Read 62 HomeAdvisor Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 3)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 4 4 star: 0 3 star: 1 2 star: 3 1 star:  54
Bottom Line: 8% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 23-33 of 62
Sort reviews by:

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Complete rip off

    • North Carolina,
    • Mar 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had a plumber come out to attach a clothes dryer vent to an outlet. They quoted $531.00. Said it had to be metal to metal and I needed an entirely new system. All I needed was a vent to be connected that had fallen off. Another plumber did the job for $30 and I purchased $12.00 worth if vent material. The HomeAdvisor plumber offered to come out on his day off and do the job for $50.00. He told me that HomeAdvisor charged so much for each lead they had to up their prices to make money I now asked if they are associated with HomeAdvisor as most companies hide that fact. If they say yes, I tell them I am not interested. Just for knowledge they sent 5 plumbers to quote on the same job and charged each one a finders fee. Nothing but a SCAM.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Scammers

    • Florida,
    • Feb 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Someone has to put a stop to this website. HomeAdvisor is nothing but thieves. How can they send contractors to people's houses, taking money they worked for to make a better home, and they never do a background check on the contractor. Even one star is a lot to give them. Nothing but scammers. They should be stopped right now. Where is the consumer protection? And if the BBB is supposed to be a source for consumer protection, why is HomeAdvisor still in business with all these extremely poor reviews?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    HomeAdvisor is scamming contractors!

    • New York,
    • Feb 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    HomeAdvisor will take advantage of your small business. They overcharge you for leads and will not work with you when you dispute charges. You will not get to talk to supervisors, you will get sent to collections. Homeowners do not understand that when they click buttons to get information about jobs, contractors get charged outrageous amounts for the "lead." Save your money, save your time, stay away from this awful company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • California,
    • Jan 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is a scam. They do not tell me how they bill and after four days I was in the hole almost $600. Their goal seems to be to screw people out of their money before they realize what is happening.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    The contractors are unprofessional and do not honor there work.

    I had them put a mount for a TV and it’s not leveled and too low, and they refuse to fix it. They claim to call me back and no response in over a month. And they refuse to send my receipt. And I paid two different people and still can’t get them to fix it, and I offered to help along with my son.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    More fees than actual useful leads!

    • Philadelphia, PA,
    • Nov 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We signed our company up and started getting leads. The leads almost all of the time were not accurate and we ended up asking for our fees credited back almost 100% of the time. I think in one year the actual leads provided us one client, not even covering the annual fee. As a business owner, this was more of an inconvenience than a business opportunity. I am still currently fighting with them to get credited for fees and to have fees removed after asking them to cancel our account numerous times and them not doing so.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Frustrating experience

    • Columbus, OH,
    • Nov 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My message would be for contractors who are planning to do business with HomeAdvisor.com. Think twice before you sign a contract with these guys. They will cheat on you and rob your banking account the way they treated me. After three weeks of being with them, I checked my account and was in complete shock to see that I was charged $500. During this period of time, I didn't receive a single call from the customer, which means I never performed a single job. Still, they charged me for every lead they sent to my account, and those were not cheap, several of them were $85.

    After two days of fighting with their so-called customer service, when they kept on either hanging up on me or transferring to different representatives, I canceled the membership with $900 taken from my account (including $347 fee for membership). Now, it's up to you to decide if you want to deal with these thieves or not. I am very disappointed with their customer service and professional attitude.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    HomeAdvisor is the worst

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Nov 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    You know what? They are the absolute worst. I do not exaggerate this one bit.

    The guy who opened my account (for $250 or whatever) was just released from prison for “Bilking elderly couples out of retirement funds”! Link available!

    You're charged for a customer if they're serious or clueless

    You're charged a very random amount per lead. I understand how advertising works, but they are really all over the map.

    We are a small foundation contractor. I was billed $95 for a customer that wants some kind of window work in her attic. OK, no big deal I thought. They should refund $95 because well, we never intended to do any work in attics or above ground windows.

