What Is Keranique?

Keranique is a line of hair treatment products that promises an over-the-counter solution to thinning hair and female pattern baldness. The company claims that their Hair Regrowth Treatment contains the only available FDA-approved ingredient to regrow women’s hair, and is clinically proven.

Stating that hair loss is a natural part of the aging process, Keranique claims that their treatments thicken existing hair, fortify follicles, and encourage regrowth in just 120 days.

How Keranique Claims to Work

Keranique is intended to be used as a three-step treatment:

Step 1: Cleanse & Condition For Healthy Hair

Keranique Scalp Stimulating Shampoo is a sulfate-free, paraben-free, and dye-free formula that includes keratin and ceramides, which company claims can promote hair and scalp health and result in stronger, thicker hair. The shampoo also claims to reduce buildup while promoting microcirculation.

The accompanying Volumizing Keratin Conditioner also includes keratin, and promises "body, dimension, and volume,” while containing a specialty protein that serves to stabilize the hair fiber, preventing breakage.

Step 2: Re-Grow Your Hair

Especially designed for women, since it’s important that they use the appropriate strength, Keranique Hair Regrowth Treatment features 2% Minoxidil and promises “a serious solution to hair loss.” When used twice daily, we’re told this occurs by "promoting oxygen, blood, and nutrients to the hair follicles to make them stronger and help regrow hair."

Important note: While traditional droppers are still available through customer service or at retail locations, Keranique now provides an “Easy Precision Sprayer” in all of its kits. The company claims this exclusive feature is better at directing the product to treatment areas.

The company states that just as hair loss occurs over time and is a process, so too is hair regrowth, although they emphasize that hair regrowth can be typically seen in as little as four months.

Users should be aware that if the treatment is discontinued, normal hair loss will resume. Keranique also urges anyone suffering from a disease of the heart and blood vessels, or skin disease of the scalp, to consult with their doctor before using Minoxidil products.

Step 3: Protect & Style

Keranique offers two different styling products that promise to help hair look thicker, fuller, and healthier:

Protect & Style Option 1:

Included in Keranique’s kits (both those sold on TV and online) is the Lift and Repair Treatment Spray, which is described as an easy-to-use product that adds instant body and bounce, protects hair from high humidity, and prevents frizz and flyaway for 24 hours.

Keranique claims the Lift and Repair Treatment is clinically proven in one application to mend 96 percent of split ends, while also preventing breakage. It can be used for blow-drying, holding, and setting, as well as protecting, controlling and finishing any style. It will also help improve the strength of dry, weak, and thinning hair.

Protect & Style Option 2:

Also available on their website or at retail locations, the Keranique Thickening & Texturizing Mousse promises to protect hair from heated styling tools that cause dullness, breakage, and damage. The company claims that their mousse incorporates flexible and substantive polymers to maintain body and hold without stiffness, and leave hair smoother to the touch, without weighing it down.

Does Keranique Work?

Keranique’s sulfate-free shampoo, conditioner, and styling products do not appear to contain any unique ingredients that regrow hair. However, the company claims all of its products are specifically designed for women with thinning hair or hair loss.

For example, their shampoo and conditioner include peppermint oil that will create a tingling sensation not found in other products, which the company claims is an indication of increased microcirculation. The company also states their shampoo and conditioner contain a blend of gentle anionics, along with nonionic Decyl Glucoside, which provides non-surfactant moisturization.

Keranique also indicates that its gel-based conditioner features a lighter weight than traditional cream-based conditioners, thus creating increased volume for women with thinning hair.

Finally, according to sites like the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA), the product in Step 2 is the only one to include ingredients proven to combat hair loss.

Specifically, 2% Minoxidil is the only FDA-approved ingredient clinically shown to regrow women’s hair. However, it’s not unique to Keranique. The same concentration can be found in generic products that could cost less when bought in bulk.

It’s also important to note here that only Minoxidil is FDA-approved; not Keranique itself. With this said, the company emphasizes they’re the only one with an approved sprayer for targeted application to treatment areas.

