• 208 Customer Reviews
  • 10% Recommend This Service
1.6 out of 5
5 star: 4% 4 star: 2% 3 star: 5% 2 star: 23% 1 star: 63%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Advertisements on a subscription service? Are you serious?

    • By Tommy,
    • Salt Lake City, UT,
    • Aug 12, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I am on day two of my 7-day trial period, and I am already thinking of cancelling my subscription. None of the movie or television titles I wanted to watch were available on their service. Their selection is very limited, and why in the world would they insert commercials in the middle of movies? When I watched a few flicks on Cinemax, they didn't insert commercials, so why does Hulu do this? That's absurd. Also, the picture quality wasn't very good. It looks distorted, especially when there's a lot of movement in the scene. I'm not impressed with this service at all.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Ads? Seriously?

    • By Carie,
    • Herndon, VA,
    • Jun 25, 2013
    Overall Experience:

    The fact that you have to pay to watch shows with ads is really annoying! Not worth it at all!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not worth your time or money

    • By Karen,
    • Wilkes Barre, PA,
    • Jun 9, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I always wanted to get Hulu plus and finally got it and it is constantly loading, and too many commercials for a 1/2 hr. tv show, with the loading a 1/2 hr turns into 46 min. So after only 4 days we canceled Hulu plus, had Netflix 2 years never had that problem, and I wanted to see my One Life To Live again, but was not worth the hassle.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Hulu isn't that great

    • By Beech bum,
    • Missouri,
    • Jun 9, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    We've had Hulu plus for over a year. I don't mind paying the low price and having to watch a few ads per episode. It is frustrating, however, that 3 30 second commercials freeze and take 10 minutes because of my "poor connection" (which isn't poor at all. We have great Internet service and connection. When we have playback errors, my hubs checks the speed, and it's always where it is supposed to be, so Hulu's full of it!).

    Also, Hulu, I don't want to choose an "ad experience". No one cares. Get rid of this "service" and just play ads automatically!

    If it weren't for the frozen ads and playback errors, I'd love Hulu. Honestly though, I'm thinking about getting rid of it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Hulu is pathetic

    • By Joey,
    • New York,
    • Jul 7, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    Selection and General Experience:

    *Movie choices are abysmal. Their movies are either really old or low budget things you’ve never heard of. There are some decent documentaries, but no better than what you could get from Netflix.

    *Though Hulu Plus requires a monthly fee, you still have to sit through commercials. Frequently, especially if you’re watching multiple episodes of the same show, you’ll have to watch the same commercial repeatedly. It’s maddening.

    *They list some shows as if they have them to draw people in, but then it turns out they really don't. Sometimes you go to the page for the show and it states straight out they don't actually have it, though I guess they leave it there so it will show up in search results as if they do. Other times, they're just carrying a link to the network site. *Then there's all of the stuff that they can only provide if you have a TV provider to connect. So, you have to be paying a TV provider, paying for Hulu Plus, and still watch the repetitive commercials. If I had a TV provider, wouldn't I just be watching it on TV that way?

    Hulu TV app:

    *There’s regular stuttering. I’m afraid to pause, rewind, or fast-forward because, if it’s not already doing it, this seems to trigger it. Sometimes it's so bad that, not only is it not watchable, but I have to turn the TV off to get it to stop because it won't respond to normal attempts to stop the video. It can't be blamed on issues with the internet connection since 1 episode can play perfectly smooth and the very next one is stuttering to the point of being virtually not watchable right from the beginning, not to mention that the Netflix app isn’t having this problem.

    *Sometimes it freezes in the middle of the episode altogether. When I restart it, it reverts back either to the beginning of the last chapter or even loses the place completely and starts again from the beginning. If usually forces me to sit through the previous commercials all over again.

    *There’s often an excessive loading time before resuming the episode after commercials but, funnily enough, commercials never seem to have a problem.

    Queue:

    *Online and TV app queues are not fully synced. Shows in my queue online often don’t show up in my queue on the app even for shows that are available there if I search for them. *Often, new episodes of shows that I have a subscription for aren’t showing up in my queue and I have to find them and put them there manually. At other times, it puts episodes I’ve already watched and removed from my queue back in again, sometimes days later.

    *The order of the queue and subscriptions in the TV app makes no sense. It's not alphabetical, it's not the order they were originally put on, it's not the order I have them in my queue online; it's just a mess.

    Customer support:

    *Hulu’s system couldn't validate my credit card during the sign up for the 2-week trial. Hulu’s website will only provide a phone number to their Hulu Plus subscribers which, obviously, you can’t become if you can’t sign up. So, I had no other alternative than to send a message to support.

    *Long response times: Days passed with no response. I sent a second message and it still took days to get a response.

    *Canned responses: Eventually, both messages were responded to with the exact same canned response, saying that my card must have restrictions placed on it that prevented online recurring payments.

