What Is Jumpcut?

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff Updated on: Jan 17, 2018

Founded by seven of the biggest social media influencers in the world, who collectively have over 10,000,000 subscribers and billions of views, Jumpcut Academy 2.0 promises to offer captivating online courses that can help you follow in their footsteps.

Specifically, the website reports you’ll learn how to create original content, develop a dedicated online following, and monetize your videos so that you can make money while doing something you’re passionate about. Bonus content also covers topics like gaming, legal issues, making music, and growth hacking Facebook, to name just a few.

And because these videos bring “the best practices from the entertainment industry to online education,” Jumpcut claims you’ll binge watch them instead of falling asleep from boredom. Together, this is why we’re told more than 10,000 Academy members have found success already.

The spotlight videos shown on the Jumpcut website are filled with success stories. But will their course make you one as well? In other words, can you expect to have everything you need to become a “highly-paid YouTuber that gets to follow your passion in life”?

Over the next few minutes, we’ll help you learn more about this central question. First, we’ll start with their paid course, and then quickly look at what’s included in their free option.

Taking a Closer Look at Jumpcut’s Main Course

According to People.com, the top nine YouTubers collectively earn in excess of $54 million per year, with more than 120 million combined subscribers. To help their students move one step closer to achieving their own YouTube success, the main Jumpcut Academy course is broken down into five stages:

  • Stage 1: Social Media Secrets – Here, we’re told you’ll learn all their “magical” strategies for making a living as a YouTuber.”
  • Stage 2: Launch Your Own Channel – This is where you’ll find your passions and interests and use them to create a “perfect channel idea that’s primed for success.”
  • Stage 3: Viral Marketing Masterclass – You’ll learn “the art and science of virality.”
  • Stage 4: Influencer Intel – How to use your viral marketing to build a large audience of tens of millions of fans.
  • Stage 5: Paid to Promote – At this stage, you’ll learn how to make money from your videos and potentially rake in millions, just like the program’s creators.

In addition to the standard sections, the Jumpcut website advertises three free ‘upgrades’:

  • Viral Academy Bootcamp – A five-week intensive with up to 19 other students, where members will “complete daily challenges for the chance to win money and private one-on-one mentorships with the instructors.”
  • Private Community – Around the clock access to support, advice, and motivation to help you continue following your passion.
  • Video Review System – A gamified method of receiving fantastic in-depth feedback on your content.

While this was all the information provided on Jumpcut’s website, based on what we learned from some of the founder’s comments on Reddit, “each of these new videos is accompanied with a step-by-step structured assignment that gives you an exact work plan on how to accomplish the goals set out in each video. This ensures that you have no questions about how to implement what you learned in each lesson.”

Based on our email conversation with COO Peter Lu (more about this in a moment), we learned the platform provides approximately 15 hours of audio and video content, in addition to online written resources, including “summaries of every video, assignments for every concept, and a YouTube startup guide and resources bible.”

He adds there are also “innumerable hours of content on our forum,” including “the 50+ best posts by our instructors and most active members on how to edit, how to make thumbnails, success stories, and insider tips.”

In addition to posting on the forum for advice, members can add their videos to Jumpcut’s peer review system mentioned above and receive “real, blunt, honest feedback on how to improve your content.”

Which Instructors Teach Jumpcut’s Main Course?

We’re told this course is taught by seven different instructors across five teams:

  • David So (DavidSoComedy) – 1.4M subs, 245M views. Specialty: Comedy Vlogging
  • Aryia (simplesexystupid) – 900K subs, 100M views. Specialty: Blog Marketing
  • Joe & Bart (justkiddingnews) – 1.6M subs, 1B views. Specialty: Brand Deals
  • Jesse & Kong (simplepickup) – 2.7M subs, 325M views. Specialty: Digital Products
  • Vitaly (vitalyzdtv) – 9.2M subs, 1.3B views. Specialty: Viral Videos

What About Jumpcut’s YouTube Influencer 101 Course?

