• 146 Customer Reviews
  • 5% Recommend This Product
1.3 out of 5
5 star: 4% 4 star: 0% 3 star: 2% 2 star: 6% 1 star: 86%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • I think the Hum needs a lot of work, very disappointed

    Overall Experience:

    I do not recommend this to anyone who has a new car or a lease. I have had it since it hit the market, it's very annoying and I dislike it. I get emails everyday, and they are false alerts. I don't know where they come up with these alerts. I took it to the dealership, where I consider them to be professional mechanics, and they hooked my car up to machines for three hours, with no problems, but I still get alternate alerts everyday. That day I called customer service to tell them about these false alerts. I went in the house for 30 minutes, then went back to my car and heard someone talking, and I told them I said good bye, but they said I didn't say good bye. The guy kept calling me Chris, asking "how do you hook this thing up?" I said, "who is this"? He replied "I am a customer", and I said "that's funny, so am I". I said "well, you have a good day", he said "yes, you too". I told him that it's pretty bad when a customer calls another customer's car. How does that work? This is pretty creepy.

    With the false diagnostic alerts, I feel sorry for customers that don't know a lot about cars, and will lose a lot of money to dishonest mechanics. Not recommended, don't was your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • HUM Software Issues. Buyer Beware.

    • By John Waite,
    • Apache Junction,
    • Apr 12, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Bought the HUM per the reps word that it was fully functional, it is NOT! Driving History has not worked from first day. Poor tech support and customer service, promised return phone calls three times and I never got the calls. I get calls now once in a while saying they're sorry I'm having problems. I'M NOT HAVING PROBLEMS, HUM IS. Twice I've been told that they would expedite the problem, still no fix, just blowing a smoke screen. My advice, DO NOT BUY. It's still under development with too many problems. Read the reviews. I don't even trust if my wife broke down if anyone would show up, because vehicle location wasn't even working today. To be fair, if they fix the issues, I will re-rate my review.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Sucky experience

    • By Alan Feuer,
    • Long Island, NY,
    • Apr 23, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Was talked into subscribing to Hum by a Verizon corporate store rep. Purchased the system and after a week and a half was not able to get the product activated. The store was not at fault. Made three trips to the store over this period to try to activate the product. Today the store rep called Hum for the third time and was told that they had no record of the account for the third time. Rep advised me to return the product and gave me a credit.

    I believe that Hum service is owned by Verizon, but this was just another awful experience. My Fios experience was another one. Sorry I purchase a new phone from Verizon. Now locked in for another period.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Verizon Hum Ripoff!

    • By Joe Martinez,
    • Carmel, NY,
    • May 22, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Bought two Hums by Verizon, thought it was a great program. Two weeks into the program, the charge ports on both units collapsed. No problem I said, this is VERIZON, not some "fly by night" company. WRONG! The warranty on these units is only two weeks.

    They make you buy them outright and after two weeks you have to buy a new one! What? That's right, no fix and no replacement. Okay, I'll cancel the service. Well there was a $200 cancellation fee.

    I called VERIZON customer service and was told, “Sorry sir, there's nothing we can do.” Take notice everyone, it's quite unfortunate that a company like VERIZON would play this game!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Hum is a scam

    • By Ci,
    • Tampa,
    • May 29, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Received two, for two different vehicles, was NEVER told you are locked into a two year contract -- first part of money scam. One of the Verizon guy's put it into our first car and got one for our son. He tried to get it to come onto to voice command with the operator. It did not happen, he then said sometimes you have to drive the car for 15 minutes to charge and then it will work. Nope, never did. Went back to the store and again they could not get it to work. So Hum was to send another one.

    We went back to store so they could connect. Yes, it worked for a full day. Took it into the house, charged it with our turbo charger and plugged it into car charger so it would not loose charge. It will not hold charge, third unit in and the same thing. So by this time we never did set up our Son's because we never got our's solved. It is a PIECE Of JUNK and I say it is a scam.

