About Ice Genie

By HighYa Staff
Published on: Apr 20, 2018

Ice Genie is a revolutionary space-saving ice cube maker that freezes cubes in an outer chamber, which pop out with a squeeze and are then held in an inner chamber. Then, the airtight lid will keep your cubes fresh and odor free.

By holding as many as 120 ice cubes at once, the website advertises you’ll also be able to replace as many as 10 traditional ice cube trays and save a ton of space in your freezer. You can even use it as a drink holder to quickly chill bottled beverages.

And when it comes time, its BPA-free design is dishwasher safe for quick and easy cleanup.

The commercial makes Ice Genie seem compelling. But are there any considerations you should keep in mind? Are there competing products that might also deliver value? Stick with us over the next few minutes as we help you find some answers.

A Quick Primer on Ice Cubes

Under normal circumstances, water molecules are constantly moving, resulting in a fluid state. When they freeze at 32°F, though, they slow down, ‘stick’ together, line up into crystals, and form into a solid.

Pro tip: This temperature can be lowered even more by adding salt, alcohol, or sugar to water.

And since water takes the shape of its container, ice trays utilize this concept by creating standalone pockets that are added to the freezer, frozen, and then individually removed.

Just like anything else in your icebox, though, it’s possible for these cubes to absorb odors from other food, along with those from mold, old spills, and freezer burn—not to mention the material of the container they’re stored in.

To help avoid potential ice cube odors, Epicurious’ Anna Stockwell recommends (among other things) storing them in an airtight container, which is something that Ice Genie promises to help you accomplish.

How Much Does Ice Genie Cost & Where Can You Buy?

If purchased from Allstar Products Group’s standalone website, Ice Genie is available in two offers (plus $4.99 S&H):

  • Single Offer: $19.99
  • Double Offer: $29.98

Each Ice Genie comes with a bonus set of anti-slip tongs.

We also found several Amazon sellers offering the same product, but for between $15.50 and $24 each, with free shipping. At least one company also offered them in green and black, while none offered the bonus tongs.

All direct purchases come with a 30-day money back guarantee, less S&H and any fees associated with the BOGO offer. To request one, you’ll need to reach out to customer support at (800) 513-0305.

What Can We Learn from Reviews for Ice Genie’s Competitors?

It’s uncommon for the HighYa team to reference feedback regarding third-party products when writing an article. Given the fact that Ice Genie’s direct competition appears to be functionally identical, though, we felt this warranted a rare exception.

With this said, Ezeagbor’s New Ice Cube Maker Genie had a total of eight Amazon customer reviews at the time of our research, with an average rating of 4.3 stars. Common compliments related to ease of use (even for those with dexterity concerns) and quality construction. The relatively few complaints referenced small cubes and difficulty removing them.

In our specific instance, this Ice Genie model is brought to us by Allstar Products Group, an NY-based company who's been in business for years and has also released previous hits like Lo-Bak Trax, Sleep Styler, Orbitrim, and Simply Fit Board.

They held an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on 40 closed complaints, as of 4/17/18. Most related to product quality or support concerns (when details were available). A representative provided a solution in each instance.

Ice Genie vs. the Competition: How Can You Choose the Right Ice Tray?

We discussed earlier the fact that there are several other products advertised as ‘Ice Genies’ from third-party manufacturers, which appeared to be designed identically. So, choosing between these might largely come down to price, and whether or not you want the bonus tongs provided by Allstar.

But, is there any reason you should limit yourself to this specific design and functionality? After all, there are hundreds of different ice tray material, shape, and size combinations available. So, how can you decide which ice tray you should buy?

As you might imagine, it’s not exactly rocket science. Business Insider explains:

“Basically, you are looking for a tray that allows you to extract the ice easily and one that doesn’t impart distasteful odors — or freezer-burn — to the cubes. You'll also want trays that let you pop out ice easily unlike those awful hard plastic ones from your youth.”

On both of these accounts, with its squeeze-to-remove functionality and airtight lid, Ice Genie seems to deliver (we didn’t test any models ourselves to provide firsthand feedback). It obviously doesn’t mean there aren’t plenty of other models out there that won’t, either.

When it comes down to it, where does all of this leave you?

Our Final Thoughts About Ice Genie

Based on what we learned from the website and commercial, Ice Genie’s pliable functionality, ability to hold up to 120 ice cubes and act as a drink cooler, airtight lid, dishwasher safe design, and the competitive price seems to offer a lot of bang for the buck.

And while we found several third-party companies who sold seemingly identical models, Allstar Products Group offered a BOGO deal the others didn’t, as well as a free pair of tongs with each order, if these are important factors to you.

Just keep in mind that while Ice Genie might be able to hold up to 120 cubes, they’re a) much smaller than regular ice cubes, and b) based on the design (it requires inserting a sleeve and then squeezing to remove), it might be increasingly difficult to use properly as the device fills up.

