Read 146 Hum by Verizon Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 2)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 6 4 star: 0 3 star: 3 2 star: 10 1 star:  127
Bottom Line: 5% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 12-22 of 146
Sort reviews by:

  • Not worth the money

    • By Susan M.,
    • Michigan,
    • Oct 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had a bad device. It said that my battery was low. I got a new one and this one will not update at all. I have had nothing but trouble with this piece of crap. I can't wait to get rid of it next year. I would never recommend this to anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • App can't tell when I'm in my car or in an Uber

    • By Natalie S.,
    • Florida,
    • Sep 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The phone app collects statistics when I'm in an Uber. This makes all the statistics completely irrelevant. Plus it's eating battery life for no reason. Figure out a way to turn this process off when the app can't "speak to" the programmed Him.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Crash notification failure

    • By Melissa O.,
    • Copperas Cove, TX,
    • Sep 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We got two Hums in March 2019, worked well for about two weeks. Then the one in my husband's truck stopped working and just beeps, called tech support. They told me to unplug it and plug it back in. Did that, still doesn’t work. Did this several times. Still useless and we pay monthly on it, can’t get it shut off, can’t return it. Then today, September 8, 2019, while it is parked in my driveway with no one else around, it sends a crash notification to the local police department. They called me and asked if I was ok. I was shocked when they told me an alarm company sent them a notification that my caravan was in a crash. I said no, it is sitting in my driveway with no one around it. This is absurd. Will be taking them both out and just chucking them after cancelling it. This is the last straw.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible

    • By Leslie L.,
    • Kingsporrv,
    • Aug 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My husband was talked into purchasing two Hums by the salesperson when he went to a Verizon Store. They do not work properly and have started messing up our truck. All the warning lights came on our 2017 Ford truck and even the signal lights stopped working. My husband unplugged it and most went off and the lights started working again. I just hope it didn't ruin our trucks computer system. Hum is a big rip off.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Buyer beware, it’s extremely fault (not free) misleading

    • By James C.,
    • Philadelphia, PA,
    • Aug 1, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was told I was receiving this great new device for free only to find out it was a $10 monthly charge. This Hum is useless, unless you forget where you park your car. On one incident cops were inspecting my car for damage late on a Friday night, when I approached them and asked them why they were looking in my car. I was informed the Hum called the police and now they were questioning me if I hit and ran. Obviously I hadn’t been in a accident when they realized I did not have a single mark on my car but why would this device contact police? No safety feature of the car went off but this device decided I was in an accident knowing that my car was moving decided to call police. The programming and features of this device are garbage. If you buy a new phone the app does not properly transfer from Verizon device to Verizon new device. I was locked out of the app with no customer support. I informed Verizon of this and I was told I was in a 2-year contract for a faulty device. To be honest, all the devices are faulty, misleading and a terrible buy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Hum OBD reader creating ghost signals.

    • By Michael J S.,
    • South Plainfield, NJ,
    • Jul 29, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Two months I purchased a Hum Speaker with Blue Tooth GPS, OBD to monitor engine performance and if a problem came up, a code would be sent to my smartphone. Sounded like a deal not to pass up. Yesterday I was alerted that there was an emission problem and a mechanical problem with the transmission. Took the car to my mechanic and said a ghost code was created by the OBD reader, he removed out of the port and had to reset the module with the machine, there was nothing wrong after that. The port reader is only for a diagnostic tool not for OBD reader, car bulletins were sent out to mechanics regarding this issue, Verizon has no idea of a mechanical issue. And car manufactures did not install the port for this purpose for a reader, if this was true. Dodge would tell me to do this. The OBD is removed and the engine runs better without it. If the check engine goes on I will take it to my mechanic. I terminated the 2-year agreement and the fee was waived by Verizon because of my situation. I missed a day's work and will no longer be interested in promotional offers by Verizon and account was credited. Will keep the Smart Phone and Samsung Tablet. Very disappointed with Hum.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Crash response

    • By Jerry H.,
    • Pennsylvania,
    • Jul 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had Hum in a 2011 Jeep Compass. I keep getting emails about Hum inactivity. Well, apparently the crash response feature doesnt work because the vehicle was totaled 2 years ago and I haven't had it since. I personally thought it was a waste of money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Waited 3 hours and STILL never got a tow!

    • By Rachel D.,
    • Colorado,
    • Jul 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Tonight was one of the best examples of terrible customer service. I waited with my car for 3 hours at a public park. Also, mind you, two of those hours were after closing and I had a sheriff come up to me and talk to me about how I needed to get the tow service in order quickly because I probably would have other sheriffs coming to tell me the same thing. I was told multiple times that I would get someone to call me and explain to me why it was taking so long and I never got a phone call! I eventually just left and never heard from them. Worst experience ever! I will be going into Verizon and trying to cancel hum. You might as well just go with AAA.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Fails with heat

    • By Frank M.,
    • Idaho,
    • Jun 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We use it primarily for the "hot-spot" with an Amazon Echo Dot ver 1. What I've noticed is a reaction to heat. Driving into Boise (25 miles on a two-lane road) the Wi-Fi works perfectly, the vehicle has been garaged all night and is cool. Vehicle sits in a parking lot 86 degrees in the sun. On the way home, Wi-Fi fails consistently. The difference - heat. Verizon says to unplug it and plug it back in, not practical. Fix the device or refund.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Worthless

    • By John Y.,
    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • Jun 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My 85-year-old mother went to get a new phone by herself. Two days later I go to her house to set up and show her how to use the phone. She then shows me this Hum thing that I never heard of. I asked why did they sell you this and they told her she should get this for her car to make her feel more safe, even though she told them she has AAA. So the next day we go down there and I tell them to take it out of her car and get rid of it because she has no need for it and doesn't even know what it was when they gave it to her. Needless to say, they took it out of her car and then charged her $55 to restock it on their shelf. I called them a nasty name and said how can you sit there and take advantage of an 85-year-old woman. Three days and they still had to charge her, what a bunch of bull. Verizon is a joke and nobody should buy this piece of junk.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not all it’s cracked up to be

    • By Jacjy L.,
    • Stuart, FL,
    • Jun 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased my Hum at a local Verizon store. Started receiving error code messages 2 days after my Hum was installed. This was very concerning. Every time I deleted them, new code error messages appeared.

    Verizon rep told me this was completely normal and that my Hum...

    Was working properly. Really? If all these error code messages were posting, how would I KNOW when I had a REAL problem. He had no answer.

    When I bought the Hum, I was told I had a 14-DAY return option with no penalties. Finally decided to return the Hum on June 12th after many error code emails LATER.

    I told the Verizon rep I didn’t like the Hum or want it. I was on my 14th day or the no-obligation period, and wanted to cancel my contract and return the Hum. That’s when the issues began.

    You see, Verizon counts the day I purchased the Hum as day #1. They maintained that I was past the 14-day period by 1 day; and for that, I would be charged $120 to cancel my contract. This is clearly an attempt to make more money and totally unprofessional.

    After debating the time sequence with 2 supervisors, they finally admitted that to the normal lay-person. My math was right. I was, in fact, on my 14th day.

    Now the fun begins. I pulled the Hum out of the car and gave it to the salesperson. I was then told I couldn’t return it because it wasn’t in its original box. Well, of course, it’s not in its box - it’s in my car! No, I don’t have the box, I only kept the box flap with all the data stuff.

    Another level of supervision later and I finally got my refund and canceled contract confirmation. Worst example of CUSTOMER SERVICE I have ever had with Verizon. I’m certainly weighing my options.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 12-22 of 146

Write a Review for Hum by Verizon!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review
Hum by Verizon