What Is Jumpcut?

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff
Updated on: Jan 17, 2018

Founded by seven of the biggest social media influencers in the world, who collectively have over 10,000,000 subscribers and billions of views, Jumpcut Academy 2.0 promises to offer captivating online courses that can help you follow in their footsteps.

Specifically, the website reports you’ll learn how to create original content, develop a dedicated online following, and monetize your videos so that you can make money while doing something you’re passionate about. Bonus content also covers topics like gaming, legal issues, making music, and growth hacking Facebook, to name just a few.

And because these videos bring “the best practices from the entertainment industry to online education,” Jumpcut claims you’ll binge watch them instead of falling asleep from boredom. Together, this is why we’re told more than 10,000 Academy members have found success already.

The spotlight videos shown on the Jumpcut website are filled with success stories. But will their course make you one as well? In other words, can you expect to have everything you need to become a “highly-paid YouTuber that gets to follow your passion in life”?

Over the next few minutes, we’ll help you learn more about this central question. First, we’ll start with their paid course, and then quickly look at what’s included in their free option.

Taking a Closer Look at Jumpcut’s Main Course

According to People.com, the top nine YouTubers collectively earn in excess of $54 million per year, with more than 120 million combined subscribers. To help their students move one step closer to achieving their own YouTube success, the main Jumpcut Academy course is broken down into five stages:

  • Stage 1: Social Media Secrets – Here, we’re told you’ll learn all their “magical” strategies for making a living as a YouTuber.”
  • Stage 2: Launch Your Own Channel – This is where you’ll find your passions and interests and use them to create a “perfect channel idea that’s primed for success.”
  • Stage 3: Viral Marketing Masterclass – You’ll learn “the art and science of virality.”
  • Stage 4: Influencer Intel – How to use your viral marketing to build a large audience of tens of millions of fans.
  • Stage 5: Paid to Promote – At this stage, you’ll learn how to make money from your videos and potentially rake in millions, just like the program’s creators.

In addition to the standard sections, the Jumpcut website advertises three free ‘upgrades’:

  • Viral Academy Bootcamp – A five-week intensive with up to 19 other students, where members will “complete daily challenges for the chance to win money and private one-on-one mentorships with the instructors.”
  • Private Community – Around the clock access to support, advice, and motivation to help you continue following your passion.
  • Video Review System – A gamified method of receiving fantastic in-depth feedback on your content.

While this was all the information provided on Jumpcut’s website, based on what we learned from some of the founder’s comments on Reddit, “each of these new videos is accompanied with a step-by-step structured assignment that gives you an exact work plan on how to accomplish the goals set out in each video. This ensures that you have no questions about how to implement what you learned in each lesson.”

Based on our email conversation with COO Peter Lu (more about this in a moment), we learned the platform provides approximately 15 hours of audio and video content, in addition to online written resources, including “summaries of every video, assignments for every concept, and a YouTube startup guide and resources bible.”

He adds there are also “innumerable hours of content on our forum,” including “the 50+ best posts by our instructors and most active members on how to edit, how to make thumbnails, success stories, and insider tips.”

In addition to posting on the forum for advice, members can add their videos to Jumpcut’s peer review system mentioned above and receive “real, blunt, honest feedback on how to improve your content.”

Which Instructors Teach Jumpcut’s Main Course?

We’re told this course is taught by seven different instructors across five teams:

  • David So (DavidSoComedy) – 1.4M subs, 245M views. Specialty: Comedy Vlogging
  • Aryia (simplesexystupid) – 900K subs, 100M views. Specialty: Blog Marketing
  • Joe & Bart (justkiddingnews) – 1.6M subs, 1B views. Specialty: Brand Deals
  • Jesse & Kong (simplepickup) – 2.7M subs, 325M views. Specialty: Digital Products
  • Vitaly (vitalyzdtv) – 9.2M subs, 1.3B views. Specialty: Viral Videos

What About Jumpcut’s YouTube Influencer 101 Course?

Comparatively, there are four videos in this free series:

Video #1: The Channel Idea Scorecard – This video primarily acts as an overview about what you’ll learn in the remainder of the course, although they do emphasize that Kevin Kelly’s 1,000 True Fans guideline (i.e., finding a core group of people who loves what you put out and who will be interested in buying what you produce) is perhaps the single most critical piece of advice you should know.

From there, they’ll outline a framework to help show you how to find these fans, for coming up with passion-based channel ideas that have a high chance of being successful, and by providing a step-by-step system for building profitable channels. However, they emphasize that there’s no magic pill and that this is going to take real work:

  • Step 1: Magical idea – List out at least 12 topics you’re passionate about. Ask three questions for each: On a scale of 1-5, how big is the audience? How much do people care? How passionate are you about the topic? Tallying up the highest scoring topics and using their Remix Strategy (revealed in video two) will allow you to enter a competitive niche and still be able to go viral.
  • Step 2: Build an audience
  • Step 3: Monetize your audience

Video #2: The Remix Strategy – Here, you’ll learn about the proprietary Remix Strategy, which involves coming up with viral video ideas that are primed to be shared around social media, without needing to truly be ‘original’ yourself. We’re told this is how SimplePickup channel founders Jesse and Kong were able to have their videos reach more than one million views—and sometimes more than 20 or 30 million views.

According to Peter Lu, “It’s the difference between trying to speculate on uncertain trends, and knowing an exact formula for creating killer video ideas that are almost guaranteed to succeed.”

