• 146 Customer Reviews
  • 5% Recommend This Product
1.3 out of 5
5 star: 4% 4 star: 0% 3 star: 2% 2 star: 6% 1 star: 86%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Don't buy this product

    • By Robert Howard,
    • Sevierville, TN,
    • May 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I went into the Verizon store in Sevierville, Tennessee to replace my broken cell phone. I was told if I get the Hum car device, it would reduce my cell bill. I had no interest in the Hum device but took it to reduce the cell phone price. This turned out not to be true. There was actually an extra $10.00 per month charge for the Hum. After installing the Hum in my Miata, there were problems. If I did not drive the car for a week, it would slowly discharge the car battery. I would get warnings from the Hum by email that the car battery was discharging. I had to unplug the Hum and charge the car battery. After this happing twice, I disconnected the Hum for good. I have given up on it and paid the $120.00 early termination fee. I feel like I was scammed by Verizon.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Disappointed

    • By Kathy D.,
    • Tennessee,
    • May 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The locator feature never works on the Hum, which is the main reason for getting it. I read bad reviews before I got Hum, but ignored them and wish I hadn't. Don't waste your money. I'm paying $10 a month for something that doesn't work properly.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Beware

    Overall Experience:

    I have a 2013 Fusion. I've had this Hum plugged in it for three weeks. (Side note, I didn't even want the stupid thing. The Verizon sales people were extremely pushy and annoying.) As I was driving to work yesterday, ALL my dashboard lights went on. This is very scary, especially when you're alone. My mechanic told me to take my car to a Ford dealership. Ford found my Hum, removed it, and said it's messing with my computer. Hum is a piece of CRAP. I will be going to the Verizon store and demanding this Hum be taken off my bill IMMEDIATELY. I have the papers from the Ford dealership to back this up.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Complete ripoff!

    • By Rodney G.,
    • Texas,
    • Oct 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I purchased two, one for Toyota Tacoma, the other for a Chevrolet Silverado. I have had periodic issues with the radio and climate control system in the Chevy, nothing I've noticed in Toyota, other than the GPS tracker was usually very slow, if working at all. After a year and a half, I got a check engine light in the Toyota, but no notifications from Hum. Diagnosed as a bad device, Hum said I should be able to get a replacement for free, but Verizon wanted $150 for a new device and an early termination fee of $25. I told them to turn it off, and Verizon suddenly decides they can let me upgrade early for $30 and waive early termination. Well, Verizon disconnected the wrong device, then tells me they can't reactivate after turning it off, forcing me into another device to replace the working one.

    So, two new devices, Chevy has a check engine light, and guess what? NO notifications from Hum! Hum's response is that their device only notifies certain issues, and apparently, my issue is not on that list!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don't get this!

    Overall Experience:

    If you are considering getting this for your car - please DON'T. If you are standing in the Verizon store and this sounds like a good deal, hand it back to the salesperson and say "NO THANK YOU." This awful device cost me so much more than the $10 monthly charge. My car was diagnosed with a parasitic power drain which cost me so much - 2 batteries, an alternator, and multiple car rentals and Ubers...the towing was covered by AAA. The Hum app kept showing my car's health was good and no problems with the battery or alternator for months after it killed my battery and ruined my alternator.

    Verizon refuses to take this back and insists I must continue to pay on it even though it cannot be used...it is garbage. It never worked for phone calls, and I used it once for emergency assistance. I am glad I had AAA because it was not much good for that either.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Verizon Hum

    • By Marilee M.,
    • Omaha, NE,
    • Mar 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I received the Verizon Hum in October of 2018. Less than three weeks later, my car died in the middle of a very busy intersection in 5:00 traffic. I was able to get it started and made it home. I called my mechanic who was nice enough to tow it from my garage to his shop. He tried several things and after quite a bit of money, was able to come to the conclusion that the primary computer for my Lexus RX 330 had been shorted out. He asked me more than once if I had tried to jump-start another vehicle, which I had not. The new computer had to be ordered; of course!

    Two and a half weeks and $1600.00 later, my truck is running again. The first week of December on my way to work, the Hum keeps beeping. When I arrived at work, I called Hum. They informed me that "that just happens sometimes" and they would get back to me. In mid-January, I was at work and went to leave for lunch, the truck would not start...again! DRAT!

