Read 138 Hum by Verizon Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 2)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 6 4 star: 0 3 star: 3 2 star: 10 1 star:  119
Bottom Line: 5% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 12-22 of 138
Sort reviews by:

  • 21 out 35 people found this review helpful

    What it doesn't do

    • Williamsport, PA,
    • Jan 26, 2016

    It would be nice if engineers and managers would make a practical device. I would like to see a log of my vehicle, the last oil change and the associated cost. An alarm when the next oil change is due as well as lubrication, transmission, coolant. When I got gas, my average MPG. Each trip's mileage, date, GPS stop duration. The app could have destination added. All of this is needed for IRS log.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 21 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Unreliable and bad customer service

    • Lima, Ohio,
    • Oct 27, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Don't use HUM! The Customer service can do nothing to help when there is a "cannot connect to the server" message. They tell me next time I have the car to re-plug the reader in and try again.

    If I could locate the car, I wouldn't need to do that!

    I will return the HUM and try another service immediately! This has happened so many times that I can never trust if the HUM will work or not.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 21 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Hum didn't detect accident

    • Arizona,
    • Jan 31, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought the Hum by Verizon for my older parent's vehicle to help them in the case of the car breaking down or car accident.

    Well, my parents were in an accident serious enough for both front airbags to go off and render the car disabled. Luckily my parents were ok, and someone at the scene called 911, but the Hum device never detected the accident (and still doesn't, the website login says the car is good!).

    We know the device was working because we occasionally got messages to change oil etc. The car got towed away. By the way, we know the Hum GPS works because it accurately shows the car's location in a junkyard.

    I've lost my confidence in Hum, and I've asked for a refund, which Verizon did give me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 21 out 23 people found this review helpful

    HUM service

    • Arkansas,
    • Feb 6, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I do not recommend this device and service.

    Verizon can offer no service for a faulty device which only worked for approximately one week. The store set my service up but didn't give me the password. Neither Verizon nor HUM by Verizon was able to send me an email to reset the password. Verizon only offered to send me a reconditioned device with a promise that it would work.

    I am very disappointed in Verizon for selling the product and but is unable to service the device.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 20 out 24 people found this review helpful

    I think the Hum needs a lot of work, very disappointed

    I do not recommend this to anyone who has a new car or a lease. I have had it since it hit the market, it's very annoying and I dislike it. I get emails everyday, and they are false alerts. I don't know where they come up with these alerts. I took it to the dealership, where I consider them to be professional mechanics, and they hooked my car up to machines for three hours, with no problems, but I still get alternate alerts everyday. That day I called customer service to tell them about these false alerts. I went in the house for 30 minutes, then went back to my car and heard someone talking, and I told them I said good bye, but they said I didn't say good bye. The guy kept calling me Chris, asking "how do you hook this thing up?" I said, "who is this"? He replied "I am a customer", and I said "that's funny, so am I". I said "well, you have a good day", he said "yes, you too". I told him that it's pretty bad when a customer calls another customer's car. How does that work? This is pretty creepy.

    With the false diagnostic alerts, I feel sorry for customers that don't know a lot about cars, and will lose a lot of money to dishonest mechanics. Not recommended, don't was your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 20 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Hum is a bum

    • Tennessee,
    • Sep 8, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    My husband was talked into buying the Hum by a slick-talking salesman. He was not given all the details about price, not being able to get out of the deal if you are not satisfied, etc. His Hum is working. Mine is not. My car starting missing on me yesterday, the day after installing the device and it gave us no information on the problem. If we cannot get out of the contract, we will likely be getting our phone service through someone else in two years. I have had it with Verizon.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 20 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Shame on me for trusting Verizon. ZERO stars.

    I purchased Hum in February of 2017 because the sales person was remarkable and highly recommended the product. He couldn't speak enough about the product and the discounts afforded through the program.

    Frustrated with the lack of promised discounts, particularly surrounding travel (salesperson said he saved hundreds!), I spoke to a new rep regarding cancellation and learned of the cancellation fees. I decided I would keep it for the safety and security features, then cancel as soon as I'd broken even financially.

    BUT, I was in my first car accident ever this week and was terrified, and guess what Hum did? ABSOLUTELY NOTHING. It's a false sense of security, and I feel like a fool for allowing Verizon to break my trust. I will be speaking with them this week and expect to cancel ASAP. Please read the reviews; I wish I had!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 19 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Cannot undo a call to Emergency

    I have repeatedly and accidentally called Emergency when I was only trying to reposition the HUM on my visor. Once the Emergency button is pressed, you cannot undo the call. Even when the device is turned off, the Emergency button is active. The design of this device creates false calls to Emergency and I don't like that. When I talked to customer service rep at Verizon yesterday, he told me I had to return it within 14 days to avoid the $115 deactivation charge.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 19 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Do not buy!

    • Jonesboro, GA,
    • Jun 22, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    This sounded like a great deal and concept when we were at Verizon upgrading phones. The Verizon rep installed the device and told us after driving around for about 10 miles it would activate. Well, it never did. After a couple of days when we were on a long road trip we called Hum customer service, this part you won't believe – we were told to turn the car off remove the device, restart and yes, give it about 10 miles and it would activate. The crazy part is after the fourth call and being told the same thing again, I demanded tech support, he could communicate with the device but not start it, so he told me he would refer it to engineering and they would call me in a couple of days! I asked for a supervisor who repeated the same ridiculous response. We took it back to Verizon!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 19 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Hum causes problem of your car

    • Tustin, CA,
    • Jul 21, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    My daughter's car had the Hum device to detect any car problem, and for sure after a year she got an error code from Hum. We took it to the BMW repair shop and was told that the Hum device caused a battery voltage low, which costs $181 to have it recharged. I called Verizon to cancel the subscription. I told them about the error code, and their reaction is they never heard of that error code from Hum. So, I got upset and asked if he knows better than the mechanic.

    Anyway, I was determined to cancel the subscription but was told that I will get charged for the early termination fee of $60. I don't think that it is fair at all since the device had created the problem and the reason that I am canceling it. Why would I continue having it plugged in if it will be the source of more future issues? DO NOT buy the Hum!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 19 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Hum is a piece of junk

    • Arkansas,
    • Dec 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Hum quit working one month after purchase. Technical support from Verizon and Hum is nonexistent. Hum customer support says that tech support will call, but they never do. I contacted them four times and have been waiting over a month and still no call.

    If Verizon does not refund all my Hum related costs, I am going to start a Class Action Suit against them.

    I completely understand why Hum has a 94% customer disapproval rating. I would give them less than one star if I could.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 12-22 of 138

Write a Review for Hum by Verizon!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review