Read 143 Hum by Verizon Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 12)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 6 4 star: 0 3 star: 3 2 star: 10 1 star:  124
Bottom Line: 5% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 122-132 of 143
Sort reviews by:

  • 27 out 28 people found this review helpful

    Stay away from the Verizon hum - SCAM

    • Cambridge, MD,
    • Nov 9, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was convinced that the Hum was a great addition to my car just under 2 weeks ago. I signed up for the service and went back 4 days later to have the unit installed in my vehicle. This thing has been a piece of crap from the get go.

    10/21/2016 - I went to the Verizon store for installation. We kept getting a message that the Hum was not detected. It turned out, I had to drive for 30 minutes continuously to activate it.

    10/22/2016 - Received an email stating my hum had been successfully activated.

    10/21/2016 - 10/28/2016 - my car drove fine without any issues.

    10/29/2016 - I got into my car to go take care of my post surgical daughter and granddaughter who had been bitten by a dog and within 2 miles from my driveway, my car stalled and would not start in the middle of an intersection. I called my husband to come help me and my mechanic who lives just feet from the intersection. My mechanic went through some simple diagnostics (checked gas, etc...) and I checked the Hum. There were no messages. I told my mechanic that there were no messages on the Hum and he had me explain what and how the Hum works. When I told him it was plugged into the OBDII port, he said to unplug it as the dongles offered by the insurance companies were causing drive-ability problems in many vehicles. I unplugged the dongle, my car started and has run fine with NO issues since. Today is 11/1/2016.

    10/28/2016 - I called Hum customer service and explained what happened. The tech support person offered to switch out my defective unit. I declined. I am returning the unit and will have to pay $39.95 and a $120 early termination fee.

    My thoughts on Verizon's Hum:

    While it's a good idea, it sucks and I feel it is a scam. First, here I drive a minimum of 500 miles per week and could use the security it is supposed to offer but it only offers a headache. It causes your car to breakdown and then you push that handy blue button for you guessed it, Verizon's roadside assistance. You can have the tow truck dispatched to take you to the nearest repair facility at a big charge and you also get an increased phone bill. When you come to the realization that the Hum is what killed your car, you go to return it and get charged a $39.95 return fee when the unit only cost $30 plus a $120 early termination fee. Other issues have been reported with other types of vehicles http://www.titantalk.com/forums/titan-general-discussion/339713-verizon-hum-killing-transmissions-nissan-ford.html

    I cannot stress enough to stay away from the Verizon Hum. It is a scam. I plan to file a complaint with the Better Business Bureau in Maryland as well as the Attorney General's Office.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 21 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Unreliable and bad customer service

    • Lima, Ohio,
    • Oct 27, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Don't use HUM! The Customer service can do nothing to help when there is a "cannot connect to the server" message. They tell me next time I have the car to re-plug the reader in and try again.

    If I could locate the car, I wouldn't need to do that!

    I will return the HUM and try another service immediately! This has happened so many times that I can never trust if the HUM will work or not.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 27 out 31 people found this review helpful

    Hum experience

    • King of Prussia, PA,
    • Oct 10, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was given this device as a "gift" by the Verizon salesman when my wife purchased a new phone. There was no mention of the monthly fee and having to open a new cellular phone number. When I realized later the cost, I wanted to return the device but was told I would have to pay a $35 restock fee. And the salesman told me I was getting a discount on my wife's monthly phone rate to keep the Hum, which was not true. Very unhappy with the Verizon experience. Seems the high sales goals placed on sales staff is making them ruthless in selling unwanted services.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 14 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Ho-hum

    • Waco, TX,
    • Sep 29, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    The OBD reader has so far worked fine. The speaker on the Hum is a piece of crap, it's hard to hear, and it causes a lot of confusion with the unit in trying to use voice commands for my phone. I was sold on this by the salesperson who told me I would get a discount on my car insurance for having it and the discount would be more than the monthly charge.

    WRONG! Sorry, but Farmers does not give a discount for this device. The majority of times that I have tried to use it with my IPhone while driving I have had to turn off Bluetooth to bypass the hum so I could communicate with/thru my phone hands-free. I didn't need the device but thought that the insurance discount would pay for it so I took it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 20 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Hum is a bum

    • Tennessee,
    • Sep 8, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    My husband was talked into buying the Hum by a slick-talking salesman. He was not given all the details about price, not being able to get out of the deal if you are not satisfied, etc. His Hum is working. Mine is not. My car starting missing on me yesterday, the day after installing the device and it gave us no information on the problem. If we cannot get out of the contract, we will likely be getting our phone service through someone else in two years. I have had it with Verizon.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 33 out 35 people found this review helpful

    Does NOT work in an Emergency

    I went to the Verizon store in Lone Tree to upgrade my phone and add my daughter to my plan. I was told by the woman helping me that the best price she could give me would only be available if I added the hum to my account. It wasn't something that I wanted but I was told that if I didn't add the hum to my account that my monthly cost would be a lot higher. At any rate, I drive an older vehicle so when she told me that it will run diagnostics on my vehicle and tell me when something is wrong with your car I thought it might night be all that bad. She also told me that if I was in an accident that I would be contacted immediately.

