• 146 Customer Reviews
  • 5% Recommend This Product
1.3 out of 5
5 star: 4% 4 star: 0% 3 star: 2% 2 star: 6% 1 star: 86%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Not good for GPS

    • By Marie B.,
    • Pennsylvania,
    • Oct 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have had the device for about 4 months. I like it most of the time. When monitoring my driving habits, it has that I was on the phone for 82 minutes. This was because I used the navigation for directions on my trip. This affected my safety score. Otherwise, I have improved my safety score, but it plummets when I use the phone as a GPS. This needs to be changed. I have not been able to get the GPS audibility when driving. I tried to pair it and couldn't. It is real general in locating my car when in a parking lot.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Beware of Restocking Fee

    • By Fred S.,
    • Oakland, CA,
    • Oct 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    After reading the horrible reviews here and elsewhere, I decided to return the Hum before ever even installing it.

    I found out there is a $50 Restocking Fee!

    My bad for falling for a pushy salesperson and not understanding how this device REALLY works.

    Your results may vary.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Complete ripoff!

    • By Rodney G.,
    • Texas,
    • Oct 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I purchased two, one for Toyota Tacoma, the other for a Chevrolet Silverado. I have had periodic issues with the radio and climate control system in the Chevy, nothing I've noticed in Toyota, other than the GPS tracker was usually very slow, if working at all. After a year and a half, I got a check engine light in the Toyota, but no notifications from Hum. Diagnosed as a bad device, Hum said I should be able to get a replacement for free, but Verizon wanted $150 for a new device and an early termination fee of $25. I told them to turn it off, and Verizon suddenly decides they can let me upgrade early for $30 and waive early termination. Well, Verizon disconnected the wrong device, then tells me they can't reactivate after turning it off, forcing me into another device to replace the working one.

    So, two new devices, Chevy has a check engine light, and guess what? NO notifications from Hum! Hum's response is that their device only notifies certain issues, and apparently, my issue is not on that list!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Beware

    Overall Experience:

    I have a 2013 Fusion. I've had this Hum plugged in it for three weeks. (Side note, I didn't even want the stupid thing. The Verizon sales people were extremely pushy and annoying.) As I was driving to work yesterday, ALL my dashboard lights went on. This is very scary, especially when you're alone. My mechanic told me to take my car to a Ford dealership. Ford found my Hum, removed it, and said it's messing with my computer. Hum is a piece of CRAP. I will be going to the Verizon store and demanding this Hum be taken off my bill IMMEDIATELY. I have the papers from the Ford dealership to back this up.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Verizon sucks

    • By Ron B.,
    • Vermont,
    • Oct 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My wife went in for a phone upgrade and was talked into getting the Hum because "it would lower our monthly bill." Well, of course, they LIED, and when I got the bill and called them to complain, it was past the 14-day "return policy" period. I agree with a previous poster that there should be a class action suit brought against Verizon for deceptive sales practices. Now we have to pay a buy-out fee of $120 if we want to get rid of this piece of crap. It only gets a "1" star because I couldn't give it a "0".

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Love the device, hate the customer service.

    • By Rhonda S.,
    • Texas,
    • Oct 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I love Hum and all its cool little features, however, the sorry companies they contract with are absolutely ridiculous! A few weeks ago my tire just about fell off my car and I called Hum to get it towed home. They told me it would be about an hour before a tow truck would arrive. Two hours in the blistering heat goes by and still no tow truck. I call the company Hum gave the job to, and the man is a total douche bag. He told us he wasn't coming and then turned down the job. I was hecka pissed, and I still am. Why pay for something and not be able to use it when needed? I'm thankful I wasn't on a busy highway or dangerous neighborhood, or situation.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Hum device

    • By Ryan H.,
    • Nevada,
    • Oct 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Very non-accurate. It says trucks are where they are not, and half the time it freezes and is just not what was sold to me. And when I called to complain, I was told to give it time, and now after, I'm frustrated. I'm told I waited too long to return them to go to a different device, which is bull crap. I'm done with Verizon.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • A terrible product sold by a terrible company!

    • By Jim T.,
    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Sep 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    In January of 2018 my wife bought a new iPhone from Verizon.

    The Hum was introduced to us as a safe way to monitor our driving habits; they alluded to the fact that we would get a reduction in our rates and that the device would run continuous diagnostics so that in the event of any failure in our cars mechanical system we would be forewarned. Wrong!