Comparatively, there are four videos in this free series:

Video #1: The Channel Idea Scorecard – This video primarily acts as an overview about what you’ll learn in the remainder of the course, although they do emphasize that Kevin Kelly’s 1,000 True Fans guideline (i.e., finding a core group of people who loves what you put out and who will be interested in buying what you produce) is perhaps the single most critical piece of advice you should know.

From there, they’ll outline a framework to help show you how to find these fans, for coming up with passion-based channel ideas that have a high chance of being successful, and by providing a step-by-step system for building profitable channels. However, they emphasize that there’s no magic pill and that this is going to take real work:

  • Step 1: Magical idea – List out at least 12 topics you’re passionate about. Ask three questions for each: On a scale of 1-5, how big is the audience? How much do people care? How passionate are you about the topic? Tallying up the highest scoring topics and using their Remix Strategy (revealed in video two) will allow you to enter a competitive niche and still be able to go viral.
  • Step 2: Build an audience
  • Step 3: Monetize your audience

Video #2: The Remix Strategy – Here, you’ll learn about the proprietary Remix Strategy, which involves coming up with viral video ideas that are primed to be shared around social media, without needing to truly be ‘original’ yourself. We’re told this is how SimplePickup channel founders Jesse and Kong were able to have their videos reach more than one million views—and sometimes more than 20 or 30 million views.

According to Peter Lu, “It’s the difference between trying to speculate on uncertain trends, and knowing an exact formula for creating killer video ideas that are almost guaranteed to succeed.”

Video #3: The Traits of Virality – The three specific psychological triggers—telling a story, eliciting emotions, and having a unique perspective—that cause people to share your video with their friends and make it go viral.

While these might seem like common sense, Peter emphasizes that how they’re implemented is what separates successful YouTubers from those who are near obscurity.

Video #4: The Influencer Economy – In the fourth and final video training, Peter notes that you’re walked through the story of how Jesse and Kong were able to “go from college dropouts to successful entrepreneurs who built their first YouTube channel into a multi-million dollar online business.”

From there, Jesse will walk you through some of the key mindsets necessary to achieve YouTube success, and then gives real-life examples of how this information can be directly implemented to the tune of tens of thousands of dollars in passive income.

Afterward, you’ll also be invited to enroll in the main Jumpcut Academy 2.0 program, for a limited amount of time, as the community is kept highly exclusive (often only opening enrollment two times per year). Let’s talk more about this next.

How Much Does Jumpcut Academy 2.0 Cost?

As mentioned earlier, Jumpcut’s YouTube Influencer 101 course is free, and gaining access only involves entering your name and email address.

On Reddit, founder Kong mentioned that the main course’s price is $997, and one user noted it’s payable over the course of six months, which provides lifetime access.

With this said, there’s currently a waitlist for the main course, so we sent an email to support@jumpcut.com for additional details, including the exact release date, cost, upgrade pricing, and refund details. We’ll discuss what we learned in a moment.

Returning to Reddit, though, Kong emphasized that Jumpcut comes with a 100 percent risk-free, 365-days guarantee, with “the only condition being you actually go through the course and do the assignments.”

What Do Know About the Professionals Behind Jumpcut?

Jumpcut has been in business since 2014 and is based out of Los Angeles, CA. Simplepickup duo Kong Pham (mentioned earlier) works as the company’s Chief Executive Officer, while Jesse Jhaj is the Chief Content Officer. The company went through the Y Combinator program during the summer of 2016, where they earned themselves eighth out of 50 companies.

Peter Lu, the company’s Chief Operating Officer, previously worked as an Associate Consultant for Bain & Company, as well as a Project Associate for Innovations for Poverty Action.

In his email to us, Peter explained that, “One of the reasons why we got into the program is because we want to change the way education is taught in the entire world. Lectures will be obsolete in 50 years. We're trying to create cinematic courses that will actually hook students in and teach them the concepts effectively.”