Video #3: The Traits of Virality – The three specific psychological triggers—telling a story, eliciting emotions, and having a unique perspective—that cause people to share your video with their friends and make it go viral.

While these might seem like common sense, Peter emphasizes that how they’re implemented is what separates successful YouTubers from those who are near obscurity.

Video #4: The Influencer Economy – In the fourth and final video training, Peter notes that you’re walked through the story of how Jesse and Kong were able to “go from college dropouts to successful entrepreneurs who built their first YouTube channel into a multi-million dollar online business.”

From there, Jesse will walk you through some of the key mindsets necessary to achieve YouTube success, and then gives real-life examples of how this information can be directly implemented to the tune of tens of thousands of dollars in passive income.

Afterward, you’ll also be invited to enroll in the main Jumpcut Academy 2.0 program, for a limited amount of time, as the community is kept highly exclusive (often only opening enrollment two times per year). Let’s talk more about this next.

How Much Does Jumpcut Academy 2.0 Cost?

As mentioned earlier, Jumpcut’s YouTube Influencer 101 course is free, and gaining access only involves entering your name and email address.

On Reddit, founder Kong mentioned that the main course’s price is $997, and one user noted it’s payable over the course of six months, which provides lifetime access.

With this said, there’s currently a waitlist for the main course, so we sent an email to support@jumpcut.com for additional details, including the exact release date, cost, upgrade pricing, and refund details. We’ll discuss what we learned in a moment.

Returning to Reddit, though, Kong emphasized that Jumpcut comes with a 100 percent risk-free, 365-days guarantee, with “the only condition being you actually go through the course and do the assignments.”

What Do Know About the Professionals Behind Jumpcut?

Jumpcut has been in business since 2014 and is based out of Los Angeles, CA. Simplepickup duo Kong Pham (mentioned earlier) works as the company’s Chief Executive Officer, while Jesse Jhaj is the Chief Content Officer. The company went through the Y Combinator program during the summer of 2016, where they earned themselves eighth out of 50 companies.

Peter Lu, the company’s Chief Operating Officer, previously worked as an Associate Consultant for Bain & Company, as well as a Project Associate for Innovations for Poverty Action.

In his email to us, Peter explained that, “One of the reasons why we got into the program is because we want to change the way education is taught in the entire world. Lectures will be obsolete in 50 years. We're trying to create cinematic courses that will actually hook students in and teach them the concepts effectively.”

On Jumpcut’s Facebook page, nearly 190 users had given the company an average rating of 4.4 stars as of 1/3/17, with most compliments referencing high-quality customer support, along with effective information that can help you succeed.

On the other hand, frequent complaints—what relatively few there were—seemed to revolve around less information than expected (most often related to the 101 course), and unaffordability. In each instance, the company responded directly in an effort to maintain an open dialogue and acknowledge suggestions.

We also encountered five customer reviews on Google Maps, with a similar 4.2-star average rating and many of the same compliments (the single one-star review provided no details). Again, a representative responded to gain insightful feedback.

Outside of these sites, while a couple of Reddit users noted they liked what they learned, common complaints were that Jumpcut didn’t provide information that couldn’t be found elsewhere—often for free. One member who wrote an in-depth review specifically noted they found the concepts couldn’t be applied universally, the video quality was less-than-stellar, and the support community was relatively inactive.

However, Kong took the time to provide a detailed reply to this user in an effort to directly address their concerns.

Jumpcut also held a C- rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on one closed complaint, as of 1/3/18. No details were available, and the company hadn’t responded.

Our Conversation With Jumpcut COO Peter Lu

After sending our email above, we received a quick reply from COO Peter Lu, who had this to say:

Can you tell us when the program is set to release?

Peter told us that in order to ensure everyone has the opportunity to join the premium course, as well as to make sure “their claims about limited time (and exclusive) enrollment are always fair and accurate,” anyone interested must first make it through the entire Jumpcut 101 video training series. After this, they’ll be given one chance to join.

If this single opportunity isn’t seized, the only other chances to join will occur biannually, generally around January and June.

How much does the main course cost?

Peter confirmed that the program’s cost is $997 for lifetime access to the course material, which can either be paid upfront or across six monthly installments of $197 each, deducted from your Paypal account or credit card the same day each month.

Once you gain access, he emphasized there are no additional fees and no “premium” content that had to be unlocked. “Once you pay, you get everything, including any new features we build,” he said.

Can you tell us more about the refund policy and any conditions?

While all the nitty-gritty details can be found on Jumpcut’s Money Back page, Peter told us that if the premium course doesn’t deliver results, you pay nothing. All you have to do is show them that you went through the entire program, including completing assignments and worksheets.

While he said that you could technically accomplish this over the course of a few days, he recommends “that you take your time, so that you can internalize the concepts (hence, the 365-day time limit).” In general, students typically take a month to go through the material.

Peter stressed that they “do not make any exceptions to this policy due to personal circumstance. Fortunately, the 365 days are long enough for you to find a way to do the work needed for the refund.”

Are There Other Viral YouTube Academies Like Jumpcut?

Reading through Redditors’ comments, one free resource frequently recommended was YouTube’s Creator Academy, which provides access to content that covers many of the same topics mentioned in Jumpcut’s Influencer 101 course, including foundations for success, getting noticed, how to earn money, and building business and niche-specific channels, to name just a few.

