Hulu Reviews

Hulu

Overall Rating

1.6

209 Customer Reviews

Summary

Hulu is a subscription-based content streaming service that gives you the opportunity to watch live TV and reruns, along with popular movies and original programming. Learn what customers are saying about Hulu and its services.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

1.6 Stars out of 209 Reviews
5 Star:4% 4 Star:2% 3 Star:5% 2 Star:23% 1 Star:63%
10% Recommend This Service
Start your review of Hulu:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Feb 20, 2021

Deceitful free trial

By John D., Gilbert, AZ, Verified Reviewer

I tried to join the free trial to watch Game of Thrones. Nowhere did it warn me that I couldn’t watch that without also adding HBO Max for another $15 per month. Why do people let companies get away with this type of deceit?

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Dishonesty

Trickery

Must not be able to succeed honestly

Posted on Aug 13, 2020

Not the best user experience. Aggravating.

By Glenda W., Gatesville, TX, Verified Reviewer

Compared to other subscriptions, Hulu leaves a lot to be desired. The ads are aggravating, and some are quite long and annoying. The technology needs help because the service does not consistently keep up with where the viewer stops watching a particular program and often returns to the wrong episode or the wrong place in an episode. Furthermore, the service never misses an opportunity to force the viewer to re-watch the ads in an episode - even when having to fast forward or rewind to the proper place to resume watching. I have never had this issue with Netflix or Disney+, for example.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Selection

Ads. Not only are the ads repetitive, but they also are poorly produced.

Inconsistency in keeping up with viewer watching progress.

Cannot pause or rewind during ads.

Posted on Jul 1, 2020

Will cancel a good account

By Dan T., Stuart, FL, Verified Reviewer

So I've had Hulu for about a year. I could put up with having to call them occasionally to find out how to reset everything, which I now have written down in case I need to again. Annoying, but that's how that goes apparently. But what takes the cake is them suddenly canceling my TV subscription for no reason at all. It's all been paid, the account is in good standing, there was no reason for this. Contacted them and still no better. Amazon (how it's paid) said it looks good on their end. Hulu will probably try to keep charging while giving me nothing, we'll have to see. Who knows how many times I'll have to call them to try to get this fixed. Completely incompetent. I've never had any TV company do this. Worthless company that just wants to rip you off and give you nothing. This is how they treat loyal customers. Terrible.

Length of Use: 1–2 years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Used to be good enough channel selection

Used to be good amount of TV shows/movies

Canceling for no reason

Having to reset

Issues with connecting to my WiFi that my computer doesn't have

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Jun 22, 2020

No local stations on live package

By Kim T., Ashland, WI, Verified Reviewer

I live very close to Lake Superior in Wisconsin. When I turn on the news it seems I always get different stations that do not report news and weather in my area. Every once in a while we’ll get Duluth news, but at least they do report some of the news but definitely our weather. I’ve tried to contact Hulu to no avail. Very disappointed!

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Better than satellite

We can switch to our winter home

No local news

Too many ads

Posted on Jan 17, 2020

Hulu NOT commercial-free. ADS ADS ADS.

By Greg R., Orlando, FL, Verified Reviewer

I purchased Hulu commercial-free and yet most anything I click on has commercials. When I call to complain they say those programs are "On Demand." There are less and less that are NOT "On Demand." The least they could do is have a category or notation warning me there are commercials before watching it. Reality told, what they are doing is collecting money for ad-free PLUS getting paid for every commercial they sneak by you...in the potato chip world that's called double-dipping! Don't get screwed. On Netflix ANYTHING I click on is commercial-free - it's not that difficult, they are scamming us at HULU, should be a class action lawsuit! Youtube Premium here I come!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Posted on Dec 30, 2019

Unimpressed

By Catherine J., Kansas, Verified Reviewer

Cutting cable and satellite TV was exhilarating...Hulu was 99% of that exhilaration for about 3 weeks. Prices went up and service takes a step back. Too bad they can't do that with the cost of Hulu. I am now unimpressed and considering my options. Hulu is not the only game in town but you would think they are the way they handle service. It is next to impossible to chat with them...without pushing off upgrades like TV EXPERT ON DEMAND FOR $49.00 A MONTH. Wow...how arrogant. So I must be off to search for alternatives to Hulu.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Posted on Aug 15, 2019

Horrible

By Brice S., Garland, TX, Verified Reviewer

Two times I have been charged for bills. 1) I don't use Hulu, 2) It is on a credit card that I don't use. Maybe it is a scammer unrelated to Hulu, or maybe Hulu. I do not know. If it isn't Hulu then they should be notified about scammers using them.

