• 205 Customer Reviews
  • 9% Recommend This Service
1.6 out of 5
5 star: 4% 4 star: 2% 3 star: 5% 2 star: 23% 1 star: 63%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Don't get hulu

    Signed up for free time and got charged. Contacted company and they said it was my fault. Made no sense at all. I was canceling it all day, I think 4 hours. Don't waste your time or money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Great selection of shows. Mediocre app.

    Hulu has a ton of TV shows that I like to watch, much more so than Netflix. I can't say the same for movies, but I think that's been getting better.

    My biggest problem is Hulu's mobile app. The newer interface is worse than the last and it's harder to navigate, especially if you want to scroll through a lot of different shows. Also casting Hulu to my TV is hit-or-miss. Sometimes the cast icon disappears altogether or I have to close and open the app again because it freezes.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Close to canceling again

    • By Mary,
    • Ohio,
    • Jun 2, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I feel like I'm constantly watching the same stuff over and over. I'd almost rather use my rabbit ears and watch all the local stuff and save my $7.99 plus tax every month. They need to update a lot more often.

    They are about to lose a loyal customer again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Rip off

    • By Trina Do,
    • California,
    • May 30, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I pay $7.99 for shows with commercials Such a rip-off. There are at least 4 breaks in a 20-minute show (including the one before you even start it) and each one has 3 commercials. Also, the placement of the breaks are great because some shows start with the intro and the next break is at the start of the actual show. So you'll need to watch 2 sets of breaks before each show. I know there is an $11.99 version with no commercials, but even then certain shows still have commericals! Pretty ridiculous and a waste of money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Hulu Plus is pretty great

    I don't have many complaints about Hulu Plus. I watch it almost on a daily basis. The only complaint I have is that it has started to adopt the "are you still watching" prompt that drives me crazy about Netflix. If you're marathoning a show, and the remote is far away, it's a lazy man's nightmare.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Junk app

    • By Bello,
    • Santa Clara, CA,
    • May 1, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    It is sad that the app needs resetting before every use. They have no competent software engineers. I have Samsung latest smart curved TV, but Hulu is junk. The CEO of Hulu is stupid. Showtime and Netflix apps work perfectly. There is no zero stars rating available here.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Netflix is better!

    • By Nottwillingyou,
    • Boulder, Colorado,
    • Apr 25, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Show series are not complete. Episodes expire or are missing, and some seasons only have 5% of its episodes! So, if you want to watch a series from beginning or end, prepare to skip episodes or seasons. And there are also commercials, even when you purchase the more expensive option. And commercials are every few minutes!

    You might be better off just watching regular TV. Usually the episodes of new shows that air on TV are available on Hulu, so basically, you can only watch select episodes on Hulu that are on TV. The movie selection is slim, and you can't look up actors, only movie titles!

    Really, go to Netflix: they have complete series, no commercials, and a whole bunch of movies!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Doesn't quite cut it

    • By Rob H.,
    • Austin, TX,
    • Mar 30, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I’ve been a user of Hulu since the days of free content. After skyrocketing into the business world and charging premium prices for what is more often than not mediocre material, I’ve switched to SelectTV. It’s less than half the price of a basic Hulu subscription and arguably better, with loads of content catered toward my taste and with a nice clean interface.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Glorified Netflix

    • By Drew,
    • Pennsylvania,
    • Mar 23, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Defiantly worth it for the price vs. Netflix. Netflix offers too many B-rated movies, if not C. Netflix gives each movie like 4-6 genres.

    It is better than cable! Thanks Hulu.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Why I hate Hulu

    • By Kloe Luken,
    • Isanti, Minnesota,
    • Feb 15, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I hate how Hulu gets rid of shows. I was in the middle of watching Ren and Stimpy (literally in the middle of the show) when my TV pops up a message saying that the show no long is available. This is the first time it's happened. This is just ridiculous. So, I am not happy with Hulu anymore.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Worse one out there

    • By Michael,
    • Tennessee,
    • Feb 15, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Just get Netflix, Amazon Prime or Starz. Hulu is by far the worse one out there.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Waste of money

    • By Dana,
    • Bremen, GA,
    • Jan 14, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    If you enjoy not being able to watch a show without it freezing up, then this is for you. It's a waste of money. Netflix and Amazon work great, but Hulu just freezes again and again. It's the program, not the other stuff they tell you to check 1000 times. I tried to deal with it, but alas I got rid of it. Too bad, because they have stuff Netflix doesn't have.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Video lag

    • By Tim,
    • California,
    • Jan 7, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have watched a few different shows and movies and there has been some serious lag. Makes for a very terrible experience with this service!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Bait and Switch

    Hulu offers "limited commercials," but after the first three days of watching, they give you about equal time for commercials and the show itself. Whenever you try to contact them about this, they offer you "commercial free" at twice the price.

