• 15 Customer Reviews
  • 13% Recommend This Company
1.4 out of 5
5 star: 6% 4 star: 0% 3 star: 6% 2 star: 0% 1 star: 86%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Horrible service

    • By Annette K.,
    • California,
    • Sep 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Horrible horrible service! The worst experience with this type of company ever.

    First spoke with Allen and proceeded with all the listed items requested for the loan process. Never heard back. When I called after 2 weeks, was told Allen had family problems so was now referred to Shawn, Shawn asks for the same information. Claims only received some of it from Allen. Don't understand because it was all sent together. So I send it all again.

    After another 2 weeks with no reply, I again have to call them and am told via email they do not provide service to NV. The property is in CA, so here I am referred to a third person, Elizabeth. After a lengthy conversation with her, she looks through and claims she has all the paperwork, except for a couple of items. I go ahead and send those. Here it is again weeks later and she sends me via email with the same list of required items that were already sent twice. UNBELIEVABLE.

    Their cost is higher than other loaning companies even though they claim the Costco discount. They did not lock me in the lower rate as originally told. After the numerous credit checks, I am now a little worried about my credit score. I had sent information with all account numbers and they can't seem to locate it. Very worried to say the least. All the time wasted, not to mention the aggravation. Called the corporate office and never heard back. Of course, I went elsewhere.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Liars

    Overall Experience:

    For a VA loan, the lender, J. G. Wentworth, is required to ensure that a housing division/condominium complex is an approved complex or they can submit for approval BEFORE they ask for money for an appraisal! This person made us pay $750 for an appraisal before the approval. Christopher Dugan lied, and refused to return calls after demanding $750 for an appraisal. Four weeks later, with no word from Dugan, I contact the VA and find out they suspended the appraisal because Dugan did not complete the simple task of getting approval first. No word still from Dugan or his supervisor. NO MONEY BACK. We now have to start over. BEWARE!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Great loan officer/questionable motives

    • By R M.,
    • Virginia,
    • Jan 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Our loan officer was helpful and quick to respond. We closed on time. But they sold our mortgage to another company before the first payment was due. It seems this can be common practice, but still. It’s now been sold twice more, dinging our credit scores each time. Do not recommend if your looking for a stable mortgage company to pay your house off through, but should be fine if you have all your ducks in a row for a quick close.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible

    • By Phyllis D.,
    • Washington,
    • Jan 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Like many other reviews I have read, they are only are aggressive when they need something from you, and are rude and degrading when you're demanding! I am tired of the runaround, stop pointing fingers and fess up to the truth! I referred my husband, with a $500 bonus. I received an email stating "Our new referral bonus $500 UP FRONT!" Upon asking for the referral payout, was told the policy is when THEY ARE FUNDED! Read the fine print on the email:

    This Friends and Family referral bonus offer is good for referrals made for 30 days from the sent date of this email. Referred person must not already be in J.G. Wentworth's database and must be receiving structured settlement payments. Prior to paying the $500 bonus the referred person must confirm that they are receiving available structured settlement payments by completing a conference call with a J.G. Wentworth representative and the applicable insurance company or providing sufficient documentation showing that there structured settlement payments are available for sale. Maximum of 10 referrals per person. All purchase transactions are subject to our underwriting guidelines and approval is at our sole discretion. Call us for additional terms and conditions that apply. This offer is not available in Maryland, is void where prohibited and all transactions are subject to federal, state, and local laws. Offer is open only to U.S. citizens or permanent legal residents (green card) who have reached the age of majority in their respective domiciliary state as of the date they respond to this email. Please obtain permission before providing us with the referred person's contact information.

    Correct me if I'm wrong, but that is what it states. Yes understand it has to go thru underwriting, but don't state it's up front! Tired of being bullied and degraded!