    Within a few weeks of installing the device we began to get low battery warnings. Sometimes yellow alerts, sometimes red alerts. Our car is a 2015 with less than 35,000 original miles. I took the car into AutoZone to have them check the battery, and it showed a low charge level so of course, I replaced the battery. Within a few days, we were getting the same low battery reading. We went back to AutoZone and was told the alternator may be bad. I then took the car to a trusted mechanic I know and he performed a complete inspection to determine the cause of the battery draining. He concluded that everything in my cars charging system was operating correctly.

    The Hum continued to send us low battery signals, and upon returning from vacation a couple of weeks ago, our car's battery was completely dead. I called AAA for a jump, and when I explained what was going on to the technician, he suggested disabling the Hum and seeing how that affected the problem.

    Well, it has been two weeks and no more problems with the battery draining. We tried to return the Hum to Verizon today but were informed that we had passed the 14-day return period. I explained that we hadn't even experienced the problem during that initial time period, but he was unrelenting.

    In summation, this is a terrible product thrust onto consumers by a terrible company. Do not purchase the Hum and do not do business with Verizon.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Piece of junk

    • By Brad B.,
    • Alabama,
    • Sep 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The biggest piece of junk and a waste of time there is! Please do not waste your time. It doesn't work!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Rarely works - not accurate

    • By Dave D.,
    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Sep 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I bought Hum for the tracking service. It only works 50% of the time. Usually, it says it cannot locate vehicle, OR it shows the pin drop on the map 5-10 miles away from where the car actually is. Because it's a mandatory two-year contract, I cannot cancel. Junk!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not useful enough and a fatal flaw

    • By David H.,
    • Maryland,
    • Sep 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I fell for the "free" device offer when buying a new phone. Big mistake. Oh, it works, but provided little information on my truck (use a torque or FORScan light). I have no need to track my driving. However, the real problem that caused me to put it on a shelf to die is the call buttons on the thing that call for assistance whether or not the "power" switch is off. More than once I almost smashed it to try to stop the call. It's almost impossible to handle it without doing this when taking it off or putting it on the visor. It's just badly designed and annoying. So I'm stuck with the remainder of a two-year contract, but I now take some satisfaction in getting "Hum inactivity notices."

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Hum does not support its product

    • By Janna S.,
    • New Mexico,
    • Aug 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I was on a two-year contract, but the speaker stopped holding a charge shortly after one year. I have to say, Verizon was trying to make it right, but Hum was no help at all. Their solution was to "upgrade" my device, at an extra cost and extend my contract time. Uh, no... you sold me a product that quit working before my contract was up and your solution was to make me spend more money on something I no longer had confidence in...so, no thanks. I assume the upgraded versions work better (as I was one of the first on board), but I certainly wouldn't expect Hum to stand by their product if you had any issues.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Updated review

    Note

    • By Lee B.,
    • Asheville, NC,
    • Aug 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Someone needs to start a class action suit on this.

    NOTE: I went to the Verizon store to try to resolve this and walked out screaming. I am not that type of person, but I am done being nice to the manager of the store. She refused to give my money back unless I pay $120.00 or get the new "redesigned" one, which is only the plugin and not the call box. That is useless. I came home and called and got a very nice lady who resolved my issue in 10 minutes with no charges and a text verification. They are sending a box to mail it back. They know HUM is a piece of crap, but do not care. They are also targeting seniors. Keep asking for supervisors until you get this solved.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Previous review
    • Aug 11, 2018

    Cannot tell if on or how much of a charge

    I cannot tell if my Hum is on or if it is charged and how much charge it has. I usually travel on short trips and cannot leave it plugged for enough time to charge it. It has been completely worthless. I was not told of a $50 activation fee.

    (read moreread less...)

  • Do not waste your money

    • By Arshad S.,
    • Michigan,
    • Aug 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I purchased the Hum service back in early 2018. It worked for a couple of weeks and then stopped. I called technical service a few times. I also went to the Verizon store, but they could not get it going. Tech support told me that the system had a known software issue and there is no fix at this time. I asked to cancel my service, but that did not happen. My account was given to collection and so I just paid $181.19 to close it. Save your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Dishonest saleswoman

    • By Emmette G.,
    • Scottsdale, AZ,
    • Aug 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I purchased a new iPhone 8 through Verizon in May of this year. They "threw" in Hum as part of the package. They did not say there was a 14-day grace period OR that it would cost $10 per month. The salesgirl at the store, who is also the manager, "implied" that it went with the purchase...along with the automatic charger that she also "threw in," but cost $49.95. She installed the Hum and sent me on my way.