    Hum worked as far as letting me know when there was something wrong with my car. It sent me notifications twice and I was able to get my vehicle repaired right away. However, it failed miserably when I really needed it. I was involved in a car accident which totaled my car. I did not receive a call from the emergency person; as a matter of fact they have no record of my car being involved in an accident at all. When I called Verizon about it their response was that I have a two year contract and can't get out of it. That wasn't my question. I wanted to know (1) why it didn't work and essentially left me stranded for 2 hours until I could find someone to pick me up and the police had the car towed to a shop to get it out of the middle of the road; and (2) what do I do with the device now that I no longer have a vehicle.

    I spent over 40 minutes on the phone with Verizon, who told me they were transferring me to the hum customer service. When I spoke to that person, I was informed that he was going to transfer me to the hum customer service, that he was in IT for Verizon. Finally I get the hum customer service department and they had no answers -- gee we don't know why the device didn't work. It should have. Let me put you on hold ... at that point I told the guy to just get some answers and call me back.

    I've been a customer of Verizon around 1990 and have never gotten the run around like I did today. I was essentially tricked into adding this service to my phone by saying without the device my monthly bill would be higher and then when I called to ask why it didn't work being given the run around but no answers. Seriously, my car is totaled and on its way to the junk yard and all Verizon has to say to me is that I have a 2 year contract. Not, sorry the device didn't work; or sorry you were in a car accident and the device failed; or what can we do to help you.

    Very disappointed in Verizon. Very disappointed in hum. I would not recommend hum to anyone. And for the first time since I joined Verizon I don't know that I would recommend them anymore either.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 23 out 24 people found this review helpful

    No service

    • Chicago,
    • Aug 14, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've had Hum for a few weeks. My car totally broke down today.

    1. Diagnostic check found no problems, no alerts

    2. Jill at Hum connected us to a tow service who charged my credit card $1 as a test charge to verify my credit, said the driver would text within 10 minutes. An hour later after not hearing from anyone, we called Hum again, who had no record of our call, so we started over.

    3. It took several hours for a tow truck to arrive.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 18 out 19 people found this review helpful

    A Nuance That Provides Zero Value

    • Pittsburgh, PA,
    • Aug 11, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Verizon Hum's radio frequency's interfered with the TPS in my vehicle (Ram 1500, 2012) causing the warning light to show on my dash. When I agreed to the service, during my phone upgrade, I was told that there would be no charge for the device. Now I see a charge on my bill that I don't agree with. I contacted Verizon support and they claim that there is nothing that they can do to cancel the service and nullify the monthly charge that I'm stuck paying (other than pay the cancelation fee of $115).

    So other than Verizon Hum being a nuance, it provides zero value for the monthly charge that I am forced to pay. Another one of Verizon's rip-off scams.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 16 out 16 people found this review helpful

    In-Drive Worked Fine - HUM is a bum!

    • South Carolina,
    • Aug 3, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    HUM Signed on in May 2016 to replace the In-Drive device that was being phased out. The 1st HUM device never worked. After numerous calls to HUM they replaced the unit. We'll unit 2 never worked either. I never had any problems with my In-Drive device, it always worked. The HUM device is JUNK! The tech service is very friendly, but they can't do anything to fix it. I have called weekly to check status, they promise they are working on it and will call me back yet they never do. I will be terminating service and shopping for another provider. I will file a legal suit if they attempt to keep me locked in some form of a contract.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 14 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Not For Me

    • White Lake, MI,
    • Jul 30, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased a HUM from Version. I realized that it was not a good buy for me. It never contacted me in two days as told. I went to show a person how it showed how the location for my car identification wasn't working properly. Took it back within 48 hours yet they charged me $35.00 for a $29.95 product which they never mentioned, not to say what monthly charge I was going to receive, which was an additional $20.00 per month. I would say do not purchase this product as it's a poor value product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Hum is amazing

    • Florida,
    • Jul 15, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Hum is amazing, for what you would pay with OnStar, you get much more comparatively. Yes it is a two year deal, but why would that even matter? it's 10 bucks a month. I have a Hum and it does what it's supposed to. It runs in the background and keeps me safe and has some useful tips. Highly recommended!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 122-132 of 143

Write a Review for Hum by Verizon!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review