Read 49 HomeAdvisor Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 3)

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 3 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 1 1 star:  45
Bottom Line: 8% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 23-33 of 49
Sort reviews by:

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Homeowner is NOT HomeAdvisor's customer

    • New York,
    • Jul 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    HomeAdvisor will not publish reviews of the contractors that stood you up because you do not hire them. They will make recommendations, and even if you don't request a quote, they will sell your request/contact information to the contractor as a lead. Then the contractor will solicit and contact you anyway. If they stand you up, they won't publish your review of them because you didn't hire the contractor. HomeAdvisor could care less that other homeowners know about missed appointments in the reviews or homeowners taking off of work and waiting because none of these other homeowners are customers of HomeAdvisor either - the CONTRACTOR is their customer!This feels like a scam. Yelp is better.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Do NOT join HomeAdvisor as an advertiser!

    • Jacksonville, NC,
    • Jul 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I joined only two weeks ago. They took my $348 for membership, and after another week, they started sending me "leads." In five days time, I received six leads at an average of $80 per lead. Only one of those leads was I actually able to contact and estimate a job. Of the remaining five, three of them I could not make any contact at all (did not answer phones or emails and did not return calls). One of them was given to me completely outside the scope of work I do, and one could not do the job at all due to an electrical junction box location. I used their request credit link and was given a credit for two of them. Great! Right? I gave it a few days to see if any of the other three would call back, they never did. One of these "customers" had an address less than 2 miles from me, so I drove over there to find it was a dilapidated trailer park and the lot number the "customer" listed was a vacant lot!

    I called my rep at HomeAdivsor to be told that the gist of it is if the phone number for the "customer" is real then they charge for the lead. That is NOT a lead! It is not a lead if you NEVER EVER get to communicate with the customer at all. Further, I looked at my directory listing, the only thing you get for your $348 per year, and they had a phone number listed, which isn't even my number! I called the number to see that the call goes to HomeAdvisor (in care of my company). They do this so that when I am lucky enough to get someone to look me up and find me directly, they still get ran through the HomeAdvisor system so that I can be charged for a lead fee! You got that? You get to pay twice for those customers! Of course, as soon as I sent my HomeAdvisor "rep" an email about this, they immediately put my real phone number there.

    When you call them and complain they let you know that it clearly states in their umpteen pages of terms and conditions that I agreed to pay for any garbage they throw at me. Here's the real question though - how many other contractors received those same garbage leads that I did? Just exactly how much did HomeAdvisor make from these jobs that were never going to materialize for anyone? Their business model is awful and predatory, and they don't care one bit. On to the next poor contractor to pilfer his advertising budget. Shame on these chiselers!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    HomeAdvisor is a huge scam!

    • Orange, CA,
    • Jun 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    HomeAdvisor takes advantage of their contractors with BS fabricated leads and charging their credit card even if all the lead information is bogus. When I requested to quit they told me that there were no refunds even though they sold this service to me under the pretenses that they would supply me with leads for the business model that I service and once you are signed up they send you leads for services that I never requested. They told me that they would terminate the service but continued to keep it running and charging my card.

    I resolved that issue by disputing the charges with my credit card company that after several weeks of investigating without cooperation from HomeAdvisor found in my favor and refunded me the money. I am now finding that HomeAdvisor thinks that they are putting me in collections and sending me threatening emails and phone calls. I would love for them to serve me just so I can stand in front of a judge and show them the credit card dispute and the emails that told me that the service was canceled and later emails showing that they kept it open.

    A word of warning to people who rely on they web presents. If you take action against them, they will destroy your search engine rankings. Lucky for me that most of my business it from word of mouth. I wish I could give them NO STARS!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    No show, not even a call!

    • Durham, NC,
    • Jun 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had a scheduled appointment with Tony from Lewis Contract Services today. I rearranged my schedule and drove an hour to meet him at 1 PM at my new home in Durham, North Carolina. He never showed, nor did he return my calls. I waited several hours and wasted a complete afternoon waiting for him. I have now hired someone else to complete the job!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    HomeAdvisor CANNOT be trusted

    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • Jun 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I hired Jeff Nickell of JSN Restoration & Remodeling to perform construction work related to the safety of my family based upon a 5-star rating from HomeAdvisor. HomeAdvisor recommended JSN Restoration & Remodeling for my work project.

    Jeff Nickell and I agreed upon a work proposal that he presented to me. I had to wait for a month before he could start the job, he told me. The day before the job was scheduled to be done, Jeff Nickell called me up and canceled the job. He told me he was going out of town on family business and would get back to me the following week. He also told me that he would have his subcontractors call me to schedule the work he agreed to perform.