Furthermore, all of this content can be filtered by experience level (e.g., beginner, intermediate, advanced). So, if you’re serious about creating viral YouTube videos and channels, it’s likely that you’ve read through this resource. But if not, it could be invaluable for your initial and continued success.

Outside of this, there are perhaps thousands of third-party sites and videos dedicated to helping YouTubers find channel success in all aspects, which are accessible simply by typing phrases like ‘how to create viral YouTube videos” into your favorite search engine.

Does this mean you’ll necessarily achieve more value by paying for Jumpcut’s premium content? Let’s answer this question as we wrap up in the next section.

Our Final Thoughts About Jumpcut

Just like finding success in any other endeavor, reaching viral status with your YouTube videos will take hard work, persistence, a willingness to fail, and quite a bit of trial and error.

And while insider information from people who’ve already found success might help get you up to speed faster and avoid common mistakes, there’s no avoiding this fundamental recipe for success. So, we think it’s positive that the Jumpcut website is clear to point this out.

Furthermore, COO Peter Lu sent us this forthright statement about who their program definitely isn’t for:

“If you're not in a financial state to enroll, and think you might not be able to make the payments, I would encourage you NOT to join right now.

You can do a ton with the free info from our online class. Think about it: you know how to come up with a channel idea, you understand how videos go viral, and you know how to utilize the remix strategy for your content. This is more than 99.99% of people know before they start their channel.

So put that information to good use. Then, later down the road, once you have the cash, you’ll be able to afford the program.

We’re going to be around for a long, long time, and we literally make the course better all the time. We'll be here when you’re ready to enroll. I don’t want you spending your last dollar on this program. Wait until it’s not a financial burden for you to join, and then sign up.”

On top of this, this company appeared to come with mostly positive online customer feedback on Facebook and Google Maps. And in some of the Reddit thread where consumer feedback wasn’t wholly positive, co-founder Kong often replied to provide everyone with additional explanations.

In the end; yes: Spending nearly $1,000 for Jumpcut’s main course could be considered steep. But if it helps move you one step closer to following your passion and potentially earning a living doing what you love, then it might be considered a drop in the bucket in the overall scheme of things.

Also, based on COO Peter Lu’s candid responses to our questions, it seems that Jumpcut is dedicated to keeping their prospective students informed and helping them succeed—and that you might not have much to lose by giving their course a shot.

But to help give you a better idea of the tone and approach of their videos, we’d recommend that you start by signing up for their free YouTube Influencer 101 course and going from there. In fact, based on what we learned about their limited enrollment model, you really don’t have another choice.

Editor’s note: This article was originally published on December 20, 2017, and then updated on January 17, 2018, to include the interview from the company’s COO, Peter Lu.


Read 319 Jumpcut Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 4.9
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 292 4 star: 19 3 star: 3 2 star: 1 1 star:  4
Bottom Line: 97% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 319
Sort reviews by:

  • This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.
  • 12 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Portland, OR,
    • Jan 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    These guys took my money, and when I tried to log in, it goes back to the purchase page. I tried emailing them so many times and they just let things slide. They will take your money and run. RIP OFF.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Feb 16, 2018

      Company Response from Jumpcut

      Hey John,

      We saw your review and we’re sorry to hear you’ve had trouble with your course login. We haven’t noticed any emails to support@jumpcut.com regarding this issue from anyone named John and if we did, we’d definitely resolve it instead of ignoring you. We also tried looking up any John’s from Oregon in our internal system to see if you had an account with payment, but we didn’t find anything there either.

      Here are screenshots of the emails we’ve received around the day you made your review:

      https://imgur.com/oa4NIEw

      https://imgur.com/no7vhas

      https://imgur.com/tKiUv6k

      Please do email us again with your Jumpcut username and email address and we can have it resolved.

      I do want to mention that we have 10,000 happy customers from over 81 countries who have not had trouble with their accounts. This seems like a one-off scenario where there was either a payment declined or a technical error.

      We're not trying to scam people out of their money. If we did this to all of the thousands of people who purchased, we'd have way more negative reviews like this.

      Also, we have over 260+ Facebook reviews averaging a 4.5-star rating:

      https://www.facebook.com/pg/jumpcuthq/reviews/?ref=page_internal

      Along with this, we do boast a 365-day money-back guarantee for people who go through our entire course and aren’t satisfied: jumpcut.com/money-back. For your particular case, we definitely would have given you a resolution for your account and given you a refund if we couldn’t help. Again, it’s not only impractical to do this to all of our students, but it’s also against our company’s principles.

      Let’s resolve this together.

      Thanks,

      Jumpcut Team


  • 18 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Slick but empty, no service, no communication and sales pitch promises broken

    I am about to ask for a refund.

    I am already a content creator. I have over 2 million views on my channel but want to go the next level, which was promised in the sales pitch.

    I have endured through hours of very basic motivational videos, which they said they would not waste our time with.

    I have submitted to a boot camp, which when completed, said it would entitle me to have my videos reviews. Not only did it not do that, but when I asked why and what was going on, I still have received no response at all.

    There has been no response to my questions from Jumpcut. I got on to one of their forums (it's hard to know which one is the right one and which you are allowed to comment in) and two others participants replied and helped, but others seemed more interested in flirting with me.

    I have had not any promised feedback.

    No responses.

    No reviews of my content.

    In fact, the video that I posted at the end of the boot camp a month ago still has not even been viewed by anyone except me.