    I spent more time disputing the charge than any reasonable person would over the course of a couple weeks. Anyway, they wouldn't budge and so I asked my credit card company to dispute a transaction.

    These fools have so many disputes they clearly are taking advantage of people. Fast forward a run-on-paragraph and 6 months, I've got a collections agency harassing me and treating me like I'm criminal scum.

    I had a total of 60-200 leads and of those, I was able to convert about half of what I normally can, even with cheaper ad generations like Craigslist. It cost me around $1400

    Overall it's a system that CAN work, and honestly, I don't even dislike Steve (the bilker). He was very personable and funny, a great salesman. The situation was a pretty well published event and it shows a lot about the management to target someone like him for employment.

    Management is the problem here. It's a boys-club with lead generation algorithms that cherry pick the best customers for the contractors that have been with them the longest. In my opinion, that is fine, both morally and business wise; but it is what you are up against.

    I wouldn't recommend Home Adviser to a contractor unless it's a unique situation with favorable results.

    I wouldn't recommend HomeAdviser to a homeowner because the fees the company has to pay to meet you are too high. This has to translate to more expensive work. Ask friends, use Google, maybe even YellowPages.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    HomeAdvisor is a scam for contractors

    • New York,
    • Nov 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    HomeAdvisor bought Angie's List and is a scam for honest contractors. They use to be called ServiceMagic but there were so many complaints and lawsuits they changed to HomeAdvisor. This company could put contractors out of business. Let me repeat: This company could put contractors out of business. This company could put contractors out of business.

    HomeAdvisor works on a SECRET CREDIT RATING! They keep this to themselves and don't tell you. They over billed my company - continuously. They do not give credit for unreachable potential clients and give sales tax service charges not disclosed during sign up. They charged our company for 95% for wrong information or wrong phone numbers. Stay away from HomeAdvisor. 55 calls in 3 months and only 13 were real people who needed service, and only 3 books. Meaning, I paid an average of $30 for 55 leads, $1650, with only 3 jobs that we grossed $420. They charge every single contractor who lists with HomeAdvisor more than the job and regardless of contact or getting the work.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Unbelievable harassment. Unethical company.

    • Boise, ID,
    • Oct 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Well I'm pissed. I've used HomeAdvisor in the past and have had the consistent experience that they just crap out results that almost never match the project you are using. I've never been able to use any of their recommendations, so I've gladly stopped using their service.

    Today I was looking for sprinkler blowouts and clicked on one of my Google results. It happened to be HomeAdvisor. And they were recommending plumbers. I instantly hit the back button, after about 4 seconds on their site. I instantly get several emails from them, thanking me for using them in my plumbing search. I unsubscribe AGAIN, hoping it will finally be the end of my contact with this horrible company. INSTANTLY I get an email from homeyou saying,

    "Hi (removed), Thank you for your request for Plumbing Work in (removed). Our trusted partner HomeAdvisor will match you with top local pros for your project. By using this service, you are bound to HomeAdvisor T&C's and Privacy Policy. Thank you for using our service,

    The homeyou team."

    How does unsubscribing from a company give them permission to start harassing you from their "trusted partner" site? Then I start getting phone calls and messages from HomeAdvisor. I call them back and tell them if they contact me again, I'm going to report them for fraud. I block the number. Then I start receiving all these calls and emails from local plumbers that I DID NOT give permission to have my contact information and NEVER REQUESTED requested! What on Earth happened to privacy of information and ethical conduct?

    Someone, please get this company, and all of its subsidiaries, to stop harassing me!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Flooring installation

    Lexi Flooring LLC installed flooring throughout our entire house and it is beautiful. Our home is a ranch (3 bedrooms/2 baths). We explained our needs (pet issues) and they addressed each and everyone and answered all our questions, but took care to fix them. They are efficient, professional, knowledgeable and very nice. We absolutely love our new floors! Highly recommended!

    Each and every time I called, the phone was answered right away or I got a callback within a few minutes.

    It took less than a day to complete.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 23-33 of 62

Write a Review for HomeAdvisor!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review