Read 64 HomeAdvisor Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 5)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 4 4 star: 0 3 star: 1 2 star: 3 1 star:  56
Bottom Line: 8% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 45-55 of 64
Sort reviews by:

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Pain in the butt company

    • Tampa, FL,
    • Jun 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I gave HomeAdvisor a shot and did use one of the companies through their website. The guy I hired did a good job. The problem was with HomeAdvisor constantly calling me afterward. I explained that I don't want a call as I'm busy. If they want a review, email me, don't keep calling. I finally got angry at one lady who told me " it's in our terms of service" so we call you. I told her that's good to know because I'm never using HomeAdvisor again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    False leads

    • Stamford, CT,
    • Jun 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been in the constructions business for over 20 years. I signed up as a pro on home advisors. Unfortunately, 85% of the leads are false or just inquiries. Customers are not interested in doing the construction of renovation. Most of the customers don't even pick up the phone or return your call or email. Why am I being charged for a lead I didn't even talk to? I feel home advisor creates fake prospects. They not only charged me a fee for the false lead, but charged multiple contractors for the same false lead.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Highway robbery

    • Brooklyn, NY,
    • Jun 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am a contractor and joined them in 2017. They were ok in 2017, but not like they were charging me the leads.

    In 2018 I spent a lot of money because they increased the leads cast but didn’t get any job because of the monopoly.

    They try to offer me a couple of time like asking more money on a monthly base, but I refuse them and stick with leads based. But then they start sending me the fake leads where the customer never answers the calls, or if they answer, they said we never requested it and we were just searching online to get some idea, but we never requested to hire the contractor.

    So my suggestion is for users, please stay away from scammers.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Bad for contractors

    • Creston, IA,
    • Jun 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    As a contractor, HomeAdvisor's sales person told us they had 20-30 leads in our area and in our line of work, but no contractors to send the leads to. Not true. We received 0-1 leads per month and usually had to apply for a credit because the leads were not applicable to our business. Regardless of the number of leads, HomeAdvisor also charges a yearly subscription of $287 (non-refundable). We cut our losses and canceled the subscription at the end of the term.

    The latest irritant (and what prompted me to write this review) is that they will not stop calling to try and get our business back. They call our landlines and cell phones. I have repeatedly requested to be removed from their Call List.

    Bottom line: I would not recommend them to anyone. They are pushing a bad service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Bad business (crooks)

    • Borden, IN,
    • Jun 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    All I am going to say that as a business owner that HomeAdvisor is not worth the time of day, the energy, or the money. I would never recommend HomeAdvisor to anyone. I am a member of the BBB and I also know that HomeAdvisor is as well, but they should not be able to retain their membership, and I will never recommend them to one. I have also found a lot of videos about HomeAdvisor online of people that aren't happy with them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Omg, what the heck!

    • North Carolina,
    • Jun 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    After I watched the young men in this video "https://youtu.be/sPeh42cfqcc" I realized too late that I had lost $1,000.00 as fast as you could say "crappy lead." There are so many good contractors and so many great customers that it should be easy to connect right? Well, when you place a dysfunctional algorithm hidden behind the potentiality to be the greatest thing since sliced bread, with no one answerable person, it's no wonder so many people get hurt. We need customers and leads to grow our business all over the east coast but it just looks like one customer at a time will be the way it is. BuildZoom for all its imperfections are way better than HomeAdvisor. Do partake of this fantasy, watch the Video! It might just save your cash!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Do NOT sign up an account with HomeAdvisor

    • St. Augustine, FL,
    • May 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I signed up for HomeAdvisor to find a subcontractor to do some projects in our home. Little did I know that signing up with HomeAdvisor would cause an unbelievable amount of junk emails.

    WARNING...HomeAdvisor gives away your email address as soon as you sign up. The next morning after signing up, I was bombarded with a shocking amount of junk emails from many companies. I have unsubscribed to over 100 emails and counting. This is the worst I have ever experienced. HomeAdvisor should give the common courtesy to their customers by giving them the option to opt in or opt out of receiving email offers. But they don’t.

    If you don’t want your inbox to flood with junk emails, then DO NOT sign up for an account with HomeAdvisor.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Yep, a big time scam!

    All the other reviews here pretty much explain what happened to me with this service. Do NOT use this if you are a service provider of any kind as they are a complete scam and need to be shut down. I am going to do everything I can to expose them for what they are!

    I had to cancel my debit card and get a new one to stop the charges. This was a major inconvenience as all my auto pay accounts had to be set up again. They wouldn't refund my money from this misleading service, so I have filed a dispute with my bank for fraud.

    I work on computers and provide other tech services for a living and see tech support scams ALL THE TIME! This company reeks of the same thing and is no different from these leaches.

    Simply avoid these scammers!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Don't

    • California,
    • May 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We used them because of their misleading commercials three times. Every time some fast-talking know-it-all showed up and proclaimed they could do the job for a certain fee which we agreed to pay. Every time the three different men did not complete the work correctly and charged MORE than they estimated. We did a lot of online research after being burned and are convinced the site is owned and operated by the workers who have every incentive to lie and claim that they are honest and perform to expectations. NO! Do not believe the BS. Thrice burned, now we've learned.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Bad leads

    • Tennessee,
    • May 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I started using HomeAdvisor at the end of February 2018. It became obvious really fast that it was extremely hard to make contact with the leads. Overall, I haven't been able to reach most leads. I always call the leads back the same day, if not within the 10 minutes. There have been 2-3 leads in one day before, and I wasn't able to contact any of them. Despite leaving messages and emails, you never hear back from them.

    All in all, it is a small percentage of the leads that I am able to reach. They simply are not reachable at all, which means they weren't really a lead. Guess what? It doesn't stop there. Three different times when I got through to a lead, they told me they had never been on HomeAdvisor, they were on Angie's List. HomeAdvisor had placed my business on Angie's List, and I didn't know it. To add to it, they got my company info wrong on Angie's List. I want to believe this might work but I'm paying for so many bad leads I haven't broken even as far a HomeAdvisor goes. Almost every lead is a bad lead.

    Once, I went on HomeAdvisor as a customer just to see what the public sees. HomeAdvisor sent me myself as a lead even though I did not request anything. So I think that's it. People go on the website just to be playing around, and HomeAdvisor sends them to multiple businesses as a lead. Regrettably, I will probably stop using them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Complete fraud

    I set up an account and got two leads and both were close to 50 each and a total waste of time and gas. I went out of town on an emergency. I called and told them to stop leads. They did not but kept charging $800+ on my credit card. I tried to get refunds but only got another $900+charges. I am joining a class action suit on this American Greed candidate.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 45-55 of 64

Write a Review for HomeAdvisor!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review