What Is Jumpcut?

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff Updated on: Jan 17, 2018

Founded by seven of the biggest social media influencers in the world, who collectively have over 10,000,000 subscribers and billions of views, Jumpcut Academy 2.0 promises to offer captivating online courses that can help you follow in their footsteps.

Specifically, the website reports you’ll learn how to create original content, develop a dedicated online following, and monetize your videos so that you can make money while doing something you’re passionate about. Bonus content also covers topics like gaming, legal issues, making music, and growth hacking Facebook, to name just a few.

And because these videos bring “the best practices from the entertainment industry to online education,” Jumpcut claims you’ll binge watch them instead of falling asleep from boredom. Together, this is why we’re told more than 10,000 Academy members have found success already.

The spotlight videos shown on the Jumpcut website are filled with success stories. But will their course make you one as well? In other words, can you expect to have everything you need to become a “highly-paid YouTuber that gets to follow your passion in life”?

Over the next few minutes, we’ll help you learn more about this central question. First, we’ll start with their paid course, and then quickly look at what’s included in their free option.

Taking a Closer Look at Jumpcut’s Main Course

According to People.com, the top nine YouTubers collectively earn in excess of $54 million per year, with more than 120 million combined subscribers. To help their students move one step closer to achieving their own YouTube success, the main Jumpcut Academy course is broken down into five stages:

  • Stage 1: Social Media Secrets – Here, we’re told you’ll learn all their “magical” strategies for making a living as a YouTuber.”
  • Stage 2: Launch Your Own Channel – This is where you’ll find your passions and interests and use them to create a “perfect channel idea that’s primed for success.”
  • Stage 3: Viral Marketing Masterclass – You’ll learn “the art and science of virality.”
  • Stage 4: Influencer Intel – How to use your viral marketing to build a large audience of tens of millions of fans.
  • Stage 5: Paid to Promote – At this stage, you’ll learn how to make money from your videos and potentially rake in millions, just like the program’s creators.

In addition to the standard sections, the Jumpcut website advertises three free ‘upgrades’:

  • Viral Academy Bootcamp – A five-week intensive with up to 19 other students, where members will “complete daily challenges for the chance to win money and private one-on-one mentorships with the instructors.”
  • Private Community – Around the clock access to support, advice, and motivation to help you continue following your passion.
  • Video Review System – A gamified method of receiving fantastic in-depth feedback on your content.

While this was all the information provided on Jumpcut’s website, based on what we learned from some of the founder’s comments on Reddit, “each of these new videos is accompanied with a step-by-step structured assignment that gives you an exact work plan on how to accomplish the goals set out in each video. This ensures that you have no questions about how to implement what you learned in each lesson.”

Based on our email conversation with COO Peter Lu (more about this in a moment), we learned the platform provides approximately 15 hours of audio and video content, in addition to online written resources, including “summaries of every video, assignments for every concept, and a YouTube startup guide and resources bible.”

He adds there are also “innumerable hours of content on our forum,” including “the 50+ best posts by our instructors and most active members on how to edit, how to make thumbnails, success stories, and insider tips.”

In addition to posting on the forum for advice, members can add their videos to Jumpcut’s peer review system mentioned above and receive “real, blunt, honest feedback on how to improve your content.”

Which Instructors Teach Jumpcut’s Main Course?

We’re told this course is taught by seven different instructors across five teams:

  • David So (DavidSoComedy) – 1.4M subs, 245M views. Specialty: Comedy Vlogging
  • Aryia (simplesexystupid) – 900K subs, 100M views. Specialty: Blog Marketing
  • Joe & Bart (justkiddingnews) – 1.6M subs, 1B views. Specialty: Brand Deals
  • Jesse & Kong (simplepickup) – 2.7M subs, 325M views. Specialty: Digital Products
  • Vitaly (vitalyzdtv) – 9.2M subs, 1.3B views. Specialty: Viral Videos

What About Jumpcut’s YouTube Influencer 101 Course?

Comparatively, there are four videos in this free series:

Video #1: The Channel Idea Scorecard – This video primarily acts as an overview about what you’ll learn in the remainder of the course, although they do emphasize that Kevin Kelly’s 1,000 True Fans guideline (i.e., finding a core group of people who loves what you put out and who will be interested in buying what you produce) is perhaps the single most critical piece of advice you should know.

