Read 135 Hum by Verizon Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 2)

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 6 4 star: 0 3 star: 3 2 star: 10 1 star:  116
Bottom Line: 5% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 12-22 of 135
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Don't do it!

    I am on my second replacement home in 6 months. Only because I cannot get out of the contract with Verizon. The Hum has given me false car readings when I took my car to the mechanic, he said absolutely get rid of it because they do cause car issues. Has given false readings about speed which in turn I grounded up my daughter for. When she explained it to me I took the car out and it did the same thing to me so bad mom there. Trying to get help with this device is more ridiculous than anything I have ever experienced. Save yourself the headache and the money! The worst part of this is when you call Verizon to try and talk to someone about Hum every representative I have talked to about it says we've heard that from several people that they wish they hadn't gotten the Hum. That's pretty bad for their own employees to say it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Blatant scam

    • Tennessee,
    • May 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I used the app to get help from a locksmith. I was told I'd be called promptly. 90 minutes later I got a call after another locksmith I paid out of pocket for helping me. I was told by Hum customer service that I would get reimbursed if I mailed a receipt to an address, which surprised me as it's 2019, you would think a fax or scanned receipt would be good.

    That was two months ago. I called asking where my reimbursement was. I was told to expect a call in two business days. That was a lie too.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    A 2-day nightmare. Buyer beware. Scam?

    • Rhode Island,
    • Apr 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I saw a widget on my new phone so curiosity brought me in to see what this was. I only put my email phone and name. I didn't sign anything or agree to the terms or conditions. I received an email stating I was in a 30-day trial and would be charged after that. I immediately contacted Hum to say no way I did not ask for this...service response was " when you put your name number and email it's a partial agreement." No way! I contacted them, made sure I had no account and contacted Verizon immediately with bells and red flags going off. Verizon contacted Hum and made sure I had no account. Today I received an email stating "welcome to your 30-day trial." WHAT!? I called Hum. I was hung up on three times, put on hold over six minutes, all to get this straightened out. Their customer service had me with tech support. Sending me text codes when all I wanted was my name out of their system. I spoke to a Verizon rep who told me any emails sent out by Hum Verizon has copies of. She did not see any Hum emails. She stayed on the phone with me to make sure I would not receive any contact from them. I think it's a scam from China. Their customer service is abysmal.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Verizon Hum

    • Omaha, NE,
    • Mar 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I received the Verizon Hum in October of 2018. Less than three weeks later, my car died in the middle of a very busy intersection in 5:00 traffic. I was able to get it started and made it home. I called my mechanic who was nice enough to tow it from my garage to his shop. He tried several things and after quite a bit of money, was able to come to the conclusion that the primary computer for my Lexus RX 330 had been shorted out. He asked me more than once if I had tried to jump-start another vehicle, which I had not. The new computer had to be ordered; of course!

    Two and a half weeks and $1600.00 later, my truck is running again. The first week of December on my way to work, the Hum keeps beeping. When I arrived at work, I called Hum. They informed me that "that just happens sometimes" and they would get back to me. In mid-January, I was at work and went to leave for lunch, the truck would not start...again! DRAT!

    I called my mechanic who is about as far away from my work as he could be. He came and towed it. This time, he took it to Lexus. They spent over six hours looking for the problem. Yes, it was the Hum again. They removed the Hum and again replaced the computer which had been shorted out...again! I am now out over $3200.00 and had to borrow a car so I could get to work to pay for the repairs.

    Fast forward a few weeks, it is now the second week of March, and they just called me to tell me there is a problem with my Hum and it has not been recording anything since December 10th when I called to tell them it kept beeping. They would like me to take it to Verizon and get a different one! They are nuts!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Don’t buy Hum by Verizon

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Feb 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    From the very beginning, my experience with Hum by Verizon has been a nightmare and a waste of time and money. Their customer service is awful, the product itself is mediocre, and their warranty is not good at all. Anytime you call customer service it takes three hours to get nothing done. You will be passed around many reps from Hum and Verizon and hold forever and you will not accomplish anything. Do yourself a huge favor and do not consider or purchase any Hum by Verizon products you will be extremely disappointed. Buying a Hum X has been my biggest regret. I don’t think Hum will be around for too long...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Not good

