• 146 Customer Reviews
  • 5% Recommend This Product
1.3 out of 5
5 star: 4% 4 star: 0% 3 star: 2% 2 star: 6% 1 star: 86%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Not good

    • By David P.,
    • Pomona, CA,
    • Feb 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have the Hum service for 20 months and I have had several problems. I would receive a notification that Hum was contacting emergency services as soon as I started my CSR and at inconvenient times even though I was not involved in an accident. My Hum app notified me of a battery issue after I replaced a dead battery, I had a mechanical issue that was repaired, but the issue warning would not go away. I canceled my Hum service, unplugged my OBD and now I get notices that Hum is receiving no information and there is no way to opt out of receiving emails from Hum.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Drained my battery and popped false positives

    • By Neil C.,
    • Maryland,
    • Feb 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    It drained my battery in a little under a week and only displayed a false error with c02. And it never registered when it was unplugged. Which lead me to plug it into a different car to see if it even registered that it was a different vehicle. It did not. I wouldn't trust this product. It does more damage than good. I had the version 2.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • DO NOT BUY - horrible

    • By Deborah C.,
    • Alliance, OH,
    • Feb 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Garbage, giving false information codes. Customer support horrible, costing me $110.00 plus whatever they want to tack on to disconnect. If I could rate it lower I would. My auto dealer said they do not recommend any of these products. I did not realize this was a 2-year contract.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Hum - do not buy!

    • By Mike A.,
    • Hebron, NH,
    • Feb 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    POOR product. The first unit quit working the first week. The replacement worked for two days. Customer service is slow due to the high volume of service calls (got a service representative to admit that). Waste of money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Worthless and has cost me money

    • By Laura T.,
    • Florida,
    • Feb 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    It worked for a couple of months then failed. First it gave a report that my alternator had a problem. I took the car in, no problem with the alternator. Continued to get the same report. Took it to another mechanic, no problem. Suddenly this weekend I started getting multiple trouble lights coming on and cycling through along with my turn signals freezing briefly. I took it into my mechanic again this morning and this time he said it was most likely the Hum interfering with the car's computer system as they had been getting numerous reports of this kind of problem with it. He took it out for me and I've had no problems since then. I am hoping Verizon will not give me a problem dropping the contract for it but I need to know if a trouble light comes on it is genuinely a problem. I also can't afford to have false reports given. I am lucky my mechanic is honest as an alternator repair is rather expensive.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Doesn't work, no customer support, waste of time and money.

    • By Garry S.,
    • Iowa,
    • Feb 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    They assured me this system would work with multiple vehicles, but I ordered just one Hum+ to assess it. It worked reasonably well for two weeks (albeit with rather slow updates), so I ordered another, this time a HumX. For the first two days, both worked, but updates were even slower.

    By the third day, both updating stopped altogether. I called Support, told them I was unable to locate one of my vehicles, and they told me to "remove the device, wait two minutes, reinstall it, and drive for 20 minutes." I suggested that this might be difficult given that I didn't know where the vehicle was located...Yes, I could call the driver - but that's not the point is it?

    The support person spoke with a thick foreign accent, and when I asked where he was located he refused to tell. I asked again, "Are you in the USA?" He repeated his refusal.

    A few days later I tried the whole remove/wait/reinstall/drive routine on both vehicles. They then worked, so I tried the "Road Service" button on the HumX. I received no answer at all. I then called support again, using the Road Service number on their website. Again I was answered by a thick accent, whom I then asked to locate my vehicle. He could not. Two days later both units quit working - again.

    After three more calls to service over the next week, it became obvious that this system simply does not work. I called Verizon to have both units removed from my bill and returned, they said I would have to pay $120 per unit "Termination Fee," stating that I had signed a contract.

    I offered that the contract also included them actually providing a working product, which they had not. After 3 hours on the phone to various "managers," one finally agreed to remove all but $60 of the excess charges, but demanded I UPS one of the units back to them the same day. He assured me the corrected bill would show immediately.

