About Hubble Contacts

Published on: May 16, 2017

By avoiding steep industry markups that can cause you to pay way more than you should, Hubble Contacts promises to deliver high-quality daily contact lenses right to your door, at half the prices of the other guys.

In fact, the company allows all patients with a valid prescription to receive 12 pairs of lenses for free upon signing up for a subscription. Then, you'll pay about $1 per day after that.

To sign up for a Hubble account, you’ll only need to enter your left and right eye power, your doctor’s state and name (you can also search by address and business name), and your name and email address, and then check out. If you need an eye exam, they’ll also help you schedule a doctor’s visit in your area.

For many of us, contact lenses are an essential part of everyday life. In other words, our quality of life could be severely impacted if we didn’t have them. They’re also expensive and not always convenient to pick up, which is where Hubble Contacts claims to help.

Are they necessarily your best, or least expensive, option? Are there any considerations to keep in mind before signing up for a subscription? Find some answers here by reading about what we learned during our research.

Looking For More About Hubble’s Contacts Lenses?

The Hubble website tells us their lenses are manufactured using state-of-the-art injection molding by Taipei-based St. Shine Optical Co., from a “high-grade methafilcon-A hydrogel material with 55% water content, UV protection, and a thin edge.”

We’re told they have been approved by the FDA for sale in the US for more than 14 years and are “designed for easy insertion, all-day comfort, and crystal clear vision.” Through an independent University of Houston College of Optometry double-masked study, they were even verified to be as comfortable and sharp and popular U.S. brands.

Powers range from -0.50 to -12.00, and +0.5 to +6.00, with a base curve of 8.6 and a diameter of 14.2.

As noted earlier, all Hubble Contacts orders require a valid prescription from a doctor, including:

  • Your name
  • Prescription expiration date
  • Prescriber's name
  • Power, base curve, manufacturer, diameter, and contact lens material

Important note: Hubble’s contact lenses are only designed for individuals with no or mild astigmatism (less than -1.00 cylinder). If you have a more significant diagnosis, the company’s site indicates they’re planning to offer toric lenses (those specially designed for astigmatism) soon.

Finally, while they currently only sell daily lenses, Hubble tells us that they’re also investigating bi-weekly and monthly lenses, although they’ll need to meet the same safety and comfort standards as their dailies.

For more detailed specifications, we’d strongly recommend reading through Hubble’s Wearers Guide.

Exactly what price will you pay?

How Much Does Hubble Contacts Cost & Are They Covered by Insurance?

Even with Hubble’ initial free offer, keep in mind that you’ll still pay $3 S&H, which will take about 5-10 business days to arrive in a 100% recyclable box. The service is currently only available to residents of the United States, certain U.S. territories, and U.S. Military locations.

14 days after your initial two-week free trial, you’ll pay $30 per month, plus $3 S&H, for 30 pairs of lenses. You can change how frequently you receive shipments and Hubble will always reach out to you before contacting your doctor to re-verify your prescription.

The contats provider doesn’t deal directly with insurance providers, although you can use your emailed receipt to apply for reimbursement through your carrier. You can pay using your FSA or HAS account, as long as it’s associated with a major credit card.

All orders come with a 30-refund policy, but this only applies to those where the outer shipping box remains unopened. If your prescription changes, you can ship your old strength back and they’ll re-send the correct pair.

If you have questions, Hubble’s support department can be reached at 844-334-1640 or help@hubblecontacts.com

What Can We Learn From Hubble Contacts Customer Reviews?

StarterNoise found Hubble’s sign up process super simple and the shipping much faster than it would have taken to get an appointment with their doctor, place the order, and drive to pick them up. Not to mention the much lower price.

Their first impression was that the lenses were incredibly comfortable. Although they found them a little difficult to take out, resulting in some red, irritated eyes for a couple of minutes afterward.

Similarly, Bre Payton at The Federalist writes that her Hubble Contacts were very soft and flexible, didn’t cause dry eye, and were very competitively priced. “The guys over at Hubble should really be paying me to be their spokesperson, because I have yet to shut up about them,” she concluded.