    And now they say you have to pay for another two years because you are on contract or pay a disconnection fee of $105.00 per unit. Can you say "WE GOT SHAFTED" and taken advantage of by a big corporation for their love of money and ot caring about the people who made them a success.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • "Hum by Verizon" VS "Sucks to be you"

    • By Derrick Ford,
    • California,
    • May 30, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I'm stuck in mud in the middle of nowhere and it was both snowing and raining at the same time! Called Hum, the sales person was super quick to get my credit card info and PROMISED that I would be able to get help within the hour. All I had to pay (according to the sales person) was the $89 and maybe, just maybe, a little more to the towing company. So, hours go by and NOTHING. I called them back, and this time they said they want $177 to just come look at it! I said ok, paid the $177 (on top of the $89) and waited. The company calls 2 hours later, and this time they want $1000 because I'm over 25 feet from the road. I still said ok, and they called me back an hour later to let me know that they won't be able to make it till the morning and that they can't guarantee anything!

    What an awesome piece of crap of a company. So to make a long story longer, I spent the night in my truck until a farmer was passing me by with his tractor. I ended up paying him $500 to pull me out and I was every bit grateful. HUM by Verizon simply put is a pure piece of pig poop. You would be better off sending it to me, make checks payable to "Sucks to be you, INC." I guarantee that I will never give you false hope, nor will I ever show up to help you, but hey at least you know I'm being honest. I hope this was enough to deter ANYONE from getting their services.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Do not buy!

    • By Mike Thomas,
    • Jonesboro, GA,
    • Jun 22, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This sounded like a great deal and concept when we were at Verizon upgrading phones. The Verizon rep installed the device and told us after driving around for about 10 miles it would activate. Well, it never did. After a couple of days when we were on a long road trip we called Hum customer service, this part you won't believe – we were told to turn the car off remove the device, restart and yes, give it about 10 miles and it would activate. The crazy part is after the fourth call and being told the same thing again, I demanded tech support, he could communicate with the device but not start it, so he told me he would refer it to engineering and they would call me in a couple of days! I asked for a supervisor who repeated the same ridiculous response. We took it back to Verizon!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • In-Drive Worked Fine - HUM is a bum!

    • By Lou,
    • South Carolina,
    • Aug 3, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    HUM Signed on in May 2016 to replace the In-Drive device that was being phased out. The 1st HUM device never worked. After numerous calls to HUM they replaced the unit. We'll unit 2 never worked either. I never had any problems with my In-Drive device, it always worked. The HUM device is JUNK! The tech service is very friendly, but they can't do anything to fix it. I have called weekly to check status, they promise they are working on it and will call me back yet they never do. I will be terminating service and shopping for another provider. I will file a legal suit if they attempt to keep me locked in some form of a contract.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • A Nuance That Provides Zero Value

    • By Kenny Wood,
    • Pittsburgh, PA,
    • Aug 11, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Verizon Hum's radio frequency's interfered with the TPS in my vehicle (Ram 1500, 2012) causing the warning light to show on my dash. When I agreed to the service, during my phone upgrade, I was told that there would be no charge for the device. Now I see a charge on my bill that I don't agree with. I contacted Verizon support and they claim that there is nothing that they can do to cancel the service and nullify the monthly charge that I'm stuck paying (other than pay the cancelation fee of $115).

    So other than Verizon Hum being a nuance, it provides zero value for the monthly charge that I am forced to pay. Another one of Verizon's rip-off scams.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • No service

    • By MB,
    • Chicago,
    • Aug 14, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I've had Hum for a few weeks. My car totally broke down today.

    1. Diagnostic check found no problems, no alerts

    2. Jill at Hum connected us to a tow service who charged my credit card $1 as a test charge to verify my credit, said the driver would text within 10 minutes. An hour later after not hearing from anyone, we called Hum again, who had no record of our call, so we started over.

    3. It took several hours for a tow truck to arrive.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Does NOT work in an Emergency

    Overall Experience:

    I went to the Verizon store in Lone Tree to upgrade my phone and add my daughter to my plan. I was told by the woman helping me that the best price she could give me would only be available if I added the hum to my account. It wasn't something that I wanted but I was told that if I didn't add the hum to my account that my monthly cost would be a lot higher. At any rate, I drive an older vehicle so when she told me that it will run diagnostics on my vehicle and tell me when something is wrong with your car I thought it might night be all that bad. She also told me that if I was in an accident that I would be contacted immediately.

