• 146 Customer Reviews
  • 5% Recommend This Product
1.3 out of 5
5 star: 4% 4 star: 0% 3 star: 2% 2 star: 6% 1 star: 86%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Actually like it a lot!

    • By Joe Marotz ,
    • Cedar Rapids, Iowa,
    • Apr 6, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I own 2 vehicles, A 2011 GMC Acadia and a 2008 Mazda 6i. I currently am subscribed to OnStar with the Acadia. I bought Hum for the Mazda as I needed to be able to read the codes, if any, were to pop up. I like how the app works and how much info it provides. For $10 a month I feel as though I am actually getting my money's worth. I called OnStar and found out I was paying $35 a month for similar service. I don't need WiFi for my vehicle nor do I need calling time. My Acadia offers hands free calling without OnStar. So I don't need that either. I will be canceling my OnStar and getting the HUM for my Acadia. For the price it is offering everything I need/want and for less. There are things that could be improved on such as sensitive buttons and a poor speaker. For the lower price, I can live with it. It's not OnStar nor does it try to be. For me it is the best alternative. I have recommended this device to many people.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • HUM was extremely helpful!

    • By Kayla,
    • Luray, VA,
    • Jul 3, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Long story short: I was in an accident that sent me into a median making my car have to drift through the median without flipping. Once I gained control of my car and got out of the median I realized my phone was dead. I had zero ways of calling for help or anything in that circumstance. All of a sudden I hear a mans voice come from the hum speaker that clips to my visor and he helped locate my vehicle, send a police officer to my assistance, and calmed me down until the PO got there.

    Also, I love being able to track how many miles I drive within a week versus how many gallons of gas I use. It has made myself drive more efficiently and has helped me plan out my finances towards my vehicle easier.

    I have read the reviews from previous users and I understand their frustrations, but I love this product, HUM.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Hum is amazing

    • By Jay,
    • Florida,
    • Jul 15, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Hum is amazing, for what you would pay with OnStar, you get much more comparatively. Yes it is a two year deal, but why would that even matter? it's 10 bucks a month. I have a Hum and it does what it's supposed to. It runs in the background and keeps me safe and has some useful tips. Highly recommended!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Paid for itself a dozen times over!

    • By Liz Robinson,
    • Washington,
    • Aug 27, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have a 2001 Dodge Durango, and within three months of having the Hum, we got an error code alerting us to a bad sensor (don't remember which one). My husband was able to get instructions on how to replace it on YouTube, bought the part for $30, and it was done. Repair estimate was almost $300.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Excellent! Hands-free driving, roadside assistance, emergency medical, police and more.

    • By Kelly Stutts,
    • North Carolina,
    • Jan 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I love my Hum unit. My car didn't have built-in hands free driving and I hate Bluetooth earpieces. The Hum resolves that and more for a $10 a month service fee. It also includes vehicle diagnostics warnings, no charge mechanical and emergency roadside assistance, boundaries warnings and vehicle location if the teen goes outside the normal expected area where they should be. Also, has maintenance reminders, stolen car assistance, excess speed overage that can be set from your phone app, and sends you a text warning plus keeps a driving log by month with average speed, distance, idle time, and more.

    Excellent for me, but is a must-have on your teen's vehicle. Can be set up for different drivers on the same vehicle as well. No problems, great service. Love it!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Best investment I have ever made

    • By Jaime F.,
    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Oct 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Very often people that have great experiences with a product don't make the time to share what a great experience they had with a product. It's only the negative experiences that get voiced because often times we want someone to hear and solve the issue.

    In my case, Hum has been an incredible tool for my family and I. Hum was an affordable way to keep myself and loved ones safe on the road and for only $10 a month, it's a no-brainer. Not only does Hum send help your way in the event of an accident, but my teen can get roadside assistance without having to pay anything extra for it. I can monitor his speed and be notified of any issues with his vehicle. This tool is a night are for mechanics because we have all the information at the palm of our hands.

