About Ice Genie

By HighYa Staff
Published on: Apr 20, 2018

Ice Genie is a revolutionary space-saving ice cube maker that freezes cubes in an outer chamber, which pop out with a squeeze and are then held in an inner chamber. Then, the airtight lid will keep your cubes fresh and odor free.

By holding as many as 120 ice cubes at once, the website advertises you’ll also be able to replace as many as 10 traditional ice cube trays and save a ton of space in your freezer. You can even use it as a drink holder to quickly chill bottled beverages.

And when it comes time, its BPA-free design is dishwasher safe for quick and easy cleanup.

The commercial makes Ice Genie seem compelling. But are there any considerations you should keep in mind? Are there competing products that might also deliver value? Stick with us over the next few minutes as we help you find some answers.

A Quick Primer on Ice Cubes

Under normal circumstances, water molecules are constantly moving, resulting in a fluid state. When they freeze at 32°F, though, they slow down, ‘stick’ together, line up into crystals, and form into a solid.

Pro tip: This temperature can be lowered even more by adding salt, alcohol, or sugar to water.

And since water takes the shape of its container, ice trays utilize this concept by creating standalone pockets that are added to the freezer, frozen, and then individually removed.

Just like anything else in your icebox, though, it’s possible for these cubes to absorb odors from other food, along with those from mold, old spills, and freezer burn—not to mention the material of the container they’re stored in.

To help avoid potential ice cube odors, Epicurious’ Anna Stockwell recommends (among other things) storing them in an airtight container, which is something that Ice Genie promises to help you accomplish.

How Much Does Ice Genie Cost & Where Can You Buy?

If purchased from Allstar Products Group’s standalone website, Ice Genie is available in two offers (plus $4.99 S&H):

  • Single Offer: $19.99
  • Double Offer: $29.98

Each Ice Genie comes with a bonus set of anti-slip tongs.

We also found several Amazon sellers offering the same product, but for between $15.50 and $24 each, with free shipping. At least one company also offered them in green and black, while none offered the bonus tongs.

All direct purchases come with a 30-day money back guarantee, less S&H and any fees associated with the BOGO offer. To request one, you’ll need to reach out to customer support at (800) 513-0305.

What Can We Learn from Reviews for Ice Genie’s Competitors?

It’s uncommon for the HighYa team to reference feedback regarding third-party products when writing an article. Given the fact that Ice Genie’s direct competition appears to be functionally identical, though, we felt this warranted a rare exception.

With this said, Ezeagbor’s New Ice Cube Maker Genie had a total of eight Amazon customer reviews at the time of our research, with an average rating of 4.3 stars. Common compliments related to ease of use (even for those with dexterity concerns) and quality construction. The relatively few complaints referenced small cubes and difficulty removing them.

In our specific instance, this Ice Genie model is brought to us by Allstar Products Group, an NY-based company who's been in business for years and has also released previous hits like Lo-Bak Trax, Sleep Styler, Orbitrim, and Simply Fit Board.

They held an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on 40 closed complaints, as of 4/17/18. Most related to product quality or support concerns (when details were available). A representative provided a solution in each instance.

Ice Genie vs. the Competition: How Can You Choose the Right Ice Tray?

We discussed earlier the fact that there are several other products advertised as ‘Ice Genies’ from third-party manufacturers, which appeared to be designed identically. So, choosing between these might largely come down to price, and whether or not you want the bonus tongs provided by Allstar.

But, is there any reason you should limit yourself to this specific design and functionality? After all, there are hundreds of different ice tray material, shape, and size combinations available. So, how can you decide which ice tray you should buy?

As you might imagine, it’s not exactly rocket science. Business Insider explains:

“Basically, you are looking for a tray that allows you to extract the ice easily and one that doesn’t impart distasteful odors — or freezer-burn — to the cubes. You'll also want trays that let you pop out ice easily unlike those awful hard plastic ones from your youth.”

On both of these accounts, with its squeeze-to-remove functionality and airtight lid, Ice Genie seems to deliver (we didn’t test any models ourselves to provide firsthand feedback). It obviously doesn’t mean there aren’t plenty of other models out there that won’t, either.

When it comes down to it, where does all of this leave you?

Our Final Thoughts About Ice Genie

Based on what we learned from the website and commercial, Ice Genie’s pliable functionality, ability to hold up to 120 ice cubes and act as a drink cooler, airtight lid, dishwasher safe design, and the competitive price seems to offer a lot of bang for the buck.

And while we found several third-party companies who sold seemingly identical models, Allstar Products Group offered a BOGO deal the others didn’t, as well as a free pair of tongs with each order, if these are important factors to you.