    *Either don’t fully read messages or ignore information contained in them: They continued to insist the problem was due to card restrictions even after I told them the card had no problems being used with anything else, including online recurring payments for Netflix.

    *No resolution: Ultimately, there was no resolution from Hulu support and I had to find my own workaround (used PayPal with the same card). I enjoyed responding to their survey about how my customer service experience had been.

    All and all, while Netflix and Hulu Plus don’t offer quite the same thing, it’s sad that Hulu Plus charges roughly the same as Netflix while providing a far more shoddy and inferior service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Rather pay for cable

    • By Bob,
    • Urem, UT,
    • Aug 9, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    We only have Hulu plus because of a free subscription on our new TV but it only works on the shows you want to watch sometimes which is annoying and all the commercial ads are ridiculous. I'd rather pay for Netflix and cable instead of Hulu plus. You also get limited show options. I don't recommend to anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Total Frustration

    • By Bea Robinson,
    • Murfreesboro, TN,
    • Aug 12, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I´ve been trying to subscribe and be happy with Hulu plus, but lately It´s been impossible. I just watch Revenge, Scandal, Once upon a time and Beauty and the Beast. Revenge stopped on 13th episode, the same as Once upon a time and Scandal three weeks ago. Beauty and the beast skips from episode 1 to 7 (they don´t have 2 ,3, 4, 5, 6 available) I feel bored about the excessive ads (shows stops every 3 or 4 minutes) and I can tell that the money I paid was a total waste. Feeling unsatisfied.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Paying with Paypal is safe, right? Nope.

    • By Shane,
    • May 25, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I initiated a free trial a few days ago, never tried the service then and to this date haven't, and as a precaution I terminated the recurring subscription -- which in turn terminated the whole trial. So I'm like, shady business practice, okay, not an overly huge deal.

    I contacted customer service and complained that I was never given the trial. They made "adjustments" on my account that claimed to make the free trial possible again. Now I'm all happy that I finally get to enjoy the free trial I so eagerly wanted.

    Well, nope. I activated the free trial of $0.00 and they couldn't verify payment information (no money was in my account), okay. I decided their service was broken, went to Paypal Preapproved Payments list, and completely disabled all of their preapproved charges and thought that'd be the end of it.

    A few days later, a preapproved payment was opened on my account without my consent, and they took the money out. I had other purchases on my accounts made to other websites, and instead of Paypal holding the funds to me like it did, it sent them completely to Hulu.

    So on top of fraud and Hulu taking my money until the dispute is over, they delayed one of my orders. I fervently hate this company and wish to see them go bankrupt. Let's make a campaign to bring them down.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • What, exactly, am I paying for?

    • By Larraine Lage,
    • Miami Beach, FL,
    • Jun 11, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    Hulu is on-demand, with the same amount of commercials as regular TV. If you watch on a device other than on line there are even more commercials. And I'm supposed to pay for it?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not impressed at all!

    • By Jeff,
    • Clarksville TN,
    • Jun 11, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    Second day of Hulu Plus and there's too many commercials. Really? Not shows I want, in other words no GOOD selection! Just terrible, not even interested in the rest of my free trial. Don't waste your time and definitely don't pay for Hulu Plus!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Just signed up with Hulu and that was a mistake.

    • By Lysiane,
    • Philadelphia , PA,
    • Jun 11, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    This is nonsense with all the constant annoying and long commercials.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Wow. Just wow. In a bad way.

    • By Chris,
    • Seattle,
    • Aug 12, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I had been begging my wife to get Hulu Plus for what seems like forever. She finally got tired of the constant freezing and crashing on Netflix and she recently let me get the Hulu Plus trial version. First of all, the crashing is even worse on Hulu service. Ridiculous. If it happens at the beginning, the only irritation is that you had to watch the ads, but if it happens in the middle of a show guess what? You have to sit through all the ads all over again. What is up with that? And what is with the Ads? There is even an ad before the credits, so if you don't know the episode is over, you have to watch an Ad just to come back and see the credits. Bad enough there are even Ads in the first place, for a service you have to pay for. I have emailed them twice already to express my displeasure with their service, but have not received any reply. I doubt I will even last through the free trial. One thing I know for sure is I won't be forking over the cash for this ridiculous joke of a streaming service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • It sucks and barely works

    • By Anonymous,
    • Dallax, TX,
    • Jun 24, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    The only reason I give it 2 stars is because it has shows Netflix doesn't. It sucks other then that.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Terrible don't pay for it!

    • By Robin,
    • Houston, TX,
    • Jul 19, 2013
    Overall Experience:

    Ridiculous That you have to pay for something that has so many commercials. Netflix is way better with none.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Hulu Plus is a rip off

    • By Clea,
    • Rahway, NJ,
    • Jun 11, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I am extremely disappointed with Hulu plus. I have Apple TV and had to get either Hulu Plus or Netflix. What bothers me is not only do you have to pay for the subscription and suffer through the many commercials, but there is an ADDITIONAL per episode fee for most of the good shows!