    I boxed and shipped the unit, and provided Verizon with a tracking number. Their rep then sent an email of what was supposed to be the corrected bill. It included their $60 concession, and also $235 worth of extra charges.

    In short (too late), Verizon will gleefully lie to you, make you jump through hoops, then blast you with a big bill for absolutely no services. The only thing missing is a return call saying "Hahaha, GOTCHA!"

    They now have one week to fix my bill, or I will cancel the four cell phones I have with them and sue.

    Bottom line: Verizon is crooked. Once they have you, they don't give a crap about service. Don't deal with this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Worst product and service ever

    • By Duane N.,
    • Spanish Fork, UT,
    • Jan 24, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Three Hum devices later it still does not work. I was told to pay for each one and I would receive credit on the next bill. That never happened. With customer service, I was being lied to and always placed on hold for hours. I paid about $30 per day and got no answers. Save your money and much frustration - Verizon will not and does not want to help you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Sucks

    • By Jerry S.,
    • Huntsville, AL,
    • Jan 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I bought the product while on a long trip. It worked the first couple of weeks then didn’t work anymore. I called multiple times, customer support failed, an hour with the rookie, no results. Another hour with an expert, no results. Told to get it replaced under warranty. Can’t do that at an authorized dealer. Basically one spends there time getting the bugs out of the Hum system, smudge use is non-existent. Run away, never purchase this product. We spent $240 before canceling the service, which was near impossible to do. I plan on filing an FCC complaint.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • 2 out 5 is nothing to brag about

    • By James K.,
    • Minneapolis, MN,
    • Jan 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    DON'T buy it if you are going to use it on a diesel. About 1.75 years ago I purchased the Hum for my 2008 F350 diesel. I was told by the Verizon sales force that it was compatible. Great, or so I thought. I first installed it in my Saturn, and it worked great. Perfect.

    I then installed it in my F350 and it only worked for location, MPH, and safe driver report. The MPG registered only 3 MPG! I called Hum and worked with Hum Technical support several different times. After several calls, I was told that the Hum does not work well with diesel vehicles. BUT, we are working on a solution and it should be out soon. Today, 1.5 years later, I received a contract renewal notification and I thought I should get an update about the MPG problem. For the first time when I called Hum Tech support, they were honest. "Sorry sir, there are no plans on making the Hum devices compatible with diesel vehicles."

    I like the fact that I can set alerts to know where the truck is at and how fast it is going (any parent should like that) but what I was told is just not right. I will give the last tech I talked to credit for coming out and also saying, "it just will not work and there is no solution." HELLO, how about a discount on the monthly fee.

    It's like buying a car with one flat tire, you can drive it, but can't put air in it and can't replace it. Hum/Verizon you should be ashamed. Two stars only because of what Hum can do, and three dark stars for what Verizon won't do to resolve it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Verizon will RIP you off. Beware of HIGH cancellation fees!

    • By Mandi B.,
    • Ohio,
    • Jan 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Ours were JUNK, we had five on our trucks. Verizon sent us a $458.00 bill to disconnect after we called and told them of all the troubles we had with the devices. Several trips to the Verizon store where we purchased them. $458.00 AFTER they took into consideration we were not happy, long-time customers and all the issues we experienced. Because we dealt with the store and not called into customer service every time there was an issue, they did not believe us. We have been loyal customers of Verizon since the '90s, and this is how they treat loyalty...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Hum is a piece of junk

    • By Richard K.,
    • Arkansas,
    • Dec 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Hum quit working one month after purchase. Technical support from Verizon and Hum is nonexistent. Hum customer support says that tech support will call, but they never do. I contacted them four times and have been waiting over a month and still no call.

    If Verizon does not refund all my Hum related costs, I am going to start a Class Action Suit against them.