Just keep in mind that while Ice Genie might be able to hold up to 120 cubes, they’re a) much smaller than regular ice cubes, and b) based on the design (it requires inserting a sleeve and then squeezing to remove), it might be increasingly difficult to use properly as the device fills up.

Finally, it’s important to point out that if maximizing space isn’t one of your top priorities, flexible silicone mini-cube ice trays are widely available on marketplaces like Amazon, for very inexpensive prices. So inexpensive, in fact, that you might be able to also purchase a standalone airtight container to store them in, while still paying less than Ice Genie.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

23 Consumer Reviews for Ice Genie

Average Consumer Rating: 1.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 1 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 1 1 star:  21
Bottom Line: 4% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 23
Sort reviews by:

  • Really terrible product

    • Arkansas,
    • Jan 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was very excited to try this out. It sort of worked, although a fair bit of water leaked into the bottom even though I pressed the ring down very hard. It made a very tiny handful of ice, all very small chips that melted in less than a moment in very cold fruit juice. The ring was very difficult to take out of the container. I estimate it would take at least 12 refills and freezes to fill up the thing just once.

    Incredibly disappointed. Do not buy. Normal ice trays are much easier to use and work much much better than this.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Ice Genie

    • Victoria, Australia,
    • Jan 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    A total waste of money. I wish I had read the reviews before buying this product.

    The lid doesn’t fit and the middle chamber fills with water. I’ve tried three times now and haven’t gotten any ice at all.

    Very disappointed as I was excited to get the product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Hmmm, not so great...

    • Florida,
    • Jan 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered this last year. The "idea" of this is good, however, the model would need to be improved. You can only fill this about two inches of water, push the insert down, which squeezed the water up the sides. Ok, fine, but you have to put the top on, "which won't stay on" because of the pressure of the water pushing the plastic insert up. Kind of like pushing a ball down in the water when you're in a pool, the ball will go flying up. So I get a rubber band to hold the top on. Then when the ice cubes are ready, the cubes are ridiculously small and there is a thick piece of ice at the bottom from the insert lifting up. Like I said, interesting idea, just needs improvement.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Waste of money

    • Berlin, NJ,
    • Jan 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This product totally fails in every way there is. It is amazing they have not been sued for false advertising. It is difficult to get the sleeve set, and the cubes are ridiculously small. Don't even get me started on the Barbi size ice tongs!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    The biggest heap of crap

    • Queensland, Australia,
    • Jan 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought this for a Christmas present for my grandmother and paid $30 for it at my local post office. When you pour in the water, it leaks under the plastic thing into the middle, and when you do manage to get some ice, it's pathetic thin pieces of ice that melts in an instant! I do not recommend you waste your money on this!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Junk - do NOT purchase

    • Smyrna, TN,
    • Jan 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The Ice Genie is nothing like the commercial. We tried several times to make ice and every time water leaked into the center chamber, and YES, we did make sure it was pressed down completely. It made very little ice. This is a waste of money, so if you are considering getting this, I would recommend not getting it even if it’s free. It is not worth the effort or frustration. I wish I had read reviews before I purchased.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Sucks royal hinder

    • Norcross, GA,
    • Dec 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I actually wanted one of these for Christmas, but wow, what a massive disappointment. I'm a triple-degreed engineer and have to date never seen any product disappoint to this level. We've tried it several times and shortly will relegate it to the landfill. It does zero that it promises to do - awful, terrible, complete rip-off.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Do not waste your money!

    • Chatsworth, GA,
    • Dec 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I received my two Ice Genies yesterday, filled one, got up this morning, took the lid off, took the chamber out, squeezed, and there was a small, small pile of ice! Just enough to make me mad! So DISSAPOINTED! We couldn't wait to get it and now that we have it I am SO SORRY we purchased it! What a waste of my hard earned money! Do not buy!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Crap

    • New Jersey,
    • Dec 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    When you pour the water, it leaks into the cylinder - there seem to be three little feet on it that prevent it from going all the way down into the bottom of the blue container. Waste of money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Useless

    • Florida,
    • Nov 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We read all the instructions and watched the video, but we still couldn't get it to work properly. The water all slides to the bottom, so that is the only part that gets frozen. I don't know why I need to say more, but I do not recommend this product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Worthless waste of money

    • St Louis, MO,
    • Sep 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I wish I had read the reviews for this thing before I bought it. I just retrieved my first batch of ice from it, and it’s a total fail. First, water leaked into the cylinder, so I barely got any "ice pucks" out of it. I put the ones that I did get into an already cold drink 10 minutes ago and they’re already completely melted. Like other reviewers have said, the lid doesn’t fit, and the cylinder is very difficult to get out. Save your money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 23

Write a Review for Ice Genie!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review