    It feels like they are gouging. And it's extremely annoying that you can't fast forward through the commercials like you can with TiVo or a DVR. Things are suppose to get better with time, not worse.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Terrible Selection with Many Ads

    • By Annette Ahlmann,
    • Lancaster, CA,
    • Aug 7, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    Like the title says, too many "three minute clips" and very few episodes or movies. Also so many adds it is like watching regular TV.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Very horrible trend in online media

    • By Sean ford,
    • Olympia, Wa,
    • Jul 29, 2013
    Overall Experience:

    Charging a monthly fee and interrupting shows with frequent ads is one show of the worst things a online media site could conger up. I will not be continuing my subscription. We had to watch over 9 ads in one 45 minute show.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • too many commercials

    • By Alana,
    • NC,
    • Dec 13, 2013
    Overall Experience:

    The service is ok... has lots of shows, I can watch on multiple devices... BUT way too many commercials (Feel like I am watching Oprah with 8 commercial breaks in an hour!) No way to fast forward out of the commercials.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Worst paid service of all

    • By Jerald,
    • Feb 21, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Don't purchase this crappy service. If you want anime, you're better off getting Crunchyroll, they are cheaper, have no commercials, and they don't give you a green screen when you're over 20-40 seconds. Plus the shows skip, the use of subtitles is garbage (they fall behind by about 10 seconds), and the load times are horrible. The funny thing about all of this is the fact that the commercials work just fine, it's just the shows you pay more money for than any other service, that have these issues.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Too many ADs

    • By Bharani ,
    • Roanoke, VA,
    • Jun 11, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    Too many ADs gets irritating sometimes. Except that, everything is good/ It's good if you have ads at the beginning and at the end only. But in the middle it is better to have only one ad.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • not too happy

    • By Vanessa,
    • Austin, TX,
    • Jun 11, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    When I first got Hulu plus I was excited to get the chance to see shows that aren't on Netflix, but ended up to be a disappointed. I not only am sad to see the little amount of shows they actually have on Hulu plus, but what ends up happening is once I do find a show I enjoy, Hulu skips around with the episodes so I never get to watch the series in its entirety.

    Also, I am quite disappointed with the selections Hulu plus has, and hope that one day they will add more movies and shows to make the monthly bill worth it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Commercials

    • By Roberta Traband,
    • Temecula, CA,
    • Aug 7, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I will be canceling my subscription after viewing a show. I became very upset that even with a paid subscription I was subjected to obnoxious commercials.

    Unbelievable. 

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • I pay $7.99/month to be advertised to?

    • By Rob,
    • Pennsylvania, USA,
    • Jun 11, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I was thinking of getting it because they carry South Park episodes, which Netflix got rid of recently (and caused me to get rid of Netflix).

    These ads are killing me. Why am I being advertised to after paying a fee? I'm in the free trial. I'll probably cancel.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not worth the money, new updates less so

    • By Arthur G.,
    • New York,
    • Apr 30, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    At first, Hulu was nice: Plenty of shows and seasons. This decreased by the first 6 months and the "updates" began. Soon shows wouldn't play, ads played more often and after some debate, we stuck to the service and even went ads free with the "No Commercials" option. The shows and movies started to add up again so we figured we'd stay for a bit. Recently, Hulu removed the queue for some automated "Watchlist" that was just as useful as the "Top Picks for You" listings they'd give. Unfortunately, this makes finding and managing your shows impossible. Hulu's only suggestion was to effectively "deal with it" and they have not addressed the issue of multiple user preferences with the new system (family of four using the PS4 for viewing).

    Hulu's feedback team even took it on themselves to block me from posting on their Facebook page because I signed and prominently advertised a petition to at least return the queue (http://www.thepetitionsite.com/502/058/744/hulu-bring-back-the-queue/). Given I'm not the only one they've done this to, I can't say I'll ever be back now and this is someone who spent a fair amount of time giving them chances.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Canceled after 1 month

    • By Kady F,
    • Tampa, FL,
    • Aug 6, 2013
    Overall Experience:

    The ads make it not worthwhile. Constantly have to refresh frozen shows. Not a good selection of shows available. Don't pay for this service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not worth your money.

    • By Samantha ,
    • Parkersburg, WV,
    • Jun 20, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I like Hulu Plus. But if I'm paying for this experience, why include ads? I downloaded this on my WII and it was so slow I couldn't stand to watch anything. It's not worth your money. Frankly, you pay for ads every four minutes and it's bad quality.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • AWFUL. "free trial" is a trap

    • By Nikita Katz,
    • Salt Lake City, UT,
    • Jul 7, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    Charged my card even AFTER I canceled the "plus" account. This "plus" actually means a "minus" – that is, you will regret falling for their "free trial".

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-27 of 208

Write a Review for Hulu!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Hulu