    I completely understand why Hum has a 94% customer disapproval rating. I would give them less than one star if I could.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible product and phone support

    • By John M.,
    • Urbana, IL,
    • Dec 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I bought a Hum from Verizon in October 2018. It worked for two days then stopped. I called support and the person told me I would have to be elevated to a higher support, and they would be in touch within 24 hours. Never had a call. I returned the unit and received a package that was a reconditioned generation one, totally wrong unit. I returned that one also and received another one. This one wouldn’t work from the start. I have spent hours in the local Verizon office talking to them and Verizon support. Told them I wanted to cancel the service. They said that would cost me $115. I said no, it won’t, and asked for the supervisor, who, after pressure from me waived the fee. There are better products and deals on Amazon.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don't buy this!

    • By Richard G.,
    • Erie, PA,
    • Dec 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I bought (or was forced I should say into buying) a Hum from Verizon Wireless one month ago. It never worked. Hum told me to go to Verizon and get a new one, but they sent me a refurbished one. I argued with Verizon that I wanted a new one, they said no. I wish I never git this. I will never do business with Hum or Verizon again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Unit not working

    • By John C.,
    • Texas,
    • Dec 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Back in November, my unit stopped working. I contacted Hum and they said they will look into it. Several days goes by and I have not heard anything. So I called back, and they hung up on me. I called back and they said sorry, we look into it and move it up the ladder. A week goes by and no word from them again. I called and a supervisor said that no one has looked into the unit yet. We are sorry, but I will have it step up and someone will be looking at your problem. Two weeks go by and still no word from them. Now I am dealing with Verizon, and still the unit is not working. But Verizon is looking into the problem. I have yet heard from Hum, and still no emails from them. So I am guessing that Hum is not going to call me. Hum's Customer Services is no good. They keep saying the same thing over and over. Hum is not worth the money. I would advise staying away from Hum.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • No customer support from Hum technicians

    • By Richard K.,
    • Pharr, TX,
    • Dec 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My Hum unit in my 2015 Prius quit working two weeks ago. I had a Verizon technician unplug it and reinstall it last Monday. He said it beeped when he hooked it up, so it is connected. It still is not working. I contacted Hum support on Tuesday and they said a Hum technician would contact me. It is now Friday evening and still no contact from Hum. I called Verizon yesterday for a return and refund on this junk from Hum. Verizon only referred me back to Hum support and Hum again said a technician would contact me. I would not recommend the Hum for anybody.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not worth it

    • By Denise D.,
    • New Hampshire,
    • Dec 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I left OnStar for Hum and it was the worst thing I did. Within 10 days of installing the device, I needed assistance due to a snowstorm. When I pushed the help bottom it didn't work, when I spun into the snowbank the Hum stopped working. I had to call for help on my own.

    When I called Hum, it was always a 30-minute hold time to get someone. When I told them the device wasn't working, the first told me it was my car. Wanted me to take my car in for service. I called them back the next day and told them I wanted a technical support member, they advised me it would take 48 hours for them to call me back. Really, 48 hours, what kind of tech company tells you two days before they get you an answer?! I refused to get off the phone without an answer, spent two hours to finally have the device tested and am told I need to exchange it. I was hot.

    DO NOT sign up for this! Verizon and Hum DO NOT stand by this product! OnStar has never left me on the side of the road!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Just awful

    • By Gerald O.,
    • New Jersey,
    • Nov 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This simply doesn’t work, and the support is nonexistent. You get bounced from one person to another with no solutions at all. This is the worst piece of trash I ever saw.

    It is a complete waste of money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Hum killed my car battery

    • By Derek M.,
    • Illinois,
    • Nov 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I needed a hotspot to see my car camera remotely. This worked for a week or so. Terrible problems with hotspot. Then drained my battery to the point of replacing it. This device replaced my other Verizon Hotspot that was promised to work but did not. I am locked into a contract and am now paying on TWO useless devices.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible!