From there, they’ll outline a framework to help show you how to find these fans, for coming up with passion-based channel ideas that have a high chance of being successful, and by providing a step-by-step system for building profitable channels. However, they emphasize that there’s no magic pill and that this is going to take real work:

  • Step 1: Magical idea – List out at least 12 topics you’re passionate about. Ask three questions for each: On a scale of 1-5, how big is the audience? How much do people care? How passionate are you about the topic? Tallying up the highest scoring topics and using their Remix Strategy (revealed in video two) will allow you to enter a competitive niche and still be able to go viral.
  • Step 2: Build an audience
  • Step 3: Monetize your audience

Video #2: The Remix Strategy – Here, you’ll learn about the proprietary Remix Strategy, which involves coming up with viral video ideas that are primed to be shared around social media, without needing to truly be ‘original’ yourself. We’re told this is how SimplePickup channel founders Jesse and Kong were able to have their videos reach more than one million views—and sometimes more than 20 or 30 million views.

According to Peter Lu, “It’s the difference between trying to speculate on uncertain trends, and knowing an exact formula for creating killer video ideas that are almost guaranteed to succeed.”

Video #3: The Traits of Virality – The three specific psychological triggers—telling a story, eliciting emotions, and having a unique perspective—that cause people to share your video with their friends and make it go viral.

While these might seem like common sense, Peter emphasizes that how they’re implemented is what separates successful YouTubers from those who are near obscurity.

Video #4: The Influencer Economy – In the fourth and final video training, Peter notes that you’re walked through the story of how Jesse and Kong were able to “go from college dropouts to successful entrepreneurs who built their first YouTube channel into a multi-million dollar online business.”

From there, Jesse will walk you through some of the key mindsets necessary to achieve YouTube success, and then gives real-life examples of how this information can be directly implemented to the tune of tens of thousands of dollars in passive income.

Afterward, you’ll also be invited to enroll in the main Jumpcut Academy 2.0 program, for a limited amount of time, as the community is kept highly exclusive (often only opening enrollment two times per year). Let’s talk more about this next.

How Much Does Jumpcut Academy 2.0 Cost?

As mentioned earlier, Jumpcut’s YouTube Influencer 101 course is free, and gaining access only involves entering your name and email address.

On Reddit, founder Kong mentioned that the main course’s price is $997, and one user noted it’s payable over the course of six months, which provides lifetime access.

With this said, there’s currently a waitlist for the main course, so we sent an email to support@jumpcut.com for additional details, including the exact release date, cost, upgrade pricing, and refund details. We’ll discuss what we learned in a moment.

Returning to Reddit, though, Kong emphasized that Jumpcut comes with a 100 percent risk-free, 365-days guarantee, with “the only condition being you actually go through the course and do the assignments.”

What Do Know About the Professionals Behind Jumpcut?

Jumpcut has been in business since 2014 and is based out of Los Angeles, CA. Simplepickup duo Kong Pham (mentioned earlier) works as the company’s Chief Executive Officer, while Jesse Jhaj is the Chief Content Officer. The company went through the Y Combinator program during the summer of 2016, where they earned themselves eighth out of 50 companies.

Peter Lu, the company’s Chief Operating Officer, previously worked as an Associate Consultant for Bain & Company, as well as a Project Associate for Innovations for Poverty Action.

In his email to us, Peter explained that, “One of the reasons why we got into the program is because we want to change the way education is taught in the entire world. Lectures will be obsolete in 50 years. We're trying to create cinematic courses that will actually hook students in and teach them the concepts effectively.”

On Jumpcut’s Facebook page, nearly 190 users had given the company an average rating of 4.4 stars as of 1/3/17, with most compliments referencing high-quality customer support, along with effective information that can help you succeed.

On the other hand, frequent complaints—what relatively few there were—seemed to revolve around less information than expected (most often related to the 101 course), and unaffordability. In each instance, the company responded directly in an effort to maintain an open dialogue and acknowledge suggestions.

We also encountered five customer reviews on Google Maps, with a similar 4.2-star average rating and many of the same compliments (the single one-star review provided no details). Again, a representative responded to gain insightful feedback.