    I have set up my new partner channel as requested, and I had to go off-site to a YouTube video to find out how to do that, and I have posted 4 new Jumpcut-esk videos there, and have received a total of only 70 views.

    I don't need to know how to market on social media.

    I don't want to know sell t-shirts (we are a publishing company).

    I don't need to know about microphones or cameras; I have run a photography and videography business.

    I needed to know what was promised in the sales pitch; the secret to how to get the algorithms to present my videos for view, which was promised but is not there. There was a video about Facebook algorithms which is now obsolete as they have greatly changed the algorithms since the creation of that video two years ago. And there's nothing about the new structure of the YouTube algorithms, which a former colleague explained to me but Jumpcut could not.

    And the elusive promises of how to coach you into a sponsorship deal has not materialized.

    I cannot express how disappointed I am.

    How do I get my full refund?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Mar 19, 2018

      Company Response from Jumpcut

      Hey Dr. D’Montford,

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts about Jumpcut with us. We’re sorry to hear that your experience wasn’t as good as it could have been and would like to help clarify the points you brought up.

      First, in regards to the refund, we did refund you before this review was posted on February 20th. Here is the screenshot of us confirming this and you responding: https://imgur.com/a/KhQtr Here’s a screenshot of our payment system confirming the refund: https://imgur.com/a/SoDRC

      If you are yet to receive it, let us know, as well as contact your bank for more information.

      In regards to the things that were promised in the sales pitch, we actually don't teach algorithms/SEO/tags at all. It’s not something we focused on in our sales pitch and product, rather we focus on the traits of virality and creating great content, which will ultimately be the most effective method to grow an audience. We didn’t promise anywhere on the sales page that we would teach beating the algorithm, so this was most likely a misunderstanding.

      Also, to your point about knowing how to market on social media, sell t-shirts, microphones, cameras, etc., this is what the entire course was about and was stated on the sales page. It sounds like you were looking for a different course and ours just wasn’t the right fit, as our course is designed for beginners.

      In terms of the Brand negotiations promise, we do in fact teach about Brand Deals in this 53-minute video: https://app.jumpcut.com/course/viral-entrepreneur-academy/video/how-to-make-bank-with-brand-deals

      Now that we’ve clarified some of the points you brought up, we’d like to apologize for ignoring the two emails you sent regarding the Video Review system. We usually never completely miss an email. It appears that your emails were lost amongst the thousands of emails we were getting during our last product launch in late January. Again, we understand your frustration as that doesn’t excuse ignoring your emails. We’ll use this situation as a learning experience to better ourselves for the future.

      Again, we apologize that your experience with Jumpcut wasn’t what you had hoped. Please let us know if any of this needs further clarification or if you have any questions. We look to take your feedback all into consideration and wish you the best of luck.

      Best,

      Jumpcut Team


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Horrible experience

    • Montreal, Quebec, Canada,
    • May 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought the course hoping to learn something; I did not. They kept on repeating the same thing over and over again (motivational speaking). I then asked for a refund (I did all the homework as per requirement), and the customer service was ridiculously unpleasant. I am sad to say I would not recommend this course.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 7, 2018

      Company Response from Jumpcut

      Hey Humberto,

      We're really sorry to hear that you weren't happy with our course content. We genuinely stand by the value in our course and have been told there are many actionable steps that we give (not to mention the boot camp, which actively pushes students to make their first few videos) but we appreciate you sharing your honest thoughts and will definitely keep them in mind as we keep improving our courses.

      With that being said, could you please give us some more info -- I've looked your name "Humberto" up in our system (so that I can follow up with you about your refund and get you your money back if you did indeed do all the assignments) but I can't tell which Humberto you are.

      I understand if you don't want to say your full name publicly but if you want, you can email us at support@jumpcut.com with the subject line "Humberto from HighYa Review" and I'd be happy to get things settled for you. Cheers and looking forward to hearing from you!


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Won't let you cancel

    • Utah,
    • Oct 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The company looked like it had great potential, but after doing all the coursework and not having time to continue doing it, they made the cancellation process impossible. They make you redo the work all again, and submitting it all takes like 5 hours. AND if you don't do it all in one go, it doesnt save, so you are screwed. I can't tell you how much time I've spent working on Jumpcut 2.0, and they just won't work with you if you try to opt out. So take note, if you want in, you won't get out.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Oct 4, 2018

      Company Response from Jumpcut

      Hey Devyn,

      We saw your review and we're really sorry that you're finding the refund process difficult. Let me assure you that we're not trying to wrest your money from you. We're merely just standing by our policy. I'm sure you've corresponded with members of our support team and they'll have already told you exactly how to go about the process. And just so you can be sure that what they've told you is correct, you can check the full details of our policy here: https://jumpcut.com/money-back.

      The thing is, we're not trying to be difficult. We're just trying to ensure that you've done the proper steps and have given our course a fair shot. That is, and let me emphasize this point, you have finished watching the course in its entirety and you have completed the worksheets. We have a way of checking this information on our system.

      With that being said, if you really feel that our course isn't for you, then we do urge you to proceed with the refund request. Just please make sure that before doing this, you have completed the course. It's explicitly stated in our policy, and you have agreed to this statement on our refund request form as well stating: "I promise that I have gone through the program and given it my best shot, including completing all of the worksheet assignments to the best of my ability."

