About Hum by Verizon

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff
Updated on: Oct 24, 2017

Smartphones. Tablets. TVs. Watches. Home automation.

Today, we’re more connected than ever to the world around us. But despite the fact that we spend an average of 4.3 years behind the wheel over our lifetime, most of us aren’t very “connected” to our cars.

But Hum by Verizon is out to change the situation. Promoted as a smart upgrade, it simply plugs into your car’s OBD-II port and turns it into a safer, more connected car. How?

Mainly, by providing vehicle diagnostics (i.e., preventing breakdowns) and giving you access to faster roadside and emergency assistance. The upgraded HumX model can even act as a Wi-Fi hotspot. And all of this happens through Hum’s Android and iOS apps.

Pretty cool, right? Now, just about anyone can drive smarter and safer. But the big questions are: How much value will Verizon’s Hum provide? Is it worth the money? Are there better options out there?

Here, we’ll provide a brief overview and walk you through some important considerations to keep in mind. Ultimately, everyone’s needs are different, so we’ll lay out the information and leave the final decision up to you.

First up: Just what is a “smart” device, anyway?

What Makes a “Smart” Vehicle?

When it comes to electronics, the word “smart” might make you think about some kind of artificial intelligence or futuristic technology. But the reality is a “smart” device is just “an electronic device, generally connected to other devices or networks via different wireless protocols such as Bluetooth, NFC, WiFi, 3G, etc., that can operate to some extent interactively and autonomously.”

This means that many products you use every day are considered smart; obviously your phone and computer, but also home automation (lighting, heating and cooling, security, etc.), TVs, home appliances, and even cookware. And now, with devices like Hum, Verizon advertises that you can make your car smart, too.

But exactly how do Hum's smart features work? And more importantly, how do they benefit you and your family? Let’s take a look.

A Brief Rundown of Hum’s Key Features

Verizon’s Hum system is comprised of three main parts:

  • OBD-II Reader – This small device plugs into your car’s OBD-II (Onboard Diagnostic) port, which is what most mechanics use to run diagnostics on your car. Most vehicles 1996 and newer will work with Hum’s OBD reader, but make sure to double check compatibility before placing your order.
  • Speaker – Hum’s Bluetooth speaker clips directly to your visor and communicates between the OBD-II reader and your app. The speaker also allows you to talk hands-free when driving, and provides one-button access to help in the event of an emergency.
  • App – Available for Android and iOS devices, the Hum app provides access to diagnostics, reminders, and more.

Taken together, what benefits will all of Hum’s technology provide? As we mentioned above, most of it relates to diagnostics and emergency assistance:

Vehicle Health & Maintenance Reminders

Verizon equipped Hum with easy-to-understand diagnostic updates, such as when a light appears on your dashboard, which are sent to your account on the Hum website. You can also receive diagnostic information via text, email, or on the Hum app.

According to the company, these “easy-to-understand alerts for hundreds of car issues” can “help you save money and avoid serious breakdowns.”

And if you learn that your car needs work, you can use Hum’s Mechanics Hotline to obtain personalized, unbiased advice and repair estimates from certified, independent mechanics.

In addition, Hum’s maintenance reminders can help you remember important events, like oil changes and tire rotation, via text or email.

Roadside & Emergency Assistance

Using GPS, Hum gives you access to pinpoint roadside assistance provided by Signature Motor Club, Inc., who can quickly reach you in the event of an emergency.

Speaking of which, Hum will automatically call for emergency assistance if you’ve been involved in a collision. Or, you can simply press the button on your visor speaker for quick access to emergency services.

Important note: According to the Hum website, roadside service is limited to up to four “events” per year. For clarification, we contacted customer service and learned that this is per vehicle, not per account. Also, there are some important restrictions that might differ from your current roadside service provider (for example, they won’t change a flat tire for you).

In addition to diagnostics and roadside assistance, Hum also can send your car’s location to local law enforcement if it’s stolen, as well as locate your parked car and send reminders to pay the parking meter. And the Safety Score can help you identify potentially risky habits related to factors like acceleration, speed, braking, and cornering.

Finally, you can use GPS to identify where your car is parked, as well as its last location; driving history (average miles traveled, idle time, average miles per gallon, speed, etc.), which can be filtered by day, week, month or year; and customizable speed and boundary alerts.