Outside of these sites, while a couple of Reddit users noted they liked what they learned, common complaints were that Jumpcut didn’t provide information that couldn’t be found elsewhere—often for free. One member who wrote an in-depth review specifically noted they found the concepts couldn’t be applied universally, the video quality was less-than-stellar, and the support community was relatively inactive.

However, Kong took the time to provide a detailed reply to this user in an effort to directly address their concerns.

Jumpcut also held a C- rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on one closed complaint, as of 1/3/18. No details were available, and the company hadn’t responded.

Our Conversation With Jumpcut COO Peter Lu

After sending our email above, we received a quick reply from COO Peter Lu, who had this to say:

Can you tell us when the program is set to release?

Peter told us that in order to ensure everyone has the opportunity to join the premium course, as well as to make sure “their claims about limited time (and exclusive) enrollment are always fair and accurate,” anyone interested must first make it through the entire Jumpcut 101 video training series. After this, they’ll be given one chance to join.

If this single opportunity isn’t seized, the only other chances to join will occur biannually, generally around January and June.

How much does the main course cost?

Peter confirmed that the program’s cost is $997 for lifetime access to the course material, which can either be paid upfront or across six monthly installments of $197 each, deducted from your Paypal account or credit card the same day each month.

Once you gain access, he emphasized there are no additional fees and no “premium” content that had to be unlocked. “Once you pay, you get everything, including any new features we build,” he said.

Can you tell us more about the refund policy and any conditions?

While all the nitty-gritty details can be found on Jumpcut’s Money Back page, Peter told us that if the premium course doesn’t deliver results, you pay nothing. All you have to do is show them that you went through the entire program, including completing assignments and worksheets.

While he said that you could technically accomplish this over the course of a few days, he recommends “that you take your time, so that you can internalize the concepts (hence, the 365-day time limit).” In general, students typically take a month to go through the material.

Peter stressed that they “do not make any exceptions to this policy due to personal circumstance. Fortunately, the 365 days are long enough for you to find a way to do the work needed for the refund.”

Are There Other Viral YouTube Academies Like Jumpcut?

Reading through Redditors’ comments, one free resource frequently recommended was YouTube’s Creator Academy, which provides access to content that covers many of the same topics mentioned in Jumpcut’s Influencer 101 course, including foundations for success, getting noticed, how to earn money, and building business and niche-specific channels, to name just a few.

Furthermore, all of this content can be filtered by experience level (e.g., beginner, intermediate, advanced). So, if you’re serious about creating viral YouTube videos and channels, it’s likely that you’ve read through this resource. But if not, it could be invaluable for your initial and continued success.

Outside of this, there are perhaps thousands of third-party sites and videos dedicated to helping YouTubers find channel success in all aspects, which are accessible simply by typing phrases like ‘how to create viral YouTube videos” into your favorite search engine.

Does this mean you’ll necessarily achieve more value by paying for Jumpcut’s premium content? Let’s answer this question as we wrap up in the next section.

Our Final Thoughts About Jumpcut

Just like finding success in any other endeavor, reaching viral status with your YouTube videos will take hard work, persistence, a willingness to fail, and quite a bit of trial and error.

And while insider information from people who’ve already found success might help get you up to speed faster and avoid common mistakes, there’s no avoiding this fundamental recipe for success. So, we think it’s positive that the Jumpcut website is clear to point this out.

Furthermore, COO Peter Lu sent us this forthright statement about who their program definitely isn’t for:

“If you're not in a financial state to enroll, and think you might not be able to make the payments, I would encourage you NOT to join right now.

You can do a ton with the free info from our online class. Think about it: you know how to come up with a channel idea, you understand how videos go viral, and you know how to utilize the remix strategy for your content. This is more than 99.99% of people know before they start their channel.

So put that information to good use. Then, later down the road, once you have the cash, you’ll be able to afford the program.

We’re going to be around for a long, long time, and we literally make the course better all the time. We'll be here when you’re ready to enroll. I don’t want you spending your last dollar on this program. Wait until it’s not a financial burden for you to join, and then sign up.”

On top of this, this company appeared to come with mostly positive online customer feedback on Facebook and Google Maps. And in some of the Reddit thread where consumer feedback wasn’t wholly positive, co-founder Kong often replied to provide everyone with additional explanations.

