About Ice Genie

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Apr 20, 2018

Ice Genie is a revolutionary space-saving ice cube maker that freezes cubes in an outer chamber, which pop out with a squeeze and are then held in an inner chamber. Then, the airtight lid will keep your cubes fresh and odor free.

By holding as many as 120 ice cubes at once, the website advertises you’ll also be able to replace as many as 10 traditional ice cube trays and save a ton of space in your freezer. You can even use it as a drink holder to quickly chill bottled beverages.

And when it comes time, its BPA-free design is dishwasher safe for quick and easy cleanup.

The commercial makes Ice Genie seem compelling. But are there any considerations you should keep in mind? Are there competing products that might also deliver value? Stick with us over the next few minutes as we help you find some answers.

A Quick Primer on Ice Cubes

Under normal circumstances, water molecules are constantly moving, resulting in a fluid state. When they freeze at 32°F, though, they slow down, ‘stick’ together, line up into crystals, and form into a solid.

Pro tip: This temperature can be lowered even more by adding salt, alcohol, or sugar to water.

And since water takes the shape of its container, ice trays utilize this concept by creating standalone pockets that are added to the freezer, frozen, and then individually removed.

Just like anything else in your icebox, though, it’s possible for these cubes to absorb odors from other food, along with those from mold, old spills, and freezer burn—not to mention the material of the container they’re stored in.

To help avoid potential ice cube odors, Epicurious’ Anna Stockwell recommends (among other things) storing them in an airtight container, which is something that Ice Genie promises to help you accomplish.

How Much Does Ice Genie Cost & Where Can You Buy?

If purchased from Allstar Products Group’s standalone website, Ice Genie is available in two offers (plus $4.99 S&H):

  • Single Offer: $19.99
  • Double Offer: $29.98

Each Ice Genie comes with a bonus set of anti-slip tongs.

We also found several Amazon sellers offering the same product, but for between $15.50 and $24 each, with free shipping. At least one company also offered them in green and black, while none offered the bonus tongs.

All direct purchases come with a 30-day money back guarantee, less S&H and any fees associated with the BOGO offer. To request one, you’ll need to reach out to customer support at (800) 513-0305.

What Can We Learn from Reviews for Ice Genie’s Competitors?

It’s uncommon for the HighYa team to reference feedback regarding third-party products when writing an article. Given the fact that Ice Genie’s direct competition appears to be functionally identical, though, we felt this warranted a rare exception.

With this said, Ezeagbor’s New Ice Cube Maker Genie had a total of eight Amazon customer reviews at the time of our research, with an average rating of 4.3 stars. Common compliments related to ease of use (even for those with dexterity concerns) and quality construction. The relatively few complaints referenced small cubes and difficulty removing them.

In our specific instance, this Ice Genie model is brought to us by Allstar Products Group, an NY-based company who's been in business for years and has also released previous hits like Lo-Bak Trax, Sleep Styler, Orbitrim, and Simply Fit Board.

They held an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on 40 closed complaints, as of 4/17/18. Most related to product quality or support concerns (when details were available). A representative provided a solution in each instance.

Ice Genie vs. the Competition: How Can You Choose the Right Ice Tray?

We discussed earlier the fact that there are several other products advertised as ‘Ice Genies’ from third-party manufacturers, which appeared to be designed identically. So, choosing between these might largely come down to price, and whether or not you want the bonus tongs provided by Allstar.

But, is there any reason you should limit yourself to this specific design and functionality? After all, there are hundreds of different ice tray material, shape, and size combinations available. So, how can you decide which ice tray you should buy?

As you might imagine, it’s not exactly rocket science. Business Insider explains:

“Basically, you are looking for a tray that allows you to extract the ice easily and one that doesn’t impart distasteful odors — or freezer-burn — to the cubes. You'll also want trays that let you pop out ice easily unlike those awful hard plastic ones from your youth.”

On both of these accounts, with its squeeze-to-remove functionality and airtight lid, Ice Genie seems to deliver (we didn’t test any models ourselves to provide firsthand feedback). It obviously doesn’t mean there aren’t plenty of other models out there that won’t, either.

When it comes down to it, where does all of this leave you?

Our Final Thoughts About Ice Genie

Based on what we learned from the website and commercial, Ice Genie’s pliable functionality, ability to hold up to 120 ice cubes and act as a drink cooler, airtight lid, dishwasher safe design, and the competitive price seems to offer a lot of bang for the buck.

And while we found several third-party companies who sold seemingly identical models, Allstar Products Group offered a BOGO deal the others didn’t, as well as a free pair of tongs with each order, if these are important factors to you.

Just keep in mind that while Ice Genie might be able to hold up to 120 cubes, they’re a) much smaller than regular ice cubes, and b) based on the design (it requires inserting a sleeve and then squeezing to remove), it might be increasingly difficult to use properly as the device fills up.

