About JustFab

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Mar 9, 2015

JustFab promises shoppers a wide variety of high-quality shoes and boots for the low price of $39.95 (or in the case of their current site-wide sale, two pairs for $39.95).

Shoes aren’t enough to satisfy your shopping needs? JustFab also offers additional categories to complete your shopping experience, including accessories, jewelry, and denim.

JustFab’s parent company, JustFab Inc., also operates ShoeDazzle.com, FabKids.com, and Fabletics.com. The company saw a boom in internet appreciation throughout the past year for their apparently sweet deals on some pretty awesome shoes. They currently service millions of users and have attracted a whopping $149 million in backing!

Sounds pretty appealing, right? Except, a little over a year into their business, the online mood towards JustFab is starting to change. We’ll talk more about this in a moment, but let’s first take a look ar what JustFab offers.

First, What JustFab Offers:

Visiting JustFab.com, you’ll notice the site is designed to look very similar to Zappos, Shoebuy, or any other online retailer. The immediate difference is that, unlike traditional retailers who offer different products at different prices, all shoes, handbags, and denim products sold through JustFab are priced at $39.95 across the board (jewelry products are priced individually).

When you find a style that you like, (I was exploring shoes, but the process appears consistent across categories), prospective buyers are shown all the normal information: available color and sizing options, materials and details, and a fit survey. User reviews of the items are also available, and seem consistently positive.

However, shoppers will find that the pricing is unique. Items are given two prices: the “VIP price”, which was $39.95, as are all the items (save jewelry) on their site. There is also a “regular price” listed at $49.00 — an entire .05 cents difference — that has been crossed out, forcing customers to purchase products at the VIP price.

In Short, You Must Sign-Up For VIP Membership to Purchase

To do so, users can register with Facebook or their email address. Signing up for VIP membership also requires a few extra steps:

  • Take a short style quiz so that the site can make personalized recommendations for you
  • Search through the selected items, favorites or their entire stock
  • Purchase any item at the VIP price of $39.95

There are additional “perks” to becoming a JustFab VIP, which include:

Receiving notice of a selected personal boutique to shop from on the 1st of each month

  • Saving 50% off your first purchase
  • Receiving free shipping on all orders over $39
  • Receiving free exchanges
  • The ability to purchase any item in your personalized boutique for only $39.95, up to the 5th of each month
  • “Skip” any month that you don’t want to make a purchase by clicking “Skip the Month” by the 5th

Is JustFab a Subscription Service?

According to JustFab’s How it Works page, “If you are not ready to make a purchase, simply click Skip the Month in your boutique by the 5th and you will not be charged.”

That’s right! JustFab is a cleverly disguised subscription service, and the online store forces customers to sign up for their VIP membership to purchase any of their products.

Once you’ve signed up, your credit card will be charged $39.95 on the 5th of every month, unless you take the time to log into your account and notify JustFab that you want to skip purchases for that particular month (and you’ll need to repeat this process monthly in order to avoid any charges.)

The fine print goes on to say that you are allowed to skip as many months as you would like without penalties, so I guess that’s nice of them.

However, VIP members who have simply forgotten to go in and “skip the month” and incurred the $39.95 charge are credited for one JustFab item, which members are allowed to redeem at any time in the future.

Finally, JustFab states that you are allowed to cancel your membership at any time. Just be aware that doing so must occur before the 5th of each month or you will incur charges. While it’s not explicitly stated, I assume that cancelling your membership eliminates your option to redeem any JustFab credits.

What JustFab Customers Think

It’s pretty hard to find happy reviews of JustFab, even beyond the sneaky subscription charges. Here is a direct quote from blogger Literally Darling, who writes an extensive review of her JustFab experience:

“Cardboard is more comfortable. The boots were simultaneously too big and too small. They actually hurt just to wear around in the apartment. Oh well, I thought. Back they go. Thus, I began my journey down the black hole that is JustFab.com. All promotional purchases are final sale. This includes the initial $19.95 pair. I began to look through the site and I realized that a lot of the merchandise is actually coded as promotional. Not even eligible for site credit, just final sale.”

Several months later, the reviewer at Literally Darling attempted to use accumulated credits to purchase another pair of boots. However, the order did not go through due to “problems with JustFab’s site.”

