• 40 Customer Reviews
  • 3% Recommend This Company
1.1 out of 5
5 star: 2% 4 star: 0% 3 star: 0% 2 star: 2% 1 star: 95%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Ice Genie a big piece of crap

    • By Kristi H.,
    • Washington,
    • Dec 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This thing is awful, and I mean awful. My husband had to take it out to his shop and use the compressed air to get the cylinder out the first time. It fills so fast you can't believe any ice is going to be made in there. I hate it. Buying a bag of ice for a couple of bucks is much more worth it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Good idea, but needs a LOT more work!

    • By Terri Y.,
    • Silsbee, TX,
    • Oct 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I bought mine after seeing a TV ad.

    I have a very small freezer so we opted out of making our own ice. This little gadget is just about the size of a round tub of icecream, so it is a perfect size.

    I made the first batch of ice and it came out pretty well, but you have to pour the ice into another container to refill the ice maker with water for another batch of ice. THEN you can pour the ice into the center to use.

    Every time you want to make a fresh batch you have to pour out the old ice in order to ad the water, then put the ice back in the center.

    And MY lid does NOT screw on. It does not even snap on. We are always knocking the lid off the ice maker when going through the freezer for other items.

    I think it is a GREAT IDEA, and I think they can fix it, but they were in such a rush to get it out there for millions to buy that they ignored the glaringly obvious problems.

    I bought mine in January of this year, so it's already 9 months old. Maybe they have fixed it by now.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Ice Genie

    • By Babby B.,
    • South Dakota,
    • Oct 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I'm not sure I see what all the hype is about. It is a pain to get the inside cylinder out to get to the ice cubes. Unless there is a trick to it I don't know about. The cubes are puny little things that a million of is needed to put in your glass. I will go back to my ice cube trays.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Ice Genie or "Ice Crapie"

    • By Eileen P.,
    • Illinois,
    • Sep 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The cylinder in the middle fills with water and it's a piece of junk. I had to use pliers to pull out the cylinder (each time I used it for a total of five times). The cubes are so tiny I was able to fill one glass of water. This is a waste of money and I was so disappointed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not worth it

    • By Aminah H.,
    • Tampa, FL,
    • Aug 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    So, I bought this thinking it would make enough ice to at least fill my glass. Wrong! The product did actually work for me, however, it makes very little ice each time you fill it. I didn't have a problem getting out the cylinder because I just turned the container upside down into a bowl. Overall, not worth the money or effort.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Junk

    • By Charles B.,
    • New York,
    • Jul 24, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This is not worth your money. No matter how hard I tried to get it to seal it will not seal. Water does not fill the ice pockets. Empties into the bottom. It looked so easy on TV so we tried it. Would be nice if it worked like they showed it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don’t waste your money

    • By Noreen F.,
    • Ohio,
    • Jul 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    It’s a piece of junk, save your money. Does not work as shown. I use mine to hold my ice cubes from the trays. Only holds about 6 ounces of water so you have to redo it time and time again to get any ice cubes.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • You suck

    • By Maria B.,
    • Brush Prairie, WA,
    • Jul 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I hate the Ice Genie and lament the $9.99 I spent on it at my neighborhood Walgreens. It was a sad waste of my time that I will never get back. I will be sending the Ice Genie company a bill for the false advertising as I only received 10 of the dime-size ice cubes of the 120 that were promised. I think a bill for the ice cube trays I went out and purchased as replacements will be the amount sent to the Ice Genie company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don't buy this thing

    • By Judi D.,
    • Edgewood, NM,
    • Jul 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Well, if you aren't convinced by the 30 reviews ahead of this one, then mine probably will not convince you not to buy. This is a good concept, but really bad design. I believe there should be a class action on this to refund the buyer's money plus a little extra for the aggravation. I guess it was bound to happen. Ripoff has now come to "As Seen On TV". The other reviews had the same gripes as myself. Teeny ice cubes, just enough for one, yeah, one drink, and drink fast because they won't last long. Then, struggling with that inner chamber is impossible. Getting the cap on is a feat I was unable to accomplish. I am letting my little Genie melt and then going to take it back to Walmart for refund, I hope, since I didn't keep the receipt.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not a good product

    • By Janice D.,
    • Southern California,
    • Jul 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The concept is good. The practical use is terrible!

    Once the ice freezes you have to be Hercules to squeeze the container, and it makes hardly any ice cube. A regular ice tray is MUCH better than the Ice Genie.

    I am recommending that no one wastes their money on the Ice Genie like I did. Unless of course, you are Hercules.

    Another "As seen on TV" product hits the waste bin! I only hope it is bio-degradable.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don't waste you money!

    • By Richard R.,
    • Denver, NY,
    • Jun 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Concept good; however, it stinks - does not work as stated. Ice cubes are very small. Makes a handful at a time. The first batch works, if you need a few VERY SMALL ice cubes. Doing what they say for subsequent batch - forget about it. You get a block of ice in the storage compartment. Lousy seal on the inner compartment for the next batch - tried several times NO LUCK.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Ice "Crap"

    • By Michael E.,
    • California,
    • May 31, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I wished I would have watched the videos about this product. This is a piece of crap. I'd rather put ice trays in the freezer than use this lousy product. Oh yeah, by the way, this Ice Genie did not come with tongs. You should do quality control better. I`m taking this back to Walmart. What a rip off! I'll be sure to tell my friends not to buy this junk. You should pay me for my time to take it back. "Stop" selling and making junk. This is a "Scam". Why does it say it holds 120 ice-cubes? These cubes are only as big as a nickel. Why does it take 2-3 days to make 120 small ice cubes? I'll stick to ice trays. Bye, bye.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Ice Genie

