About Hulu

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff Updated on: Jun 27, 2017

In business since 2008, Hulu is an online video subscription service that allows you to instantly watch current and back season shows from ABC, Comedy Central, The CW, FOX, NBC, MTV, and Univision, on almost any Internet-connected device. As such, Hulu calls themselves the "premium streaming destination."

In addition to TV-centric content, though, Hulu also offers a variety of full-length movies, original series, documentaries, kid’s choices, individual clips, and film trailers. And with their new Live TV service, you’ll be able to watch 50+ live channels—including sports—and record to a cloud DVR, while maintaining your access to their extensive on-demand library.

But when it comes down to it, what benefits will Hulu provide? Is it worth your hard-earned money? And how do they stack up against the stiff competition? Let’s start by taking a look at their two main services:

What’s the Difference Between Basic Hulu & Hulu with Live TV?

Other than their prices (which we’ll discuss in a moment), the primary differences between Hulu and Hulu with Live TV are the amount of content you’ll have access to, along with the devices you can view it on. Quickly, here’s how it breaks down:

Hulu’s Basic Plan – Unlimited access to the entire library, including movies, original series and shows, and kid’s programming. You’ll have the ability to switch plans or cancel at any time.

Add-ons include the ability to minimize (and even eliminate in many instances) commercials, as well as gain access to SHOWTIME® premium content.

However, keep in mind that this add-on is in addition to what you already pay your cable service. In other words, you'll be paying for two different SHOWTIME® subscriptions for the exact same content, just on different devices.

Hulu with Live TV – Hulu also recently released their Live TV service, which provides subscribers access to more than 50 live and on-demand channels, including local channels, sports, and entertainment.

Like with a Basic plan, subscribers will gain unlimited access to Hulu’s complete streaming library, but with the addition of 50 hours of Cloud DVR storage, which can be watched on two screens at the same time. The company tells us there are no hidden fees and you’ll be able to cancel anytime.

Hulu’s new Live TV service is pretty robust, so let’s take a closer look at its details.

Hulu Live TV: Channels, Devices, & Add-Ons

After subscribing to Live TV, you’ll find local network stations like ABC, CBS, FOX, and NBC; sports stations such as ESPN, ESPNU, CBS Sports Network, Big Ten Network, and the SEC Network; popular entertainment options like E!, Food Network, HGTV, SyFy, TNT, and Lifetime; and kid’s channels like Disney and Cartoon Network.

Note: As with traditional cable, though, the Hulu website emphasizes that some games will be subject to regional availability and blackouts. Also, you won’t be able to live stream NFL games to your smartphone due to rights restrictions.

Looking to learn more about the specific channels available in your area? You can quickly find out by entering your zip code on Hulu’s Live TV page.

Hulu Channel ListA list of the 50+ channels available with Hulu’s Live TV subscription. Image credit: HULU

Which Hulu Live TV Add-Ons Are Available?

In addition, there are two main add-ons available with a Hulu Live TV subscription:

  • Enhanced Cloud DVR – This upgrades your available DVR storage to 200 hours and also allows you to fast-forward through commercials and stream recordings anywhere on supported devices, without any limit on simultaneous recordings.
  • Unlimited Screens – As the name implies, this add-on allows content streaming to unlimited screens while at home, and up to three screens when you’re not.

As with the Basic plan, you’ll also be able to add SHOWTIME to your Live TV subscription.

Which Devices Are Supported With Hulu Live TV?

Currently, Live TV can be enjoyed on Apple iPhone and iPad, Android phones and tablets, Xbox One, Apple TV (4th generation), and Chromecast.

However, the company notes that support is coming soon for Amazon TV and Fire TV Stick, Roku devices, and Samsung TVs and Blu-ray players, along with Mac and PC support through Hulu.com.

Related: Seeso Review

Speaking of devices, will you need any special equipment with your subscription?

What Do You Need to Use Hulu?

According to the Hulu website, “Users only need a Flash 10.1.53.64 enabled computer and an Internet connection to enjoy.”

This is because Hulu is app-based, which means you don’t necessarily need any specific kind of hardware to enjoy their programming. This also means you can pause a program on your computer, log in on your phone a day later, and pick right back up where you left off.

While this is the basic setup, the reality is that you'll be able to watch Hulu programming on just about any Internet-connected iOS, Android, or Amazon Kindle Fire device, in addition to Xbox, PS3, and Roku. For more information, be sure to browse through Hulu's full list of supported devices.