    I called my mechanic who is about as far away from my work as he could be. He came and towed it. This time, he took it to Lexus. They spent over six hours looking for the problem. Yes, it was the Hum again. They removed the Hum and again replaced the computer which had been shorted out...again! I am now out over $3200.00 and had to borrow a car so I could get to work to pay for the repairs.

    Fast forward a few weeks, it is now the second week of March, and they just called me to tell me there is a problem with my Hum and it has not been recording anything since December 10th when I called to tell them it kept beeping. They would like me to take it to Verizon and get a different one! They are nuts!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Hum is amazing

    • By Jay,
    • Florida,
    • Jul 15, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Hum is amazing, for what you would pay with OnStar, you get much more comparatively. Yes it is a two year deal, but why would that even matter? it's 10 bucks a month. I have a Hum and it does what it's supposed to. It runs in the background and keeps me safe and has some useful tips. Highly recommended!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Never use

    • By John Williams,
    • Summerville, SC,
    • Feb 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The Hum is ok when you do not change cars, but if you do, it is a nightmare.

    I have been trying unsuccessfully to get the problem resolved. I had 3 Hum devices installed. My mother sold her car, which had a Hum installed, and forgot to remove it, so I asked to remove it from my account. They did so after charging me a $60 early termination fee. I was ok with it, but they removed the wrong one, and now the car I need it on does not work, and for over a week now they have been trying to resolve it.

    I find it hard to believe that a simple device such as this would be so hard to correct. It is like Hum and Verizon do not communicate with each other, but I am fed up spending several hours on the phone with no solution and will be removing and canceling this service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Hum tracking my car and me

    • By Lisa Russac,
    • Levittown, NY,
    • Apr 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    So, I upgraded my phone, and the Hum came with it free. I said ok, it's free, why not. If I don’t like it, I can take it out. So, it is installed, and I downloaded the app. Other than my sister borrowing the car one day that would be the only odd thing that should show up on the app, thinking it is only tracking my car. Well, it is not. The app also tracks you, and if you don’t want that to show up on your report, you have to go into the app on to deselect the trip and check off the passenger choice. Seems fairly easy but if you are someone who takes a train to work every day, it means I have to into my app every day and deselect those trips.

    So, I called Hum about it and said this is the only way to do it because the app tracks your car and you. I said that is counter initiative because the safety score is for the car, not me. If I forget to check off myself as a passenger on my train travel that applies to my score. What if the train derailed and my score was sent to my insurance company? This could pose a problem because one of the perks of having Hum is to document that you are a safe driver and you can get a discount from your insurance company. BUT if it is taking into account my moves, this doesn’t seem right.

    The Hum is a good idea, but it should track the car. Does my Fitbit track my driving? I find this stupid and useless at the point. Update the app to track the car only!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • NO good, nothing but trouble!

    • By Donald B.,
    • DeMotte, IN,
    • May 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    When I bought Hum, I thought it would be great, especially for the medical response system because of my age (82) as I travel a lot.

    It seemed to work in my first car, which was a 2012 Kia, but when I changed to another auto (2018 Kia), it has not worked since. I have been on the phone with customer service for numerous hours (mostly on hold) with no resolution. They just keep saying a couple more days, etc., etc. and it looks like I'm stuck in a two-year contract with Verizon or pay up!

    I am very dissatisfied with customer service and Verizon (a longtime customer).

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Terrible service

    • By Jason M.,
    • Maryland,
    • Aug 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I tried out Hum in 2017 and when I canceled my services, I sent the unit in as instructed. I have since continued to be charged for services and have been in an endless battle to get them to stop charging me. I called them multiple time to no end. The customer service call center is pointless and cannot handle anything to address this, and to add to the frustration, they talk in circles, as well as not clear or concise.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Setting off alarm

    • By Thomas K.,
    • Arkansas,
    • Aug 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Has anyone experienced the Hum sitting off their car alarm system, the headlights flashing the horn blowing simultaneously, every ten to fifteen minutes, non-stop until you disconnect the horn relay and alarm system? If so I would love to see it here on this review page.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Hum does not support its product

    • By Janna S.,
    • New Mexico,
    • Aug 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I was on a two-year contract, but the speaker stopped holding a charge shortly after one year. I have to say, Verizon was trying to make it right, but Hum was no help at all. Their solution was to "upgrade" my device, at an extra cost and extend my contract time. Uh, no... you sold me a product that quit working before my contract was up and your solution was to make me spend more money on something I no longer had confidence in...so, no thanks. I assume the upgraded versions work better (as I was one of the first on board), but I certainly wouldn't expect Hum to stand by their product if you had any issues.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Verizon sucks

    • By Ron B.,
    • Vermont,
    • Oct 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My wife went in for a phone upgrade and was talked into getting the Hum because "it would lower our monthly bill." Well, of course, they LIED, and when I got the bill and called them to complain, it was past the 14-day "return policy" period. I agree with a previous poster that there should be a class action suit brought against Verizon for deceptive sales practices. Now we have to pay a buy-out fee of $120 if we want to get rid of this piece of crap. It only gets a "1" star because I couldn't give it a "0".

