• 208 Customer Reviews
  • 10% Recommend This Service
1.6 out of 5
5 star: 4% 4 star: 2% 3 star: 5% 2 star: 23% 1 star: 63%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Ads? Seriously?

    • By Carie,
    • Herndon, VA,
    • Jun 25, 2013
    Overall Experience:

    The fact that you have to pay to watch shows with ads is really annoying! Not worth it at all!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Hulu isn't that great

    • By Beech bum,
    • Missouri,
    • Jun 9, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    We've had Hulu plus for over a year. I don't mind paying the low price and having to watch a few ads per episode. It is frustrating, however, that 3 30 second commercials freeze and take 10 minutes because of my "poor connection" (which isn't poor at all. We have great Internet service and connection. When we have playback errors, my hubs checks the speed, and it's always where it is supposed to be, so Hulu's full of it!).

    Also, Hulu, I don't want to choose an "ad experience". No one cares. Get rid of this "service" and just play ads automatically!

    If it weren't for the frozen ads and playback errors, I'd love Hulu. Honestly though, I'm thinking about getting rid of it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not impressed at all!

    • By Jeff,
    • Clarksville TN,
    • Jun 11, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    Second day of Hulu Plus and there's too many commercials. Really? Not shows I want, in other words no GOOD selection! Just terrible, not even interested in the rest of my free trial. Don't waste your time and definitely don't pay for Hulu Plus!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Terrible Selection with Many Ads

    • By Annette Ahlmann,
    • Lancaster, CA,
    • Aug 7, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    Like the title says, too many "three minute clips" and very few episodes or movies. Also so many adds it is like watching regular TV.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not worth your time or money

    • By Karen,
    • Wilkes Barre, PA,
    • Jun 9, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I always wanted to get Hulu plus and finally got it and it is constantly loading, and too many commercials for a 1/2 hr. tv show, with the loading a 1/2 hr turns into 46 min. So after only 4 days we canceled Hulu plus, had Netflix 2 years never had that problem, and I wanted to see my One Life To Live again, but was not worth the hassle.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Sucks, bad, horrible, waste of money

    • By Janet,
    • Brooklyn, NY,
    • Jun 11, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    Stuck all the time. ADs all the time. Waste of time and money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Terrible don't pay for it!

    • By Robin,
    • Houston, TX,
    • Jul 19, 2013
    Overall Experience:

    Ridiculous That you have to pay for something that has so many commercials. Netflix is way better with none.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Just signed up with Hulu and that was a mistake.

    • By Lysiane,
    • Philadelphia , PA,
    • Jun 11, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    This is nonsense with all the constant annoying and long commercials.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Hulu Plus is a rip off

    • By Clea,
    • Rahway, NJ,
    • Jun 11, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I am extremely disappointed with Hulu plus. I have Apple TV and had to get either Hulu Plus or Netflix. What bothers me is not only do you have to pay for the subscription and suffer through the many commercials, but there is an ADDITIONAL per episode fee for most of the good shows!

    It feels like they are gouging. And it's extremely annoying that you can't fast forward through the commercials like you can with TiVo or a DVR. Things are suppose to get better with time, not worse.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don't waste your time

    • By Ali Dupa,
    • Minneapolis, MN ,
    • Jun 11, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    Honestly would NEVER pay for their services. So glad there was a free trial. You can't see full episodes, there really isn't any point. Go to the show's network such as CBS, NBC, ABC to watch the episodes for FREE on there. What is the point Hulu?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • not too happy

    • By Vanessa,
    • Austin, TX,
    • Jun 11, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    When I first got Hulu plus I was excited to get the chance to see shows that aren't on Netflix, but ended up to be a disappointed. I not only am sad to see the little amount of shows they actually have on Hulu plus, but what ends up happening is once I do find a show I enjoy, Hulu skips around with the episodes so I never get to watch the series in its entirety.

    Also, I am quite disappointed with the selections Hulu plus has, and hope that one day they will add more movies and shows to make the monthly bill worth it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Commercials

    • By Roberta Traband,
    • Temecula, CA,
    • Aug 7, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I will be canceling my subscription after viewing a show. I became very upset that even with a paid subscription I was subjected to obnoxious commercials.

    Unbelievable. 

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Very horrible trend in online media

    • By Sean ford,
    • Olympia, Wa,
    • Jul 29, 2013
    Overall Experience:

    Charging a monthly fee and interrupting shows with frequent ads is one show of the worst things a online media site could conger up. I will not be continuing my subscription. We had to watch over 9 ads in one 45 minute show.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • I pay $7.99/month to be advertised to?

    • By Rob,
    • Pennsylvania, USA,
    • Jun 11, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I was thinking of getting it because they carry South Park episodes, which Netflix got rid of recently (and caused me to get rid of Netflix).

    These ads are killing me. Why am I being advertised to after paying a fee? I'm in the free trial. I'll probably cancel.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Ripping people off

    • By Stephanie,
    • Madison, WI,
    • Jun 20, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    Hulu plus is horrible! Not only do you have to pay and you still get commercials, but they were still billing me for months after I canceled my account. When I emailed them about the problem they emailed back telling me they couldn't find an active account. Duh, I canceled it. I know of three other people this has happened to.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Stick to Netflix

    • By Jamie,
    • Columbus, Ohio,
    • Jun 12, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I got Hulu plus mainly to watch The Mindy Project and it is a huge hassle every time. My internet connection is fine, but the videos take forever to load and it freezes all the time. The video will just suddenly turn into blurry lines of color and the only way to get rid of it is to refresh and deal with it freezing. I haven't even mentioned the Ads Seriously, ads. What am I paying for if they still make me sit through obnoxious commercials 3-4 times a 20 minute show. And then some of the ads don't work with my pop-up filters, so it stops the video and won't let me continue the show. What the heck. I have no problems with Netflix or watching any number of free, legal videos on Fox, ABC, etc. Hulu has a long ways to go if it wants to be a serious competitor to other streaming services.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Why would anyone pay for this?