Regardless of whether you’re watching on your computer or another device, Hulu runs on a pretty minimal user interface, which makes viewing easier on the eyes.

Other Streaming Subscription Services

Despite the amount of TV-related content featured on Hulu, as well as the app’s widespread integration and ease of use, this doesn’t mean that the service doesn’t have some stiff competition. This includes popular options such as Netflix, Amazon Instant, and hundreds of content-specific apps (e.g. NBA TV, HBO Go, Pluto TV, and more).

And when it comes to watching live TV without a cable subscription, Hulu with Live TV is up against popular competitors like Sling TV ($20-$25/mo; add-ons $5-$15/mo), YouTube TV ($35/mo), Playstation Vue ($30-$75/mo), and DirectTV Now ($35-$70/mo).

When compared to these other options, the primary benefit of Hulu seems to be the sheer number of TV shows featured on the website (we’ll talk more about price in a second).

However, it’s important to note that the quality of your streaming content (720p or 1080p) depends on your device and your display’s capabilities. Further, 4K content can currently only be enjoyed on the Playstation 4 Pro and Xbox One S.

Does Hulu Contain Advertisements? If So, Why?

If you’re thinking about taking the plunge and giving Hulu a try, one of the first questions that probably came to mind was, “Why does Hulu contain ads?”

In the company’s own words, they “have found that by including a modest ad load in Hulu’s on-demand library, we can keep the entry price for subscribers under eight bucks, while still providing viewers with access to stellar shows – especially from the current TV season – on their favorite supported devices.”

And while there’s no indication on the Hulu website as to how much a “modest ad load” translates to in the real world, or how long each advertisement will be, many of us here at HighYa are Hulu subscribers and have found that—on average—you’ll be forced to sit through eight to nine 15-second commercials for every half-hour TV show you watch.

Related Article: Streaming Services: With So Many Choices, How Can You Pick the Right One?

Perhaps to add insult to injury, we’ve also found that the length and frequency of ads has only increased over the years, and that only a few ads are on rotation at any given time. Ultimately, this means that if you watch several episodes of your favorite TV show in a row, you could end up watching (and re-watching) the same ads over and over again.

Their No Commercial add-ons could potentially help alleviate some of this, but will you pay a lot for a commercial-free experience?

Hulu Pricing & Refund Policy

Hulu’s plans are priced as follows:

  • Basic: $7.99/mo
  • Hulu with No Commercials: $11.99/mo
  • Hulu with Live TV: $39.99/mo

A No commercials plan will increase your monthly cost to $11.99 and $43.99, respectively. Important note: According to TomsGuide:

“A note on that $5 commercial-free surcharge: It won’t cut commercials out of on-demand shows from individual networks, nor will it even cut every Hulu ad; some networks require ads to be shown before and after shows rather than in the middle. Paying for content and still having to sit through ads has always been my least favorite part of Hulu’s service, and unfortunately, it’s as obtrusive as ever here.”

As mentioned earlier, there is no commitment and your subscription can be changed or cancelled at any time. Add-ons will cost you:

  • SHOWTIME (Basic or Live TV): $8.99
  • Enhanced Cloud DVR (Live TV only): $14.99
  • Unlimited Screens (Live TV only): $14.99

Confused by all these different options? Hulu offers a handy comparison chart that allows customers to compare Live TV against their current plan to see how they differ.

Hulu vs. Hulu LiveCompared to the standard plan, Hulu’s Live TV subscription provides access to 50+ channels, 50 hours of cloud DVR storage, and multi-screen access. Image credit: Hulu

If you're new to Hulu, the company offers a free 1-month trial for their Basic plan and a 1-week trial for Live TV. At the end of this trial, your account will automatically roll over to a paid subscription if you don't call to cancel.

Unless the company suspends or cancels your Hulu account, no refunds are available. In other words, once you cancel your membership, it will continue until your pre-paid period expires, after which you’ll no longer have access.

In order to cancel your Hulu account or ask questions, you can contact customer service at (888) 265-6650 or through an online form.

What Are Customers Saying about Hulu & Live TV?

HighYa Reader Reviews

Since writing our original Hulu review, more than 160 HighYa readers have provided their feedback about the service, giving it an average rating of 1.7 stars.

While the most common compliment included being able to watch popular TV shows at any time, by far the most common complaint (here on HighYa as well as elsewhere online) referenced that, even if you pay money to upgrade to Hulu, you’ll still have to watch several commercials for each TV episode you watch. Because of this, many Hulu customers have called into question its overall value.

