About intelliBED

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff
Published on: Apr 9, 2015

IntelliBED mattresses are claimed to be scientifically proven to provide firm horizontal support, while keeping your hips and shoulders level, which can help prevent back pain, improve circulation and blood flow, and relieve pressure up to 80% better than other mattresses. In other words, unlike their competition, IntelliBED claims to simultaneously provide you with support and pressure relief.

In order to accomplish this, IntelliBED has exclusive rights to a proprietary material named Intelli-gel, which provides soft cushioning under the hips and shoulders, but firm support everywhere else (we’ll talk more about this in a moment). According to the company, Intelli-gel lasts 4-10 times longer than foam, and the remainder of their mattresses consist of non-toxic, hypoallergenic, and anti-microbial materials that don’t off-gas and are natural fire blockers.

Because of these benefits, IntelliBED claims to help you achieve healthy, restful, deep-healing sleep using the “world’s most scientifically advanced and comfortable mattress.”

You spend about a third of your life sleeping on mattresses, and you want to make sure this time is used to optimize your health, so that you can excel in other parts of your life. But is IntelliBED the best (and most cost-effective) method of achieving this?

We’ll get to these important questions in a moment. But first, let’s take a look at what IntelliBED has to offer:

IntelliBED Mattress Models

All IntelliBED mattresses are manufactured in the USA, and include the following models:

Gel+

IntelliBED’s starter mattress for those on a tight budget, the Gel+ model features patented Intelli-Gel and a foam core for support.

  • Firmness: 9/10
  • Back Support: 3/10
  • Warranty: 10-year limited

Gel Elite

If you have a budget to stick to but still want “the lap of luxury,” IntelliBED claims their Gel Elite model combines patented Intelli-Gel with “the durability and support of innerspring.”

  • Firmness: 8/10
  • Back Support: 6/10
  • Warranty: 20-year limited
  • Lo-Motion Available (more about this below)

Posture Perfect

If you suffer from back issues, IntelliBED promises to deliver “aggressive alignment support” for your neck and back, along with the comfort of Intelli-Gel. Even if you don’t, we’re told Posture Perfect remains ideal for most sleepers.

  • Firmness: 6/10
  • Back Support: 10/10
  • Warranty: 30-year limited
  • Lo-Motion Available

Relief Perfect

If you enjoy a softer feel but still want solid back support, the Relief Perfect model combines Intelli-Gel with Talalay latex for “superior pressure relief.”

  • Firmness: 3/10
  • Back Support: 7/10
  • Warranty: 30-year limited
  • Lo-Motion Available

Alright, we’ve mentioned a few times already, but what’s the deal with IntelliBED’s Lo-Motion?

What Is Lo-Motion?

IntelliBED’s Gel Elite, Posture Perfect, and Relief Perfect models all feature the company’s patented Intelli-Gel, but the Lo-Motion option adds pocket coils, delivering a softer feel with “limited motion transfer between partners.

In addition to their different mattresses, IntelliBED also sells other products like:

  • Mattress Topper – Thin-line mattresses that are useful for traveling, and for use camping, in RVs/boats, and even for your spare bedroom.
  • Pillows – Features a soft, supportive foam core and an adjustable air chamber that allows you to customize the contour by about 2”. Comes in high and low-profile side sleeper, as well as back sleeper models.
  • Accessories – Box springs, mattress protectors, sheets, and even electronics.

Regardless of which IntelliBED product you’re thinking about purchasing though, at the core (no pun intended) of many of their claims is the Intelli-gel material, so let’s take a closer look at what this is.

What Is Intelli-gel?

Intelli-gel (also known as Isoflex, which is manufactured by Stryker and is most often used in hospitals) is a patented system of buckling columns, known as Dimensional Gel Technology, made of food-grade mineral oil that redistributes body weight and is virtually indestructible

According to IntelliBED, over a large surface (such as the torso), all the columns work together to provide support. However, when the surface area is smaller (such as hips and shoulders), Intelli-gel’s columns buckle and provide enough suspension so that it helps maintain blood circulation and spinal alignment. And because blood circulation and spinal alignment are improved, so is the quality of your sleep.

