• 35 Customer Reviews
  • 0% Recommend This Service
1.0 out of 5
5 star: 0% 4 star: 0% 3 star: 0% 2 star: 2% 1 star: 97%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Rip off

    • By Kelly M.,
    • Richmond, TX,
    • Sep 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I used Intelius for a phone number lookup for $0.95 only to be charged $29.95 for a full membership. When it posted to my account, I called to cancel only to be told it was not possible since it was more than 7 days. I don't recall seeing anything that said I was signing up for a membership.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Intelius people search

    • By Heather C,
    • California,
    • Jan 27, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Although this service does provide some useful information, much of it is inaccurate, so prepare to go through a stack of phone numbers to find what you're looking for (if you can find it at all).

    Most offensive is their marketing scheme for pricing. They say you can do a basic search for under $1 but then come in heavy on the $19.95 a month subscription. And of course, if you pay for a year, they'll discount that. By NOW you're tired of reading through their advertising!

    I ordered the one-time basic service, which you must then cancel within the next seven days or you'll be charged the monthly subscription fee (and it could get worse). But, I canceled right after I completed my single search.

    They gave me a confirmation number and included the date on the confirmation, so I felt safe. I checked my bank account and saw the one-time charge.

    A week later, another charge appeared for $7.95, and I called them immediately, feeling confident that since I had my confirmation number, I'd get that charge reversed. NOT! The Eastern Indian accent on the phone spoke to me in broken English to tell me that even though I canceled right away, I'm still charged another $7.95 for the service because they give me access for seven days. And then if I canceled, they charge me for that week, and I won't see any more charges. She "claims" that this is on the site, but if it is, it's vague and you're so involved in avoiding all of their other pitfalls that it's near impossible to notice.

    I'll still be waiting to see if they charge me again. For now, lesson learned and I won't use them again.

    I'd advise that for ANY of these services (to include Carfax and other places where they really want you to buy subscriptions and not just pay a one-time service fee), that you buy a Visa or Mastercard gift card and use that so they don't have external access to your bank account.

    In my opinion, they're hoping you don't notice a fee that's charged a week later and is under $10, and they don't get any complaints. I would look for a service that's more straight forward also.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Upset

    • By Ashley,
    • Gainesville, VA,
    • Apr 16, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    First of all, they only have a PO box in the US. This is a company out of India! The information you get can be obtained for free. I attempted to cancel our subscription, however, calling India made this a frustrating and time-consuming task. Don't waste your time. I will watch carefully in the future to ensure that the companies I work with are only companies in the USA.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Yes, it's bad

    • By John Shrikard,
    • Santa Clarita, CA,
    • Jun 26, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I needed one phone number. It said I could get it for $.95. So I put in my information, including email and credit card information. They immediately charged my credit card (TWICE!), and gave me the notice that my 7-day access period had begun, but I had to click "OK" to get the number that I wanted. I would be charged $29.95 per month. If I canceled, they'd charge me only $7.95. There was no way they'd charge only $.95. So the actual charge for one phone number was $.95 + $7.95 = $8.90. Yes, it's a bad company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Rip Off

    Overall Experience:

    I tried to do a search. Their computer shut down in the middle of the search. I called and was assured it did not go through and I would not be charged. When I received my credit card statement, I was charged both for the search and some kind of membership fee. I called and they paid back the membership fee, but refused to give it back yet the search was never completed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Terrible rip off

    Overall Experience:

    I got caught in getting put into the Intelius premier plus. I was in a hurry to find information about a friend's uncle and this will cost me $7.95 for a service I do not want. I will be checking my credit card to see if they try to slip in some other charges.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Total scam

    Overall Experience:

    I ordered one address but never received it. Then they proceeded to charge me $29.95 a month! They will not refund my money that was charged to my credit card without my authorization!

    Do not give them any information! Zero stars would be my rating, but there is no zero.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Total rip off!