Other less common complaints appear to revolve around poor playback (constant buffering, freezing, etc.), which could be more related to a customer’s router and internet connection than to the streaming service, as well as a less-than-stellar selection of non-TV content.

What About Third-Party Hulu Reviews?

At the time of our research, there were also a whopping 8,400+ Hulu customer reviews on Amazon, with an average rating of 3.7 stars. There, common compliments and complaints mirrored those found here on HighYa.

From a professional standpoint, Digital Trends wrote an in-depth comparison between Hulu, Netflix, and Amazon Instant Video earlier this year, and although they noted that Hulu does have some solid features, they recommended that you choose one of the other services, unless you need to keep up on your favorite network TV shows.

Similarly, Geek.com wrote, “Hulu has a significant library of content, and their attempts to bring a social element to their sharing and commentary may end up being a big deal to specific groups of users, but it is pretty clear which service is the better overall provider of content. If you have to choose between the two, Netflix is absolutely the way to go.”

Can We Learn Anything From Customers About Hulu With Live TV?

Regarding their new Live TV service, PC Mag’s Bill Greenwald gave it a 4-star rating and appreciated that it offers access Hulu’s vast content library, along with a solid selection of channels (including many locals). They also liked the cloud-based DVR and the sharp picture when watching live TV.

On the other hand, they found it difficult to find out which live programming was available, but still called it a “powerful cord-cutting tool.”

Similarly, Engadget and Gizmodo thought it’s great to get live TV and access to Hulu’s entire library at the same time, but they felt it still needs a little tweaking—primarily the interface. Both thought it was attractive, but that it was cumbersome to use (no show guide available) and not very intuitive.

Overall, they seemed to like the service and were excited about what’s to come, but they lamented the absence of AMC or Viacom content, as well as channels like MTV, Nickelodeon, and Comedy Central.

As a company, Hulu, LLC is based out of Santa Monica, CA. They weren't rated with the Better Business Bureau at the time of our research, although they did have 57 closed complaints (as of 6/10/15). Most of these appeared to reference difficulty canceling subscriptions and stopping automatic charges.

Is Hulu Worth Your Money?

Chopping to the point: As we mentioned in 3 Easy Steps For Cutting the Cord, there are a lot of important decisions to be made when the time comes, most of which largely depend on your personal preferences. And while no service is perfect, Hulu is really the only game in town if you want quick and easy on-demand access to recent, popular TV shows featured on major networks.

And the new No Commercial and SHOWTIME plans can add even more entertainment value, although they’ll also increase your monthly expenses by a decent amount.

Hulu’s new Live TV service also catches it up with competitors like Sling TV and DirectTV Now, although online reviewers seemed to think it features some significant programming gaps and that the user interface isn’t very intuitive.

At $40-$84 (if you choose all add-ons, including SHOWTIME), Hulu and their Live TV service are meaningfully more expensive than options like Sling TV and YouTube TV, although you’ll also gain access to Hulu’s extensive library.

Playstation and DirecTV’s options come in a close second, although it’s possible to pay more for Hulu with Live TV than all of them. And considering that the average cable bill is about $70, if you initially cut the cord to save money, you can see that it’s easy to pay just as much—or more—if you’re not mindful about your upgrades.

With all of this said, in our opinion, Hulu is definitely worth trying out if you’ve recently found freedom from cable. And once you become more familiar with your other options, you can then decide whether or not Hulu’s advertisements and other quirks are worth your hard-earned money.

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

197 Consumer Reviews for Hulu

Average Consumer Rating: 1.7
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 14 4 star: 7 3 star: 11 2 star: 43 1 star:  122
Bottom Line: 11% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 197
Sort reviews by:

  • Hulu only works with IOS 10 or higher

    • Santa Cruz, CA,
    • Dec 7, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Suddenly this morning, Hulu crashes on my iPad and iPhone. I do a "live chat" with tech support and, after trying all kinds of things that don't work, they think "maybe" the problem is my IOS (9.3.5). I call on the phone and am told they no longer support any IOS older than IOS 10 and suggest I talk to Apple. I think this is the tail wagging the dog.

    My suggestions:

    - Give advance warning IN EVERY ACCOUNT when you are going to discontinue serving an operating system.

    - Hulu was already serving my operating system, continue to do so. This equipment is not that old.

    - Remember you are a SERVICE industry and not the only game in town. Netflix, Amazon, and all the network apps still work fine on my devices.

    I canceled my account. I can watch these same shows on the apps provided FREE by each network. It's a bit less convenient, but it's FREE.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Worst streaming service imaginable.