    Hum worked as far as letting me know when there was something wrong with my car. It sent me notifications twice and I was able to get my vehicle repaired right away. However, it failed miserably when I really needed it. I was involved in a car accident which totaled my car. I did not receive a call from the emergency person; as a matter of fact they have no record of my car being involved in an accident at all. When I called Verizon about it their response was that I have a two year contract and can't get out of it. That wasn't my question. I wanted to know (1) why it didn't work and essentially left me stranded for 2 hours until I could find someone to pick me up and the police had the car towed to a shop to get it out of the middle of the road; and (2) what do I do with the device now that I no longer have a vehicle.

    I spent over 40 minutes on the phone with Verizon, who told me they were transferring me to the hum customer service. When I spoke to that person, I was informed that he was going to transfer me to the hum customer service, that he was in IT for Verizon. Finally I get the hum customer service department and they had no answers -- gee we don't know why the device didn't work. It should have. Let me put you on hold ... at that point I told the guy to just get some answers and call me back.

    I've been a customer of Verizon around 1990 and have never gotten the run around like I did today. I was essentially tricked into adding this service to my phone by saying without the device my monthly bill would be higher and then when I called to ask why it didn't work being given the run around but no answers. Seriously, my car is totaled and on its way to the junk yard and all Verizon has to say to me is that I have a 2 year contract. Not, sorry the device didn't work; or sorry you were in a car accident and the device failed; or what can we do to help you.

    Very disappointed in Verizon. Very disappointed in hum. I would not recommend hum to anyone. And for the first time since I joined Verizon I don't know that I would recommend them anymore either.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Hum is a bum

    • By Dee,
    • Tennessee,
    • Sep 8, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My husband was talked into buying the Hum by a slick-talking salesman. He was not given all the details about price, not being able to get out of the deal if you are not satisfied, etc. His Hum is working. Mine is not. My car starting missing on me yesterday, the day after installing the device and it gave us no information on the problem. If we cannot get out of the contract, we will likely be getting our phone service through someone else in two years. I have had it with Verizon.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Ho-hum

    • By J. Hawk,
    • Waco, TX,
    • Sep 29, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The OBD reader has so far worked fine. The speaker on the Hum is a piece of crap, it's hard to hear, and it causes a lot of confusion with the unit in trying to use voice commands for my phone. I was sold on this by the salesperson who told me I would get a discount on my car insurance for having it and the discount would be more than the monthly charge.

    WRONG! Sorry, but Farmers does not give a discount for this device. The majority of times that I have tried to use it with my IPhone while driving I have had to turn off Bluetooth to bypass the hum so I could communicate with/thru my phone hands-free. I didn't need the device but thought that the insurance discount would pay for it so I took it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Hum experience

    • By Greg,
    • King of Prussia, PA,
    • Oct 10, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I was given this device as a "gift" by the Verizon salesman when my wife purchased a new phone. There was no mention of the monthly fee and having to open a new cellular phone number. When I realized later the cost, I wanted to return the device but was told I would have to pay a $35 restock fee. And the salesman told me I was getting a discount on my wife's monthly phone rate to keep the Hum, which was not true. Very unhappy with the Verizon experience. Seems the high sales goals placed on sales staff is making them ruthless in selling unwanted services.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Unreliable and bad customer service

    • By Dan,
    • Lima, Ohio,
    • Oct 27, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Don't use HUM! The Customer service can do nothing to help when there is a "cannot connect to the server" message. They tell me next time I have the car to re-plug the reader in and try again.

    If I could locate the car, I wouldn't need to do that!

    I will return the HUM and try another service immediately! This has happened so many times that I can never trust if the HUM will work or not.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Stay away from the Verizon hum - SCAM

    • By Kathy Blake,
    • Cambridge, MD,
    • Nov 9, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I was convinced that the Hum was a great addition to my car just under 2 weeks ago. I signed up for the service and went back 4 days later to have the unit installed in my vehicle. This thing has been a piece of crap from the get go.

    10/21/2016 - I went to the Verizon store for installation. We kept getting a message that the Hum was not detected. It turned out, I had to drive for 30 minutes continuously to activate it.

    10/22/2016 - Received an email stating my hum had been successfully activated.

    10/21/2016 - 10/28/2016 - my car drove fine without any issues.

