Start your review of Intelius:
  • 35 Customer Reviews
  • 0% Recommend This Service
1.0 out of 5
5 star: 0% 4 star: 0% 3 star: 0% 2 star: 2% 1 star: 97%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Crap service

    • By Andy,
    • Wisconsin,
    • Apr 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I paid $55 for two reports, one of which took three days to come back with NOTHING. I received no useful information from either. I found more off of using Google. It is supposed to be such a good service, NOT! Don't waste your time or money on this crap!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam

    • By Bad Apple,
    • California,
    • May 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I paid $0.95 for a phone lookup. Instead, I got a "sorry no records" email and an invoice saying I would be enrolled in a $29.95 monthly service, or could cancel for "only" $7.95.

    I opened a PayPal dispute, sent a "don't enroll me" email, called the artists (you know what type). They insisted in the $7.95, I said "not happening," and they backed off.

    I gave a dollar too much to these idiots, but that was my assumed risk.

    Stay clear.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Terrible

    • By Amy G.,
    • Nebraska,
    • May 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    If I could give a zero I would. They charged me two months at one time for one background check on a convicted felon. The background check gave me no info except an address, total scam!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam!

    • By Keisa S.,
    • Texas,
    • Jun 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This company is a SCAM. Beware if you purchase their $0.95 seven-day trial, which is actually $7.95, and if you cancel within the seven days and you don't use their background check voucher, just know these scammers will CHARGE you $7.95 regardless! And god forbid you do use the background check voucher, then guess what? You're going to be charged $29.95 immediately, and for what? Because they don't find out anything you need them to. Oh, but guess what? They will refund your $0.95 though...

    This company is a joke and a scam. Note, what I will say in regards to positivity is that there customer service staff is polite, and although I'm not happy with this company AT ALL, that is something I didn't expect when I called in to get clarification on why I was still charged $7.95 so at least you will have a pleasant phone experience.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • They do not deliver as advertised

    • By Kelly D.,
    • Lake Mary, FL,
    • Jul 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I checked the reviews on https://www.top10bestbackgroundcheck.com/ which gave Intelius the highest rating. I signed up for Intelius Premier today and the information was not only inaccurate it did not include social media accounts, employment, addresses, telephone numbers, email accounts and public record information for criminal and civil. Don't waste your money on Intelius. I received more detailed information on the TruthFinder website. I even ordered the add-on criminal background check that did not include accurate public record details. In my opinion, Intelius is a scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Less information than a simple Google search

    • By Paul B.,
    • Lexington, KY,
    • Sep 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I used it to find a skipped renter. It gave me less information than a Google search. It didn't identify employers, legal actions, divorce actions, recent financials, or even the most recent address. Totally worthless.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam!

    • By Dom J.,
    • San Diego, CA,
    • Sep 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My daughter signed up for a $.95 trial and canceled within her trial but was billed again for canceling. This company is unethical and clearly focused on scamming people, or they would have just refunded the charge and moved on.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam! Do not buy.

    • By Gabrielle T.,
    • Detroit, MI,
    • Sep 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    After purchasing their "$0.95" trial and canceling it after they found no results, I was charged $7.95 a week later. I even called the company to cancel my account, and they claimed that they "could not find my account" even though I could log in and see all the information. Then proceeded to tell me they would get back to me within 48 hours. I ended up having to make a dispute with PayPal, so fingers crossed I get my money back.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Small print

    • By Norman K.,
    • New York,
    • Oct 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I tried them for one phone number. They could not find the number but charged me $7.95 even though I canceled after one day. I did not know about the charge until they acknowledged my order and informed me that there would be a charge just for trying the service. I guess they need to boost their bottom line through any means!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • A total rip off, scam

    • By Vick T.,
    • Houston, TX,
    • Nov 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Honestly, how are these guys still in business?! Shame on those websites that are promoting them and advertising them with high ratings, that's how I was sucked into it. I originally agreed to pay for a $39.95 service, later to be charged an additional $29.95! I promise you, this will be the best $70 I've spent as I will do my best from preventing others from paying for their service.

    In regards to their "reports," I was able to find more info on Google, Bing, Yahoo! Search, etc. Please, everyone, DO NOT pay for their service! If there are any other rating websites, please share, I want to make sure people are not sucked into this scam.

    NO, I would NOT recommend this to my worst enemy, let alone my friend!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam

    • By Maria W.,
    • Colorado,
    • Feb 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This website is a scam, it’s misleading, they can’t always give you the information you want and tell you the excuse that some states don’t share private information, but, they never said that in their bio!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 12-22 of 35

Write a Review for Intelius!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Intelius Review