    If you have loved ones on the road and are looking for an affordable way to equip them with the ability to receive help, I absolutely recommend this to everyone. As a four-family member we own this, and we have had a wonderful experience. Don't let all the chatter keep you from making an excellent purchase.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • People expecting too much out of Hum.

    Overall Experience:

    I am really having a hard time believing my eyes and ears on the Hum reviews! Really, for what is charged for the Hum service what should one expect? Yes, it is expected to work as far as connection and it is expected to get any and all the services they advertise but, what was one thing that was attractive to you when you were offered the Hum unit? Sure, the price was in range so come on, give the thing a chance and stop expecting it to work miracles that it never advertised.

    I have had the device for about 6 months now and no it hasn't JUMP started my vehicle or preformed miracles but it was a great thing to have when I locked my keys in the car and it does a great job in locating my vehicle. It also has provided me with great information on the driving history and it is accurate. For what Verizon charges and for the service Hum provides I have been pleased. I never expected the car to turn into a Michael Knight and talk to me or to do miraculous things. So, I can say, Yes I have been pleased with the service. Thank you Verizon.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Not perfect but I didn't expect it to be.

    • By Brian P.,
    • California,
    • Aug 29, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    We got a Hum for our kid's first car. We wanted to know where he is. The GPS function and boundary alerts alone were worth it. The diagnostics are a tool. If something pops up, we send him to our mechanic to check out. We get a discount on our insurance for the vehicle location service for law enforcement. That offsets the 10 bucks per month.

    We do occasionally get false alerts. Nothing more than a little annoying though. I can see why it's not for everyone. It's not a necessity for sure, which is why I only gave three stars.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Not good for GPS

    • By Marie B.,
    • Pennsylvania,
    • Oct 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have had the device for about 4 months. I like it most of the time. When monitoring my driving habits, it has that I was on the phone for 82 minutes. This was because I used the navigation for directions on my trip. This affected my safety score. Otherwise, I have improved my safety score, but it plummets when I use the phone as a GPS. This needs to be changed. I have not been able to get the GPS audibility when driving. I tried to pair it and couldn't. It is real general in locating my car when in a parking lot.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • What it doesn't do

    • By James Carpenter,
    • Williamsport, PA,
    • Jan 26, 2016
    Overall Experience:

    It would be nice if engineers and managers would make a practical device. I would like to see a log of my vehicle, the last oil change and the associated cost. An alarm when the next oil change is due as well as lubrication, transmission, coolant. When I got gas, my average MPG. Each trip's mileage, date, GPS stop duration. The app could have destination added. All of this is needed for IRS log.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Cannot undo a call to Emergency

    Overall Experience:

    I have repeatedly and accidentally called Emergency when I was only trying to reposition the HUM on my visor. Once the Emergency button is pressed, you cannot undo the call. Even when the device is turned off, the Emergency button is active. The design of this device creates false calls to Emergency and I don't like that. When I talked to customer service rep at Verizon yesterday, he told me I had to return it within 14 days to avoid the $115 deactivation charge.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not For Me

    • By DALE,
    • White Lake, MI,
    • Jul 30, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I purchased a HUM from Version. I realized that it was not a good buy for me. It never contacted me in two days as told. I went to show a person how it showed how the location for my car identification wasn't working properly. Took it back within 48 hours yet they charged me $35.00 for a $29.95 product which they never mentioned, not to say what monthly charge I was going to receive, which was an additional $20.00 per month. I would say do not purchase this product as it's a poor value product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Disappointed

    • By Bev,
    • Portland, OR,
    • Dec 16, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    While Hum allows me to see where my kids' cars are located, I have yet to see any true readings concerning the health of the car. This is during a time when the car did show the check engine light and was low on coolant as well as another issue. Hum showed the auto health was perfect with no issues. Have experienced this no less than 4 times on two different vehicles. This piece of equipment is a joke.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Waste of money if there is a vehicle change

    Overall Experience:

    Hum is a good thing when it works. I had a vehicle change, and when we changed the Hum over to the other vehicle, it worked for about an hour to hour and a half and then became incompatible. If it works for a while, there is no reason for it to stop.