    • Oklahoma,
    • Dec 7, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Let's see. You pay to stream TV to watch commercials. Huh? I thought that's what you get with free over-the-air programming. Content on Hulu is really bad. Finding a show using their interface is almost impossible. There is enough content on Amazon Prime and Netflix, and with these streaming services, I don't think Hulu is even necessary. Keep in mind, Hulu is not really a streaming service; it is an advertising service. Drop-offs are common except during commercials. In my opinion, this is the junkiest TV I've ever seen.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Live sports streaming

    • Georgia,
    • Dec 4, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have super high speed. No trouble with other premium services except for live streaming of major sporting events.

    Buffering is immediately a problem and recurring buffering makes watching impossible. I have to wait until near end of the game or get On Demand later. So, if you're having friends over for the big game expect the guests to find reasons to leave early.

    All other live streaming On Demand and otherwise is fine. Only live events have the problem.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Horrible experience

    • Seattle, WA,
    • Nov 13, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Don’t get it if you want to watch any live sports as they will just not play. Of course, they tell you it’s your fault or provider never taking responsibility. I am not trying to advertise, but one other service worked well but didn’t have live Fox for football. Just saying.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Absolute waste of time, has many video playback problems

    Absolutely horrible. The only reason I have Hulu is for their extended versions of shows (like Family Guy, which has up to season 16), including their amine, which is always nice, until the video stops to load about every three minutes.

    Horrible streams, great shows, but overall, just a waste of time and energy. Hulu, please fix your crap, then you will beat Netflix.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Hulu does not have television series up to date.

    • Georgia,
    • Nov 7, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    When I lived in Brooklyn, New York, Hulu had all the shows shown in a few days from the air date. For example, the Blue Bloods TV series, or the first 48 Hours. If it weren't for my grandson living with me, I would cancel my subscription. The movie list is also a disappointment.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    It stinks

    • Northern, CA,
    • Nov 4, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    A few month ago I decided to cut the cord and start streaming. Using Ruku Ultra as my streaming device, I have Netflix, Amazon, plus Sling TV, which was replaced with Hulu + Live TV about a month ago. My internet connection is up to 100MB /second. Hulu + Live TV stinks. There is no guide, so the navigation is absurd. It constantly goes into buffering mode (don't have this problem with Netflix or Amazon). It goes out of sync constantly when watching the news, and the worst of it are the commercials. Even if you are watching a 30-year old sitcom, it forces you to watch the commercials with no fast forwarding capability. I am canceling soon and going back to Sling TV.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    No! Don't waste your time and money!

    • California,
    • Nov 3, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    One month and two long sessions with tech support into Hulu Live, and it is so bad that their advertising qualifies as FRAUD. There are CONSTANT interruptions for "buffering," and when you do get back "live," you usually have lost some content. Utterly impossible to enjoy any live programming, particularly sporting events or anything with live music.

    Do not waste your time on this piece of CRAP. I’m back in the market now, maybe even back to Comcast, much as I hate giving them my money. Anyway, Hulu Live = zero stars out of 100.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Awful customer service

    I enjoyed my free 30-day trial, however, not when it came time for paying for the service. I had gotten a new debit card, and Amazon said my payment update successfully, so I tried to contact Hulu for the hold on my account and it took two days to get through, both days over an hour wait to speak with a customer service rep.

    When I finally spoke with him, he said that I needed to speak with Amazon because payment is not going through. I informed him I had prior to speaking with him, and then he replied back, "well, then you need to speak with your bank and find out the problem." I find it hard to believe if my Amazon purchases went through then it has to be something on Hulu's end, but he did not even care about the customer service aspect of his job because he made the littlest attempt to resolve this issue. Instead, he wanted to dish it out to everyone else's plates.

    I am very disappointed. Working in a career that is customer service based, we will break our back bending over backward for our customers.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Horrible

    • Tampa, FL,
    • Oct 24, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been trying Hulu, commercial-free, for the past 20 days. Every time I start a show, it crashes several times and then restarts from the beginning.

    I have Netflix and Amazon and have strong internet, and never have had issues like these; pausing, buffering, and crashing.

    I didn’t even finish the 30-day trial.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 9 people found this review helpful

    The new version

    • Tyler, TX,
    • Oct 15, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    The new version of Hulu is complete trash. Everyone I know despises it and it's not even close to being user-friendly. Please provide a way to switch back to the old version. I didn't choose to change it to the new version, so I don't see a way to change it back.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 197

Write a Review for Hulu!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review