Keranique’s Pricing & Refund Policy

Keranique’s products can be purchased through two different offers:

30-Day Risk-Free Trial Offer

On the system’s website, a two-month supply is available through a 30-day risk-free trial, less $3.95 for shipping and processing.

Those who don’t return their risk-free trial within 30 days (whether by phone, email, or through the Keranique online portal) will be billed two installments of $79.95, 30-days and 60-days after shipment, totaling $159.90. Separate state and local taxes may also apply.

These customers will also be enrolled in the company’s autoship program, which means you will continue receiving a two-month supply of their products every 60 days, and your credit card will be charged $79.95 each month, plus $7.95 shipping and processing.

Keranique Infomercial Offer

The company also offers a four-piece 30-day kit in its 30-minute infomercial at a discounted price of $49.95. The same kit, as well as individual products, can also be found at national retail chains such as ULTA, although consumers will receive some additional free gifts when ordering direct.

Going this route, after the initial 30-day supply, you will receive a 90-day ‘seasonal supply,’ which will be billed in three installments of $49.95, plus one charge of $9.95 for shipping and processing. You will continue receiving a new seasonal supply every 90 days thereafter.

Every shipment of this 90-day season supply comes with a 120-day money back guarantee, less S&H. In comparison, risk-free trial customers have 30-days to contact customer service via 1-888-237-4131, email, or via an online portal, and return their product to avoid being billed further.

If you’re interested in trying Keranique, the individual products can also be found at Amazon through a variety of sellers, and occasionally at a discount.

What Are Customers Saying About Keranique?

Since writing our original article, close to 80 HighYa readers had provided feedback about their experiences with Keranique, giving them an average rating of two stars. Many seemed to be pleased with their thicker, fuller hair, while common complaints related to less-than-expected results and high prices.

On Amazon, Keranique’s Clean and Condition Set and Scalp Stimulating Shampoo had a combined total of more than 700 customer reviews, with a higher average rating of about four stars. We encountered many of the same compliments and complaints found on HighYa.

From a company perspective, Keranique has been in business since 2009 and held an A+ Better Business Bureau rating, with nine reviews and nearly 200 closed complaints as of 9/14/17. No details were available.

Our Bottom Line About Keranique

For those looking to regrow their thinning hair, Keranique Hair Regrowth Treatment does contain Minoxidil, which has been proven to work, even in cases of hereditary baldness. However, Minoxidil has been approved by the FDA for almost two decades and is readily available in many other products that might provide the same benefits as Keranique, but at a lower cost and without risk-free trials and autoship enrollment.

With that said, Keranique is a well-established company and is sold in retailers like ULTA and Sephora, and online at Nordstrom.com. They claim to have treated over one million women for thinning hair and hair loss, and we believe that their open line of communication with us goes a long way toward indicating their commitment to helping customers have positive support experiences.

Article last updated on Sep 25, 2017

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

109 Consumer Reviews for Keranique

Average Consumer Rating: 3.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 59 4 star: 3 3 star: 4 2 star: 1 1 star:  42
Bottom Line: 57% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 109
Sort reviews by:

  • 8 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Love this product

    • Springtown, TX,
    • May 5, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I would just like to say that I love this product. I've only been using it for nine days, and already I am seeing new hair coming in and less hair falling out. The first four or five days of use my scalp was bright red, and I had some itching, but by the sixth day that was gone and my scalp feels better than it's felt in a long time. This is an amazing product, nd I recommend it highly.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Amazing product

    Turning 40 was tough in many ways, and my thinning hair made it harder. Thank goodness for Keranique! Not only has this product done wonders for my hair and my self-esteem, but when I lost a shipment, the customer service was amazing, and they sent another one right away. LOVE this product!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    It works.

