Read 128 Hum by Verizon Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 2)

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 6 4 star: 0 3 star: 3 2 star: 9 1 star:  110
Bottom Line: 5% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 12-22 of 128
Sort reviews by:

  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    DO NOT BUY - horrible

    • Alliance, OH,
    • Feb 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Garbage, giving false information codes. Customer support horrible, costing me $110.00 plus whatever they want to tack on to disconnect. If I could rate it lower I would. My auto dealer said they do not recommend any of these products. I did not realize this was a 2-year contract.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Hum - do not buy!

    • Hebron, NH,
    • Feb 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    POOR product. The first unit quit working the first week. The replacement worked for two days. Customer service is slow due to the high volume of service calls (got a service representative to admit that). Waste of money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Worthless and has cost me money

    • Florida,
    • Feb 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    It worked for a couple of months then failed. First it gave a report that my alternator had a problem. I took the car in, no problem with the alternator. Continued to get the same report. Took it to another mechanic, no problem. Suddenly this weekend I started getting multiple trouble lights coming on and cycling through along with my turn signals freezing briefly. I took it into my mechanic again this morning and this time he said it was most likely the Hum interfering with the car's computer system as they had been getting numerous reports of this kind of problem with it. He took it out for me and I've had no problems since then. I am hoping Verizon will not give me a problem dropping the contract for it but I need to know if a trouble light comes on it is genuinely a problem. I also can't afford to have false reports given. I am lucky my mechanic is honest as an alternator repair is rather expensive.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Doesn't work, no customer support, waste of time and money.

    • Iowa,
    • Feb 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    They assured me this system would work with multiple vehicles, but I ordered just one Hum+ to assess it. It worked reasonably well for two weeks (albeit with rather slow updates), so I ordered another, this time a HumX. For the first two days, both worked, but updates were even slower.

    By the third day, both updating stopped altogether. I called Support, told them I was unable to locate one of my vehicles, and they told me to "remove the device, wait two minutes, reinstall it, and drive for 20 minutes." I suggested that this might be difficult given that I didn't know where the vehicle was located...Yes, I could call the driver - but that's not the point is it?

    The support person spoke with a thick foreign accent, and when I asked where he was located he refused to tell. I asked again, "Are you in the USA?" He repeated his refusal.

    A few days later I tried the whole remove/wait/reinstall/drive routine on both vehicles. They then worked, so I tried the "Road Service" button on the HumX. I received no answer at all. I then called support again, using the Road Service number on their website. Again I was answered by a thick accent, whom I then asked to locate my vehicle. He could not. Two days later both units quit working - again.

    After three more calls to service over the next week, it became obvious that this system simply does not work. I called Verizon to have both units removed from my bill and returned, they said I would have to pay $120 per unit "Termination Fee," stating that I had signed a contract.

    I offered that the contract also included them actually providing a working product, which they had not. After 3 hours on the phone to various "managers," one finally agreed to remove all but $60 of the excess charges, but demanded I UPS one of the units back to them the same day. He assured me the corrected bill would show immediately.

    I boxed and shipped the unit, and provided Verizon with a tracking number. Their rep then sent an email of what was supposed to be the corrected bill. It included their $60 concession, and also $235 worth of extra charges.

    In short (too late), Verizon will gleefully lie to you, make you jump through hoops, then blast you with a big bill for absolutely no services. The only thing missing is a return call saying "Hahaha, GOTCHA!"

    They now have one week to fix my bill, or I will cancel the four cell phones I have with them and sue.

