Start your review of HomeAdvisor:
  • 77 Customer Reviews
  • 6% Recommend This Product
1.3 out of 5
5 star: 5% 4 star: 0% 3 star: 2% 2 star: 3% 1 star: 88%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • HomeAdvisor the worst experience, dangerous, and costly.

    • By Cecilia P.,
    • Florida,
    • Sep 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I called HomeAdvisor for a referral, we wanted to remodel the bathrooms and the kitchen. They referred Elite Construction and we were told the contractors are verified by them to be licensed professionals insured and had extensive criminal background checks..."HomeAdvisors does the research so you don't have to." LIES.

    Long story short, the so-called "contractor" sent had no license, no insurance, has a criminal record, destroyed my home, major electrical and plumbing problems the city is finding us for everyday we don't solve issues. The man, who told me was the owner of Elite Construction, after my research I found out he is not the owner, that man, referred by HomeAdvisor has a criminal record. He brought into my home undocumented immigrants and did not pay them, I believe these people may be going after him, I don't care, I care about the danger he put us in and the damage done to my home, the fact that my granddaughter a toddler and I were home alone with criminals. My house is destroyed and my husband and I have no recourse to take on the damage and incoming fines by the city. I need legal assistance, I was asked to get three estimates, by "supervivisor" Jenn Reifman who was supposed to help us. This woman is condescending, has horrible customer service skills and her response was, we dont have to do anything to help you, we are doing you a favor.

    HomeAdvisor is a scam, they put people in danger and do not stand by anything they say. Stay away from this company and if you're going through what I am going through reach out to an attorney and the media. This company should be shut down for misleading the consumers, I have documentation and photos of the damage done to my home.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Eagle Plumbing scam!

    • By Sharon M.,
    • Baton Rouge, LA,
    • Sep 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Eagle Plumbing of Kenner, Louisiana overcharged $3000 for a job. For snaking a drain, use of a camera for 10 minutes and replacing 10 feet of outside pipe I was charged $4415.00. I gave them my credit card for the deposit but I never authorized them to charge the balance. They left my house without contacting me and charged my card. I contacted 3 other plumbers and all told me the maximum charge should be $1000-$2000. I tried to contact the company with no results. I was led to believe before the job that there would be extensive outside pipe replaced. I asked the plumber before I agreed to look me in the eye and tell we this was a fair price. He said" Yes"!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • HomeAdvisor doesn't credit for fake leads

    • By Bardhyl V.,
    • Everett, MA,
    • Aug 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    HomeAdvisor sends leads and even after 12 calls and customer doesn't answer, HomeAdvisor charges you.

    When I call them for credit they said we do not credit for every credit that doesn't answer the phone, so this means even for fake leads you have to pay.

    HomeAdvisor is a really big scam, they are fake and a rip-off.

    Stay away from HomeAdvisor, they are lost time and many.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not very impressed with HomeAdvisor.

    • By Dennis D.,
    • Long Beach Island, NJ,
    • Aug 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Not very impressed with HomeAdvisor. Had a deck problem where the fiberglass fascia was corroding and needed replacing and would consider additionally re-gel coating the whole deck.

    If memory serves, I only received 2 contacts. One didn't return my email when I asked if he was experienced in that kind of fiberglass deck repair. The other quoted a price that was way too high.

    I had a similar experience when I tried HomeAdvisor for a small kitchen grout repair/replace job.

    Re: the deck job, I got a call from a HomeAdvisor customer service person who wanted to know how my project was going and I told her what I'm saying in this review. She then sent me a bunch of names to contact, but many were over a hundred miles away and, anyway, isn't it the contractors who should be contacting me? Not complaining about the customer service call but I had already found a contractor for the job by getting recommendations from my Long Beach Island painter pro, Bob LeFevre.

    I'm writing this because I've been seeing a lot of tv ads for HomeAdvisor and it's my opinion that the ads are misleading in terms of HomeAdvisors' value to folks needing contractors.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • HomeAdvisor in general

    • By Chad R.,
    • Louisiana,
    • Aug 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This place is a scam if you are a contractor working for them. Terrible experience. Wouldn’t recommend it to anyone. There are a bunch of hidden expenses they do not tell you about. They are just salesman out to get you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Recent plumbing job

    • By James O.,
    • Illinois,
    • Jul 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    InSink recently completed a bathroom remodel for us and we are so elated at the superb job that Gary Larsen did for us. We could not have asked for more.

