Read 145 Hum by Verizon Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 13)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 6 4 star: 0 3 star: 3 2 star: 10 1 star:  126
Bottom Line: 5% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 133-143 of 145
Sort reviews by:

  • 14 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Not For Me

    • By DALE,
    • White Lake, MI,
    • Jul 30, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased a HUM from Version. I realized that it was not a good buy for me. It never contacted me in two days as told. I went to show a person how it showed how the location for my car identification wasn't working properly. Took it back within 48 hours yet they charged me $35.00 for a $29.95 product which they never mentioned, not to say what monthly charge I was going to receive, which was an additional $20.00 per month. I would say do not purchase this product as it's a poor value product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Hum is amazing

    • By Jay,
    • Florida,
    • Jul 15, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Hum is amazing, for what you would pay with OnStar, you get much more comparatively. Yes it is a two year deal, but why would that even matter? it's 10 bucks a month. I have a Hum and it does what it's supposed to. It runs in the background and keeps me safe and has some useful tips. Highly recommended!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 15 people found this review helpful

    HUM was extremely helpful!

    • By Kayla,
    • Luray, VA,
    • Jul 3, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Long story short: I was in an accident that sent me into a median making my car have to drift through the median without flipping. Once I gained control of my car and got out of the median I realized my phone was dead. I had zero ways of calling for help or anything in that circumstance. All of a sudden I hear a mans voice come from the hum speaker that clips to my visor and he helped locate my vehicle, send a police officer to my assistance, and calmed me down until the PO got there.

    Also, I love being able to track how many miles I drive within a week versus how many gallons of gas I use. It has made myself drive more efficiently and has helped me plan out my finances towards my vehicle easier.

    I have read the reviews from previous users and I understand their frustrations, but I love this product, HUM.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 19 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Do not buy!

    • By Mike Thomas,
    • Jonesboro, GA,
    • Jun 22, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    This sounded like a great deal and concept when we were at Verizon upgrading phones. The Verizon rep installed the device and told us after driving around for about 10 miles it would activate. Well, it never did. After a couple of days when we were on a long road trip we called Hum customer service, this part you won't believe – we were told to turn the car off remove the device, restart and yes, give it about 10 miles and it would activate. The crazy part is after the fourth call and being told the same thing again, I demanded tech support, he could communicate with the device but not start it, so he told me he would refer it to engineering and they would call me in a couple of days! I asked for a supervisor who repeated the same ridiculous response. We took it back to Verizon!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 35 out 42 people found this review helpful

    "Hum by Verizon" VS "Sucks to be you"

    • By Derrick Ford,
    • California,
    • May 30, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm stuck in mud in the middle of nowhere and it was both snowing and raining at the same time! Called Hum, the sales person was super quick to get my credit card info and PROMISED that I would be able to get help within the hour. All I had to pay (according to the sales person) was the $89 and maybe, just maybe, a little more to the towing company. So, hours go by and NOTHING. I called them back, and this time they said they want $177 to just come look at it! I said ok, paid the $177 (on top of the $89) and waited. The company calls 2 hours later, and this time they want $1000 because I'm over 25 feet from the road. I still said ok, and they called me back an hour later to let me know that they won't be able to make it till the morning and that they can't guarantee anything!

    What an awesome piece of crap of a company. So to make a long story longer, I spent the night in my truck until a farmer was passing me by with his tractor. I ended up paying him $500 to pull me out and I was every bit grateful. HUM by Verizon simply put is a pure piece of pig poop. You would be better off sending it to me, make checks payable to "Sucks to be you, INC." I guarantee that I will never give you false hope, nor will I ever show up to help you, but hey at least you know I'm being honest. I hope this was enough to deter ANYONE from getting their services.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 28 out 32 people found this review helpful

    Hum is a scam

    • By Ci,
    • Tampa,
    • May 29, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Received two, for two different vehicles, was NEVER told you are locked into a two year contract -- first part of money scam. One of the Verizon guy's put it into our first car and got one for our son. He tried to get it to come onto to voice command with the operator. It did not happen, he then said sometimes you have to drive the car for 15 minutes to charge and then it will work. Nope, never did. Went back to the store and again they could not get it to work. So Hum was to send another one.