    About a month later the "low battery" notice appeared on the Hum app. Then I had the car emissions for the next year, and it FAILED. It read that the computer wasn't "ready to be tested?" The test employee said it was probably a low or dead battery that caused it and asked if I had recently replaced my battery.....which I hadn't. I took the Hum out and went to the Verizon store and was told "sorry," we have never heard of this before. I wanted to quit Hum, and was informed that it would cost me $110 to cancel my contract. I paid it, reluctantly, but will NEVER buy another Verizon product. If there is something wrong with my car, will find out tomorrow, I will be back at that store with a bill.

    Bottom line is, don't buy the Hum, and BE SURE that you read your contract thoroughly before you sign/pay it!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Setting off alarm

    • By Thomas K.,
    • Arkansas,
    • Aug 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Has anyone experienced the Hum sitting off their car alarm system, the headlights flashing the horn blowing simultaneously, every ten to fifteen minutes, non-stop until you disconnect the horn relay and alarm system? If so I would love to see it here on this review page.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Terrible service

    • By Jason M.,
    • Maryland,
    • Aug 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I tried out Hum in 2017 and when I canceled my services, I sent the unit in as instructed. I have since continued to be charged for services and have been in an endless battle to get them to stop charging me. I called them multiple time to no end. The customer service call center is pointless and cannot handle anything to address this, and to add to the frustration, they talk in circles, as well as not clear or concise.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Worthless

    • By Lou L.,
    • Georgia,
    • Jun 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I HATE this piece of crap and can't believe I got talked into it. The speaker sounds like you are talking through a wet sponge. NO ONE can understand me when I use it, and I can't understand anyone else so I keep asking "Can you repeat that? Sorry, I didn't get that," etc. Makes me sound very professional. Using Hum also deactivates Google Assistant so I can't send a text hands-free or have Google read a text, or place a call for me. It's just really useless and so it now resides in a bag on my closet floor. Did I say I HATE it? And by association, I'm not very pleased with Verizon either.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Run away fast - wait for something better from anyone other than Verizon

    • By Lan S.,
    • Panama City, FL,
    • Jun 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I don't normally review products that I purchase. Everyone who is considering a potential Hum purchase needs to review this review and this site. I have several electronic devices, and this is by-far the WORST device I have ever purchased.

    BUYER BEWARE!

    I bought this primarily to use as a Wi-Fi hotspot on May 4th. It works fine while the vehicle is running...sometimes. After struggling with the unit for two weeks, the OBD reader quit transmitting. The local store didn't have any so they mailed another one to the wrong address, and wouldn't redeliver it to the correct address. I found another one at a different store. After countless hours on the phone troubleshooting, and two more stops to the local store, we got the THIRD device working on June 1st. Count the days here.

    Verizon and Hum techs seem to be paid by the hour and not successful accomplishments of making the device work. Try this...wait, try that...wait, try this...let's see how many hoops the consumer will jump through. Everyone who "helped" changed something in my account which interfered with its operation. The extended Wi-Fi feature, which is supposed to enable Wi-Fi access for an hour after the vehicle is shut off, does not ever seem to work for a full hour.

    I wish I had found this site before I bought one. I can only wish EVERY board member of Verizon's staff had to use the Hum device for sole internet access. This could possibly ensure the system is simplified and improved for consumer use. It has the potential to be a good system, but it is unnecessarily complex requiring coordination between Hum/Verizon support staff AND Verizon staff.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not worth the effort

    • By Mike M.,
    • Durham, NC,
    • Jun 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    It was a MAJOR problem just listing a secondary driver, which occurred because the primary user got no feedback from the OBD reader. Multiple visits to the website and phone calls did not help.

    In one and a half years, to-date, zero results.

    A huge waste of our time and money. It even wrongly locates my vehicle by 1/2 mile.

    I purchased it for my son to aid in his travels to college but it didn't work in his car or my F150 (the best selling truck in America).