HumX vs. Hum: What’s the Main Benefit?

Compared to the standard system, HumX’s silver speaker also acts as a Wi-Fi hotspot, which allows you to connect up to 10 devices at any one time and provides access to streaming music, movies, and so forth.

Regardless of device type, anyone in the vehicle can connect to your hotspot, as long as they have your network name/SSID and the password.

How Does Hum by Verizon Stack Up?

Let’s take a closer look at some of Hum’s closest competitors.

OnStar & RemoteLink

What it is: The granddaddy of vehicle connectivity, OnStar has been around since 1996 and is built directly into many General Motors vehicles (i.e., it’s permanent hardware that can’t be removed).

How it compares: Perhaps the biggest distinction is that OnStar’s hardware is permanent, while the Hum system is removable. So if you don’t have a GM vehicle, or if you do, but it doesn’t feature OnStar connectivity, you’re out of luck.

From a services standpoint, OnStar offers roadside and emergency assistance, security, mobile connectivity, an interactive app, and diagnostics. Like Hum, OnStar also provides turn-by-turn navigation, and can even work as a Wi-Fi hotspot. Although OnStar’s security features seem to be more robust, including remote ignition block and stolen vehicle slowdown.

What it costs: As far as price, OnStar customers will generally pay a lot more than with Hum (we’ll talk specifically about Hum’s cost in the next section), depending on the package you choose. And if you want Wi-Fi access, you’ll have to pay even more for a data plan.

Automatic App & Adapter

What it is: From a hardware perspective, the Automatic Adapter is similar to Hum’s OBD-II’s connectivity, which gathers information about driving habits and can provide insightful diagnostics. This information is sent via Bluetooth to your phone, and can also be viewed on your online dashboard.

How it compares: As with Hum, Automatic can diagnose minor problems, such as a check engine light, locate your parked car, provide emergency assistance, and connect to your phone via an Android or iOS app.

However, Automatic’s emergency services are only provided in the event of a collision, so there’s no formal roadside assistance. You also won’t gain access to a mechanics hotline, and because there’s no speaker (it’s an ODB-II device only), this means there’s also no hands-free talking.

But you will get real-time feedback that can help you improve your driving habits and save gas, a web dashboard with other data such as trips and trends, and access to many other third-party apps outside of Automatic that can further expand the possibilities.

What it costs: Automatic customers will pay only a one-time fee of $99 for the dongle and app, but there are no ongoing costs after that.

Vinli Connected Car System

What it is: By acting as a 4G LTE Wi-Fi hotspot, Vinli is an OBD-II dongle that provides access to thousands of third-party apps that can improve your driving, help you maintain your vehicle, keep you safe, and even keep you entertained. Vinli is another newcomer to the car connectivity marketplace, as their Indiegogo crowdfunding campaign ended in August 2015.

How it compares: Instead of featuring built-in services like OnStar and Automatic, Vinli offers access to specialized apps (many more than Automatic), which then provide benefits. Unfortunately, Vinli doesn’t offer any information about these apps on their website, without first opening an account.

On the upside, though, if any third-party developer can create an app for Vinli, the possibilities might seem endless. This alone could keep Vinli useful for a long time to come.

What it costs: How much you’ll pay for each Vinli device depends on the number you buy (one, two, or four), although there are no monthly fees. As with OnStar though, you will need to sign up for a data plan in order to gain internet access.

Other OBD-II Dongles

Although the above products are arguably Hum’s biggest competition, they’re by no means your only options.

To see what we mean, type the term “OBD-II dongle” into your favorite search engine, and you'll be met with thousands of results. These devices are even so common that you'll probably find a couple of options at local automotive stores.

Granted, most of these are for diagnostics only, and rarely feature apps, Bluetooth connectivity, or Wi-Fi access. But on the flip side, many can be purchased for $30 or less.

Compared to all these other options, how much will you pay for Hum?

Hum by Verizon: Upfront & Subscription Costs

If you agree to a two-year contract, Hum’s standard model will cost you a one-time equipment fee of $29.99, a one-time activation fee ranging between $20, and $40, as well as a $10 monthly subscription (plus taxes and fees).