    I hate being lied to. If they had said up front that I would be getting an overload of commercials, I still would have signed up, because it's still a lot less than being bilked by cable TV. I would not have been disappointed.

    Hulu is a real disappointment.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Free trial is a lie

    • By Sarah ,
    • Wichita, KS,
    • Dec 15, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    You said free trial but you tried to put a hold on my account 4 times in one day.

    That account had no money in it until today, which I knew and was not using, and now I was 1.40 negative from your 4 tries. Thanks for that "free trial."

    Might not seem like much that 35 cents I was charged for each try you made, but the fact is it's MY money and YOUR fault. Shame on you Hulu.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Does Hulu ever change its movie selection

    I think I had Hulu for months before canceling a few months back and they maybe added one or two movies a month and the majority of their movie selection seemed to be low-quality. They contained movies no one wants to watch, similar to how Netflix was, although Netflix has improved a lot.

    Hulu needs to change out the entire selection. I signed back up last night excited to get back Hulu after not having it for a few months, but then was highly disappointed to see the content, particularly the movie selection was still exactly the same, and still a horrible selection!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Paying a subcription and the video's don't work

    • By Tony P,
    • Wabasha, MN,
    • Oct 4, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I recently purchased the commercial free subscription ($11.99/month) on Hulu. Everything was fine at the start, now the video's will not play at all. I went through all the recommended troubleshooting that Hulu recommended and nothing worked. I have contacted them several times and they have or will not respond to me.

    Bottom line is that Hulu subscriptions are not worth it. I have canceled my subscription and will be using Netflix and Amazon.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Too many commercials for a paid subscription.

    Not worth it over Netflix. Hulu has way too many commercials for a paid substitution. I might as well watch the programs on regular TV for free.

    And the majority of the programs what offered are garbage. There only think going for Hulu is South Park.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Changes make no sense

    • By Torri,
    • Maine,
    • Aug 14, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I loved Hulu when I signed up about 3 years ago. They had a wonderful product and I dropped cable. I stream through my Xbox and the changes offer no way to search for shows to watch. I have only the list they provide. I found when watching a series the shows don't stay on the series but jump from one show to another. More commercials were added with less quality shows to watch. The Que is now gone which was a selling point for me, being able to manage what I watch. I now have to go through the Watchlist to remove unwanted shows and see if anything new has been added. It is a long undesirable, involved process. I complained and they ignored me. I will drop them as soon as I find an alternative to their product, I don't care for it anymore.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • “Inconsistent programming, "partial seasons" and ANNOYING commercials every 6 minutes.”

    I pay to "watch commercials on Hulu" to the tune of every 6 minutes, there are a bank of 3 "ads". After the "ads" play, there is a black screen for about 15-45 seconds, which is pretty uncomfortable waiting for "something to play". When it DOES come back to the programming, it's been "cut off" and again, inconsistent.

    I was watching "The 100" on Netflix, and saw the full two seasons, then came here to Hulu which is ONLY playing episode 10 and above, which makes NO sense whatsoever.

    The UI (User Interface) is also a MESS: It's sloppy and unorganized, making searching more difficult than need be. Searching for an entire series can be a bunch of "clips mixed in with full episodes". Hulu, get your act together!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Hulu needs improvement.

    • By Candace,
    • Georgia,
    • Jun 30, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Hulu has a descent selection for the money, if you can make through a whole movie without it stopping. It will start and stop over and over. Tech support tells me to check the speed of my connection, but my Netflix and Amazon works just fine. I think I'll stick to what works from now on.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Paying with Paypal is safe, right? Nope.

    • By Shane,
    • May 25, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I initiated a free trial a few days ago, never tried the service then and to this date haven't, and as a precaution I terminated the recurring subscription -- which in turn terminated the whole trial. So I'm like, shady business practice, okay, not an overly huge deal.

    I contacted customer service and complained that I was never given the trial. They made "adjustments" on my account that claimed to make the free trial possible again. Now I'm all happy that I finally get to enjoy the free trial I so eagerly wanted.