Finally, it’s important to point out that if maximizing space isn’t one of your top priorities, flexible silicone mini-cube ice trays are widely available on marketplaces like Amazon, for very inexpensive prices. So inexpensive, in fact, that you might be able to also purchase a standalone airtight container to store them in, while still paying less than Ice Genie.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 34 Ice Genie Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 1 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 1 1 star:  32
Bottom Line: 3% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 34
Sort reviews by:

  • Don’t waste your money

    • Ohio,
    • Jul 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    It’s a piece of junk, save your money. Does not work as shown. I use mine to hold my ice cubes from the trays. Only holds about 6 ounces of water so you have to redo it time and time again to get any ice cubes.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • You suck

    • Brush Prairie, WA,
    • Jul 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I hate the Ice Genie and lament the $9.99 I spent on it at my neighborhood Walgreens. It was a sad waste of my time that I will never get back. I will be sending the Ice Genie company a bill for the false advertising as I only received 10 of the dime-size ice cubes of the 120 that were promised. I think a bill for the ice cube trays I went out and purchased as replacements will be the amount sent to the Ice Genie company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Don't buy this thing

    • Edgewood, NM,
    • Jul 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Well, if you aren't convinced by the 30 reviews ahead of this one, then mine probably will not convince you not to buy. This is a good concept, but really bad design. I believe there should be a class action on this to refund the buyer's money plus a little extra for the aggravation. I guess it was bound to happen. Ripoff has now come to "As Seen On TV". The other reviews had the same gripes as myself. Teeny ice cubes, just enough for one, yeah, one drink, and drink fast because they won't last long. Then, struggling with that inner chamber is impossible. Getting the cap on is a feat I was unable to accomplish. I am letting my little Genie melt and then going to take it back to Walmart for refund, I hope, since I didn't keep the receipt.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Not a good product

    • Southern California,
    • Jul 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The concept is good. The practical use is terrible!

    Once the ice freezes you have to be Hercules to squeeze the container, and it makes hardly any ice cube. A regular ice tray is MUCH better than the Ice Genie.

    I am recommending that no one wastes their money on the Ice Genie like I did. Unless of course, you are Hercules.

    Another "As seen on TV" product hits the waste bin! I only hope it is bio-degradable.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Don't waste you money!

    • Denver, NY,
    • Jun 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Concept good; however, it stinks - does not work as stated. Ice cubes are very small. Makes a handful at a time. The first batch works, if you need a few VERY SMALL ice cubes. Doing what they say for subsequent batch - forget about it. You get a block of ice in the storage compartment. Lousy seal on the inner compartment for the next batch - tried several times NO LUCK.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Ice "Crap"

    • California,
    • May 31, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I wished I would have watched the videos about this product. This is a piece of crap. I'd rather put ice trays in the freezer than use this lousy product. Oh yeah, by the way, this Ice Genie did not come with tongs. You should do quality control better. I`m taking this back to Walmart. What a rip off! I'll be sure to tell my friends not to buy this junk. You should pay me for my time to take it back. "Stop" selling and making junk. This is a "Scam". Why does it say it holds 120 ice-cubes? These cubes are only as big as a nickel. Why does it take 2-3 days to make 120 small ice cubes? I'll stick to ice trays. Bye, bye.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Ice Genie

    • Tennessee,
    • May 1, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought mine from Walgreens... the first one they sold. It’s ABSOLUTE JUNK! The sleeve that goes in the middle freezes also...you can’t get it out. Even if you do, there are no more than five or six very, very, small chunks of ice. Whoever the buyer is at Walgreens that fell for this, should be in the unemployment line tomorrow.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Ice Genie is not worth it

    • Glenolden, PA,
    • Apr 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought this at Bed Bath & Beyond and used it for two days and threw it away! It's difficult to use! It's a struggle each time you try to squeeze this thing to get very little ice. Get an ice maker instead. You get what you pay for, and this is just cheap.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Horrible product, scam, waste of money

    • New Jersey,
    • Feb 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I tried this as we have a broken ice maker in our old refrigerator. The TV infomercial makes it look so perfect! It is hard to use, makes very few, tiny ice cubes at one time. Do not waste your money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    You've got to be kidding me.

    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Jan 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Yeah, you may make many ice cubes, but if they're the size of the eraser on top of a pencil, and the "storage container" in the middle is hardly bigger than a coffee mug and needs THREE times (four hours each) to fill, then I guess you saved on storage space, or odor absorption.

    Absolutely the WORST product I've purchased in YEARS.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Review of Ice Genie

    • Denison, TX,
    • Jan 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased the Ice Genie thinking it would be a no-hassle way to make ice, but it turns out it makes about a third of the amount of ice as one ice tray. It's really time-consuming, to put it mildly, it's a blue silicone hunk of junk.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 34

Write a Review for Ice Genie!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review