Along with your subscription, the website indicates you’ll gain access to “hundreds of local coupons and discounts for retailers, auto service providers, restaurants and much more. Plus, an online booking tool to help you save on hotels, flights, and cruises.”

The HumX system is priced slightly higher, with a $150 retail equipment price ($99 with a two-year subscription, or $6.25 per month). You’ll also have a $20-$40 activation fee, a $15 subscription fee, plus taxes and other fees.

As far as data usage for the HumX model, the website FAQ reports that you can add Hum to your existing data plan, which will draw from your monthly allowance. If you don’t want to sign up for a plan, your initial purchase will include 1GB of data, with additional gigabytes available for purchase as needed at $10 each.

Per FAQ: Hum comes with a limited lifetime equipment replacement warranty for as long as you continuously have a subscription to the service.

Per FAQ: If you purchased your Hum System from hum.com, a Verizon Wireless retail location or verizonwireless.com, you can return Hum at any time within 14 days of purchase and receive a full refund. If you choose to return Hum after the 14-day return period, you may be subject to an Early Termination Fee (ETF).

According to Hum’s Terms of Service (TOS), you’ll have 14 days from the date of purchase to decide whether or not it’s right for you, although you’ll need to return your equipment within 30 days of requesting cancellation. Note: The FAQ indicates that if you purchase and return your equipment in-store, you could be assessed a $35 restocking fee.

Outside of the first 14 days, you could be subject to an early termination fee of up to $120. Here’s how the Terms explains it:

"If you cancel Service after the 14 day cancellation period, or we cancel it in accordance with this Agreement, during your Subscription Commitment, you will have to pay an ETF. The ETF for a two-year Subscription Commitment equals $120 and will be reduced by $0.1664 for each day of the Subscription Commitment that you fulfill (i.e., a reduction of approximately $5 per month).”

If you’d like to request a return or have questions, Hum’s customer service department can be reached at (800) 711-5800.

Now, what’s everyone saying about Hum? Are they happy with the services? Do they think the monthly cost is worth it?

Hum by Verizon User Reviews

PC Magazine received a hands-on demonstration of Hum’s capabilities back in August 2015, although this only related to its diagnostic feature.

The author mentioned that from an aesthetics standpoint, Hum’s visor-mounted speaker was very similar to the OnStar system, but noted that it “is much more focused on maintenance and roadside assistance, with very little emphasis on general information or entertainment arrangements, like OnStar's concierge service.”

Ultimately, they concluded, "It's not as feature-filled as OnStar, but it doesn't try to be, and it could be an economical alternative to the more prominent service for users who simply want assistance, maintenance, and security without the extra convenience features."

Similarly (although it doesn’t appear that they tested an actual unit), Digital Trends noted:

“The hardware is free, but Verizon requires those interested to pony up $15 each month. That’ll add up to $180 per year, which can’t currently be part of an existing Verizon plan. Sure, you’ll have a top-notch call center to reach out to, but how often would they need to be contacted for customers to justify the price?”

Remember this, because we’ll come back around to it in a second.

Outside of these, most of the other reviews we encountered during our research parroted Verizon’s press release from August, but didn’t provide any additional insight.

But what about Hum’s emergency services? This is provided by a third-party company named Signature Motor Club, Inc., which is the same one that provides roadside assistance to AARP members.

Signature’s online customer reputation seemed mixed, with dozens of complaints on Consumer Affairs, most of which seemed to reference poor service. Granted, this could be considered relatively low based on the number of customers enrolled in Signature’s services.

We’ve covered a lot of ground about Verizon’s Hum dongle, including its features, pricing, competition, and customer reputation. Now, let’s bring it home and help you decide if it’s right for you.

How Can You Decide If Hum by Verizon Is Right for You?

As with most products (but perhaps especially with electronics and other gadgets), the right ODB-II system for you depends on your specific needs. So when you’re comparing Hum (and the more recent HumX) against the competition, here are some important questions to ask yourself:

  • Are you more interested in low (or no) upfront costs, or avoiding recurring monthly fees?
  • Is Wi-Fi access important to you? If it is, remember that this will add to your monthly costs, even if the system itself doesn’t come with any recurring fees.
  • Are you OK with being limited to the company’s app, or do you want the freedom to explore other third-party apps?
  • What’s your ultimate goal? Are you more focused on entertainment, or on diagnostics and safety?
  • If you’re interested in diagnostics, will you realistically put this information to use (such as changing your driving habits to save gas, actively using the information to prevent more expensive repairs, etc.)?
  • If you’re interested in safety, how many times have you used roadside assistance in the past? If it’s rarely (or never), the lower costs associated with other roadside/emergency assistance programs might provide a better value.