    My husband had court on December 18, 2018 and has still not been funded! It is coming from another lender, but we have done another transaction that the money was coming from a different lender and NEVER took this long. On top of that, my husband received a quote for $7500 more in which my husband decided to use that company. I myself had done two prior transactions with J. G. Wentworth and convinced my husband to stay with J. G. Wentworth because I felt they really went put off the way to help me. Boy was I wrong.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Deserves a big fat zero!

    • By Joshua M.,
    • Houston, TX,
    • Nov 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Do you enjoy having to constantly follow up with people? Do you like to be YELLED at when asking for an update? Do you enjoy working with people that can't take responsibility and are constantly pointing the finger? Are you planning on missing your closing date? Would you like to lose your mind after you tell them they were behind schedule and they literally yell at you and blame you for being behind schedule even though you send them everything they ask for within an hour of the request? Do you like it when people lie to and get angry with you because you asked for an update or explanation on something?

    Do you like asking a yes or no question and getting a 20-minute ambiguous answer that doesn't answer the yes or no question and then trying to spend an additional 10 minutes to get them to pick yes or no? Do you love calling and emailing people everyday for the same issue? Do you frequently send personal information like SSN, bank accounts, drivers license, etc., only to wonder if they got it and if it's still sitting in the email even though you have explicated asked several times for a quick "Got it" or "Thank you" confirming they have received it? Do you have a need to work with incompetent "professionals," liars, rage monsters, morons, arrogant salesmen type people, and lazy finger-pointers?

    If you answered yes to any of these questions, you will love working with J.G. Wentworth because they literally did all of the previously mentioned things. This is my first bad review ever, and they deserve it! They literally did not have a single redeemable quality.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • I couldn’t be happier

    • By Allan F.,
    • Jacksonville, FL,
    • Aug 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Honestly speaking, I don’t know where these reviews are coming from. I can attest to the excellent experience I had with J.G. Wentworth. As a disclaimer, I am just a legit customer and not affiliated with any institution. I started shopping for mortgage loan companies last year (August 2017) to refinance our home. I shopped with Bank of America and SunTrust which is where I do personal banking with. I did not find their interest rate competitive as J.G. Wentworth. I learned about J.G. Wentworth through a website which reviews mortgage companies, and they are really highly rated.

    So I went with them and never regretted my decision. The whole process was seamless, and I was very satisfied with how they handled everything. Bottom line, I ended up getting a mortgage interest rate of 3.125% from my previous 3.625% from a 30- year fixed to a 15-year fixed. I paid no more than 4K for closing costs. One of my patients who happens to be a mortgage loan officer told me that I was able to get an excellent deal with J.G. Wentworth. He even told me that their company often lose clients to J.G. Wentworth because they cannot match J.G. Wentworth interest rate. The closing cost that I paid is even lower than the closing cost; they charge their customers. I am thankful to have done business with J.G. Wentworth.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Short sale nightmare happening now!

    • By Kim S.,
    • Virginia,
    • Jul 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    J.G. Wentworth Home Lending. I am representing an owner of a home, a veteran that served our country, in the short sale of their home. Let me start with J.G. Wentworth has been very unhelpful during the entirety of this transaction. They have a viable contract in their possession that meets the terms of what they were asking to get out of the deal and they are rushing to foreclose on this Veteran and his family! The VA has even gotten involved since they are backing the loan on this property in Stafford County, VA, and has asked twice for an extension of 60 days on the foreclosure and J.G. Wentworth will not even acknowledge an official from the VA with this request!