On Jumpcut’s Facebook page, nearly 190 users had given the company an average rating of 4.4 stars as of 1/3/17, with most compliments referencing high-quality customer support, along with effective information that can help you succeed.

On the other hand, frequent complaints—what relatively few there were—seemed to revolve around less information than expected (most often related to the 101 course), and unaffordability. In each instance, the company responded directly in an effort to maintain an open dialogue and acknowledge suggestions.

We also encountered five customer reviews on Google Maps, with a similar 4.2-star average rating and many of the same compliments (the single one-star review provided no details). Again, a representative responded to gain insightful feedback.

Outside of these sites, while a couple of Reddit users noted they liked what they learned, common complaints were that Jumpcut didn’t provide information that couldn’t be found elsewhere—often for free. One member who wrote an in-depth review specifically noted they found the concepts couldn’t be applied universally, the video quality was less-than-stellar, and the support community was relatively inactive.

However, Kong took the time to provide a detailed reply to this user in an effort to directly address their concerns.

Jumpcut also held a C- rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on one closed complaint, as of 1/3/18. No details were available, and the company hadn’t responded.

Our Conversation With Jumpcut COO Peter Lu

After sending our email above, we received a quick reply from COO Peter Lu, who had this to say:

Can you tell us when the program is set to release?

Peter told us that in order to ensure everyone has the opportunity to join the premium course, as well as to make sure “their claims about limited time (and exclusive) enrollment are always fair and accurate,” anyone interested must first make it through the entire Jumpcut 101 video training series. After this, they’ll be given one chance to join.

If this single opportunity isn’t seized, the only other chances to join will occur biannually, generally around January and June.

How much does the main course cost?

Peter confirmed that the program’s cost is $997 for lifetime access to the course material, which can either be paid upfront or across six monthly installments of $197 each, deducted from your Paypal account or credit card the same day each month.

Once you gain access, he emphasized there are no additional fees and no “premium” content that had to be unlocked. “Once you pay, you get everything, including any new features we build,” he said.

Can you tell us more about the refund policy and any conditions?

While all the nitty-gritty details can be found on Jumpcut’s Money Back page, Peter told us that if the premium course doesn’t deliver results, you pay nothing. All you have to do is show them that you went through the entire program, including completing assignments and worksheets.

While he said that you could technically accomplish this over the course of a few days, he recommends “that you take your time, so that you can internalize the concepts (hence, the 365-day time limit).” In general, students typically take a month to go through the material.

Peter stressed that they “do not make any exceptions to this policy due to personal circumstance. Fortunately, the 365 days are long enough for you to find a way to do the work needed for the refund.”

Are There Other Viral YouTube Academies Like Jumpcut?

Reading through Redditors’ comments, one free resource frequently recommended was YouTube’s Creator Academy, which provides access to content that covers many of the same topics mentioned in Jumpcut’s Influencer 101 course, including foundations for success, getting noticed, how to earn money, and building business and niche-specific channels, to name just a few.

Furthermore, all of this content can be filtered by experience level (e.g., beginner, intermediate, advanced). So, if you’re serious about creating viral YouTube videos and channels, it’s likely that you’ve read through this resource. But if not, it could be invaluable for your initial and continued success.

Outside of this, there are perhaps thousands of third-party sites and videos dedicated to helping YouTubers find channel success in all aspects, which are accessible simply by typing phrases like ‘how to create viral YouTube videos” into your favorite search engine.

Does this mean you’ll necessarily achieve more value by paying for Jumpcut’s premium content? Let’s answer this question as we wrap up in the next section.

Our Final Thoughts About Jumpcut

Just like finding success in any other endeavor, reaching viral status with your YouTube videos will take hard work, persistence, a willingness to fail, and quite a bit of trial and error.

And while insider information from people who’ve already found success might help get you up to speed faster and avoid common mistakes, there’s no avoiding this fundamental recipe for success. So, we think it’s positive that the Jumpcut website is clear to point this out.