    Gary was very professional from start to finish. We were immediately impressed on our first visit of InSink assessing the job and demonstrating his knowledge and understanding of our needs.

    We had met with other contractors prior to InSink and there was no comparison. InSink was honest, reasonable, and only did what we asked.

    We highly recommend InSink to anyone who needs plumbing and remodeling.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Never got back to me

    • By John H.,
    • Salem, OH,
    • Jul 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Went on the HomeAdvisor site, told them I wanted an old toilet replaced, they charged my account at my bank right away, but I still don't know who is showing up to do this job. I don't know if I have to supply the new toilet or what, tried to call the help center, I got a number in the southwest, I live in Ohio. Stay away from this site.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • These people are vampiric leeches...although that's unfair to leeches

    • By Chris B.,
    • College Park, MD,
    • Jun 28, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The review title says it all.

    In addition to their sales department calling me multiple times and haranguing me to sign up, their entering my data as a client and not a provider (and thus having half a dozen computer repair services call me asking if I needed computer help) and charging roughly $270 for a year's subscription once I DID sign up, I spent the next two months being fed incorrect client leads for work I don't do, at a cost of between $17 and $24 per lead.

    In short, I quickly spent over $1,000, saw only $600 in business, and now that I canceled my account, am STILL getting charged for lead fees.

    Screw these people, and I'd rather deal with whatever psychos come out of the woodwork needing computer help on Craigslist.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible experience

    • By Hope S.,
    • Philadelphia, PA,
    • Jun 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The HomeAdvisor Handyman Pro services are a disaster. I would never recommend them to anyone. If you value your time, sanity, and supplies, steer clear of this company.

    We scheduled a two-hour appointment through HomeAdvisor's Fixed-Price Handyman Services. We requested a professional to install twenty-seven feet of six-foot-high privacy fence, including four beams. The handyman showed up on time, but he didn't have any tools with him, not even a shovel to dig the holes for the posts. We were very specific about the nature of the job. The website clearly states that professionals are required to bring all the necessary tools for the job.

    Regardless, my husband had all the necessary tools sitting out, and the handyman took an extension cord back with him (which he unplugged from a piece of equipment I was using at the time, without asking). Naturally, I assumed he was using the tools at hand. I was painting at the time, so I left him to his work. He came and got me a short time later to show me the beams he'd installed. They were horrible.

    Anyone who knows anything about fence installation knows that the amount of posts installed underground should be equal to 1/3 the total height of the fence. We had ten-foot beams for a six-foot-high fence (the eight-foot beams were out of stock). That means that we needed six feet of the beam above ground, two feet underground (1/3 of six feet is two feet), and the remainder (two feet) should have been cut off and disposed of. He didn't bother to bring a chop saw, but ours was readily available. The beams hadn't been cut, and they were only about a foot in the ground. The handyman put the cement we'd supplied in first and then placed the beam on top of it; he should have put the post in (at an appropriate depth) and then poured the cement around it. He didn't bring anything to mix the cement with or in, so I had to supply that as well. I gave him permission to move anything that was directly in the way of the fence. For some reason, he ripped out an entire bush that was merely bordering the area. He was only at the house for about 40 minutes out of the two hours we'd booked. He left wet cement splattered all over the back patio, which my husband had to chisel off because it was mostly dry when he got home. There were piles of dirt left all over the yard, as well as cement-covered buckets. This worker never touched the chop saw, but for some reason, used my husband's jigsaw and left it plugged in. It nearly took my husband's hand off when he went to move it. He also left our tape measure lying in our neighbor's yard. I'm baffled as to what he even needed it for, since the posts were unevenly spaced and the posts were only a foot in the ground, uncut.