Finally, it’s important to point out that if maximizing space isn’t one of your top priorities, flexible silicone mini-cube ice trays are widely available on marketplaces like Amazon, for very inexpensive prices. So inexpensive, in fact, that you might be able to also purchase a standalone airtight container to store them in, while still paying less than Ice Genie.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

14 Consumer Reviews for Ice Genie

Average Consumer Rating: 1.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 1 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  13
Bottom Line: 7% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 14
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Useless

    • Florida,
    • Nov 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We read all the instructions and watched the video, but we still couldn't get it to work properly. The water all slides to the bottom, so that is the only part that gets frozen. I don't know why I need to say more, but I do not recommend this product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Worthless waste of money

    • St Louis, MO,
    • Sep 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I wish I had read the reviews for this thing before I bought it. I just retrieved my first batch of ice from it, and it’s a total fail. First, water leaked into the cylinder, so I barely got any "ice pucks" out of it. I put the ones that I did get into an already cold drink 10 minutes ago and they’re already completely melted. Like other reviewers have said, the lid doesn’t fit, and the cylinder is very difficult to get out. Save your money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Worst product ever!

    • Sydney, Australia,
    • Sep 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Horrendous! Biggest waste of money. Does not work. Cubes are more like tiny pringles and break just as easy. Last seconds in cold tap water.

    Not easy to use. Above review from stroke victim cannot be legit.

    Do not buy!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Worthless

    • Washington,
    • Sep 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is the most worthless piece of junk I have ever seen. First of all, it's nearly impossible to fill the outside chamber without getting water into the inside bucket. Second, it doesn't make nearly even half of the amount of ice they claim it makes. If one could fill the outside after using a little each time without getting it into the middle, it would help, but the cubes are so small they melt too fast and make any drink watery. DON'T waste your bucks on this one.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Portland, OR,
    • Sep 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This thing is a total scam. And none of these reviewers have ever even seen the thing, which is garbage. I’m not sure how this has even been made and sold, but it’s a lie. It doesn’t work AT ALL. The lid doesn’t fit on the cylinder. The water doesn’t fit to fill up with cubes. I bought several for family and friends, which is super embarrassing because it’s so awful. Do not buy the Ice Genie.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Very disappointed with the Ice Genie

    • New Port Richey, FL,
    • Aug 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I looked forward to receiving this product after having seen it on TV. However, the product is really a disappointment. The white cylinder is difficult to remove. One has to have strong biceps to "squeeze" the container. I have used it twice and after struggling with the the container, I had to call my husband to squeeze it. In addition, the space to insert water is very small. I could not secure the lid and I have put lids on containers many times in my life. I just gave up on that, I would have returned it but I don't have the receipt (I didn't think it would be difficult to use). Boy was I wrong! If there is a secret to using the Ice Genie, let me know before it goes to Goodwill. Thanks.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Would like my money back!

    • Elgin, IL,
    • Aug 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This thing is a pain in the butt! The inside container is really hard to pull out. The lid does not fit on securely! The ice cubes are way too small! A lot of the cubes are more like chips because when you squeeze the outside (as told to do in the instructions), to loosen the ice, the cubes get all broken up. In my opinion, it is much easier to use regular ice cube trays. You can make numerous trays at the same time instead of having to keep filling and freezing and squeezing and dumping over and over again. Like I said, IT'S A PAIN IN THE BUTT!

    I forgot to mention that as you are using the Ice Genie, your hands freeze from having to hold it and squeeze it! Can I get a refund even though I used it once? Otherwise, it's going in the trash!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 10, 2018

      Donna T.

      I read a review that they refuse to give you your money back. I consider the source and will never order from them again.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Love it

    • Washington,
    • Aug 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I got mine on Amazon. I have problems with my hands due to a stroke, and this thing is great! It works just as it says if you follow the instructions. It makes about 28 ice chips, and you pop them out by gently by squeezing the genie. You dump the chips in the plastic container which are a nice size put the cylinder back inside, fill with water, and repeat. Easy peasy, sometimes you have to push the bottom of the genie because the cylinder freezes to the bottom of the ice tray, but that’s easy too also do. All in all, I wish I had this years ago.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    This Ice Genie sucks

    • USA,
    • Aug 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is bullcrap. It's a waste of money and I thought it was bigger and not smaller. This looks like something you get from a dollar store. My wife and I are extremely disappointed. I would suggest the company make it a bigger size for other customers to enjoy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Ice Genie

    • Salem, AL,
    • Jul 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Junk, cheaply made, does not work. I tossed it in the trash. It is sold on multiple sites under different names. I cannot believe how poorly made this item is and feel like I was misled.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Terrible, awful, waste of money!

    • Tampa, FL,
    • Jul 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Do not waste your money. It does not create much ice; it just makes enough to cover the bottom of the chamber. The ice chips are EXTREMELY small and thin and melt almost as soon as you put them in your drink causing your drink to be watery but barely cold. The inner piece is really difficult to remove from the chamber which you have to do in order to create the ice chips. If there was an option to rate it as a zero star then I would have. DON'T buy this!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 14

Write a Review for Ice Genie!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review