• 208 Customer Reviews
  • 10% Recommend This Service
1.6 out of 5
5 star: 4% 4 star: 2% 3 star: 5% 2 star: 23% 1 star: 63%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Hulu is Good

    • By Tim Leviathen,
    • Yuba City, CA,
    • Jun 9, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    Hulu is a great service, would recommend to everyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Awesome Sauce.

    • By Igor,
    • Folsom, CA,
    • Jul 13, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I love Hulu Plus. It has all the hit new shows on stream and does not have too many ads in between. I like it much better than Netflix as far as convenience and access to new or popular shows all in one app. I would definitely recommend you check it out.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Hulu Plus is misunderstood

    Overall Experience:

    A lot of people complain about the commercials on Hulu. They obviously compare it to Netflix or Amazon. Such a comparison is not fair, as Hulu Plus is something else. Yes, Hulu has complete TV series and movies just like Netflix and Amazon. However, what makes Hulu special, is that Hulu has a lot of fresh TV as VOD. Brand new episodes of TV shows are available as VOD at the same time as they are shown on the TV networks. E.g., one can watch the latest episodes of The Jimmy Kimmel Show, Gotham, etc. The price for this is short commercials in the programs. That's OK with me.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Hulu is Misunderstood

    • By Leighton Cooper,
    • Redding, CA,
    • Sep 10, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    Too many people are not understanding how to use Hulu and Netflix. Together they cover most of TV. First off, you need to know the names of the shows you want to watch to find them on Hulu. One good source is the top 250 shows on Life Hacker as this lists the best TV shows. Always try Netflix first and when a series is not complete on Netflix, you can usually find the series on Hulu. But you need to know what's out there or you will not locate it on Hulu. I think together they are worth $22 a month.

    Next month Hulu is getting Epix. Also you can try like the 30 best shows in a particular genre. I have been happy about what I have found. Amazon Prime only has the HBO stuff and a few other shows. Shows such as Nypd Blue, Orphan Black, but most shows (except HBO content) will make it over to Netflix or Hulu.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Love

    • By Jessica ,
    • Wilmore KY,
    • Oct 21, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I am really enjoying paying a lot less and watching the same shows and no commercials, it's really nice to only watch what I want. With cable you pay outrageous prices and half the channels you don't even watch, it's ridiculous. I am so glad that I decided to cut the cord, it's the best decision I've made all year and I save nearly $120 a month and I didn't have to give up any of my shows to do that. I am one happy customer.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Love Hulu for Asian drama shows

    • By Joan,
    • Greenville, SC,
    • Nov 4, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I will give Hulu 5 star for being able to watch many Asian drama shows. Thanks Hulu.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Glorified Netflix

    • By Drew,
    • Pennsylvania,
    • Mar 23, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Defiantly worth it for the price vs. Netflix. Netflix offers too many B-rated movies, if not C. Netflix gives each movie like 4-6 genres.

    It is better than cable! Thanks Hulu.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Newest episodes

    Overall Experience:

    Hulu may not have as much content as Netflix or Amazon, but it has the hottest network shows being aired. Most episodes come out a day after their premiere. If you're looking to cut the cable and want the newest shows, Hulu is a must.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • The best experience I have ever had!

    • By Tracey Hall,
    • Florence, KY,
    • Aug 31, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have a Roku device. Hulu Live is not yet available on Roku, so I thought I might check it out for the free trial on my iPad. I like it but will wait until it is available on Roku. I canceled my Live subscription, but it ended up canceling my complete account. I called customer service and spoke to someone that understands English and fixed my account in seconds! They did not upsell or try to keep me on the phone forever. This is priceless! If they keep this customer service level up, I'm in it for the long run! DO NOT change a thing.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Had to cut cord because cable got too expensive

    Overall Experience:

    Hulu is great and has current seasons of TV show's episodes available the day after they air. The no commercial plan is definitely worth it since the ads are very annoying and repetitive. The new update is good but was hard to get used to at first. It's nice that you can have different profiles because different family members can be in different parts of the same show and have different shows in their favorites.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • I like it but have many suggestions.

    • By Robert,
    • Philadelphia, PA,
    • Jun 8, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I have been using Hulu for quite some time now. It is pretty convenient to be able to watch many wonderful shows after they were aired. Most of our favorite Primetime TV shows are on Hulu so we definitely enjoy those. We pay for Hulu Plus to be able to watch them on our devices as well as our Samsung TV. I would say that the Sony Blu-ray player Hulu Application could use some rather significant improvement. Although I could say that the Hulu app on the iPhone and iPad is amazing. The only negative down side of Hulu is the fact that they have commercial in their TV shows even if you are a Hulu Plus Member. Netflix is good like that since they have no commercial interruptions.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Excellent Replacement for TV

    • By Jason,
    • New York, NY,
    • Aug 12, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I use HULU through my Apple TV, iPhone, iPad, iMac, pretty much wherever I am I can use it. It has tons of my favorite shows on it. For those who are complaining about commercials, it has WAY less commercial time than watching network television. People are ridiculous.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • I like Hulu

    • By Monica,
    • High Point, NC,
    • Aug 30, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    Thanks to Hulu I can watch some Indian movies. Hope they will add some more Indian movies, please. I really enjoy watching Hulu and they still have the Cosby show, which I watch every day. Hope they will also add some more children shows. I had Dish before and I can tell you, they suck. So I would say thank you Hulu for entertaining me.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Hulu Plus is pretty great

    Overall Experience:

    I don't have many complaints about Hulu Plus. I watch it almost on a daily basis. The only complaint I have is that it has started to adopt the "are you still watching" prompt that drives me crazy about Netflix. If you're marathoning a show, and the remote is far away, it's a lazy man's nightmare.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Decent

    • By Linda Wickett,
    • Indianola, IA,
    • Apr 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I am enjoying Hulu with live TV. The buffering is minimal for me, which makes me wonder if those having issues may not have a strong enough signal. My kids love the library and I like that it tapes my shows and that I can pause live TV.