      Anyway, we promise that we'll be here to help you out as you go through this process. We'll answer any question or concern that you may have. Let's help resolve this together.

      Best,

      Jumpcut Team


  • 0 out 7 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    By the way

    • Ontario, Canada,
    • Aug 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    These guys talk a big game of "caring", but it's not always evident. Make sure you think through what you plan to do before paying for the course. They say they've sold it to 1.8 million customers, more than a billion dollars worth, but you won't find millions of successful students on YouTube.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 15, 2019

      Company Response from Jumpcut

      Hey Timothy,

      Thank you for taking the time to write this comprehensive review.

      Before we dive into addressing your concerns one by one, we want to take a moment to say we’re truly sorry to hear that your experience with us thus far hasn’t been the best. Your concerns are understandable, and we hope to shed some light on them with this response.

      1) On finding a channel idea, and how it’s one of the big hurdles you’ll encounter when starting out

      We understand how challenging it is to come up with an idea for your channel because it's one of the biggest roadblocks when you’re first starting out, and one of the reasons aspiring YouTubers give up altogether. This is exactly why it's the first thing we tackle in our free training series, and something we talk about in-depth in our course. We give you the framework and guidelines to make it easier for you to jump right in, get started, and think of ideas for your channel. We do this because the first roadblock to success isn’t actually finding a channel idea — it’s getting started. And it is our hope that by providing you with a formula to come up with channel names, you can skip that first hurdle and move forward faster.

      2) The One-Year Guarantee and how it works

      The One-Year Guarantee, to put it simply, is a guarantee that you have 1 year (365 days) to try out the course, see if it works for you, and if you find out within that time that it’s not for you, we will provide a full refund.

      Now, to qualify for the guarantee, we require one thing and one thing only: show us you’ve done work and gave the course a shot before concluding that it wasn’t for you. While we take pride in our courses, we also want to make sure that our students truly find value in them. This is why we encourage you to complete the course before deciding it’s not for you. If you realize after going through the course that it's not giving you the results you wanted, then we're happy to return your investment provided that you send in your course assignments. These assignments are extremely doable as they’re simply knowledge checks that encourage the application of the concepts taught — we won’t ask for a million subscribers or hundreds of successful videos or anything of the like.

      We give a year to try out the course because we want to give ample time to apply the lessons. However, you can request for a refund under the guarantee any time within that year.

      3) The Simple Pickup YouTube channel

      We are an entirely independent company from Simple Pickup with a different approach and goal, although we would not have been founded if it wasn't for Simple Pickup's success. As Simple Pickup is a time of the past, we've chosen to take down the videos since we’re going in a different direction. As time passes, goals change, and this decision is a step closer to the direction we're heading towards right now.

      On a last note, we truly care about our students and your success, which is why we’re really grateful for all the feedback we receive, especially when it relates to improving our courses and approach. We provide support whenever we can because we sincerely want to help make your lives better. For that reason, if ever you're experiencing any issues with your creative process (or anything at all!), such as when you reached out to us last July 29th about your struggles with coming up with a channel idea, just email us once again at support@jumpcut.com, and we’ll do our best to help, whether it’s by directing you to the perfect module in the course (as our support agent did then) or giving you tips on how to stay motivated. Plus, you also have the whole community via the forum at your fingertips, so please don't hesitate to ask your fellow students as well.

      Once again, we really appreciate your insightful review and hope this response helps!

    • Previous review
    • Aug 6, 2019

    Be careful!

    After you sign up and pay, you can find out that MOST PEOPLE fail because they never get past the first hurdle - coming up with a good channel idea.

    They write: "Yep - most people never find a good channel idea, thus never create a successful channel...they see that their first idea failed, and rather than trying a different angle, they give up. They let the first and most critical obstacle stop them from achieving their goal."

    I can tell you from trying that it's often not a matter of giving up, it can be having standards for what you are willing or able to do, after you have a closer look with an understanding.

    Their 365-day refund requires that you do all the work in the course once you discover how pointless it would be. They don't tell you that the hurdle most people fail at is at the beginning and the guarantee is only at the very end.

    Watch what they did in the "simple pickup" channel on YouTube, if you can find it any more (there were a ton of complaints). These are not nice guys with other peoples' well-being in mind. And they will keep your money without a refund when you learn what they hid from you. (Papered over in bravado about how good the "365-day refund" really is.)

    I would definitely try to come up with a channel direction before signing up for this course. This blog post has a good intro that takes you through choosing a channel direction:

    https://jumpcut.com/blog/youtube-channel-ultimate-guide/#channel-idea

    Take care. These guys talk a big game of "caring" for you, but they evidently care only for your money.

    (read moreread less...)

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Great content, but limited

    • Australia,
    • Feb 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Viral Academy Review: I liked the course. However, it could be better.

    Pros: The main course is very in-depth, and there is no way you can't understand what they are talking about. Everything is explained in plain English. Additionally, I like how there is a Bootcamp, which, if you go through it, you will succeed because it makes you get up and DO the work. Once you have gone through the Bootcamp, you can then receive review points that you can earn if you review another student's video and in return, you can receive feedback on yours.

    The Bootcamp is a great system that gets the Viral Academy community to work with each other and help each other succeed through a system that allows them to provide value to each other and receive value back. I think they should do the same with AIM but instead of getting feedback on their course material (essentially getting information and courses for free), Jumpcut should create a Bootcamp for receiving feedback on out VSL's instead.