Ultimately, only you can answer these questions. But based on everything we've provided here, you can now make an informed decision about whether or not Hum by Verizon is right for you. And if you need to contact the company directly for even more information, we found their staff to be pleasant and knowledgeable.

What did you think about Verizon’s Hum system? What did you purchase it for? And did it deliver? Tell us about it by leaving a review below!

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 128 Hum by Verizon Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 6 4 star: 0 3 star: 3 2 star: 9 1 star:  110
Bottom Line: 5% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 128
Sort reviews by:

  • 35 out 42 people found this review helpful

    "Hum by Verizon" VS "Sucks to be you"

    • California,
    • May 30, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm stuck in mud in the middle of nowhere and it was both snowing and raining at the same time! Called Hum, the sales person was super quick to get my credit card info and PROMISED that I would be able to get help within the hour. All I had to pay (according to the sales person) was the $89 and maybe, just maybe, a little more to the towing company. So, hours go by and NOTHING. I called them back, and this time they said they want $177 to just come look at it! I said ok, paid the $177 (on top of the $89) and waited. The company calls 2 hours later, and this time they want $1000 because I'm over 25 feet from the road. I still said ok, and they called me back an hour later to let me know that they won't be able to make it till the morning and that they can't guarantee anything!

    What an awesome piece of crap of a company. So to make a long story longer, I spent the night in my truck until a farmer was passing me by with his tractor. I ended up paying him $500 to pull me out and I was every bit grateful. HUM by Verizon simply put is a pure piece of pig poop. You would be better off sending it to me, make checks payable to "Sucks to be you, INC." I guarantee that I will never give you false hope, nor will I ever show up to help you, but hey at least you know I'm being honest. I hope this was enough to deter ANYONE from getting their services.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 33 out 35 people found this review helpful

    Does NOT work in an Emergency

    I went to the Verizon store in Lone Tree to upgrade my phone and add my daughter to my plan. I was told by the woman helping me that the best price she could give me would only be available if I added the hum to my account. It wasn't something that I wanted but I was told that if I didn't add the hum to my account that my monthly cost would be a lot higher. At any rate, I drive an older vehicle so when she told me that it will run diagnostics on my vehicle and tell me when something is wrong with your car I thought it might night be all that bad. She also told me that if I was in an accident that I would be contacted immediately.

    Hum worked as far as letting me know when there was something wrong with my car. It sent me notifications twice and I was able to get my vehicle repaired right away. However, it failed miserably when I really needed it. I was involved in a car accident which totaled my car. I did not receive a call from the emergency person; as a matter of fact they have no record of my car being involved in an accident at all. When I called Verizon about it their response was that I have a two year contract and can't get out of it. That wasn't my question. I wanted to know (1) why it didn't work and essentially left me stranded for 2 hours until I could find someone to pick me up and the police had the car towed to a shop to get it out of the middle of the road; and (2) what do I do with the device now that I no longer have a vehicle.

    I spent over 40 minutes on the phone with Verizon, who told me they were transferring me to the hum customer service. When I spoke to that person, I was informed that he was going to transfer me to the hum customer service, that he was in IT for Verizon. Finally I get the hum customer service department and they had no answers -- gee we don't know why the device didn't work. It should have. Let me put you on hold ... at that point I told the guy to just get some answers and call me back.

    I've been a customer of Verizon around 1990 and have never gotten the run around like I did today. I was essentially tricked into adding this service to my phone by saying without the device my monthly bill would be higher and then when I called to ask why it didn't work being given the run around but no answers. Seriously, my car is totaled and on its way to the junk yard and all Verizon has to say to me is that I have a 2 year contract. Not, sorry the device didn't work; or sorry you were in a car accident and the device failed; or what can we do to help you.

