• 208 Customer Reviews
  • 10% Recommend This Service
1.6 out of 5
5 star: 4% 4 star: 2% 3 star: 5% 2 star: 23% 1 star: 63%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Worst streaming service imaginable.

    • By Ron B.,
    • Oklahoma,
    • Dec 7, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Let's see. You pay to stream TV to watch commercials. Huh? I thought that's what you get with free over-the-air programming. Content on Hulu is really bad. Finding a show using their interface is almost impossible. There is enough content on Amazon Prime and Netflix, and with these streaming services, I don't think Hulu is even necessary. Keep in mind, Hulu is not really a streaming service; it is an advertising service. Drop-offs are common except during commercials. In my opinion, this is the junkiest TV I've ever seen.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Live sports streaming

    • By Ray Wenger,
    • Georgia,
    • Dec 4, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have super high speed. No trouble with other premium services except for live streaming of major sporting events.

    Buffering is immediately a problem and recurring buffering makes watching impossible. I have to wait until near end of the game or get On Demand later. So, if you're having friends over for the big game expect the guests to find reasons to leave early.

    All other live streaming On Demand and otherwise is fine. Only live events have the problem.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible experience

    • By Cristian,
    • Seattle, WA,
    • Nov 13, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Don’t get it if you want to watch any live sports as they will just not play. Of course, they tell you it’s your fault or provider never taking responsibility. I am not trying to advertise, but one other service worked well but didn’t have live Fox for football. Just saying.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Absolute waste of time, has many video playback problems

    Overall Experience:

    Absolutely horrible. The only reason I have Hulu is for their extended versions of shows (like Family Guy, which has up to season 16), including their amine, which is always nice, until the video stops to load about every three minutes.

    Horrible streams, great shows, but overall, just a waste of time and energy. Hulu, please fix your crap, then you will beat Netflix.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Hulu does not have television series up to date.

    • By Norma Davis,
    • Georgia,
    • Nov 7, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    When I lived in Brooklyn, New York, Hulu had all the shows shown in a few days from the air date. For example, the Blue Bloods TV series, or the first 48 Hours. If it weren't for my grandson living with me, I would cancel my subscription. The movie list is also a disappointment.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • It stinks

    • By AJ,
    • Northern, CA,
    • Nov 4, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    A few month ago I decided to cut the cord and start streaming. Using Ruku Ultra as my streaming device, I have Netflix, Amazon, plus Sling TV, which was replaced with Hulu + Live TV about a month ago. My internet connection is up to 100MB /second. Hulu + Live TV stinks. There is no guide, so the navigation is absurd. It constantly goes into buffering mode (don't have this problem with Netflix or Amazon). It goes out of sync constantly when watching the news, and the worst of it are the commercials. Even if you are watching a 30-year old sitcom, it forces you to watch the commercials with no fast forwarding capability. I am canceling soon and going back to Sling TV.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • No! Don't waste your time and money!

    • By Alex Ashton,
    • California,
    • Nov 3, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    One month and two long sessions with tech support into Hulu Live, and it is so bad that their advertising qualifies as FRAUD. There are CONSTANT interruptions for "buffering," and when you do get back "live," you usually have lost some content. Utterly impossible to enjoy any live programming, particularly sporting events or anything with live music.

    Do not waste your time on this piece of CRAP. I’m back in the market now, maybe even back to Comcast, much as I hate giving them my money. Anyway, Hulu Live = zero stars out of 100.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Awful customer service

    Overall Experience:

    I enjoyed my free 30-day trial, however, not when it came time for paying for the service. I had gotten a new debit card, and Amazon said my payment update successfully, so I tried to contact Hulu for the hold on my account and it took two days to get through, both days over an hour wait to speak with a customer service rep.

    When I finally spoke with him, he said that I needed to speak with Amazon because payment is not going through. I informed him I had prior to speaking with him, and then he replied back, "well, then you need to speak with your bank and find out the problem." I find it hard to believe if my Amazon purchases went through then it has to be something on Hulu's end, but he did not even care about the customer service aspect of his job because he made the littlest attempt to resolve this issue. Instead, he wanted to dish it out to everyone else's plates.

