Read 128 Hum by Verizon Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 3)

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 6 4 star: 0 3 star: 3 2 star: 9 1 star:  110
Bottom Line: 5% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 23-33 of 128
Sort reviews by:

  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Unit not working

    • Texas,
    • Dec 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Back in November, my unit stopped working. I contacted Hum and they said they will look into it. Several days goes by and I have not heard anything. So I called back, and they hung up on me. I called back and they said sorry, we look into it and move it up the ladder. A week goes by and no word from them again. I called and a supervisor said that no one has looked into the unit yet. We are sorry, but I will have it step up and someone will be looking at your problem. Two weeks go by and still no word from them. Now I am dealing with Verizon, and still the unit is not working. But Verizon is looking into the problem. I have yet heard from Hum, and still no emails from them. So I am guessing that Hum is not going to call me. Hum's Customer Services is no good. They keep saying the same thing over and over. Hum is not worth the money. I would advise staying away from Hum.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    No customer support from Hum technicians

    • Pharr, TX,
    • Dec 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My Hum unit in my 2015 Prius quit working two weeks ago. I had a Verizon technician unplug it and reinstall it last Monday. He said it beeped when he hooked it up, so it is connected. It still is not working. I contacted Hum support on Tuesday and they said a Hum technician would contact me. It is now Friday evening and still no contact from Hum. I called Verizon yesterday for a return and refund on this junk from Hum. Verizon only referred me back to Hum support and Hum again said a technician would contact me. I would not recommend the Hum for anybody.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Not worth it

    • New Hampshire,
    • Dec 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I left OnStar for Hum and it was the worst thing I did. Within 10 days of installing the device, I needed assistance due to a snowstorm. When I pushed the help bottom it didn't work, when I spun into the snowbank the Hum stopped working. I had to call for help on my own.

    When I called Hum, it was always a 30-minute hold time to get someone. When I told them the device wasn't working, the first told me it was my car. Wanted me to take my car in for service. I called them back the next day and told them I wanted a technical support member, they advised me it would take 48 hours for them to call me back. Really, 48 hours, what kind of tech company tells you two days before they get you an answer?! I refused to get off the phone without an answer, spent two hours to finally have the device tested and am told I need to exchange it. I was hot.

    DO NOT sign up for this! Verizon and Hum DO NOT stand by this product! OnStar has never left me on the side of the road!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Just awful

    • New Jersey,
    • Nov 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This simply doesn’t work, and the support is nonexistent. You get bounced from one person to another with no solutions at all. This is the worst piece of trash I ever saw.

    It is a complete waste of money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Hum killed my car battery

    • Illinois,
    • Nov 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I needed a hotspot to see my car camera remotely. This worked for a week or so. Terrible problems with hotspot. Then drained my battery to the point of replacing it. This device replaced my other Verizon Hotspot that was promised to work but did not. I am locked into a contract and am now paying on TWO useless devices.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Horrible!

    • Colorado,
    • Nov 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I spent several hours on the phone and in the car, even sitting in the cold in my car to try waiting for the device to connect to my phone without the engine running. It never worked. The customer service was a long line of people who all asked me the same questions over and over even though one would tell me before connecting me to the next that they'd already explained my situation to them. My device never worked. Twice they promised refunds, but the payments still showed up on my bill. DON'T GET IT!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Used to love it, now...

    • Wisconsin,
    • Nov 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We got the Hum in April of 2016 and have used the towing service multiple times. Last night my daughter (who has pneumonia) and I blew out a tire on the side of the road. In November. In Wisconsin. In a car with no heat. No big deal though, right? I've got the Hum, we'll be fine. Minor inconvenience. Nope.

    When I called roadside assistance, they claimed that we'd never had their service, our names weren't in their system, and there was nothing they could do. So we sat there on the side of the road for hours. Both phones eventually died. We got home sometime around 4 am, and I may need to bring daughter back to the hospital.