    The veteran and his family has jumped through every loop that this bank has asked them to do, like getting the paperwork back the same day as requested. Why are they rushing to foreclose on the owner when they have a contract in place that is exactly what they asked for? Why do they make the process so long and tedious by using a fax machine? Why do they take 48 hours or longer to acknowledge any paperwork sent to them? They drag their feet through the entire process, but now they can rush to foreclosure. This is a slap in the face of this veteran and his family. This was their dream home, their "forever home!" He had his body broken down through service for our country, and this is the best they can do? By the way, the veteran also has a special needs child.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Criminals

    • By Julie P.,
    • Georgia,
    • Jun 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    When we obtained our mortgage from J.G. Wentworth, we paid our attorney an escrow for taxes and other fees due at the end of the year. The attorney who held the money ended up sending the money to J.G. Wentworth (and we have proof of the cashing of this check). Our mortgage was later sold to a different institution who is claiming they do not have the funds. When we tried to connect with J.G. Wentworth, they kept giving us different people to talk to, not resolving our issue. The amount is over $5k, and we want J.G. Wentworth (who, again, we have proof deposited the money), to send it to the current mortgage holder, so we are not responsible for this ourselves. This essentially amounts to J.G. Wentworth stealing our money, and I want the money to go where it should.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Wasted a month of my time and resources

    Overall Experience:

    I went ahead with Russell. He is a fast talker, literally and figuratively. He was constantly saying that he would call me back within a few hours, email me an update within 30 minutes. IF I did get a call or email from him, it was around 9 pm when I was through for the day. I found myself having to call him and leave messages when I didn't hear from him in a week.

    Blake finally got ahold of me, and I got his phone number. Twice I asked him to please take over my account because of issues with Russell. I faxed all the information needed to Russell, and after promising me that he could get an IRRRL, he did a bait and switch recommending a conventional. And never got the email he offered suggesting options. I left a voicemail for Blake telling him that all bets were off with Russell and he could take over the account once and for all or nothing. Apparently, it's nothing.

    I wasted a month of my time when I could have very easily gone to another lender and had my refinancing completely by now. I can honestly say I can't recommend them and will not use them in the future.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Nightmare

    Overall Experience:

    If I could give a zero rating, I would.

    I have never in my almost 40 years on this planet dealt with any place so deceitful. I was given a pre-approval at the beginning of March. With that I found a home to which it was sent through the underwriters and at that point given a conditional approval. I jumped through hoop after hoop. I did everything they asked me to do. In this time, I paid $500 earnest money $250 Due Diligence, $500 for a home appraisal (to J.G. Wentworth), and $425 for a home inspection. All of this done under the information that I would be approved with everything they asked.

    They also wanted me to have a reserve in my checking account of $3000 after we closed, to which I had to ask a family member, for which to do, I had to have them fill out a form and get a bank letter stating that they have the funds to cover it. I had to get my deceased ex-husband's death certificate and our divorce record. I gave bank statement four different times. I had to hunt down a person that worked at a realty company I used to rent a house from. The company was no longer in business, but that didn’t matter. I still had to locate an employee that worked there at the time just to fill out a paper that stated I made all of my payments on time. I did this. The impossible, but still managed to do it.

    I've done the impossible for this company. Every hoop they threw at me I did what was asked. All this with the idea that I would have my home loan. A day before closing they come to me and say that my Debt to Income didn’t meet what it needed to be because they were using income from two years earlier, which was before I got my promotion. I have been in my current position a year and a half. A day before closing, after I have spent $2600 getting everything together to get in this house, they deny me the loan.

    Don't trust this company. I'm begging you go someplace else.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Lack of communication and terrible loan structure

    • By Amy Roberson,
    • Houston, TX,
    • Mar 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I began a refinance with the company J.G. Wentworth in Boca Raton, Florida in October 2017. This company was suggested to me through LendingTree.com. After careful consideration, I decided to make it a go with this office.

    It seemed everything was well and I worked diligently to obtain any information needed. It was not, and save yourself time, money and trouble. I knew I would be a hard account to close, yet still, I was assured that all was well and the loan would close. Even if it didn’t, and if something came up, I had options. I thought great.

    But the week of closing December 9, 2017, I could not get a return phone call or email from the loan officer or whoever was working on my account, as well with title work and underwriting (I’m not disclosing their names at this time) completely stopped and left me hanging with no explanation. This was after I paid for an appraisal through their site and becoming a member of a discount club to lower interest rate points. Money for nothing out of my pocket. I contacted management, and he continued to play email and phone tag with me, never to reach out to me for answers.