    I am very disappointed. Working in a career that is customer service based, we will break our back bending over backward for our customers.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible

    • By Juan Barcia,
    • Tampa, FL,
    • Oct 24, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have been trying Hulu, commercial-free, for the past 20 days. Every time I start a show, it crashes several times and then restarts from the beginning.

    I have Netflix and Amazon and have strong internet, and never have had issues like these; pausing, buffering, and crashing.

    I didn’t even finish the 30-day trial.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • The new version

    • By Cassie Seese,
    • Tyler, TX,
    • Oct 15, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The new version of Hulu is complete trash. Everyone I know despises it and it's not even close to being user-friendly. Please provide a way to switch back to the old version. I didn't choose to change it to the new version, so I don't see a way to change it back.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • No good show anymore, just inane sitcom

    • By Viva Feiner,
    • Kingston, NY,
    • Oct 13, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have been one of their customers for quite a while, however, I am thinking of terminating my subscription due to the inane shows they choose to air! Mostly old sitcoms and their new line-up for current TV shows is meager. I am giving them one more month. If their line-up does not pick up, I will drop them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don't waste your money

    • By Porsha,
    • Florida,
    • Oct 12, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have had Hulu for a year and never, ever have I watched one show that didn't pause for 1 to 2 minutes every single time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Constant bufferring

    • By Mary Freeman,
    • Vancouver, WA,
    • Oct 9, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Not sure how fast a speed of internet they recommend but our Hulu Live TV constantly buffers, freezes and blurs out of focus all the time. I got the service mainly for sports, and it is impossible to watch or enjoy. My speed is middle of the road at 20, so I'm guessing you should be advised when subscribing that you'll need the highest of speeds. Otherwise, I loved the channel lineups and viewing options. I wish I could keep the service, but I cannot.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Locals

    Overall Experience:

    While paying for live TV, I did an area code check before subscribing and was supposed to get WXIN, CBS4, and Fox Sports Midwest, but only Fox Sports Midwest is showing up. Numerous calls and online chats with customer service have been useless. I'm not getting what was paying for and still am not able to watch local football on Sunday.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • 30-day free trial is no good

    Overall Experience:

    I signed up for Hulu with a 30-day free trial. Seven days later I was billed $39.99. When I contacted support, he informed me that the 30-day free trial is for HBO and Cinemax and the live TV subscription is seven days only. I explained my concerns to the representative and he avoided every concern I had. He just offered to cancel the subscription. I agreed to cancel the subscription and advised him I would not use Hulu again.

    I'm still confused as to why it said free 30-day trial online when I signed up! I was looking forward to being a long time customer with Hulu, but I'll be choosing a different company after the way the representative handled my concerns.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Hulu interface change and update

    • By Crystal R,
    • Greensboro, NC,
    • Sep 30, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    After reading the reviews I just now discovered that my new LG ultra HD TV was fine, it was Hulu's new interface update that was causing me to keep having to log on, and because of it, I returned the TV.

    I hooked up my Samsung smart TV that had not had a problem with all my streaming services to find since the update Hulu keeps lagging and going back to "restart episode" after almost each commercial for a couple of weeks now. So I go to Netflix, Amazon Prime, and YouTube without any issues, so I have concluded it is Hulu, thus I am almost certain I will cancel this until they get it together, or I may find I don't need them because I can get the same content elsewhere. I just like the fact I could watch shows the next day or whenever I wanted to.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Hulu isn't worth it

    • By Raz,
    • Ohio,
    • Sep 28, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Hulu recently updated their interface, and it is almost impossible to navigate and find desired content. They have a limited library of seasons for popular shows like House Hunters and Chopped so you can run through their content quickly.