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • No customer support from Hum technicians

    • By Richard K.,
    • Pharr, TX,
    • Dec 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My Hum unit in my 2015 Prius quit working two weeks ago. I had a Verizon technician unplug it and reinstall it last Monday. He said it beeped when he hooked it up, so it is connected. It still is not working. I contacted Hum support on Tuesday and they said a Hum technician would contact me. It is now Friday evening and still no contact from Hum. I called Verizon yesterday for a return and refund on this junk from Hum. Verizon only referred me back to Hum support and Hum again said a technician would contact me. I would not recommend the Hum for anybody.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not good

    • By David P.,
    • Pomona, CA,
    • Feb 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have the Hum service for 20 months and I have had several problems. I would receive a notification that Hum was contacting emergency services as soon as I started my CSR and at inconvenient times even though I was not involved in an accident. My Hum app notified me of a battery issue after I replaced a dead battery, I had a mechanical issue that was repaired, but the issue warning would not go away. I canceled my Hum service, unplugged my OBD and now I get notices that Hum is receiving no information and there is no way to opt out of receiving emails from Hum.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Got scammed by Verizon

    Overall Experience:

    I went to get my roommates iPhone 7 fixed, and the salesman lies and says Hum is free. Now I never installed it and find I am being charged ten a month for this piece of crap. So bottom line, Verizon scammed me, and I am totally fed up with this.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Account closed but they are still taking money out

    Overall Experience:

    My subscription ended, but they have taken money from my account. I called and had a conversation with two people who say they are not authorized to give me my money back. I don't care how much it was or is, it's mine. The first time I waited three days and got no call. Now it's been another three days. They were not authorized to take my money, but it seems like they are not authorized to give it back either. I need my money! Thank you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Worst customer service EVER!

    • By Debra Cottam,
    • Kimball, NE,
    • Apr 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The device worked great on the first trip. The only thing it records now is the safety score. I don't think the app and device communicate to each other.

    The only thing customer service is seems to do is "Hard Reboot," and send codes. None of which changes anything.

    I am seriously rethinking my provider.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Rarely works - not accurate

    • By Dave D.,
    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Sep 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I bought Hum for the tracking service. It only works 50% of the time. Usually, it says it cannot locate vehicle, OR it shows the pin drop on the map 5-10 miles away from where the car actually is. Because it's a mandatory two-year contract, I cannot cancel. Junk!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Piece of junk

    • By Brad B.,
    • Alabama,
    • Sep 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The biggest piece of junk and a waste of time there is! Please do not waste your time. It doesn't work!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not good for GPS

    • By Marie B.,
    • Pennsylvania,
    • Oct 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have had the device for about 4 months. I like it most of the time. When monitoring my driving habits, it has that I was on the phone for 82 minutes. This was because I used the navigation for directions on my trip. This affected my safety score. Otherwise, I have improved my safety score, but it plummets when I use the phone as a GPS. This needs to be changed. I have not been able to get the GPS audibility when driving. I tried to pair it and couldn't. It is real general in locating my car when in a parking lot.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Gives false readings of accidents

    • By Marlana M.,
    • California,
    • Oct 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Verizon suggested getting this device for my daughter since she was a new driver. The device was able to detect accidents and location, which I thought it would be a great idea. The location is a little spotty, and at times it would say no location found, but for the most part, the location works okay.

    After about a year in, I get a call at 11:00 at night from the local police department saying the Hum devise on her car alerted Hum that the vehicle had gotten into an accident and they could not get a hold of the driver in the car, my heart stopped. So the local PD was heading out to the last known location of the car, I immediately called my daughter's cell phone, and she answered with "Hey mom, what's up?" I ask her if she's okay and she said she was at a friend's hanging out. I told her I got a call from the PD and they were on the way to her location because they detected an accident with the car. I asked her to go outside and look at her car, maybe someone hit her car while it was parked...nope, nothing.

