Intelius

Intelius

Overall Rating

1.0

35 Customer Reviews

Write a Review

Summary

Intelius is people search website that makes it possible to find people based on their name, phone number, or address and learn publicly available information about them. However, its information quality might not be worth the subscription cost.

Pros

  • Responsive, helpful customer service
  • Gives you access to monitor your own online footprint

Cons

  • Deceptive pricing practices
  • Information may be inaccurate
  • Tends to show less information than similar websites
  • You may have to pay a cancellation fee

Customer Reviews

1.0 Stars out of 35 Reviews
5 Star:0% 4 Star:0% 3 Star:0% 2 Star:2% 1 Star:97%
0% Recommend This Service
Start your review of Intelius:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on May 15, 2019

SCAM

By Brandi M., Houston, TX, Verified Reviewer

STAY AWAY! Do not use this service! If you pay for a report one time, they will sneakily add you to their membership service without your knowledge and will steal money from your account! Then if you try to get a refund, they get rude and will not give it back! They will also keep charging you after they supposedly cancel it. They don't even deserve one star.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Apr 26, 2019

STAY AWAY! I have receipt of cancellation - they tried to bill me anyway.

By T L., North Carolina, Verified Reviewer

I canceled the trial membership that they forced on me after paying $40 to look at the records for one person. I have an email from the company confirming the cancellation. They tried to bill me anyway today. Fortunately, I use a credit card service that allows me to specify the maximum a company can charge on my card (see Privacy.com). The transaction was therefore declined.

If they are this unethical with their own records, why would I trust them with other people's records?

STAY AWAY!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Feb 14, 2019

Scam

By Maria W., Colorado, Verified Reviewer

This website is a scam, it’s misleading, they can’t always give you the information you want and tell you the excuse that some states don’t share private information, but, they never said that in their bio!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 14, 2018

A total rip off, scam

By Vick T., Houston, TX, Verified Reviewer

Honestly, how are these guys still in business?! Shame on those websites that are promoting them and advertising them with high ratings, that's how I was sucked into it. I originally agreed to pay for a $39.95 service, later to be charged an additional $29.95! I promise you, this will be the best $70 I've spent as I will do my best from preventing others from paying for their service.

In regards to their "reports," I was able to find more info on Google, Bing, Yahoo! Search, etc. Please, everyone, DO NOT pay for their service! If there are any other rating websites, please share, I want to make sure people are not sucked into this scam.

NO, I would NOT recommend this to my worst enemy, let alone my friend!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 2, 2018

Small print

By Norman K., New York, Verified Reviewer

I tried them for one phone number. They could not find the number but charged me $7.95 even though I canceled after one day. I did not know about the charge until they acknowledged my order and informed me that there would be a charge just for trying the service. I guess they need to boost their bottom line through any means!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 20, 2018

Rip off

By Kelly M., Richmond, TX, Verified Reviewer

I used Intelius for a phone number lookup for $0.95 only to be charged $29.95 for a full membership. When it posted to my account, I called to cancel only to be told it was not possible since it was more than 7 days. I don't recall seeing anything that said I was signing up for a membership.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 13, 2018

Scam! Do not buy.

By Gabrielle T., Detroit, MI, Verified Reviewer

After purchasing their "$0.95" trial and canceling it after they found no results, I was charged $7.95 a week later. I even called the company to cancel my account, and they claimed that they "could not find my account" even though I could log in and see all the information. Then proceeded to tell me they would get back to me within 48 hours. I ended up having to make a dispute with PayPal, so fingers crossed I get my money back.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 10, 2018

Scam!

By Dom J., San Diego, CA, Verified Reviewer

My daughter signed up for a $.95 trial and canceled within her trial but was billed again for canceling. This company is unethical and clearly focused on scamming people, or they would have just refunded the charge and moved on.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 7, 2018

Less information than a simple Google search

By Paul B., Lexington, KY, Verified Reviewer

I used it to find a skipped renter. It gave me less information than a Google search. It didn't identify employers, legal actions, divorce actions, recent financials, or even the most recent address. Totally worthless.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Jul 24, 2018

They do not deliver as advertised

By Kelly D., Lake Mary, FL, Verified Reviewer

I checked the reviews on https://www.top10bestbackgroundcheck.com/ which gave Intelius the highest rating. I signed up for Intelius Premier today and the information was not only inaccurate it did not include social media accounts, employment, addresses, telephone numbers, email accounts and public record information for criminal and civil. Don't waste your money on Intelius. I received more detailed information on the TruthFinder website. I even ordered the add-on criminal background check that did not include accurate public record details. In my opinion, Intelius is a scam.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 18, 2018

Scam!

By Keisa S., Texas, Verified Reviewer

This company is a SCAM. Beware if you purchase their $0.95 seven-day trial, which is actually $7.95, and if you cancel within the seven days and you don't use their background check voucher, just know these scammers will CHARGE you $7.95 regardless! And god forbid you do use the background check voucher, then guess what? You're going to be charged $29.95 immediately, and for what? Because they don't find out anything you need them to. Oh, but guess what? They will refund your $0.95 though...

This company is a joke and a scam. Note, what I will say in regards to positivity is that there customer service staff is polite, and although I'm not happy with this company AT ALL, that is something I didn't expect when I called in to get clarification on why I was still charged $7.95 so at least you will have a pleasant phone experience.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted
Showing 12-22 of 35

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.