    I also love the community forum that is built into the members' area. It is set up so well, which makes it easier to find information and helps to avoid repeat information from being posted. However, it is a shame that the Automated Income Machine course doesn't have this feature and we only get a Facebook group that is somewhat annoying to go through because it is not set up into categories (and can't be set up) like the members' area forum inside of Viral Academy.

    I also love the idea of the worksheets, it makes you do the work. Additionally, a pro that AIM has that VA doesn't, is bonus videos that walk you through and pretty much do the worksheets with you, so that you don't get lost or confused.

    Cons: I wasn't happy with some of the bonus videos, especially the YouTube Musician one that is pretty useless actually, and if I were to give it a star rating, it would be a 1 star. Why? Well, because it only tells you to record and upload covers of songs that are relevant to the time, so that you will get more views because people will essentially be looking for these songs. This information is kind of self-explanatory and can easily be found online. Additionally, what if you were a DJ or a Producer? The information is then completely useless to these people.

    I also wasn't happy with the marketing content. There is minimal marketing material in VA compared to AIM. Which is a big let down, because marketing is a HUGE factor. However, I loved the Facebook Growth Hacks marketing video. It was hilarious and got me hooked straight away, but it was limited to Facebook.

    I also wasn't happy about the fact that there is zero course material on video editing when its a course about becoming successful on YouTube? And I know there are hundreds of video editing tutorials on YouTube but I specifically enrolled in the course because I wanted to know what Jesse and Kong does. As their videos (especially their VSL's) are edited very professionally; and since this is a step-by-step course, video editing should be apart of it.

    Overall, it is a pretty average course. However, I would recommend this to someone that literally has no clue what they are doing on YouTube or are trying to start and have no clue where to start. Additionally, it is also for someone who already has a YouTube channel but they want to take it to the next level, or they are struggling to grow and they need some guidance.

    This is not a course for anyone looking for a "done for you" YouTube channel or a get rich quick scheme.

    Star rating out of 5: 3 stars, average. The course could be a lot better.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Mar 16, 2018

      Company Response from Jumpcut

      Hey Tim,

      Thanks for your review of Jumpcut! We appreciate your honest feedback and would like to address some of the points you brought up.

      First off, thanks for going very in-depth in your review. The idea to make walkthroughs for Viral Academy is a really good one and definitely one we’ll try implementing.

      About the Facebook group for AIM: We are working on a feature that will supplement the FB group and be much more organized + better for collaboration. No ETA, but know that it’s coming!

      About the music course: You are right. The course is not a catch-all, in-depth course on musician-specific YouTube content, but that is because that course was supposed to be extra information. The main lessons from Viral Academy about the Remix Strategy and Infotainment are what will drive your success, even if you were a musician. We still have success stories like Imaginary Ambition (DJ), Riffshop, Aryia and BenWonder (DJ) in the music niche despite that because they took the Remix Strategy to heart.

      About teaching marketing in Viral Academy: We do cover marketing and teach the same strategies that built Simple Pickup to over 2.7M subscribers. It's the combination of viral content (great content) plus a "little" push on the marketing side of things to blow up into a big channel. You only should be using a little marketing to get the ball rolling like Aryia talks about in his blog strategy video. Jesse Mentions this same point in an interview: https://youtu.be/Q15QQQnhVAI?t=5m27s

      Essentially, if your content sucks, no amount of promotion will help you.

      About editing: The truth is the editing that Kong and Jesse have had to do for Simple Pickup was very simple (no pun intended) and they haven’t been doing anything “unique” that you wouldn’t find anywhere else. Editing also varies a lot depending on what kind of content someone is making, so it’s hard to cover all the different types. With that said, we totally understand why you’d want to learn from Jesse and Kong anyways, so you can have a true all-in-one experience. We’ll try to see how we can best bring that to fruition in future iterations of the course.

      We hope that helps clear things up a bit. We still really appreciate you sharing your honest thoughts and will look to use them as we improve for the future. If you do have any other thoughts, do send them our way!

      Best,

      Jumpcut Team


  • 6 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Maybe they meant well

    • Houston, TX,
    • Mar 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Jesse and Kong's version of "Do this, make money!" hooked me.

    I paid them money. I got a few emails with lecture videos. That's about it.

    I just received a survey email from Viral Academy/Jumpcut. I told them how I felt about the situation. I suspect they're receiving a lot of similar survey responses.

    I'm not mad at Jesse and Kong, I just don't think they know what they're doing. Let's hope so, because if they know that they're not really helping people as they said they would, they're jerks.

    I don't care how much money they've made. At least some of that money has been acquired through misunderstanding and falsehood.

    As pretty as their lives are now, I'm pretty sure the two gentlemen will be spending much of the rest of their lives looking behind them, for unhappy clients.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Mar 16, 2018

      Company Response from Jumpcut

      Hey Dan,

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts with us, we appreciate you being honest with us about your experience with Jumpcut. We apologize if there’s been some confusion on our end, and we’d like to help clarify things.

      We’re actually not sure what you meant by “I got a few emails with lecture videos.” We don’t send any of our videos or course content through emails. The entire course is found on app.jumpcut.com/ and is accessible with your Jumpcut username and password. From our records, it seems that you have seen some of the Viral Academy content on our platform, so we’re thinking that there may be a misunderstanding? It’s a pretty weird situation, so we’re hoping to hear your thoughts on it.