    Overall Experience:

    We signed up for the $39.95 premium package. We were charged the $39.95 plus $19.95 for a background check even though a background check was included in the $39.95. The background check information was old and not complete. I found much more data for free on the internet. When I called customer service, they said they would refund the $19.95 but would charge me $7.95 instead! Total ripoff. We are out $39.95 for absolutely nothing. Did not even have a current address person has lived at for over a year.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Intelius - don't waste your money

    Overall Experience:

    I had decided to do a search on my ex-husband when I got some money. The search was $6.95 for the basic search. The information contained in the report was WAY out of date. There was no new information. The information contained in the report was 5-10 years old. When I called to make sure my credit card would not be charged again for a membership, I was told I would be charged an additional $7.95 for canceling. Just google who you are searching for and save the $15. You will get more up to date information.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam, it's no 99 cents

    • By Robert Fallon,
    • Woodland Hills, CA,
    • Mar 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I used this for a reverse phone number. I now find out they charged me $7.99 for not using another service. Supposedly it's in the small print AFTER you do the first search. What a joke. I have now opened a PayPal dispute.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Crap service

    • By Andy,
    • Wisconsin,
    • Apr 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I paid $55 for two reports, one of which took three days to come back with NOTHING. I received no useful information from either. I found more off of using Google. It is supposed to be such a good service, NOT! Don't waste your time or money on this crap!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam

    • By Bad Apple,
    • California,
    • May 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I paid $0.95 for a phone lookup. Instead, I got a "sorry no records" email and an invoice saying I would be enrolled in a $29.95 monthly service, or could cancel for "only" $7.95.

    I opened a PayPal dispute, sent a "don't enroll me" email, called the artists (you know what type). They insisted in the $7.95, I said "not happening," and they backed off.

    I gave a dollar too much to these idiots, but that was my assumed risk.

    Stay clear.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Terrible

    • By Amy G.,
    • Nebraska,
    • May 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    If I could give a zero I would. They charged me two months at one time for one background check on a convicted felon. The background check gave me no info except an address, total scam!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam!

    • By Keisa S.,
    • Texas,
    • Jun 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This company is a SCAM. Beware if you purchase their $0.95 seven-day trial, which is actually $7.95, and if you cancel within the seven days and you don't use their background check voucher, just know these scammers will CHARGE you $7.95 regardless! And god forbid you do use the background check voucher, then guess what? You're going to be charged $29.95 immediately, and for what? Because they don't find out anything you need them to. Oh, but guess what? They will refund your $0.95 though...

    This company is a joke and a scam. Note, what I will say in regards to positivity is that there customer service staff is polite, and although I'm not happy with this company AT ALL, that is something I didn't expect when I called in to get clarification on why I was still charged $7.95 so at least you will have a pleasant phone experience.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • They do not deliver as advertised

    • By Kelly D.,
    • Lake Mary, FL,
    • Jul 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I checked the reviews on https://www.top10bestbackgroundcheck.com/ which gave Intelius the highest rating. I signed up for Intelius Premier today and the information was not only inaccurate it did not include social media accounts, employment, addresses, telephone numbers, email accounts and public record information for criminal and civil. Don't waste your money on Intelius. I received more detailed information on the TruthFinder website. I even ordered the add-on criminal background check that did not include accurate public record details. In my opinion, Intelius is a scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Less information than a simple Google search

    • By Paul B.,
    • Lexington, KY,
    • Sep 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I used it to find a skipped renter. It gave me less information than a Google search. It didn't identify employers, legal actions, divorce actions, recent financials, or even the most recent address. Totally worthless.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam!

    • By Dom J.,
    • San Diego, CA,
    • Sep 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My daughter signed up for a $.95 trial and canceled within her trial but was billed again for canceling. This company is unethical and clearly focused on scamming people, or they would have just refunded the charge and moved on.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam! Do not buy.