    I called into customer service and the first person, when I asked if I was just wasting my money, said "correct." I called back in and the next rep I talked with was so much better and actually explained things, which I appreciated, although it still makes no sense to me.

    So bottom line is, it is a waste of my money for one of the Hums. I have two total and am thankful that one works, and I'm just dupped on the other. I have to pay for nothing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Hum tracking my car and me

    • By Lisa Russac,
    • Levittown, NY,
    • Apr 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    So, I upgraded my phone, and the Hum came with it free. I said ok, it's free, why not. If I don’t like it, I can take it out. So, it is installed, and I downloaded the app. Other than my sister borrowing the car one day that would be the only odd thing that should show up on the app, thinking it is only tracking my car. Well, it is not. The app also tracks you, and if you don’t want that to show up on your report, you have to go into the app on to deselect the trip and check off the passenger choice. Seems fairly easy but if you are someone who takes a train to work every day, it means I have to into my app every day and deselect those trips.

    So, I called Hum about it and said this is the only way to do it because the app tracks your car and you. I said that is counter initiative because the safety score is for the car, not me. If I forget to check off myself as a passenger on my train travel that applies to my score. What if the train derailed and my score was sent to my insurance company? This could pose a problem because one of the perks of having Hum is to document that you are a safe driver and you can get a discount from your insurance company. BUT if it is taking into account my moves, this doesn’t seem right.

    The Hum is a good idea, but it should track the car. Does my Fitbit track my driving? I find this stupid and useless at the point. Update the app to track the car only!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Disappointed

    • By Kathy D.,
    • Tennessee,
    • May 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The locator feature never works on the Hum, which is the main reason for getting it. I read bad reviews before I got Hum, but ignored them and wish I hadn't. Don't waste your money. I'm paying $10 a month for something that doesn't work properly.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Gives false readings of accidents

    • By Marlana M.,
    • California,
    • Oct 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Verizon suggested getting this device for my daughter since she was a new driver. The device was able to detect accidents and location, which I thought it would be a great idea. The location is a little spotty, and at times it would say no location found, but for the most part, the location works okay.

    After about a year in, I get a call at 11:00 at night from the local police department saying the Hum devise on her car alerted Hum that the vehicle had gotten into an accident and they could not get a hold of the driver in the car, my heart stopped. So the local PD was heading out to the last known location of the car, I immediately called my daughter's cell phone, and she answered with "Hey mom, what's up?" I ask her if she's okay and she said she was at a friend's hanging out. I told her I got a call from the PD and they were on the way to her location because they detected an accident with the car. I asked her to go outside and look at her car, maybe someone hit her car while it was parked...nope, nothing.

    I called the PD back and they said unless Hum told them not to go out there they would still go out to the scene. I contacted Hum, asked them to call off the PD and let them do their real jobs. Then I asked them why they would get an alert for an accident if there wasn't one, I cannot describe how I felt getting that phone call, "your 17-year-old daughter got in an accident, and no one is able to get a hold of her." Talk about a HEART ATTACK! Their explanation was, maybe there was loud music that set off the alert...are you kidding me? Unacceptable.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • 2 out 5 is nothing to brag about

    • By James K.,
    • Minneapolis, MN,
    • Jan 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    DON'T buy it if you are going to use it on a diesel. About 1.75 years ago I purchased the Hum for my 2008 F350 diesel. I was told by the Verizon sales force that it was compatible. Great, or so I thought. I first installed it in my Saturn, and it worked great. Perfect.

    I then installed it in my F350 and it only worked for location, MPH, and safe driver report. The MPG registered only 3 MPG! I called Hum and worked with Hum Technical support several different times. After several calls, I was told that the Hum does not work well with diesel vehicles. BUT, we are working on a solution and it should be out soon. Today, 1.5 years later, I received a contract renewal notification and I thought I should get an update about the MPG problem. For the first time when I called Hum Tech support, they were honest. "Sorry sir, there are no plans on making the Hum devices compatible with diesel vehicles."