      Beyond Viral Academy, we do have all of our bonus course material, our private community forum, our Bootcamp program and our Video Review system you can check out as included with your purchase of the program. Definitely check all of those out if you haven’t already, as they’ll be key parts of the program you’ll miss out on.

      As a reminder, you do have our 365 days, conditional refund policy to back you if you’re truly unsatisfied with the course: jumpcut.com/money-back. We’re not trying to keep your money if you’re not happy with what you received.

      Ultimately, we hope we can clarify things further and ideally change your mind about the program. Do let us know if you have any questions, need clarification or have any comments.

      Regards,

      Jumpcut Team


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Reviewing the details of the Jumpcut Course syllabus

    • Apr 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Hi Jesse and Kong.

    Okay, let me be real.

    I don't believe this is a scam. And you guys definitely know what you're doing. You make a very compelling case in your 4 video "primer" presentation to purchase your course. Even though I already knew there would be an upsell in the end of the 4 "primer" videos (I even told my girlfriend before watching video 4 the price would be $997 exactly), although you constantly mentioned in the first 3 videos you were giving this information for FREE.

    I am a YouTube enthusiast, a musician and blogger, and have over 80 videos on YouTube. One of my YouTube videos on one of my channels has over 16,000 views even though I did nothing with it. Basically just uploaded it and forget it. So yes, I know I need to learn how to monetize my past and future YouTube videos. That's why I am very interested in your course.

    I own my own business and have an entrepreneurial spirit and I am involved in entrepreneur online communities. In the past, I have purchased a few courses on how to monetize online marketing campaigns through social media, e-commerce, blogging, etc. which in total cost me several thousand dollars, most of which produced disappointing results, even though I followed all the lessons step-by-step and took the prescribed actions on the courses.

    Here is the problem I am having with your course "syllabus". When you scroll down near the bottom of Jesse’s most recent email “I’m Not Proud of This” which outlines all 5 modules, if you pay careful attention to the details you can see ALL the lesson titles included in each of the 5 modules.

    Based on ALL lessons included in all 5 of the modules, apparently, your course contains a lot of "fluff." Of the total of 49 lessons within the 5 Modules, 19 lessons are duplicates. So in reality, for $997, I am not getting 49 lessons, I am only getting 30 lessons. Severely diminished value. If I am spending $997 of my hard-earned money, I would expect that NOT ONE LESSON would be repeatable, let alone 19 lessons!

    See this for yourself. Go to Jesse’s email today on March 28 entitled “I’m Not Proud of This” and click on ANY one of the 5 Module images within the body of the email. (See screenshot)

    This will bring you to the Video #4 screen. Scroll way down near the bottom to “What’s Included in Jumpcut Academy 2.0? (After the “Introducing Jumpcut 2.0” with the blue time counter following)

    Here is what I mean.

    Module One: "Social Media Secrets" there are 2 duplicate lessons which are:

    -Do Not F**king Procrastinate

    -Roadmap to a Profitable YouTube Career

    Module Two: "Launching Your Channel" there are 4 duplicate lessons which are:

    -Finding your Channel Direction

    -Coming up with a Magical Idea

    -Equipment: What Matters and doesn't

    -Making Something you Love

    Module Three: "Viral Marketing Masterclass" there are 5 duplicate lessons which are:

    -Growth Hacking

    -Traits of Virality

    -The Remix Strategy

    -InfoTainment Strategy

    - Think Big

    Module Four: "Influence Intel" there are 4 duplicate lessons which are:

    - Why You Need a Hacker’s Mentality

    - Set a Goal for Yourself

    - Getting Your First 10,000 Subscribers

    - Building Your Audience with Online Communities

    Module Five: "Paid to Promote" there are 4 duplicate lessons which are:

    - Priming then Pitching

    - Case Study: 6 Ways to Monetize

    - How to Bank on Brand Deals

    - Information Product Blueprint

    Even without considering the “obvious” duplicate lessons, one can also easily argue that the entire Module One “Social Media Secrets” essentially appears to be a “pep talk” with lessons titles such as “Fail Your Way to Success”, “You’re an Influencer”, and “Don’t F**cking Procrastinate.” The material contained in these lessons based on the titles is certainly something I don’t need, and would suspect many others wouldn’t need; i.e. one Google search using keywords “stop procrastination” by anyone will yield hundreds of such helpful “feel good” articles from other content writers for FREE.

    But I will give you the benefit of the doubt here; perhaps others will find this inspirational “fluff” very helpful and useful. I won’t.

    However even irrespective of Module One, and the Bonus Lessons (which really do not interest me) based on the “meat and potatoes” of the main course “syllabus” it is hard to deny that of the 49 lessons in total, whoever buys this course is only getting 30 lessons for their hard-earned money, since 19 lessons are duplicated. So once again, for $997 I am actually paying for 30 lessons, not 49. That amounts to only 61% of the total material we are being promised.

    So if this course were priced somewhere around $499 -$599 (do the math), the course price would certainly be justified.

    Until today, I was completely ready to purchase this course until I made this discovery. Note I am totally for investing in myself and my education and paying what a good course is worth, and I SERIOUSLY want to believe you guys have produced a GREAT ground-breaking course that will teach me how to make a living doing YouTube.

    Unfortunately, compared to the amount of course material being promised for delivery in the “primer” videos and the expectations set by you and Kong it feels quite like I am not getting the value.