    Bottom line: Verizon is crooked. Once they have you, they don't give a crap about service. Don't deal with this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 12 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Worst product and service ever

    • Spanish Fork, UT,
    • Jan 24, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Three Hum devices later it still does not work. I was told to pay for each one and I would receive credit on the next bill. That never happened. With customer service, I was being lied to and always placed on hold for hours. I paid about $30 per day and got no answers. Save your money and much frustration - Verizon will not and does not want to help you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Sucks

    • Huntsville, AL,
    • Jan 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought the product while on a long trip. It worked the first couple of weeks then didn’t work anymore. I called multiple times, customer support failed, an hour with the rookie, no results. Another hour with an expert, no results. Told to get it replaced under warranty. Can’t do that at an authorized dealer. Basically one spends there time getting the bugs out of the Hum system, smudge use is non-existent. Run away, never purchase this product. We spent $240 before canceling the service, which was near impossible to do. I plan on filing an FCC complaint.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    2 out 5 is nothing to brag about

    • Minneapolis, MN,
    • Jan 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    DON'T buy it if you are going to use it on a diesel. About 1.75 years ago I purchased the Hum for my 2008 F350 diesel. I was told by the Verizon sales force that it was compatible. Great, or so I thought. I first installed it in my Saturn, and it worked great. Perfect.

    I then installed it in my F350 and it only worked for location, MPH, and safe driver report. The MPG registered only 3 MPG! I called Hum and worked with Hum Technical support several different times. After several calls, I was told that the Hum does not work well with diesel vehicles. BUT, we are working on a solution and it should be out soon. Today, 1.5 years later, I received a contract renewal notification and I thought I should get an update about the MPG problem. For the first time when I called Hum Tech support, they were honest. "Sorry sir, there are no plans on making the Hum devices compatible with diesel vehicles."

    I like the fact that I can set alerts to know where the truck is at and how fast it is going (any parent should like that) but what I was told is just not right. I will give the last tech I talked to credit for coming out and also saying, "it just will not work and there is no solution." HELLO, how about a discount on the monthly fee.

    It's like buying a car with one flat tire, you can drive it, but can't put air in it and can't replace it. Hum/Verizon you should be ashamed. Two stars only because of what Hum can do, and three dark stars for what Verizon won't do to resolve it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Verizon will RIP you off. Beware of HIGH cancellation fees!

    • Ohio,
    • Jan 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Ours were JUNK, we had five on our trucks. Verizon sent us a $458.00 bill to disconnect after we called and told them of all the troubles we had with the devices. Several trips to the Verizon store where we purchased them. $458.00 AFTER they took into consideration we were not happy, long-time customers and all the issues we experienced. Because we dealt with the store and not called into customer service every time there was an issue, they did not believe us. We have been loyal customers of Verizon since the '90s, and this is how they treat loyalty...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 17 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Hum is a piece of junk

    • Arkansas,
    • Dec 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Hum quit working one month after purchase. Technical support from Verizon and Hum is nonexistent. Hum customer support says that tech support will call, but they never do. I contacted them four times and have been waiting over a month and still no call.

    If Verizon does not refund all my Hum related costs, I am going to start a Class Action Suit against them.

    I completely understand why Hum has a 94% customer disapproval rating. I would give them less than one star if I could.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Horrible product and phone support

    • Urbana, IL,
    • Dec 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought a Hum from Verizon in October 2018. It worked for two days then stopped. I called support and the person told me I would have to be elevated to a higher support, and they would be in touch within 24 hours. Never had a call. I returned the unit and received a package that was a reconditioned generation one, totally wrong unit. I returned that one also and received another one. This one wouldn’t work from the start. I have spent hours in the local Verizon office talking to them and Verizon support. Told them I wanted to cancel the service. They said that would cost me $115. I said no, it won’t, and asked for the supervisor, who, after pressure from me waived the fee. There are better products and deals on Amazon.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Don't buy this!

    • Erie, PA,
    • Dec 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought (or was forced I should say into buying) a Hum from Verizon Wireless one month ago. It never worked. Hum told me to go to Verizon and get a new one, but they sent me a refurbished one. I argued with Verizon that I wanted a new one, they said no. I wish I never git this. I will never do business with Hum or Verizon again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 12-22 of 128

Write a Review for Hum by Verizon!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review