Read 76 HomeAdvisor Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 4)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 4 4 star: 0 3 star: 2 2 star: 3 1 star:  67
Bottom Line: 7% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 34-44 of 76
Sort reviews by:

  • J&W Brown Contracting LLC

    • By Eugene B.,
    • Maryland,
    • May 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Mr. Jerome Brown is a great human being, does professional and beautiful work. He truly takes pride in his work. He stayed with the job until it was finished. He kept the area safe and clean. He is really concerned about pleasing the customer. In all the years we have had contractors, he truly is an exception. I am very pleased as well as my wife. We are trying to see if we can clone him! His work speaks for itself. GREAT WORK.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • HomeAdvisor doesn't screen or background check

    • By Jason R.,
    • Texas,
    • May 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I went to work for a couple of scam artists who have mastered scamming contractors and customers alike. I found these people on Craigslist and Indeed. They change their business name all the time and HomeAdvisor will take their money and let them right on. I am owed over $3,400 from them. Totals for 2 months are over $23,000 of owed to customers and workers. HomeAdvisor did not help any customers who used the HomeAdvisor platform for safe contractors. They really should do a background check and have a better understanding of how many fraud contractors there are out there, and track them or recognize them better.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Worst company I have ever dealt with!

    • By Jonathan L.,
    • North Carolina,
    • May 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been in business for 5+ years now and have used multiple lead generating companies and this is BY FAR the WORST one I have ever dealt with in my life. After every contractor I have done business with warned me not to do business with HomeAdvisor, I decided to take a leap of faith and give them a shot, and that was an ignorant decision on my part and will NEVER happen again. Not only did I start off by spending $400 on leads that had ZERO SUCCESS, but then HomeAdvisor charged my credit card with no authorization for $800 for leads that I never contacted or accepted. When contacting customer service I was told there was nothing they could do and that I agreed to those stipulations over voice recording (which I have no recollection of) and I spoke to a representative for two hours before signing up for HomeAdvisor and was made to think I would only pay for leads I contacted and or accepted, not that I would be automatically charged when emailed a lead no matter if I never contacted them, which is absurd, and I would never agree to that.

    Long story short, don’t waste your hard earned money on this SCAM of a company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Complete rip off

    • By Teresa H.,
    • North Carolina,
    • Mar 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had a plumber come out to attach a clothes dryer vent to an outlet. They quoted $531.00. Said it had to be metal to metal and I needed an entirely new system. All I needed was a vent to be connected that had fallen off. Another plumber did the job for $30 and I purchased $12.00 worth if vent material. The HomeAdvisor plumber offered to come out on his day off and do the job for $50.00. He told me that HomeAdvisor charged so much for each lead they had to up their prices to make money I now asked if they are associated with HomeAdvisor as most companies hide that fact. If they say yes, I tell them I am not interested. Just for knowledge they sent 5 plumbers to quote on the same job and charged each one a finders fee. Nothing but a SCAM.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scammers

    • By Tai B.,
    • Florida,
    • Feb 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Someone has to put a stop to this website. HomeAdvisor is nothing but thieves. How can they send contractors to people's houses, taking money they worked for to make a better home, and they never do a background check on the contractor. Even one star is a lot to give them. Nothing but scammers. They should be stopped right now. Where is the consumer protection? And if the BBB is supposed to be a source for consumer protection, why is HomeAdvisor still in business with all these extremely poor reviews?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • HomeAdvisor is scamming contractors!

    • By Kelly M.,
    • New York,
    • Feb 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    HomeAdvisor will take advantage of your small business. They overcharge you for leads and will not work with you when you dispute charges. You will not get to talk to supervisors, you will get sent to collections. Homeowners do not understand that when they click buttons to get information about jobs, contractors get charged outrageous amounts for the "lead." Save your money, save your time, stay away from this awful company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam

    • By Robert K.,
    • California,
    • Jan 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is a scam. They do not tell me how they bill and after four days I was in the hole almost $600. Their goal seems to be to screw people out of their money before they realize what is happening.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • The contractors are unprofessional and do not honor there work.

    I had them put a mount for a TV and it’s not leveled and too low, and they refuse to fix it. They claim to call me back and no response in over a month. And they refuse to send my receipt. And I paid two different people and still can’t get them to fix it, and I offered to help along with my son.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • More fees than actual useful leads!

    • By Jon B.,
    • Philadelphia, PA,
    • Nov 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We signed our company up and started getting leads. The leads almost all of the time were not accurate and we ended up asking for our fees credited back almost 100% of the time. I think in one year the actual leads provided us one client, not even covering the annual fee. As a business owner, this was more of an inconvenience than a business opportunity. I am still currently fighting with them to get credited for fees and to have fees removed after asking them to cancel our account numerous times and them not doing so.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Frustrating experience

    • By Andriy S.,
    • Columbus, OH,
    • Nov 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My message would be for contractors who are planning to do business with HomeAdvisor.com. Think twice before you sign a contract with these guys. They will cheat on you and rob your banking account the way they treated me. After three weeks of being with them, I checked my account and was in complete shock to see that I was charged $500. During this period of time, I didn't receive a single call from the customer, which means I never performed a single job. Still, they charged me for every lead they sent to my account, and those were not cheap, several of them were $85.

    After two days of fighting with their so-called customer service, when they kept on either hanging up on me or transferring to different representatives, I canceled the membership with $900 taken from my account (including $347 fee for membership). Now, it's up to you to decide if you want to deal with these thieves or not. I am very disappointed with their customer service and professional attitude.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • HomeAdvisor is the worst

    • By Tom C.,
    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Nov 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    You know what? They are the absolute worst. I do not exaggerate this one bit.

    The guy who opened my account (for $250 or whatever) was just released from prison for “Bilking elderly couples out of retirement funds”! Link available!

    You're charged for a customer if they're serious or clueless

    You're charged a very random amount per lead. I understand how advertising works, but they are really all over the map.

    We are a small foundation contractor. I was billed $95 for a customer that wants some kind of window work in her attic. OK, no big deal I thought. They should refund $95 because well, we never intended to do any work in attics or above ground windows.

    I spent more time disputing the charge than any reasonable person would over the course of a couple weeks. Anyway, they wouldn't budge and so I asked my credit card company to dispute a transaction.

    These fools have so many disputes they clearly are taking advantage of people. Fast forward a run-on-paragraph and 6 months, I've got a collections agency harassing me and treating me like I'm criminal scum.

    I had a total of 60-200 leads and of those, I was able to convert about half of what I normally can, even with cheaper ad generations like Craigslist. It cost me around $1400

    Overall it's a system that CAN work, and honestly, I don't even dislike Steve (the bilker). He was very personable and funny, a great salesman. The situation was a pretty well published event and it shows a lot about the management to target someone like him for employment.

    Management is the problem here. It's a boys-club with lead generation algorithms that cherry pick the best customers for the contractors that have been with them the longest. In my opinion, that is fine, both morally and business wise; but it is what you are up against.

    I wouldn't recommend Home Adviser to a contractor unless it's a unique situation with favorable results.

    I wouldn't recommend HomeAdviser to a homeowner because the fees the company has to pay to meet you are too high. This has to translate to more expensive work. Ask friends, use Google, maybe even YellowPages.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 34-44 of 76

Write a Review for HomeAdvisor!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review
HomeAdvisor