Start your review of Intelius:
  • 35 Customer Reviews
  • 0% Recommend This Service
1.0 out of 5
5 star: 0% 4 star: 0% 3 star: 0% 2 star: 2% 1 star: 97%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • STAY AWAY! I have receipt of cancellation - they tried to bill me anyway.

    • By T L.,
    • North Carolina,
    • Apr 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I canceled the trial membership that they forced on me after paying $40 to look at the records for one person. I have an email from the company confirming the cancellation. They tried to bill me anyway today. Fortunately, I use a credit card service that allows me to specify the maximum a company can charge on my card (see Privacy.com). The transaction was therefore declined.

    If they are this unethical with their own records, why would I trust them with other people's records?

    STAY AWAY!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • SCAM

    • By Brandi M.,
    • Houston, TX,
    • May 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    STAY AWAY! Do not use this service! If you pay for a report one time, they will sneakily add you to their membership service without your knowledge and will steal money from your account! Then if you try to get a refund, they get rude and will not give it back! They will also keep charging you after they supposedly cancel it. They don't even deserve one star.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Bait and switch

    • By Slim T.,
    • North Carolina,
    • Jun 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The Information they provide is GARBAGE! Nothing "informative". You can find as much in the White Pages.

    The so-called 95-cent offer is BS! They will charge you $7.95 REGARDLESS within 7 (business?) days. I CANCELLED IMMEDIATELY after receiving REPORT because the REPORT was GARBAGE. And they still charged me the $7.95 and I paid the 95 cents. THAT'S $8.90 WASTED on garbage information.

    The information they provide on your subject is kiddish at best. Save your money. TruthFinder site will give you info that's in line with the answers you seek.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Total scam!

    • By Leor T.,
    • Florida,
    • Jun 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I just paid almost $100 and got nothing from it.

    I paid for the more expensive pack and after I do a search for my own name and nothing really showed up on my report. I did another search of a different name and still nothing really showed up, especially not what it says you're paying for.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Poor results and sneaky back billing practices

    • By Ed L.,
    • Hershey, PA,
    • Jun 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    We did side by side comparison with our own search and found more than Intelius. We only found the $7.95 second charge mentioned in an email AFTER we paid $39.95 for the bogus report.

    I saved the cancelation screenshot because I know they will bill me again anyway.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible company

    • By Cris K.,
    • Massachusetts,
    • Jun 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Hidden fees for their $0.95 one time "try" me out charge. I wanted to confirm an old friend's birthday and used this service once. Paid my $0.95 and canceled immediately, a week later they charged me a $7.95 free week trial fee. BS. They won't refund the money even though it's clear I only used it for 1 search.

    Never use this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Stole money from me

    • By George S.,
    • New York,
    • Jul 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I paid for a single document, I did not buy any membership whatsoever. They secretly started charging me $30 a month to my PayPal which I didn't realize for 3 months. Not to mention the report was of inaccurate/old information. I don't even have an account with them, how could I have a membership? They never sent one email to me about payments.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Intelius is a scam

    • By Ben D.,
    • New York,
    • Jul 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Both Intelius and Omnisearch are owned by the same company and their websites work in the identically same way. They offer no pricing upfront. You have to put your name into a search field at which time the search engine pretends to be going over every record that exists on you. It takes about 5 minutes for it to process giving the impression of how thorough it is. Then it offers you a subscription for $29.95 a month but hidden in the wording is that you are actually paying $39.95 (non-refundable) for a one-time background search on yourself plus the $29.95 a month subscription. Once your account is active and you put a name into the search engine, it takes only 10 seconds to come back with results showing that the first search for 5 minutes is just a marketing ploy. I canceled the membership immediately but the company refused to refund my $39.95. Stay away! There are some legitimate sites but unless they offer their pricing plans upfront you should read the fine print.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Beware using Intelius, legally took money after account cancellation

    • By Chris A.,
    • Chesapeake, VA,
    • Jul 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Frankly, Intelius intentionally finds new ways to take your money after you cancel your account. READ all the fine print BEFORE starting an account with them.

    To make it short, I paid $.095 to start a 7-day trial account. I could cancel the account within 7 days and there would be NO FURTHER MEMBERSHIP CHARGES (as stated on the cancellation notice I printed and still have in my hand) or after the 7 days, the account would turn into a standard 30-day account and be billed at $29.99/month.

    I made 3 inquires with Intelius that disclosed outdated and unfortunately useless information. I canceled the account about 1 hour later and printed a copy of the cancellation info (just in case).

    Nine days later my PayPal account paid $7.95 to Intelius.

    I went to the Intelius website looking for a phone number and found in the Q&A section, "Why was I billed $7.95 after my membership was canceled?", interesting I thought - they were ready for me!

    Apparently, Intelius CLAIMS there was a disclaimer at the time of purchase (in fine print) that said if I canceled within the 7 days I would still pay them an extra $7.95.

    I stilled called them at (888) 445-2727 and they stayed firm and said they would not refund the money.

    So that is that - lesson learned...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • False advertising

    Overall Experience:

    Site advertises a $.95 charge if you cancel before 7 days. I canceled the same day after I did one business search. Was charged an additional $7.95 seven days later. Why don’t they just say $8.90 for seven days minimum one person/business search because that is the bottom line?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Complete waste of time and money

    • By Micah R.,
    • Washington,
    • Aug 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Ran a check on myself, it was old information and they wanted more money to pull up criminal records. That's what I paid 30 bucks for in the first place. Super angry and they will automatically start a monthly charge on you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 23-33 of 35

Write a Review for Intelius!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Intelius Review