    • By Gabrielle T.,
    • Detroit, MI,
    • Sep 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    After purchasing their "$0.95" trial and canceling it after they found no results, I was charged $7.95 a week later. I even called the company to cancel my account, and they claimed that they "could not find my account" even though I could log in and see all the information. Then proceeded to tell me they would get back to me within 48 hours. I ended up having to make a dispute with PayPal, so fingers crossed I get my money back.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Small print

    • By Norman K.,
    • New York,
    • Oct 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I tried them for one phone number. They could not find the number but charged me $7.95 even though I canceled after one day. I did not know about the charge until they acknowledged my order and informed me that there would be a charge just for trying the service. I guess they need to boost their bottom line through any means!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • A total rip off, scam

    • By Vick T.,
    • Houston, TX,
    • Nov 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Honestly, how are these guys still in business?! Shame on those websites that are promoting them and advertising them with high ratings, that's how I was sucked into it. I originally agreed to pay for a $39.95 service, later to be charged an additional $29.95! I promise you, this will be the best $70 I've spent as I will do my best from preventing others from paying for their service.

    In regards to their "reports," I was able to find more info on Google, Bing, Yahoo! Search, etc. Please, everyone, DO NOT pay for their service! If there are any other rating websites, please share, I want to make sure people are not sucked into this scam.

    NO, I would NOT recommend this to my worst enemy, let alone my friend!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam

    • By Maria W.,
    • Colorado,
    • Feb 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This website is a scam, it’s misleading, they can’t always give you the information you want and tell you the excuse that some states don’t share private information, but, they never said that in their bio!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • STAY AWAY! I have receipt of cancellation - they tried to bill me anyway.

    • By T L.,
    • North Carolina,
    • Apr 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I canceled the trial membership that they forced on me after paying $40 to look at the records for one person. I have an email from the company confirming the cancellation. They tried to bill me anyway today. Fortunately, I use a credit card service that allows me to specify the maximum a company can charge on my card (see Privacy.com). The transaction was therefore declined.

    If they are this unethical with their own records, why would I trust them with other people's records?

    STAY AWAY!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • SCAM

    • By Brandi M.,
    • Houston, TX,
    • May 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    STAY AWAY! Do not use this service! If you pay for a report one time, they will sneakily add you to their membership service without your knowledge and will steal money from your account! Then if you try to get a refund, they get rude and will not give it back! They will also keep charging you after they supposedly cancel it. They don't even deserve one star.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Bait and switch

    • By Slim T.,
    • North Carolina,
    • Jun 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The Information they provide is GARBAGE! Nothing "informative". You can find as much in the White Pages.

    The so-called 95-cent offer is BS! They will charge you $7.95 REGARDLESS within 7 (business?) days. I CANCELLED IMMEDIATELY after receiving REPORT because the REPORT was GARBAGE. And they still charged me the $7.95 and I paid the 95 cents. THAT'S $8.90 WASTED on garbage information.

    The information they provide on your subject is kiddish at best. Save your money. TruthFinder site will give you info that's in line with the answers you seek.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Total scam!

    • By Leor T.,
    • Florida,
    • Jun 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I just paid almost $100 and got nothing from it.

    I paid for the more expensive pack and after I do a search for my own name and nothing really showed up on my report. I did another search of a different name and still nothing really showed up, especially not what it says you're paying for.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Poor results and sneaky back billing practices

    • By Ed L.,
    • Hershey, PA,
    • Jun 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    We did side by side comparison with our own search and found more than Intelius. We only found the $7.95 second charge mentioned in an email AFTER we paid $39.95 for the bogus report.

    I saved the cancelation screenshot because I know they will bill me again anyway.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible company

    • By Cris K.,
    • Massachusetts,
    • Jun 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Hidden fees for their $0.95 one time "try" me out charge. I wanted to confirm an old friend's birthday and used this service once. Paid my $0.95 and canceled immediately, a week later they charged me a $7.95 free week trial fee. BS. They won't refund the money even though it's clear I only used it for 1 search.

    Never use this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-27 of 35

Write a Review for Intelius!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Intelius