    COMMERCIALS; make no mistake, this is not "limited" commercials, despite the name of the description. Same amount of commercials as "commercial" TV, which wouldn't be terrible but if you are watching some of their older content, it is extremely annoying. Sure, if watching the show you missed yesterday, commercials are ok. Binging when it is so full of commercials is not worth doing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Had to cut cord because cable got too expensive

    Overall Experience:

    Hulu is great and has current seasons of TV show's episodes available the day after they air. The no commercial plan is definitely worth it since the ads are very annoying and repetitive. The new update is good but was hard to get used to at first. It's nice that you can have different profiles because different family members can be in different parts of the same show and have different shows in their favorites.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Save you money

    Overall Experience:

    Hulu updated and changed their interface. It is not user-friendly. It has failed to load and play since the update. I am canceling my account after being happy with the service. They just killed a service that wasn't broken. Now it is garbage.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Hulu has fallen far from where it began

    • By H Brewer,
    • Chicago, IL,
    • Sep 25, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I've been a Hulu user for years now. I'm sad to say I'm evaluating even maintaining the basic subscription at this point. The commercials have gotten really outrageous; for a given show, I watch more commercials than content. The interface is a major disappointment. They were clearly trying to emulate the exceptionally well executed Amazon video interface, and fell very short.

    I hope they pull up out of this nosedive because I can get everything I want with very few exceptions in other places.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Bring old interface back!

    • By Jen Schutte,
    • Wisconsin,
    • Sep 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I love Hulu. I live in a home that subscribes, but I'm about ready to tell them to unsubscribe to this rubbish interface! I can't find ANYTHING now! It is horrible to look through, and where did the ratings go? Very disappointing that you didn't get a promotional demo period or something for folks, or make it so you can use this nasty interface if you want or not!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible!

    Overall Experience:

    Ever since the update a few months ago, Hulu has been absolutely awful! It freezes and buffers constantly, like literally every 1-2 minutes. It never did that before the update. What happened?! I dread watching anything because I get so frustrated. I pay money for garbage.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Sucks

    Overall Experience:

    I would NEVER pay for this crappy service EVER. There are long ads that pop up often and end up freezing up the entire thing. I have to restart the console. Ridiculous. I would not use this again or recommend it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Hulu sucks, why am I still paying for this?

    • By Bill,
    • North Carolina,
    • Sep 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    For the record, we pay for ad-free Hulu and not because we minded the ads so much as it was the ads that kept crashing the service. Right now, Netflix 4K is streaming fine and Amazon HD is streaming fine. Hulu, on the other hand, is having constant playback failures and blames my connection.

    Well, it's not my GB synchronous fibre connection that's the issue, Hulu. It's your crappy service. Do us all a favor and delete your "Check your connection" message and replace it with a "We just suck" message.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • First two days.

    • By Denis,
    • Port Orchard, WA,
    • Sep 8, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I created my account on my PC. Then I went to my new LG TV and clicked on the app. They again asked me to sign in. I signed in using the SAME email and password that I used on my PC. Remember, my account on my PC was still open. When I hit enter on my TV, it said: "This email and password are not in our system."

    I then went back to my PC. I tried to "contact" Hulu. The "contact" was a locked system requiring me to again sign in to make "contact." Remember, I was STILL signed into my account on my PC. When I entered my email and password to "unlock" the "contact," the response, "This email and password are not in our system." REALLY? Goodbye Hulu! It's time to move on.

    All other apps that I responded to on my new LG TV were effortless to create and effortless to interphase and navigate. Cutting the cord on cable has been a great adventure. Trying to do it with the help Hulu was a complete waste of my time!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • The best experience I have ever had!

    • By Tracey Hall,
    • Florence, KY,
    • Aug 31, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have a Roku device. Hulu Live is not yet available on Roku, so I thought I might check it out for the free trial on my iPad. I like it but will wait until it is available on Roku. I canceled my Live subscription, but it ended up canceling my complete account. I called customer service and spoke to someone that understands English and fixed my account in seconds! They did not upsell or try to keep me on the phone forever. This is priceless! If they keep this customer service level up, I'm in it for the long run! DO NOT change a thing.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Newest episodes

    Overall Experience:

    Hulu may not have as much content as Netflix or Amazon, but it has the hottest network shows being aired. Most episodes come out a day after their premiere. If you're looking to cut the cable and want the newest shows, Hulu is a must.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


Showing 28-54 of 208

Write a Review for Hulu!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Hulu