Here’s how the IntelliBED website explains it:

“Because our intelli-GEL cushioning layer has the unique ability to ‘sense’ a pressure point and relax under it ( allowing the protruding body part to sink in and redistribute the pressure) it also anchors the body into the gel using your body weight and gravity to hold you gently in place. This allows our high-quality adjustable base to comfortably moves you through a series of positions that, when completed, results in a decompressed spine, hip, neck or shoulder thereby reducing painful pressure and preparing your body for a restful night of deep-healing sleep.”

Because of the comfort and support provided by Intelli-gel, IntelliBED claims their mattresses are ideal for individuals with herniated disc, acid reflux, scoliosis, osteoarthritis, fibromyalgia, and many other medical conditions.

But if you suffer from certain medical conditions, does this mean you should purchase an IntelliBED product?

What’s Causing Your Sleeplessness?

Most importantly, keep in mind that if you’re not getting the sleep you need, there could be hundreds of different causes, including snoring, pain, anxiety, depression, exercise and eating habits, and much more. Because of this, if you’re constantly getting poor sleep, the first person you should speak with is your physician, who can put you on the path to finding a solution based on your specific diagnosis.

And if your doctor advises that you need help with snoring, be sure to read our Finding an Anti-Snoring Product That Works guide. And if it’s back pain that’s causing you to lose sleep, we’ve got you covered as well with our guide to Winning the Battle Against Chronic Back Pain.

Are IntelliBED Mattresses Scientifically Proven?

According to the IntelliBED website, their mattresses are scientifically proven to provide healthier sleep. And although they feature some graphs and bullet points on their site outlining this, they don’t provide any references to back them up.

In addition, other than the Isoflex brochure noted above, there isn’t any clinical proof provided on the Stryker website, either.

How Long Will Your IntelliBED Last?

Next, keep in mind that although IntelliBED claims their mattresses will last 4-10X longer than foam/box spring-only mattresses, they do use springs and foam in their mattress designs. Granted, these elements may make up a minority of their mattresses (depending on model), but it’s important to note nonetheless.

Other Online Mattress Purchasing Options

While they might come with very different designs and price points (more in a moment), remember that you have a multitude of options when it comes to online mattress purchasing, including Casper Mattress, Sleep Number, Tuft and Needle, Purple Mattress and more.

» See Also: Do Online Mattress Companies Deliver Better Value?

Are IntelliBED Customers Getting the Best Sleep of Their Lives?

Overall, outside of those posted on independent blogging sites, there weren’t a whole lot of online IntelliBED reviews at the time of our research.

We did find three customer reviews on Beds.org, who gave the mattresses an average rating of 4 stars. Nearly all customers appear to have been very satisfied with the comfort and support provided, although some noted that it’s heavy compared to traditional mattresses. Also, one customer complained that their IntelliBED mattress wasn’t comfortable, especially near the edges (poor edge support).

An in-depth user IntelliBED review was also featured on TheMattressUnderground, who claimed that while the strength, safety, and other benefits seem to be spot on, the company’s claims about their materials being safer than other mattresses might not necessarily be true.

From a company perspective, IntelliBED mattresses are manufactured by Advanced Comfort Technologies, Inc., based out of Murray, UT, who holds an A+ BBB rating with no complaints filed within the past 3 years (as of 4/6/15).

IntelliBED Pricing & Refund Policy

IntelliBED products are priced as follows (all adult mattresses available in twin through California king sizes):

  • Gel+: $899 to $1,599
  • Gel Elite: $1,399 to $2,999
  • Posture Perfect: $2,299 to $4,399
  • Relief Perfect: $2,299 to $4,399

Miscellaneous:

  • Box Spring: $200 to $400
  • Frame: $49.95 to $109.95
  • Mattress Protector (required for the 60-day trial): $90
  • Existing Mattress Removal: $99

If need be, IntelliBED claims to offer interest-free financing for 60 months qualified applicants.

All IntelliBED mattresses come with a 60-day risk-free in-home trial, including return shipping if you’re dissatisfied. Important note: However, you will have to purchase a mattress protector (an additional $90) in order to qualify, which is non-returnable.