    I called the PD back and they said unless Hum told them not to go out there they would still go out to the scene. I contacted Hum, asked them to call off the PD and let them do their real jobs. Then I asked them why they would get an alert for an accident if there wasn't one, I cannot describe how I felt getting that phone call, "your 17-year-old daughter got in an accident, and no one is able to get a hold of her." Talk about a HEART ATTACK! Their explanation was, maybe there was loud music that set off the alert...are you kidding me? Unacceptable.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Do not buy!

    • By Maggie L.,
    • Houston, TX,
    • Nov 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Verizon really knows how to sell a product. As the Verizon salesman was giving me and my sister the spiel of how great and amazing Hum is, we were both soon convinced. However, the second we purchased, the devices the trouble started. I wish I had just said we changed our minds, but it just sounded like such a good way to avoid a mechanic who might overcharge us or fix something unnecessarily we didn't want to pass it up. We bought two devices, one for her car and one for mine, and for some reason, both devices got associated with her information instead of both of ours. We were at Verizon trying to solve the issue for at least an hour before we threw our hands in the air and decided to fix it later as we had somewhere to be.

    Since everything was with her information, my sister called Hum and they gave her the runaround, saying it was Verizon's issue and so she called Verizon and was put on a never-ending hold, only to be told she had to call Hum and talk to them. I then took it upon myself to go to a Verizon store and see what they could do for me, and they said I had to call Hum. I told them we had already done that and Hum told us to go to Verizon.

    Well, I didn't want to deal with it anymore as my time is more valuable to me than that and I asked if I could just return them, seeing as how no one was willing to help get them set up for us and they weren't really working. Verizon told me I would have to pay a $45 restocking fee for their faulty equipment that didn't work and they weren't willing to help us fix. Needless to say, I left and called Hum and they were at least able to switch the information to mine so I could try to figure out the issue. However, the joke was on us, they apparently were working fine they just don't do very much.

    You could go to an auto parts store and have them hook your car up to their computer and have them tell you the same information Hum does. The only thing Hum even does is say there's an issue, it's basically the equivalent of the engine light in your car. Plus if you have roadside assistance with your insurance, you don't need two, which is another feature of Hum. DON'T waste your money! If Verizon didn't have the best service, you can guarantee I would have switched providers after the incident with their unhelpful employees.

    DO NOT buy this product, it is a waste of money! Verizon also doesn't tell you about the $40 activation fee per device.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible product

    • By Suzan R.,
    • Illinois,
    • Nov 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I was not told this would be a monthly charge, which granted, I should have expected, but I was told it would be $5, not the $10 a month I was billed. We signed up only for the coupons offered at local restaurants. Of the dozens of coupons offered, none of the three I checked with are valid, including Hardee's, Quizno's and a local cafe. We were allowed to cancel the contract - only after hours of haggling. DO NOT sign up for this! It is fraudulent. I'm surprised a class-action suit has not been brought. It doesn't deserve even a one-star rating, and I am surprised Verizon hasn't canceled this option.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Hum killed my car battery

    • By Derek M.,
    • Illinois,
    • Nov 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I needed a hotspot to see my car camera remotely. This worked for a week or so. Terrible problems with hotspot. Then drained my battery to the point of replacing it. This device replaced my other Verizon Hotspot that was promised to work but did not. I am locked into a contract and am now paying on TWO useless devices.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not worth it

    • By Denise D.,
    • New Hampshire,
    • Dec 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I left OnStar for Hum and it was the worst thing I did. Within 10 days of installing the device, I needed assistance due to a snowstorm. When I pushed the help bottom it didn't work, when I spun into the snowbank the Hum stopped working. I had to call for help on my own.

    When I called Hum, it was always a 30-minute hold time to get someone. When I told them the device wasn't working, the first told me it was my car. Wanted me to take my car in for service. I called them back the next day and told them I wanted a technical support member, they advised me it would take 48 hours for them to call me back. Really, 48 hours, what kind of tech company tells you two days before they get you an answer?! I refused to get off the phone without an answer, spent two hours to finally have the device tested and am told I need to exchange it. I was hot.

    DO NOT sign up for this! Verizon and Hum DO NOT stand by this product! OnStar has never left me on the side of the road!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 82-108 of 146

Write a Review for Hum by Verizon!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Hum by Verizon Reviews