Furthermore, COO Peter Lu sent us this forthright statement about who their program definitely isn’t for:

“If you're not in a financial state to enroll, and think you might not be able to make the payments, I would encourage you NOT to join right now.

You can do a ton with the free info from our online class. Think about it: you know how to come up with a channel idea, you understand how videos go viral, and you know how to utilize the remix strategy for your content. This is more than 99.99% of people know before they start their channel.

So put that information to good use. Then, later down the road, once you have the cash, you’ll be able to afford the program.

We’re going to be around for a long, long time, and we literally make the course better all the time. We'll be here when you’re ready to enroll. I don’t want you spending your last dollar on this program. Wait until it’s not a financial burden for you to join, and then sign up.”

On top of this, this company appeared to come with mostly positive online customer feedback on Facebook and Google Maps. And in some of the Reddit thread where consumer feedback wasn’t wholly positive, co-founder Kong often replied to provide everyone with additional explanations.

In the end; yes: Spending nearly $1,000 for Jumpcut’s main course could be considered steep. But if it helps move you one step closer to following your passion and potentially earning a living doing what you love, then it might be considered a drop in the bucket in the overall scheme of things.

Also, based on COO Peter Lu’s candid responses to our questions, it seems that Jumpcut is dedicated to keeping their prospective students informed and helping them succeed—and that you might not have much to lose by giving their course a shot.

But to help give you a better idea of the tone and approach of their videos, we’d recommend that you start by signing up for their free YouTube Influencer 101 course and going from there. In fact, based on what we learned about their limited enrollment model, you really don’t have another choice.

Article originally published on December 20, 2017 and then updated on January 17, 2018 to include interview from company's COO, Peter Lu

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

35 Consumer Reviews for Jumpcut

Average Consumer Rating: 4.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 25 4 star: 4 3 star: 3 2 star: 0 1 star:  3
Bottom Line: 86% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 35
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through.
  • Great customer service

    • Charlotte, NC,
    • May 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This latest video seminar (in May) taught me a lot about how to make content on YouTube. However, I had many questions about the content and the customer support person, Marie, was incredible in assisting me all through the process. Definitely worth a shot!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Great back up support

    • United Kingdom,
    • May 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm one of the 'would be Jumpcut students.'

    You know truth when you see it, and I could see from the start that the product Jesse and Kong were offering was 100% genuine; provided that the students put in their hard work too. Absolutely fair enough.

    I wanted to sign up straight away, but there were a few things I needed to put straight in my own life before I felt I would be able to deliver my side of the deal!

    With hours before the deadline, I emailed the support team my queries, and they got straight back to me with an honest, open-minded reply that really helped me to address my situation and keep a positive attitude going forward. I was so grateful for this kind of response; the pressure felt like it was on and I needed encouragement not condemnation! My sincere thanks to that team.

    Signing off, from a much better place, in preparation to enroll in the next academy.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Amazing opportunity, amazing customer service

    I write my review in order for others like myself know they should definitely go for this course if they have the chance and the conditions.

    They have one of the most thoughtful and caring customer service, reading each mail carefully and responding with the best advice they can possibly give, and I talk from experience. Their customer service (especially mentioning Monic, who handled my situation and answered my emails) is top notch, as it is the course. An invaluable and priceless information for those who really know what to do with it, so don't be afraid, ask anything you need, and just ENROLL! It will be ALWAYS worth it.

    Good luck on your journey.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Jumpcut holds the likely promise of Great results

    • St. Louis, MO,
    • May 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The four free teaser intro videos are excellent. Jesse is obviously a guy who genuinely cares about people creating and embracing their success, fulfillment, and joy. And the material is very substantive - no fluff here, no fast hustle, pressure, or hard sell. I have no doubt that the Academy training is worth every penny. I feel, however, that they should offer a "lite" version for those of us seriously strapped for cash. I totally get the whole "invest in yourself" thing, and take a risk (it's practically risk-free, with the world's one-and-only 365-day 100% money-back guarantee!), and step outside your comfort zone and go for it. But $1000 is a lot of loot when you're unemployed and trying to keep your utilities on.