Frustrated, she then decided to forgo the purchase and logged into her JustFab account to check the status of her credits… which weren’t there (despite the cancelled order). Her customer service experience with JustFab speaks volumes:

A chat session screenshot between Literally Darling and JustFab

And Literally Darling isn’t alone. JustFab’s hidden charges and poor service upset so many people, that a contributor at Gawker wrote about her experience with the shoe retailer, titling the article “The Biggest Scam in Online Fashion.”

To summarize why JustFab customers are saying the site is not so fabulous:

  • Shoes are reported as being poor quality and uncomfortable
  • Misleading membership information signs you up for autoship (and charges)
  • The majority of shoes available are promotionally priced and non-returnable
  • Honest reviews of the shoes are not being posted
  • 30+ Minute wait-times to reach customer service
  • Members must actually reach a customer service representative to cancel and avoid repeated charges

Final Thoughts on JustFab

Having not purchased their shoes, I can’t speak to the quality of products buyers receive. That being said, JustFab has garnered enough negative reviews to convince me not to try!

If you’re interested in buying shoes online, Zappos.com is known for it’s fantastic service and free shipping, as well as offering buyers a straightforward price that doesn’t include any surprise charges, memberships or hidden fees.


Read 40 JustFab Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 1 4 star: 1 3 star: 1 2 star: 2 1 star:  35
Bottom Line: 5% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 40
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 6 people found this review helpful

    My opinion of JustFab

    • Ontario, Canada,
    • Mar 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    To all those who are curious as to the legitimacy and general business practices of JustFab.ca, this is my detailed, honest and unbiased opinion.

    My name is Emily,

    I have been using JustFab since the first year they started advertising on TV in Canada, which if I'm not mistaken wasn't long after the company's Canadian launch.

    I'll start from the beginning with my first experience purchasing from JustFab.ca in May 2015.

    The first pair of shoes I ordered 4-inch high black stiletto boots. The first day I wore them the heel broke. To be honest, they weren't my style anyway, and I was wasn't wearing them for their intended use of being a fashionable pair of boots to wear on a night out.

    I wore them to work. I was a manager at the largest sports bar in North America and during my 9-hour shifts - according to my pedometer - would walk anywhere between 6km on the average Monday Lunch shift to a staggering 22km on any given NHL, NBA, or MLB Home Game.

    I was bummed, but they were also $40, and if I had worn them out to dinner or for a girls night out I'm sure it wouldn't have happened.

    I gave JustFab another chance, and since female managers were required to wear heels, I decided to go with a more practical option. 2.5" - 3" close-toed heels that didn't have a wall along the side of the middle inner arch. There was padding for the heels and balls of your feet. And there were 1" pieces of elastic/fabric stretched across the top of the inner heel backing that filled that little space between your Achilles heel and the shoe, this elastic piece completely prevented my Achilles Heel from sliding around and/or EVER touching the back of my shoe. I had never seen it on a pair of shoes before.

    I bought the exact same pair in a different color and wore them 5 days a week, walked an average of 75km a week in them for almost two years, and NEVER ONCE got a blister or broke a heel.

    I have been in love with JustFab ever since. Really fast shipping and the shoes have either met or most frequently exceed any and all quality expectations for a $40 pair of shoes.

    The clothes are great quality for the price. They had a clothing item called "3/4 length sleeve printed wrap dress" with multiple designs. I bought 6 different designs and wore them to work more than anything else in my wardrobe.

    This is where my ONLY TRUE piece of constructive criticism for JustFab comes in to play...

    I had at least 2 people per day ask me where I got these dresses. I told EVERYONE about JustFab. And pretty soon all my dresses were sold out. They have had so many new patterns of that exact up and I get SO EXCITED but my size (XS - SM) is ALWAYS SOLD OUT.

    I have put my name on the lists for auto-purchasing should the dress(es) ever come back in stock but they NEVER do. Which really sucks because clearly they have sold out in all 20 designs so their customers clearly love them.

    PLEASE BRING THEM BACK.

    Unfortunately, this has become a trend with clothes in my size.

    From a business standpoint, selling out of something is never a bad problem to have, but it sucks for us JustFab Die-Hards who shop in the SX/SM category. There have been times where over 10 times in a row I've instantly fallen in love with something and excitedly clicked on it only to find that my size is sold out, clicked on "back to shopping" and prayed that the next thing I pick will be available in my size.

    JustFab is officially the ONLY place that sells jeans that truly fit me properly and give me confidence but the small sizes are often sold out.