    10/29/2016 - I got into my car to go take care of my post surgical daughter and granddaughter who had been bitten by a dog and within 2 miles from my driveway, my car stalled and would not start in the middle of an intersection. I called my husband to come help me and my mechanic who lives just feet from the intersection. My mechanic went through some simple diagnostics (checked gas, etc...) and I checked the Hum. There were no messages. I told my mechanic that there were no messages on the Hum and he had me explain what and how the Hum works. When I told him it was plugged into the OBDII port, he said to unplug it as the dongles offered by the insurance companies were causing drive-ability problems in many vehicles. I unplugged the dongle, my car started and has run fine with NO issues since. Today is 11/1/2016.

    10/28/2016 - I called Hum customer service and explained what happened. The tech support person offered to switch out my defective unit. I declined. I am returning the unit and will have to pay $39.95 and a $120 early termination fee.

    My thoughts on Verizon's Hum:

    While it's a good idea, it sucks and I feel it is a scam. First, here I drive a minimum of 500 miles per week and could use the security it is supposed to offer but it only offers a headache. It causes your car to breakdown and then you push that handy blue button for you guessed it, Verizon's roadside assistance. You can have the tow truck dispatched to take you to the nearest repair facility at a big charge and you also get an increased phone bill. When you come to the realization that the Hum is what killed your car, you go to return it and get charged a $39.95 return fee when the unit only cost $30 plus a $120 early termination fee. Other issues have been reported with other types of vehicles http://www.titantalk.com/forums/titan-general-discussion/339713-verizon-hum-killing-transmissions-nissan-ford.html

    I cannot stress enough to stay away from the Verizon Hum. It is a scam. I plan to file a complaint with the Better Business Bureau in Maryland as well as the Attorney General's Office.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Doesn't work!

    • By Kimberly,
    • Sullivan County, NY,
    • Nov 22, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Bought this for an older vehicle that I was driving late at night. The service just doesn't work. Had to call and reset repeatedly. I seriously wonder how it would help me if I did happen to have a breakdown during the 80% of the time that the little box wouldn't connect.

    You are supposed to mount it on your visor, but it is connected to a cord that hangs down. It not only looks bad, it is also in the way. My vehicle was having transmission problems as well as a rear differential issue and the OBD reader didn't pick any of it up.

    My service was canceled numerous times because I didn't want to pay for someone that didn't work. But they continued to charge my credit card even after receiving cancellation notices via email. This happened four times.

    Once Verizon gets your card number, they will just continue to hit it up. So beware.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • HUM's a Bum.

    Overall Experience:

    I started my HUM service in November of 2016. I had to use the roadside service once, and everything went smoothly, but I had to pay $14.95 for the towing. If your mechanic is more than 10 miles away, you pay $1 per mile. That is a lot especially when I consider that at $10 per month, I am paying $120 per year for their roadside service. I have paid far less to other roadside service providers and typically was covered up to 25 miles.

    Secondly, my battery was leaking acid and one of the battery terminals was corroded by the acid. HUM reported my battery to be "healthy." Additionally, my front brakes were squeaking badly (I had to have them replaced). I never received one auto health alert from HUM.

    Last of all, the speaker is a joke. I can hardly hear the person at the other end of the line.

    Bottom Line: If you like throwing your money away, get HUM. I am stuck until November 2017 due to Verizon's iron-clad contract. I do not recommend this service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Beware

    • By Chuck,
    • Traveler,
    • Dec 23, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Purchased the Hum by Verizon recently as I was traveling. Installed on my 2000 F350 Super Duty. It did not take long for the vehicle to run poorly and die.

    These older Super Duties can be prone to having problems with the cam positioning sensor. The symptoms mimicked this issue. I did not get any indication on the dash such as the Check engine light. Vehicle died, restarted and died again.

    Fortunately, I was in the Rv park and not on the road. This could have been a very dangerous situation if on the road. I removed the unit from the under the dash port and the problem went away.

    I recently re-programmed this vehicle with an Edge Programmer for better towing and hauling. This changes the computer system. This is the only thing I can attribute the issues with Hum. Perhaps it only works with stock programming.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Underhanded sales tactics

    • By Jonathan,
    • Columbus, OH,
    • Jan 13, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My mother got four of these Hum devices, thinking they would be good as a gift. She wasn't told these devices add a line to your phone plan, which means there is an early termination fee ($120 per line) for each one. When she went to return them, they ended up having a $35 restocking fee, because they can't sell them after that for some reason.