    Very disappointed in Verizon. Very disappointed in hum. I would not recommend hum to anyone. And for the first time since I joined Verizon I don't know that I would recommend them anymore either.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 29 out 34 people found this review helpful

    Verizon Hum Ripoff!

    • Carmel, NY,
    • May 22, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Bought two Hums by Verizon, thought it was a great program. Two weeks into the program, the charge ports on both units collapsed. No problem I said, this is VERIZON, not some "fly by night" company. WRONG! The warranty on these units is only two weeks.

    They make you buy them outright and after two weeks you have to buy a new one! What? That's right, no fix and no replacement. Okay, I'll cancel the service. Well there was a $200 cancellation fee.

    I called VERIZON customer service and was told, “Sorry sir, there's nothing we can do.” Take notice everyone, it's quite unfortunate that a company like VERIZON would play this game!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 28 out 32 people found this review helpful

    Hum is a scam

    • Tampa,
    • May 29, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Received two, for two different vehicles, was NEVER told you are locked into a two year contract -- first part of money scam. One of the Verizon guy's put it into our first car and got one for our son. He tried to get it to come onto to voice command with the operator. It did not happen, he then said sometimes you have to drive the car for 15 minutes to charge and then it will work. Nope, never did. Went back to the store and again they could not get it to work. So Hum was to send another one.

    We went back to store so they could connect. Yes, it worked for a full day. Took it into the house, charged it with our turbo charger and plugged it into car charger so it would not loose charge. It will not hold charge, third unit in and the same thing. So by this time we never did set up our Son's because we never got our's solved. It is a PIECE Of JUNK and I say it is a scam.

    And now they say you have to pay for another two years because you are on contract or pay a disconnection fee of $105.00 per unit. Can you say "WE GOT SHAFTED" and taken advantage of by a big corporation for their love of money and ot caring about the people who made them a success.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 27 out 31 people found this review helpful

    Hum experience

    • King of Prussia, PA,
    • Oct 10, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was given this device as a "gift" by the Verizon salesman when my wife purchased a new phone. There was no mention of the monthly fee and having to open a new cellular phone number. When I realized later the cost, I wanted to return the device but was told I would have to pay a $35 restock fee. And the salesman told me I was getting a discount on my wife's monthly phone rate to keep the Hum, which was not true. Very unhappy with the Verizon experience. Seems the high sales goals placed on sales staff is making them ruthless in selling unwanted services.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 27 out 28 people found this review helpful

    Stay away from the Verizon hum - SCAM

    • Cambridge, MD,
    • Nov 9, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was convinced that the Hum was a great addition to my car just under 2 weeks ago. I signed up for the service and went back 4 days later to have the unit installed in my vehicle. This thing has been a piece of crap from the get go.

    10/21/2016 - I went to the Verizon store for installation. We kept getting a message that the Hum was not detected. It turned out, I had to drive for 30 minutes continuously to activate it.

    10/22/2016 - Received an email stating my hum had been successfully activated.

    10/21/2016 - 10/28/2016 - my car drove fine without any issues.

    10/29/2016 - I got into my car to go take care of my post surgical daughter and granddaughter who had been bitten by a dog and within 2 miles from my driveway, my car stalled and would not start in the middle of an intersection. I called my husband to come help me and my mechanic who lives just feet from the intersection. My mechanic went through some simple diagnostics (checked gas, etc...) and I checked the Hum. There were no messages. I told my mechanic that there were no messages on the Hum and he had me explain what and how the Hum works. When I told him it was plugged into the OBDII port, he said to unplug it as the dongles offered by the insurance companies were causing drive-ability problems in many vehicles. I unplugged the dongle, my car started and has run fine with NO issues since. Today is 11/1/2016.

    10/28/2016 - I called Hum customer service and explained what happened. The tech support person offered to switch out my defective unit. I declined. I am returning the unit and will have to pay $39.95 and a $120 early termination fee.