I will contact the Better Business Bureaus a second time.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Nov 24, 2018

WORST Customer Support Ever, Shows Showing up Days Late

By Emily C., Northern California, Verified Reviewer

Don't expect ANYTHING good by contacting customer service. Customer Support/Tech Support is Outsourced, Farmed Out.

When you call Hulu, the customer service reps know nothing about tech. They don't know how to problem solve, and they only speak from a script.

If you ask anything that requires an off-script answer, you'll get silence or an exact repeat of the last answer. If you ask again, a repeat of the same answer again.

Hulu's tech people are actually are SalesForce employees who do a terrible job. When they get a tech question they don't know how to answer, they say, “We'll pass your feedback along to our team.” That's the big BRUSHOFF.

Your comment or your problem never goes anywhere. Your problem is probably never solved. The "team" is Salesforce, not Hulu Technology or Engineering or anyone actually AT Hulu.

And it appears, as this is a pattern, that the comment or problem or tech issue is NEVER escalated in a way that actually gets to Hulu. Escalations to Hulu are suppressed by Salesforce to make it appear that Salesforce is doing a better job of resolving customer issues than they are.

What Salesforce is doing is a complete scam, and Hulu execs should be alerted that what Salesforce is doing is a scam. BTW, Salesforce tech support for Lenovo and CBS All Access is also terrible. Why Hulu ownership would have selected Sales Force to outsource their support is a complete error.

It's the absolute worst as others have said, and Hulu execs should know about the intentional suppression of the customer concerns that actually reach the company.

The Shows, Programming: So, getting to the shows. They're supposed to show up the next day. I'm still waiting for a show from FIVE DAYS AGO to show up. So the next-day viewing thing is not where it should be for Hulu to make that claim.

The graphics interface is clunky, and it's hard to get categories organized so they're actually useful.

In the Lineup are tons of crappy shows that I'd never watch, and when I'm finished watching a show in my Watchlist, Hulu begins auto-playing some show I've never selected or wanted.

But there is some good programming. Handmaid's Tale is their original series and brilliant. Other good programming also. But Hulu has so far to go to have the ease of use of HBO or Netflix, I can't really recommend Hulu.

Hulu's CEO and Exec Management need to bring their tech in-house and train them well ditch Salesforce (OMG they are so awful), hire smarter tech people to solve the problems, hire a much better graphic user interface designer to design how the customer uses the app, and hire more tech programmers to upload programming so it shows up within the timeframe promised.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 31, 2018

Hulu sucks!

By John L., Newport, PA, Verified Reviewer

Hulu's new platform sucks big time! I spend more time trying to navigate through all the BS than I do watching their programming. I used to be able to watch yesterday's show at 6 am, but here it is, 9:55 am, and I still can't watch it.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 1, 2018

Hulu sucks!

By Cara F., Des Moines, IA, Verified Reviewer

Hulu is so dumb! It keeps saying, "We’re having trouble loading this right now" on my Roku even though the internet is working just fine! I’m pissed off and they better fix it! Hulu is trash and a piece of crap!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 1, 2018

The very worst internet TV service EVER

By Daniel P., Central Coast, CA, Verified Reviewer

This company has gone from offering a great service that was easy to use, to one that steals my money on my credit card without providing the service I signed up for; provides a customer non "help" line/chat that provides no help and misinformation, and cannot apparently understand the simplest of plain English. This company has turned into a band of thieves, and I'm not kidding and not exaggerating.

Then when I want to discontinue the service because I've torn out the last of my hair, I can't do it because I'm not currently at home on my billing address IP address. What difference does it make other than they want to continue debiting my card? I've put in a notice with my credit card company to stop paying them. Of course, that isn't easy either.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 30, 2018

Hulu, worst service, crashes all the time for hours

By Margaret S., Missouri, Verified Reviewer

I have been experiencing the same issue as many others. This service crashes all the time, and their customer service tries to blame it on your internet or device.

It has crashed three times in two weeks, and they do insist it's your internet. Again, Prime and Netflix and many gaming sites work just fine. ISP is currently 342 Mbps download. When it crashes, it doesn't work on any device. Look at the star ratings and you will see MORE people give it a 1-star rating over all the others. They're stealing our money.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 3, 2018

Can't receive all the channels

By Sam D., Johnston, IA, Verified Reviewer

I signed up for the free trial on July 25. I noticed that I do not receive all the channels in the Hulu lineup. There are about 60 channels in their lineup and I receive about 51 of them. I don't receive Boomerang, Cartoon Network, any of the ESPN networks, any of the Turner networks (TBS, TNT, Turner Classic Movies). I am using an Amazon Fire TV Stick and it must not be completely compatible with the Hulu system. I called Hulu customer support. They were very courteous but unable to solve the problem. I even reset my Fire TV stick to factory defaults but that didn't help. Hulu is a good service but only if you receive all the channels!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 20, 2018

Horrible customer service, buggy interface

By Harry J., Arkansas, Verified Reviewer

I already have Netflix and Amazon Prime, but I thought I would give Hulu a try. I signed up for an $11.99 subscription through my iPhone. There was a 30-day free trial offer, so I chose that.