    Save your money. Get AAA.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Disappointed

    • By Kathy D.,
    • Tennessee,
    • May 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The locator feature never works on the Hum, which is the main reason for getting it. I read bad reviews before I got Hum, but ignored them and wish I hadn't. Don't waste your money. I'm paying $10 a month for something that doesn't work properly.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Verizon/Hum - the customer is always wrong

    • By EL M.,
    • Colorado,
    • May 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    They get one star on this because no stars or half of one are not options.

    The biggest disappointment about this product is not that it is a piece of junk (which it is), it’s Verizon’s customer service. First I went back to the retail store where we bought a new phone and were scammed into buying the Hum (my fault for not doing more research - I trusted Verizon and that was a huge mistake). I explained to the Manager that the device did not work for us, and I gave him all the reasons why. He pretty quickly cut me off and told me he couldn’t help me. Rather, I needed to go home, call customer service, and tell them I bought a new car that was not compatible with the device. I asked him if the only way he could help me was to advise me to call his company and lie to them. He explained he was just trying to help. Geez.

    I then called customer service. Shockingly before they would proceed, they required me to provide my PIN. Really? No one requires that. And I called on their phone, which they didn’t recognize. After 45 minutes (and multiple transfers starting over each frustrating time) of patronizing scripts and trying to sell me other stuff that I don’t need, they “let” me out of my contract for half price…for a product they already know doesn’t work and makes people mad.

    I have been a Verizon customer for 10+ years. Or said differently, all in, they scammed me out of about $100. It’s not much money, but it does tell me who they are. I will fulfill my obligations with them and move on to other, better providers. Or at least I’ll give someone else a chance to disappoint. Verizon simply does not stand behind its products or care much about their customer experiences.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • NO good, nothing but trouble!

    • By Donald B.,
    • DeMotte, IN,
    • May 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    When I bought Hum, I thought it would be great, especially for the medical response system because of my age (82) as I travel a lot.

    It seemed to work in my first car, which was a 2012 Kia, but when I changed to another auto (2018 Kia), it has not worked since. I have been on the phone with customer service for numerous hours (mostly on hold) with no resolution. They just keep saying a couple more days, etc., etc. and it looks like I'm stuck in a two-year contract with Verizon or pay up!

    I am very dissatisfied with customer service and Verizon (a longtime customer).

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don't buy this product

    • By Robert Howard,
    • Sevierville, TN,
    • May 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I went into the Verizon store in Sevierville, Tennessee to replace my broken cell phone. I was told if I get the Hum car device, it would reduce my cell bill. I had no interest in the Hum device but took it to reduce the cell phone price. This turned out not to be true. There was actually an extra $10.00 per month charge for the Hum. After installing the Hum in my Miata, there were problems. If I did not drive the car for a week, it would slowly discharge the car battery. I would get warnings from the Hum by email that the car battery was discharging. I had to unplug the Hum and charge the car battery. After this happing twice, I disconnected the Hum for good. I have given up on it and paid the $120.00 early termination fee. I feel like I was scammed by Verizon.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not for people with poor credit

    • By Victor Smith,
    • Zephyrhills, FL,
    • May 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I went to a Verizon store to get one of these things. After sitting there for 20 minutes, going through the application, I was told that Verizon wanted a $400 deposit. I was not trying to get cell service or an iPhone, I just wanted something to keep up with my car.

    I went to Walmart and found something that did the same thing for $20 and $10 a month fee, and no contract.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Hum and consultant

    Overall Experience:

    We were told at the Falls Church, Virginia store that this Hum can be used on any vehicle, which is FALSE information since you need to purchase one for every vehicle in your household. Beware of any sales consultants because we know they need to sell, but they also do not provide ALL INFORMATION. I am on hold now with this dumb Hum product but am also in the process of creating a major complaint on Virginia Retail store and its consultants. Please do research first.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Worst customer service EVER!

    • By Debra Cottam,
    • Kimball, NE,
    • Apr 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The device worked great on the first trip. The only thing it records now is the safety score. I don't think the app and device communicate to each other.

    The only thing customer service is seems to do is "Hard Reboot," and send codes. None of which changes anything.

    I am seriously rethinking my provider.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 55-81 of 146

Write a Review for Hum by Verizon!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Hum by Verizon Reviews