on lightbulb string on the deck. I went online to find a Certified Arborist and tree company to deal with three other hazardous large trees. I read a lot of comments and I am exceedingly pleased that I found and hired ISA Certified Arborist Dakota Red Cloud and his company Progression Tree Care. All three had decay problems and were hazardous. During the tree removal process, two of Dakota’s crew discovered an even more hazardous tree problem, a seven-foot-long crack below the notch in this double-headed 135-year-old cedar. After again getting city approval, Dakota’s team safely brought down this hazard and once again did a truly superb cleaning up all the debris, evening cleaning sawdust off the roof of my garden greenhouse. I give my highest positive endorsement to Dakota and Progression Tree Care!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Scam, stay away.

    • San Diego, CA,
    • May 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I signed up for HomeAdvisor and was happy to pay the annual feel for leads but then started getting other charges. Got 2 leads. Cost me $245, both were answered by the same guy saying he never asked for services.

    Market leads are sent to hundreds of contractors and charging all the same for a false lead, in my opinion from the experience, all scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    J&W Brown Contracting LLC

    • Maryland,
    • May 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Mr. Jerome Brown is a great human being, does professional and beautiful work. He truly takes pride in his work. He stayed with the job until it was finished. He kept the area safe and clean. He is really concerned about pleasing the customer. In all the years we have had contractors, he truly is an exception. I am very pleased as well as my wife. We are trying to see if we can clone him! His work speaks for itself. GREAT WORK.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    HomeAdvisor doesn't screen or background check

    • Texas,
    • May 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I went to work for a couple of scam artists who have mastered scamming contractors and customers alike. I found these people on Craigslist and Indeed. They change their business name all the time and HomeAdvisor will take their money and let them right on. I am owed over $3,400 from them. Totals for 2 months are over $23,000 of owed to customers and workers. HomeAdvisor did not help any customers who used the HomeAdvisor platform for safe contractors. They really should do a background check and have a better understanding of how many fraud contractors there are out there, and track them or recognize them better.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Worst company I have ever dealt with!

    • North Carolina,
    • May 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been in business for 5+ years now and have used multiple lead generating companies and this is BY FAR the WORST one I have ever dealt with in my life. After every contractor I have done business with warned me not to do business with HomeAdvisor, I decided to take a leap of faith and give them a shot, and that was an ignorant decision on my part and will NEVER happen again. Not only did I start off by spending $400 on leads that had ZERO SUCCESS, but then HomeAdvisor charged my credit card with no authorization for $800 for leads that I never contacted or accepted. When contacting customer service I was told there was nothing they could do and that I agreed to those stipulations over voice recording (which I have no recollection of) and I spoke to a representative for two hours before signing up for HomeAdvisor and was made to think I would only pay for leads I contacted and or accepted, not that I would be automatically charged when emailed a lead no matter if I never contacted them, which is absurd, and I would never agree to that.

    Long story short, don’t waste your hard earned money on this SCAM of a company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Complete rip off

    • North Carolina,
    • Mar 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had a plumber come out to attach a clothes dryer vent to an outlet. They quoted $531.00. Said it had to be metal to metal and I needed an entirely new system. All I needed was a vent to be connected that had fallen off. Another plumber did the job for $30 and I purchased $12.00 worth if vent material. The HomeAdvisor plumber offered to come out on his day off and do the job for $50.00. He told me that HomeAdvisor charged so much for each lead they had to up their prices to make money I now asked if they are associated with HomeAdvisor as most companies hide that fact. If they say yes, I tell them I am not interested. Just for knowledge they sent 5 plumbers to quote on the same job and charged each one a finders fee. Nothing but a SCAM.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Scammers

    • Florida,
    • Feb 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Someone has to put a stop to this website. HomeAdvisor is nothing but thieves. How can they send contractors to people's houses, taking money they worked for to make a better home, and they never do a background check on the contractor. Even one star is a lot to give them. Nothing but scammers. They should be stopped right now. Where is the consumer protection? And if the BBB is supposed to be a source for consumer protection, why is HomeAdvisor still in business with all these extremely poor reviews?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    HomeAdvisor is scamming contractors!

    • New York,
    • Feb 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    HomeAdvisor will take advantage of your small business. They overcharge you for leads and will not work with you when you dispute charges. You will not get to talk to supervisors, you will get sent to collections. Homeowners do not understand that when they click buttons to get information about jobs, contractors get charged outrageous amounts for the "lead." Save your money, save your time, stay away from this awful company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • California,
    • Jan 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is a scam. They do not tell me how they bill and after four days I was in the hole almost $600. Their goal seems to be to screw people out of their money before they realize what is happening.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    The contractors are unprofessional and do not honor there work.

    I had them put a mount for a TV and it’s not leveled and too low, and they refuse to fix it. They claim to call me back and no response in over a month. And they refuse to send my receipt. And I paid two different people and still can’t get them to fix it, and I offered to help along with my son.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 12-22 of 57

Write a Review for HomeAdvisor!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review