Read 71 HomeAdvisor Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 2)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 4 4 star: 0 3 star: 1 2 star: 3 1 star:  63
Bottom Line: 7% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 12-22 of 71
Sort reviews by:

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    HomeAdvisor reviews are FAKE

    • By Liz W.,
    • Lindenhurst, IL,
    • Nov 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I hired a contractor who had an A+ rating with HomeAdvisor. This guy does faulty work and took $2,000 of my money that he would not return when I fired him. I’m fighting him in court to get it back. I’m a single mom working 2 jobs 7 days a week taking care of a disabled daughter. HomeAdvisor recommends this idiot who has no idea how to hang a cabinet without putting 18 screws in the wall to hold it up and it still fell down.

    Don’t use HomeAdvisor.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Horrible experience and poor customer service

    • By Brian V.,
    • Cincinnati, OH,
    • Nov 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am highly disappointed in the lack of service I have received from HomeAdvisor. I was supposed to have leaves removed from my front and back yard last Monday, 11/4. It is now Friday, 11/8, and the job that was supposed to take 2 hours is still not complete. HomeAdvisor has sent 3 different contractors who have failed to complete the job. Today the 4th contractor was supposed to come to finish the job and didn't show up. I have wasted hours on the phone this week being transferred, put on hold, told I would receive calls back that never were, and been given assurances that the job would be complete. I have asked numerous times for their corporate office's direct line and email but was refused. All I am asking is for the job to be completed, but for some unknown reason, this still hasn't happened. Does anyone at HomeAdvisor care about customer service? Obviously not.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Wallscapes - Ted Barber (Painter)

    • By Sally D.,
    • Michigan,
    • Nov 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Ted Barber from Wallscapes is very charming and neat in his work habits. We found him on HomeAdvisor and interviewed several painters before selecting him. I checked his references that he gave me privately and most were happy with his work. I contacted him to remove wainscoting and paint the walls in the Historic Community Center in Clinton, MI in Lenawee County. We began with two rooms for him to complete. We had additional rooms to do but I had to wait for the other Board of Directors to review and then approve payment for additional work. We were satisfied with the touch-ups and paid him for the work completed. We wrote an additional deposit for the next phase of work. Again very efficient and reliable. The payment for his completion of Phase 2 was written.

    Within a couple of months we began to see some "shadowing" on the walls. Since the wainscoting was adhered to the wall with glue, we realized that this may be the problem. After several attempts with Ted both in e-mail and phone calls for him to return to see what the problem is we contacted another highly recommended painter in our area. He stated immediately that it looked as if something was affixed to the wall with an adhesive and it was not completely removed. We had not shared our thoughts with the new painter on this matter. Ted never returned our calls or e-mails after stating that he would get back in touch with me in a week or so. After paying $10,000 for about 1500 square feet of space to be painted we feel disappointed in the integrity of this contractor. Please be cautious should you use him and his services. I don't know what else we could have done to verify his work. Perhaps withholding the check for several months may have been appropriate.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    BEWARE - DON'T SIGN UP

    • By Catherine E.,
    • Chicago, IL,
    • Oct 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    HomeAdvisor is a total scam. They send you non-qualified and bogus leads that you have to pay for and if you don't, they send you to collections within 10 days.

    Worst customer service and legal department I have ever experienced.

    STAY AWAY!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Huge ripoff

    • By Fred I.,
    • Florida,
    • Oct 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Being new to the Tampa area my girlfriend insisted on using HomeAdvisor for a water heater repair. Their contractors are vultures. Absolutely none would give any type of an estimate over the phone, all insisting on coming to the home. I made appoints with two. The first one, Haske Plumbing, canceled. The second, Cass Plumbing, arrived late. I authorized the repair at their price before I realized what a HUGE RIPOFF THEIR PRICE WAS! $264 to replace two $10 parts in less than an hour. I will NEVER EVER contact HomeAdvisor again!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 12 out 13 people found this review helpful

    HomeAdvisor the worst experience, dangerous, and costly.

    • By Cecilia P.,
    • Florida,
    • Sep 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I called HomeAdvisor for a referral, we wanted to remodel the bathrooms and the kitchen. They referred Elite Construction and we were told the contractors are verified by them to be licensed professionals insured and had extensive criminal background checks..."HomeAdvisors does the research so you don't have to." LIES.

