Read 143 Hum by Verizon Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 4)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 6 4 star: 0 3 star: 3 2 star: 10 1 star:  124
Bottom Line: 5% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 34-44 of 143
Sort reviews by:

  • 15 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Doesn't work!

    • Sullivan County, NY,
    • Nov 22, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Bought this for an older vehicle that I was driving late at night. The service just doesn't work. Had to call and reset repeatedly. I seriously wonder how it would help me if I did happen to have a breakdown during the 80% of the time that the little box wouldn't connect.

    You are supposed to mount it on your visor, but it is connected to a cord that hangs down. It not only looks bad, it is also in the way. My vehicle was having transmission problems as well as a rear differential issue and the OBD reader didn't pick any of it up.

    My service was canceled numerous times because I didn't want to pay for someone that didn't work. But they continued to charge my credit card even after receiving cancellation notices via email. This happened four times.

    Once Verizon gets your card number, they will just continue to hit it up. So beware.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 15 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Underhanded sales tactics

    • Columbus, OH,
    • Jan 13, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    My mother got four of these Hum devices, thinking they would be good as a gift. She wasn't told these devices add a line to your phone plan, which means there is an early termination fee ($120 per line) for each one. When she went to return them, they ended up having a $35 restocking fee, because they can't sell them after that for some reason.

    There is no way Verizon can say this is a "deal" of any kind. This looks so much like they are dumping shoddy technology on people. I have lost so much appreciation for Verizon because of stuff like this.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 15 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Hum, what was I thinking

    • long Island, NY,
    • Feb 6, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I installed Hum by Verizon last Tuesday. The Bluetooth was great, but today (Sunday) it quit working. It will not charge, and I have received absolutely NO help from Verizon. I now have a piece of junk!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 15 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Zero stars

    • Cumberland, MD,
    • Apr 27, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Actually, I give them zero stars. I have had Hum for five months with connectivity problems from the start. The app shows no connection or activity from my car since initial plug-in. I have swapped it out twice and am on the third unit, and continued to get "no connectivity." I have canceled service and refuse to pay the early cancellation fee.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 15 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Rip off, scammed at Verizon store

    • Detroit, MI,
    • Aug 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    When my nine-month old Galaxy S7 stopped working while I was in Knoxville, TN, far from home, I went to a Verizon store looking for help. I have to admit, I'm getting older and not as sharp as I once was. Basically, over a 90-minute period, I got sold a Galaxy S8, plus about $20 worth of accessories than I paid $100 for, and two "free" Hum units. Well, on my second bill, I got my monthly charge.

    I called Verizon, and they told me a general manager at a Verizon store could take them back. I went to a Verizon store near home, and the general manager claims he can't do a thing. So I ended up paying $220 in early termination fees for my "free" Hum.

    Thanks, Verizon. Nice job scamming a senior. I realize now it's the classic situation, someone out of state and needing help.

    It wasn't good enough for you to sell an S7 and then an S8 in less than a year? You got over 200 bucks from me for two Hum units that were never taken out of the box. You'll probably resell them to some other sucker. Did I say sell? No, you'll "give" them two "free" units.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 15 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Doesn't work, no customer support, waste of time and money.

    • Iowa,
    • Feb 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    They assured me this system would work with multiple vehicles, but I ordered just one Hum+ to assess it. It worked reasonably well for two weeks (albeit with rather slow updates), so I ordered another, this time a HumX. For the first two days, both worked, but updates were even slower.

    By the third day, both updating stopped altogether. I called Support, told them I was unable to locate one of my vehicles, and they told me to "remove the device, wait two minutes, reinstall it, and drive for 20 minutes." I suggested that this might be difficult given that I didn't know where the vehicle was located...Yes, I could call the driver - but that's not the point is it?

    The support person spoke with a thick foreign accent, and when I asked where he was located he refused to tell. I asked again, "Are you in the USA?" He repeated his refusal.

