Read 138 Hum by Verizon Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 3)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 6 4 star: 0 3 star: 3 2 star: 10 1 star:  119
Bottom Line: 5% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 23-33 of 138
Sort reviews by:

  • 18 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Actually like it a lot!

    • Cedar Rapids, Iowa,
    • Apr 6, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I own 2 vehicles, A 2011 GMC Acadia and a 2008 Mazda 6i. I currently am subscribed to OnStar with the Acadia. I bought Hum for the Mazda as I needed to be able to read the codes, if any, were to pop up. I like how the app works and how much info it provides. For $10 a month I feel as though I am actually getting my money's worth. I called OnStar and found out I was paying $35 a month for similar service. I don't need WiFi for my vehicle nor do I need calling time. My Acadia offers hands free calling without OnStar. So I don't need that either. I will be canceling my OnStar and getting the HUM for my Acadia. For the price it is offering everything I need/want and for less. There are things that could be improved on such as sensitive buttons and a poor speaker. For the lower price, I can live with it. It's not OnStar nor does it try to be. For me it is the best alternative. I have recommended this device to many people.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 18 out 19 people found this review helpful

    A Nuance That Provides Zero Value

    • Pittsburgh, PA,
    • Aug 11, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Verizon Hum's radio frequency's interfered with the TPS in my vehicle (Ram 1500, 2012) causing the warning light to show on my dash. When I agreed to the service, during my phone upgrade, I was told that there would be no charge for the device. Now I see a charge on my bill that I don't agree with. I contacted Verizon support and they claim that there is nothing that they can do to cancel the service and nullify the monthly charge that I'm stuck paying (other than pay the cancelation fee of $115).

    So other than Verizon Hum being a nuance, it provides zero value for the monthly charge that I am forced to pay. Another one of Verizon's rip-off scams.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 18 out 22 people found this review helpful

    HUM's a Bum.

    I started my HUM service in November of 2016. I had to use the roadside service once, and everything went smoothly, but I had to pay $14.95 for the towing. If your mechanic is more than 10 miles away, you pay $1 per mile. That is a lot especially when I consider that at $10 per month, I am paying $120 per year for their roadside service. I have paid far less to other roadside service providers and typically was covered up to 25 miles.

    Secondly, my battery was leaking acid and one of the battery terminals was corroded by the acid. HUM reported my battery to be "healthy." Additionally, my front brakes were squeaking badly (I had to have them replaced). I never received one auto health alert from HUM.

    Last of all, the speaker is a joke. I can hardly hear the person at the other end of the line.

    Bottom Line: If you like throwing your money away, get HUM. I am stuck until November 2017 due to Verizon's iron-clad contract. I do not recommend this service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 18 out 19 people found this review helpful

    This product sucks!

    • Winston-Salem, NC,
    • Feb 27, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Do not waste your money!

    I bought one for my son's Honda last Christmas, and the device gave us ONE reading! Since then I had to repurchase a replacement OBD reader for $50 from a Verizon dealer (the Verizon corp store wanted $120 to replace it). Still, it doesn't work, and neither Verizon or Hum will take responsibility for this loser of a product.

    I'm now stuck in a two-year contract at $10 a month for absolutely nothing! Take these reviews seriously. I wish I had.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 17 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Sucky experience

    • Long Island, NY,
    • Apr 23, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Was talked into subscribing to Hum by a Verizon corporate store rep. Purchased the system and after a week and a half was not able to get the product activated. The store was not at fault. Made three trips to the store over this period to try to activate the product. Today the store rep called Hum for the third time and was told that they had no record of the account for the third time. Rep advised me to return the product and gave me a credit.

    I believe that Hum service is owned by Verizon, but this was just another awful experience. My Fios experience was another one. Sorry I purchase a new phone from Verizon. Now locked in for another period.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 17 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Disappointed

    • Portland, OR,
    • Dec 16, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    While Hum allows me to see where my kids' cars are located, I have yet to see any true readings concerning the health of the car. This is during a time when the car did show the check engine light and was low on coolant as well as another issue. Hum showed the auto health was perfect with no issues. Have experienced this no less than 4 times on two different vehicles. This piece of equipment is a joke.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 17 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Don't get a Hum device

    • Alabama,
    • Jun 7, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    My experience with the Hum by Verizon has been less than helpful if you have a mechanical issue. The service provider technician has little ability to diagnose, and on the two occasions I needed assistance, they were less than helpful and provided no valuable input. They didn't try to get me in contact with a professional technician. The system didn't alert me to a problem at all. It is like a circus sideshow and a waste of time. You get more information from a Fitbit.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 16 out 16 people found this review helpful

    In-Drive Worked Fine - HUM is a bum!

    • South Carolina,
    • Aug 3, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    HUM Signed on in May 2016 to replace the In-Drive device that was being phased out. The 1st HUM device never worked. After numerous calls to HUM they replaced the unit. We'll unit 2 never worked either. I never had any problems with my In-Drive device, it always worked. The HUM device is JUNK! The tech service is very friendly, but they can't do anything to fix it. I have called weekly to check status, they promise they are working on it and will call me back yet they never do. I will be terminating service and shopping for another provider. I will file a legal suit if they attempt to keep me locked in some form of a contract.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 16 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Rip off alert!

    I joined Hum on November 9, 2015. I called today (October 27) to cancel my account because I have fulfilled my two-year contract with this company, and I am paid up until the beginning of the new billing period (November 9). I was told by their customer representative that I would have to pay an early termination fee of $5. Hum only charges me $10.00 per month. I asked for an explanation and was told that this is simply how their system is set up. However, if I waited until November 9th, they would reimburse me the $10 that is going to be debited from my checking account.

    I have only used Hum service once, and I paid more for towing than if I had used the service provided by my auto insurer. Do not get involved with these people.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 15 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Doesn't work!

    • Sullivan County, NY,
    • Nov 22, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Bought this for an older vehicle that I was driving late at night. The service just doesn't work. Had to call and reset repeatedly. I seriously wonder how it would help me if I did happen to have a breakdown during the 80% of the time that the little box wouldn't connect.

    You are supposed to mount it on your visor, but it is connected to a cord that hangs down. It not only looks bad, it is also in the way. My vehicle was having transmission problems as well as a rear differential issue and the OBD reader didn't pick any of it up.

    My service was canceled numerous times because I didn't want to pay for someone that didn't work. But they continued to charge my credit card even after receiving cancellation notices via email. This happened four times.

    Once Verizon gets your card number, they will just continue to hit it up. So beware.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 15 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Underhanded sales tactics

    • Columbus, OH,
    • Jan 13, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    My mother got four of these Hum devices, thinking they would be good as a gift. She wasn't told these devices add a line to your phone plan, which means there is an early termination fee ($120 per line) for each one. When she went to return them, they ended up having a $35 restocking fee, because they can't sell them after that for some reason.

    There is no way Verizon can say this is a "deal" of any kind. This looks so much like they are dumping shoddy technology on people. I have lost so much appreciation for Verizon because of stuff like this.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 23-33 of 138

Write a Review for Hum by Verizon!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review