    • Corpus Christi, TX,
    • Aug 1, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    It works. In six weeks I saw hair growth. The shampoo and conditioner work well also, and the spray is wonderful. Makes my hair look thick. Good product. I have never written a review, but this product is worth my time.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Crown area very thin, both sides of my hairline receding

    • New Jersey,
    • Aug 2, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm an African-American mature woman and I had an accident that required me to take a lot of medications. I believe the medications were part of the cause of my hair thinning on my crown as well as my hairline receding. In January 2017 I decided to try Keranique regrowth, and it has worked wonders. I use it every day, and my hair has completely filled in. I don't need to be concerned with being able to see any baldness in the crown of my head. It is completely filled in, as well as the sides of my hairline are back to normal and my hair is curly as it was when I was a child. My hair has a thickness that it didn't have when I was a child. Thank you Keranique.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    These products work amazing

    I have been using the set since the 22nd of May, and I can tell you my hair is fuller, thicker and easier to deal with. I have been using the shampoo, conditioner and the oil in combination with the daily vitamins. The directions explaining how to use these products are plain and clear. I love this product!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Keranique vitamins

    • Georgia,
    • Aug 12, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    The Keranique vitamins are wonderful. Since using this product, my hair has become thicker and much healthier. I swear by this product and will only use this product. Hands down, it's fantastic!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    My hair is growing like a wild flower.

    I'm very happy I tried Keranique. It did not take long for me to see my new hair growing in. The bald spot as you can see was filling fast for me. It just makes me feel better about myself, and when people ask me what I'm using on my hair, I say Keranique, and I have been using it for two months. Not only do I feel good, I look good!

    Thank you for making this hair growing product and giving me my smile back.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Keranique shampoo and conditioner

    After spending a truck load of time and money on hair products, I gave up and went to an upscale beauty salon to get help for my thinning hair. You could actually see my scalp in some places. I told her my story. She said, "I am going to wash and condition your hair and recommend some products for you to use that are great for your needs." To my surprise, she had recommended the Keranique products, which came in a kit.

    I have been using Keranique products for around two to two and a half months now, and I love them. The shampoo has a lather that is like a creamy lotion and does not leave my hair feeling like straw, and the conditioner leaves my hair feeling silky and shiny, and I am noticing a difference already! I also use the hair exfoliator and marula oil, and I now feel I have quality hair because I use quality products that do what they say they will do.

    Keep doing what you're doing Keranique products. I will be a life-long customer! Thank you!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 4 people found this review helpful

    I love it!

    • Maine,
    • Aug 31, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I love it!

    I have been using Keranique for about eight months. I have struggled with a receding widow's peak since the birth of my last child, and since the VERY FIRST USE, my hair has felt healthier than it ever has before. Although I have never used much product in my hair, I love how the Lift & Repair spray protects my hair from drying out when I blow dry. The regrowth treatment is amazing.

    I can't even get over how much thicker my hair is. It's incredible to compare pictures from last year and this year, my forehead has shrunk. I fully recommend this product to any woman struggling with their hair.

    Thanks Keranique!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Very good product

    I started noticing thinning hair about a year ago. My mom had thin hair, so I just felt it was inherited. I decided to try Keranique to see if it would help. I've used the starter kit and have just run out. I find myself looking in the mirror every night to see if I can tell a difference. The information with the starter kit said it normally takes about four months to notice any new growth. I have noticed some fine hair growing along the hairline, and I can actually see a slight change in the spots where my hair was thin. I know my hair looks and feels healthier.

    Hopefully, when I get through the four months, I will have thicker hair. It sure looks promising. I've called the Keranique number and was greeted with very helpful advice. I will stick with this and give you an update later on. But as I say, it looks promising.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Keranique definitely works for me

    • Grand Haven, MI,
    • Sep 5, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been using Keranique for about six months now, and am extremely happy with the results. Seven years ago, I had chemotherapy, and although my hair had grown back, it was much finer and thinner. Keranique has helped a lot. I have a lot of new growth, especially around the hairline, where it seemed to have receded. I use the shampoo and conditioner every day and love the way it makes my scalp feel. I've also been very happy with the Hair Regrowth treatment, and the Intensive Overnight Hair Repair Serum.

    I would highly recommend Keranique products to friend and relatives but suggest they be patient. Don't give up too soon. It works.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 109

Write a Review for Keranique!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review