    There is no way Verizon can say this is a "deal" of any kind. This looks so much like they are dumping shoddy technology on people. I have lost so much appreciation for Verizon because of stuff like this.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Hum not worth it

    • By John Kalish,
    • Saint Cloud, Florida,
    • Jan 13, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Don't waste your money! The speaker is junk, it's made cheap and sounds cheap. You cannot get detailed reports of vehicle location and costs associated with driving. Then when I did cancel, I was on the phone for over 30 minutes to get the cancellation done on two vehicles.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Hum didn't detect accident

    • By Kathleen,
    • Arizona,
    • Jan 31, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I bought the Hum by Verizon for my older parent's vehicle to help them in the case of the car breaking down or car accident.

    Well, my parents were in an accident serious enough for both front airbags to go off and render the car disabled. Luckily my parents were ok, and someone at the scene called 911, but the Hum device never detected the accident (and still doesn't, the website login says the car is good!).

    We know the device was working because we occasionally got messages to change oil etc. The car got towed away. By the way, we know the Hum GPS works because it accurately shows the car's location in a junkyard.

    I've lost my confidence in Hum, and I've asked for a refund, which Verizon did give me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Bad experience with Hum

    Overall Experience:

    I bought the Hum by Verizon on December 15, 2015, as part of a package to get a smartphone ahead of my eligibility date. It worked fine, until it didn't. On December 25, 2016, I received an email from Hum that my device hadn't recorded any data for ten days, meaning it had stopped working on December 15, 2016, which is the exact date the one-year warranty ended.

    For the next month, I was talking with their customer and tech support with both Hum and Verizon, hoping it could be rebooted. I did everything they suggested, and it still wasn't working. Finally, on January 20th, a phone tech support person officially pronounced it "dead." That was when I found out the warranty was out of date, and I would have to buy another one.

    I decided to cut my losses and pay the $55 for early termination. I don't like the fact that it is a one-year warranty and a two-year contract. I don't think there is insurance offered for the Hum by Verizon.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Hum, what was I thinking

    • By Lynn,
    • long Island, NY,
    • Feb 6, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I installed Hum by Verizon last Tuesday. The Bluetooth was great, but today (Sunday) it quit working. It will not charge, and I have received absolutely NO help from Verizon. I now have a piece of junk!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • HUM service

    • By CB,
    • Arkansas,
    • Feb 6, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I do not recommend this device and service.

    Verizon can offer no service for a faulty device which only worked for approximately one week. The store set my service up but didn't give me the password. Neither Verizon nor HUM by Verizon was able to send me an email to reset the password. Verizon only offered to send me a reconditioned device with a promise that it would work.

    I am very disappointed in Verizon for selling the product and but is unable to service the device.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • This product sucks!

    • By Dee Wilson,
    • Winston-Salem, NC,
    • Feb 27, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Do not waste your money!

    I bought one for my son's Honda last Christmas, and the device gave us ONE reading! Since then I had to repurchase a replacement OBD reader for $50 from a Verizon dealer (the Verizon corp store wanted $120 to replace it). Still, it doesn't work, and neither Verizon or Hum will take responsibility for this loser of a product.

    I'm now stuck in a two-year contract at $10 a month for absolutely nothing! Take these reviews seriously. I wish I had.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Poor design

    Overall Experience:

    I gave it one star, but at best, half a star would be my rating!

    In most cars, the design of the Hum leaves the device COMPLETELY exposed. Even if your car is stolen, the thief can easily unplug and pitch the Hum and be long gone before any action can be taken.

    We bought two after our truck was stolen. The design left the COMPLETE unit stuck out in plain view. In my car (a Subaru) it stuck out at my left foot. Every time I got in the car my foot hit it. It is VERY hard to avoid. On a couple occasions, road vibrations would cause the Hum to fall out and end up under my foot.

    If a thief were to break into your can and hot wire it, he would be a complete idiot not to see the device sticking out and get rid of it. It is a good concept, but a POOR design! We returned both of ours.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-27 of 146

Write a Review for Hum by Verizon!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Hum by Verizon Reviews