    • By Heidi Q.,
    • Colorado,
    • Nov 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I spent several hours on the phone and in the car, even sitting in the cold in my car to try waiting for the device to connect to my phone without the engine running. It never worked. The customer service was a long line of people who all asked me the same questions over and over even though one would tell me before connecting me to the next that they'd already explained my situation to them. My device never worked. Twice they promised refunds, but the payments still showed up on my bill. DON'T GET IT!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Used to love it, now...

    • By Ruth B.,
    • Wisconsin,
    • Nov 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    We got the Hum in April of 2016 and have used the towing service multiple times. Last night my daughter (who has pneumonia) and I blew out a tire on the side of the road. In November. In Wisconsin. In a car with no heat. No big deal though, right? I've got the Hum, we'll be fine. Minor inconvenience. Nope.

    When I called roadside assistance, they claimed that we'd never had their service, our names weren't in their system, and there was nothing they could do. So we sat there on the side of the road for hours. Both phones eventually died. We got home sometime around 4 am, and I may need to bring daughter back to the hospital.

    I understand that glitches and errors can happen, but this was a dire situation and they just couldn't have cared less. The guy on the phone couldn't be bothered to pay attention to what was going on. He kept asking me to repeat details I'd already given him and repeating them back to me wrong. I will be getting rid of the Hum devices at our earliest opportunity and, since Verizon costs an arm and a leg but I paid it for the roadside assistance, we will probably be switching cell phone providers too.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible product

    • By Suzan R.,
    • Illinois,
    • Nov 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I was not told this would be a monthly charge, which granted, I should have expected, but I was told it would be $5, not the $10 a month I was billed. We signed up only for the coupons offered at local restaurants. Of the dozens of coupons offered, none of the three I checked with are valid, including Hardee's, Quizno's and a local cafe. We were allowed to cancel the contract - only after hours of haggling. DO NOT sign up for this! It is fraudulent. I'm surprised a class-action suit has not been brought. It doesn't deserve even a one-star rating, and I am surprised Verizon hasn't canceled this option.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Do not buy!

    • By Maggie L.,
    • Houston, TX,
    • Nov 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Verizon really knows how to sell a product. As the Verizon salesman was giving me and my sister the spiel of how great and amazing Hum is, we were both soon convinced. However, the second we purchased, the devices the trouble started. I wish I had just said we changed our minds, but it just sounded like such a good way to avoid a mechanic who might overcharge us or fix something unnecessarily we didn't want to pass it up. We bought two devices, one for her car and one for mine, and for some reason, both devices got associated with her information instead of both of ours. We were at Verizon trying to solve the issue for at least an hour before we threw our hands in the air and decided to fix it later as we had somewhere to be.

    Since everything was with her information, my sister called Hum and they gave her the runaround, saying it was Verizon's issue and so she called Verizon and was put on a never-ending hold, only to be told she had to call Hum and talk to them. I then took it upon myself to go to a Verizon store and see what they could do for me, and they said I had to call Hum. I told them we had already done that and Hum told us to go to Verizon.

    Well, I didn't want to deal with it anymore as my time is more valuable to me than that and I asked if I could just return them, seeing as how no one was willing to help get them set up for us and they weren't really working. Verizon told me I would have to pay a $45 restocking fee for their faulty equipment that didn't work and they weren't willing to help us fix. Needless to say, I left and called Hum and they were at least able to switch the information to mine so I could try to figure out the issue. However, the joke was on us, they apparently were working fine they just don't do very much.

    You could go to an auto parts store and have them hook your car up to their computer and have them tell you the same information Hum does. The only thing Hum even does is say there's an issue, it's basically the equivalent of the engine light in your car. Plus if you have roadside assistance with your insurance, you don't need two, which is another feature of Hum. DON'T waste your money! If Verizon didn't have the best service, you can guarantee I would have switched providers after the incident with their unhelpful employees.

    DO NOT buy this product, it is a waste of money! Verizon also doesn't tell you about the $40 activation fee per device.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don't get this!