    • By Bob B.,
    • Tennessee,
    • May 1, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I bought mine from Walgreens... the first one they sold. It’s ABSOLUTE JUNK! The sleeve that goes in the middle freezes also...you can’t get it out. Even if you do, there are no more than five or six very, very, small chunks of ice. Whoever the buyer is at Walgreens that fell for this, should be in the unemployment line tomorrow.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Ice Genie is not worth it

    • By Bonnie F.,
    • Glenolden, PA,
    • Apr 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I bought this at Bed Bath & Beyond and used it for two days and threw it away! It's difficult to use! It's a struggle each time you try to squeeze this thing to get very little ice. Get an ice maker instead. You get what you pay for, and this is just cheap.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible product, scam, waste of money

    • By Alecia B.,
    • New Jersey,
    • Feb 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I tried this as we have a broken ice maker in our old refrigerator. The TV infomercial makes it look so perfect! It is hard to use, makes very few, tiny ice cubes at one time. Do not waste your money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • You've got to be kidding me.

    • By Jeanne W.,
    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Jan 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Yeah, you may make many ice cubes, but if they're the size of the eraser on top of a pencil, and the "storage container" in the middle is hardly bigger than a coffee mug and needs THREE times (four hours each) to fill, then I guess you saved on storage space, or odor absorption.

    Absolutely the WORST product I've purchased in YEARS.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Review of Ice Genie

    • By Anthony O.,
    • Denison, TX,
    • Jan 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I purchased the Ice Genie thinking it would be a no-hassle way to make ice, but it turns out it makes about a third of the amount of ice as one ice tray. It's really time-consuming, to put it mildly, it's a blue silicone hunk of junk.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Really terrible product

    • By Spike S.,
    • Arkansas,
    • Jan 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I was very excited to try this out. It sort of worked, although a fair bit of water leaked into the bottom even though I pressed the ring down very hard. It made a very tiny handful of ice, all very small chips that melted in less than a moment in very cold fruit juice. The ring was very difficult to take out of the container. I estimate it would take at least 12 refills and freezes to fill up the thing just once.

    Incredibly disappointed. Do not buy. Normal ice trays are much easier to use and work much much better than this.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Ice Genie

    • By Tammy G.,
    • Victoria, Australia,
    • Jan 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    A total waste of money. I wish I had read the reviews before buying this product.

    The lid doesn’t fit and the middle chamber fills with water. I’ve tried three times now and haven’t gotten any ice at all.

    Very disappointed as I was excited to get the product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Hmmm, not so great...

    • By Mishelle W.,
    • Florida,
    • Jan 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered this last year. The "idea" of this is good, however, the model would need to be improved. You can only fill this about two inches of water, push the insert down, which squeezed the water up the sides. Ok, fine, but you have to put the top on, "which won't stay on" because of the pressure of the water pushing the plastic insert up. Kind of like pushing a ball down in the water when you're in a pool, the ball will go flying up. So I get a rubber band to hold the top on. Then when the ice cubes are ready, the cubes are ridiculously small and there is a thick piece of ice at the bottom from the insert lifting up. Like I said, interesting idea, just needs improvement.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Waste of money

    • By Andrea A.,
    • Berlin, NJ,
    • Jan 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This product totally fails in every way there is. It is amazing they have not been sued for false advertising. It is difficult to get the sleeve set, and the cubes are ridiculously small. Don't even get me started on the Barbi size ice tongs!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • The biggest heap of crap

    • By Rebeckha A.,
    • Queensland, Australia,
    • Jan 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I bought this for a Christmas present for my grandmother and paid $30 for it at my local post office. When you pour in the water, it leaks under the plastic thing into the middle, and when you do manage to get some ice, it's pathetic thin pieces of ice that melts in an instant! I do not recommend you waste your money on this!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Junk - do NOT purchase

    • By Mike E.,
    • Smyrna, TN,
    • Jan 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The Ice Genie is nothing like the commercial. We tried several times to make ice and every time water leaked into the center chamber, and YES, we did make sure it was pressed down completely. It made very little ice. This is a waste of money, so if you are considering getting this, I would recommend not getting it even if it’s free. It is not worth the effort or frustration. I wish I had read reviews before I purchased.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Sucks royal hinder

    • By Paul R.,
    • Norcross, GA,
    • Dec 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I actually wanted one of these for Christmas, but wow, what a massive disappointment. I'm a triple-degreed engineer and have to date never seen any product disappoint to this level. We've tried it several times and shortly will relegate it to the landfill. It does zero that it promises to do - awful, terrible, complete rip-off.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Do not waste your money!

    • By Michelle B.,
    • Chatsworth, GA,
    • Dec 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I received my two Ice Genies yesterday, filled one, got up this morning, took the lid off, took the chamber out, squeezed, and there was a small, small pile of ice! Just enough to make me mad! So DISSAPOINTED! We couldn't wait to get it and now that we have it I am SO SORRY we purchased it! What a waste of my hard earned money! Do not buy!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Crap

    • By Barbara F.,
    • New Jersey,
    • Dec 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    When you pour the water, it leaks into the cylinder - there seem to be three little feet on it that prevent it from going all the way down into the bottom of the blue container. Waste of money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Useless

    • By JoAnn K.,
    • Florida,
    • Nov 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    We read all the instructions and watched the video, but we still couldn't get it to work properly. The water all slides to the bottom, so that is the only part that gets frozen. I don't know why I need to say more, but I do not recommend this product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-27 of 40

Write a Review for Ice Genie!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Ice Genie