    I like the fact that I can set alerts to know where the truck is at and how fast it is going (any parent should like that) but what I was told is just not right. I will give the last tech I talked to credit for coming out and also saying, "it just will not work and there is no solution." HELLO, how about a discount on the monthly fee.

    It's like buying a car with one flat tire, you can drive it, but can't put air in it and can't replace it. Hum/Verizon you should be ashamed. Two stars only because of what Hum can do, and three dark stars for what Verizon won't do to resolve it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Hum OBD reader creating ghost signals.

    • By Michael J S.,
    • South Plainfield, NJ,
    • Jul 29, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Two months I purchased a Hum Speaker with Blue Tooth GPS, OBD to monitor engine performance and if a problem came up, a code would be sent to my smartphone. Sounded like a deal not to pass up. Yesterday I was alerted that there was an emission problem and a mechanical problem with the transmission. Took the car to my mechanic and said a ghost code was created by the OBD reader, he removed out of the port and had to reset the module with the machine, there was nothing wrong after that. The port reader is only for a diagnostic tool not for OBD reader, car bulletins were sent out to mechanics regarding this issue, Verizon has no idea of a mechanical issue. And car manufactures did not install the port for this purpose for a reader, if this was true. Dodge would tell me to do this. The OBD is removed and the engine runs better without it. If the check engine goes on I will take it to my mechanic. I terminated the 2-year agreement and the fee was waived by Verizon because of my situation. I missed a day's work and will no longer be interested in promotional offers by Verizon and account was credited. Will keep the Smart Phone and Samsung Tablet. Very disappointed with Hum.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • I think the Hum needs a lot of work, very disappointed

    Overall Experience:

    I do not recommend this to anyone who has a new car or a lease. I have had it since it hit the market, it's very annoying and I dislike it. I get emails everyday, and they are false alerts. I don't know where they come up with these alerts. I took it to the dealership, where I consider them to be professional mechanics, and they hooked my car up to machines for three hours, with no problems, but I still get alternate alerts everyday. That day I called customer service to tell them about these false alerts. I went in the house for 30 minutes, then went back to my car and heard someone talking, and I told them I said good bye, but they said I didn't say good bye. The guy kept calling me Chris, asking "how do you hook this thing up?" I said, "who is this"? He replied "I am a customer", and I said "that's funny, so am I". I said "well, you have a good day", he said "yes, you too". I told him that it's pretty bad when a customer calls another customer's car. How does that work? This is pretty creepy.

    With the false diagnostic alerts, I feel sorry for customers that don't know a lot about cars, and will lose a lot of money to dishonest mechanics. Not recommended, don't was your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • HUM Software Issues. Buyer Beware.

    • By John Waite,
    • Apache Junction,
    • Apr 12, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Bought the HUM per the reps word that it was fully functional, it is NOT! Driving History has not worked from first day. Poor tech support and customer service, promised return phone calls three times and I never got the calls. I get calls now once in a while saying they're sorry I'm having problems. I'M NOT HAVING PROBLEMS, HUM IS. Twice I've been told that they would expedite the problem, still no fix, just blowing a smoke screen. My advice, DO NOT BUY. It's still under development with too many problems. Read the reviews. I don't even trust if my wife broke down if anyone would show up, because vehicle location wasn't even working today. To be fair, if they fix the issues, I will re-rate my review.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Sucky experience

    • By Alan Feuer,
    • Long Island, NY,
    • Apr 23, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Was talked into subscribing to Hum by a Verizon corporate store rep. Purchased the system and after a week and a half was not able to get the product activated. The store was not at fault. Made three trips to the store over this period to try to activate the product. Today the store rep called Hum for the third time and was told that they had no record of the account for the third time. Rep advised me to return the product and gave me a credit.

    I believe that Hum service is owned by Verizon, but this was just another awful experience. My Fios experience was another one. Sorry I purchase a new phone from Verizon. Now locked in for another period.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Verizon Hum Ripoff!

    • By Joe Martinez,
    • Carmel, NY,
    • May 22, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Bought two Hums by Verizon, thought it was a great program. Two weeks into the program, the charge ports on both units collapsed. No problem I said, this is VERIZON, not some "fly by night" company. WRONG! The warranty on these units is only two weeks.