    Overall Experience:

    If you are considering getting this for your car - please DON'T. If you are standing in the Verizon store and this sounds like a good deal, hand it back to the salesperson and say "NO THANK YOU." This awful device cost me so much more than the $10 monthly charge. My car was diagnosed with a parasitic power drain which cost me so much - 2 batteries, an alternator, and multiple car rentals and Ubers...the towing was covered by AAA. The Hum app kept showing my car's health was good and no problems with the battery or alternator for months after it killed my battery and ruined my alternator.

    Verizon refuses to take this back and insists I must continue to pay on it even though it cannot be used...it is garbage. It never worked for phone calls, and I used it once for emergency assistance. I am glad I had AAA because it was not much good for that either.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Best investment I have ever made

    • By Jaime F.,
    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Oct 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Very often people that have great experiences with a product don't make the time to share what a great experience they had with a product. It's only the negative experiences that get voiced because often times we want someone to hear and solve the issue.

    In my case, Hum has been an incredible tool for my family and I. Hum was an affordable way to keep myself and loved ones safe on the road and for only $10 a month, it's a no-brainer. Not only does Hum send help your way in the event of an accident, but my teen can get roadside assistance without having to pay anything extra for it. I can monitor his speed and be notified of any issues with his vehicle. This tool is a night are for mechanics because we have all the information at the palm of our hands.

    If you have loved ones on the road and are looking for an affordable way to equip them with the ability to receive help, I absolutely recommend this to everyone. As a four-family member we own this, and we have had a wonderful experience. Don't let all the chatter keep you from making an excellent purchase.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Gives false readings of accidents

    • By Marlana M.,
    • California,
    • Oct 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Verizon suggested getting this device for my daughter since she was a new driver. The device was able to detect accidents and location, which I thought it would be a great idea. The location is a little spotty, and at times it would say no location found, but for the most part, the location works okay.

    After about a year in, I get a call at 11:00 at night from the local police department saying the Hum devise on her car alerted Hum that the vehicle had gotten into an accident and they could not get a hold of the driver in the car, my heart stopped. So the local PD was heading out to the last known location of the car, I immediately called my daughter's cell phone, and she answered with "Hey mom, what's up?" I ask her if she's okay and she said she was at a friend's hanging out. I told her I got a call from the PD and they were on the way to her location because they detected an accident with the car. I asked her to go outside and look at her car, maybe someone hit her car while it was parked...nope, nothing.

    I called the PD back and they said unless Hum told them not to go out there they would still go out to the scene. I contacted Hum, asked them to call off the PD and let them do their real jobs. Then I asked them why they would get an alert for an accident if there wasn't one, I cannot describe how I felt getting that phone call, "your 17-year-old daughter got in an accident, and no one is able to get a hold of her." Talk about a HEART ATTACK! Their explanation was, maybe there was loud music that set off the alert...are you kidding me? Unacceptable.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Garbage

    • By Louis D.,
    • Great River, NY,
    • Oct 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    From tech support to what it can do, it’s a waste of time and money. It stopped working and I couldn’t get help to fix it. I was on phone for hours. You can’t cancel without a fee. Reckon support from Verizon and Hum didn’t know what to do. All I can do is keep contacting Hum in hopes of getting a tech that knows how to fix or replace. I don’t have the time to waste on a terrible device.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Shame on you Verizon!

    • By Julie N.,
    • Parker, CO,
    • Oct 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I fell for the pushy salesperson, who swore that all insurance companies will give you a discount on your monthly premium if you get this. THEY DO NOT! And what is worse is that the Verizon sales reps know it. I have State Farm (which the rep says he has also), he says he gets $11.00 discount...Ummm no you don't, liar. All State Farms are governed by underwriting, and they DO NOT give discounts for this! Then you charge me $48.62 to restock the stupid thing!

    Buyer beware. Verizon will rob you blind both coming and going. AND I have been a Verizon customer for 13 years! Ughh, too bad zero stars was not a choice!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 28-54 of 146

Write a Review for Hum by Verizon!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Hum by Verizon Reviews