    Long story short, the so-called "contractor" sent had no license, no insurance, has a criminal record, destroyed my home, major electrical and plumbing problems the city is finding us for everyday we don't solve issues. The man, who told me was the owner of Elite Construction, after my research I found out he is not the owner, that man, referred by HomeAdvisor has a criminal record. He brought into my home undocumented immigrants and did not pay them, I believe these people may be going after him, I don't care, I care about the danger he put us in and the damage done to my home, the fact that my granddaughter a toddler and I were home alone with criminals. My house is destroyed and my husband and I have no recourse to take on the damage and incoming fines by the city. I need legal assistance, I was asked to get three estimates, by "supervivisor" Jenn Reifman who was supposed to help us. This woman is condescending, has horrible customer service skills and her response was, we dont have to do anything to help you, we are doing you a favor.

    HomeAdvisor is a scam, they put people in danger and do not stand by anything they say. Stay away from this company and if you're going through what I am going through reach out to an attorney and the media. This company should be shut down for misleading the consumers, I have documentation and photos of the damage done to my home.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Eagle Plumbing scam!

    • By Sharon M.,
    • Baton Rouge, LA,
    • Sep 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Eagle Plumbing of Kenner, Louisiana overcharged $3000 for a job. For snaking a drain, use of a camera for 10 minutes and replacing 10 feet of outside pipe I was charged $4415.00. I gave them my credit card for the deposit but I never authorized them to charge the balance. They left my house without contacting me and charged my card. I contacted 3 other plumbers and all told me the maximum charge should be $1000-$2000. I tried to contact the company with no results. I was led to believe before the job that there would be extensive outside pipe replaced. I asked the plumber before I agreed to look me in the eye and tell we this was a fair price. He said" Yes"!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    HomeAdvisor doesn't credit for fake leads

    • By Bardhyl V.,
    • Everett, MA,
    • Aug 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    HomeAdvisor sends leads and even after 12 calls and customer doesn't answer, HomeAdvisor charges you.

    When I call them for credit they said we do not credit for every credit that doesn't answer the phone, so this means even for fake leads you have to pay.

    HomeAdvisor is a really big scam, they are fake and a rip-off.

    Stay away from HomeAdvisor, they are lost time and many.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Not very impressed with HomeAdvisor.

    • By Dennis D.,
    • Long Beach Island, NJ,
    • Aug 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Not very impressed with HomeAdvisor. Had a deck problem where the fiberglass fascia was corroding and needed replacing and would consider additionally re-gel coating the whole deck.

    If memory serves, I only received 2 contacts. One didn't return my email when I asked if he was experienced in that kind of fiberglass deck repair. The other quoted a price that was way too high.

    I had a similar experience when I tried HomeAdvisor for a small kitchen grout repair/replace job.

    Re: the deck job, I got a call from a HomeAdvisor customer service person who wanted to know how my project was going and I told her what I'm saying in this review. She then sent me a bunch of names to contact, but many were over a hundred miles away and, anyway, isn't it the contractors who should be contacting me? Not complaining about the customer service call but I had already found a contractor for the job by getting recommendations from my Long Beach Island painter pro, Bob LeFevre.

    I'm writing this because I've been seeing a lot of tv ads for HomeAdvisor and it's my opinion that the ads are misleading in terms of HomeAdvisors' value to folks needing contractors.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    HomeAdvisor in general

    • By Chad R.,
    • Louisiana,
    • Aug 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This place is a scam if you are a contractor working for them. Terrible experience. Wouldn’t recommend it to anyone. There are a bunch of hidden expenses they do not tell you about. They are just salesman out to get you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Recent plumbing job

    • By James O.,
    • Illinois,
    • Jul 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    InSink recently completed a bathroom remodel for us and we are so elated at the superb job that Gary Larsen did for us. We could not have asked for more.

    Gary was very professional from start to finish. We were immediately impressed on our first visit of InSink assessing the job and demonstrating his knowledge and understanding of our needs.

    We had met with other contractors prior to InSink and there was no comparison. InSink was honest, reasonable, and only did what we asked.

    We highly recommend InSink to anyone who needs plumbing and remodeling.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 12-22 of 71

Write a Review for HomeAdvisor!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review