    Is there an explanation for this? I would love to hear what the creators have to say.

    Kaju

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Apr 3, 2018

      Company Response from Jumpcut

      Hey Kaju,

      Thanks for following up with your thoughts. We'd be happy to clarify the things you're most curious about.

      First, we're actually unsure about what you mean by duplicate content. There isn't any duplicate content in terms of videos being repeated. We do have worksheets that are supplemental to certain videos, but even these aren't the exactly the same as what is said in the videos.

      We also never intended to structure value of the course in terms of the number of videos. It's a bit ridiculous to do that because we can easily create one long video that had all the concepts packed together. It would be super valuable, yet it would be seen as almost worthless, with that logic. For people who haven't actually seen the course material, there's no way to properly evaluate the content using only the number of videos.

      Ultimately, it's the concepts, tactics, and tools that the content provides which will be most valuable to you as a student. Since it seems like you've purchased our course after making this comment, I think you can agree with our position about where the true value of the course is.

      Let us know if you have any questions or need any further clarification.


  • Worth the money but could be better

    The info in the videos is crucial, but there isn't much help after. I thought talking to Jesse and Kong would be easier, but I had to jump through boot camp hoops for one email from Kong (proved to be very helpful), and he was irritated that I had a lot of questions (to be fair, I'm somewhere dumb in hindsight, I mean look how I'm dragging things out right now).

    The bottom line is that I find that if Jumpcut staff members know how YouTube works then why haven't they made their own channels a success? Gumbino gives great advice, but he's a student. The Jumpcut info is worth the price alone though.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Mar 14, 2018

      Company Response from Jumpcut

      Hey Cameron,

      Thanks for your feedback, we appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us.

      To touch upon your frustration with speaking to Kong and Jesse, I'd like to clarify why it is difficult to get a hold of them. Since they only have a limited amount of time, it's impossible to give every one of our thousands of students the attention and help they need individually. This is why we created the course and community so that we can help as many people as possible. The community also allows people like Gumbino, to share their thoughts when Kong and Jesse are unable to do so.

      To address the staff members question, not all of the Jumpcut team members are interested in being content creators. This is for various reasons, but some people either don't want to create content consistently or like their role at Jumpcut a lot, and want to relax in their time outside of work. As you know, growing a YouTube business takes time and doesn't make sense for everyone.

      I hope this helps clarify things for you. Thanks again for sharing this honest review of Jumpcut, we'll take this into consideration moving forward. If you have any other concerns or questions, let us know at support@jumpcut.com. Otherwise, we'll see you on the forums!


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Great courses, great community, but...

    All in all, I'm glad I bought the Jumpcut course. Without Jumpcut and its community, I wouldn't be where I am right now. I gained (so far) 82k subscribers within 8 months and will most probably reach 100k within the next 2-3 weeks. So, yeah, I'm grateful for the fact that Kong and Jesse created this program, and there are a few 15ish people in the community who are more valuable than gold. Without their input, I wouldn't be getting as many subs as I am. The forum is quite great too (aside from a few retarded posts from people who want success without putting in any effort) and so are the bonus courses.

    The only reason why I don't give 5/5 is because I haven't seen any improvement in this program in ages. I understand that VIM is currently prioritized, but from the perspective of a consumer, I must say that there hasn't been a single improvement within the program in the past 9 months aside from the peer review system. Not that I necessarily need any new features considering how great I'm doing, but objectively viewed it's quite sad that no new features have been added recently and I'm fairly sure that there won't be anything within the upcoming months. that's basically it.

    I will reach 100k subscribers soon and all of this thanks to Jumpcut, its community, and of course the effort I put in - which I probably wouldn't if there wasn't this great community. So, yeah, THANKS!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Mar 15, 2018

      Company Response from Jumpcut

      Hey Peter,

      Thanks for writing this review! We really appreciate your honest thoughts and feedback.

      First off, we want to give you a big congratulations on your 100k milestone! It’s been awesome seeing you grow from scratch during your time with Jumpcut. A lot of our students can now look up to you as a sign of what is possible with hard work and determination, so we thank you for your dedication to your channel and the Jumpcut community.

      To touch upon your concerns about the program not being updated constantly, you are right about that. We’re looking to improve the program over time, but it just hasn’t been as high of a priority right now. But it is worth pointing out that we do have features on the way and that the material in the video course about Viral Marketing and the principles of great content will never really change. With that said, we’d love to hear your thoughts and suggestions about what you think we can improve feature wise so please do contact/email us at support@jumpcut.com if you have any ideas!

      Again, congratulations on your 100k subscribers. We look forward to seeing you achieve even greater things in the upcoming months!

      Best,

      Jumpcut Team


  • The kick in the butt I need.

    • Parrish, FL,
    • Apr 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I kept looking at how to start a YouTube channel. I kept saying no, next week, or I am lost in a sea of ideas, so I need to study more. So this really gave me three things I really needed.

    1) Goals that I can reach and a roadmap I can follow.

    2) A kick in the butt! I spent almost $1000 on this so you best believe I will get every cent I can out of this to make this worth it.

    3) Fellow Travelers! People that know what I am going through and will keep me going on the post page. I do have one question about the program. Where is the thing they said they were going to mail us? I never got anything in the mail, which I was really excited for! I don't know if this is the place to bring that up, but I really was hoping for it. If I got my mystery gift in the mail I would have given five stars!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 319

Write a Review for Jumpcut!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review