    • By Anne,
    • Iowa,
    • Aug 10, 2013
    Overall Experience:

    I'm about one week into a 2 month free trial. Frankly, I'm not even sure that I'll bother using the whole two months -- that's how much I dislike this. Why on earth would I pay a monthly fee to watch re-runs and then have to sit through so many ads in each episode that the programs often feel disjointed -- and the ads frequently seem to be inserted into some of the most inconvenient spots.

    I'm trying to watch the "Jeeves & Wooster" series right now and every single time there is an ad break, it freezes and I've had to sit through a few of the ad breaks 2-3 times before I can get past them to get back to the program.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not worth your money.

    • By Samantha ,
    • Parkersburg, WV,
    • Jun 20, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I like Hulu Plus. But if I'm paying for this experience, why include ads? I downloaded this on my WII and it was so slow I couldn't stand to watch anything. It's not worth your money. Frankly, you pay for ads every four minutes and it's bad quality.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Hulu Plus new app interface

    • By Amy ,
    • Frederick, MD,
    • Jun 20, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    The new interface for the app is horrible. It has us thinking seriously about dropping the service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Waste of Money

    • By Yulia,
    • Seattle, Washington,
    • Sep 9, 2013
    Overall Experience:

    I tired it and found that it was not worth the money. All the shows I really wanted were not there (like Hell on Wheels, Mad men or other good ones)

    Netflix is a better deal for the same type of service I Think.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Hulu plus sucks!

    • By Hoover,
    • Indiana,
    • Jun 20, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I have Hulu Plus on my Roku box. It's a joke and a waste of money. iI freezes constantly - I can't enjoy one show without problems. Customer Service is a joke and they make you feel like the problems on your end. I have Hulu Plus for several months and it's just getting worse. I wish I could rate it a -10 stars.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Hulu Plus still charging my account after I cancelled service

    • By Julie Trzeciak,
    • Fletcher, NC,
    • Jun 8, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I canceled my service with Hulu Plus two months in a row, and they are still billing my checking account. I went online, and Hulu's site states that I have canceled my account, so why are they still billing my checking account. This is really frustrating. I'm calling my bank tomorrow to get this fixed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not worth it

    • By Omar,
    • Opelousas, LA,
    • Jun 20, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    Any digital cable provider with DVR has the same shows and you can't fast forward the commercials with Hulu. I've canceled once before but then gave it another try. However, I will cancel again. Also, the apps make it so difficult to find shows.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Freezes constantly

    • By Fred Sanfiord,
    • Santa Barbara, CA,
    • Jun 12, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    Just got Hulu Plus, and am disappointed. It constantly freezes. Sometimes the sound continues, sometimes the video continues but the sound stops. Can put up with the horrible ads over and over, but I expected a good technical product. I use a Roku box, and have had no problems with Netflix, Pandora, Amazon etc. Forget it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • If I could give a negative rating I would

    • By Roger Tilton,
    • Washington DC,
    • Nov 10, 2013
    Overall Experience:

    Titles are hard to find Adding to your queue is difficult Adding a season to your queue is impossible They delete programs that you have added to your queue without notice.

    Discovering if an episode is recent or ancient is impossible.

    I think the entire functionality of the site depends upon the device you use and is not consistent between devices. They are no competition for Netflix or Amazon Prime and while they are cheap, they simply are not worth it. The entire site and viewing experience should be rethought.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Rip Off of my money

    • By Ronald Goodman,
    • CA,
    • Dec 6, 2013
    Overall Experience:
    I paid for two months and never used this service, however they sent me a notice saying we will charge you until the end of the month so you can continue to use our service until the month is up. But when I tried my service was dead, thanks for cheating me out of my money !

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • NOT worth a penny, let alone $8

    • By Amy & Jason,
    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • Jun 8, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    Signed up for the free trial after having Netflix for a year now, because Netflix has very limited seasons of episodes. I believed at the time that Hulu Plus did NOT have ads whereas regular Hulu did. This is SO NOT the case!

    Hulu Plus states they have "approximately 2 ads per 1/2 hour" but there are WAY more than that!

    Hulu Plus will force you to watch the ad, then claim a "streaming problem" and not let you watch the show! It will do this over and over, so that you watch ads and never get rewarded with a show.

    When it does play, it cuts out, the streaming is not stable. Its not my connection, because I never lose WiFi signal on any other devices, including PS3 online, which is the same device playing the Hulu.

    They don't even have full seasons of shows! We tried to watch a series yesterday (Agents of Shield), only to realize they only had episodes 3, 7, 8,9, and 11.Not even the pilot so you could get a decent grasp of the show! Another show (Once Upon a Time) only had season 3, not seasons 1 or 2, which ARE available on Netflix!

    We will definitely NOT be renewing when the free trial is up, this service isn't worth a single penny. If you like ads, just watch regular TV! Personally, I don't, so the ads just make me want to go out of my way NOT to patronize the featured brands. I would be much more likely to give them my business with a simple "this show brought to you by" before each episode.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-27 of 208

Write a Review for Hulu!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Hulu