    My only criticism would be that their navigation screens aren’t very easy to figure out. I have sometimes tried to get live TV only to discover I was watching something recorded earlier. Overall though, I am enjoying TV more than when I had cable at half the cost.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Hulu Plus review

    • By Felicia,
    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Jun 11, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I really like Hulu plus because I normally do not have time to watch shows on their normal time aired. It also nice to know that I do not have to fight with the roommates over the TV. The biggest thing I hate about Hulu is there are way to many commercials drives me nuts, I think there are more commercials then normal cable.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Too many ads

    • By Natalie ,
    • Miami, Florida,
    • Jun 9, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    Hulu would be amazing if it had no ads. When watching a show the ads take up about ten minutes of the watch time. This is completely ridiculous considering you have to pay to watch anyway. If i wanted to see commercials i would turn on my television.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Hulu is average

    • By Igor,
    • Folsom, CA,
    • Jun 9, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    Hulu is great from what I can see. I don't use it much but its been great. I guess not the best thing out there if I'm using other sites.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Below average

    • By Anonymous,
    • Oregon,
    • Jun 26, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    Commercials a stupid but then gain everything with exception of a few things have some sort of ads with it.

    I can handle the ads shorter than TV. I can't stand select shows only partial seasons and not labeling of the anime if sub or dub.

    The layout is atrocious but at least shows all of their titles and multiple genres and sub genres.

    Netflix in comparison no commercials, lack of new episodes, some movies. All in all its a crap service that has shows I like to watch that will take Netflix 900 years to get the first season of. Face it people, Netflix is dying for streaming.

    I won't recommend this service if your a hater of commercials.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Geoblock Access

    • By Scarlett,
    • Jun 19, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    Thanks for sharing! I love Hulu Plus especially because I can watch the latest Family Guy episodes one day after they air. If you live outside USA like me, you can use UnoTelly or other similar tools to access Hulu Plus overseas.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Commercials

    • By Brionna,
    • Baltimore, MD,
    • Jun 1, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I really love Hulu. Watching my favorite shows whenever I want. However, I hate the commercials and the slow loading.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • If you like paying for commercials

    • By Kelsie Newby,
    • The trees of Orange County,
    • Feb 21, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I was in love with Hulu Plus when I first got it. There were SO many shows that I wanted to watch, it was great! Then they all started disappearing, and less and less episodes were online long enough to actually watch them, and I found myself waiting for the end of the season, when the entire season would be available on Netflix.

    The selection of programs and movies is huge, which is great, but the commercials, or should I say the one commercial, is annoying. A 25 minute episode will have nice minutes of the same commercial looping over and over throughout the show, and not in any sort of convenient spot, but mid word, or in the middle of some really deep dialog or something. Then, by the time the show is back on, you have no idea what happened. On a personal level, I was interested in too many shows to actually keep up with them, before they would time out. Episodes are only kept online for 4-6 weeks, and if you're employed, most likely, you'll miss a few episodes.

    As far as recommending this, I'm torn. It's a really great service, if you just cannot wait for the whole season on Netflix or DVD, or if you miss an episode on live TV, however, as a stand alone service, it won't do. I understand that in order to keep the price of the subscription low, there must be sponsored commercials, but it seems like they have increased the number of commercials per episode.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Great selection of shows. Mediocre app.

    Overall Experience:

    Hulu has a ton of TV shows that I like to watch, much more so than Netflix. I can't say the same for movies, but I think that's been getting better.

    My biggest problem is Hulu's mobile app. The newer interface is worse than the last and it's harder to navigate, especially if you want to scroll through a lot of different shows. Also casting Hulu to my TV is hit-or-miss. Sometimes the cast icon disappears altogether or I have to close and open the app again because it freezes.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Live sports streaming

    • By Ray Wenger,
    • Georgia,
    • Dec 4, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have super high speed. No trouble with other premium services except for live streaming of major sporting events.

    Buffering is immediately a problem and recurring buffering makes watching impossible. I have to wait until near end of the game or get On Demand later. So, if you're having friends over for the big game expect the guests to find reasons to leave early.

    All other live streaming On Demand and otherwise is fine. Only live events have the problem.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Could be better

    • By Maha C,
    • New York, NY,
    • Apr 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have the most basic version, and while the selection of shows is much better than Netflix, the commercial breaks are very long. For new episodes, I just end up watching them on the TV networks' own website since even they offer shorter commercial breaks despite being free.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Unimpressed

    Overall Experience:

    Cutting cable and satellite TV was exhilarating...Hulu was 99% of that exhilaration for about 3 weeks. Prices went up and service takes a step back. Too bad they can't do that with the cost of Hulu. I am now unimpressed and considering my options. Hulu is not the only game in town but you would think they are the way they handle service. It is next to impossible to chat with them...without pushing off upgrades like TV EXPERT ON DEMAND FOR $49.00 A MONTH. Wow...how arrogant. So I must be off to search for alternatives to Hulu.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • No local stations on live package

    • By Kim T.,
    • Ashland, WI,
    • Jun 22, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 2+ years
    Overall Experience:

    I live very close to Lake Superior in Wisconsin. When I turn on the news it seems I always get different stations that do not report news and weather in my area. Every once in a while we’ll get Duluth news, but at least they do report some of the news but definitely our weather. I’ve tried to contact Hulu to no avail. Very disappointed!

    Pros and Cons:

    • Better than satellite
    • We can switch to our winter home
    • No local news
    • Too many ads

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-27 of 208

Write a Review for Hulu!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Hulu