    • Pomona, CA,
    • Feb 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have the Hum service for 20 months and I have had several problems. I would receive a notification that Hum was contacting emergency services as soon as I started my CSR and at inconvenient times even though I was not involved in an accident. My Hum app notified me of a battery issue after I replaced a dead battery, I had a mechanical issue that was repaired, but the issue warning would not go away. I canceled my Hum service, unplugged my OBD and now I get notices that Hum is receiving no information and there is no way to opt out of receiving emails from Hum.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Drained my battery and popped false positives

    • Maryland,
    • Feb 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    It drained my battery in a little under a week and only displayed a false error with c02. And it never registered when it was unplugged. Which lead me to plug it into a different car to see if it even registered that it was a different vehicle. It did not. I wouldn't trust this product. It does more damage than good. I had the version 2.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    DO NOT BUY - horrible

    • Alliance, OH,
    • Feb 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Garbage, giving false information codes. Customer support horrible, costing me $110.00 plus whatever they want to tack on to disconnect. If I could rate it lower I would. My auto dealer said they do not recommend any of these products. I did not realize this was a 2-year contract.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Hum - do not buy!

    • Hebron, NH,
    • Feb 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    POOR product. The first unit quit working the first week. The replacement worked for two days. Customer service is slow due to the high volume of service calls (got a service representative to admit that). Waste of money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Worthless and has cost me money

    • Florida,
    • Feb 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    It worked for a couple of months then failed. First it gave a report that my alternator had a problem. I took the car in, no problem with the alternator. Continued to get the same report. Took it to another mechanic, no problem. Suddenly this weekend I started getting multiple trouble lights coming on and cycling through along with my turn signals freezing briefly. I took it into my mechanic again this morning and this time he said it was most likely the Hum interfering with the car's computer system as they had been getting numerous reports of this kind of problem with it. He took it out for me and I've had no problems since then. I am hoping Verizon will not give me a problem dropping the contract for it but I need to know if a trouble light comes on it is genuinely a problem. I also can't afford to have false reports given. I am lucky my mechanic is honest as an alternator repair is rather expensive.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Doesn't work, no customer support, waste of time and money.

    • Iowa,
    • Feb 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    They assured me this system would work with multiple vehicles, but I ordered just one Hum+ to assess it. It worked reasonably well for two weeks (albeit with rather slow updates), so I ordered another, this time a HumX. For the first two days, both worked, but updates were even slower.

    By the third day, both updating stopped altogether. I called Support, told them I was unable to locate one of my vehicles, and they told me to "remove the device, wait two minutes, reinstall it, and drive for 20 minutes." I suggested that this might be difficult given that I didn't know where the vehicle was located...Yes, I could call the driver - but that's not the point is it?

    The support person spoke with a thick foreign accent, and when I asked where he was located he refused to tell. I asked again, "Are you in the USA?" He repeated his refusal.

    A few days later I tried the whole remove/wait/reinstall/drive routine on both vehicles. They then worked, so I tried the "Road Service" button on the HumX. I received no answer at all. I then called support again, using the Road Service number on their website. Again I was answered by a thick accent, whom I then asked to locate my vehicle. He could not. Two days later both units quit working - again.

    After three more calls to service over the next week, it became obvious that this system simply does not work. I called Verizon to have both units removed from my bill and returned, they said I would have to pay $120 per unit "Termination Fee," stating that I had signed a contract.

    I offered that the contract also included them actually providing a working product, which they had not. After 3 hours on the phone to various "managers," one finally agreed to remove all but $60 of the excess charges, but demanded I UPS one of the units back to them the same day. He assured me the corrected bill would show immediately.

    I boxed and shipped the unit, and provided Verizon with a tracking number. Their rep then sent an email of what was supposed to be the corrected bill. It included their $60 concession, and also $235 worth of extra charges.

    In short (too late), Verizon will gleefully lie to you, make you jump through hoops, then blast you with a big bill for absolutely no services. The only thing missing is a return call saying "Hahaha, GOTCHA!"

    They now have one week to fix my bill, or I will cancel the four cell phones I have with them and sue.

    Bottom line: Verizon is crooked. Once they have you, they don't give a crap about service. Don't deal with this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 12-22 of 135

Write a Review for Hum by Verizon!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review