    They make you buy them outright and after two weeks you have to buy a new one! What? That's right, no fix and no replacement. Okay, I'll cancel the service. Well there was a $200 cancellation fee.

    I called VERIZON customer service and was told, “Sorry sir, there's nothing we can do.” Take notice everyone, it's quite unfortunate that a company like VERIZON would play this game!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Hum is a scam

    • By Ci,
    • Tampa,
    • May 29, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Received two, for two different vehicles, was NEVER told you are locked into a two year contract -- first part of money scam. One of the Verizon guy's put it into our first car and got one for our son. He tried to get it to come onto to voice command with the operator. It did not happen, he then said sometimes you have to drive the car for 15 minutes to charge and then it will work. Nope, never did. Went back to the store and again they could not get it to work. So Hum was to send another one.

    We went back to store so they could connect. Yes, it worked for a full day. Took it into the house, charged it with our turbo charger and plugged it into car charger so it would not loose charge. It will not hold charge, third unit in and the same thing. So by this time we never did set up our Son's because we never got our's solved. It is a PIECE Of JUNK and I say it is a scam.

    And now they say you have to pay for another two years because you are on contract or pay a disconnection fee of $105.00 per unit. Can you say "WE GOT SHAFTED" and taken advantage of by a big corporation for their love of money and ot caring about the people who made them a success.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • "Hum by Verizon" VS "Sucks to be you"

    • By Derrick Ford,
    • California,
    • May 30, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I'm stuck in mud in the middle of nowhere and it was both snowing and raining at the same time! Called Hum, the sales person was super quick to get my credit card info and PROMISED that I would be able to get help within the hour. All I had to pay (according to the sales person) was the $89 and maybe, just maybe, a little more to the towing company. So, hours go by and NOTHING. I called them back, and this time they said they want $177 to just come look at it! I said ok, paid the $177 (on top of the $89) and waited. The company calls 2 hours later, and this time they want $1000 because I'm over 25 feet from the road. I still said ok, and they called me back an hour later to let me know that they won't be able to make it till the morning and that they can't guarantee anything!

    What an awesome piece of crap of a company. So to make a long story longer, I spent the night in my truck until a farmer was passing me by with his tractor. I ended up paying him $500 to pull me out and I was every bit grateful. HUM by Verizon simply put is a pure piece of pig poop. You would be better off sending it to me, make checks payable to "Sucks to be you, INC." I guarantee that I will never give you false hope, nor will I ever show up to help you, but hey at least you know I'm being honest. I hope this was enough to deter ANYONE from getting their services.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Do not buy!

    • By Mike Thomas,
    • Jonesboro, GA,
    • Jun 22, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This sounded like a great deal and concept when we were at Verizon upgrading phones. The Verizon rep installed the device and told us after driving around for about 10 miles it would activate. Well, it never did. After a couple of days when we were on a long road trip we called Hum customer service, this part you won't believe – we were told to turn the car off remove the device, restart and yes, give it about 10 miles and it would activate. The crazy part is after the fourth call and being told the same thing again, I demanded tech support, he could communicate with the device but not start it, so he told me he would refer it to engineering and they would call me in a couple of days! I asked for a supervisor who repeated the same ridiculous response. We took it back to Verizon!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • In-Drive Worked Fine - HUM is a bum!

    • By Lou,
    • South Carolina,
    • Aug 3, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    HUM Signed on in May 2016 to replace the In-Drive device that was being phased out. The 1st HUM device never worked. After numerous calls to HUM they replaced the unit. We'll unit 2 never worked either. I never had any problems with my In-Drive device, it always worked. The HUM device is JUNK! The tech service is very friendly, but they can't do anything to fix it. I have called weekly to check status, they promise they are working on it and will call me back yet they never do. I will be terminating service and shopping for another provider. I will file a legal suit if they attempt to keep me locked in some form of a contract.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-27 of 146

Write a Review for Hum by Verizon!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Hum by Verizon Reviews