In the end; yes: Spending nearly $1,000 for Jumpcut’s main course could be considered steep. But if it helps move you one step closer to following your passion and potentially earning a living doing what you love, then it might be considered a drop in the bucket in the overall scheme of things.

Also, based on COO Peter Lu’s candid responses to our questions, it seems that Jumpcut is dedicated to keeping their prospective students informed and helping them succeed—and that you might not have much to lose by giving their course a shot.

But to help give you a better idea of the tone and approach of their videos, we’d recommend that you start by signing up for their free YouTube Influencer 101 course and going from there. In fact, based on what we learned about their limited enrollment model, you really don’t have another choice.

Article originally published on December 20, 2017 and then updated on January 17, 2018 to include interview from company's COO, Peter Lu

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

113 Consumer Reviews for Jumpcut

Average Consumer Rating: 4.8
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 100 4 star: 7 3 star: 3 2 star: 0 1 star:  3
Bottom Line: 95% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 113
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • Changed my life!

    • Savannah, GA,
    • Sep 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Beyond a doubt the greatest investment I made in myself, which eventually can lead to my being able to help others more than I ever imagined. The intensity of the course, the peer community and the timely and consistent interactions between customer service staff and the developers is extraordinary, making this course a unique, challenging and thrilling experience.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Thank you

    • Cornwall, England,
    • Sep 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I would like to say a big thank you to Bryan from their team. I sent an email to explain my situation at the moment, which is a bit restricting and I just feel like there are a ton of bricks on my back, but reading the emails and listening to Jessie and Kong, I feel like those bricks are slowly falling away and I can see a future. I just need to organize how to arrange getting to where I need and want to be. They have been an inspiration to me, and I cannot thank them enough.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Never been so prepared!

    • California,
    • Sep 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Not only did I learn a tremendous amount of information from Kong and Jesse with the four-video trial course, they also have an amazingly supportive team that will work with you and are genuinely interested in other people's success! But the main team members that stood out for me was Claudine. She answered every one of my questions and all my needs were met with gratitude, clear communication, and fast responses. I have never felt more ready to start my YouTube channel, and I owe it all to Jumpcut and their amazing team! Thank you so much!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Ms. Sarah

    I don't remember HOW, WHEN or WHERE I saw a video of Jumpcut. I don't recall WHY I decided to watch Jesse's and Kong's video. Maybe it was because I heard or saw the word "FREE." Yet, they were my answer to becoming a successful, financially stable and mentally sane and capable Vlogger. So I jumped at the chance to view their failure to success.

    I'd listened to their videos 1-4, listened again taking notes, and listened once more, to make certain I'd written down correctly what I heard for clarification and understanding. One of the most important things I've noticed about their business is the integrity of their words...they DO read your messages and they DO reply to your questions and emails.

    Two, their Ms. Sarah, Ms. Sarah, Ms. Sarah! She speedily sent me replies to my questions and requests. She has helped with an obstacle that would've hindered my enrollment to the video academy. I appreciate this wonderful and compassionate person. She is a Godsend!

    Thank y'all...Ms Sarah, Mr(s). Kong and Jesse.

    P.S. I thank Mr. James, too.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Love the course and the customer service (thanks Aeiz!)

    • Dayton, OH,
    • Sep 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    There is just too much to say about this course and the people running it. I know it might sound cliche or even a bit disingenuous, but these guys are the real deal. We've been a member of the Viral Academy for about five weeks now and the information and guidance we've received has been more than phenomenal. We also got fantastic customer service from Aeiz who did something fantastic for us that we were very very very thankful for.

    People, if you're not sure about paying for the course, please change your mind. This could be the opportunity of a lifetime for you, and you do NOT want to pass it up.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • The customer service here is superb! You can tell they actually want to help!