In addition, while IntelliBED provides up to a 30-year warranty on their mattresses, keep in mind that the mattress’s full replacement price is only valid for the first 10 years, and then only on a prorated basis for the remaining 20 years.

There isn’t any refund information provided on the IntelliBED website, although you can receive a free sleep surface consultation by calling customer service at 888-435-2339.

Should You Buy an IntelliBED Mattress?

Chopping to the Point: When it comes down to it, finding a mattress that works for you is a very personal decision, and depends heavily on preference, as well as medical issues you may be experiencing (not to mention your physician’s diagnosis). In other words, what your neighbor finds to be the epitome of comfort might seem like sleeping on a bed of nails to you, so what they find valuable you may not.

The good news is that most online mattress companies, IntelliBED included, now offer in-home trials that allow you to test your mattress before committing to an expensive purchase. You might be out S&H charges (or in the case of IntelliBED, the cost of a mattress protector), but this is really the only way to figure out what works for you and what doesn’t.

With this said, IntelliBED mattresses appear to be of high quality, and most customers seemed to be very pleased with their purchases.

» For Further Reading: Best Bed-In-A-Box Mattress Buying Guide


Read 24 intelliBED Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 3.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 12 4 star: 2 3 star: 0 2 star: 1 1 star:  9
Bottom Line: 54% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 24
Sort reviews by:

  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Best Mattress Ever!

    I purchased an intelliBed after trying several other brands. I have struggled as long as I can remember with poor sleep. Every couple years I would bite the bullet and purchase another mattress in my effort to get good sleep.

    I injured my back and went to a chiropractor for an adjustment. She told me about intelliBed and thought it would help with my back pain. So I trusted her recommendation and made the purchase.

    It has been 6 months now and every month I fall more in love with the mattress. My back pain has decreased, I feel like I'm finally sleeping well for the first time in my life. It feels different than the pillow tops, memory foam, and latex mattresses I've had in the past. It feels like my back is supported, but it is also very comfortable. I've had firm mattresses that feel good on my back, but then my shoulder goes numb, so it's always been a trade off from one issue to another.

    My sales rep Al was very helpful, he was very educated about sleep and understood the issues I've been struggling with. It was a very different experience than any other time I've purchased a mattress. Their customer service even called me 3 days after the mattress was delivered to check in and make sure that the delivery went well and to see how I was sleeping. It's been a great decision.

    This is the first online review I've ever written, but it has helped me so much that I wanted to share my honest feedback about this amazing new technology that has helped me sleep and improved my life!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    The only bed I get good sleep with

    • Austin, TX,
    • Jan 22, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Normally, I don't leave reviews unless I have an issue with something but I felt compelled to leave this. At first I was hesitant to purchase an Intellibed because I had never dreamed about spending so much money for a bed. However, it has been worth every penny to me.

    For years, I had been dealing with chronic pain and insomnia. I have the start of scoliosis. I would wake up each every morning with my legs, arms and back throbbing. On top of that, I never really felt like I had a good nights sleep.

    Finally, a friend had recommended that I look into an Intellibed. They had bought one prior and had nothing but good things to say. I decided to check out their store in Austin and try out some of the beds. It was honestly the best decision I have made.

    I ended up walking out of there with one of the Relief Perfect mattress. Since getting that bed, my sleep has improved significantly. I wake up actually feeling rested and I do not wake up in pain anymore. I have had this bed for over 3 years now with no problems and nothing but good sleep.

    I had never had a gel or foam mattresses before so it did take a little getting used to at first. Because of the material, the bed is heavier than most but it's not something that you really have to move around more than once. I am a side sleeper so finding comfortable beds are far and few between for me. With this one, I am able to sleep on my side with no discomfort.