A handful of readers also left their firsthand feedback on a Reddit thread. As might be expected, some noted they were comfortable and didn’t feel the lenses at all, while another noted they weren’t as comfortable as their current Acuvue lenses.

One doctor chimed in noting that, in their experience, lenses that use the same methafilcon A material (55% water) and feature a DK value of 18 as Hubble’s lenses “are not very popular.”

From a company perspective, Hubble Contacts was co-founded in May 2016 by Ben Cogan and Jesse Horwitz.

Ben earned his degree in Philosophy from Princeton and previously worked as a Senior Customer Insights Associate for Harry’s Grooming and an Associate at The Boston Consulting Group. Jesse graduated from Harvard Law School and held positions as Founder of Gadfly Capital and Investment Analyst at Columbia Investment Management Company.

Vision Path Inc. (aka Hubble Contacts) wasn’t rated with the Better Business Bureau as of 5/16/17, although they did have four closed complaints. Only one of these provided details, which referenced difficulty obtaining proof of purchase.

Hubble vs. LensDirect, 1800Contacts, & Lens.com

Type the phrase “discount 1-day contact lenses" into any search engine, and you'll be met with hundreds of relevant results, including national brands like Acuvue from big hitters like 1800contacts, Lens.com, and LensDirect, to name just a few.

Many of these companies claim to offer 70% (or more) off name brand contact lenses, but how do their prices compare to Hubble? Here’s a quick sampling of some of the prices we encountered at the time of our research:

Company Lens Model Price/Quantity Details
Hubble Contacts 1-Day Contact Lenses $30, 60 lenses Methafilcon-A, 55% water content
LensDirect 1 Day Acuvue Moist 30 Pack $30.58, 30 lenses 42% etafilcon A, 58% water content
Lens.com 1 Day Acuvue TruEye $54.94, 90 lenses 54% narafilcon A, 46% water content
1800Contacts 1-Day Acuvue Define $94, 90 lenses Etafilcon A, 58% water content

According to Everyday Health, 90 percent of contact lens wearers use soft options, the same as Hubble. And while daily disposable lenses might offer the lowest maintenance, they also tend to cost more, but they might be ideal for those with allergies.

Pro tip: All About Vision emphasizes that, while daily disposables might cost more than their longer-term brethren, this could be offset by the money saved on care products.

The American Optometric Association also notes that daily disposable contact lenses can work great for those with active lifestyles and often involve a very short adaptation period, but they’re not available for all vision problems and may not offer the same level of crispness as longer-wear models.

The best way to decide? Talk with your doctor who can recommend options based on your specific diagnosis, needs, and preferences.

Our Final Thoughts About Hubble Contacts

As we can see from the table above, the cost of Hubble’s lenses comes in right at $1 per day, which is about half the cost of a similar daily from Acuvue through LensDirect and 1800Contacts.

Coming in a little closer, Lens.com’s 1 Day Acuvue TruEye was priced at about $1.22 per day, while the Acuvue Oasys 1-Day with Hydraluxe was slightly higher at $1.45 per day.

Bottom line? It seems that Hubble has found itself a niche in the marketplace by manufacturing their own high-quality contact lenses and shipping them directly, thereby providing prices that are anywhere from 20 to 50 percent less expensive.

In addition, the company appears to have mostly positive—although somewhat limited—online feedback from customers.

Perhaps the only downside is that, like any other contact lens retailer, you can’t return your Hubble Contacts if they don’t match your preferences. However, all new subscriptions come with a free two-week trial (less $3 S&H), which should be more than enough time to figure out if they work for you before receiving your next shipment.

Did Hubble’s contacts help you see better at a lower price, or did they not meet your needs? Whatever happened, tell us all about it by writing a review below.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

1271 Consumer Reviews for Hubble Contacts

Average Consumer Rating: 4.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 874 4 star: 167 3 star: 30 2 star: 37 1 star:  163
Bottom Line: 83% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 1271
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • Very pleased with product and customer service!

    • Chicago, IL,
    • Mar 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Fantastic product and service! The daily contacts are durable, comfortable, and I didn't experience any side effects, irritation or issues when switching from another brand.

    The customer support team is also very attentive and answers questions promptly via email - always friendly, and always helpful!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Rubbish

    • London, England,
    • Mar 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Rubbish customer service and questionable business ethics.