    A few days later I tried the whole remove/wait/reinstall/drive routine on both vehicles. They then worked, so I tried the "Road Service" button on the HumX. I received no answer at all. I then called support again, using the Road Service number on their website. Again I was answered by a thick accent, whom I then asked to locate my vehicle. He could not. Two days later both units quit working - again.

    After three more calls to service over the next week, it became obvious that this system simply does not work. I called Verizon to have both units removed from my bill and returned, they said I would have to pay $120 per unit "Termination Fee," stating that I had signed a contract.

    I offered that the contract also included them actually providing a working product, which they had not. After 3 hours on the phone to various "managers," one finally agreed to remove all but $60 of the excess charges, but demanded I UPS one of the units back to them the same day. He assured me the corrected bill would show immediately.

    I boxed and shipped the unit, and provided Verizon with a tracking number. Their rep then sent an email of what was supposed to be the corrected bill. It included their $60 concession, and also $235 worth of extra charges.

    In short (too late), Verizon will gleefully lie to you, make you jump through hoops, then blast you with a big bill for absolutely no services. The only thing missing is a return call saying "Hahaha, GOTCHA!"

    They now have one week to fix my bill, or I will cancel the four cell phones I have with them and sue.

    Bottom line: Verizon is crooked. Once they have you, they don't give a crap about service. Don't deal with this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 14 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Not For Me

    • White Lake, MI,
    • Jul 30, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased a HUM from Version. I realized that it was not a good buy for me. It never contacted me in two days as told. I went to show a person how it showed how the location for my car identification wasn't working properly. Took it back within 48 hours yet they charged me $35.00 for a $29.95 product which they never mentioned, not to say what monthly charge I was going to receive, which was an additional $20.00 per month. I would say do not purchase this product as it's a poor value product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 14 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Ho-hum

    • Waco, TX,
    • Sep 29, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    The OBD reader has so far worked fine. The speaker on the Hum is a piece of crap, it's hard to hear, and it causes a lot of confusion with the unit in trying to use voice commands for my phone. I was sold on this by the salesperson who told me I would get a discount on my car insurance for having it and the discount would be more than the monthly charge.

    WRONG! Sorry, but Farmers does not give a discount for this device. The majority of times that I have tried to use it with my IPhone while driving I have had to turn off Bluetooth to bypass the hum so I could communicate with/thru my phone hands-free. I didn't need the device but thought that the insurance discount would pay for it so I took it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 14 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Junk

    My wife purchased this product at the recommendation of Verizon. She is on her THIRD device and is currently at a Verizon store with yet another problem. IT IS CRAP! Don't spend your money on this device because it is not worth the time you will spend to try to keep it up and going. AWFUL, AWFUL product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 14 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Waste of money

    • New Richmond, WI,
    • Feb 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We originally purchased Hum by Verizon for our 2012 Dodge Journey because that car did not have blue tooth connectivity. We ended up trading that car in for a 2017 Journey. We no longer needed it, but found out we were stuck in a contract and would have to pay over $200 to get out of it. That's the first rip off.

    So I tried it on my 2016 Journey. January 11th I was staying at a Hotel in St Paul, MN. The car was outdoors overnight, and the temp was below zero that night. The next morning my car was totally dead. The emergency button on the Hum device would not connect my call. I ended up having my car towed 45 miles to the dealer where I bought my car.

    The message on the Hum app said there was a problem with the alternator. After doing diagnostics at the dealer, we found the battery had been completely drained. It took two days to get my car back and was informed that the Hum device was draining the battery because it kept trying to communicate with Verizon. They said over time the battery could not keep up.

    I have removed the device and will never use it again. It is a total rip off. I am through with two-year contracts of any kind.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 14 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Worst product and service ever

    • Spanish Fork, UT,
    • Jan 24, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Three Hum devices later it still does not work. I was told to pay for each one and I would receive credit on the next bill. That never happened. With customer service, I was being lied to and always placed on hold for hours. I paid about $30 per day and got no answers. Save your money and much frustration - Verizon will not and does not want to help you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 34-44 of 143

Write a Review for Hum by Verizon!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review