    Jeff Nickell never contacted me again, his subcontractors never contacted me, and I was left holding the bag with a viga beam that supported my roof cracking and in jeopardy of collapsing, potentially causing injury or worse to my family and anyone visiting my home.

    I submitted a review to HomeAdvisor reflecting these facts and HomeAdvisor removed it from their site because I hadn't given Jeff Nickell any money yet. How could I give him money when he never showed up to do the job? HomeAdvisor is a self-serving business that has total disregard for the welfare of the gullible public that relies upon their advice for their hiring decisions. HomeAdvisor CANNOT BE TRUSTED.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    HomeAdvisor is biased

    • Nashville, TN,
    • Jun 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    HomeAdvisor essentially pushed Hiller on me for my electric project, even though others were rated higher. HomeAdvisor called me and connected me to Hiller. Hiller tech was almost two hours late and charged a lot for the job. I would never consult HomeAdvisor again or use Hiller.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    HomeAdvisor wants you money!

    • Michigan,
    • Jun 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Do NOT use HomeAdvisor PRO. They lie and help themselves to your money. We signed up for this service in February. We were sold by a girl named Olivia; we were under the impression we would be working directly with her.

    We were surprised when we were directed to an 800-number where we were on hold for an HOUR and fifteen minutes before talking to a person about the charges on our account. Olivia had told us we would only receive leads from verified homeowners and the cost was normally $60 dependant on the service.

    We set up our account, and the leads we received were not real. We had numbers that were wrong, services we didn't offer, and locations we didn't reach. We even had a lead, that when Googled, was DEAD. The leads were also $100+!

    We tried to cancel after a month, and the guy said he'd give us a refund and give us five free leads. He told us they were starting a new "opportunity" service where we only accept the leads we're interested in and are charged when the homeowner accepts the match. We thought it sounded a bit better, so we stuck it out.

    We just discovered our card has been charged for leads we didn't even get! I called customer service and this "lovely" gal named Brandi Prett told us she was the supervisor and as high as we could go. She kept interrupting me and wouldn't listen to a thing I said when I tried to explain that we shouldn't have had our card charged. She kept saying they don't refund leads and they don't guarantee them and we should know that. She told us if we didn't want to be charged we should turn our leads off. They have been off for months! She refused to do anything even when we said we wanted to close our account.

    We've started disputes with our credit card company and will be looking into all avenues to prevent this corrupt business from stealing from any other small business owners.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Pain in the butt company

    • Tampa, FL,
    • Jun 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I gave HomeAdvisor a shot and did use one of the companies through their website. The guy I hired did a good job. The problem was with HomeAdvisor constantly calling me afterward. I explained that I don't want a call as I'm busy. If they want a review, email me, don't keep calling. I finally got angry at one lady who told me " it's in our terms of service" so we call you. I told her that's good to know because I'm never using HomeAdvisor again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    False leads

    • Stamford, CT,
    • Jun 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been in the constructions business for over 20 years. I signed up as a pro on home advisors. Unfortunately, 85% of the leads are false or just inquiries. Customers are not interested in doing the construction of renovation. Most of the customers don't even pick up the phone or return your call or email. Why am I being charged for a lead I didn't even talk to? I feel home advisor creates fake prospects. They not only charged me a fee for the false lead, but charged multiple contractors for the same false lead.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Highway robbery

    • Brooklyn, NY,
    • Jun 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am a contractor and joined them in 2017. They were ok in 2017, but not like they were charging me the leads.

    In 2018 I spent a lot of money because they increased the leads cast but didn’t get any job because of the monopoly.

    They try to offer me a couple of time like asking more money on a monthly base, but I refuse them and stick with leads based. But then they start sending me the fake leads where the customer never answers the calls, or if they answer, they said we never requested it and we were just searching online to get some idea, but we never requested to hire the contractor.

    So my suggestion is for users, please stay away from scammers.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Bad for contractors

    • Creston, IA,
    • Jun 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    As a contractor, HomeAdvisor's sales person told us they had 20-30 leads in our area and in our line of work, but no contractors to send the leads to. Not true. We received 0-1 leads per month and usually had to apply for a credit because the leads were not applicable to our business. Regardless of the number of leads, HomeAdvisor also charges a yearly subscription of $287 (non-refundable). We cut our losses and canceled the subscription at the end of the term.

    The latest irritant (and what prompted me to write this review) is that they will not stop calling to try and get our business back. They call our landlines and cell phones. I have repeatedly requested to be removed from their Call List.

    Bottom line: I would not recommend them to anyone. They are pushing a bad service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 23-33 of 49

Write a Review for HomeAdvisor!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review