    My thoughts on Verizon's Hum:

    While it's a good idea, it sucks and I feel it is a scam. First, here I drive a minimum of 500 miles per week and could use the security it is supposed to offer but it only offers a headache. It causes your car to breakdown and then you push that handy blue button for you guessed it, Verizon's roadside assistance. You can have the tow truck dispatched to take you to the nearest repair facility at a big charge and you also get an increased phone bill. When you come to the realization that the Hum is what killed your car, you go to return it and get charged a $39.95 return fee when the unit only cost $30 plus a $120 early termination fee. Other issues have been reported with other types of vehicles http://www.titantalk.com/forums/titan-general-discussion/339713-verizon-hum-killing-transmissions-nissan-ford.html

    I cannot stress enough to stay away from the Verizon Hum. It is a scam. I plan to file a complaint with the Better Business Bureau in Maryland as well as the Attorney General's Office.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 24 out 29 people found this review helpful

    HUM Software Issues. Buyer Beware.

    • Apache Junction,
    • Apr 12, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Bought the HUM per the reps word that it was fully functional, it is NOT! Driving History has not worked from first day. Poor tech support and customer service, promised return phone calls three times and I never got the calls. I get calls now once in a while saying they're sorry I'm having problems. I'M NOT HAVING PROBLEMS, HUM IS. Twice I've been told that they would expedite the problem, still no fix, just blowing a smoke screen. My advice, DO NOT BUY. It's still under development with too many problems. Read the reviews. I don't even trust if my wife broke down if anyone would show up, because vehicle location wasn't even working today. To be fair, if they fix the issues, I will re-rate my review.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 23 out 24 people found this review helpful

    No service

    • Chicago,
    • Aug 14, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've had Hum for a few weeks. My car totally broke down today.

    1. Diagnostic check found no problems, no alerts

    2. Jill at Hum connected us to a tow service who charged my credit card $1 as a test charge to verify my credit, said the driver would text within 10 minutes. An hour later after not hearing from anyone, we called Hum again, who had no record of our call, so we started over.

    3. It took several hours for a tow truck to arrive.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 23 out 29 people found this review helpful

    Hum creates problems

    I installed this product in a 2007 Toyota Corolla. Less than two weeks later, my dashboard service light came on, and the Hum warned me that I had a problem with a manifold gasket and that the repair cost would be between $1,000 and $2,000. I have never had a problem with my car, so I was naturally suspicious.

    I researched the problem, and a couple of local mechanics told me that the repair costs wouldn't be more than a couple hundred bucks. I found this very fishy. So, I removed the Hum, and two days later the service light went out and has not come back on. I have had zero issues with my car since. No repairs were needed. That was two months ago, and I have not reinstalled the Hum.

    I am not a conspiracy theorist, but I do acknowledge when something is not quite right. I think that Hum by Verizon could be a scam to get innocent vehicle owners sucked into a situation where they end up using Verizon's service to pay for unnecessary repairs. Has anyone else had similar experiences? One Google search indicates that the Hum is actually causing transmission problems in some vehicles. It probably wouldn't take much for Hum to force a sensor light to go off and then offer expensive repair solutions from shops that pay to be part of Verizon's service program.

    Buyers should beware, and if the Hum informs you that your vehicle needs serviced, do your homework and find a mechanic outside of Verizon's circle so that you don't end up paying more for simple fixes or repairs that do not need to be done.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 22 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Bad experience with Hum

    I bought the Hum by Verizon on December 15, 2015, as part of a package to get a smartphone ahead of my eligibility date. It worked fine, until it didn't. On December 25, 2016, I received an email from Hum that my device hadn't recorded any data for ten days, meaning it had stopped working on December 15, 2016, which is the exact date the one-year warranty ended.

    For the next month, I was talking with their customer and tech support with both Hum and Verizon, hoping it could be rebooted. I did everything they suggested, and it still wasn't working. Finally, on January 20th, a phone tech support person officially pronounced it "dead." That was when I found out the warranty was out of date, and I would have to buy another one.

    I decided to cut my losses and pay the $55 for early termination. I don't like the fact that it is a one-year warranty and a two-year contract. I don't think there is insurance offered for the Hum by Verizon.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 22 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Deceptive tactics

    • San Diego, CA,
    • Apr 19, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was given a Hum by my local Verizon salesman when I registered a new iPhone. He said it was free. Turns out it isn't free at all. It costs $10/month, and to cancel this service costs upwards of $100. Very deceptive. I'm writing the California Attorney General.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 128

Write a Review for Hum by Verizon!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review