HydraLight Reviews

HydraLight

Overall Rating

1.0

9 Customer Reviews

Summary

HydraLight is a durable flashlight that uses water as a source of energy. Learn what customers are saying about this product.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

1.0 Stars out of 9 Reviews
5 Star:0% 4 Star:0% 3 Star:0% 2 Star:0% 1 Star:100%
0% Recommend This Product
Start your review of HydraLight:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Nov 20, 2019

I call BS

By Mark B., Galesburg, IL, Verified Reviewer

At first, I really loved my new HydraLight. I got it wet, and it worked for a few days periodically providing adequate light for mobilization of most darkened areas. However, after three days the light cell dried out and it’s back to the water tap (with filter) to recharge. It seemed each time I went to recharge it was taking longer of a soak to get the same lumens from the light. It was not my imagination. I began timing the charging time soaking in water. It went from 30 seconds to two minutes, to five minutes, and after two months of this, my light now will NOT charge at all and the fuel cell emits a crumbling acidic powder all over the counter. I read the very limited instructions included with my light. I couldn’t find anything supporting the time for soaking or duration of life of the flashlight. What happened to the 25-year shelf life it claimed? It didn’t mention about it being a limited use system. So why are they allowed to charge so much for a crappy item that doesn’t hold true to its advertising? How is this even legal? For this reason, I will have to rate this product and NEGATIVE 1.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 20, 2019

My HydraLight does not work

By John Y., Gambrills, MD, Verified Reviewer

I use my HydraLight flashlight only once since I purchased it 12/2018; it gave me a dim light. The second time I attempted to use the flashlight it gave me no light at all and has not since. There is no contact information on the packaging other than the website which provides no way to contact the company. Do not purchase this product.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 11 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 6, 2019

This is a bad investment

By Paul M., Missouri, Verified Reviewer

I recharged the battery cells twice. The flashlight started to develop a lot of acid type brown corrosion. The flashlight died and could not be revived. What a shame! This flashlight design needs to go back to the drawing board.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 10 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 17, 2018

Piece of junk!

By Shirley P., Northern Virginia, Verified Reviewer

I bought this as a gift. It was used several times and recharged maybe two or three times! The cell will not recharge anymore and the flashlight will not work! A real waste of money, and to buy a new cell every two or three times is ridiculous!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 50 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 20, 2018

HydraLight has a fundamental problem - very unreliable batteries

By Robert F., Lancaster, CA, Verified Reviewer

I am one of the backers that funded this company on Kickstarter. I thought it was a great idea to have batteries that can be "stored for 25 years" - according to campaign promises - and have the HydraLight ready to be activated with just salt water and providing light on moment's notice. As a backer, I was rewarded with SC1C-L lantern that uses the same magnesium batteries this flashlight does. The lantern worked great the first time, and the second time. I stored it in a dry place for a couple of months and when I tried it the third time it did not work. The batteries just could not supply sufficient current, meaning their internal resistance has gone way up. This might be caused by corrosion as other reviewers indicated.

I contacted the company several times about it, reporting symptoms and asking about buying replacement batteries. I used both their website and Kickstarter messaging system. I have been completely and utterly ignored so far.

Thus, this product, although promising in its idea does NOT work in practice. It seems the company dedicated no resources to long (well, at least a few months) research. The batteries CANNOT be stored for "25 years," as promised, but only a few months after which they become unusable.

Buyer beware! This product is not worth its price.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 82 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 2, 2018

Stopped working after one use

By Gary White, Lenoir City, TN, Verified Reviewer

I got the light for Christmas. It worked out of the box after adding water. I put it away for a week and took it out again and nothing. I added more water and still nothing. I let it dry out, added water and then tried again and nothing. Hardly as durable or reliable as claimed. A novel technology, but hardly reliable flashlight for emergencies.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 89 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 12, 2018

HydraLight review, negative!

By Donna Jo Smith, Gifford, WA, Verified Reviewer

We initially charged the HydraLight cell, and the light worked. However, after sitting (in OFF position) for a few days, now the light is not working, and the cell won't recharge. FAILURE!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 90 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 19, 2017

Horrible customer service

By Karen Moyers, Houston, TX, Verified Reviewer

I have been trying to speak with customer service for an hour now. Not the first time I have called. After being on hold to cancel the order, after 30 minutes I got hung up on. I should have known better but I thought it might have been a nice thing for a stocking stuffer. I probably will never see my $60.00 again. I would have rather given the money to my local dog rescue. Never again!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 100 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 28, 2017

Return policy reads "must not be used"

By Carl M. Glovier, San Francisco, CA, Verified Reviewer

Legally, you have to use it to have a reason to return to need to return it. They say 60-day return no questions asked, but you pay to return it. You have no answers back from the company. I am going to go to buy it in a store. Wait. They're not sold in stores. If it seems to good, it is too good. Don't waste your money. My guess is you won't get it back.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 172 People Have Voted
Showing 1-9 of 9

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.