    Aside from wishing they would restock on the pieces that are obvious must-haves and instantly sold-outs, I have nothing negative to say.

    And this is the first review I have ever posted about them. I saw the low rating and got upset because JustFab deserved to be RECOGNIZED AND APPRECIATED for their AWESOMENESS.

    I hope they do see this review because I truly believe that if they do, they will take my reviews and opinions into consideration because it's obvious that they do care about the happiness of their customers.

    FOR EXAMPLE...

    Take a look at their Denim Catalogue and their thoughtfulness towards girls who have more curves and girls who struggle finding the Demin to compliment unique figures (such as myself). I'm a size SX/SM in the waist but I've got some love handles, thicker thighs, and some definite junk in the trunk.

    JustFab provided me with the ability to wear jeans for the first time in 5 YEARS. I've worn tights, dresses, and yoga pants for 5 years. I bought my first pair of JustFab jeans 4 months ago and I've purchased a total of SIX PAIRS since then.

    This may just be my opinion, but from what I can see, yes, they care about their customers' happiness with their products, but they ALSO care about making products that inspire their customers to be happy with themselves.

    I got a new sense of self confidence for a price I can actually afford. I know my review may sound corny but I buy 90% of my clothes from JustFab so I'm just being 100% honest. (Plus this is literally and officially the first online review I have ever written/posted in my entire life, so I wanted it to count as I'll probably never do it again.)

    To sum it up:

    • Fabulous clothes.

    • Fabulous shoes.

    • Fantastic prices.

    • Large selection for girls in all shapes and sizes.

    • Fast delivery.

    • Customer appreciation.

    • Loyalty rewards.

    Thanks JustFab!

    Much love.

    P.S. Slightly harsh but definitely true foot notes:

    To the haters who flipped out over the monthly membership payment and wrote their negative review without actually giving the JustFab membership program a fair try...

    I dont mind being billed $40 a month if I forget to SKIP THE MONTH which they DO GIVE YOU the option to do, accompanied by email REMINDERS and more than enough time to do so!

    When I forget to skip, it's like getting a surprise gift from myself, lol.

    Set a recurring monthly alarm if you can't remember to skip the month, or deactivate your account. Don't blame JustFab for your own negligence in reading a company's fully available policies before filling in your credit card number and clicking the little box that says "I agree to the Terms."

    If you aren't fully confident in your knowledge and understanding of how to navigate through a company's website to their policies and procedures for online purchases, then it might be best to use a pre-paid credit/gift card when placing orders online.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 3 people found this review helpful

    My experience

    • Nevada,
    • Jun 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have had experience with JustFab/ShoeDazzle for several years. And I've not had any billing/shipping issues with them. On the occasion that I've forgotten to skip the month, they have always reversed the charge. If the shoes don't fit, they paid for return shipping. So I'm sorry for anyone else's bad experience, but it's not always the case.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    It's hard to cancel...

    I found the products and prices to be fine, but...

    I canceled a year ago, hadn't been ordering, and I'd retired from work, so my wardrobe needs and budget had changed. I was sent a check for the amount of gift cards for months I was charged but didn't order anything. I unsubscribed.

    A year later, I got an email saying I had gift cards, and they'd been charging my credit card since the time I'd canceled. After a difficult conversation, I was again offered a refund. BTW, they refund by check vs. crediting your card. I don't trust that they will honor my request to stop charging my card.

    You ask, why didn't I see the charges on my credit card statement? Because I'd unsubscribed, I wasn't getting monthly emails from JustFab, and my husband pays the bills and doesn't question my credit card charges. I will be more vigilant this time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Disappointing quality

    • Texas,
    • Jan 11, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Their customer service has been great, and shipping has been fast, with all items intact.

    I have ordered shoes, purses, jeans and boots at different times, and am disappointed in the quality of all items. Honestly, I have gotten better jeans at WalMart. No exaggeration, I promise. The boots were very thin, and the purses look like plastic. The dress pumps I bought were the best purchase, and they even look cheaply made.

    Needless to say, I ended my membership. It is not worth the money. For my budget, I can do better things at TJ Maxx or Marshalls.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Shipping

    • Houston, TX,
    • Feb 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I honestly love ya'll shoes so much but it's definitely not worth it for how long shipping takes. I ordered other items from other places after my order with JustFab and yet my things have not arrived yet.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Total scam, no refund, now I'm out $100!