    Philippines-based customer support has no clue about UK/Europe consumer regulations.

    I felt cheated. Avoid them like the plague.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Love Hubble!

    • Mesa, AZ,
    • Mar 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    After ordering my daily contacts from my optometrist for years, I found Hubble online and decided to try. I’m soo grateful I did! My eyes are really dry, but Hubble Contacts fit amazing and my eyes stay moisturized. Also, it’s so much easier with my busy schedule to just have them arrive once a month, no headache or hassle, they're here when I need them! I’m soo happy I found Hubble!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Great service

    • Chambersburg, PA,
    • Mar 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The service is great. I order my contacts to come every other month and they do. I sometimes have trouble that they irritate my eyes, but it usually goes away in an hour or two. But overall I have been happy with the service.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Love Hubble!

    • Carpinteria, CA,
    • Mar 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been using Hubble for a few months now and just love it! I have really bad eye sight and have a hard time putting in contacts so I used to have a pair that I would wear for 30 days straight and then throw away! Well, with Hubble I can put them in and then throw them away. Therefore if I drop one and can’t find it, I can just get another one and put it in! The price is so affordable and I don’t have to go into the doctor anymore to order more! With Hubble, it comes to me! Best thing ever!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Great, easy, and simple contacts from Hubble Contacts

    • Ontario, Canada,
    • Mar 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Easy to sign up and receive contacts from Hubble! If you require primary contact lens (i.e., don't have astigmatism), then they are the right contacts for you! They come right to your house!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Great service!

    • West Columbia, SC,
    • Mar 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    For the first time in my life I haven’t run out of contacts! It’s wonderful to have Hubble around to make sure that I have what I need to take care of my eyes. It’s also great to not have to worry about reordering and every month. Thank you for being a convenient and affordable option for me.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Great contacts

    • Saint Clair Shores, MI,
    • Mar 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    All of my shipments have been on time and contacts are super comfy, also made in the USA. Pretty cost effective and easy on a busy schedule! I think it’s definitely the age way of easy contact lense prescription. I never fall behind in my daily routine thanks to Hubble!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • STAY AWAY...do NOT sign up for a free trial!

    • Toronto, Ontario, Canada,
    • Mar 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is a total scam! All the negative reviews are unfortunately true. I signed up for the 2 weeks trial and the product took a month to arrive, in the meantime, they charged my card for the next set of lenses without so much as a courtesy email notifying me that a) I had a subscription and b) said subscription was about to start. As a result, I received both the free trial lenses and the next set at the same time. I tried to log into my account to stop the shipments and according to their database, I had no account associated with my email. In the meantime, I was charged for yet another set of lenses. I did speak to a customer service rep who seem altogether annoyed that I was irritated and proceeded to question me as to the quality of the product, which really wasn’t the issue. Eventually, she canceled my account and issued me an email with the refund label and instructions on how to complete. Needless to say, it’s been 3 months later and no refund has been issued.

    Now, I no longer have the product for which I paid and no refund in sight. I guarantee this company makes its money on getting as many people to sign up for the free trial to get in a couple of payments before the person realizes what’s going on and cancels. Based on other reviews (and my own), receiving a refund is next to impossible.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    SCAM

    • Ontario, Canada,
    • Mar 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Signed up for free contacts, got them. Got a confirmation email for them. Never got another email. They wanted me to forget about the subscription, and I did. Never received the contacts either. They claim things are in shipment. For two months? Courtesy refund of $40. But I paid $44. Where's my $4? The customer service is located "offshore." Keeping my $4 for shipping. Terrible company, same joke they're all of it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Hubble Contacts are scam artists

    • Georgia,
    • Mar 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    These liars make it seem as if the trial is only $3 for shipping! In actuality, they will charge you $39 even if you change your shipment and frequency dates! They don’t have the integrity to tell you the truth upfront and they will say it’s your fault with your bank and force you to keep the contacts even if you return the package unopened and paid for shipping! The trial pack gave me an EYE INFECTION, which is why I decided to discontinue! It is a scam!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 1271

Write a Review for Hubble Contacts!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review