    • California,
    • Sep 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am so glad to be a part of the Jumpcut community! Sophia is an amazing Customer Service Champion. I think she should get a raise. Jumpcut customer service is very prompt, and I appreciate that! When Sophia couldn't answer, Joseph was quick to get back to me. If you're considering Jumpcut, I would definitely recommend it to anyone who is seeking to learn the best-kept secrets of how YouTube works from people who know what they're talking about! I look forward to attending the next Jumpcut community meetup!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 19, 2018

      Peter Lu,

      Hi Enoch,

      Thanks for leaving a review! We're so happy to know that you're already part of the community, and it's great to hear that Sofia and Joseph were able to assist you efficiently. I'll definitely let them know about this. Again, thank you for your recommendation and support. Looking forward to seeing you in our future meetups!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Customer service

    • New Hampshire,
    • Sep 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    While I cannot speak for the product, not a participant (yet?), I must acknowledge their Customer Service personnel, in particular, Zen. My contact was via email and my query was...asking a lot. Zen replied in a courteous and timely manner, and though my request was denied, Zen did so without talking down to me or making me feel foolish for asking. It is not often, speaking from 30 years of experience in retail, to find (or teach) someone with those skills. Thank you Zen.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 19, 2018

      Peter Lu,

      Hi Nancy!

      Thanks for leaving a review. I'm glad to hear of your positive experience with Zen. She really is very empathetic towards our customers' situations. I'll definitely let her know of your kind words. Once again, thank you!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Excellent customer service by the Jumpcut Team, especially Joseph and Geo

    • Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada,
    • Sep 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am currently enrolled in Viral Academy, and loving the course. I also enjoyed the lead-up free videos in which there is tons of really useful information on creating a YouTube channel.

    Throughout, I have sent various inquiries, or responded to email pitches from Jesse or Kong, and have always had a response from the Jumpcut team. In particular, as I was struggling to decide whether or not to also take the second course they offer about making passive income through online courses, I wrote the team for advice.

    I was honestly expecting that they would say something like, no, it is not too much to take both courses at the same time - you will have no trouble. But that is absolutely not what they said, much to my surprise. Instead, they cautioned me about taking on too much at once, and to consider the financial commitment I would be making with two courses on-the-go. They suggested writing again about taking it when I am ready.

    This helped immensely, and I decided to take their advice and finish the YouTube course first. So, a special thank you to both Joseph and Geo for their caring and considerate replies. Bravo!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 19, 2018

      Peter Lu,

      Hi Lynn,

      Thanks for your feedback! I'm really glad that Joseph and Geo were able to provide you proper guidance on what to do. We really care about your success in the program and we'd definitely not want you to focus on too many things at once if it may be a problem in the future.

    • Sep 19, 2018

      Joy W.

      Jesse and Kong Do, I have to join the startup today by Justin Kan. Does it include Jumpcut.com 2.0, please enlighten me. I am confused.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • The support I got!

    • Henderson, NV,
    • Sep 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Thank you very much, Issi, for accommodating my needs to enroll at Jumpcut 2.0. I know you and Jesse and Kong believes I can do this with your help that’s why you wanted me to enroll in the First place! I am looking forward to improving my financial status!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 19, 2018

      Peter Lu,

      Hi Joy,

      Thanks for leaving a review and your kind words to Issi, Jesse, and Kong. I will definitely let them know about this and we wish you success in everything!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Exceptional customer service/support

    • Toronto, Ontario, Canada,
    • Sep 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Thanks for being you, Aeiz, I appreciate your reaching out to me and taking the time to write me. I feel very special, and I hope others get that same feeling. You come across as a beautiful and genuine human being, and I appreciate you for it. Till next we speak my friend.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 19, 2018

      Peter Lu,

      Hi Tiberio,

      Thanks for leaving a review and for your kind words towards Aeiz. You're right. She's definitely one of the most genuine people you will ever meet and I'm happy that you've had such positive interactions with her. I will definitely let her know about your message.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Thank you!

    • Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada,
    • Sep 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Geo! Aeiz! Claudine! The support service was instant and so helpful!

    I really got the one-on-one support and answers to any questions I had immediately. So leaving a review was the least I could do in return.

    Give this bunch of people a raise! They went out of their to help me not only at a technical/professional level but personal as well.

    Stay real!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 19, 2018

      Peter Lu,

      Hi AU!

      Thanks for the review. I'm glad Geo, Aeiz, and Claudine were able to successfully address your concerns. I will let them know of your kind words. I'm sure they'd love to hear about what you said.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 113

Write a Review for Jumpcut!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review