    I truly thought this company believed in me as a client and wanted to help me even if the loan did not go through at that time. I was assured by my loan officer that he would guide and help me make a long-term plan for refinancing my home and financial structure from there. It was all false. Still, to this day, I have not gotten answers as to why or how the ball was dropped on my loan. Save yourself time and trouble from this company.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Crooks

    • By Marcia,
    • Rialto, CA,
    • Oct 31, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I was very young when unfortunately came across this company; I was naive and dumb. I was a young mom of 2 little ones at the time, and my biggest dream was to own a home. When someone "advised" me to give them a call and to get a quote, I went with the very first offer not knowing that I could have gotten way more. I feel ROBED with nothing possible left for me to do. My children and I have been affected by this trauma daily. I sold to them twice in a matter of months and still to this day I'm trying to crawl out of the hole they left my family in.

    That being said, I've still gotten harassed with phone calls in the past. I was fed up and hung up on a call and got a call back I sent them to voicemail, and they left me a message with the representative cussing at me for hanging up. I called back, and of course no records of who it was.

    J.G. Wentworth, you are the biggest mistake of my life! People come to you because they need financial help and you take advantage of that opportunity in every way.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Stay away!

    • By Mary,
    • Miami, FL,
    • Apr 27, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I contacted J.G. Wentworth because my credit is not great and on their website, they had information about applying for an FHA loan, which looks at other factors other than credit score.

    I decided to give it a try, and the man I spoke to actually gave me some hope. I filled out the application on April 10th and waited and waited. A few days ago, I emailed him and asked for an update. I'm still waiting for a response on that.

    Today I receive a general credit report copy of their credit pull that states what I already knew. If this is their customer service, I'm glad things didn't work out. If this is how they treat people, I don't want any part of them. The least they could have done is sent me an email telling me that I couldn't prequalify, it's not like I didn't know. The only reason I tried this is because they said they looked at other factors and all they did was check my credit, which is what any back would have done.

    If I could give them less than one star, I would!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Beware

    Overall Experience:

    Please, and I will say again, please do not use this company. They are so nice, caring and friendly before you sign with them, then the truth comes out! They lie day after day. I was offered $20,000 for my future payments of $150,000. I then contacted Michael Davis off of this blog and he was able to over triple my offer from these crooks!

    They play on the phone using the next person in cubicle beside them, stating they are supervisors, until you catch on to their lies. To sum it up, they kept me in limbo for six months and still couldn't complete transaction. Then I had to go through hell and high water to get this canceled. It was awful. If you need your money, let me repeat please scratch this company off your list. These company apparently does not care about your problems or needs, because if they did they would not have these rude/lying childish employees.

    I really hope you take this seriously because no one should be disrespected about their own money. This is a very true short version of a story

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Awful, Rude, Lies

    • By Savanna ,
    • Lafayette, LA,
    • Jul 9, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    Please, and I will say again, please do not use this company. They are so nice, caring and friendly before you sign with them, then the truth comes out! They lie day after day. They play on the phone using the next person in cubicle beside them, stating they are supervisors, until you catch on to their lies. To sum it up, they kept me in limbo for six months and still couldn't complete transaction. Then I had to go through hell and high water to get this canceled. It was awful. If you need your money, let me repeat please scratch this company off your list. These company apparently does not care about your problems or needs, because if they did they would not have these rude/lying childish employees.

    Oh. Let me not forget to tell you. Someone else just might be getting your information because I was yelled at over the phone by an employee calling me a liar because he was talking to the wrong client about another client's file. I really hope you take this seriously because no one should be disrespected about their own money. This is a very true short version of a story.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-15 of 15

Write a Review for J.G. Wentworth!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
J.G. Wentworth