    Well, nope. I activated the free trial of $0.00 and they couldn't verify payment information (no money was in my account), okay. I decided their service was broken, went to Paypal Preapproved Payments list, and completely disabled all of their preapproved charges and thought that'd be the end of it.

    A few days later, a preapproved payment was opened on my account without my consent, and they took the money out. I had other purchases on my accounts made to other websites, and instead of Paypal holding the funds to me like it did, it sent them completely to Hulu.

    So on top of fraud and Hulu taking my money until the dispute is over, they delayed one of my orders. I fervently hate this company and wish to see them go bankrupt. Let's make a campaign to bring them down.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Disappointing

    • By Jackie,
    • Midlothian, Virginia,
    • May 13, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I signed up under the false pretense that I would finally be able to watch episodes of The Dr. Phil Show (as I don't have cable), only to find that there were none. Needless to say, I was discontented.

    Don't get me wrong, I'm not just some bitter consumer reviewing negatively because I can't watch my favorite show; that's just the trash-icing on the crap cake. Dr. Phil disappointment aside, the selection in general is terrible, and the commercials are irritating - I'd be better off paying for cable again. Going back to Netflix ASAP.

    I would absolutely recommend Hulu to anyone who finds enjoyment in consuming copious amounts of garbage. If you love trash, please sign up immediately, and be awed as you waste your time and money on god-awful programs and advertisements.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not worth the money, new updates less so

    • By Arthur G.,
    • New York,
    • Apr 30, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    At first, Hulu was nice: Plenty of shows and seasons. This decreased by the first 6 months and the "updates" began. Soon shows wouldn't play, ads played more often and after some debate, we stuck to the service and even went ads free with the "No Commercials" option. The shows and movies started to add up again so we figured we'd stay for a bit. Recently, Hulu removed the queue for some automated "Watchlist" that was just as useful as the "Top Picks for You" listings they'd give. Unfortunately, this makes finding and managing your shows impossible. Hulu's only suggestion was to effectively "deal with it" and they have not addressed the issue of multiple user preferences with the new system (family of four using the PS4 for viewing).

    Hulu's feedback team even took it on themselves to block me from posting on their Facebook page because I signed and prominently advertised a petition to at least return the queue (http://www.thepetitionsite.com/502/058/744/hulu-bring-back-the-queue/). Given I'm not the only one they've done this to, I can't say I'll ever be back now and this is someone who spent a fair amount of time giving them chances.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Worst paid service of all

    • By Jerald,
    • Feb 21, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Don't purchase this crappy service. If you want anime, you're better off getting Crunchyroll, they are cheaper, have no commercials, and they don't give you a green screen when you're over 20-40 seconds. Plus the shows skip, the use of subtitles is garbage (they fall behind by about 10 seconds), and the load times are horrible. The funny thing about all of this is the fact that the commercials work just fine, it's just the shows you pay more money for than any other service, that have these issues.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • If you like paying for commercials

    • By Kelsie Newby,
    • The trees of Orange County,
    • Feb 21, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was in love with Hulu Plus when I first got it. There were SO many shows that I wanted to watch, it was great! Then they all started disappearing, and less and less episodes were online long enough to actually watch them, and I found myself waiting for the end of the season, when the entire season would be available on Netflix.

    The selection of programs and movies is huge, which is great, but the commercials, or should I say the one commercial, is annoying. A 25 minute episode will have nice minutes of the same commercial looping over and over throughout the show, and not in any sort of convenient spot, but mid word, or in the middle of some really deep dialog or something. Then, by the time the show is back on, you have no idea what happened. On a personal level, I was interested in too many shows to actually keep up with them, before they would time out. Episodes are only kept online for 4-6 weeks, and if you're employed, most likely, you'll miss a few episodes.

    As far as recommending this, I'm torn. It's a really great service, if you just cannot wait for the whole season on Netflix or DVD, or if you miss an episode on live TV, however, as a stand alone service, it won't do. I understand that in order to keep the price of the subscription low, there must be sponsored commercials, but it seems like they have increased the number of commercials per episode.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Hulu sucks

    • By Taylor,
    • Thompson, North Dakota,
    • Feb 10, 2016

    They only list the most current few episodes for a show. When I started my free trial in January, I wasn't able to catch up on any of the shows I watch, because I couldn't watch the latest season from the first episode. Dumb, and very frustrating! That is the reason for canceling my subscription.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 55-81 of 205

Write a Review for Hulu!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Hulu