    Still, the vibe of the company is very right-on, their customer support is exquisite (but the true test is support after the sale, and after the training, and I'm willing to bet they remain steadfast and consistent), and their models, platform, and content are rock-solid. Plus, their participant testimonials are very compelling. I'm hoping to register sometime soon. Just have to create a miracle! (They do happen.)

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Review

    I felt that the customer service was very efficient and quick to respond to my queries, providing good advice and reliable information.

    The videos promoting Jumpcut were also very informational and convincing. I would've signed up if I had the capability to do so.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Horrible experience

    • Montreal, Quebec, Canada,
    • May 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought the course hoping to learn something; I did not. They kept on repeating the same thing over and over again (motivational speaking). I then asked for a refund (I did all the homework as per requirement), and the customer service was ridiculously unpleasant. I am sad to say I would not recommend this course.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • May 7, 2018

      Peter Lu,

      Hey Humberto,

      We're really sorry to hear that you weren't happy with our course content. We genuinely stand by the value in our course and have been told there are many actionable steps that we give (not to mention the boot camp, which actively pushes students to make their first few videos) but we appreciate you sharing your honest thoughts and will definitely keep them in mind as we keep improving our courses.

      With that being said, could you please give us some more info -- I've looked your name "Humberto" up in our system (so that I can follow up with you about your refund and get you your money back if you did indeed do all the assignments) but I can't tell which Humberto you are.

      I understand if you don't want to say your full name publicly but if you want, you can email us at support@jumpcut.com with the subject line "Humberto from HighYa Review" and I'd be happy to get things settled for you. Cheers and looking forward to hearing from you!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Good one

    I like this because of many reasons. A few of them are professionalism, dedication and customer support. I highly recommend this anyone who is looking for quality services and specific products.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Four free videos

    The four free videos that they gave helped me so much. When I emailed them that I couldn't join due to medical reasons and asked if they could notify me when the next enrolling was, they got back to me very quickly and told me that this wasn't my last chance and that they would notify me when the next enrolling is. I was happy and impressed. Thanks Jumpcut.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Join now or never level up with YouTube!

    • Anniston, AL,
    • Apr 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    In the time that I'm writing this, I've only started Jumpcut about a month ago. Since then, my confidence to release my videos has already gone up due to me figuring out my niche. My overall response has doubled since then, and the feedback is organic. I'm getting into month two of Jumpcut, and I already can tell it's going to pay off from the things that Jesse and Kong are teaching.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Review of Jumpcut

    • Ontario, Canada,
    • Apr 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've only been a member for a month now, and I'm only through the first few modules, but so far I think it has been super helpful and really has gotten me on the right path for success.

    I love the structure to it, and the videos and worksheets are exactly like how I like to learn. My one comment about the worksheets is it would be nice if someone every so often could review them, I'd hate to be doing all these worksheets and realize that my thought process is kind of off or I'm not fully understanding the concept.

    The Community is a nice touch, but I was a little disappointed with the amount of professional feedback. I know Kong has a few posts throughout it but I was hoping that more of the big name YouTube people involved with Jumpcut would provide more feedback. It's great to have the feedback from fellow Jumpcut members but we are all amateurs, and sometimes I feel like it's like the blind leading the blind.

    That being said, I still love everything so far and think it's a great way to learn how to monetize yourself in new ways and do things you love. The big test will be if I can actually start to make revenue off my videos, there's so much promise that I have high hopes, and I am following everything so far, so hopefully, that's the case, or else I'll be disappointed with the amount of extra time I put into the course.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Definitely recommend, you will not regret it!

    I haven't even taken the full program yet, and it's already changed my life! It opened my eyes to a lot of facts I was ignoring and dispelled all the issues I had with starting out as a YouTuber and online entrepreneur. I'm still working towards getting launched, but unlike before, I actually have an idea of what I'm doing. I definitely recommend!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 35

Write a Review for Jumpcut!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review