Everything worked fine on my iPhone. But when I tried to access the application through my TV, it was like trying to break into Fort Knox. Guys, relax a little, this is only entertainment, not the World Bank.

Customer service was ZERO. You had to send an email and wait who knows when to get a reply. The interface to Hulu was so confusing. I thought Sling TV was bad, but this is outrageous. It's like fighting through a maze to get to the shows you want. I actually wanted to start a subscription, but after all the hassles, I gave up.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 25, 2018

Hulu cares more about unauthorized use of my account than keeping my business

By Elizabeth F., Oregon, Verified Reviewer

Think your Hulu account is safe?

So did we, we were wrong. Dead wrong.

I turned on the TV and got a message that I couldn't watch Hulu because too many devices already were. Too bad not one of them belonged to us!

It turns out less than 5 of the devices on this list belong to us, the others? Who knows, Hulu doesn't know, and it was just made painfully obvious by two customer service agents that Hulu does not care either. Not only did someone else use our Hulu account for free, Hulu won't look into it, and they don't think we should be compensated for their unsecured system either.

If you think your account is safe, think again.

Go online to hulu.com/devices and see for yourself.

I hope this is going to be enough to shame Hulu into caring more about their paying customers than they clearly care about others who are not paying for anything and are freely scamming those that do pay.

I have no plans to keep Hulu after this and continue to pay for a service that freely allows unauthorized devices to use my account for free and refuse to assist me in safeguarding my account from other further breaches. Obviously having my login info in another language wasn't enough, despite using Norton's antivirus and calling their helpline was a waste of time.

Their customer service is just about the worst there is. When I called in, the first person I spoke with was way too cheerful (like it was forced cheerfulness). This CSR could not stop talking in circles and repeating the same line over and over. Needless to say in reading her script she missed the part where you help the caller by listening to what's being said, as much as she missed the bit where you aren't going to have a positive call if you insult the caller's intelligence. She did apologize for that when I brought this to her attention, however, that does not excuse the fact that it happened in the first place.

I was also told at the beginning of the call that she could handle getting a credit on my account for the trouble and would be happy to do that. As the call dragged on and continued to spiral out of control, I requested a floor manager to speak with. Sadly things did not improve from there. The floor manager was incredibly snide and downright snarky even with his tone. After I gave a short explanation of the current situation that we never used a public device or gave our login information out he started off by telling me "oh well that would mean your account was hacked." I had already figured as much.

I was relieved that he understood what had happened, unlike his CSR. Next, he told me "well, we don't credit for this kind of thing." After she had stated they would do so. This is called a false promise, and most companies frown on such practices, apparently, Hulu is not that kind of company.

The very next problem according to him was the fact that I had to delete all of the devices from our account because I didn't know who all was on watching it when I wanted to use the service and that wiped the history, even though they said they could see 8 pages back and then he told me "yeah, well, it would take a subpoena to our legal dept and that won't happen" for me to find out how someone hacked our account. And that was from the floor manager!

All in all, it sure sounded like they could do more than he was willing to. As well as see what was going on and just refused to take any responsibility for this breach of security and my trust.

As for the CSR struggling with her script reading rather than addressing the problems at hand, I am sure more training can address the issues she had on the call.

However, I can see no reason or proper course of action for such rude and unprofessional behavior on the part of that manager.

If this is the best Hulu can do, I'll use Netflix from now on.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 30, 2018

Could be better

By Maha C, New York, NY, Verified Reviewer

I have the most basic version, and while the selection of shows is much better than Netflix, the commercial breaks are very long. For new episodes, I just end up watching them on the TV networks' own website since even they offer shorter commercial breaks despite being free.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 15, 2018

Decent

By Linda Wickett, Indianola, IA, Verified Reviewer

I am enjoying Hulu with live TV. The buffering is minimal for me, which makes me wonder if those having issues may not have a strong enough signal. My kids love the library and I like that it tapes my shows and that I can pause live TV.

My only criticism would be that their navigation screens aren’t very easy to figure out. I have sometimes tried to get live TV only to discover I was watching something recorded earlier. Overall though, I am enjoying TV more than when I had cable at half the cost.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Posted on Apr 5, 2018

Just bad, incredibly bad

By Jeremy Brown, Wisconsin, Verified Reviewer

I switched to this from Sling TV because the channel package was closer to what I want. It will be good for you if you like:

- Being on chat with customer service for over one hour.