    • New York,
    • Oct 31, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    JustFab is a total scam!

    You get shoes for only $9.99, BUT there is a monthly fee of at least $29.95. So you are paying $9.99 for 1 pair, $9.99 for the next, plus $29.95 or more!

    So really, it's $25 per pair, not that cheap. Also, they refuse to give refunds. You may have 6 months of fees on your credit card you want to be refunded, but they won't. Beware!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Buyer beware!

    I have tried to get my money back, and every time I am told that they can give me a credit. I have had a credit for over three years now! Every time I had ordered the shoes in the past, they were either too small or too big and cheap looking. I can get better quality at Payless Shoes or even Walmart. They have had my money for over three years now. It should be accumulating interest!

    JustFab is a scam. Stay clear! The quote, "a fool and his money will soon part" is correct when it comes to this company. Buyer beware!

    I have tried contacting them on their website, and when you click on the link for email it takes you to phone, online chat and Facebook. With phone and chat, you don't have proof of conversation. With Facebook, they only post positive messages! What the heck JustFab? Really?

    Since I haven't ordered anything since 2014, I don't have an order number! That's a long damn time, and you would think they would refund your money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Criminal

    • Long Island, NY,
    • Sep 14, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered a jacket back in March 2017, six months ago. I paid $10 for this jacket, so didn't mind that I hated it when I got it. I paid via PayPal. I DID NOT sign up for any membership.

    Today, six months later, I see a $39.95 charge on my account, via "PayPal JustFab." I didn't want to have to go through my bank, so I called JustFab thinking it must be some mistake and they will reverse it, but they won't! I spent a total of 30 minutes on the phone with a rep in the Phillipeans who told me she couldn't do anything for me because I didn't have an account and I wasn't a VIP member (I know!). She couldn't reverse the charge because it went through my PayPal and PayPal doesn't have an "account number." I've received refunds via PayPal before, definitely just as possible to reverse the transaction as it is to randomly charge someone's account.

    I demanded a supervisor and spent 20 minutes on hold only for her to come back and tell me she still couldn't help me, but what was my order number from March. I don't flipping know, and it doesn't matter, it was six months ago! What right does this company have to just charge money to your account at random because they have your information? What B.S!

    I asked for a supervisor again and spent another 10 minutes on hold before hanging up to call the bank and PayPal. My debit card is now frozen until I receive the new one, great! PayPal was great, they marked it fraud immediately and blocked them from ever being able to process through them again.

    This company needs to be shut down, and they had the nerve to send me a customer service survey via email.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Should be reported! SKIP the charge every month.

    • Houston, TX,
    • Dec 28, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    The shoe quality is to be expected with the deals you get, however, the premium membership is a complete scam! You get charged $40 a month, and then DONT GET TO USE IT with any of their deals! It makes absolutely no sense and is borderline illegal.

    They take $40 in advance from your bank account and then only let you use YOUR OWN money (in the form of “member credits”) on full priced items. You have to spend even more to take advantage of the deals. What even is the point of putting the $40 down if you’d be better off just saving it in your bank account until the sales pop up? I spent a long time waiting, paying and “saving up” member credits to buy new shoes for the season only to be told I’d have to choose between using MY money, that I gave them in advance and the items be $40-$50 a piece OR using the deal offered and paying as if I did not have any “member credits."

    All in all, DON'T pay them the $40 every month. SKIP every single time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    "JustSteal"

    • Essex, England,
    • Apr 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I think that they don't deserve a star. It's too much for thieves. You cannot scam people like this; you put the hand in their pocket without any reason. If they are sure that their products are so good, why do they need to take from your card 35£ for a "membership?" I didn't even sign an agreement for VIP membership. I lost 35£, but, also, I will lose days if it's necessary for destroying their image. I want a refund, JustFab, because I "JustWork" and you "JustSteal" from me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    They are thieves

    I tried canceling many, many times and they refused, trying to get me to spend my credits. I finally got them to skip a month and still got charged, causing me to go into negatives in my account. I called them, explained my situation, and asked for MY money back. They refused and got all pissy with me. I told them they STOLE MY MONEY from me and they canceled my account, and I never got any of MY money back. They STOLE about $200 from me. Never would I recommend JustFab, they are thieves!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 40

Write a Review for JustFab!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review