    We went back to store so they could connect. Yes, it worked for a full day. Took it into the house, charged it with our turbo charger and plugged it into car charger so it would not loose charge. It will not hold charge, third unit in and the same thing. So by this time we never did set up our Son's because we never got our's solved. It is a PIECE Of JUNK and I say it is a scam.

    And now they say you have to pay for another two years because you are on contract or pay a disconnection fee of $105.00 per unit. Can you say "WE GOT SHAFTED" and taken advantage of by a big corporation for their love of money and ot caring about the people who made them a success.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 29 out 34 people found this review helpful

    Verizon Hum Ripoff!

    • By Joe Martinez,
    • Carmel, NY,
    • May 22, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Bought two Hums by Verizon, thought it was a great program. Two weeks into the program, the charge ports on both units collapsed. No problem I said, this is VERIZON, not some "fly by night" company. WRONG! The warranty on these units is only two weeks.

    They make you buy them outright and after two weeks you have to buy a new one! What? That's right, no fix and no replacement. Okay, I'll cancel the service. Well there was a $200 cancellation fee.

    I called VERIZON customer service and was told, “Sorry sir, there's nothing we can do.” Take notice everyone, it's quite unfortunate that a company like VERIZON would play this game!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 19 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Cannot undo a call to Emergency

    I have repeatedly and accidentally called Emergency when I was only trying to reposition the HUM on my visor. Once the Emergency button is pressed, you cannot undo the call. Even when the device is turned off, the Emergency button is active. The design of this device creates false calls to Emergency and I don't like that. When I talked to customer service rep at Verizon yesterday, he told me I had to return it within 14 days to avoid the $115 deactivation charge.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 17 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Sucky experience

    • By Alan Feuer,
    • Long Island, NY,
    • Apr 23, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Was talked into subscribing to Hum by a Verizon corporate store rep. Purchased the system and after a week and a half was not able to get the product activated. The store was not at fault. Made three trips to the store over this period to try to activate the product. Today the store rep called Hum for the third time and was told that they had no record of the account for the third time. Rep advised me to return the product and gave me a credit.

    I believe that Hum service is owned by Verizon, but this was just another awful experience. My Fios experience was another one. Sorry I purchase a new phone from Verizon. Now locked in for another period.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 24 out 29 people found this review helpful

    HUM Software Issues. Buyer Beware.

    • By John Waite,
    • Apache Junction,
    • Apr 12, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Bought the HUM per the reps word that it was fully functional, it is NOT! Driving History has not worked from first day. Poor tech support and customer service, promised return phone calls three times and I never got the calls. I get calls now once in a while saying they're sorry I'm having problems. I'M NOT HAVING PROBLEMS, HUM IS. Twice I've been told that they would expedite the problem, still no fix, just blowing a smoke screen. My advice, DO NOT BUY. It's still under development with too many problems. Read the reviews. I don't even trust if my wife broke down if anyone would show up, because vehicle location wasn't even working today. To be fair, if they fix the issues, I will re-rate my review.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 18 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Actually like it a lot!

    • By Joe Marotz ,
    • Cedar Rapids, Iowa,
    • Apr 6, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I own 2 vehicles, A 2011 GMC Acadia and a 2008 Mazda 6i. I currently am subscribed to OnStar with the Acadia. I bought Hum for the Mazda as I needed to be able to read the codes, if any, were to pop up. I like how the app works and how much info it provides. For $10 a month I feel as though I am actually getting my money's worth. I called OnStar and found out I was paying $35 a month for similar service. I don't need WiFi for my vehicle nor do I need calling time. My Acadia offers hands free calling without OnStar. So I don't need that either. I will be canceling my OnStar and getting the HUM for my Acadia. For the price it is offering everything I need/want and for less. There are things that could be improved on such as sensitive buttons and a poor speaker. For the lower price, I can live with it. It's not OnStar nor does it try to be. For me it is the best alternative. I have recommended this device to many people.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 133-143 of 145

Write a Review for Hum by Verizon!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review