    I honestly don't know where I would have been if I had not found this bed. I know everyone has different needs and preferences but for me, my Intellibed has been great.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Best Bed Ever

    • Dallas, TX,
    • Feb 17, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    We have had an Intellibed for years now and it was the best thing we ever bought. Both my husband and I had lots of back and neck pain before and they are gone. It doesn't get hot like the foam mattresses do and the gel goes all the way across the mattress unlike the air chambers of other brands. We will buy another if this one wears out.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    The BEST bed I've ever slept on

    • Provo, UT,
    • Feb 27, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    My husband and I have gone through several mattresses throughout our marriage, none of which we have loved or that have lasted. We both have back problems and were frustrated with our backs constantly aching and the lack of sleep from horrible mattresses. We finally heard about the Intellibed and figured we would give it a shot! They have a great warranty and a 60 day return policy. We got the Intellibed just over a year ago and I will never use another mattress. It has been life changing. We sleep better and the aches and pains in our backs are gone. In fact, when we travel and have to sleep on different mattresses, we both comment about getting back home to our Intellibed. It's definitely THE VERY BEST bed I've ever owned or slept on.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Great pressure relief, better sleep

    • Salt Lake City, UT,
    • Mar 7, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have had a hard time sleeping for all of my adult life, and have always looked for something, anything, to help. I have now been sleeping on our new IntelliBED for about 5 weeks and I can say confidently that although I still have issues with insomnia, my bed is no longer one of the variables holding me back. I think what I have noticed the most is that although the IntelliBED doesn't "feel" super soft when I first lay down, I feel almost zero pressure even after I have been lying in bed for an extended period of time. Including all night. My doctor always told me to try sleeping on my side occasionally, but with our old foam bed, I couldn't for more than 20 minutes or so before I felt pain or discomfort. Very, very pleased with our bed. I stay asleep much easier than I used to and sleep longer into the morning as well. Also nice to see other reviewers that have had their bed for many years and are still enjoying it just as much as before. One other thing I have noticed mentioned as a negative in other reviews that I could address is that some people wish that their IntelliBED was more "fluffy" or ""soft." I couldn't disagree more. I think that the IntelliBED was designed to be supportive and comfortable, and it does a great job of that. A super fluffy bed might feel nice for 30 seconds as you initially lay down, but not 5 minutes later.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Can't wait to get back to my intelliBED

    • New Canaan, CT,
    • Mar 13, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was away on vacation for nearly a week staying in a beach house rental. The place was nice and the beds were relatively new. It was a great trip but we all agreed the thing we were most looking forward to by the end of the trip was getting back home to our intelliBEDs. The first night back when everyone said goodnight and climbed into their intelliBEDs, you could hear the collective sighs of relief. When you know better, nothing else will ever do.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Best bed ever

    • Midvale, UT,
    • Apr 12, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've tried a lot of beds and this by far is the best bed and worth the money. Love the gel. I sleep at a comfortable temperature and don't wake up with aches and pains anymore. I would highly recommend this bed!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    intelliBED has definitely been a difference maker

    Over the years, I've come to realize just how valuable a mattress is. At one point, added weight compounded my problems and it was extremely difficult trying to find a mattress that provided that good night's sleep we all know is important to our overall health. I've slept on a Serta, Sealy, even spent the extra money thinking an expensive mattress like Stearns and Foster would be the answer. It wasn't until I bought my intelliBED that I really noticed the difference.

    Years later, I got married, lost about 50 lbs and my wife and I ended up putting the mattress in my stepson's room. A few years went by and we ended up sleeping downstairs one hot summer night. I simply forgot how much I really missed sleeping on my intelliBED and my wife absolutely loved it! I moved to sleeping on the Sealy that she had from when she was living on her own following a divorce. We wore it out and after 8-10 years knew we had to start shopping around for a replacement. Let me tell you that the decision was easy.

    Not were the folks at intelliBED informative, but they assured us that if after 30 days of sleeping on the mattress, if we weren't satisfied, they would take measures to see that we were. The mattress was a firmer one and took a few weeks to break in, but the more and more both my wife and I slept on it, the more she began to make comments about how much she loved it. Not only do we get a good night's rest, but the mattress gives us the support we need to sustain a good posture, which is something that is very important to both of us. She is VERY fitness oriented and to me she is one of the biggest critics when it comes to something like this. The fact that this purchase was not only satisfying to me, but made my wife happy confirms what a quality product these guys have. I have and will continue to recommend it in a minute, especially to those needing to pay special attention to back and postural issues.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 13 out 14 people found this review helpful

    4 years and still going strong

    • Ogden, UT,
    • Sep 2, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought my bed 4 years ago and after 4 years we are still impressed. Before my IntelliBed we had Tempur-pedic memory foam and while, neither my wife or I, have ever had severe back issues or pain, the memory foam mattress caused some problems in my shoulders.