    We contacted HomeAdvisor and demanded that someone come out and undo his mess. Obviously, we were happy to pay for the two hours it would take to install the fence correctly, but we weren't going to pay for someone to undo a problem that their employee caused. The person we spoke with, Josh, promised to have a worker come out by 4 PM that day (we had a photographer coming that evening to take pictures of the house to sell). He said that they'd comp us any time the handyman needed beyond the two hours we'd originally paid for and agreed to reimburse the wasted cement. I had to jump through a series of hoops to get a refund for our first handyman and make/pay for a new appointment. I had to call customer service again over an error message I received whenever I tried to make the new appointment. I was dumbfounded by their incompetence. For example, when I called tech support with my account information and the online error number, the representative asked me if I'd "tried going to HomeAdvisor.com to make my appointment." Unreal.

    On top of everything, they canceled our new appointment at the last minute due to a "call out." This was on a Friday. We rescheduled for Monday morning at 8 AM with HomeAdvisor and with the photographer for Monday evening. Monday morning, around 7 AM, HomeAdvisor again canceled due to a "call out." We had to take the pictures without the yard. The back-and-forth with customer service was terrible. The notes they had in the system about our situation were sketchy at best, and the new person we spoke to insisted that we wouldn't be compensated for any time beyond our two-hour window. My husband was on the phone arguing with them for almost an hour. When my husband tried to speak with a supervisor, he was put on hold and then told that a supervisor "wasn't available." Eventually, we decided to just see how long the new appointment took and cross that bridge when we came to it.

    Finally, someone came to our house on Tuesday at 8 AM. This time, it was a couple, and they also did not bring any tools. The details about the job, including the need to remove the improperly installed fence posts, had been clearly provided beforehand. This set of workers told us they would need $250 cash to go rent some "necessary equipment" to do the job. When we reminded them that they were supposed to have any necessary tools, and that we'd already paid HomeAdvisor, they told us to cancel our HomeAdvisor appointment and pay them directly. Unbelievable! When we told them to leave, the woman even left us a card: Vicky Wang, (267) 367-1016. We called HomeAdvisor and were issued a refund. My husband asked for the workers' Home Improvement Contractor numbers so we could file complaints. They refused to give us any information. Clearly, we weren't working with professionals on any level.

    My husband and I took down the improperly installed posts and re-installed the fence ourselves. Interestingly enough, we didn't require any tools other than the ones we already had at the house. Removing and re-installing the posts took less than two hours. The only thing that took longer was waiting for the cement to harden enough for us to screw the fence panels to the posts. We're still communicating with HomeAdvisor about a reimbursement for our wasted cement.

    A nightmare from start to finish. Stay far away.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • HomeAdvisor is a scam

    • By George L.,
    • California,
    • Jun 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Total scam. Charges a $400 sign-up fee, and in addition charges over $20 per lead! To add insult to injury, they charge for the leads even if you just open up your e-mail, regardless of whether you click on any link or contact the lead. To add insult to that, they send the leads to more than one person, even though only one person can get the job, and charge everyone for the same lead. To add insult to that, some leads are actually false, or are from customers who say they never asked to be contacted. In short, you lose more money than you can make with them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Dakota Red Cloud, Certified Arborist and Progression Tree Care

    • By Craig Z.,
    • Redmond, WA,
    • May 31, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    During the windstorm (no rain) early in the evening of December 14, 2018, three 30-foot sections of a large cedar tree broke off with two of the large branches (8-10 inch diameter) landing on my dining room roof and the third landing nearly horizontally across my deck smashing a large circular safety-plate glass topped table and breaking several bulbs on lightbulb string on the deck. I went online to find a Certified Arborist and tree company to deal with three other hazardous large trees. I read a lot of comments and I am exceedingly pleased that I found and hired ISA Certified Arborist Dakota Red Cloud and his company Progression Tree Care. All three had decay problems and were hazardous. During the tree removal process, two of Dakota’s crew discovered an even more hazardous tree problem, a seven-foot-long crack below the notch in this double-headed 135-year-old cedar. After again getting city approval, Dakota’s team safely brought down this hazard and once again did a truly superb cleaning up all the debris, evening cleaning sawdust off the roof of my garden greenhouse. I give my highest positive endorsement to Dakota and Progression Tree Care!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


Showing 23-33 of 77

Write a Review for HomeAdvisor!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
HomeAdvisor