- Getting cut off your chat if you don't reply within 30 seconds after waiting for over five minutes for the rep to reply.

- Having the end of games cut off so you miss the 4th quarter, 9th inning. Forget about seeing overtime.

- Having the wrong content in your recording, i.e., you scheduled Bucks vs Bulls and the recording has Penn St Women's basketball.

- Having your login information disappear, i.e., it does not even recognize your email address, and you rechecked it like ten times.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 24, 2018

Not worth the money spent

By Christine Hypes, West Virginia, Verified Reviewer

Hulu sounds good, but it brings more aggravation than enjoyment. Even if you subscribe to commercial-free, there is a constant buffering issue that makes me want to throw things! It makes watching anything next to impossible! Watching a show I love at the end of the day is supposed to be relaxing not stressful. Hulu, you really need to work on your service!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 6, 2018

Worst experience

By Bella J, Georgia, Verified Reviewer

Hulu is honestly a joke. They don't help when you forget your password, and I am currently waiting to get in touch with someone because no one is available on their "chat" and they took away emailing. I've been charged for a subscription that never showed up on my subscription list and was not able to get back into my account. If you're going to spend money on a TV subscription, go with Netflix.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 6, 2018

Hulu Live TV sucks

By Mark Johnson, Ohio, Verified Reviewer

Hulu has a nice lineup of live TV and other shows for a competitive price. The problem is, if you want live TV you can't rely on Hulu! Many times the category of "My Channels" (this is the selection of live TV) is not available. When it is available, it is plagued with frequent buffering that I don't see on other services and also a "deja vu" glitch where the video loops back a couple of seconds to replay what just played. Also, Hulu frequently has problems with audio not being synced with video.

I just canceled my live service but kept the basic due to my wife watching some of the Hulu Originals.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 5, 2018

One day in the free trial of Hulu Live and already canceling

By Kathy S, South Carolina, Verified Reviewer

When we found out that we could get our local channels on Hulu Live, we decided to try the free trial. What we discovered is that there is no real TV guide on it like on Sling TV, and it's really hard to navigate and find the shows so you can set them to record. I ended up having to do the search function on each show to find it.

Also, we started out with watching our local news and it buffered multiple times in the first half hour, plus the sound kept going up and down. And then the buffering started again on the second 8:00 show on our local channel. One day in and we were already frustrated with it. After that show, we had to get out of Hulu Live and log back in to get the show on the "guide" to change to the 8:30 shows. Plus, you have to click "back" multiple times just to get back to the home screen.

The only reason that we went to Hulu is to get Jeopardy on our local channel. I guess we can live without Jeopardy.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 17, 2018

Not worth it for Live version

By Sandra Roy, Estero, FL, Verified Reviewer

I have two homes, one in Illinois and one in Florida. I am only allowed to switch my location four times per year, and I travel back and forth just about every single month, so clearly LIVE didn’t work for us. I have already downgraded my service back to Hulu basic and purchased an antenna.

I was annoyed that I had to use one of my turns switching during hurricane Irma. We got stuck down there and wanted to make sure we were able to watch the weather. This was prior to us losing our power of course. It was a total waste for a trip that was supposed to only last four days.

From their website:

“you can manually update your Home location up to 4 times during any 12 month period.”

So I do not recommend Hulu Live if you go between homes.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Jan 14, 2018

It's not worth it

By Natalie Rogers, Texas, Verified Reviewer

I have done plenty of free trials for different things, and I can honestly say Hulu is the only one I've ever had problems with. When I had canceled my subscription, they don't warn you that they cancel and don't give you your money back. Another time my husband was also charged for his free trial. It's hard to figure out who to call. I was even possibly thinking of paying for it, but it's not worth my money. I'll be looking elsewhere to watch my shows.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 13, 2018

Not a free trial!

By Gina Grinnan, Colorado, Verified Reviewer

They charged my credit card five days after I signed up for a free 30-day trial! And it's not Live TV either. I will cancel this ASAP!

I also waited for customer service for over 20 and finally hung up. I called back the next day to wait for over 30! Is this a real company that has workers? I still have NOT spoken with anyone to resolve anything.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 28, 2017

30-day free trial NOT!

By Chad, Minnesota, Verified Reviewer

The 30-day free trial period is a SCAM; they charged my credit card a couple days after signing up for $39.99. TV shows are full of ads, and this was a complete waste of my time! Do yourself a favor and use Netflix.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 18, 2017

Hulu is so bad. Freezes all the time. AWFUL.

By Casey Bacon, California, Verified Reviewer

Hulu is awful. The connection freezes all the time. I have called and called. It is common among their complaints. I have an internet connection of 150mbs.... nothing is slow for me and yet I can't stream Hulu on my TV. Ridiculous.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted
Showing 1-27 of 209

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.