    Since we've had our IntelliBed, I haven't had any problems with my shoulders and have slept better than I ever have before. We were a little skeptical when we bought the mattress that it would do all the things we were told but it has lived up to expectations. Plus in our Tempur-pedic mattress we started to see divots in our bed within the first couple years and so far no problems with the Intellibed.

    Needless to say, we would never go back!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Owned 3/4 years, best choice we have made!

    • Saskatchewan, Canada,
    • Sep 3, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am finally coming to write a review because I feel I have owned it long enough to do so. I had terrible sleep before buying this bed. After having my kids, my pressure points were very painful while I slept and my hips always hurt. After buying this bed, all those issues were gone. I sleep so good in this bed and could ask for better.

    I'm confused when I see the odd negative review. I don't think most people will be disappointed. I am very picky when it comes to my bed and sleep. My husband and I are large, and the bed still holds up perfectly for us. I am 200 lbs and he is 300 lbs. If people get any sag, I think this is because they are not buying a high-quality box spring with support in the middle for under the bed. This is HIGHLY important to support the mattress.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 16 out 17 people found this review helpful

    The sleep I've always dreamed of

    IntelliBED Sapphire – The sleep I always dreamed of.

    For years I had the desirable pillowtop memory foam mattress. I spent way more than I want to remember on this bed. I had it for almost ten years until I finally said enough is enough and wanted to try something new. I moved out of a cooler state to a hot climate, and I’m sure like most know, memory foam and heat do not mix even if you have the A/C going and it's still hot! Waking up to night sweats is the worst, especially when you have dogs that are a basically a living furnace laying next to you or in one case right against you at all times.

    After attending a show, I inquired about a few beds on the show floor from Tempurpedic and Serta with the thought about just getting another memory foam bed with possibly more advanced features, but they had sold out immediately upon entering the show floor. Luckily for me at least, I stumbled upon IntelliBED, a brand I admit I’d never heard of before. After listening to their speech about why I should buy their bed and testing their examples available the Sapphire and the Azure, I went home that night and did some research.

    There weren’t too many reviews, I suppose simply because their buyers were sleeping in, HA! But I believe it's because Tempurpedic and Serta have been the go-to beds due to their mass advertising campaign. I’ve stopped by all the local mattress stores, and not one had this brand. So I admit I was hesitant to buy at first since it is a great deal of money. IntelliBED’s price isn’t too much more than the Tempurpedic Breeze cooling bed, but since they had either chosen not to sell or truly had sold out, they lost out on a potential review and possibly a loyal customer.

    Now, why did I compare them to the Tempurpedic Breeze? The answer is simple. Since purchasing this bed I have not woken up drenched in sweat, and even with my living heater sleeping against me I’ve still remained fine, even to the point that my dog now sleeps under the covers even though she had never done so in the past, so I’d say dog approved too! Although a very pricey dog bed none the less. I also have a mattress protector, and it doesn’t affect the airflow of the mattress either.

    I have had this bed for almost 60 days and can’t say I regret a dime. The only issue I will bring up is that the bed is very deep and not a whole lot of sheets fit on the bed itself. I had to modify my favorite sheets that I refuse to replace with straps to hold them down, but for those not as stubborn as me it’s not a huge issue as they make specific sheets for that. I will also note my friend (400+ lbs) also bought a bed from them, the Azure, and he loves it as well. He has also commented that his sleep has improved since upgrading along with no more night sweats. The only reason I mention his weight is because it doesn’t affect the bed at all and it has decreased his loud snoring by a great deal.

    We both live in the two hottest states in the US, so this is just an awesome discovery since we battle with the thermostat on a regular basis. I will update this post again in another year to see if I’ve discovered anything new or feel differently.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 24

Write a Review for intelliBED!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review