    I understand that glitches and errors can happen, but this was a dire situation and they just couldn't have cared less. The guy on the phone couldn't be bothered to pay attention to what was going on. He kept asking me to repeat details I'd already given him and repeating them back to me wrong. I will be getting rid of the Hum devices at our earliest opportunity and, since Verizon costs an arm and a leg but I paid it for the roadside assistance, we will probably be switching cell phone providers too.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Horrible product

    • Illinois,
    • Nov 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was not told this would be a monthly charge, which granted, I should have expected, but I was told it would be $5, not the $10 a month I was billed. We signed up only for the coupons offered at local restaurants. Of the dozens of coupons offered, none of the three I checked with are valid, including Hardee's, Quizno's and a local cafe. We were allowed to cancel the contract - only after hours of haggling. DO NOT sign up for this! It is fraudulent. I'm surprised a class-action suit has not been brought. It doesn't deserve even a one-star rating, and I am surprised Verizon hasn't canceled this option.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Do not buy!

    • Houston, TX,
    • Nov 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Verizon really knows how to sell a product. As the Verizon salesman was giving me and my sister the spiel of how great and amazing Hum is, we were both soon convinced. However, the second we purchased, the devices the trouble started. I wish I had just said we changed our minds, but it just sounded like such a good way to avoid a mechanic who might overcharge us or fix something unnecessarily we didn't want to pass it up. We bought two devices, one for her car and one for mine, and for some reason, both devices got associated with her information instead of both of ours. We were at Verizon trying to solve the issue for at least an hour before we threw our hands in the air and decided to fix it later as we had somewhere to be.

    Since everything was with her information, my sister called Hum and they gave her the runaround, saying it was Verizon's issue and so she called Verizon and was put on a never-ending hold, only to be told she had to call Hum and talk to them. I then took it upon myself to go to a Verizon store and see what they could do for me, and they said I had to call Hum. I told them we had already done that and Hum told us to go to Verizon.

    Well, I didn't want to deal with it anymore as my time is more valuable to me than that and I asked if I could just return them, seeing as how no one was willing to help get them set up for us and they weren't really working. Verizon told me I would have to pay a $45 restocking fee for their faulty equipment that didn't work and they weren't willing to help us fix. Needless to say, I left and called Hum and they were at least able to switch the information to mine so I could try to figure out the issue. However, the joke was on us, they apparently were working fine they just don't do very much.

    You could go to an auto parts store and have them hook your car up to their computer and have them tell you the same information Hum does. The only thing Hum even does is say there's an issue, it's basically the equivalent of the engine light in your car. Plus if you have roadside assistance with your insurance, you don't need two, which is another feature of Hum. DON'T waste your money! If Verizon didn't have the best service, you can guarantee I would have switched providers after the incident with their unhelpful employees.

    DO NOT buy this product, it is a waste of money! Verizon also doesn't tell you about the $40 activation fee per device.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Don't get this!

    If you are considering getting this for your car - please DON'T. If you are standing in the Verizon store and this sounds like a good deal, hand it back to the salesperson and say "NO THANK YOU." This awful device cost me so much more than the $10 monthly charge. My car was diagnosed with a parasitic power drain which cost me so much - 2 batteries, an alternator, and multiple car rentals and Ubers...the towing was covered by AAA. The Hum app kept showing my car's health was good and no problems with the battery or alternator for months after it killed my battery and ruined my alternator.

    Verizon refuses to take this back and insists I must continue to pay on it even though it cannot be used...it is garbage. It never worked for phone calls, and I used it once for emergency assistance. I am glad I had AAA because it was not much good for that either.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Best investment I have ever made

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Oct 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Very often people that have great experiences with a product don't make the time to share what a great experience they had with a product. It's only the negative experiences that get voiced because often times we want someone to hear and solve the issue.

    In my case, Hum has been an incredible tool for my family and I. Hum was an affordable way to keep myself and loved ones safe on the road and for only $10 a month, it's a no-brainer. Not only does Hum send help your way in the event of an accident, but my teen can get roadside assistance without having to pay anything extra for it. I can monitor his speed and be notified of any issues with his vehicle. This tool is a night are for mechanics because we have all the information at the palm of our hands.

    If you have loved ones on the road and are looking for an affordable way to equip them with the ability to receive help, I absolutely recommend this to everyone. As a four-family member we own this, and we have had a wonderful experience. Don't let all the chatter keep you from making an excellent purchase.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 23-33 of 128

Write a Review for Hum by Verizon!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review